Customer Reviews for Kyocera S2300

Kyocera S2300

The Kyocera S2300 comes loaded with helpful extras - Bluetooth, Mobile Web, Google Maps and more. A full QWERTY keyboard makes text messaging a cinch, so it's easy on your thumbs as well as your wallet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.411 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(258 Reviews) 258
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 258 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
71
3 stars
41
2 stars
31
1 star
41
155 out of 24563%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera S2300
Review 1 for Kyocera S2300

Oh Man! S w e e t for a phone climber

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
qtukcue2001
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I saw the phone in its package a year ago I already loved it more cause I digged it when I first picked it. I removed it from its package and the feeling of sturdiness was awesome and now a year later still awesome. I've dropped it only 2 or 3 times and its still kickin'. I'm not the kind to be careless with my valued property so I'm not trying to test it for sturdiness but through the accidents its been great at keepin' all parts movin' as usual. camera is GREAT! Download your phone pic some place and you'll really see the quality. There are features like navigation, and GPS, etc. that I haven't used. I bet they work equally well. I just cant afford but so much. Excellent texting, Good phone reception, If you can afford internet it handles nicely. Can't do all net stuff but it reaches.OK, I Love it!
Pros: next step phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera S2300

Kyocera did it again!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JoeyTuesday
From:  Bronx, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the brief stint of having this phone (2 of them), I absolutely loved it! Now I must advise you it is a basic phone, however texting was very easy! The ease of use was wonderful. The battery lasted quite some time due to the fact that the phone was not always in constant use.
I highly reccomend the phone, the only reason I had to replace was due to the fact I DRENCHED both phones. I looked every where and could not find after the 2nd time i replaced *water balloon fight :)*
So i went with the Kyocera Kona. Also not to shabby of a phone. I'd highly reccomend especially to replace your assurance wireless phone. You can also use your old android phone as an mp3 player and GPS which is pretty awesome if you think about it. Most of my phones don't get good battery life due to the fact that I'm always playing with them.
Hope this lengthy review helped :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera S2300

this phone is ok i guess

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
kid123death
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this phone is ok i guess the only thing is you cant realy do much on it cause there are so many things it don't support. you cant realy download the facebook app so you have to go on facebook the long way. but the battery has a good long life.
my rateing out of a ten would be a five.
when i save up more money im going to get a different virgen mobile phone with the same plan.
Pros: the battery life
Cons: the fact it does not support many file types
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera S2300

Effective and lasts FOREVER

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Starlithorizon
From:  California
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this phone for over three years, despite dropping it far more often than is ever recommended for any phone. There was hardly a scratch on it from all the wear and tear over three years of constant use. I might be retiring it today because, despite its seeming indestructibility, it's not really meant for water. After a while, a one of the keys didn't respond very well, and I had to press it much harder than the others to get it to work, but I think that's due to wear more than anything. I basically only used it for texting and occasionally talking, and it was pretty much perfect for that. They keys were a bit tricky to use because they were tiny and a bit tough to press, but they got the job done. All in all, if you want something hardy and pretty easy to use, go for this phone.
Pros: indestructible, simple, good battery life
Cons: difficult keys
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera S2300

Small buttons

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
northerngrams
From:  Harrison, MI
Age: Over 65
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Texting is difficult as the buttons are super small for texting. The upside is that there is an option to enter rapid text and auto text which helps quite a bit. The screen is a good size. Overall I am getting used to
texting with the tiny keyboard.
Pros: rapid text
Cons: keyboard buttons too small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera S2300

Love this phone!!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MrSmokeyJoe
From:  Indiana
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a Rumor 2 which I did like but thought it was time for something different. The one thing I didn't like about the Rumor was the ring tones, never loud enough to be heard in another room.
This Kyocera has the best ring I have had on a phone so far! Love the ease of the keypad and can still connect to the internet if I want.
Don't really use a lot of minuets but the battery does seem to have a shorter charge life than the Rumor did.
Overall I would purchase this phone again!
Pros: loud ring, keypad, volume
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera S2300

Disappointed right from the start

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
IWantWhatIPayFor
From:  RI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I chose this phone because I wanted something cheap and fairly basic.
When I selected 2 phones for comparison this one ultimately won because it claimed to come with a 2gb memory card, expandable to 32gb.
It doesn't come with any memory card nor does it have space for one.
That is truly the only reason I chose this phone and it does not have the one feature I wanted.
That being said, the screen is tiny, the keys are tiny, the keys are hard to push...Had it had the memory it advertised I'd deal with the rest but it's just a piece of junk.
Cons: no memory, small screen, small keys, keys difficult to push
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera S2300

A very good little phone

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
intown348
From:  dayton,ohio
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price this is a very good phone. With the right plan you could have a good time with this phone! This phone will also be a great "starter" phone for the young ones.
Pros: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera S2300

Minor Button Issues

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BizarreBear
From:  Houston, TX
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im currently on the 2nd phone of the same model and still like it a lot. Its reliable and easy to use. Its not recommended for internet use as the screen is too small, but for calling and texting its efficient.
The one issue that I have now had with both phones is the buttons starting not to work, specifically the letters used most (A & S). I thought it was just a fluke until the same thing started happening with my current phone. So beware that this will happen after having it for quite awhile.
Pros: easy to use, long lasting, reliable
Cons: button issues, small screen
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera S2300

Just Purchased ANOTHER phone to replace this one . . .

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissCinDee
From:  Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a VERY EASILY please person with pretty much everything, but this phone is absolutely terrible! In the cell phone section of my purse, it is CONSTANTLY dialing everyone, dialing a phone number is pretty much impossible without several mis-dials, and it is NOT easy to use. Even with speed dial, you have to push the #, THEN hit send - you cannot even hold the button down for a few seconds where it would automatically dial. I AM NOT even going to address the difficulty of texting!
I just bought this phone about a month and a half/2 months ago and I had to purchase a different phone this evening. Lucky for me, I actually use my phone FOR CALLS - I hardly ever text! Also lucky, I am not in the hole a great deal of money.
Pros: battery life
Cons: size of keys, ease of use, keys to sensitive and dials if even bumped lightly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera S2300

Okay for price

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
momoney
From:  new orleans
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would recommend this phone only for children and not business use. This phone battery life is never true because as i was charging my phone its full and 10 minutes later hjalf the battery is gone without being used.
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera S2300

Awful keyboard-to small

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
KathAR
From:  Dallas TX
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The keyboard is very small & hard to use. Unless you have very small fingers, don't get this phone.
Cons: keyboard to small
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera S2300

love love love

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
haleywolf
From:  scranton pa
Age: Over 65
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this phone for 3 years, it was my first cell phones so I didn't need anything too fancy. it was great to have, the battery life was wonderful, the price was great, and I like the fact that I had the internet. I used that feature quit a bit, it was kinda slow, but not as slow as I thought it would be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera S2300

Great for those who just need to talk or text.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kmay
From:  NC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great phone for those who are not in need of smartphone. If you are looking for fancy features, touchscreens, and getting online a lot look elsewhere. I am not a heavy cell phone user but needed to swap out my flip phone because it was hard to text on it. I've had this phone about a week and the battery life is great. I've only charged it once and that was right out of the box. Texting is very easy and the keys are small but I got used to it. It has the capabilities to go online which I don't need but it's nice to know it's there. Seems a bit slow though when I went on to look for ringtones. I wish it came with some full games for killing time as apposed to just demos but not a big deal. I can always download some. Considering the price point it is a really solid phone. I expected a cheaper feel but it's rather substantial. Has a nice rubberized back and easy to hold. Calls have been clear and texts go through a lot faster than on my flip. The camera is so so and definitely not good if it's dark. Overall I would definitely recommend this to anyone who doesn't want a smartphone but needs a step above a basic flip phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera S2300

Small keys

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Salemwitchchild
From:  Ohio
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is fine for me, but for my husband who has a problem seeing small text and has large fingers, this phone is unusable for him. The keys are tiny, too close together, and the text very small. I have to dial the number for him if he wants to use the phone.
Pros: low cost, features
Cons: small keys, small text
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera S2300

kyocera 2300

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  fort worth tx
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone its the perfect talk and tex phone and takes very nice pictures. you will be happy with this phone. Stay away from the kyocera brio
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera S2300

I am totally pleased with this phone and Virgin Mobile!!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sanantonian
From:  Vancouver, Washington
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For 14 years, I have had Sprint (I know-Sprint is used here!) and I was content with my phone! I'd had a Rumor Touch and then an M520 until the keys started sticking and not responding to my touch. I went in to show the store what it was doing and said I just wanted another M520. Instead, I was sent a Sanyo Vero---I hated that phone!! They couldn't give me what I wanted, so I said, "okay, I only have 6 months left on my contract". I qualified for the Kyocera 2300 and totally satisfied with it!! Besides calls, I use it for texting, emailing and taking pics and emailing or texting them. Yes, the pics are small, but thru email and everybody's iphones, the pics come thru good!!!! I'm a happy camper!!!
Pros: qwerty keyborad easy to use takes good pics
Cons: battery doesn't last long if you use the internet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera S2300

Good Basic Phone

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
KittyBliss
From:  Macon, Ga
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I left the smart phone world behind and picked up this feature phone as it really fit my budget. You really can't compare this to any smart phone. I only use this phone for calls and texting, not for web browsing. Its really perfect as a messaging phone. The camera is pretty poor but I didn't buy this phone for the camera. I just needed an affordable phone to make calls and send and receive texts.
Pros: good messaging phone
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera S2300

Affordable phone for basic use

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
soapbubbles
From:  AL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got a great deal on this phone. I love the fact that it has the full keyboard without the slider feature - in my experience slider phones are more fragile. This phone is very sturdy and has held up well to the abuse I give it (me being clumsy and dropping it all the time.) I don't use it for data or internet at all; its a great phone for basic messaging. For the price it is exactly what I wanted, and I would definitely recommend it to someone looking for an affordable messaging device.
Pros: messaging, durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera S2300

Poor battery life

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Notsotechie56
From:  Ohio
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone could have been good but battery life very disappointing. New phone battery life only lasted 2 days, put in new battery and it also only lasted 2 days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...13next>>