Customer Reviews for Kyocera S2100

Kyocera S2100

A sleek camera flip phone featuring two full-color screens, Bluetooth technology, Mobile Web, voice activated commands, voicemail and caller ID and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.026 / 5
3
 / 
5
(156 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
35
3 stars
17
2 stars
25
1 star
41
79 out of 14953%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera S2100
Review 1 for Kyocera S2100

Decent Simple Phone, but Volume Setting seems to change automatically

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
TJinTexas
From:  San Antonio, TX
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for at least a year, and it works great overall as a simple flip phone. However, the ringer volume setting seems to change on its own (wife just got upset because she called 10 times, and I didn't hear a single 1 of her calls ). Going to get a different phone TODAY!
Cons: volume changegs too easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera S2100

Great For The Money

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Frankie722
From:  Myrtle Beach SC
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have this phone for a couple of years now and never had a problem with it. Everything works like it is suppose to and for a basic mode of keeping in touch, texting and taking photos, it can't be beat. I know it doesn't have all fancy features and for the ones that don't need them, this is just perfect!!
Pros: great basic phone...!
Cons: can't think of any!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera S2100

good, basic phone

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
johnnyk
From:  eugene
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
had the phone about a year, mostly for calling, some text, with no problems. battery life is pretty good. the ringtone is plenty loud enough for me, not sure why others are having difficulties. call volume is a little on the low side, but reasonable. i like a compact flip phone, slip it in a front pocket and good to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera S2100

Bogs down, slow transitioning from from app to app. Ringer adjusts it's self

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rabarker
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is super slow. The ring tones and volume change on their own. Very slow changing from one app to another.
Pros: cheap
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera S2100

easy to carry.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
skypilot
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this is a good basic phone,it will take a pic,but will not receive a pic message..hard to hear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera S2100

Great battery life

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cyal8tr
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice phone for basic service. Love the long battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera S2100

Just got it

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DCryz1982
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it an ok phone it works fine and easy to carry I like it cause it take pic, and it work my plan for free mins
Pros: it small and take pic
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera S2100

Don't Buy This Phone

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Stickman
From:  Clarksville, In
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this phone . It is a piece of junk. The volime is terrible & the battery goes dead after 30 minutes of talking. Trust me on this because this is my second one. I'll be getting another brand all together.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera S2100

Not loud enough.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CantBelieveIt
From:  Somewhere in, Va.
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gotten this phone a few days ago. It's "aight", (So-so.) MY PROBLEM IS; "IT'S "NOT LOUD ENOUGH".
Other than that, It's a reliable phone. :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera S2100

# years ago things started off as expected, but now.....

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
bagelbaker
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A new way that info about my minutes is hard to find. Used to be that I'd go to my account and it displayed my minutes left. Now, and for the past 2 months, I go to "my account" and there is no display of my minutes left, just the "cash balance". Once it displayed "Top Off by Oct. 2....some 3 months away. Unless they put me on a new plan that I don't know about I'm confused as to how to find my minutes left and then to top off to carry forward those left?
I had a conversation several weeks ago with a VM tech and he told me that they are making changes and it will be up and running correctly soon.
Sorry, I'm just about ready to switch to a competitor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera S2100

This product is easy to use has good features such as email, voicemail and call waiting

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
tirzah
From:  Bethelehem PA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone because it was simple but still provided me with the essentials I needed while being in the USA for 2 years from the UK. It has performed very well. I have no contract just have to top up $30 per month. I am able to use it to make and receive international calls as well as getting excellent minutes and texts per month. The only downside to the phone is that occasionally there are places where I can get no reception, including New York City where service is sketchy in certain areas/buildings. This can be very frustrating. All in all though, I have been extremely happy to have this phone for two years and have seen no reason to upgrade it as it has all the features I need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera S2100

A Good Basic Phone

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
KayeAC48
From:  Boise, Idaho
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For now I just needed a basic phone and this really worked out great. It actually has more features than I would expect from a basic cell phone. Of course its not going to be the best quality like you get from paying a lot more for a smart phone but for what its worth I'm very impressed. So I think if you're looking for a basic cell phone I would recommend this. It has been easy to navigate and I haven't had any problems with it yet. The battery life doesn't last as long as I'd like but other than that I am happy with this phone.
Pros: easy to use & understand, sleek & cute look for a simple phone, good features, conveniently placed camera button, lightweight, durable, easy to text/buttons are well spaced & sized
Cons: battery life, not a great selection of preset ringtones, volume isn't that loud but not the worst i've had, no zoom on camera but you can zoom in on picture
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera S2100

doesn't have a radio fm

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
NickAtNight360
From:  BEST EVERGREEN STATE
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Why not add mp.3 or radio. It doesn't even regular ear buds insert size, and it doesn't even have a mini SD insert. I know it just an old school flip phone. I know it only have old style look on the outside don't get me wrong but, the inside should be a wow factor like updated or a little more equip selections. Of course the price is wonderful and i'm just saying it would be nice if you guys offer this or maybe a little more because some, if not more people out there is really looking for a simple phone. The market to me is 40/50 40 on the simple side. I'm just saying.
Pros: it does what intended., you have a wonderful deal!, stop searching. this might be it., simple plan. simple phone., what more can you ask for?
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera S2100

Great Very Basic Phone

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
mrsm
From:  KS
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone for not much money for my husband to use at work when he is not near his shop phone. So he would not need to use his personal phone number for his numerous customers. We use the basic monthly plan and he only uses about 80 minutes a month and a couple texts. He does not travel with this phone so we are not worried about reception outside of town. So it's great for what he wants - a back up phone to use for work related calls. He charges it every couple weeks.
Pros: cost, reliable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera S2100

The worst phone I have ever owned

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Frustrated123
From:  Idaho
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would like to preface this review by saying that I am not comparing this phone to any phone capable of carrying a data plan. I was looking for a straightforward flip phone and that's what I thought I was getting.
This phone is awful. I text a lot and this phone is ridiculously persnickety. It has a very limited dictionary, so I had to add around ten words a day for the first two weeks. In addition, it will not allow you to misspell or abbreviate. If it doesn't recognize the word, it emits a shrill beep to let you know that you either need to change the text mode or add a word to the dictionary.
I do not mind using T9 to text, however, this phone does not allow you to manipulate words to write words it doesn't know, making it very difficult to reference people or places. Worse still, if you erase the last two characters of the word and try to change the word it predicts, it will DUPLICATE the word. The word duplicate, for example, would become duplicaduplicate. No idea why anyone would want this "feature". It's relentlessly annoying.
Also, the phone would randomly refuse to receive texts from certain numbers for weeks on end.
This phone's one good quality is its battery life. It will last for days - of course, I was avoiding using the phone because it was so cumbersome, but if you want an alarm clock that makes calls, and receives most texts you are sent, this is the phone for you.
Cons: horrible for texting
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera S2100

Great Phone

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ronzilla
From:  Culver City, ca
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I mainly use my phone for texting(not while driving)and emergency phone calls. Easy to navigate the phone with the different buttons. Speaker sound has great quality. Takes great pictures as well. Well worth to get for yourself or as a gift for the price paid. I would recommend this phone. I've had the phone now for 3 years with no problems.
Pros: great overall phone.
Cons: i've had no problems with the phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera S2100

Features need some work.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
dee1
From:  Jacksonville,Florida
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
typical on most phones,you can't readily access recent calls or missed calls. If you miss a call you will not be aware of it unless you use the phone before another call comes in. In between the missed call, and before your next incoming call, is the only window of opportunity to have acces to the missed call.
Pros: turn by turn gps
Cons: no recent call menu option
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera S2100

Best deal around--Love Virgin Mobile!

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Doccs
From:  Maryland
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had this Virgin mobile phone for several years and another inexpensive one of their models for eight! Nothing happened to the last one, my daughter just wanted to get me a new one! Can't beat the price for reliability if what you want is talk, text and a camera on a pay as you go basis with a phone that doesn't drop calls. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera S2100

Good phone for the price

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JoeCool1966
From:  San Diego, Ca
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought it because the one I had didnt have bluetooth.and this one does.I also just wanted a simple phone.
Pros: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera S2100

Great features. Tough cookie. Can't transfer data.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fastelk
From:  Crestline,CA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm pretty tough on my phones. I'm writing this just to give a heads up that as this phone wears out the features start to go. First the camera went. It now reboots instead of taking pictures. This is due to the heat spot on the simm card from wearing it in the pocket or bra. Next went the earplug connector which does not allow for hands free use. Eventually each feature is basically dying off a piece at a time. It's been sturdy for a little inexpensive phone. And I'm really tough on them because of my work. So over all, it's a good deal.
Pros: price, get what you pay for.
Cons: features die off., camera reboots the phone., can't transfer pictures or contacts to new phone., can't trx pics or contacts to computer., will loose everything when move to new phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...8next>>