Customer Reviews for Samsung M575

Samsung M575

A perfect phone if you love to talk & text, the M575 features a slide-out QWERTY keyboard, threaded (conversation-based) text messaging, a bright 2.4" screen, and easy access to Facebook and Twitter. Find it at your local Best Buy for just $79.99.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
31
3 stars
21
2 stars
15
1 star
16
65 out of 10860%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung M575
Review 1 for Samsung M575

Buggy, no email

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
manoffewwords
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone has several flaws. For example: several apps on the home screen do not work. The "Get More Applications" feature does not work. When I turn the phone off it turns itself right back on. It hangs up quite a bit. Most of these I was willing to live with until VM discontinued the email application for this phone on 3/31/2014.
Looking at new plans ...again..
Pros: decent battery life
Cons: buggy flawed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung M575

phone is great

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
kenn18508
From:  Scranton PA
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My phone is great, but the website is a bloody nightmare to find ringtones!!!!!! There has to be a better set-up
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung M575

What happened to downloads?

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kjss
From:  Ohio
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did Virgin Mobile get rid of its downloads options? I tried to add applications like the online manual said, but what they show on the manual doesn't come up on the real phone. All the apps page on the phone shows is Audio File and Gameloft, and Gameloft is "not currently available" ... been that way for quite a while.
BRING BACK THE APPS!!!
Cons: where have the apps gone?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung M575

Great Phone for the Price. Long Battery Life.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
HBrown
From:  New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a good phone for the price. The battery charge last 3 times longer than any other phone I have had, although I haven't used the Galaxy or iPhones. The pull-out keyboard can be useful, but I don't do much texting so it not that important to me. The volume for the MP3 player can be a little louder, and the camera is pretty basic. I haven't found any useful apps for this, but I haven't looked much as I probably wouldn't use them on a phone with this screen size. The great battery life is what I like the most. I can use it a few times a day for a few days without having to recharge, although I always recharge it before anything near full discharge. I have had it for less than 6 months so I can't speak as to its longevity. If you just want a basic phone with good battery life for talking and playing MP3s occasionally, it is hard to beat this one for the price.
Pros: battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung M575

Not Bad

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
dhw9am
From:  Oh
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The pull out key board for texting is great. The sound quality is very good.
The battery life is terrible. When the bars go down to three, you had better recharge, because you only have a VERY short time remaining. Maybe it is just my phone.
Camera is pretty good also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TRae005
usa
 
Please wait while more information about TRae005 is loaded.
Additional information about TRae005 could not be loaded.
SMH
Posted May 11, 2013
Had this phone for almost a year and still haven't figure out why my keyboard only lid up when in camera mode, its very difficult texting in the dark so i have ppl to text me at certain time of the day anything after 6pm i suggest ppl to call me sounds crazy huh, even i agree so maybe whoever is reading this message can give me some pointers thx
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Samsung M575

Screen Dies within a year

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
DWINGMAN97
From:  Denver, Co
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone for less than a year, bought it last july, and the screen has had lines of dead marks that the screen was dying.
I have not dropped the phone or any other damage to the phone. Even then the phones screen dies.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung M575

I'm sorry I bought this phone

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
swampie777
From:  Tx
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1. I have never seen a more screwed up way to do billing.
2. The menu structure is not intuitive.
3. At times my alarms will not operate and must be reset them when I have not disabled them.
4. If a calculator is to be put on a phone, it should surpass 6'th grade level with features suitable for an adult.
I have worked for a cell phone company before. I know what level of quality one should get for the price point in question.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung M575

Durable and simple

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Maire
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best part about this phone is it's recyclable except for the battery. I would say it's extremely durable considering how many times I've dropped it since i've owned it for 3 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung M575

No Go

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DaSH
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is horrible it freezes constantly my screen just broke out of nowhere and the keys work when they feel like it and it's extremely outdated.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung M575

Samsung M575

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
kelley0303
From:  Preston, ID
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is o.k. I have had better, when you try and text and another text are call comes in it loses what you were in the middle of typing. Also the internet to access virgin mobile is not compatable to the screen. So any internet surfing should just be done on your personal computer.
Cons: internet text interupt
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung M575

This is a good phone to have. It has great features.

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tashone
From:  New York, NY
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had my phone for almost three years and it hasn't failed me yet. It's very reliable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung M575

M575 cell phone's assessories

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
knight
From:  New Jersey
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone is easy to use for the most part. It has no assessories listed for it. I bought a generiac window scress that I made it fit. A carring case at the five dollor store and there is no actual case for the phone, which I thought would be a good assessory. Otherwise the features are ok.
Cons: no assessories
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung M575

Poor screen display, Game download does not work call answering a problem

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
skiwi69
From:  detroit mi
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall the phone is ok but The screen display for texting is very difficult to read. Yellow letters on a red background and no ability to change it.
When in keylock mode and I ge a call it seems to always go to ignore with text when Im trying to answer the call. The keylock is on but some of the buttons still work.
The demo game bejeweled when using the option to purchase it downloads a game which is only partially displayed on the screen and cannot be played. The demo works fine but the purchased game is unplayable
Pros: not so great
Cons: text display game downloaded and key lock
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung M575

Best phone I've ever owned!!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BJM55
From:  Florida
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this Samsung M575 for approximately six months. It has been by far, the best cell phone I have ever owned. Reasonably priced and loaded with quality features, it has all the bells and whistles of the 4 and 5 GB phones. What it may lack in speed, it makes up for in quality of performance, battery life, and extremely good product for the price of the phone. I would highly recommend this phone for everyone that wants a smart phone but doesn't want to pay 100's of dollars for it. If something happened to this phone today, I would replace it with the exact same phone.
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung M575

How To get ringtones!

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Karmell23
From:  Mastic ny
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the phone great for texting great call reception the only thing is how do u get ringtones,,, Even when i purchase it from virgin mobile it goes to a white page an i hear the song but it aint in my ringtones
Pros: texting, call reception
Cons: no music ringtones
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung M575

Phone freezes in blue tooth mode & scheduled events are random

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
dehtop
From:  Cincinnati, OH
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Every time I tried to use the blue tooth, the phone would freeze up so it made the feature unusable.
When I set a scheduled event on the calender, it would alert me on random dates; dates that were not set to alert me.
Cons: blue tooth & calender scheduler
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung M575

Decent phone for someone on a budget

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  Ohio
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There's nothing really special about this phone but there really isn't much to complain about either. Menus are easy to navigate. Keyboard is nice for texting. There isn't enough space allotted for text messages. I have to delete messages all the time. When memory is full you just don't get any more messages even after you delete what you have. You have to ask the person to resend the message after you've cleared your inbox. Getting on Facebook and the web is okay. Kind of slow. The phone itself seems to be pretty durable. I've dropped it several times and it's still working just fine. Definitely a phone for someone who can't afford the fancy phones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung M575

Phone works great!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MKMom
From:  Logan, Utah
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read some of the other reviews and I haven't had any problems with keys not working or the screen freezing. My phone works great! I have my own business and make a lot of phone calls and send a lot of texts and my phone has shown great staying power. It has survived many drops, battery lasts a couple days between charging, and it's easy to use. It is frustrating to have my texts dismissed in the middle of writing them when a new text comes in. Also if I'm using the number pad to text a lot of the T9 default words are actually number series instead of words. That's a little weird and inconvenient. But overall for a basic phone and no contract, I'm very pleased!
Pros: everything but a few text quirks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung M575

battery lasted for 4 months only

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mravka
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
yes, 4 months and this phone is not usable. i have only 1 hour of battery life a day. i really liked the phone and it worked ok as basic phone for messaging and checking e-mails until one week ago. just contacted virgin and hope they will replace it, otherwise it's useless.
Pros: sliding keyboard
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung M575

Does ont last long

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fire1421
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i have not had my phone for 6 months yet and some of the keys have stopped working when i try to text.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.