Customer Reviews for Samsung Montage

Samsung Montage

Staying in touch is easy with the Samsung Montage's slide-out QWERTY keyboard for faster texting, 2.0MP Camera/Camcorder, Bluetooth, threaded text messaging, email and web access.
Average Customer Rating:
3.138 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(195 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 195 reviews
5 stars
51
4 stars
41
3 stars
29
2 stars
32
1 star
42
103 out of 18655%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Montage
Review 1 for Samsung Montage

alerts

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamie547
From:  nebraska
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the alert for text messages/calls has no setting t o turn off the reminder. it is annoying and I hate it I end up turning off the volume and end up missing important calls
Cons: alerts
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
dmac
California
 
Please wait while more information about dmac is loaded.
Additional information about dmac could not be loaded.
icon only
Posted July 19, 2014
Go to message settings and choose icon only, that will stop the beep,
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
dmac
California
 
Please wait while more information about dmac is loaded.
Additional information about dmac could not be loaded.
alert setting
Posted July 17, 2014
I'm surprised that you have not read some of the other comments on how to resolve this issue. Go to message settings and set the alerts to icon only, then you won't get the "annoying" beep.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Samsung Montage

I like this phone.

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Belle16
From:  NY
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I'm not a frequent cell phone user, when I do use it I get excellent coverage. I've never had any problems with my phone.
Pros: excellent phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Montage

decent phone

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scout55
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't normally write reviews, but I have had this phone for almost a year and I think that it might be helpful to potential buyers. The phone, when you first get it, functions great, the keys feel real smooth and the action is good. This doesn't last the longest though. Unfortunately, your texts are limited to only 160spaces, then you have to hit send, and then finish what it is that you want to say in a new text. Another fact is that once you get a text, it beeps every 15 seconds quite loudly unless you have the phone on silent. You can't turn the beep off. So....forget trying to text in class. Also, when the phone is dying, it beeps twice, very loudly, especially if you are talking on the phone with someone, which normally happens when the person you are talking to is saying something super important. Both these beeps do not stop until the battery dies, or you examine your text. The Battery did last a long time when i first got the phone, but since then it has rapidly digressed into a very short lived battery. FYI, one problem with sliders, is if you ever even see sand, somehow it gets in the slide and feels like you are destroying your phone when you flip it. It doesn't last long though. This phone is also not the greatest at getting good reception, but I solved that by moving all around like the "can you hear me now?" guy and hearing "no" till I finally heard a "yes". Good exercise. I am not making all these things up, this phone just has a few little problems that add up over time. You might like it, but I wouldn't exactly recommend it. I know basically everything I have said is negative, and so this is what I will say for it, I have kept it because it has lasted. I had to tape the battery in place, but since then, the battery hasn't fallen out every time it falls, and surprisingly, it survived getting run over by a lot. :) Cheers. S.S.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Montage

solid phone

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
OTAsoontohaveaC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've dropped it in coffee once and water once, dried it out and it still works! I've dropped it on concrete a bunch of times too with no problems. If you want a durable phone this is a good one.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Montage

samsung montage

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
funfhone
From:  pittsburgh,pa
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my phone and service. It is great. My phone is excellent for texting and calling very easy to use.it gets 5 stars in every way.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: everything is great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Montage

hard to text, annoying

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
cboo
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I agree with other users that the notifications for alarms, texts, and calls are all really annoying. There is no way to make it just beep once when you get a message - it beeps every 30 seconds until you physically check it. This is really obnoxious when you're in class or a meeting, so I just keep mine on silent all day long.
The keyboard is also really hard to use, and I write typos all the time because of it. The space bar is the worst! I end up typinglikethistoallmyfriends. So annoying. I miss my old LG cosmo.
Pros: size (fits in pocket), sturdy
Cons: keyboard, alarms and notifications, photo quality, slippery, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Montage

This Phone Is Great

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissLynxie
From:  Carbondale, IL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for over 2 years. I use it daily for text messages and phone calls. It has great reception and ease of use. I have accidentally dropped my phone several times and it still works. I jokingly call my phone a timex because it has taken a licking and keeps on ticking. I would absolutely recommend this phone to anyone who just wants to text and make phone calls. If you want to do more, then I suggest going with a smart phone or something more powerful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Montage

dead

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
nothappyMary
From:  North East, PA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've owned this phone for a little awhile. A few quirks, but normally reliable. In the middle of the day...dead. No reason, full charge, dead. Pure junk. Thanks Samsung.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
susan
florida
 
Please wait while more information about susan is loaded.
Additional information about susan could not be loaded.
dead phone
Posted June 20, 2014
mine would just go dead too for no reason, called cust service and they sent me new phone and return old one. quick within 2 days. try to call them and they troubleshoot it first and then if not fixed will replace.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Samsung Montage

Completely Dead in 2 Months!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
HeplfulReview
From:  texas
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone thinking I was kind of upgrading for a prepaid phone, but that was not the case. I had this phone for a couple months and it completely died. No longer usable. Also, the game I played a lot would not work when I tried to play it. It would just stay frozen in the opening screen. I would not recommend this phone. This was the first time I purchased a Samsung and expected more from it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Montage

it's ok, wish there were more phone options available

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
648jess
From:  Everett, WA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The reminder for missed calls/messages/alarms is super annoying. It starts right after the missed event and goes off every 30 seconds. There is no way to turn this off or adjust the frequency. The calendar feature is clunky. Other than that it is a basic slider phone, miss my old LG through Verizon. I do like that you can access very basic web pages if you need to look up a business address, etc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Montage

Looks aren't everything

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Qatnip
From:  Oregon
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice looking phone, but I've only been using this phone for 6 months, and although I don't text excessively, I do text alot; The keys on the sliding keyboard are wearing out already. Takes good pics, but even when you reduce the pixel size (to better enable sending to email/messaging), it randomly decides that certain pics are "too large" to send, and Samsung doesn't have a means to download your pics to desktop, which is frustrating. So, some pictures you take will have to die with the phone. Also, WORST BATTERY LIFE EVERRRR.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Montage

Worst battery of any phone I've every owned.

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
trainsgg1
From:  Colorad
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
And overall awful phone. I thought this was an upgrade to my flip phone, but I was wrong.
Cons: poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Montage

Look for something else

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Samtron
From:  Chicago
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-worst battery life of any cell phone Ive ever owned- and that goes back to 1997.
-annoying beep with every unanswered call that doesn't go away without intervention.
-small keypad very easy to misdial with.
-Decent sound quality and does not often drop calls.
-freezes up from time to time and battery needs to be removed to get it to work again.
-will be getting something else very soon-very disappointed in this one. All my other Samsung phones have been much better.
Cons: poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Montage

I hate this phone

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ReallyFrustrated
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The only good thing about this phone is the sd card slot. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Pros: sd card slot, qwerty keyboard
Cons: confusing front buttons, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Montage

You get what you pay for...

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GotWhatIPaidFor
From:  Joplin, MO
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Samsung Montage phone is inexpensive and worth it - that is, you get what you pay for. It's relatively easy to use, but that's really it's only positive quality. The battery life is pathetic. It has a very limited text length capability - sending or receiving. The call volume control is very limited - the loudest setting is still rather quiet.
I've had this phone for a couple of years now, and it's started doing strange things, like: randomly turning off for no apparent reason (with a full battery); it's stuck on receiving or sending a blank text and not letting me delete it; it mysteriously "locked" itself (so that nothing can be reset) without ever being programmed with a lock code; etc.
It's a decent phone for very basic use, but leave it alone if you need more dependability.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Montage

CAN'T TURN OFF BEEPING!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
stitchfan
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! IT DOES NOT STOP BEEPING EVEN WHEN ON SILENT!
I knew this phone was basic when I bought it, but there's basic and then there's AWFUL. I'm a PC and Mac user and a tech geek. I've used a variety of cell phones in the last 12 years from flip phones, to keyboard sliders, to touch screens. This is the WORST PHONE I've owned in 12 years regardless of modern features. I've never seen such a design flaw in my life:
Whenever you receive a text message after the ring tone goes off, Regardless of weather the phone is set to silent, THE PHONE BEEPS EVERY 10 SECONDS UNTIL YOU CHECK YOUR MESSAGES.
THIS CANNOT BE TURNED, SILENCED, OFF OR DEACTIVATED.
This means if you use your phone as an alarm clock like me, you're out of luck if you get a text while you are asleep as the beeping will wake you up and even if you stop it, the next text will set off the endless beeps again.
Good luck taking it into a movie theater... Turn off your phones for the movie? Nope. BEEP BEEP BEEP, then take it out to stop the beeps and risk getting kicked out for using your phone.
I can't really make fun of the cheap camera, poor user interface, or lack of features because it's a basic phone. But this is 2014, and I have NEVER seen such a HORRIBLE design flaw. I've survived Windows 3.1 through XP, Apple Macintosh through the OS X Mavericks, and the Nokia 5161 through the LG Rumor Reflex, and this is by far the worst of the technological sins I've seen.
I'm taking the phone back to the store right now and exchanging it for anything that does what it's supposed to do.
Cons: constant beeping, poor battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tgotf
PA
 
Please wait while more information about Tgotf is loaded.
Additional information about Tgotf could not be loaded.
Missed calls though
Posted July 13, 2014
That works fine for texts but the same stupid things happens when I miss a call.... Beep, beep, beep...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
texasq123
Madison,NC
 
Please wait while more information about texasq123 is loaded.
Additional information about texasq123 could not be loaded.
the message beeping
Posted March 7, 2014
you CAN turn the beeping off simply by going to the message settings,then notifications and set it to ICON ONLY.Then it will only give you an initial notification that you have a message instead of beeping constantly.It was easy to figure out.I love this phone!
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Samsung Montage

Terrible battery, incredibly annoying quirks, and a lousy keyboard ruin this otherwise OK phone

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
WatermelonChickenPie
From:  Baltimore, MD
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've owned this phone for three months, and out of the eight phones I've owned over eight years, this one is by far the worst in almost every aspect.
It also has an incredibly annoying featuring: whenever you get a new text message or voicemail, the phone emits a loud beep every 60 seconds until you respond to it, wether it takes you two minutes or two days. Imagine having a serious conversation when you receive a text message. Every minute this loud beep blasts through the air throwing off your train of though and ruining the conversation. So you have to reach into your pocket and pull out your phone to silence it. It sure is a great way to enhance friendships! Or if you get a text message at night: the phone beeps until you respond. This happened to me so many times! This made me despise this phone more than anything else. I found out how to turn off the beep, but then my phone actually alerted me to text messages about 80% of the time. Yes, that's right: I would get texts and never be notified about them. This happened frequently and I just got in the habit of checking my phone every five minutes.
Battery life is terrible. With my last phone I had to charge once a week. With this phone, I have to charge almost every other day, and if you're using the internet or live in an area with poor reception, you'll be lucky if it lasts a day.
The keyboard is terrible too. I may as well have had T9 instead of the QWERTY keyboard because I had to be so slow in typing in order to not miss the small, slippery keys. Maybe it might work for ladies with small fingers, but it was nothing but a huge pain for me.
You would be better off going with a $15 flip phone than this terrible piece.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MizMac
California
 
Please wait while more information about MizMac is loaded.
Additional information about MizMac could not be loaded.
Stop the message beep.
Posted February 28, 2014
Go to message settings and choose icon only. That will stop the beep when you receive messages.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Samsung Montage

The sound from the earpiece stopped working after a day or so.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bukowski
From:  Boise
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone is junk. Its difficult to use the front keypad for anything. The buttons are not designed well, if you're not careful you are going to miss-dialing . The slide out is so small, its not much help either. You get what you pay for but I expect more that two days of sounds through the ear peice. JUNK
Cons: junk trash
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
crazycatlady
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about crazycatlady is loaded.
Additional information about crazycatlady could not be loaded.
Please respond
Posted February 7, 2014
I currently have a LG Rumor2 and have had it for about 2 yrs. I am needing a new phone and I'm at a loss as to what to do. All I do is text and talk; No internet, no apps, etc. I am finding it extremely hard to find a phone I can trust to use for what little I need it for! I was hoping that maybe you can let me know how the phone might work for me (battery life, speaker phone. key pad, etc.). Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Samsung Montage

extremely poor battery life

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
nannac1947
From:  Calif
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i use this phone mainly for talking to family in another state---the phone can be fully charged and will not hold a charge for more than an hour---i hate this phone--must be charged constantly--the only thing i like about it is the slide out keyboard for texting
Cons: poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Montage

poor battery charger

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
lupita
From:  aurora, colorado
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have to charge the battery every other day and I practically use the phone once every two days. What is wrong with Samsung? You can do better than this.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: battery dies easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...10next>>