Customer Reviews for Samsung Montage

Samsung Montage

Staying in touch is easy with the Samsung Montage's slide-out QWERTY keyboard for faster texting, 2.0MP Camera/Camcorder, Bluetooth, threaded text messaging, email and web access.
Average Customer Rating:
3.133 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(203 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 203 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
44
3 stars
30
2 stars
33
1 star
44
107 out of 19455%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Montage
Review 1 for Samsung Montage

Good BASIC phone

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MrsPB
From:  Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for almost 2 years. Works great for basic needs.
~Pros~
-Has a decent 2MP camera NO flash
-Full QWERTY keypad for texting etc
-Has endured MANY drops (even into water a few times)
-SD card slot
-Pretty good battery life
~Cons~
-Can't edit/crop/rotate pics
-Can't turn off the annoying notification reminder. (Beeps every 15 -SECONDS, to REMIND you that you have a text/voicemail/missed call etc, until you check it)
-Can't send a text OVER 160 characters/spaces
-When you try to forward a text it adds the whole header info and crops out most of the msg you're trying to forward.
Overall good phone for a low budget and basic calling/texting needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Montage

I like it, whats everyone complaining about

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MATT1988
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The MicroSD card makes it easy to get free wallpapers off the computer and mp3s. Sweet camera quality. It's the best phone I've had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Montage

Simple, easy to use but fragile

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
WishesItWorked
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basic cell phone that was easy to use. Problem was after a few months of use the buttons started to act up. Sometimes they would not work, or would work incorrectly, then one day it just refused to turn on. Battery life was good though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Montage

Sick of this phone

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bybbasplayr
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone when it works is good. virgin had to send me 4 replacement batteries within the first 7 months because they would'nt stay charged. then it got to were i had to charge every other day sometimes it was every day. then about 7 months ago it started locking up and then only way to fix it is to take battery out and put back in turn on phone and hope it doesnt do it again. Now it is taking at least 5 times of taking battery out to actually make a call and hope it doesn't lock while dialing the number. It was a great phone in the beginning
Cons: short battery life and locks up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Montage

Battery leaked within a year

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hedgie
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone for Christmas. Now it is Sept and the screen refuses to light up all of a sudden but the keys backlight still works. I opened up the back cover and the battery has leaked about a drops worth of corrosion.
Like other reviews, it keeps beeping until you check your misses calls, voice mails, or texts. It has also answered calls while in my pocket and I didnt hear the phone ringing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Montage

the phone calling pepole

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bobbby
From:  brooklyn
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
every time i'm having a missed call and the phone is in my pocket and understandably the screen is looked its got unlocked and could call people without i should know .... and,,,
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LTuser
California
 
Please wait while more information about LTuser is loaded.
Additional information about LTuser could not be loaded.
unmeant answering
Posted August 29, 2014
I've had the Montage for 6 mo +. I feel your pain. The (Answer) button is never locked. Would be a pain if you HAD to unlock the pad to talk to someone. I got a belt clip-on camera case at a dollar store. No more pocket dialing.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Samsung Montage

Assurance Wireless Approved Phone!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
oneofakind143
From:  ATX
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for a little over a year. Still... love it & it suits my calling/texting/web browsing, pics & recording needs. A backup battery is always good to have on any phone, especially this one cause it does use up alot when web browsing.
I gave it 4 stars because of the parental control settings option & expandable memory up to 32GB which is a great for tons of pics & recording videos for events you want to keep. While recording, you can zoom in up to 10xs (or at least is what it says) I have even been able to send 30 sec mini videos to my friends & family via text.
I use the alarms alot & this phone has up to 10 alarms which you can program it to repeat once, daily or manually check the days of the week you'd like to set it on. The snooze is 5,10,15 or 20 mins which is also great to have.
You can lock your phone on startup or right away in the settings & add a 4 numbered passcode or program it to auto lock w/o it.
If you don't want to be disturbed, the Airplane mode works great as an alternative to turning it off.
Pros: expandable memory option, camcorder zoom capabilities, perfect for small fingers, camera, keyboard style, auto phone lock/password option, customizable ringtones or sounds, voice recorder, memo pad, parental control options
Cons: battery life, web browsing uses up battery quickly, bulky in size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wendypooh
Orlando
 
Please wait while more information about Wendypooh is loaded.
Additional information about Wendypooh could not be loaded.
ZOOM?!?
Posted October 1, 2014
If you truly CAN zoom with this phone's camera, please tell me how!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Sheddaprabbit
michiana
 
Please wait while more information about Sheddaprabbit is loaded.
Additional information about Sheddaprabbit could not be loaded.
camcorder zoom capabilities,
Posted September 30, 2014
your review states PROS; camcorder zoom capabilities,. I have identical phone and the lack of zoom capability's in both camcorder and the camera is what i dislike the most. i don't understand how your Assurance Wireless Approved Phone has this feature and mine doesn't,please explain so i may understand how to get zoom capability's on my Samsung Montage, Assurance,Pay-lo, M390, slider phone. thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Samsung Montage

Really good phone

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dorkymadi123
From:  Seattle, WA
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is super easy to use and takes ok pictures. But it does what a phone is supposed to do. The phone can stay charged for 2-3 days depending on if you turn it off every night or not.
Pros: easy to use, long battery life, has some free fun games
Cons: if you don't have service you won't know the day, if you don't have service you won't know the time
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Montage

alerts

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamie547
From:  nebraska
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the alert for text messages/calls has no setting t o turn off the reminder. it is annoying and I hate it I end up turning off the volume and end up missing important calls
Cons: alerts
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
dmac
California
 
Please wait while more information about dmac is loaded.
Additional information about dmac could not be loaded.
icon only
Posted July 19, 2014
Go to message settings and choose icon only, that will stop the beep,
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
dmac
California
 
Please wait while more information about dmac is loaded.
Additional information about dmac could not be loaded.
alert setting
Posted July 17, 2014
I'm surprised that you have not read some of the other comments on how to resolve this issue. Go to message settings and set the alerts to icon only, then you won't get the "annoying" beep.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Samsung Montage

I like this phone.

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Belle16
From:  NY
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I'm not a frequent cell phone user, when I do use it I get excellent coverage. I've never had any problems with my phone.
Pros: excellent phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Montage

decent phone

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scout55
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't normally write reviews, but I have had this phone for almost a year and I think that it might be helpful to potential buyers. The phone, when you first get it, functions great, the keys feel real smooth and the action is good. This doesn't last the longest though. Unfortunately, your texts are limited to only 160spaces, then you have to hit send, and then finish what it is that you want to say in a new text. Another fact is that once you get a text, it beeps every 15 seconds quite loudly unless you have the phone on silent. You can't turn the beep off. So....forget trying to text in class. Also, when the phone is dying, it beeps twice, very loudly, especially if you are talking on the phone with someone, which normally happens when the person you are talking to is saying something super important. Both these beeps do not stop until the battery dies, or you examine your text. The Battery did last a long time when i first got the phone, but since then it has rapidly digressed into a very short lived battery. FYI, one problem with sliders, is if you ever even see sand, somehow it gets in the slide and feels like you are destroying your phone when you flip it. It doesn't last long though. This phone is also not the greatest at getting good reception, but I solved that by moving all around like the "can you hear me now?" guy and hearing "no" till I finally heard a "yes". Good exercise. I am not making all these things up, this phone just has a few little problems that add up over time. You might like it, but I wouldn't exactly recommend it. I know basically everything I have said is negative, and so this is what I will say for it, I have kept it because it has lasted. I had to tape the battery in place, but since then, the battery hasn't fallen out every time it falls, and surprisingly, it survived getting run over by a lot. :) Cheers. S.S.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Montage

solid phone

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
OTAsoontohaveaC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've dropped it in coffee once and water once, dried it out and it still works! I've dropped it on concrete a bunch of times too with no problems. If you want a durable phone this is a good one.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Montage

samsung montage

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
funfhone
From:  pittsburgh,pa
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my phone and service. It is great. My phone is excellent for texting and calling very easy to use.it gets 5 stars in every way.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: everything is great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Montage

hard to text, annoying

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
cboo
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I agree with other users that the notifications for alarms, texts, and calls are all really annoying. There is no way to make it just beep once when you get a message - it beeps every 30 seconds until you physically check it. This is really obnoxious when you're in class or a meeting, so I just keep mine on silent all day long.
The keyboard is also really hard to use, and I write typos all the time because of it. The space bar is the worst! I end up typinglikethistoallmyfriends. So annoying. I miss my old LG cosmo.
Pros: size (fits in pocket), sturdy
Cons: keyboard, alarms and notifications, photo quality, slippery, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Montage

This Phone Is Great

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissLynxie
From:  Carbondale, IL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for over 2 years. I use it daily for text messages and phone calls. It has great reception and ease of use. I have accidentally dropped my phone several times and it still works. I jokingly call my phone a timex because it has taken a licking and keeps on ticking. I would absolutely recommend this phone to anyone who just wants to text and make phone calls. If you want to do more, then I suggest going with a smart phone or something more powerful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Montage

dead

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
nothappyMary
From:  North East, PA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've owned this phone for a little awhile. A few quirks, but normally reliable. In the middle of the day...dead. No reason, full charge, dead. Pure junk. Thanks Samsung.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
susan
florida
 
Please wait while more information about susan is loaded.
Additional information about susan could not be loaded.
dead phone
Posted June 20, 2014
mine would just go dead too for no reason, called cust service and they sent me new phone and return old one. quick within 2 days. try to call them and they troubleshoot it first and then if not fixed will replace.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Samsung Montage

Completely Dead in 2 Months!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
HeplfulReview
From:  texas
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone thinking I was kind of upgrading for a prepaid phone, but that was not the case. I had this phone for a couple months and it completely died. No longer usable. Also, the game I played a lot would not work when I tried to play it. It would just stay frozen in the opening screen. I would not recommend this phone. This was the first time I purchased a Samsung and expected more from it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Montage

it's ok, wish there were more phone options available

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
648jess
From:  Everett, WA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The reminder for missed calls/messages/alarms is super annoying. It starts right after the missed event and goes off every 30 seconds. There is no way to turn this off or adjust the frequency. The calendar feature is clunky. Other than that it is a basic slider phone, miss my old LG through Verizon. I do like that you can access very basic web pages if you need to look up a business address, etc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Montage

Looks aren't everything

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Qatnip
From:  Oregon
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice looking phone, but I've only been using this phone for 6 months, and although I don't text excessively, I do text alot; The keys on the sliding keyboard are wearing out already. Takes good pics, but even when you reduce the pixel size (to better enable sending to email/messaging), it randomly decides that certain pics are "too large" to send, and Samsung doesn't have a means to download your pics to desktop, which is frustrating. So, some pictures you take will have to die with the phone. Also, WORST BATTERY LIFE EVERRRR.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wendypooh
Orlando
 
Please wait while more information about Wendypooh is loaded.
Additional information about Wendypooh could not be loaded.
Photos...
Posted October 1, 2014
Can you not use a micro SD card to get the photos off the phone before it dies?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
giveup
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about giveup is loaded.
Additional information about giveup could not be loaded.
Not great
Posted August 9, 2014
It calls when it's not supposed to. Lately it's been turning off when my wife has been texting, battery life not great, will likely change companies.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Samsung Montage

Worst battery of any phone I've every owned.

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
trainsgg1
From:  Colorad
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
And overall awful phone. I thought this was an upgrade to my flip phone, but I was wrong.
Cons: poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...11next>>