Customer Reviews for Samsung Montage

Samsung Montage

Staying in touch is easy with the Samsung Montage's slide-out QWERTY keyboard for faster texting, 2.0MP Camera/Camcorder, Bluetooth, threaded text messaging, email and web access.
Average Customer Rating:
3.134 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(216 Reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 216 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
48
3 stars
32
2 stars
37
1 star
45
114 out of 20755%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Montage
Review 1 for Samsung Montage

Good for a temporary replacement... But not great.

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Amarirox
From:  Imperial, Ca
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My Kyocera Contact broke and replaced it with this phone... and let me tell you.. I thought this phone was going to be better. I was wrong, This phone doesn't do the T9 when the phone is not open.. and I can't shift the symbols when its closed either. I'm going back to Kyocera Contact. I regret this phone.
Cons: not great...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Montage

This phone is the worst I've had.

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MsDisapointed
From:  TX
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't waste your money. The features don't work properly. You can't forward text messages.
Cons: features don't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Montage

This phone is easy to use

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Blessed2Talk
From:  Upland California
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the slide out key board for texting. Its easy to take pictures it never drop calls. I like the phone so well I am looking to buy another one just in case I ever need another one.
Pros: easy to use, slide out key board
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Montage

Some yuch!

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bean2939
From:  Milw, WI
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Truncates texts so if long you get two texts. What a bother. Battery life is short, 12 hours at most. Otherwise pretty good. No trouble hearing, setting up, etc.
Cons: battery life truncated texts
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Montage

Love this

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissCrystal1860
From:  Watertown, TN
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After my brand new Brio was stolen I had to search for a new phone, after checking the reviews I finally decided on the Montage. And I'm so glad I did. It's sleek and easy to use. The bad reviews worried me quite a bit, everyone complaining about the constant beeping if you don't read a text message immediately kinda scared me as I sometimes get texts in the middle of the night. I figured out all you have to do is silence all on the volume button and you're golden.
The camera takes pretty good pictures, there are alot of preloaded ringtones to chose from. Not so many wallpapers or screen savers but thats a minor problem.
Over all I'm extremely happy with my Montage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Montage

NO!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
STUCK
From:  GA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had For Six Mo.s KeyS act Crazy . Menu And You Get Pic.s Woluld not Go To Stand By Mode Stay On 24-7 Red Face Glowing Meaning It.s A Home Phome Pluged In ...JUNK SAmsang Tech s Are Nuts Just Like Assnrances Folks You Need A Translater They Are Going To Drop The price For Me For A New One They Don.t know It Yet ..Will Close Acct.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Montage

Okay phone

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
IWonderAsIWander
From:  Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone is good for the basics calling and texting. My problems with the phone are the non-stop beeping if you do not answer it right away. Also, the battery can get very hot for no reason. It is fairly cheap and lasted for a year. It is an okay phone for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Montage

Easy To Use!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CamsGram
From:  Kansas
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As an older person, I want something I can HEAR, and use easily. I don't need the same features on a phone that a person in their 20's & 30's need. Don't use them. BUT I want access to the web, text & camera. And those features on this phone are easy to use. There's a good choice of ringtones to choose from. As I said, I need one I can hear, and I found more than one that I can hear very well. I can use this phone easily. Love the slide out keyboard. I would definitely recommend this phone to anyone of any age!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Montage

Good

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Non737
From:  Washington, DC
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will recommend this phone to friends. This phone is great because I have no problems with it at all.
Pros: easy to use, reliability
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Montage

camera doesn't work all the time

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ilovewhitezin
From:  mass
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The camera will not work at times, sometimes for days. Hate the constant beeping when you get a text or voice mail, it beeps every 10 seconds or so until you check it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Montage

annoying phone

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Angie02120
From:  Boston
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had this phone for two years and I am glad I finally got rid of it. One thing I hated the most about it is that when you get a missed call, a text or voice message, the phone continually beeps every 10 seconds, until you address the message/missed call. I had strangers called my number by mistake in the middle of the night, and the phone beeped like crazy. I was too tired to get up to dismiss the missed call, but too awake to hear that beep beep beep. It kept me up for the rest of the night. I do not recommend this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Montage

Reliable Phone and accessories

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
GlitterPrincess86
From:  Bucks County, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for just about 2 years, and had no real problems up until replacement. Easy to use camera and camcorder, such a device is useful when capturing life's most unforgettable moments. Problem is, limited battery life, characters for text messaging, and after a while, keys start acting up, i.e. power key needs to be pressed several times before it successfully works. All in all, i would recommend this phone to a friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Montage

Solid feature phone

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sakura
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone lasted 2 years with no problems until the end. Battery life was so-so, only lasting about a day and a half, but sound on calls was good, and texting with the qwerty keyboard was wonderful. The camera is definitely low end, but fine for spur of the moment shots and posting to Facebook, etc. One downside is that to put the pictures on the computer you have to remove the microSD card and us an adapter to insert it into the computer. But that's a minor problem. For someone whose main purpose in having a cell phone is to have a cell phone, this is an excellent choice. If you want to download apps or post to social media, you need a smart phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MizMac
California
 
Please wait while more information about MizMac is loaded.
Additional information about MizMac could not be loaded.
email pictures.
Posted November 16, 2014
You can also send pictures via text message to your email account and save to your computer from there.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Samsung Montage

Good BASIC phone

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MrsPB
From:  Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for almost 2 years. Works great for basic needs.
~Pros~
-Has a decent 2MP camera NO flash
-Full QWERTY keypad for texting etc
-Has endured MANY drops (even into water a few times)
-SD card slot
-Pretty good battery life
~Cons~
-Can't edit/crop/rotate pics
-Can't turn off the annoying notification reminder. (Beeps every 15 -SECONDS, to REMIND you that you have a text/voicemail/missed call etc, until you check it)
-Can't send a text OVER 160 characters/spaces
-When you try to forward a text it adds the whole header info and crops out most of the msg you're trying to forward.
Overall good phone for a low budget and basic calling/texting needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Montage

I like it, whats everyone complaining about

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MATT1988
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The MicroSD card makes it easy to get free wallpapers off the computer and mp3s. Sweet camera quality. It's the best phone I've had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Montage

Simple, easy to use but fragile

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
WishesItWorked
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basic cell phone that was easy to use. Problem was after a few months of use the buttons started to act up. Sometimes they would not work, or would work incorrectly, then one day it just refused to turn on. Battery life was good though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Montage

Sick of this phone

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bybbasplayr
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone when it works is good. virgin had to send me 4 replacement batteries within the first 7 months because they would'nt stay charged. then it got to were i had to charge every other day sometimes it was every day. then about 7 months ago it started locking up and then only way to fix it is to take battery out and put back in turn on phone and hope it doesnt do it again. Now it is taking at least 5 times of taking battery out to actually make a call and hope it doesn't lock while dialing the number. It was a great phone in the beginning
Cons: short battery life and locks up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Montage

Battery leaked within a year

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hedgie
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone for Christmas. Now it is Sept and the screen refuses to light up all of a sudden but the keys backlight still works. I opened up the back cover and the battery has leaked about a drops worth of corrosion.
Like other reviews, it keeps beeping until you check your misses calls, voice mails, or texts. It has also answered calls while in my pocket and I didnt hear the phone ringing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Montage

the phone calling pepole

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bobbby
From:  brooklyn
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
every time i'm having a missed call and the phone is in my pocket and understandably the screen is looked its got unlocked and could call people without i should know .... and,,,
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LTuser
California
 
Please wait while more information about LTuser is loaded.
Additional information about LTuser could not be loaded.
unmeant answering
Posted August 29, 2014
I've had the Montage for 6 mo +. I feel your pain. The (Answer) button is never locked. Would be a pain if you HAD to unlock the pad to talk to someone. I got a belt clip-on camera case at a dollar store. No more pocket dialing.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Samsung Montage

Assurance Wireless Approved Phone!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
oneofakind143
From:  ATX
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for a little over a year. Still... love it & it suits my calling/texting/web browsing, pics & recording needs. A backup battery is always good to have on any phone, especially this one cause it does use up alot when web browsing.
I gave it 4 stars because of the parental control settings option & expandable memory up to 32GB which is a great for tons of pics & recording videos for events you want to keep. While recording, you can zoom in up to 10xs (or at least is what it says) I have even been able to send 30 sec mini videos to my friends & family via text.
I use the alarms alot & this phone has up to 10 alarms which you can program it to repeat once, daily or manually check the days of the week you'd like to set it on. The snooze is 5,10,15 or 20 mins which is also great to have.
You can lock your phone on startup or right away in the settings & add a 4 numbered passcode or program it to auto lock w/o it.
If you don't want to be disturbed, the Airplane mode works great as an alternative to turning it off.
Pros: expandable memory option, camcorder zoom capabilities, perfect for small fingers, camera, keyboard style, auto phone lock/password option, customizable ringtones or sounds, voice recorder, memo pad, parental control options
Cons: battery life, web browsing uses up battery quickly, bulky in size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wendypooh
Orlando
 
Please wait while more information about Wendypooh is loaded.
Additional information about Wendypooh could not be loaded.
ZOOM?!?
Posted October 1, 2014
If you truly CAN zoom with this phone's camera, please tell me how!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Sheddaprabbit
michiana
 
Please wait while more information about Sheddaprabbit is loaded.
Additional information about Sheddaprabbit could not be loaded.
camcorder zoom capabilities,
Posted September 30, 2014
your review states PROS; camcorder zoom capabilities,. I have identical phone and the lack of zoom capability's in both camcorder and the camera is what i dislike the most. i don't understand how your Assurance Wireless Approved Phone has this feature and mine doesn't,please explain so i may understand how to get zoom capability's on my Samsung Montage, Assurance,Pay-lo, M390, slider phone. thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
12345...11next>>