Customer Reviews for Samsung Entro

Samsung Entro

The Samsung Entro prepaid cell phone from Virgin Mobile is a flip phone with external color display, talk and text and web access.
Average Customer Rating:
3.898 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
17
92 out of 12077%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Entro
Review 1 for Samsung Entro

I LOVE the new Samsung Entro!!!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TerryInTheForest
From:  Black Forest, Colorado
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
I love the Samsung Entro because its voice dialing is much improved over my previous VM phone. I have low vision and can't see to dial very well, so voice dialing is very important to me. Also the main navigation keys are completely customizable, so this is essential in addition to speed dialing. And finally, after logging on to my VM account and entering the serial number, the Samsung Entro essentially activated itself and I was able to immediately make a call. Bravo Virgin Mobile! I love this phone so much I'm going to buy another for a spare!
Pros: voice dialing improved, customizable navigation keys, easy activation
I would recommend this to a friend!
+59points
66of 73voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Angelasch
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Angelasch is loaded.
Additional information about Angelasch could not be loaded.
No camera
Posted March 12, 2014
Yes I just figured it had a camera when I purchased it. I thought all of the new phones did. Oh well my bad. LOL
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Sdeal1960
Kissimmee, Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Sdeal1960 is loaded.
Additional information about Sdeal1960 could not be loaded.
Samsung Entro
Posted January 4, 2013
I agree, too bad it doesn't have a camera...
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Samsung Entro

Excellent basic phone

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JimboD
From:  Upstate New York
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For making and receiving calls this phone can't be beat. Great sound quality.
Pros: good inexpensive phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Entro

Great Little Phone

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LMKS
From:  Moline, Illinois
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for probably over a year now, and recommended it to many friends as a cheap, pay-as-you-go sidekick phone - a great alternative to cut bills and get the job done.
In my area (Western Illinois) the service is perfect. There is only one funky area of town that I drive through and will lose a call. Other than that, cement buildings, warehouses - what have you - I can still talk on the phone whereas some of my friends with smart phones run into dropped calls. Interesting!
The phone itself is very simple and functional. I like that I can program speed dial numbers.
There is no camera, but I knew that buying it and have other devices for taking pictures.
The call quality is clearer than that of smart phones that I've used.
I have dropped this thing so many times and had the back plastic plate pop off and the battery fall out, but I just stick it back together, turn it on, and everything is fine again. No cracks or anything even. Remarkable!
All in all, if you are looking for a sturdy, reliable phone to help cut your bills and you dislike the idea of being glued to a screen all day wasting time, this phone would be a good choice for you!
It is NOT designed for web-surfing, getting directions, google, that type of thing, although you can painstakingly try to do it if you're that desperate I suppose.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Entro

Simple, good battery, and the cheapest phone ever.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Casemancaseman
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a year and a half, my Entro went kaput. If one is to think of this phone as a disposable phone that is perfectly fine. Battery life is really good- I have it on standby all of the time and I only have to charge a few times a month. Other than that this phone is super simple, easy to use and has no hassle-just use other electronic devices for games and music.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Entro

Good Phone

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tomjt
From:  Allentown, Pa.
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Samsung Entro, for a basic phone works very well. Battery life is great. But if your looking to sync it to your car forget it, it doesn't have bluetooth capabilities. Other than that, for the price you can't beat this phone..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Entro

not so great

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
talford06
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone has very limited capabilities and is not even worth $15. This is the only phone i know of that doesn't have a camera. But if you are just looking for a cheap phone real quick than go with this one but you won't get much fun out of it. Browsing the internet is a pain in the but because the screen is so small.
Pros: simple
Cons: capabilities
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Entro

Works with legacy pay as you go plans

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RlrNC
From:  Morrisville
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got an Entro to replace my ancient Party Animal which was starting to drop calls in a particularly annoying fashion. Since I was able to swap phones and keep my old account I am very happy.
Phone performance is fine for a basic, no frills cellphone. I haven't put my Entro through any significant tests but I'm very curious about radio performance; the Party Animal had excellent long range reception.
Pros: payasyougo, minute2minute
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Entro

Great Basic Phone

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoMoM
From:  Texas
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone for a while and it is perfect, if you don't care for all the fancy stuff like a camera, touch screen, apps, music, and internet. I think this phone is capable of getting on the internet, but at a lower quality. It works just fine for talking and texting which is what I use it for. I have dropped it several times and it still works every time. The battery stays charged for 1-3 days depending on how long I use it in a day, which is usually 1-3 hours a day talking to my sister.
Pros: the battery life lasts forever, phone still works after several drops, works great for simple actions like making a call
Cons: phone is small, texting is hard if you are used to a smart phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Entro

Low earpiece volume with no way to increase volume.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
UNHAPPYJACK
From:  Dayton, OH
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone for my husband who only needs a simple phone. However, the earpiece volume cannot be adjusted. I've never seen a cell phone without this adjustment option. Volume is very low and I don't have a hearing problem. Don't like to use speaker.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Entro

Great little phone

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SteveW
From:  Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This flip is perfect for use by those who want only the basic functions of a phone, ie voice and texting (there is a somewhat useful built-in web browser, but it's limited). There is not even a camera. Small form and sleek black style, combined with quick response make it a perfect "business" phone or second line unit.
Pros: light fast simple
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Entro

Reliable phone

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Averagephoneuser
From:  Florida
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good reliable phone. It doesn't take pictures, you can make calls and text. It is possible to recieve picture mail, but the download function doesn't work to download off the web. I wanted to get pictures of my contacts from the email and the web, I can view pictures from those sources, but cannot download them. I would like to get a picture phone, but this thing is so reliable, I've dropped it a few times and it still works, it has rounded edges and fits in my pocket well, I'll probably keep it. Battery life is average and talk quality is good. It's a little tricky to text with, but it works if you carefully touch the keys.
Pros: economical, reliable and easy to carry
Cons: no picture capability
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Entro

Good inexpensive basic phone for calling

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gus195
From:  Acushnet, Ma
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wish this phone would answer the call as soon as the cover is flipped up instead of having to open the cover than press "talk". The sound level buttons should also be under the flop cover. They're on the side and just carrying the phone in your pocket varies the sound level. Occasionally I would like to access the Web, but this phone does not have the memory to access it. I was in Ohio last summer and this phone gave me the tornado alert and none of the high powered I phones responded to the alert! It gets good reception in most locations and is a good basic phone. for calling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GarG
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about GarG is loaded.
Additional information about GarG could not be loaded.
Check the manual...
Posted March 15, 2014
Check your manual (it's also on line here if you no longer have it) Go to page 67 and see that you can change to answer on flip open or other options!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Samsung Entro

Good flip phone

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
abigailm
From:  McKinney, TX
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this on the recommendation of my mother that loves her virgin mobile smartphone, and I was having difficulty with another well known carrier prepaid wireless flip phone that i was using. Service was okay but it seemed as if eveyone i didn't know had my number and so my minutes were always used up from constant callscalls, texts, messages from those i did not not know . So switched.Was a breeze to activate with a new number! Now down the line I want a smartphone but for my needs right now flip phone is all i need, being quite wifi with other devices i have in life. This is perfect in flip phone quality. I really cannot find a fault with this device nor the quality, it's beautiful. Has great wallpapers too. Only wish it had more ringers included it's quite limited in that sense, as two ringers sound quite similar. And downloading new ones is hard to see on that screen. That said? It's worth it, good quality device for a basic non contract flip phone. I'm even thinking about getting one for my dad !
Pros: great phone easy to use
Cons: ringers could be better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Entro

Pretty good for the price

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mushmush
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weirdly, this $15 phone has outlived several more expensive, "better" phones. If you need something very basic, this works well. Also gets better reception than other phones I've had from Samsung.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Entro

2nd cel for my business

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cori821
From:  Danville, CA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a small skincare practice. And this handy cel fits my needs. I don't want to plaster my personal cel # on business cards, etc.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Entro

Great inexpensive phone

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ddrobins
From:  Kalamazoo, MI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone doesn't have many features (not even a camera), but it works very good. I have had it for about a year and haven't had any issues with it. If you just want something inexpensive that you can talk and text it'll work fine. I keep the text on predictive and find it pretty easy to use.
Pros: inexpensive, ease of use
Cons: no camera
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Entro

Good Phone, Bad for texting

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
KK42
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it's a good basic phone for calls, but not good for texting.
Pros: calls
Cons: texting
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Entro

this phone had the screen completely snapped off and still worked on speaker phone.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
zzzzzzzzzz
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i mean no top half! voice recognition still let me call contacts that i didn't know the # for. great phone and great price.
Pros: can take a beating and be reliable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Entro

A great little phone

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
studoc
From:  Appleton, WI
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If all you want is a simple, serviceable phone and you don't care about a lot of bells and whistles, this is the one for you. The T9 predictive language works very well. Sometimes it's hard to go back and view past messages, but maybe with practice I would get the hang of it. No camera. I like the ease of calling someone. Just open it up, press and hold the speed dial number, and that's it. Battery life is great with normal use. A great phone for just a little money.
Pros: ease of use
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Entro

One Year Life

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
soso
From:  Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this phone for my Mom, she was happy until a couple of weeks a go when she told me it had died. This phone did not last even the full year. I may change companies and go with another easy to use phone. She does want a smart phone, so it is back to the regular cellphones like that one with reservations thou.
Pros: easy for senior citizents
Cons: does last
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...7next>>