Customer Reviews for Samsung Entro

Samsung Entro

The Samsung Entro prepaid cell phone from Virgin Mobile is a flip phone with external color display, talk and text and web access.
Average Customer Rating:
3.763 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(148 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
34
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
23
100 out of 14071%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Entro
Review 1 for Samsung Entro

I LOVE the new Samsung Entro!!!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TerryInTheForest
From:  Black Forest, Colorado
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
I love the Samsung Entro because its voice dialing is much improved over my previous VM phone. I have low vision and can't see to dial very well, so voice dialing is very important to me. Also the main navigation keys are completely customizable, so this is essential in addition to speed dialing. And finally, after logging on to my VM account and entering the serial number, the Samsung Entro essentially activated itself and I was able to immediately make a call. Bravo Virgin Mobile! I love this phone so much I'm going to buy another for a spare!
Pros: voice dialing improved, customizable navigation keys, easy activation
I would recommend this to a friend!
+74points
83of 92voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Angelasch
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Angelasch is loaded.
Additional information about Angelasch could not be loaded.
No camera
Posted March 12, 2014
Yes I just figured it had a camera when I purchased it. I thought all of the new phones did. Oh well my bad. LOL
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Sdeal1960
Kissimmee, Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Sdeal1960 is loaded.
Additional information about Sdeal1960 could not be loaded.
Samsung Entro
Posted January 4, 2013
I agree, too bad it doesn't have a camera...
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Samsung Entro

Very low battery life

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gardengeek
From:  St. Petersburg, FL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Despite the reviews of long battery life, my experience is that this phone holds a charge for just 1-2 days and takes several hours for the phone to charge. Unfortunately, my previous phone (Samsung Mantra) is no longer offered so I purchased what I thought was a similar product. It is inferior.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Entro

Back to the future

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
andrew123
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone calls people and does so wonderfully. Great signal, i never lose a call, and my battery lasts eight or more days on one charge. I have an ipad to use apps on, people need to experience life and not be on there smart phone all day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Entro

It's almost impossible to download a ringtone to this phone

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
skeptic
From:  Austin, Texas
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The supplied ringtones are so hard to hear they render the ringer pretty quiet. When I found a fire truck ringtone that would make sure I would never miss a call, I couldn't download it.
Pros: cheap
Cons: can't download ringtones
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Entro

Don't Waste the Money

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
unhappyat53
From:  Las Vegas, NV
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you text; you need to pay close attention to the keys. They are Overly Sensitive or Just Bad when trying to select your letter. You Will Have to Keep Going Back to Correct the Spelling.. Pretty Much Every Word... The Amount of Words is Also Limited to say; 65 words perhaps.. It's frustrating.. Get a Different Choice... I had lost my Kona and Samsung is a decent brand; so I thought... This is a reject of Samsung I believe. My Opinion.. And No Camera but you can receive pics
Cons: the keys if you text, no camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Entro

Great Value!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RU4REAL
From:  JERSEY
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holy smokes, i love this little baby. First of all do not buy an unbelievably inexpensive phone and expect features it does not claim to have. If you want all those features pay for a phone with more capabilities. If you rate it for what it is and what its suppose to be it is awesome! A nice looking little flip phone that does the basics. Its easy to use, clear sound, strong signal, nice display screen and an Li-ion battery. No complaints at all. Also, doing the phone swap was a piece of cake. Only takes a few mins. Perfect for my needs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Entro

Basic phone, worth the money, but that's about it

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
oldtimer
From:  MidAtlanticStates -- USA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The name says it all -- "ENTRO" -- this is a basic entry-level phone, useful for talking and not much else.
No camera, and the screen is tiny (and the numerical displays on that screen are very miniature as well).
Gets the job done, but there are so many other options for nice phones in the marketplace.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Entro

I Love my Kosher Phone

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jezrell
From:  Los Angeles, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing better than having and excellent Phone and Service with Virgin Mobile. I make call to Israel and reception is excellent with a pay as go plan Is nothing better than just having a very simple phone available.
Thanks Virgin Mobile
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Entro

Even for a basic phone, this one is disappointing

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
bcanndid
From:  Boston, MA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When I first enrolled with Virgin with a prepaid plan several years ago, I started with a Kyocera 'oyster' style phone which I loved. Unfortunately it had gone out of style when it needed to be replaced (why can't manufacturers keep the lines that work?!) so I chose this Samsung. In comparison it does not deliver consistent performance. Reception is hollow and spotty, on speaker or off, and the keys constantly stick or jump when composing text. It's not hopeless for a basic phone as I know there are people who need only the bare minimum, so I reluctantly give it approval for that reason. But I do believe Virgin could choose a much better replacement to include in their prepaid programs. I hope you're paying attention Richard Branson!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Entro

Entro Badro

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TomHS
From:  Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Entro has no Bluetooth so you can't get your contacts out of your old phone. May seem like a trivial matter but when you have over 100 contacts who wants to sit and re-enter the things when you can take it to a Radio Shack or Sprint Store and they will move your contacts over to a new phone so long as it has bluetooth.
Pros: cost & ease of use
Cons: no bluetooth
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Entro

Can't Call Out!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rickshaw
From:  Fresno, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a horrible phone for an older person who just want to call out and revive calls. The software hijacks the phones call out function. A phone that makes it difficult to call out... thanks, but no thanks. Too complicated for it's own good. Also the caller volume can not be adjusted. Worst phone I've ever owned, it's going back even if I have to eat the shipping. Get the Kyocera Kona instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Entro

I will be replacing it after just a few months use

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
caseyfoofoo
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I maintain this phone for my elderly aunt. She is able to use it. She can navigate the buttons to make and answer calls. It has good back lighting. the buttons are a good size and it is laid out like her previous phone so she had little to learn how to use it the back of it has texture, making it easy to hold. I find the menu easy to navigate, but she could not navigate it. Unfortunately, it goes through an update every time it is turned on and she needs to remember what to do to dismiss the update when it is done. It makes it more confusing for her. Now after just 6 months of very light use, she has found a dead battery a few hours after charging it. This is very disappointing. She needs to depend on this phone. It shouldn't just quit like this. I am surprised because this brand has never disappointed me before. after 6 months of use, it still looks like its in pristine condition.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: battery dies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Entro

This is a good phone for voice calls

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ColumnTwentyfive
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a good phone for voice calls but thats about it. Everyone I've spoken with I ask if they can hear me alright, and generally everyone has answered postively. But the texting feature is cumbersome and difficult. One of the drawbacks is that any incoming call or incoming text will void whatever text message you were in the process of composing. The keyboard is a multipurpose keyboard, so entering text messages is slow. The battery life is good, but I tend to use mine little. Especially, the predictive text dictionary this phone has is limited. Get it for a voice phone only.
Pros: voice, battery
Cons: poor texting design
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Entro

Outstanding!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
IROQ1701
From:  Baltimore, Maryland
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was looking for a reliable easy to use flip phone. The VM Entro fulfilled all that and more....Packed full of useful features as well! Excellent sound quality!
Pros: ease of use, good battery life, features
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Entro

The Samsung Entro is perfect for my needs

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Texian
From:  Austin, TX
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed an inexpensive phone fast about 6 months ago and opted for the Entro as a stop-gap measure - and for the price, I couldn't resist giving it a try. I basically I just want a phone anyway, and this is perfect, especially with the voice activated calling. And the sound is excellent and clear. The text method is a bit clumsy (no QWERTY keyboard), but if you don't text a lot, it's not that difficult - just slow. Now after using it for most of 2014, I have no need or desire to upgrade to anything else.
Of course, this would not satisfy anyone who wants a smart phone, but if placing and receiving calls or text messages is your main priority, you can't beat this one. And Virgin Mobile's Pay-Lo plan provides plenty of talk and text i.e., unlimited - plus even some GB for data, depending on the plan you choose. This turned out to be the phone for me.
Pros: voice activated calling, clear sound, improved navigation icons
Cons: text method is clumsy but workable
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Entro

Easy to use and reliable

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
arjelio
From:  Las Cruces, NM
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone has good features and serves me well. I use it to make calls mostly, with occasional text messages, and for those uses it has been very satisfactory.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Entro

Get something else

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DrMagicman
From:  Chicago, IL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen writing is small and non-changeable. The features take too many steps to get to something and there is no camera at all. I am switching to something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mtheaded4real
Milwaukee, Wi.
 
Please wait while more information about mtheaded4real is loaded.
Additional information about mtheaded4real could not be loaded.
Posted July 17, 2014
I have the same phone an my camera works just like when I bought it. Maybe you should learn how to use the camera, mean its easy enough. I've owned mine for years years with no problems, it even gone swimming with me a few times.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Samsung Entro

hit or miss battery life

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
cleo
From:  massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good basic phone with one drawback. My husband and I each have one. We leave them both on. His battery lasts forever, at least a week and a half to 2 weeks. Mine lasts 2-3 days tops, sometimes less. This is my second one. I returned the first one within a week because of the battery problem and the second one was no better.
Cons: battery life is unpredictable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Entro

Phone was dead to use after 3 months.

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SadPhoneUser22
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone went completely dead. The changer shows like it is charging, but the phone never charges. When charger is unplugged, the phone's screen goes blank again. The phone was in service for 3 months. It was rarely left on when not in active use.
Cons: dead after 3 months use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Entro

The Samsung Entro

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Johnny1952
From:  Grand Haven, MI.
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want just a good basic cell phone for everyday use than this is the one. Not a lot of bells and whistles to deal with or master. Just good old fashioned simplicity. I'm old fashioned and I still like the flip phones because for me they are very ergonomic. And battery life is amazing. I barely have to charge it at most once a week. So if simplicity is your game than this is the phone for you. It doesn't get any simpler than this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...8next>>