Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio

Kyocera Brio

Expression is right at your fingertips with the Kyocera Brio. A QWERTY keyboard for quick typing, a 1.3 MP digital-zoom camera for snapping pics and a microSD memory card slot for storing and transferring photos make it easy to get your word out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.655 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
34
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
16
77 out of 11468%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio
Review 1 for Kyocera Brio

Inexpensive phone with great features

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LoveMyLowTechLife
From:  Virginia
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is an upgrade from my trusty old Oyster that died a few months ago.
The Brio is small and compact and was a bit slippery to hold which was easily fixed by purchasing a case for it.
Buttons are small but easy to use. Call volume is fine. Camera is okay though not a feature I will use much. Battery life is terrific. Texting is easy.
This is a nice, feature-filled (for me, anyway) phone at a good price for someone like me who rarely uses a cell phone and wants an affordable plan with no contract.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Brio

good phone BUT!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Katbird
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone is a nice pocket size phone but the buttons are too small and the volume is not good; hard to understand the other person talking. I have petite fingers and find the keypad hard to hit the correct buttons.
Pros: size, camera
Cons: volume, keypad
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Brio

texting stinks

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
luvtoshopone
From:  ny
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not a great phone for texting as it is threaded and does not give you other format options... it's somewhat awkward to use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Brio

Excellent phone, excellent price!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
inkansascity
From:  Kansas City, KS
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone now for over a year. Absolutely NO problems whatsoever! None! Easy to carry, easy to use. Stays charged for a long time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Brio

It works

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lashall
From:  Alabama
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This cell phone works fine except for when I plug into the earpiece jack. On a call I can hear them but they can't hear me. And I don't like that. I have to use the speaker. But that is not as convenient as an earpiece is. I should be able to use an earpiece since there is an earpiece jack on the phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Brio

This produce has wonderful features!!

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tankster
From:  Atlanta, GA
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I chose this phone because it reminds me of my first Blackberry. Very easy to operate, light in my hands and it looks like the top-of-the line Blackberry. I wouldn't buy other phone.
Pros: the keyboard
Cons: i can't find anything wr ong
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Brio

GREAT PHONE! IT STAYS CHARGE FOR AT LEAST 2-3 FULL GOOD DAYS IF YOU'RE NOT ON THE INTERNET ALL DAY. GREAT FOR CALLS N TEXTIN! ONLY

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
yellowsugar337
From:  BRONX, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I TIRED LISTENING TO YOUTUBE IT WILL BRING U THERE BUT YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO LISTEN TO IT..THAT'S ABOUT IT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS AWESOME
Pros: less charging!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Brio

So glad that this is not the Jax Phone!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mgoldsmith1973
From:  Appleton WI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am so glad that we, assurance wireless customers have more options for phones now. I remember when I went on the program, they only had one option phone (the brio style) and it was quite expensive.
As for the phone, I really like this phone, not only for the price but because of no more dropped calls. Texting with the QWERTY keyboard is easier, The AW Jax phone didn't have this keyboard, they had press the button numerous times until you get an actual letter/number thing. That was annoying and a waste of time. There are downloaded features added to the phone but if you don't like those, you can download them off the VM site. Plus the camera is handy for making your own wallpapers. (and yes, this is compatible with the Assurance wireless service.)
An another thing that appealed to me how easy it was to get accessories for this phone. If you do your homework, you will be able to find them.
As for the web surfing, I do not have that option included in my plan. VM/AW should have data packs and what not for you to purchase for your mobile internet needs.
The battery usage is good in my opinion. I was able to go without charging my battery for five-six days. In order to keep it like this, use the power save feature on this phone.
A perfect phone for those who can't afford a smart phone or who are not ready for a smart phone.
(Please excuse my poor grammar, spelling errors and poor punctuation. I used to be good in these fields but when I turned 40, it went all downhill for me.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Brio

It does what it is supposed to do.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mommaveex3
From:  Bronx, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the phone. Its loud even on speaker, its easy to navigate for me and it has a full typing keyboard. The keys are a bit small but I don't use it for texting just yet. I like it and would recommend it.
Pros: texting, loud, battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Brio

Low Budget Phone

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Eratosthenes
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I turn on my phone once a week for about 5 minutes. I don't need any "apps". So, this phone is a good fit for me. If you need to text, lots of apps, and access to the internet, this is not the phone for you.
Pros: low budget phone, good reception
Cons: cannot install apps, poor keypad, difficult to navigate
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Brio

Kudos for the Kyocera Brio!

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lourn
From:  FL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To all those looking for a phone.
I must say that this phone has more than met my expectations in build quality and function. The sound quality is very good even on speaker phone. It is patterned after the BlackBerry, which for the price is a , you can't beat it. I do not have a data plan just yet, but plan on on in the future so I can retrieve my email. The keys are well spaced given the narrowness of the phone and are well lit. The only thing I wish it had would be the ability to shoot video. Other than that, Kyocera has produced a high quality product at a very affordable price.
Thanks for reading,
Lourn
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Brio

VERY IMPRESSIVE-BEST VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DADDIOHH
From:  Madison Ohio
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have bin very plzd with this phone-for talk & text it fits me perfect & in fact -have had this phone for about 2yrs-last Nov2013 we had a house fire-the fieman had found my phone still on n still working-took 3days to dry it outn the only damage was to the screen otherwise ive still been using this Brio n will be buying another one very soon!! COULDNT BE MORE HAPPY OR MORE IMPRESSED!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Brio

Very unhappy

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
McSock
From:  SoCal
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been with Virgin a long time and always been very happy with the equipment and service. This phone does not fit into that assessment. The key lock only semi-works. The phone can randomly dial 911 even when locked. There are not any games/apps for it. It is just a phone, I would have been just as well off with a plain Jane flip phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Brio

Great Phone

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
April444
From:  California
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently upgraded from LG101 and the Brio is great for talking and texting. I just wish the ring tones weren't so annoying. Anyways, the qwerty keypad works for me. I like how cool the overall phone looks and its affordability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Brio

Awesome Assurance Upgrade

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RyanNeil007
From:  FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Switched my basic Assurance Wireless phone for Brio and it's awesome. I can text, send pictures and talk. I use my iPad Mini for almost everything (web, apps, music etc) so this is a great phone to just talk and text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Brio

A Good Phone for Talking

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DumbPhoneUser
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If your primary reason for needing a cell phone is to dial a number and talk to someone, then I think you'll be pleased with this phone. With the full keyboard, it is also good for texting. You won't be able to do all of the smart phone stuff like playing games and watching videos, but many of us don't need all that. The voice quality is good and the menus are simple to navigate. It is very compact and lightweight. You won't need a man-purse to carry it. It will fit easily in your pocket. It is also durable. I've dropped mine a few times without any problems. The camera is good enough to take a decent picture of a license plate, face, etc., but if you like to take high-quality pictures, you'll need a separate camera. Although I don't use a phone much for gaming, I normally would have a least a couple of time passing games on my phones to play. I have had no success trying to download additional games for this phone. I'm stuck with the 3 trial games that came with it. My other PayLo phones have had a call log for logging all incoming and outgoing calls. This phone only logs missed calls.
Pros: voice calling, texting, small, lightweight, battery life, durable
Cons: call logging, no games
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
DumbPhoneUser
 
Please wait while more information about DumbPhoneUser is loaded.
Additional information about DumbPhoneUser could not be loaded.
Thanks
Posted January 31, 2015
Thanks for the tip about the voicemail call log. I was always pressing the end call button twice quickly to get back to the home screen. I never noticed the call log. Duh!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
surepaul
Saginaw, Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about surepaul is loaded.
Additional information about surepaul could not be loaded.
call log
Posted November 19, 2014
If you call your voice mail....and then hang up....you will see your call log for at least the past week. Try it....:~)
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
surepaul
Saginaw, Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about surepaul is loaded.
Additional information about surepaul could not be loaded.
Call log
Posted September 10, 2014
If you connect to your voicemail,,,,then end the call....you will see a log of your calls on the screen....:~)
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 17 for Kyocera Brio

This product is great

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CyriL4G
From:  NewYork
Age: 18-24
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So my day have this phone and it's pretty good. The battery life is amazing
this phone have qwerty keyboard that is really good to send tet messages and its pretty easy to use this phone
Pros: batterylife, perfomence, qwerty
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Brio

Good for a cheap phone

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
DerpMeister
From:  Mansfield, MA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone was relatively cheap, with a full qwerty keyboard, i was content. I have tended to notice that the keyboard is slightly too small, but it serves its purpose. The phone is easy to use, and has excellent battery life. The vibrate is extremely weak, and i tend not to notice if it goes off while on vibrate. Overall, a good phone if you don't have the money for a smartphone.
Pros: cheap, easy to use
Cons: small keyboard, low quality camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Brio

great phone for price

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
chevpp
From:  Fruitvale, TX.
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
if you want a smart phone buy one, I was with virgin for many years, switched to straight talk & smart phone, between dropping calls & not being able to call toll free numbers, I came back to virgin on $30 monthly plan & feel that this phone is just right for me. I only text & talk which this phone does well. My only problem with the phone is that the receiver vol. is way to low. Great phone at great price.
Pros: works well, simple to use
Cons: vol, vol. to low
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Brio

This product is not apps friendly

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Queenmo42
From:  Worcester, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first phone with Virgin Mobile, I used to have another pre paid service. This phone is good for making calls, but for taking pictures, downloading the web not good at all. This phone was good for temporary purposes, looking for a more upgraded phone.
Pros: making calls
Cons: camera, accessing web, downloading apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.