Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio

Kyocera Brio

Expression is right at your fingertips with the Kyocera Brio. A QWERTY keyboard for quick typing, a 1.3 MP digital-zoom camera for snapping pics and a microSD memory card slot for storing and transferring photos make it easy to get your word out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.606 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
32
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
16
69 out of 10268%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio
Review 1 for Kyocera Brio

Very unhappy

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
McSock
From:  SoCal
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been with Virgin a long time and always been very happy with the equipment and service. This phone does not fit into that assessment. The key lock only semi-works. The phone can randomly dial 911 even when locked. There are not any games/apps for it. It is just a phone, I would have been just as well off with a plain Jane flip phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Brio

Great Phone

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
April444
From:  California
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently upgraded from LG101 and the Brio is great for talking and texting. I just wish the ring tones weren't so annoying. Anyways, the qwerty keypad works for me. I like how cool the overall phone looks and its affordability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Brio

Awesome Assurance Upgrade

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RyanNeil007
From:  FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Switched my basic Assurance Wireless phone for Brio and it's awesome. I can text, send pictures and talk. I use my iPad Mini for almost everything (web, apps, music etc) so this is a great phone to just talk and text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Brio

A Good Phone for Talking

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DumbPhoneUser
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If your primary reason for needing a cell phone is to dial a number and talk to someone, then I think you'll be pleased with this phone. With the full keyboard, it is also good for texting. You won't be able to do all of the smart phone stuff like playing games and watching videos, but many of us don't need all that. The voice quality is good and the menus are simple to navigate. It is very compact and lightweight. You won't need a man-purse to carry it. It will fit easily in your pocket. It is also durable. I've dropped mine a few times without any problems. The camera is good enough to take a decent picture of a license plate, face, etc., but if you like to take high-quality pictures, you'll need a separate camera. Although I don't use a phone much for gaming, I normally would have a least a couple of time passing games on my phones to play. I have had no success trying to download additional games for this phone. I'm stuck with the 3 trial games that came with it. My other PayLo phones have had a call log for logging all incoming and outgoing calls. This phone only logs missed calls.
Pros: voice calling, texting, small, lightweight, battery life, durable
Cons: call logging, no games
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
surepaul
Saginaw, Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about surepaul is loaded.
Additional information about surepaul could not be loaded.
Call log
Posted September 10, 2014
If you connect to your voicemail,,,,then end the call....you will see a log of your calls on the screen....:~)
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Kyocera Brio

This product is great

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CyriL4G
From:  NewYork
Age: 18-24
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So my day have this phone and it's pretty good. The battery life is amazing
this phone have qwerty keyboard that is really good to send tet messages and its pretty easy to use this phone
Pros: batterylife, perfomence, qwerty
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Brio

Good for a cheap phone

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
DerpMeister
From:  Mansfield, MA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone was relatively cheap, with a full qwerty keyboard, i was content. I have tended to notice that the keyboard is slightly too small, but it serves its purpose. The phone is easy to use, and has excellent battery life. The vibrate is extremely weak, and i tend not to notice if it goes off while on vibrate. Overall, a good phone if you don't have the money for a smartphone.
Pros: cheap, easy to use
Cons: small keyboard, low quality camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Brio

great phone for price

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
chevpp
From:  Fruitvale, TX.
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
if you want a smart phone buy one, I was with virgin for many years, switched to straight talk & smart phone, between dropping calls & not being able to call toll free numbers, I came back to virgin on $30 monthly plan & feel that this phone is just right for me. I only text & talk which this phone does well. My only problem with the phone is that the receiver vol. is way to low. Great phone at great price.
Pros: works well, simple to use
Cons: vol, vol. to low
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Brio

This product is not apps friendly

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Queenmo42
From:  Worcester, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first phone with Virgin Mobile, I used to have another pre paid service. This phone is good for making calls, but for taking pictures, downloading the web not good at all. This phone was good for temporary purposes, looking for a more upgraded phone.
Pros: making calls
Cons: camera, accessing web, downloading apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Brio

an overall great phone

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MikeFM4
From:  Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was going to rate this a 5/5 but for one reason. The phones memory as is. You can add an additional SD card to this phone, however as is it has a very limited memory. The battery life is also not the greatest for a 'dumb phone'.
That being said...lets talk about why I actually LOVE this phone!
Its simple. Its sleek. It looks and feel great to use. And for a non-smart phone it has some pretty 'smart' features!
I had a basic flip phone for awhile and wanted something better. Now I've had smart phones before and did away with them. The days of paying hundreds for a phone so I can surf the net are long gone. I wanted a phone to be..well..a phone.
So I upgraded my downgrade from my old flip to the Brio. I couldnt be happier! This phone is perfect if you're looking for an easy to use phone thats designed to make texting easy, call quality clear and great and easily accessible features.
The buttons although small are easy to use and you'll get used to them very quickly. Texting is seamless on this phone. I love the texting being stored in a threaded pattern rather then an in and out box. It makes for a very organized text.
I can ramble on more but I'll wrap it up with this. If you're sick of the smart phones and want a basic phone again...or if you're rockin an old flip or something ready to retire and want a nice upgrade get yourself the Brio! Its cheap but when you get it certainly doesnt feel or perform cheap!
You absolutely will love it!
Pros: ease of use, features, style, texting
Cons: memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
asgard
Destin
 
Please wait while more information about asgard is loaded.
Additional information about asgard could not be loaded.
terrible phone
Posted August 16, 2014
1/ small keyboard
2/ Phone is not supporting files on additional SD, which means, that ringtones, pictures located on SD will be not showed on this phone. Besides, there is many other issues, so I will never recommend Brio to my friends. In fact, nor to my enemies
-3points
0of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Kyocera Brio

A reliable phone!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
sven
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great, reliable phone for its price. I have been known to be rough on my phones, but this one is durable! The battery life is awesome, I only need to charge it every 3-4 days. Don't get this phone if you need a phone to access the internet, because it is slow and can't even load some sites. However, I regularly use it only to go on Facebook. It is still slow and you can't see all of the images, but it can still navigate the site. There is a camera, but it is very simple and has no zoom or flash. The keyboard is small, but it just takes some getting-used to. Overall, it is a nice, simple phone for someone who uses it primarily just for talk and text.
Pros: battery life, durable design, easy to use
Cons: web access, poor camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Brio

Fantastic phone for the price!!!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LotusEsprit
From:  Huntsville, AL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. It is just like a Blackberry. It is extremely reliable. The battery lasts forever. Texting is a breeze. It is much better than the touch screen Samsung I use to have.
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Brio

Great Basic phone for talking and texting

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DebrAqua
From:  N Charleston SC
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the frist time I've had a plan to text on. Up to now I just used a cel phone to talk on. My personal opinion - Texting is over rated! That being said, I have been please w/ this phone.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: tiny keypad for old eyes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Brio

Not What It appears to be

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pahonu
From:  Bellevue, WA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st off, the photos of this phone are deceptive as the phone is actually much smaller.
2nd The texting keys are so small you have to keep correcting what you type because you are always hitting multiple keys. very annoying.
3rd. Sound quality is harsh and if you are using speaker option you have to have volume all the way up in order to hear.
4th Camera feature is poor quality
5th After you have listened to your voicemails & deleted them, the phone still indicates that you have voicemail messages.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Brio

Glad I made the switch

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Newarkvr
From:  Newark, NJ
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My biggest concern was if I would be able to use the Kyocera Brio with my Assurance Wireless Lifeline Program Plan. It is compatible, and the QWERTY keyboard if a far cry more functional than the original phone I received when I signed up for Assurance Wireless. I am totally pleased with the performance, ease of use, and the battery life. My only suggestion would be to develop a phone with a flash that I could use with my account. If there is one, I would love to know so that I can upgrade to that phone with my next telephone upgrade. However, I would definitely recommend this product to others.
Pros: qwerty keyboard
Cons: no flash
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Brio

5 Star Basic phone

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamie4ever
From:  Elizabeth, Pa
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is perfect for someone who just wants something to text and talk with, who doesn't need or want a smartphone/touchscreen to do basic functions. I like buttons and a full keyboard. I don't like androids, touchscreens and I especially don't like being bothered with the hassle of having to add an app for everything. Although this this phone is basic.. it's a great phone at a great price. No complaints!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Brio

Good phone for the price

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fearaffect
From:  Lake Elsinore, Ca.
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, lets face it, its a low priced phone......don't buy if you're expecting smartphone features and performance....It doesn't have it.......
This phone does what its meant to do very well....make calls, txt msgs, casual(very sparingly) web surfing(alot of websites take forever to load and can temp. lock the browser) and occasional pictures(low mp and no flash).
You cant load any apps(that I've found). The battery life is pretty good, I recharge once every other day or longer between charges.
If you're like me and want a physical keyboard, don't need apps, have a computer for internet browsing and have an actual camera for taking pics....then this phone will do perfect for what you're looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Brio

Assurant Wiireless Upgrade Excallant

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
westernNc
From:  NC
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wanted to upgrade from my basic Assurant Wireless phone I read the reviews Brio was everything I needed (camera and qwerty key board) extremely happy and compatible couldnt be happier and the price is good highly recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Brio

Fabulous never had one like it. thanks Virgin

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
march
From:  New york
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't believe i charged the battery 7 days ago and still going. love the ring tones, love the keyboard the lock it has, i am fascinated with my new phone, close to an android. great sound perfect connection. i will recommend it especially to any anyone who wants to start before buying a more expense phone.
Pros: the battery life
Cons: number too small
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Brio

IF YOU WANT FEATURES LIKE

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ny2va2ga
From:  GEORGIA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GPS, OR MUSIC THIS IS NOT THE PHONE FOR YOU. THE QUALITY AND SIZE OF THE PICTURES ARE SO SMALL IT'S NOT WORTH IT. BUT IF YOU JUST NEED A PHONE TO TALK ? THEN THIS IS ALRIGHT. TEXTING IS DIFFICULT UNLESS YOU HAVE SMALL FINGERS.LIKE I SAID IF YOU WANT A PHONE TO TALK? HERE IT IS
Pros: talk time
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Brio

Don't plan on using email, etc with this cell

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ThisPhoneNeedsHelp
Age: 45-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Email button does not work beyond a week. Third replacement phone within a month!
I currently use the phone, but it is a waste of money and a big hassle!
Does not connect to PC. It says it uses a micro SD card but what a waste!
Cons: email button
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.