Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio

Kyocera Brio

Expression is right at your fingertips with the Kyocera Brio. A QWERTY keyboard for quick typing, a 1.3 MP digital-zoom camera for snapping pics and a microSD memory card slot for storing and transferring photos make it easy to get your word out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.633 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
33
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
16
73 out of 10768%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio
Review 1 for Kyocera Brio

So glad that this is not the Jax Phone!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mgoldsmith1973
From:  Appleton WI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am so glad that we, assurance wireless customers have more options for phones now. I remember when I went on the program, they only had one option phone (the brio style) and it was quite expensive.
As for the phone, I really like this phone, not only for the price but because of no more dropped calls. Texting with the QWERTY keyboard is easier, The AW Jax phone didn't have this keyboard, they had press the button numerous times until you get an actual letter/number thing. That was annoying and a waste of time. There are downloaded features added to the phone but if you don't like those, you can download them off the VM site. Plus the camera is handy for making your own wallpapers. (and yes, this is compatible with the Assurance wireless service.)
An another thing that appealed to me how easy it was to get accessories for this phone. If you do your homework, you will be able to find them.
As for the web surfing, I do not have that option included in my plan. VM/AW should have data packs and what not for you to purchase for your mobile internet needs.
The battery usage is good in my opinion. I was able to go without charging my battery for five-six days. In order to keep it like this, use the power save feature on this phone.
A perfect phone for those who can't afford a smart phone or who are not ready for a smart phone.
(Please excuse my poor grammar, spelling errors and poor punctuation. I used to be good in these fields but when I turned 40, it went all downhill for me.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Brio

It does what it is supposed to do.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mommaveex3
From:  Bronx, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the phone. Its loud even on speaker, its easy to navigate for me and it has a full typing keyboard. The keys are a bit small but I don't use it for texting just yet. I like it and would recommend it.
Pros: texting, loud, battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Brio

Low Budget Phone

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Eratosthenes
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I turn on my phone once a week for about 5 minutes. I don't need any "apps". So, this phone is a good fit for me. If you need to text, lots of apps, and access to the internet, this is not the phone for you.
Pros: low budget phone, good reception
Cons: cannot install apps, poor keypad, difficult to navigate
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Brio

Kudos for the Kyocera Brio!

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lourn
From:  FL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To all those looking for a phone.
I must say that this phone has more than met my expectations in build quality and function. The sound quality is very good even on speaker phone. It is patterned after the BlackBerry, which for the price is a , you can't beat it. I do not have a data plan just yet, but plan on on in the future so I can retrieve my email. The keys are well spaced given the narrowness of the phone and are well lit. The only thing I wish it had would be the ability to shoot video. Other than that, Kyocera has produced a high quality product at a very affordable price.
Thanks for reading,
Lourn
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Brio

VERY IMPRESSIVE-BEST VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DADDIOHH
From:  Madison Ohio
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have bin very plzd with this phone-for talk & text it fits me perfect & in fact -have had this phone for about 2yrs-last Nov2013 we had a house fire-the fieman had found my phone still on n still working-took 3days to dry it outn the only damage was to the screen otherwise ive still been using this Brio n will be buying another one very soon!! COULDNT BE MORE HAPPY OR MORE IMPRESSED!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Brio

Very unhappy

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
McSock
From:  SoCal
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been with Virgin a long time and always been very happy with the equipment and service. This phone does not fit into that assessment. The key lock only semi-works. The phone can randomly dial 911 even when locked. There are not any games/apps for it. It is just a phone, I would have been just as well off with a plain Jane flip phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Brio

Great Phone

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
April444
From:  California
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently upgraded from LG101 and the Brio is great for talking and texting. I just wish the ring tones weren't so annoying. Anyways, the qwerty keypad works for me. I like how cool the overall phone looks and its affordability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Brio

Awesome Assurance Upgrade

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RyanNeil007
From:  FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Switched my basic Assurance Wireless phone for Brio and it's awesome. I can text, send pictures and talk. I use my iPad Mini for almost everything (web, apps, music etc) so this is a great phone to just talk and text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Brio

A Good Phone for Talking

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DumbPhoneUser
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If your primary reason for needing a cell phone is to dial a number and talk to someone, then I think you'll be pleased with this phone. With the full keyboard, it is also good for texting. You won't be able to do all of the smart phone stuff like playing games and watching videos, but many of us don't need all that. The voice quality is good and the menus are simple to navigate. It is very compact and lightweight. You won't need a man-purse to carry it. It will fit easily in your pocket. It is also durable. I've dropped mine a few times without any problems. The camera is good enough to take a decent picture of a license plate, face, etc., but if you like to take high-quality pictures, you'll need a separate camera. Although I don't use a phone much for gaming, I normally would have a least a couple of time passing games on my phones to play. I have had no success trying to download additional games for this phone. I'm stuck with the 3 trial games that came with it. My other PayLo phones have had a call log for logging all incoming and outgoing calls. This phone only logs missed calls.
Pros: voice calling, texting, small, lightweight, battery life, durable
Cons: call logging, no games
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
surepaul
Saginaw, Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about surepaul is loaded.
Additional information about surepaul could not be loaded.
call log
Posted November 19, 2014
If you call your voice mail....and then hang up....you will see your call log for at least the past week. Try it....:~)
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
surepaul
Saginaw, Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about surepaul is loaded.
Additional information about surepaul could not be loaded.
Call log
Posted September 10, 2014
If you connect to your voicemail,,,,then end the call....you will see a log of your calls on the screen....:~)
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Kyocera Brio

This product is great

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CyriL4G
From:  NewYork
Age: 18-24
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So my day have this phone and it's pretty good. The battery life is amazing
this phone have qwerty keyboard that is really good to send tet messages and its pretty easy to use this phone
Pros: batterylife, perfomence, qwerty
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Brio

Good for a cheap phone

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
DerpMeister
From:  Mansfield, MA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone was relatively cheap, with a full qwerty keyboard, i was content. I have tended to notice that the keyboard is slightly too small, but it serves its purpose. The phone is easy to use, and has excellent battery life. The vibrate is extremely weak, and i tend not to notice if it goes off while on vibrate. Overall, a good phone if you don't have the money for a smartphone.
Pros: cheap, easy to use
Cons: small keyboard, low quality camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Brio

great phone for price

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
chevpp
From:  Fruitvale, TX.
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
if you want a smart phone buy one, I was with virgin for many years, switched to straight talk & smart phone, between dropping calls & not being able to call toll free numbers, I came back to virgin on $30 monthly plan & feel that this phone is just right for me. I only text & talk which this phone does well. My only problem with the phone is that the receiver vol. is way to low. Great phone at great price.
Pros: works well, simple to use
Cons: vol, vol. to low
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Brio

This product is not apps friendly

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Queenmo42
From:  Worcester, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first phone with Virgin Mobile, I used to have another pre paid service. This phone is good for making calls, but for taking pictures, downloading the web not good at all. This phone was good for temporary purposes, looking for a more upgraded phone.
Pros: making calls
Cons: camera, accessing web, downloading apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Brio

an overall great phone

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MikeFM4
From:  Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was going to rate this a 5/5 but for one reason. The phones memory as is. You can add an additional SD card to this phone, however as is it has a very limited memory. The battery life is also not the greatest for a 'dumb phone'.
That being said...lets talk about why I actually LOVE this phone!
Its simple. Its sleek. It looks and feel great to use. And for a non-smart phone it has some pretty 'smart' features!
I had a basic flip phone for awhile and wanted something better. Now I've had smart phones before and did away with them. The days of paying hundreds for a phone so I can surf the net are long gone. I wanted a phone to be..well..a phone.
So I upgraded my downgrade from my old flip to the Brio. I couldnt be happier! This phone is perfect if you're looking for an easy to use phone thats designed to make texting easy, call quality clear and great and easily accessible features.
The buttons although small are easy to use and you'll get used to them very quickly. Texting is seamless on this phone. I love the texting being stored in a threaded pattern rather then an in and out box. It makes for a very organized text.
I can ramble on more but I'll wrap it up with this. If you're sick of the smart phones and want a basic phone again...or if you're rockin an old flip or something ready to retire and want a nice upgrade get yourself the Brio! Its cheap but when you get it certainly doesnt feel or perform cheap!
You absolutely will love it!
Pros: ease of use, features, style, texting
Cons: memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
asgard
Destin
 
Please wait while more information about asgard is loaded.
Additional information about asgard could not be loaded.
terrible phone
Posted August 16, 2014
1/ small keyboard
2/ Phone is not supporting files on additional SD, which means, that ringtones, pictures located on SD will be not showed on this phone. Besides, there is many other issues, so I will never recommend Brio to my friends. In fact, nor to my enemies
-4points
0of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Kyocera Brio

A reliable phone!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
sven
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great, reliable phone for its price. I have been known to be rough on my phones, but this one is durable! The battery life is awesome, I only need to charge it every 3-4 days. Don't get this phone if you need a phone to access the internet, because it is slow and can't even load some sites. However, I regularly use it only to go on Facebook. It is still slow and you can't see all of the images, but it can still navigate the site. There is a camera, but it is very simple and has no zoom or flash. The keyboard is small, but it just takes some getting-used to. Overall, it is a nice, simple phone for someone who uses it primarily just for talk and text.
Pros: battery life, durable design, easy to use
Cons: web access, poor camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lemk
 
Please wait while more information about lemk is loaded.
Additional information about lemk could not be loaded.
LEK
Posted December 14, 2014
the Brio DOES have a zoom option. as soon as the c amera loads press the top right soft key (its the option key but it doesnt say it yet) and many adjustable features come up. zoom is one of them, as is brightness.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kyocera Brio

Fantastic phone for the price!!!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LotusEsprit
From:  Huntsville, AL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. It is just like a Blackberry. It is extremely reliable. The battery lasts forever. Texting is a breeze. It is much better than the touch screen Samsung I use to have.
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Brio

Great Basic phone for talking and texting

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DebrAqua
From:  N Charleston SC
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the frist time I've had a plan to text on. Up to now I just used a cel phone to talk on. My personal opinion - Texting is over rated! That being said, I have been please w/ this phone.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: tiny keypad for old eyes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Brio

Not What It appears to be

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pahonu
From:  Bellevue, WA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st off, the photos of this phone are deceptive as the phone is actually much smaller.
2nd The texting keys are so small you have to keep correcting what you type because you are always hitting multiple keys. very annoying.
3rd. Sound quality is harsh and if you are using speaker option you have to have volume all the way up in order to hear.
4th Camera feature is poor quality
5th After you have listened to your voicemails & deleted them, the phone still indicates that you have voicemail messages.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Brio

Glad I made the switch

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Newarkvr
From:  Newark, NJ
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My biggest concern was if I would be able to use the Kyocera Brio with my Assurance Wireless Lifeline Program Plan. It is compatible, and the QWERTY keyboard if a far cry more functional than the original phone I received when I signed up for Assurance Wireless. I am totally pleased with the performance, ease of use, and the battery life. My only suggestion would be to develop a phone with a flash that I could use with my account. If there is one, I would love to know so that I can upgrade to that phone with my next telephone upgrade. However, I would definitely recommend this product to others.
Pros: qwerty keyboard
Cons: no flash
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Brio

5 Star Basic phone

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamie4ever
From:  Elizabeth, Pa
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is perfect for someone who just wants something to text and talk with, who doesn't need or want a smartphone/touchscreen to do basic functions. I like buttons and a full keyboard. I don't like androids, touchscreens and I especially don't like being bothered with the hassle of having to add an app for everything. Although this this phone is basic.. it's a great phone at a great price. No complaints!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.