Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio

Kyocera Brio

Expression is right at your fingertips with the Kyocera Brio. A QWERTY keyboard for quick typing, a 1.3 MP digital-zoom camera for snapping pics and a microSD memory card slot for storing and transferring photos make it easy to get your word out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.588 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
15
64 out of 9667%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Brio
Review 1 for Kyocera Brio

This product is not apps friendly

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Queenmo42
From:  Worcester, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first phone with Virgin Mobile, I used to have another pre paid service. This phone is good for making calls, but for taking pictures, downloading the web not good at all. This phone was good for temporary purposes, looking for a more upgraded phone.
Pros: making calls
Cons: camera, accessing web, downloading apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Brio

an overall great phone

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MikeFM4
From:  Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was going to rate this a 5/5 but for one reason. The phones memory as is. You can add an additional SD card to this phone, however as is it has a very limited memory. The battery life is also not the greatest for a 'dumb phone'.
That being said...lets talk about why I actually LOVE this phone!
Its simple. Its sleek. It looks and feel great to use. And for a non-smart phone it has some pretty 'smart' features!
I had a basic flip phone for awhile and wanted something better. Now I've had smart phones before and did away with them. The days of paying hundreds for a phone so I can surf the net are long gone. I wanted a phone to be..well..a phone.
So I upgraded my downgrade from my old flip to the Brio. I couldnt be happier! This phone is perfect if you're looking for an easy to use phone thats designed to make texting easy, call quality clear and great and easily accessible features.
The buttons although small are easy to use and you'll get used to them very quickly. Texting is seamless on this phone. I love the texting being stored in a threaded pattern rather then an in and out box. It makes for a very organized text.
I can ramble on more but I'll wrap it up with this. If you're sick of the smart phones and want a basic phone again...or if you're rockin an old flip or something ready to retire and want a nice upgrade get yourself the Brio! Its cheap but when you get it certainly doesnt feel or perform cheap!
You absolutely will love it!
Pros: ease of use, features, style, texting
Cons: memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Brio

A reliable phone!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
sven
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great, reliable phone for its price. I have been known to be rough on my phones, but this one is durable! The battery life is awesome, I only need to charge it every 3-4 days. Don't get this phone if you need a phone to access the internet, because it is slow and can't even load some sites. However, I regularly use it only to go on Facebook. It is still slow and you can't see all of the images, but it can still navigate the site. There is a camera, but it is very simple and has no zoom or flash. The keyboard is small, but it just takes some getting-used to. Overall, it is a nice, simple phone for someone who uses it primarily just for talk and text.
Pros: battery life, durable design, easy to use
Cons: web access, poor camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Brio

Fantastic phone for the price!!!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LotusEsprit
From:  Huntsville, AL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. It is just like a Blackberry. It is extremely reliable. The battery lasts forever. Texting is a breeze. It is much better than the touch screen Samsung I use to have.
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Brio

Great Basic phone for talking and texting

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DebrAqua
From:  N Charleston SC
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the frist time I've had a plan to text on. Up to now I just used a cel phone to talk on. My personal opinion - Texting is over rated! That being said, I have been please w/ this phone.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: tiny keypad for old eyes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Brio

Not What It appears to be

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pahonu
From:  Bellevue, WA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st off, the photos of this phone are deceptive as the phone is actually much smaller.
2nd The texting keys are so small you have to keep correcting what you type because you are always hitting multiple keys. very annoying.
3rd. Sound quality is harsh and if you are using speaker option you have to have volume all the way up in order to hear.
4th Camera feature is poor quality
5th After you have listened to your voicemails & deleted them, the phone still indicates that you have voicemail messages.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Brio

Glad I made the switch

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Newarkvr
From:  Newark, NJ
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My biggest concern was if I would be able to use the Kyocera Brio with my Assurance Wireless Lifeline Program Plan. It is compatible, and the QWERTY keyboard if a far cry more functional than the original phone I received when I signed up for Assurance Wireless. I am totally pleased with the performance, ease of use, and the battery life. My only suggestion would be to develop a phone with a flash that I could use with my account. If there is one, I would love to know so that I can upgrade to that phone with my next telephone upgrade. However, I would definitely recommend this product to others.
Pros: qwerty keyboard
Cons: no flash
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Brio

5 Star Basic phone

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamie4ever
From:  Elizabeth, Pa
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is perfect for someone who just wants something to text and talk with, who doesn't need or want a smartphone/touchscreen to do basic functions. I like buttons and a full keyboard. I don't like androids, touchscreens and I especially don't like being bothered with the hassle of having to add an app for everything. Although this this phone is basic.. it's a great phone at a great price. No complaints!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Brio

Good phone for the price

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fearaffect
From:  Lake Elsinore, Ca.
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, lets face it, its a low priced phone......don't buy if you're expecting smartphone features and performance....It doesn't have it.......
This phone does what its meant to do very well....make calls, txt msgs, casual(very sparingly) web surfing(alot of websites take forever to load and can temp. lock the browser) and occasional pictures(low mp and no flash).
You cant load any apps(that I've found). The battery life is pretty good, I recharge once every other day or longer between charges.
If you're like me and want a physical keyboard, don't need apps, have a computer for internet browsing and have an actual camera for taking pics....then this phone will do perfect for what you're looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Brio

Assurant Wiireless Upgrade Excallant

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
westernNc
From:  NC
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wanted to upgrade from my basic Assurant Wireless phone I read the reviews Brio was everything I needed (camera and qwerty key board) extremely happy and compatible couldnt be happier and the price is good highly recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Brio

Fabulous never had one like it. thanks Virgin

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
march
From:  New york
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't believe i charged the battery 7 days ago and still going. love the ring tones, love the keyboard the lock it has, i am fascinated with my new phone, close to an android. great sound perfect connection. i will recommend it especially to any anyone who wants to start before buying a more expense phone.
Pros: the battery life
Cons: number too small
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Brio

IF YOU WANT FEATURES LIKE

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ny2va2ga
From:  GEORGIA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GPS, OR MUSIC THIS IS NOT THE PHONE FOR YOU. THE QUALITY AND SIZE OF THE PICTURES ARE SO SMALL IT'S NOT WORTH IT. BUT IF YOU JUST NEED A PHONE TO TALK ? THEN THIS IS ALRIGHT. TEXTING IS DIFFICULT UNLESS YOU HAVE SMALL FINGERS.LIKE I SAID IF YOU WANT A PHONE TO TALK? HERE IT IS
Pros: talk time
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Brio

Don't plan on using email, etc with this cell

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ThisPhoneNeedsHelp
Age: 45-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Email button does not work beyond a week. Third replacement phone within a month!
I currently use the phone, but it is a waste of money and a big hassle!
Does not connect to PC. It says it uses a micro SD card but what a waste!
Cons: email button
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Brio

Talk and Text Phone

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
lovenophonecontracts
From:  los angeles, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I upgraded from a flip phone that I had to press the buttons several times to spell out one word! I like this phone because the keys are super easy to use. I ONLY talk and text because I have the plan that is $30/month that comes with 30MB but everytime I go into the internet on my phone, it freezes. Then I have to take the battery off and restart it.
I think this is one of those phones that is great to do simple things like talk and text but doesn't look all cheap or old school. If that is what you mostly do, then this is a phone for you.
Pros: battery lasts long, easy keys
Cons: internet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Brio

WARP SPEED DELIVERY!!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  Idaho
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW. Very impressed with the speed of delivery and the ease of activation! Was activated in 2 minutes after taking out of the box. I received my phone today, I swear I just ordered it a day and a half ago. The Brio is replacing my Kyocera that looks just likes this one but a little different. The Brio is lighter and slimmer! I really like it! It is a PAY-LO PHONE PPL so it should be judged as one. Naturally it has very generic features. It is nice for an inexpensive PayLo phone. I'm happy with it.
Pros: fast delivery!, fast easy activation!, great keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Brio

The best no contract phone I ever owned!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
rattu82
From:  Kentland IN
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All features are unbelievable for such a no contract phone!!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Brio

Poor replacement for the 2300

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
wllm
From:  seOH
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had two Kyocera phones. Good basic phones. And a bargain!
Not so with the Brio. I had trouble connecting with my email.
I couldn't download GPS. Spend a whole day fooling with the phone!
Now I'm old and tech challenged, but my tech savvy son couldn't
make it work either! I'm returning it!
Cons: poor bang for the buck
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Brio

needs re-enginiered

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMUSERFOR7YRS
From:  R,INDIANA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
signal does not hold very well,big fingers don"t work on key pad vey well,screen stress cracks to easly,with out outter damages???
Cons: keys hard to use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Brio

good, no problem

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bekkomike
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
over all impression is good. no big & small troubles I experienced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Brio

great basic phone

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
wolf12373
From:  Chicago,IL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a perfect phone for simple talk,text,and email.
call quality is fine and I haven't had any dropped calls
the tiny keyboard actually works well for texting and email
email is a piece of cake to setup and use. I use it all the time for my work email when I'm away from home.
cheap price, too
just forget about camera, web, music, or anything else beyond the basics
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.