Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona

Kyocera Kona

Equipped with a 2.0MP camera, large screen and tactile keypad for faster, easier typing, the Kyocera Kona is the go-to phone for your talk, text and picture messaging needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.718 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
38
3 stars
15
2 stars
13
1 star
21
106 out of 14673%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona
Review 1 for Kyocera Kona

I love this phone.

PostedJanuary 27, 2016
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Blynn
From:  Kentucky
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. My husband bought it 2006 and gave it to me. I want to buy a new one just like this one and it is temporarily unavailable for purchase. Please make this phone available again. It is perfect for me. I don't care about texting and I don't use my phone for accessing the web.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Kona

Good Basic Phone

PostedJanuary 2, 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bob13
From:  Southfield, MI
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just use it as a basic phone - no texting or very rarely text. I get the $20 paylo plan - wish they had carry over minutes, even if I pay $20 every month. If I run over, they don't automatically add $5 so you will stay online - you get cut off!! That can create a MAJOR problem if you are on an important call and it shuts down.
Trying to connect to check on minutes or top up - GOOD Luck - 95% doesn't connect. I have to go to a computer to access and top up thru Virgin Mobile.
I hope Virgin Mobile reads this. I am computer hw & some sw. Easy to resolve some of these problems if they are willing to do it. Since it is programming - just adjust the script and lines of code. I've had to do this one a UNIX system - doesn't take a genius, just a willingness to make a company better and add a little value for the customer. 'Nuff Said!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Kona

Great Flip Phone

PostedDecember 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
gogiants
From:  San Francisco
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone after my charger for my "oyster" phone that I had for almost 10 years was stolen. It was time for an upgrade anyway and for the cheap price for the phone, it was a no brainer. I only use this phone when I'm in the states so I don't need anything fancy. I have an iPhone with a US sim for that. The battery life is excellent and it takes OK photos. I still have to get used to texting old fashioned style and at times it can get tedious. Voice quality sounds good overall. Sometimes people say they can't hear me as well when I talk into it. I wish it would have a speaker function or an earphone jack for hands free talking.
I would still highly recommend this phone if you're only looking for talk and text.
Pros: price
Cons: no hands free function, old fashioned texting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Kona

Best little phone I have ever owned

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
ceg45
From:  new york,ny
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I hope they continue to produce this one its great and the price is also
I have not complaints about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Kona

excellent

PostedNovember 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sundown44437
From:  derby n y
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have this phone since 1991....when we get home we plug the phones in......on the original batteries.!!!.. my wife now went modern..use hers as spare battery and charger......I,m a beach bum etc ...nothing has killed my phone.A phone made for supermen & woman
Pros: built to last, coverage, battery power
Cons: no complaint
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Kona

I am not happy with this phone!

PostedNovember 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Edelbrock
From:  Elizabeth NJ
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had my phone for 2 years. First, I had issues with trying to send pictures to another phone. After six months of use, I have had to constantly reactivate and reset the phone to keep it functioning properly. In the past three months, I have had issues wth text messaging with long delays between messages, and being recieved in out of order segments!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Kona

Best Flip phone ever

PostedOctober 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JaysMom
From:  ca
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have big hands and the buttons are spread apart. This is an awesome phone great features really nice ringtones even has talk back ring, wish I had bought 4 for all my kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Kona

GREAT LITTLE PHONE

PostedOctober 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TalkerCat
From:  Barstow, CA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm very happy with this little phone. It serves every purpose I have. Small enough for a pocket, it's easy to carry without hassle (no pocket dialing!) The camera is amazing, considering the cost and size of the phone. In my opinion, this little gadget works just as well as more expensive brands. Text, call, data, pictures ... it's all there!
Pros: small, reliable, cost effective, great camera, easy to use, data text call photos
Cons: tiny screen
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Kona

Battery lasted 3 weeks

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Greyowl
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had one prior...worked fine. This one's battery lasted 3 weeks.
Feel like rollin' the dice?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Kona

you get what you pay for

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MerS
From:  SC
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My phone died after less than a year. It was simple, easy to use, but I really didn't expect it to wear out so quickly. I guess it is true that you get what you pay for and it certainly is cheap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Kona

horrible

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
jjcrug
From:  pa
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
phone came late, then camera did not work, and the punctuation for text messages does not work!! junk
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Kona

best i've ever had

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
emmapeel
From:  el paso
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
virgin mobile still remains my pick of carriers, and this kyocera sweetie has been the very best phone from virgin i've ever had. hope they never stop making it.
i only have one issue -- bluetooth does not operate with this phone. perhaps that's cos i don't buy internet usage with the phone and only use it as a no-contract paylo, but i feel bluetooth functionality should be included. otherwise, this phone surpasses all expectations and needs.
Pros: does everything but bluetooth
Cons: no bluetooth functionality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bar2412
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about bar2412 is loaded.
Additional information about bar2412 could not be loaded.
Best hearing Phone
Posted October 23, 2015
Mom loves this little phone she can hear so well with it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
RitaC78
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about RitaC78 is loaded.
Additional information about RitaC78 could not be loaded.
Bluetooth works
Posted April 28, 2015
Bluetooth connects to my car system. I set visibility under bluetooth to always visible. You can find bluetooth in tools menu.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Kyocera Kona

Absolutely the best I have EVER found.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Raymoan
From:  Cartersville, GA
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Personally, I like a flip phone. I don't need all the extras that smart phones have. I just want a phone. What you may not get with other reviews is this: for conference calls, this phone is so good that it can call in by voice activation and pause so that when asked for the passcode it will enter it automatically. To me, you can't beat that with any phone.
Pros: works great always
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Kona

Pay Low and Pay the Price

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
PhoneUser1aaa
From:  NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price, you can't beat it. You get a lot of features: Camera, Internet access (though painfully slow), text messaging, 600 name contact list, calendar, speaker phone, bluetooth can connect to a car stereo system AND can also transfer your phone book to another phone or bluetooth device (that is if you do it before the phone fails to operate or turn on). For the low price of this phone, it's very inexpensive and A bargain for that price.
But here's why I would not recommend it if you plan to put normal use on the phone: It goes defective fairly quickly. People start to tell you they can't hear you or you can't hear them. It sparks and shorts out for no apparent reason (this is my experience with 3 of these phones). It stops working. It goes into silent mode on it's own, without telling you unless you look at the panel. This means that you miss calls or texts because you can't hear the ringer or text messages, even if it's up to full power.
The good news, it's farily sturdy and if you drop it, it holds up well. And as to txting: you have text messaging which works fairly well. The bad news - it is very hard to configure so that you can type them without excessive keystokes and even if you figure out how do it, it's again painfully slow on the typing because you do not have proper keyboard. When you send the text message. Once sent, it goes right away though.
You should not use the headset on this phone. Once you use if for a short time, the phone locks itself onto headset mode and you cannot change it back. This means that you cannot hear anyone unless you replug the headset in or you open up the speakerphone so everyone can hear the conversation.
Many times there is no way to erase the text message counter which is telling you that you have 3 waiting texts that you already opened. If you delete the 1st text, it deletes the whole chain of texts from that person but still does not lower the text message awaiting to be viewed counter. Even when you hit the master tab to reset all counters, nothing happens. It blocks your ability to put the counter back to zero. The only way to do it, is to erase all and every text message on your phone and then your counter will go zero. It's a headache phone.
If you can afford a better phone, I would strongly suggest that you do it and save yourself a lot of aggravation and problems. Note: Even the basic kyocera non flip cheaper phone or the smaller kyocera flip phone (which I don't see on their website for sale anyhmore), that both has limited options is better than this phone for reliability.
I would not buy it again if anyone wants to know. When my current 3rd phone runs out, I will look to upgrade it to a better phone / brand / line, etc.
P.S. looking the reviews on the new Al Catel one touch retro similar flip phone, large keypad phone. It appears to me that if a choice between this one and that one, that this is the far better of the two. That one looks worse than this by the reviews. And also does not appear to have a speakerphone in case you need that feature. And the battery life looks much better than the Al Catel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Kona

Nice Phone

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mangomike
From:  United States
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the money this phone is a great deal. I just needed a simple low cost phone and this phone does everything that I need. Easy to get going and has all the features that I need. So far the battery life is great and I have had no problems with volume. If you don't need all the frills of a smart phone this little phone will work just fine. Seems to be well built and it looks good. Would buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Kona

very nice design

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bullitt
From:  findlay , ohio
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product very good and professional service keep up the good work
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Kona

Good Buy for the Price!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv4DJ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this phone and it lasted 1 yr and 7 months. I guess that's good for the price. I don't like complicated phones just one that's easy to use for texting and taking photos. This phone definitely fit that bill. The screen is somewhat too small to view some graphics sent via text and the volume is a little too low for the hard of hearing but otherwise a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Kona

Nice phone for me

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Phonestuff
From:  Denver, CO
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm a 59 year old man and I just like a simple "flip" phone with a camera that WORKS when I need it. Even with bad dexterity due to Arthritis and neuropathy in my hands, this phone and the Virgin Mobile PayLo service works fine for me. The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars us even at top volume sometimes it's hard for me to hear. Also the button placement has me disconnecting calls accidentally sometimes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Kona

Good Phone for the Money

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jth473
From:  Rhode Island
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't need a smart phone so I chose a flip phone. The first one was a Kyocera (2100?) that was a bit smaller and had easier to use keys. This one has a better camera, though it's that accessory is rudimentary by today's standards. My only complaint is the minor of the keys requiring more effort to push when txting. Not a big deal. Phone quality is fine, as are other features. I'd recommend this low-cost phone for anyone wanting a simple, basic, easy-to-use non-smart phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Kona

Great product for the price

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mcvee
From:  Easley, SC
Age: Over 65
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone for three years and it has performed quite well and without any issues. It still has the same battery and all of its' functions and features still work. I am replacing it with the same phone just because of the normal wear that I have put on the case and it suits my needs exactly. I'm not a fan of the digital keyboard so typing in my message is perfectly alright with me.
Pros: good phone good features good service
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...8next>>