Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona

Kyocera Kona

Equipped with a 2.0MP camera, large screen and tactile keypad for faster, easier typing, the Kyocera Kona is the go-to phone for your talk, text and picture messaging needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.732 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(123 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
33
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
16
88 out of 12073%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona
Review 1 for Kyocera Kona

good phone

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamesathome
From:  ca.
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it 2 years works good.thank you for this phone.
Pros: good good
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Kona

Not an expensive phone

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
GlitterPrincess86
From:  Bucks County, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was inexpensive, but lacks things you may be looking for, i.e. video recorder, etc. Also, you are limited on times to play games. Had this phone twice, and both times persperation got inside the phone, causing irreversible damage. This has happened each time i have aquired this phone. Had to be replaced after just a few months of ownership.
Phone has good volume, but it is too easy to turn sound off, all you have to do is lightly press the volume controls on side of phone. There needs to be some sort of support to prevent this. Also, good battery life. If you don't want to spend lots of money on a phone you might only use a few days a week, or if you're just looking for a light, mostly basic phone, then this may be the one for you.
Pros: good sound battery life not too bulky or heavy
Cons: way too easy to turn sound down or off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Kona

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DYNODALE
From:  NEW MEXICO
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would highly recommend this phone if you want simple and easy to use! activation was a breeze,,the way it should be!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Kona

Phone is easy to use and works great

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
GotBluesClues
From:  Bay Area, CA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My screen broke on my cell phone and I needed a new phone. I bought the the Kona. I am very pleased with it. It is easy to use, has a camera, was a good price. I can hear clearly on it and others can hear me. I can text, send pictures, and talk. Its a flip phone so I don't have to worry about having to lock and unlock the key pad, because with a flip phone there is no way accidentally butt dial someone.
Pros: ease of use, crystal clear calls, has a camera, compact size, great value for the price, durable
Cons: not a smart phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Kona

A good basic phone for the money, but.......

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
seattlemartin
From:  Seattle, WA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been using this phone for about a year now, and when I first got it I really liked it. A year later, though, there are a couple of things that are annoying about it: 1) the Calculator function does not work (the 'equals' sign, when pressed to give a total, does nothing.) 2) the Camera won't save a picture once you have pressed the button, most of the time. I get a message saying 'cant save image' or some such. Again, worthless. It worked for a while early on, but not now. 3) The speaker (for hearing others talk) has, in the last 6 months now, deteriorated quite dramatically, so that now what I hear when someone talks to me is mostly garble and distortion, sounding rather like a speaker that has blown out. For this last reason, I am going to have to either buy another Kona, or another phone altogether, because it's functionality as a phone has gone dowhill due to the bad sound.. If it weren't for these issues, I'd give the phone 4 1/2 stars. It's easy to use, and has a large contact list, and a seeming good set of functions. I haven't used them all to determine if they work, though. I would recommend this phone to others, with reservations.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor sound quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Kona

a+

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
hollywood262
From:  minerva,oh
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best phone i've owned,easy to use and great reception
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Kona

easy to use

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MrArchie
From:  Pittsburgh, Pa
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have phone for a month now. no problems, large phone contact list plus addresses. nice pics too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Kona

Nothing fancy But Reliable

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BayAreaGuy
From:  California
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have enjoyed my phone i have had this same one now coming up on 2 years now and has been very reliable for me...as its quickly coming up on 2 years the battery obviously has weaken and will need to replace my phone soon..I now charge it every other day and the phone is still very reliable its just I now need a more modern type phone with more capabilities but for all the time i have had this phone I have to say a 2 thumbs up on this one.Bottom line its a good solid phone if you want a simple type phone for talking and text and that is exactly what this is..If you want a fancy type with emails and quick web access I say go another way
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Kona

This phone has a lot of bells & whistles but...

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ajax
From:  Everett, WA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It seems to use a lot of power for minimum usage . I was excited when I first bought it but for the most part now I use it to check what time it is and the notes app. That is if I remember to recharge it every other day.
I tried using the web 3 times - but it takes forever. I don't know if I bought a "lemon" or Kyocera just doesn't make a good phone.
I regret giving up my old beat up Nokia. It worked better than this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Kona

Good Cheap phone

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Robo
From:  Warnerrobins
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For a cheap phone, it is better than I expected and easy to use, I like the fact that I was able to change the type to large so I can see it, the speakers not that great, even with speaker option, it's turned up as loud as it will go but still have to listen close to hear. If your looking for a phone to just call and text, this is the one. the battery life is about average.
Pros: easy to use, changeable fonts, dependable cheap phone
Cons: speaker could be better, battery life is average
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Kona

This product is a simple phone that is easy to use.

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
rmaflip
From:  shreveport, louisiana
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the phone for a year and compared to other basic flip phones, I like this one the best.
Pros: it rings loud good battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Kona

Only one thing i can't stand about the phone.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ButchMcManly
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had it for a couple of days now, already gave it a good drop and it's fine. I just wanted this little phone for calls only and that's really about all it's good for. The bluetooth is absolutely worthless, i can't even simply send a jpeg to it from the computer. So that was kinda unexpected since didn't really look at what files could be supported, but that's my fault. I just seen bluetooth and assumed i could send a picture to it from my computer. That's the only thing i didn't like.
Cons: bluetooth horrible
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Kona

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissD
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is a great phone for the price, and for Seniors or people that don't use their phone to talk 24/7. I upgraded to this from that small phone that Assurance Wireless, gives you and I have been very content. We have T Mobile Phones in our home, and a house, and when the storm hit and we lost power back in February 2014, we had to pull out this phone for service because even those "high tech" cell phones from T Mobile, wouldn't work. So my husband who is retired from being a technology teacher came up with a good idea. He Bluetooth this phone to the house phone and we got rid of Time Warner phone service (which wasn't that great) and we now use this cell through the house phone for all calls and text from the cell.
Pros: small but dependable
Cons: having to hit the keys several times during texti
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Kona

The mike is bad.

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ntdeaf
From:  Berkeley California
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is hard to listen even with the use of the speaker phone.
Cons: muffled sound
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Kona

This product was missing a valuable piece.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
BatteriesNotIncluded
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phone did not come with a battery.Would have been nice to know I had to purchase a battery separtely.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Kona

No GPS as advertised

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
RDisappointed
From:  North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone, simply because I did not want the fancy features. I just want to talk and navigate to my destination. This phone listed that it had GPS navigation, but come to find out on October 11, 2013, Sprint no longer supports it. So said. I will keep the phone and find another way to GPS around town.
Cons: no gps
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Kona

This phone is very good.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Raymoanski
From:  Cartersville, GA
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find no fault in this phone. In fact, I like it so well, I am going to buy a second one because my wife needs a new phone. I have to wait for a little while until I get paid.
I would wish that the voice activated calling would automatically go to speaker instead of you having to put the phone to your ear to speak your number or the name of the person in your contact list. But that is no biggy.
Understand, this is not a smart phone or an android so don't expect that. But for what it is and what it does as a Paylo phone, it simply cannot be beat. The speaker is excellent.
If you want a flip phone, look no further.!
Pros: the speaker
Cons: voice activated calling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Kona

My Kona is working just fine!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sattec
From:  texas
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm very happy with the Kona phone and the $30 1500/1500 plan. This half the cost of going with sprint and I use the same towers as when I was with Sprint. For me, this has been a total winner switching from Sprint to Vm...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Kona

Great basic phone

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
booksrme2
From:  Rockford, IL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the phone but the screen could be a little bigger. Didn't realize it was so small.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: small screen hard to see
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Kona

I don't have to use my reading glasses to talk or text!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Notooproudtouseaflipphone
From:  Redfield, AR
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a phone that I could use to talk or text without having to put on my reading glasses. This phone fits the bill perfectly. I can see the letters on the lighted keypad as well as the numbers. It was also easy to adjust the size of the font so I can see my contact list, etc. without my glasses.
Pros: size of lighted keypad
Cons: phone feels a little heavy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...7next>>