Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona

Kyocera Kona

Equipped with a 2.0MP camera, large screen and tactile keypad for faster, easier typing, the Kyocera Kona is the go-to phone for your talk, text and picture messaging needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
16
81 out of 11272%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona
Review 1 for Kyocera Kona

This phone has a lot of bells & whistles but...

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ajax
From:  Everett, WA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It seems to use a lot of power for minimum usage . I was excited when I first bought it but for the most part now I use it to check what time it is and the notes app. That is if I remember to recharge it every other day.
I tried using the web 3 times - but it takes forever. I don't know if I bought a "lemon" or Kyocera just doesn't make a good phone.
I regret giving up my old beat up Nokia. It worked better than this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Kona

Good Cheap phone

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Robo
From:  Warnerrobins
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For a cheap phone, it is better than I expected and easy to use, I like the fact that I was able to change the type to large so I can see it, the speakers not that great, even with speaker option, it's turned up as loud as it will go but still have to listen close to hear. If your looking for a phone to just call and text, this is the one. the battery life is about average.
Pros: easy to use, changeable fonts, dependable cheap phone
Cons: speaker could be better, battery life is average
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Kona

This product is a simple phone that is easy to use.

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
rmaflip
From:  shreveport, louisiana
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the phone for a year and compared to other basic flip phones, I like this one the best.
Pros: it rings loud good battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Kona

Only one thing i can't stand about the phone.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ButchMcManly
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had it for a couple of days now, already gave it a good drop and it's fine. I just wanted this little phone for calls only and that's really about all it's good for. The bluetooth is absolutely worthless, i can't even simply send a jpeg to it from the computer. So that was kinda unexpected since didn't really look at what files could be supported, but that's my fault. I just seen bluetooth and assumed i could send a picture to it from my computer. That's the only thing i didn't like.
Cons: bluetooth horrible
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Kona

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissD
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is a great phone for the price, and for Seniors or people that don't use their phone to talk 24/7. I upgraded to this from that small phone that Assurance Wireless, gives you and I have been very content. We have T Mobile Phones in our home, and a house, and when the storm hit and we lost power back in February 2014, we had to pull out this phone for service because even those "high tech" cell phones from T Mobile, wouldn't work. So my husband who is retired from being a technology teacher came up with a good idea. He Bluetooth this phone to the house phone and we got rid of Time Warner phone service (which wasn't that great) and we now use this cell through the house phone for all calls and text from the cell.
Pros: small but dependable
Cons: having to hit the keys several times during texti
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Kona

The mike is bad.

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ntdeaf
From:  Berkeley California
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is hard to listen even with the use of the speaker phone.
Cons: muffled sound
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Kona

This product was missing a valuable piece.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
BatteriesNotIncluded
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phone did not come with a battery.Would have been nice to know I had to purchase a battery separtely.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Kona

No GPS as advertised

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
RDisappointed
From:  North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone, simply because I did not want the fancy features. I just want to talk and navigate to my destination. This phone listed that it had GPS navigation, but come to find out on October 11, 2013, Sprint no longer supports it. So said. I will keep the phone and find another way to GPS around town.
Cons: no gps
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Kona

This phone is very good.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Raymoanski
From:  Cartersville, GA
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find no fault in this phone. In fact, I like it so well, I am going to buy a second one because my wife needs a new phone. I have to wait for a little while until I get paid.
I would wish that the voice activated calling would automatically go to speaker instead of you having to put the phone to your ear to speak your number or the name of the person in your contact list. But that is no biggy.
Understand, this is not a smart phone or an android so don't expect that. But for what it is and what it does as a Paylo phone, it simply cannot be beat. The speaker is excellent.
If you want a flip phone, look no further.!
Pros: the speaker
Cons: voice activated calling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Kona

My Kona is working just fine!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sattec
From:  texas
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm very happy with the Kona phone and the $30 1500/1500 plan. This half the cost of going with sprint and I use the same towers as when I was with Sprint. For me, this has been a total winner switching from Sprint to Vm...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Kona

Great basic phone

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
booksrme2
From:  Rockford, IL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the phone but the screen could be a little bigger. Didn't realize it was so small.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: small screen hard to see
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Kona

I don't have to use my reading glasses to talk or text!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Notooproudtouseaflipphone
From:  Redfield, AR
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a phone that I could use to talk or text without having to put on my reading glasses. This phone fits the bill perfectly. I can see the letters on the lighted keypad as well as the numbers. It was also easy to adjust the size of the font so I can see my contact list, etc. without my glasses.
Pros: size of lighted keypad
Cons: phone feels a little heavy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Kona

I love this phone.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
madalegnas
From:  Florida
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like it's simplicity with the added perk of a camera. I also like that it's a flip top which doesn't get accidentally dialed while in my purse. The only flaw I found with it is that it didn't hold a charge for more than a day or so. It was a problem when traveling. However, I bought a different phone when I thought I'd broken this one, which I hadn't. Since I discovered it's fine after all, I'll keep it as a backup in case I don't like the replacement. I'd recommend it to people who need to call and text mostly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Kona

Pretty good

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Addentheninja
From:  Camas, WA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone has been pretty Good. The t9 texting isn't bAd and it's fairly easy to use. The camera is placed on the back of the phone which is dumb but it works. I can get 2.5 days of battery with heavy usage and Bluetooth Always on. Web browsing is supposedly 3G but its very slow. Only Real complaint about it is that whenever I delete My texting threads sometimes the phone ReStarts itself.
Pros: ease of use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Kona

Great little phone esp for Senior citizens

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Southernnbelle
From:  Camarillo, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Phone especially for Seniors. Phone is very easy to use and features are easy to change. Very simple compared to androids. Sound is very good both ringtones and hearing/audio,
Highest rating for use with hearing aides
Also Bluetooth for hands free driving.
Ringtones are not very like-able. Would like to have better choices,
Like the flip top. It does not send out calls when you are unaware.
So good I am getting my 86 yr old neighbor one.
Like the PayLo plans it goes with.
Pros: simple to use, highest rating with hearing aide, has blooth for hands free driving
Cons: ringtone selections
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Kona

AWESOME PHONE

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DEASERTEAGLE
From:  HAMILTON
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BASIC PHONE W/CAMERA THE SOUND QUALITY IS GOOD
THE BATTERY LIFE ON THIS THING IS FANTASTIC ! I RECOMMENDED
IT TO A FRIEND, SHE GOT ONE AND LOVES HER'S AS WELL.
Pros: great battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Kona

Slow to start and voice mail does not work

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AlOm
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does not give new voice mail notification, even when you press "voice mail" - you get NO NEW VOICE MAIL even when there is one. Have to call voice mail (for which you are charged) and then maybe you get the message which is usually a few hours to a couple of days late!
Pros: nothing
Cons: everthing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Kona

Still trying to figure it out.

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
luciearl
From:  Minnesota
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I picked a phone that I thought was similar to my old one (it is faster to just order a new one, than try to get a rep to explain the old one not working properly). Day 2, totally charged, and can not just dial a number. Font is microscopic. Wish a manual had been included. My experience with similar phones, they last about one yr.
Cons: not simple to use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Kona

kyocera~garbage

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
sasha1964
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have this phone, because I had to pick a paylo phone I got this piece of junk. it hangs up the battery doesn't keep the charge, you cannot hear on this phone its muffled good luck with having a conversation. I WOU;D NOT RECCOMEND THIS PHONE TO ANYONE!
Cons: sound is muffled battery doesnt hold charge hang
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Kona

Most Happy w/numerous ringtones included

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Leslierose
From:  Idaho
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
and the easy functionality is also a bonus! Nokia used to be my fav, but now the Kyocera Kona is #1.
Pros: sturdy & easy to maneuver about
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.