Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona

Kyocera Kona

Equipped with a 2.0MP camera, large screen and tactile keypad for faster, easier typing, the Kyocera Kona is the go-to phone for your talk, text and picture messaging needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.715 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
36
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
19
98 out of 13473%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona
Review 1 for Kyocera Kona

Absolutely the best I have EVER found.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Raymoan
From:  Cartersville, GA
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Personally, I like a flip phone. I don't need all the extras that smart phones have. I just want a phone. What you may not get with other reviews is this: for conference calls, this phone is so good that it can call in by voice activation and pause so that when asked for the passcode it will enter it automatically. To me, you can't beat that with any phone.
Pros: works great always
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Kona

Pay Low and Pay the Price

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
PhoneUser1aaa
From:  NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price, you can't beat it. You get a lot of features: Camera, Internet access (though painfully slow), text messaging, 600 name contact list, calendar, speaker phone, bluetooth can connect to a car stereo system AND can also transfer your phone book to another phone or bluetooth device (that is if you do it before the phone fails to operate or turn on). For the low price of this phone, it's very inexpensive and A bargain for that price.
But here's why I would not recommend it if you plan to put normal use on the phone: It goes defective fairly quickly. People start to tell you they can't hear you or you can't hear them. It sparks and shorts out for no apparent reason (this is my experience with 3 of these phones). It stops working. It goes into silent mode on it's own, without telling you unless you look at the panel. This means that you miss calls or texts because you can't hear the ringer or text messages, even if it's up to full power.
The good news, it's farily sturdy and if you drop it, it holds up well. And as to txting: you have text messaging which works fairly well. The bad news - it is very hard to configure so that you can type them without excessive keystokes and even if you figure out how do it, it's again painfully slow on the typing because you do not have proper keyboard. When you send the text message. Once sent, it goes right away though.
You should not use the headset on this phone. Once you use if for a short time, the phone locks itself onto headset mode and you cannot change it back. This means that you cannot hear anyone unless you replug the headset in or you open up the speakerphone so everyone can hear the conversation.
Many times there is no way to erase the text message counter which is telling you that you have 3 waiting texts that you already opened. If you delete the 1st text, it deletes the whole chain of texts from that person but still does not lower the text message awaiting to be viewed counter. Even when you hit the master tab to reset all counters, nothing happens. It blocks your ability to put the counter back to zero. The only way to do it, is to erase all and every text message on your phone and then your counter will go zero. It's a headache phone.
If you can afford a better phone, I would strongly suggest that you do it and save yourself a lot of aggravation and problems. Note: Even the basic kyocera non flip cheaper phone or the smaller kyocera flip phone (which I don't see on their website for sale anyhmore), that both has limited options is better than this phone for reliability.
I would not buy it again if anyone wants to know. When my current 3rd phone runs out, I will look to upgrade it to a better phone / brand / line, etc.
P.S. looking the reviews on the new Al Catel one touch retro similar flip phone, large keypad phone. It appears to me that if a choice between this one and that one, that this is the far better of the two. That one looks worse than this by the reviews. And also does not appear to have a speakerphone in case you need that feature. And the battery life looks much better than the Al Catel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Kona

Nice Phone

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mangomike
From:  United States
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the money this phone is a great deal. I just needed a simple low cost phone and this phone does everything that I need. Easy to get going and has all the features that I need. So far the battery life is great and I have had no problems with volume. If you don't need all the frills of a smart phone this little phone will work just fine. Seems to be well built and it looks good. Would buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Kona

very nice design

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bullitt
From:  findlay , ohio
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product very good and professional service keep up the good work
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Kona

Good Buy for the Price!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv4DJ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this phone and it lasted 1 yr and 7 months. I guess that's good for the price. I don't like complicated phones just one that's easy to use for texting and taking photos. This phone definitely fit that bill. The screen is somewhat too small to view some graphics sent via text and the volume is a little too low for the hard of hearing but otherwise a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Kona

Nice phone for me

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Phonestuff
From:  Denver, CO
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm a 59 year old man and I just like a simple "flip" phone with a camera that WORKS when I need it. Even with bad dexterity due to Arthritis and neuropathy in my hands, this phone and the Virgin Mobile PayLo service works fine for me. The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars us even at top volume sometimes it's hard for me to hear. Also the button placement has me disconnecting calls accidentally sometimes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Kona

Good Phone for the Money

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jth473
From:  Rhode Island
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't need a smart phone so I chose a flip phone. The first one was a Kyocera (2100?) that was a bit smaller and had easier to use keys. This one has a better camera, though it's that accessory is rudimentary by today's standards. My only complaint is the minor of the keys requiring more effort to push when txting. Not a big deal. Phone quality is fine, as are other features. I'd recommend this low-cost phone for anyone wanting a simple, basic, easy-to-use non-smart phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Kona

Great product for the price

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mcvee
From:  Easley, SC
Age: Over 65
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone for three years and it has performed quite well and without any issues. It still has the same battery and all of its' functions and features still work. I am replacing it with the same phone just because of the normal wear that I have put on the case and it suits my needs exactly. I'm not a fan of the digital keyboard so typing in my message is perfectly alright with me.
Pros: good phone good features good service
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Kona

love this phone and has a lot of options

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
taratyleraustin
From:  Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the flip phone, so easy to carry in pocket, has so many features, haven't even used. Long battery life. Great price and easy to use and you can see the numbers.
Pros: long battery life easy to use, can see the numbers, easy to use
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Kona

Good for simple talk and text.

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
consumer4u
From:  Bullhead City AZ
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My likes: pretty much user friendly. Has camera. Has calendar etc. My dislikes: My fingers always want to rest where the camera lens is. No flash for camera. No video. Very limited ringtones. The ringtones it has are all almost the same sound. Limited internet. If you want a simple, no frills phone this is the one for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Kona

Not even worth it.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Itswizard
From:  nyc
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had a cheaper phone that was better. I needed basics. The problem is no one can hear me from the phone. The display of missed calls and messaging are very confusing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Kona

This is an inexpensive phone . I like it better than non flip phones

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CACTQualityAntiques
From:  Danbury Connecticut
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is an inexpensive phone . I like it better than non flip phones.
I can drop it or put my seat belt on and it will not break like a not so smart phone. I had one go under my lawn tractor and the customer service was excellent. I am rough on phones and these hold up well . The price is right.
I keep a spare on hand. Hope they do not discontinue this phone . I just would want a tad bit better camera but it serves its purpose well.
Pros: this is a 9 out of 10
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Kona

TALK ONLY

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I like the phone for talking only! If you need to text or go online good luck!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Kona

phone problems message app, speakerphone location

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mdades
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
two big problems. the messages all get dumped
into one folder instead of the usual five folders,
forcing me to search through every text to find the
one I'm looking for.
the other big issue is that the speakerphone
sound comes out the middle of the back instead
of the ear speaker. I have hearing problems and
must then turn the phone backward and upside
down to hear this. there is an option to send all
sound to the ear speaker, but it does not work.
another issue is the lock function. I set
the lock code to 0000. when I tried to
use it to reset the phone before returning
it, the phone refused to accept the code
and said it was invalid. I tried some
common codes just to see if they
worked, but had no luck. my guess is
that the firmware update I did screwed
up something.
the first two problems apply to the
Samsung montage also.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Kona

good phone

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamesathome
From:  ca.
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it 2 years works good.thank you for this phone.
Pros: good good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Kona

Not an expensive phone

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
GlitterPrincess86
From:  Bucks County, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was inexpensive, but lacks things you may be looking for, i.e. video recorder, etc. Also, you are limited on times to play games. Had this phone twice, and both times persperation got inside the phone, causing irreversible damage. This has happened each time i have aquired this phone. Had to be replaced after just a few months of ownership.
Phone has good volume, but it is too easy to turn sound off, all you have to do is lightly press the volume controls on side of phone. There needs to be some sort of support to prevent this. Also, good battery life. If you don't want to spend lots of money on a phone you might only use a few days a week, or if you're just looking for a light, mostly basic phone, then this may be the one for you.
Pros: good sound battery life not too bulky or heavy
Cons: way too easy to turn sound down or off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Kona

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DYNODALE
From:  NEW MEXICO
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would highly recommend this phone if you want simple and easy to use! activation was a breeze,,the way it should be!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Kona

Phone is easy to use and works great

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
GotBluesClues
From:  Bay Area, CA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My screen broke on my cell phone and I needed a new phone. I bought the the Kona. I am very pleased with it. It is easy to use, has a camera, was a good price. I can hear clearly on it and others can hear me. I can text, send pictures, and talk. Its a flip phone so I don't have to worry about having to lock and unlock the key pad, because with a flip phone there is no way accidentally butt dial someone.
Pros: ease of use, crystal clear calls, has a camera, compact size, great value for the price, durable
Cons: not a smart phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Kona

A good basic phone for the money, but.......

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
seattlemartin
From:  Seattle, WA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been using this phone for about a year now, and when I first got it I really liked it. A year later, though, there are a couple of things that are annoying about it: 1) the Calculator function does not work (the 'equals' sign, when pressed to give a total, does nothing.) 2) the Camera won't save a picture once you have pressed the button, most of the time. I get a message saying 'cant save image' or some such. Again, worthless. It worked for a while early on, but not now. 3) The speaker (for hearing others talk) has, in the last 6 months now, deteriorated quite dramatically, so that now what I hear when someone talks to me is mostly garble and distortion, sounding rather like a speaker that has blown out. For this last reason, I am going to have to either buy another Kona, or another phone altogether, because it's functionality as a phone has gone dowhill due to the bad sound.. If it weren't for these issues, I'd give the phone 4 1/2 stars. It's easy to use, and has a large contact list, and a seeming good set of functions. I haven't used them all to determine if they work, though. I would recommend this phone to others, with reservations.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor sound quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Kona

a+

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
hollywood262
From:  minerva,oh
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best phone i've owned,easy to use and great reception
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...7next>>