Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona

Kyocera Kona

Equipped with a 2.0MP camera, large screen and tactile keypad for faster, easier typing, the Kyocera Kona is the go-to phone for your talk, text and picture messaging needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
33
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
18
92 out of 12772%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona
Review 1 for Kyocera Kona

Great product for the price

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mcvee
From:  Easley, SC
Age: Over 65
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone for three years and it has performed quite well and without any issues. It still has the same battery and all of its' functions and features still work. I am replacing it with the same phone just because of the normal wear that I have put on the case and it suits my needs exactly. I'm not a fan of the digital keyboard so typing in my message is perfectly alright with me.
Pros: good phone good features good service
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Kona

love this phone and has a lot of options

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
taratyleraustin
From:  Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the flip phone, so easy to carry in pocket, has so many features, haven't even used. Long battery life. Great price and easy to use and you can see the numbers.
Pros: long battery life easy to use, can see the numbers, easy to use
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Kona

Good for simple talk and text.

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
consumer4u
From:  Bullhead City AZ
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My likes: pretty much user friendly. Has camera. Has calendar etc. My dislikes: My fingers always want to rest where the camera lens is. No flash for camera. No video. Very limited ringtones. The ringtones it has are all almost the same sound. Limited internet. If you want a simple, no frills phone this is the one for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Kona

Not even worth it.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Itswizard
From:  nyc
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had a cheaper phone that was better. I needed basics. The problem is no one can hear me from the phone. The display of missed calls and messaging are very confusing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Kona

This is an inexpensive phone . I like it better than non flip phones

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CACTQualityAntiques
From:  Danbury Connecticut
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is an inexpensive phone . I like it better than non flip phones.
I can drop it or put my seat belt on and it will not break like a not so smart phone. I had one go under my lawn tractor and the customer service was excellent. I am rough on phones and these hold up well . The price is right.
I keep a spare on hand. Hope they do not discontinue this phone . I just would want a tad bit better camera but it serves its purpose well.
Pros: this is a 9 out of 10
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Kona

TALK ONLY

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I like the phone for talking only! If you need to text or go online good luck!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Kona

phone problems message app, speakerphone location

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mdades
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
two big problems. the messages all get dumped
into one folder instead of the usual five folders,
forcing me to search through every text to find the
one I'm looking for.
the other big issue is that the speakerphone
sound comes out the middle of the back instead
of the ear speaker. I have hearing problems and
must then turn the phone backward and upside
down to hear this. there is an option to send all
sound to the ear speaker, but it does not work.
another issue is the lock function. I set
the lock code to 0000. when I tried to
use it to reset the phone before returning
it, the phone refused to accept the code
and said it was invalid. I tried some
common codes just to see if they
worked, but had no luck. my guess is
that the firmware update I did screwed
up something.
the first two problems apply to the
Samsung montage also.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Kona

good phone

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jamesathome
From:  ca.
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it 2 years works good.thank you for this phone.
Pros: good good
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Kona

Not an expensive phone

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
GlitterPrincess86
From:  Bucks County, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was inexpensive, but lacks things you may be looking for, i.e. video recorder, etc. Also, you are limited on times to play games. Had this phone twice, and both times persperation got inside the phone, causing irreversible damage. This has happened each time i have aquired this phone. Had to be replaced after just a few months of ownership.
Phone has good volume, but it is too easy to turn sound off, all you have to do is lightly press the volume controls on side of phone. There needs to be some sort of support to prevent this. Also, good battery life. If you don't want to spend lots of money on a phone you might only use a few days a week, or if you're just looking for a light, mostly basic phone, then this may be the one for you.
Pros: good sound battery life not too bulky or heavy
Cons: way too easy to turn sound down or off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Kona

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DYNODALE
From:  NEW MEXICO
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would highly recommend this phone if you want simple and easy to use! activation was a breeze,,the way it should be!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Kona

Phone is easy to use and works great

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
GotBluesClues
From:  Bay Area, CA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My screen broke on my cell phone and I needed a new phone. I bought the the Kona. I am very pleased with it. It is easy to use, has a camera, was a good price. I can hear clearly on it and others can hear me. I can text, send pictures, and talk. Its a flip phone so I don't have to worry about having to lock and unlock the key pad, because with a flip phone there is no way accidentally butt dial someone.
Pros: ease of use, crystal clear calls, has a camera, compact size, great value for the price, durable
Cons: not a smart phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Kona

A good basic phone for the money, but.......

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
seattlemartin
From:  Seattle, WA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been using this phone for about a year now, and when I first got it I really liked it. A year later, though, there are a couple of things that are annoying about it: 1) the Calculator function does not work (the 'equals' sign, when pressed to give a total, does nothing.) 2) the Camera won't save a picture once you have pressed the button, most of the time. I get a message saying 'cant save image' or some such. Again, worthless. It worked for a while early on, but not now. 3) The speaker (for hearing others talk) has, in the last 6 months now, deteriorated quite dramatically, so that now what I hear when someone talks to me is mostly garble and distortion, sounding rather like a speaker that has blown out. For this last reason, I am going to have to either buy another Kona, or another phone altogether, because it's functionality as a phone has gone dowhill due to the bad sound.. If it weren't for these issues, I'd give the phone 4 1/2 stars. It's easy to use, and has a large contact list, and a seeming good set of functions. I haven't used them all to determine if they work, though. I would recommend this phone to others, with reservations.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor sound quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Kona

a+

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
hollywood262
From:  minerva,oh
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best phone i've owned,easy to use and great reception
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Kona

easy to use

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MrArchie
From:  Pittsburgh, Pa
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have phone for a month now. no problems, large phone contact list plus addresses. nice pics too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Kona

Nothing fancy But Reliable

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BayAreaGuy
From:  California
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have enjoyed my phone i have had this same one now coming up on 2 years now and has been very reliable for me...as its quickly coming up on 2 years the battery obviously has weaken and will need to replace my phone soon..I now charge it every other day and the phone is still very reliable its just I now need a more modern type phone with more capabilities but for all the time i have had this phone I have to say a 2 thumbs up on this one.Bottom line its a good solid phone if you want a simple type phone for talking and text and that is exactly what this is..If you want a fancy type with emails and quick web access I say go another way
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Kona

This phone has a lot of bells & whistles but...

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ajax
From:  Everett, WA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It seems to use a lot of power for minimum usage . I was excited when I first bought it but for the most part now I use it to check what time it is and the notes app. That is if I remember to recharge it every other day.
I tried using the web 3 times - but it takes forever. I don't know if I bought a "lemon" or Kyocera just doesn't make a good phone.
I regret giving up my old beat up Nokia. It worked better than this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Kona

Good Cheap phone

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Robo
From:  Warnerrobins
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For a cheap phone, it is better than I expected and easy to use, I like the fact that I was able to change the type to large so I can see it, the speakers not that great, even with speaker option, it's turned up as loud as it will go but still have to listen close to hear. If your looking for a phone to just call and text, this is the one. the battery life is about average.
Pros: easy to use, changeable fonts, dependable cheap phone
Cons: speaker could be better, battery life is average
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Kona

This product is a simple phone that is easy to use.

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
rmaflip
From:  shreveport, louisiana
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the phone for a year and compared to other basic flip phones, I like this one the best.
Pros: it rings loud good battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Kona

Only one thing i can't stand about the phone.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ButchMcManly
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had it for a couple of days now, already gave it a good drop and it's fine. I just wanted this little phone for calls only and that's really about all it's good for. The bluetooth is absolutely worthless, i can't even simply send a jpeg to it from the computer. So that was kinda unexpected since didn't really look at what files could be supported, but that's my fault. I just seen bluetooth and assumed i could send a picture to it from my computer. That's the only thing i didn't like.
Cons: bluetooth horrible
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Kona

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissD
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is a great phone for the price, and for Seniors or people that don't use their phone to talk 24/7. I upgraded to this from that small phone that Assurance Wireless, gives you and I have been very content. We have T Mobile Phones in our home, and a house, and when the storm hit and we lost power back in February 2014, we had to pull out this phone for service because even those "high tech" cell phones from T Mobile, wouldn't work. So my husband who is retired from being a technology teacher came up with a good idea. He Bluetooth this phone to the house phone and we got rid of Time Warner phone service (which wasn't that great) and we now use this cell through the house phone for all calls and text from the cell.
Pros: small but dependable
Cons: having to hit the keys several times during texti
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...7next>>