Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona

Kyocera Kona

Equipped with a 2.0MP camera, large screen and tactile keypad for faster, easier typing, the Kyocera Kona is the go-to phone for your talk, text and picture messaging needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.747 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
13
68 out of 9373%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Kona
Review 1 for Kyocera Kona

good basic phone with a few pet peeves

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
allfiredup
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the good.
big phone number pad and the flip open and close is simple.phone can be dropped without damage,
simple! i personally dislike smart phones. im running out of options because i wont get a touch screen phone! period!
the camera is fair for low quality.
fits in pocket without dialing numbers and making noise on its own.
the bad? poor quality volume and spkr phone.
its awkward and clumsy!
side buttons do things on their own if sitting in your pocket[ringer turns off. volume goes down etc.frustrating things]
the lens in the camera is right in the way of the shutter button[the ok, button] camera is difficult to work with. cam is also awkward.
Cons: camera and side buttons
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Kona

Good talk phone, good picture phone, data is lame at best

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
OldBaldFatGuy
From:  Salisbury, NC
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent phone for talking. Pictures are great for on the spot shots. No video recording. Limited memory that can not be expanded. Blu Tooth is nice, but with 256 MB data, there is not much room to put things. (I haven't bothered to figure out how to transfer data to the phone)
Basically it is a phone for people living in an existential vacuum. I do not care about the voice command stuff. Texting? I did say existential vacuum.
Pros: inexpensive, it is even free
Cons: memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Kona

nice

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
chas007
From:  ohio
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
for a phone that does not cost alot ,it does the job
Pros: great working phone
Cons: nothing so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Kona

Awesome phone for the basics

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ReallyFrustrated
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone. Don't get me wrong, I miss my smart phone, but can't afford it right now so this is a great alternative. I haven't had any issues with getting a signal. It's very simple and basic and very affordable. Great phone!
Pros: basic ease of use, loud ringers for alarm
Cons: camera is so-so
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Kona

Outstanding Phone

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gorkel
From:  Cape May, NJ
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved this phone so much i bought another for my Dad and activated him, too. Sure would have been nice to have MP3 but I have a Zen with Bluetooth so who needs MP3 player in the phone. This phone has features I've never seen in a flip style phone. I love the size and also how heavy it is, finally a phone that fits my hand. It also has like 50 different ringers and tones available. My Dad is blind and the phone has a talk to dial feature, he loves his. Thank you, Virgin Mobile. I love the phone.
Pros: talk to dial, tons of ringers
Cons: no mp3 player, volume cant be locked
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Kona

Average At Best

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dweller
From:  Florida
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a backup phone replacement. It is of decent quality; but, the battery life is awful.
Cons: the battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Kona

Love the screen and font sizes!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CiasJewels
From:  Cincinnati, OH
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this phone for myself and my husband. It seems to be working quite well for both of us. I am pleased with this purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Kona

Great phone

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
NiNi46
From:  New York,NY
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am older and this phones size, large visible numbers are a great help. It's easy to program and is just all around a good phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Kona

The Best Cell Phone I Ever Had

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
koolbro
From:  Victorville, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone in December. I needed a cell phone and I didn't want to spend a lot of money on it. This is the best cell phone I ever bought, the battery last a long time and it is easy to use. Get this phone you will love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Kona

Simple phone with great battery life.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nationwide
From:  Sacramento, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple phone with great battery life. The texting is challenging due to the small key pad, overall a good cheap phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Kona

Perfect phone for low cost talk and text

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Christopher42day
From:  Mesa, AZ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone is very cheap to buy and so far works great! I just use it to mainly call and the occasional text. Its perfect if you need to have a cellphone but don't have a lot of money. Different plans to choose from. obviously its no smart phone. But it works great as a normal cell phone. Not great for internet but I have a computer for that. Its a great way to have a cell phone with hardly any money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Kona

Look for another phone.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mrquacker
From:  sunrise f.
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VERY VERY user not friendly. The enclosed manual only 4 pages and very basic. You need to go on line to read 92 pages. Many features not working. Likes to freeze up, then remove battery. Bought the phone yesterday-goes back today.
Pros: battery
Cons: slow in sending pics. and not user friendly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Kona

do not buy

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
buf54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst phone i ever had freezes on me all the time michrphone goes in and out
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Kona

Very breakable

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
GivingUpS00no0ntheName
From:  Connecticut
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone had all the features I wanted, but it is very cheaply made. It felt like the back was going to crack when I put in the battery.
I don't know if it's just this phone, but every time I tried to use it it would ask to download a firmware update even though there was a very strong signal, it couldn't do it. I spent hours (literally) on tech support trying to fix this. No solution. I would have put up with the cheap shell if I could just get it to work properly.
So it cost me about half what I paid for the phone in shipping charges to return.
I am back to my basic phone now, and will not upgrade again.
Pros: flip phone
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Kona

Phone is not working properly

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Peony7
From:  West Babylon, New York
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had this phone for 2 days. #5 does not work sometimes and will display message alerts when all the messages have been deleted. Very poor performing phone.
Cons: poor performing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Kona

great phone and call quality

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
gadgetman
From:  milwaukee wi.
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good phone call quality excellent speaker phone is clear and loud and it even has a Facebook app
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Kona

Large font and good speaker

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Horseygirls
From:  lynchburg, Va
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have this phone for my disabled daughter. It is easy to use, and is better than my own more expensive phone when it comes to talk and text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Kona

Great Phone

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DanfromTN
From:  Hendersonville TN
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over the years since wireless service was available, I have had many different brands of phones, from Sony, Samsung, etc. The Kyocera is the best phone I've ever used. The clarity of sound, the size of the characters, the battery life and the dependability! Many phones I've had you couldn't see the characters without 300+ reading glasses. The battery life is second to none! I've never been offered this brand of phone with Sprint, At&t, Bell south, and many others. I would encourage you to pick Kyocera for your choice of phones!
Pros: clairity of sound, battery life, dependability, size of characters, simple to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Kona

this phone shuts itself off all the time!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
frozenMN
From:  Brainerd, MN
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This cell has good sound quality, large keys and good battery life. However, every time you go to delete messages it shuts itself off!!! Every time! And its not just one phone, because I had it replaced and the second one does the same thing! Spend a few more dollars and buy a different one!!!!
Cons: shuts off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Kona

Bad battery

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
viper34736
From:  Florida
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've only had this phone for a month and a half and the battery only lasts about a day and a half to two days.
Pros: big screen
Cons: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.