Customer Reviews for Reef

Reef

Finally, a smartphone that's not afraid to party poolside. Reef, Virgin Mobile's first waterproof* device, features a 4-inch touchscreen and a 5MP camera with HD video, letting you capture those cannonballs up close.
Average Customer Rating:
3.233 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
17 out of 2959%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Reef
Review 1 for Reef

good phone

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
revia67
From:  orange, Texas
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone is really easy to use and the apps are good, it has great features.........
Pros: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reef

Best phone ive had

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
91114
From:  Des moines iowa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Since I have had an account with virgin mobile thE Reef is the best phone Ive had. It has great battery life. I take it off charger at 730 every morning and it doesn't need charged until abt 8pm. When I first got the phone it use to power off on its own but know it is great. I can do everything on my phone that I need compared to my friends that have different carriers. I work in a daycare so water is always a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reef

DONT GET THIS PHONE!!!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
momoffour
From:  butler,in
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone I have ever owned the battery doesn't last. This phone freezes all the time. It is very slow.
One good thing it has held up to my one year olds abuse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reef

Terrible

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dontlikereef
From:  Florida
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I drive a motorcycle and figured this would be a good phone. Wrong.
The internet is slow as all can be. Can never watch a 2 minute clip on youtube without it stop to buffer. People can not hear me on this phone, I can hear them, but they cant hear me. My biggest issue with this is the battery life. I really don't use my phone that much and my battery dies even with all the apps close. Its like 2 hours of no use and you have 30% left on your battery. REALLY. Oh I also get no signal anywhere. My old VM pay lo phone was awesome, just no good features. Wanted a upgrade and this is just terrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reef

Not a Smart buy

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Imamomof4
From:  New York, NY
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So sorry I bought this. I thought it would be nice to a water proof phone because I work with developmentally challenged teens and there's always a risk of drinks or food getting dumped on my phone if it's on the table. I have limped along with it for 6 months and can't take it anymore. I am trading it in and going to buy an LG Optimus.
Here are the negatives with the Reef.
Negative 1: Battery life is very poor. I have to keep the wifi setting off all the time because if I don't, it constantly searches for a signal and drains the battery. Even using 3G connection, it only takes 5 minutes of internet usage to use half the battery. So if I'm going to be out all day without access to a charger, I don't date use the Smartphone features -no better than having my old flip phone.
Negative 2: : Phone powers down randomly. Not very often, but has happened about once every two weeks. Was told it is doing updates. Uh, thanks?
Negative 3: Noise & volume control -
want to silence your phone in a theater or meeting? Everyone will know you are doing it because the volume button beeps loudly each time you click it. Vibrate? Sure, but even that is loud. Even when it's in my purse or book bag, I can hear it.
Negative 4: Navigation of contacts is not intuitive. Tapping the contacts icon sometimes takes you to your full contacts list, sometimes to "favorites" and sometimes to "last called" I have not yet figured out the rhyme or reason to this. To edit a contact you have to navigate through 3 screens before you can change anything.
Negative 5: Sound in earpiece is horrible, speaker is a little better; Sound transmission when making a call is also bad. People consistently cannot hear me or say they hear static or echo.
I am returning this phone and purchasing an LG -- I've had LG's many times and have never been disappointed. Anything will be an improvement over this one.
Cons: poor battery, poor sound
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reef

Excellent for Social Life

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
lilcasscass
From:  Roanoke,VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works good for someone who spends life texting and on Facebook. Has a perfect space amount. I have Vines, Twitter, Facebook, Fb Messenger, Instagram, and Issu downloaded with no problem. It's water-proof and unbreakable.
Pros: waterproof, unbreakable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reef

Wouldn't recommend

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kerrie
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The battery dies almost as fast a you charge it...it has a kinda old feel. Basically i wouldn't recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reef

Not what I expected

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ehardd
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Let me start off that I am not good with phones. I loose it, drop it, anything that can go wrong, has gone wrong. So I decided to get the Reef so I wont have to worry about water. I took a shower with it (10min at most) and next thing i know, it's water clogged. Ive water clogged a phone before so i put it in rice, but the screen was still bad.
My screen also cracked out of nowhere. I put it in my locker for school and at the end of the day, it was cracked.
Batter life made me throw it at my door. My battery died in the middle of a very important call even though it was charging. I have no clue what happened but I have never been so frustrated with a phone before.
For some reason my memory isnt that good either? I have maybe 20 or less apps, 20 or less songs and 5 pictures before the "insufficient memory" thing pops up. On my old phone I have double the apps, 500 songs and 1000 pictures. As a teenage girl, I really cant live without taking pictures. And the quality isnt good either. When i want to take pictures of sports, they always come out blurry.
I would not recommend this phone, like ever.
Pros: i can change the background
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reef

WORST PHONE EVER!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
themantisboxer
From:  Ohio
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't even waste your time and $$$. My screen cracked on my HTC One V (great phone, by the way), so I purchased this phone as a quick replacement. First, the battery time is garbage. I had 100% full battery charge when I went snowboarding. I like to listen to music on my headphones while I'm there. I was only on the slopes for just about 2 hours and left with a 48% charge. To make things even more complicated, the next day I went again and over 2,000 songs wouldn't play and the phone said "file is not compatible with music player." Uhhhhhhh I was just listening to these exact music files yesterday! I had to erase my entire 32gb micro SD card and download everything all over again to the card.
Downloaded apps keep freezing or not responding. Also, when I talk to people they say I sound like a robot on auto-tune on the other end of the line. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS JUNK PHONE!!!
Pros: nothing!
Cons: everything!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reef

Bad Reception

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BewareTheReef
From:  Detroit, MI
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Avoid this phone. It has poor audio reception. People you talk to sound like they are transmitting from an AM radio during a thunder storm while driving on a bumpy road. Our other phone is on the Virgin network (a Samsung Galaxy SII) and it sounds fine. There was no improvement in call audio even after we received a replacement Reef.
Cons: poor audio reception on calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reef

Phone is not waterproof...

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
jokenbbt
From:  Port saint lucie..fla
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is junk.I have when't thru two of them in as many months. The first one when it gat DAMP it would go to ear bud. Thats with out the ear bud being put in!!!! The second one is the same. You cannot hear anything and it works best with speaker phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reef

Not Actually Water Proof

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
b4slo
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I dropped this phone in a sink, and it stopped working immediately. Also, apps disappear, and has some bugs when updating. Would not recommend or ever buy again. I don't even want to use my insurance to get a new Reef, I just want a better phone. Plus, the battery lasts maybe 7 hours.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reef

I love this phone and virgin mobile.....

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MISSLOVELYLADY
From:  ORLANDO FL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchase my phone 3 days ago and I love it. I haven't tested it in water yet but this is a great phone at a good price. I love the great apps and I would recommend this phone to my friends and family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reef

love this phone !!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SandTigerOsM
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this phone and the water proof feature is great to have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reef

my first smartphone and i think its great

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cwest
From:  Cali, Cali
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got the Reef so I can use it in weather. all the reviews I saw of it stated that it is solid on the waterproof aspect. Although my initial phone(Reef) I got didn't pick up WiFi(anywhere) and a couple times briefly, tech support helped me go through the process of figuring out the problem. It was the phone. Virgin reissued me the same phone at no cost and it works great. I picks up WiFi everywhere and works great with it. Very easy to use and fast enough phone for those graphic intensive games.
Pros: fast and easy to use
Cons: not a great battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reef

Good basic phone but...

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mawkins
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for a few months but some features have started to grate on me. I cannot for the life of me find out how to turn off the message alert unless I turn the phone to silent. Every time you receive a text is buzzes/bleeps every 3 seconds or so until you clear/read the text. Camera is only 5MP, not great in this day and age. Forward and rear camera is useful though. Battery life is as bad as I've ever experienced. I use my phone pretty heavily but comparatively, this battery lasts less than half a day whereas others have got me through the day. Even with a task killer, a half battery won't last through the night, 8 hours of doing nothing drains it completely. Don't go anywhere without a charger now. Dropped it in water the first week I had it and microphone and earpiece took a day to work properly. But did get back to normal eventually. Can't send group texts or more than 30 texts at a time.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reef

Good phone for a good price

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TAR2
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for about two months, now. It's reliable and works well.
Physical features: front and rear camera (average photo quality, bluish tint with flash), external camera shutter button.
Operating system: Android 4.1.2 (will do everything any other phone can do with that OS)
Waterproof: I haven't tested that, but CNET did, and found it to be waterproof after 30 minutes in water.
Speaker: decent speaker but not as good as an iphone
Microphone: works well (google voice picks up my speech very well, and I have had no complaints with voice calls)
Battery life: average. There are phones out there with better battery life, so it depends on what you do with it. If you are going to play games for an hour straight, you'll eat up a lot of battery and will have to recharge before the day is through.
The complaint I saw about all the icons resetting is not a phone issue. It's a Virgin Mobile "feature" that changes all your settings to a preset "mobile ID" pack. Unfortunately they're putting it on all their phones and you can't uninstall it. Count on resetting your homescreen icons, ringtones, and wallpaper whenever it runs itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Aleority
 
Please wait while more information about Aleority is loaded.
Additional information about Aleority could not be loaded.
you can get rid of the id packs and other garbage
Posted March 2, 2014
if you're a root user you can clean up all the extra stuff they throw on the phone that you don't know why they put it there or stuff that you don't use. it was pretty easy to do with my kyrocera event
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Reef

Pretty Good Phone

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
krubi12
From:  Denver CO
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After a month of having this phone I've had a great experience with it. The part that's saved me the most is it being waterproof, I can't tell you how many times I've dropped in the snow /.\ . Anyway the phone itself is really nice, My only complaint is that when I use snapchat videos, The colors are all mismatched, and it's just on my phone. Ahh well, I'ts not a major issue, I can live with it...
Pros: everything
Cons: snapchat videos
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reef

Good in some ways bad in others...

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RyTheTechGuy
From:  California
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone a month ago and its an incredible phone. i had the Optimous V so i HAD to get an upgrade. Its very nice, light and the back has a nice grip to it which makes it feel comfy and stably in your hands. Works well excellent pictures and a great Android Jellybean software which runs smoothly.
The bad thing is that the vibration is LOUD and isn't very noticeable if it in your pocket. Also its loud if you use the virtual keyboard. Also it only has 3 notification lights, red orange and green. Battery life is average, but if you use 3G all the time it ill last you maybe half a day.
All in all its a great phone, it doesn't say virgin mobile or ZTE anywhere on the phone. Its comfy and a nice perfect phone for a casual teen or user. Not for a hardcore phone user. But exellent in everything normal.
Pros: waterproof, light, comortable
Cons: vibration, battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reef

So far, so good

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ejfc
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got this phone this past week on sale. So far, after learning how to do things, phone works fine, and I am happy with it. I was not in the market for a high-end phone, and this one seems to suit my needs. If it keeps performing the way it does, I would say it is a great phone for people not needing the high-end, higher-priced phones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12next>>