Customer Reviews for Reef

Reef

Finally, a smartphone that's not afraid to party poolside. Reef, Virgin Mobile's first waterproof* device, features a 4-inch touchscreen and a 5MP camera with HD video, letting you capture those cannonballs up close.
Average Customer Rating:
3.09 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
20
35 out of 6554%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Reef
Review 1 for Reef

This is the worst phone I have ever owned!

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NVWoman
From:  Reno, NV
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From the beginning the sound quality was awful. Every phone call was a nightmare of not being able to hear the person you were talking to regardless of whether they were calling you or you were calling out. It sounded all digitalized like a robot under water. When I called customer service for help she kept saying "I can't hear you"! It had very little running power and would freeze up constantly. I absolutely do not recommend this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reef

Stops working after a few months

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
august1109
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for a few months now and at first he phone worked great, no problems, the water proof function works great. Now that I've had it for a while the screen has become less responsive, it sometimes glitches and jumps around, some of the phones actual function buttons, like wifi and brightness don't always work anymore. Sometimes when you lock it, it wont turn back on forcing you to pull the battery.
Cons: bad screen
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reef

NOT a good phone

PostedMay 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
FrustratedNANA
From:  MI
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this for my grand daughter less than a month ago and she has had her speakers go out completely, screen black out, and now red vertical lines through out the screen.
Price was affordable on line, but even for free if it doesn't work, what's the point?
Pros: ok for a young teens first smart phone if it works
Cons: too many software issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reef

Great Phone!

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
ReefPiglet
From:  Lansdowne, PA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got my Reef in the beginning of Feb 2015, I waited a few months before reviewing to make sure it didn't start freezing up like my old Kyocera Rise, went thru 3 of them. This Reef has been great! No issues thus far, great pics, texts, internet connection, love everything. And great price! Haven't tried out the waterproof feature but read a review on a computer site that it does indeed withstand 3 ft of water for 30 min without adverse effects. So glad I tried it out! Goodbye ice cream sandwiches, hello jellybeans :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reef

My Reef has met every expectation

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DanielleUSA
From:  Tidewater, VA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first touch screen phone and I am very pleased. Learning the phone was simple and intuitive. I have been with Virgin for nearly a year and my phone service has been exceptional as well as Virgin's customer support the (two?) times I have called. The camera is okay as the auto settings don't seem to read the conditions very well. I did lower my ranking for the battery as sometimes it runs low even with my "moderate" use of texting, apps, and FB, but it charges quickly and is seldomly an issue.
Pros: easy to use, affordable, touch screen, memory is adequate for moderate use, great first phone
Cons: size
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reef

dont get it, randomly blacked out forever. worked 3 months

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MattThor
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stopped working and screen one day never turned back on, for no reason
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reef

MOVIES PLAYBACK GREAT ON THIS PHONE

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
manster
From:  upstate ny
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Video looks great on this phone but apps open very slow make it seem like forever to do anything on it. The phone sometimes has to be shut down or restarted to reset it. Camera takes ok photos but only in really bright light. And although it has a flash, you have to remain perfectly still to get one that isn't blurred. Battery is incredibly short on a full charge even with data turned off. Comes loaded with too many apps that I don't use and don't know how to get rid of. The orientation of some of the keys like the space button being right over the home button causes the screen to back to home while texting sometimes erasing all the text. I thought the phone would grow on me but never did.
Pros: video quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reef

Never again

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Beverly
From:  Kansas City, MO
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone about a year-started out great but lately it has totally failed me time and time again. Like the others my phone shuts off whenever it feels like even with a full battery charge. Have had the battery charge overnight to wake up to find out it did not charge. The phone freezes alot lately! only way to cure it is to take the battery out. I am done with this phone and will be looking for another phone. I may end up changing from VM which is sad because I have been with VM for over 10 years!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reef

Poor Speaker and Camera Quality

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
CJaneWinn
From:  Midwest
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this phone thinking it would be a good thing to have a waterproof phone. No idea whether the waterproofing works, but the rest of the phone is just so poor quality, after a year I'm done trying to hear callers...everything sounds muffled or robotic.
The camera isn't great at all, photos come out blurry or grainy. It's a fluke if I ever get a fair quality shot.
The price was right when I needed a phone, but after having suffered through using this one I wouldn't take a Reef if they were giving them away for free. Run, don't walk, away from this phone!
Cons: speaker, mic, camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nooooo
MN
 
Please wait while more information about Nooooo is loaded.
Additional information about Nooooo could not be loaded.
Dont buy it. Waste of money
Posted January 19, 2015
I've been with this phone company for about 5 years and when I first started the phones lasted me a solid year. The past three phones I've had haven't lasted me more than a few months. This phone was fine. It froze every once in a while and it was durable but out of no where it starts shutting off and on. this has happened to almost every single one of my cell phones. I don't think anybody should waste their money on this product.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Reef

Sweet phone!!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
R33f
From:  WA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first smart phone,and I think it's awsome.no serious problems other than freezing sometimes,but other than that you should get it :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reef

No problem with this one

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
OVS2014
From:  MI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got it as a temporary phone 4 month ago, but I never had a problems with it restarting or freeze on me so far. I will recommend it
Pros: no freezing/restasrting problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reef

Everything runs slow and the screen is glitchy.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The screen flickers, the previous screen bleeds through and vertical lines showed up. All programs and apps run slow and frequently freeze. Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SriPhi
N ID
 
Please wait while more information about SriPhi is loaded.
Additional information about SriPhi could not be loaded.
Probs with Reef
Posted January 2, 2015
Looks like you got a defective product. You might return it to VM for replacement. Don't know if you tried that, or if it's to late at this point.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Reef

Terrible Sound

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
WonderWoman
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone in anticipation that it would be better than my old phone, but it is not...its worse.
When taking phone calls it is very hard to hear anything the other person is saying, sometimes its muffled or you cant hear them at all.
The speakers are awful, they are so quiet you cant hear anything unless you have headphones in.
I tried recording something and it is so muffled, it was worthless to even keep.
I think the reason for this is that their is a waterproof covering over them, so it makes the sound crackle/muffled.
Otherwise, the camera is great.
Pros: nice camera
Cons: sound muffled, cant hear anything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reef

Good phone

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jihadm13
From:  Indianapolis, IN
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommed this product to anyone. It freezes up sometimes but it is a very good phone. I like the camera, quality and how ti functions. The only thing i don't like about it is that with the camcorder, when you stop the video, it will stay on the video for a minute. That is the only thing that effects my opinion about this phone. overall, this phone is great!
Pros: good and bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reef

Good phone. I like it.

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cat89
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So I ended up testing out the water proof-ness of this phone the first day I got it- which I find rather amusing. I was on the phone while doing this dishes and I dropped it into the water filled sink and about had a heart attack.
But when I pulled the phone out of the water my girlfriend was still on the phone and my phone was still working properly. I even checked it fully when I was off the phone and everything seemed to be in order and it's been working great ever since.
For the first time since my Kyocera flip phone I'm fully happy with the phone I have from Virgin Mobile. I am having a few minor issues with my power button but that's the first issue I've had with my phone since I got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reef

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DisgruntledStargazer
From:  OH
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year now and it's been great. If you're looking for the fastest, nicest smartphone out there then this isn't for you. If you're looking for smartphone features for a significantly-less-than-smartphone price then look no further. I don't have trouble with freeze ups or battery life. I did recently run out of space and had to purchase an SD card, but that's understandable. I've never tested the water resistance so I can"t speak to that. I get compliments on my photos all the time, the camera is great! The only thing about it that I've never really cared for is the call quality, sometimes it sounds okay and other times everyone sounds like a robot. That's not a deal breaker for me though because I don't make a lot of long calls and I don't mind robots. All around good quality phone.
Pros: price, features, camera
Cons: call quality
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reef

sound quality lousy with whatever they do to waterproof it.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Trucker
From:  northern indiana
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted to upgrade to a phone with more features and since I drive a truck for a living, I thought I'd be safe with the reef since i'm out in rain and snow and might possibly get the phone wet somehow.
I probably should have gotten the awe instead because whatever they do to it to make it waterproof covers or muffles the mic and speaker to make it difficult for people to understand you or for you to understand your contact. the first phone I received had a problem with the mic where nobody (I tried several people) could understand me because it either cut in and out or my voice sounded weird like robotic or something.
I received the second phone in about 2 to 3 days which I liked, except for having to text only till it arrived, only to have trouble hearing/understanding anyone I tried to talk to from family to friends to my boss. they claimed my voice sounded like a robot going across a washboard.
I liked the pics it took and texting was no problem, but for talking, I would not recommend this phone.
I only used this phone for about 2-3 months before it got so annoying that I decided to buy a different brand phone which I am very satisfied with.
Pros: texting and other features were ok
Cons: muffled speaker made it hard to hear/understand pe
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reef

Great phone for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
crabie
From:  Shawnee, OK
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this phone for about a month and I love it!!! The touch screen is easy to press and no lag. Every app I installed worked flawless.
The 3G is a little slow but works good also. The rear camera is only a 5mp but my photo's look real good, camera has a lot of features to get the job done. The front camera I have only used once but it look and worked good.
In all it is a great phone for the price, It is no Galaxy 5S but the Reef gets the job done.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reef

great phone, great deal

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jsar1
From:  temecula, ca.
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive had 7 androids now and theres nothing wrong with this one. I got mine on sale and for this price its a whole lotta phone.its every bit as fast and reliable as any of the phones i paid ten times what this one cost.same features as any running the same os.if the screen were bigger i couldnt see using anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reef

The concept of it is awesome

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Katawesome
From:  Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The phone was awesome when I first got it, I wanted it only because it was waterproof, I had never heard of the brand ZTE before buying my phone. I of course had to test it out by dunking it in water to verify it was in fact waterproof (my last phone had started on fire thanks to my 2 year old giving it a bath and it subsequently shorting out), nothing happened to it which was great. Although, about 5 months into owning it the video card must have gotten damaged since now I have 3 lines on the left side of my screen that run vertically, pink, yellow, and blue... they've progressively gotten worse but have not rendered my phone unusable. The biggest turn off of this phone is the lack of calibration to the touch screen.. I've had this problem with a few phones, but this phone period needs this feature. The screen has issues with dropping off and picking up the touches while I'm trying to use swipe so often times when I'm trying to write something like 'thank you' it comes out as 'the ant kill you' or 'sometimes' turns into 'so me to me' That honestly is the biggest annoyance I have with the phone. The plastic piece that covers where the phone plug in is was really rigid plastic as well, which may have helped it be waterproof but after a few months it snapped off due to normal wear and tear of plugging it in every night, so now the phone is no longer waterproof. All in all, I like the idea of it, they had a good execution of the idea, but they used poor quality hardware which caused the phone to not live up to expectations. On a complete side note, the camera on this phone is really poor as well, the picture quality is ok if everyone stays completely still, but it takes forever for the camera to capture the picture so even with the 5mp the pictures often come out blurry due to movement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234next>>