Customer Reviews for Reef

Reef

Finally, a smartphone that's not afraid to party poolside. Reef, Virgin Mobile's first waterproof* device, features a 4-inch touchscreen and a 5MP camera with HD video, letting you capture those cannonballs up close.
Average Customer Rating:
3.217 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
13
27 out of 4560%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Reef
Review 1 for Reef

It's OK, good phone for the price

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
UNSatisfiedCustomer2
From:  San Diego
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone about 6 months and it's always done pretty good, untill now. Battery life is on par with other phones I've had. Not too sure I trust the "Waterproof**" feature. Got it slightly wet a couple times and it did strange things for a couple days after. The problem with the phone now is when placing a call the screen goes completely blank, I am unable to hang up or press numbered options when calling a business or something like that. Unless someone answers and they hang up, the phone is left ringing and ringing or leaving long voicemails. Have to pull the battery to end the call
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reef

AWESOME PHONE!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
luv2befit
From:  Rochester, NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I finally upgraded from the HTC One V since the phone was getting really slow and sluggish and I couldn't have many apps on it before it would slow down even more. This phone is amazing. I have never had a ZTE phone before but I would purchase another one. The phone calls are very clear, game play is excellent without any lag, tons of internal storage, and honestly I was surprised how good the music sounds on the phone through a nice pair of earbuds. The bass is very good and even the highs sound nice. I am even hearing some things in songs I have never heard before. The battery does die kind of fast but I do play games and listen to a lot of music. When Wi Fi the battery can last MUCH longer. ON 3G it does go through the battery pretty fast. The front facing camera takes nice pictures in the light and the back camera takes super nice pictures. I am very impressed with the quality of the pictures so far. And of course the phone is waterproof. The price is excellent for what you get. I highly recommend it!
Pros: camera music player game playing, phone calls text messaging no lag
Cons: battery life could be a little better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reef

Not a bad smartphone for the price

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From:  Gloversville, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this phone for my girlfriend last winter and I must say based on the times I've used it, its not that bad. Yeah its on the lower end of phone technology. I like the design of the phone and the camera isn't that bad. If you are looking to save some money and experience all the features of a smartphone user I recommend this phone for you. Worth it.
Pros: price, design, camera isnt bad
Cons: kinda slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reef

A great Temptation

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SriPhi
From:  N ID
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got the phone today. Let me be clear, I'm a bit of a Luddite and technophobe. But the ease of setting up this phone was quite pleasing. I've purchased the Chaser and Event for myself and family members as gifts to be used as mp3 players and mini-tablets operating off of our home wifi router. I'm still fighting with the Chaser with its' freezing, locking-up, etc. But putting mp3 music from PC is easy. So long as you make sure the mode is mp3 and not WAV, WMP, etc.
?Temptation, you say? This is the first smart phone which tempts me to go from a VERY old pay-as-you-go VM plan and possibly change to a Beyond Talk plan. But since my cell phone is for emergencies, and voice only at that, having to admit to this temptation is pretty serious.
As to the complaints about battery life. If I leave wifi "on" on my Kindle Fire, it drains the battery really fast. So I would say the problem isn't the device or the battery, it's an across-the-board issue with any wifi capable device.
When I get a dependable monthly income, I may just go for Beyond Talk. And maybe I'll learn to text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reef

This Phone is not worth anyone time or money

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
deeman213
From:  Michigan
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I literary have had this phone for 2 days and the call speaker has already Stopped working, none of my basic apps open such as Facebook, Instagram and sometimes even the messaging app will not open. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!
Cons: apps crash, poor hardware, bad all around
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reef

the Best phone ever!!!

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
shelbychick
From:  vero beacb fl
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this phone its perfect for someone that uses facebook instagram etc.and the battery life could be better. But i love this phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reef

This phone should not be sold.

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
UT2014
From:  Utah
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The ZTE Reef was a good purchase at first but after getting it I had various problems. First, the messages would not show up on my phone, It was hit or miss. After many phone calls to customer service and two replacement phones later I am able to receive messages. But the major problem is the phone restarts itself when I try to make a phone call. The issue is happening everyday. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. ITS NOT WORTH IT.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: phone restarts itself
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reef

This product (REEF) is not worth buying

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
JMCM
From:  Everett, Wa
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have only had the Reef phone for about 2-3months. The first day I bought the phone it had speaker issues. The person I was calling sounded muffled and I sounded to them like a high pitch noise on top of me talking.
When trying to get into an app on the Reef phone it wont let me get in it will just take me back to the home page on the phone. Sometimes I can be on a call and it will end the call during my call which is very annoying. The previous phone I had worked great I had it for about 2 years and seen the Reef with features stating it can handle being submerged in 3ft of water for a short time which prompted me to buy it also it was not expensive- I have never dropped it nor placed it by water and again the first day I bought it I felt like I bought a refurbished phone- I have never been so annoyed using a cell phone like I am now. I rate this product very poor, if there was an option to give 0 Star that would be the rating I give. There is NOTHING GREAT about this phone (REEF). Other than this I love the $55. unlimited talk text and web and have been a customer with Virgin Mobile for over 2 years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reef

Average features

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
bbqguru
Age: 35-44
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone features are just average. It does has a waterproof option, but there is a open port for the ear plugs so how can it be waterproof. The phone pixelates a lot between screens, and the wifi and three isn't constant
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reef

Good phone, but lacking in battery life!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SheepZombie
From:  Mechanicsville, VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall, this phone has been pretty good. Great features, it's waterproof and I am overall satisfied with my current phone. My calls are clear, my texts never mess up, and I enjoy the wide range of ease I have with the touch screen. Only two things I dislike about it is the poor battery life and the fact that sometimes I can't seem to access wifi very easily in some places. Otherwise, it's a good ol' phone.
Pros: waterproof, ease of use
Cons: battery life, wifi connectivity
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reef

good buy for the price

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
dave8888888
From:  ct
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can't complain about the phone, its easy to use and is over all a pretty good phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reef

P i s s poor product

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
VictorV
From:  Norfolk, VA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone all of 4 days before I took it back. The screen would get REALLY bright and then fade out. The phone shut itself off in the middle of calls. Completely powered itself down as if the battery were dead. The first time, the battery was around 78%. The second time, the phone was fully charged. Last time it did that it was on the charger. Apps wouldn't load correctly and half the time when they did load, part of the screen would be a big black box. All in all, I would say that it was the worst phone I have ever bought and I would recommend any other phone, even the cheaper ones, to this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reef

Great Phone!

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
werunaway123
From:  York,Pa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the fact it's water proof. I've had this phone for about 4 months and haven't had any issues with it.I think the camera is really good. i like taking close up pictures of flowers and other landscape shots. Sometimes I'm use my phone camera over my normal digital camera. I really enjoy this phone.
Pros: water proof, camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reef

Ehh ok

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Diiva03
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's an awsome phone for a first phone but for me i got bored of it sometimes it turns off on me out of a sudden, camara not so good , dont really have alot of fatures in it. other than that it's an ok phone
Pros: water proof
Cons: camera, features
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reef

This phone never did me wrong

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
killian
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had this phone for 6 months worked great never had any major issues except the 'water proof' includes the phone but not the speaker. so don't get water in your speaker. The only other problem I had was it ALWAYS asked me if I wanted to update it. NO I do not want to or ever want the update and it asked like twice a day every day in the middle of my doing stuff. You couldn't disable it.In past experiences (every phone i have even owned ever) updates like that make the phone work worse... But overall better than most of the other virgin mobile phones I have purchased in the past. Phone eventually died because I doped it and it got ran over by a car :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reef

the phone is a good buy for the money,

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mikester
From:  chappaqua, new york
Age: 55-64
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the phone is surely worth the money, it has more functions than the manul explains, you just have to fiddle with it for a wile.with the right apps(which you apply) it"s a great phone".
Pros: ease of use once you get use to it
Cons: havent found any faults(yet)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reef

good phone

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
revia67
From:  orange, Texas
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone is really easy to use and the apps are good, it has great features.........
Pros: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reef

Best phone ive had

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
91114
From:  Des moines iowa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Since I have had an account with virgin mobile thE Reef is the best phone Ive had. It has great battery life. I take it off charger at 730 every morning and it doesn't need charged until abt 8pm. When I first got the phone it use to power off on its own but know it is great. I can do everything on my phone that I need compared to my friends that have different carriers. I work in a daycare so water is always a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reef

DONT GET THIS PHONE!!!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
momoffour
From:  butler,in
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone I have ever owned the battery doesn't last. This phone freezes all the time. It is very slow.
One good thing it has held up to my one year olds abuse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reef

Terrible

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dontlikereef
From:  Florida
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I drive a motorcycle and figured this would be a good phone. Wrong.
The internet is slow as all can be. Can never watch a 2 minute clip on youtube without it stop to buffer. People can not hear me on this phone, I can hear them, but they cant hear me. My biggest issue with this is the battery life. I really don't use my phone that much and my battery dies even with all the apps close. Its like 2 hours of no use and you have 30% left on your battery. REALLY. Oh I also get no signal anywhere. My old VM pay lo phone was awesome, just no good features. Wanted a upgrade and this is just terrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123next>>