Customer Reviews for Reef

Reef

Finally, a smartphone that's not afraid to party poolside. Reef, Virgin Mobile's first waterproof* device, features a 4-inch touchscreen and a 5MP camera with HD video, letting you capture those cannonballs up close.
Average Customer Rating:
3.218 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
14
31 out of 5358%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Reef
Review 1 for Reef

Terrible Sound

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
WonderWoman
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone in anticipation that it would be better than my old phone, but it is not...its worse.
When taking phone calls it is very hard to hear anything the other person is saying, sometimes its muffled or you cant hear them at all.
The speakers are awful, they are so quiet you cant hear anything unless you have headphones in.
I tried recording something and it is so muffled, it was worthless to even keep.
I think the reason for this is that their is a waterproof covering over them, so it makes the sound crackle/muffled.
Otherwise, the camera is great.
Pros: nice camera
Cons: sound muffled, cant hear anything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reef

Good phone

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jihadm13
From:  Indianapolis, IN
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommed this product to anyone. It freezes up sometimes but it is a very good phone. I like the camera, quality and how ti functions. The only thing i don't like about it is that with the camcorder, when you stop the video, it will stay on the video for a minute. That is the only thing that effects my opinion about this phone. overall, this phone is great!
Pros: good and bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reef

Good phone. I like it.

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cat89
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So I ended up testing out the water proof-ness of this phone the first day I got it- which I find rather amusing. I was on the phone while doing this dishes and I dropped it into the water filled sink and about had a heart attack.
But when I pulled the phone out of the water my girlfriend was still on the phone and my phone was still working properly. I even checked it fully when I was off the phone and everything seemed to be in order and it's been working great ever since.
For the first time since my Kyocera flip phone I'm fully happy with the phone I have from Virgin Mobile. I am having a few minor issues with my power button but that's the first issue I've had with my phone since I got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reef

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DisgruntledStargazer
From:  OH
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year now and it's been great. If you're looking for the fastest, nicest smartphone out there then this isn't for you. If you're looking for smartphone features for a significantly-less-than-smartphone price then look no further. I don't have trouble with freeze ups or battery life. I did recently run out of space and had to purchase an SD card, but that's understandable. I've never tested the water resistance so I can"t speak to that. I get compliments on my photos all the time, the camera is great! The only thing about it that I've never really cared for is the call quality, sometimes it sounds okay and other times everyone sounds like a robot. That's not a deal breaker for me though because I don't make a lot of long calls and I don't mind robots. All around good quality phone.
Pros: price, features, camera
Cons: call quality
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reef

sound quality lousy with whatever they do to waterproof it.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Trucker
From:  northern indiana
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted to upgrade to a phone with more features and since I drive a truck for a living, I thought I'd be safe with the reef since i'm out in rain and snow and might possibly get the phone wet somehow.
I probably should have gotten the awe instead because whatever they do to it to make it waterproof covers or muffles the mic and speaker to make it difficult for people to understand you or for you to understand your contact. the first phone I received had a problem with the mic where nobody (I tried several people) could understand me because it either cut in and out or my voice sounded weird like robotic or something.
I received the second phone in about 2 to 3 days which I liked, except for having to text only till it arrived, only to have trouble hearing/understanding anyone I tried to talk to from family to friends to my boss. they claimed my voice sounded like a robot going across a washboard.
I liked the pics it took and texting was no problem, but for talking, I would not recommend this phone.
I only used this phone for about 2-3 months before it got so annoying that I decided to buy a different brand phone which I am very satisfied with.
Pros: texting and other features were ok
Cons: muffled speaker made it hard to hear/understand pe
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reef

Great phone for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
crabie
From:  Shawnee, OK
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this phone for about a month and I love it!!! The touch screen is easy to press and no lag. Every app I installed worked flawless.
The 3G is a little slow but works good also. The rear camera is only a 5mp but my photo's look real good, camera has a lot of features to get the job done. The front camera I have only used once but it look and worked good.
In all it is a great phone for the price, It is no Galaxy 5S but the Reef gets the job done.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reef

great phone, great deal

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jsar1
From:  temecula, ca.
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive had 7 androids now and theres nothing wrong with this one. I got mine on sale and for this price its a whole lotta phone.its every bit as fast and reliable as any of the phones i paid ten times what this one cost.same features as any running the same os.if the screen were bigger i couldnt see using anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reef

The concept of it is awesome

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Katawesome
From:  Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The phone was awesome when I first got it, I wanted it only because it was waterproof, I had never heard of the brand ZTE before buying my phone. I of course had to test it out by dunking it in water to verify it was in fact waterproof (my last phone had started on fire thanks to my 2 year old giving it a bath and it subsequently shorting out), nothing happened to it which was great. Although, about 5 months into owning it the video card must have gotten damaged since now I have 3 lines on the left side of my screen that run vertically, pink, yellow, and blue... they've progressively gotten worse but have not rendered my phone unusable. The biggest turn off of this phone is the lack of calibration to the touch screen.. I've had this problem with a few phones, but this phone period needs this feature. The screen has issues with dropping off and picking up the touches while I'm trying to use swipe so often times when I'm trying to write something like 'thank you' it comes out as 'the ant kill you' or 'sometimes' turns into 'so me to me' That honestly is the biggest annoyance I have with the phone. The plastic piece that covers where the phone plug in is was really rigid plastic as well, which may have helped it be waterproof but after a few months it snapped off due to normal wear and tear of plugging it in every night, so now the phone is no longer waterproof. All in all, I like the idea of it, they had a good execution of the idea, but they used poor quality hardware which caused the phone to not live up to expectations. On a complete side note, the camera on this phone is really poor as well, the picture quality is ok if everyone stays completely still, but it takes forever for the camera to capture the picture so even with the 5mp the pictures often come out blurry due to movement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reef

horrible

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
keythequeen
From:  Fayetteville ark
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fell in a puddle and now I cant use my screen I want my money back!!!!
Cons: a
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
3of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reef

It's OK, good phone for the price

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
UNSatisfiedCustomer2
From:  San Diego
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone about 6 months and it's always done pretty good, untill now. Battery life is on par with other phones I've had. Not too sure I trust the "Waterproof**" feature. Got it slightly wet a couple times and it did strange things for a couple days after. The problem with the phone now is when placing a call the screen goes completely blank, I am unable to hang up or press numbered options when calling a business or something like that. Unless someone answers and they hang up, the phone is left ringing and ringing or leaving long voicemails. Have to pull the battery to end the call
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reef

AWESOME PHONE!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
luv2befit
From:  Rochester, NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I finally upgraded from the HTC One V since the phone was getting really slow and sluggish and I couldn't have many apps on it before it would slow down even more. This phone is amazing. I have never had a ZTE phone before but I would purchase another one. The phone calls are very clear, game play is excellent without any lag, tons of internal storage, and honestly I was surprised how good the music sounds on the phone through a nice pair of earbuds. The bass is very good and even the highs sound nice. I am even hearing some things in songs I have never heard before. The battery does die kind of fast but I do play games and listen to a lot of music. When Wi Fi the battery can last MUCH longer. ON 3G it does go through the battery pretty fast. The front facing camera takes nice pictures in the light and the back camera takes super nice pictures. I am very impressed with the quality of the pictures so far. And of course the phone is waterproof. The price is excellent for what you get. I highly recommend it!
Pros: camera music player game playing, phone calls text messaging no lag
Cons: battery life could be a little better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reef

Not a bad smartphone for the price

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From:  Gloversville, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this phone for my girlfriend last winter and I must say based on the times I've used it, its not that bad. Yeah its on the lower end of phone technology. I like the design of the phone and the camera isn't that bad. If you are looking to save some money and experience all the features of a smartphone user I recommend this phone for you. Worth it.
Pros: price, design, camera isnt bad
Cons: kinda slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reef

A great Temptation

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SriPhi
From:  N ID
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got the phone today. Let me be clear, I'm a bit of a Luddite and technophobe. But the ease of setting up this phone was quite pleasing. I've purchased the Chaser and Event for myself and family members as gifts to be used as mp3 players and mini-tablets operating off of our home wifi router. I'm still fighting with the Chaser with its' freezing, locking-up, etc. But putting mp3 music from PC is easy. So long as you make sure the mode is mp3 and not WAV, WMP, etc.
?Temptation, you say? This is the first smart phone which tempts me to go from a VERY old pay-as-you-go VM plan and possibly change to a Beyond Talk plan. But since my cell phone is for emergencies, and voice only at that, having to admit to this temptation is pretty serious.
As to the complaints about battery life. If I leave wifi "on" on my Kindle Fire, it drains the battery really fast. So I would say the problem isn't the device or the battery, it's an across-the-board issue with any wifi capable device.
When I get a dependable monthly income, I may just go for Beyond Talk. And maybe I'll learn to text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reef

This Phone is not worth anyone time or money

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
deeman213
From:  Michigan
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I literary have had this phone for 2 days and the call speaker has already Stopped working, none of my basic apps open such as Facebook, Instagram and sometimes even the messaging app will not open. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!
Cons: apps crash, poor hardware, bad all around
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reef

the Best phone ever!!!

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
shelbychick
From:  vero beacb fl
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this phone its perfect for someone that uses facebook instagram etc.and the battery life could be better. But i love this phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reef

This phone should not be sold.

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
UT2014
From:  Utah
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The ZTE Reef was a good purchase at first but after getting it I had various problems. First, the messages would not show up on my phone, It was hit or miss. After many phone calls to customer service and two replacement phones later I am able to receive messages. But the major problem is the phone restarts itself when I try to make a phone call. The issue is happening everyday. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. ITS NOT WORTH IT.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: phone restarts itself
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reef

This product (REEF) is not worth buying

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
JMCM
From:  Everett, Wa
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have only had the Reef phone for about 2-3months. The first day I bought the phone it had speaker issues. The person I was calling sounded muffled and I sounded to them like a high pitch noise on top of me talking.
When trying to get into an app on the Reef phone it wont let me get in it will just take me back to the home page on the phone. Sometimes I can be on a call and it will end the call during my call which is very annoying. The previous phone I had worked great I had it for about 2 years and seen the Reef with features stating it can handle being submerged in 3ft of water for a short time which prompted me to buy it also it was not expensive- I have never dropped it nor placed it by water and again the first day I bought it I felt like I bought a refurbished phone- I have never been so annoyed using a cell phone like I am now. I rate this product very poor, if there was an option to give 0 Star that would be the rating I give. There is NOTHING GREAT about this phone (REEF). Other than this I love the $55. unlimited talk text and web and have been a customer with Virgin Mobile for over 2 years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reef

Average features

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
bbqguru
Age: 35-44
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone features are just average. It does has a waterproof option, but there is a open port for the ear plugs so how can it be waterproof. The phone pixelates a lot between screens, and the wifi and three isn't constant
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reef

Good phone, but lacking in battery life!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SheepZombie
From:  Mechanicsville, VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall, this phone has been pretty good. Great features, it's waterproof and I am overall satisfied with my current phone. My calls are clear, my texts never mess up, and I enjoy the wide range of ease I have with the touch screen. Only two things I dislike about it is the poor battery life and the fact that sometimes I can't seem to access wifi very easily in some places. Otherwise, it's a good ol' phone.
Pros: waterproof, ease of use
Cons: battery life, wifi connectivity
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reef

good buy for the price

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
dave8888888
From:  ct
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can't complain about the phone, its easy to use and is over all a pretty good phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123next>>