Customer Reviews for Reef

Reef

Finally, a smartphone that's not afraid to party poolside. Reef, Virgin Mobile's first waterproof* device, features a 4-inch touchscreen and a 5MP camera with HD video, letting you capture those cannonballs up close.
Average Customer Rating:
3.113 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
18
33 out of 6055%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Reef
Review 1 for Reef

dont get it, randomly blacked out forever. worked 3 months

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MattThor
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stopped working and screen one day never turned back on, for no reason
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reef

MOVIES PLAYBACK GREAT ON THIS PHONE

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
manster
From:  upstate ny
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Video looks great on this phone but apps open very slow make it seem like forever to do anything on it. The phone sometimes has to be shut down or restarted to reset it. Camera takes ok photos but only in really bright light. And although it has a flash, you have to remain perfectly still to get one that isn't blurred. Battery is incredibly short on a full charge even with data turned off. Comes loaded with too many apps that I don't use and don't know how to get rid of. The orientation of some of the keys like the space button being right over the home button causes the screen to back to home while texting sometimes erasing all the text. I thought the phone would grow on me but never did.
Pros: video quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reef

Never again

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Beverly
From:  Kansas City, MO
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone about a year-started out great but lately it has totally failed me time and time again. Like the others my phone shuts off whenever it feels like even with a full battery charge. Have had the battery charge overnight to wake up to find out it did not charge. The phone freezes alot lately! only way to cure it is to take the battery out. I am done with this phone and will be looking for another phone. I may end up changing from VM which is sad because I have been with VM for over 10 years!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reef

Poor Speaker and Camera Quality

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
CJaneWinn
From:  Midwest
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this phone thinking it would be a good thing to have a waterproof phone. No idea whether the waterproofing works, but the rest of the phone is just so poor quality, after a year I'm done trying to hear callers...everything sounds muffled or robotic.
The camera isn't great at all, photos come out blurry or grainy. It's a fluke if I ever get a fair quality shot.
The price was right when I needed a phone, but after having suffered through using this one I wouldn't take a Reef if they were giving them away for free. Run, don't walk, away from this phone!
Cons: speaker, mic, camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nooooo
MN
 
Please wait while more information about Nooooo is loaded.
Additional information about Nooooo could not be loaded.
Dont buy it. Waste of money
Posted January 19, 2015
I've been with this phone company for about 5 years and when I first started the phones lasted me a solid year. The past three phones I've had haven't lasted me more than a few months. This phone was fine. It froze every once in a while and it was durable but out of no where it starts shutting off and on. this has happened to almost every single one of my cell phones. I don't think anybody should waste their money on this product.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Reef

Sweet phone!!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
R33f
From:  WA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first smart phone,and I think it's awsome.no serious problems other than freezing sometimes,but other than that you should get it :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reef

No problem with this one

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
OVS2014
From:  MI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got it as a temporary phone 4 month ago, but I never had a problems with it restarting or freeze on me so far. I will recommend it
Pros: no freezing/restasrting problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reef

Everything runs slow and the screen is glitchy.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The screen flickers, the previous screen bleeds through and vertical lines showed up. All programs and apps run slow and frequently freeze. Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SriPhi
N ID
 
Please wait while more information about SriPhi is loaded.
Additional information about SriPhi could not be loaded.
Probs with Reef
Posted January 2, 2015
Looks like you got a defective product. You might return it to VM for replacement. Don't know if you tried that, or if it's to late at this point.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Reef

Terrible Sound

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
WonderWoman
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone in anticipation that it would be better than my old phone, but it is not...its worse.
When taking phone calls it is very hard to hear anything the other person is saying, sometimes its muffled or you cant hear them at all.
The speakers are awful, they are so quiet you cant hear anything unless you have headphones in.
I tried recording something and it is so muffled, it was worthless to even keep.
I think the reason for this is that their is a waterproof covering over them, so it makes the sound crackle/muffled.
Otherwise, the camera is great.
Pros: nice camera
Cons: sound muffled, cant hear anything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reef

Good phone

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jihadm13
From:  Indianapolis, IN
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommed this product to anyone. It freezes up sometimes but it is a very good phone. I like the camera, quality and how ti functions. The only thing i don't like about it is that with the camcorder, when you stop the video, it will stay on the video for a minute. That is the only thing that effects my opinion about this phone. overall, this phone is great!
Pros: good and bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reef

Good phone. I like it.

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cat89
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So I ended up testing out the water proof-ness of this phone the first day I got it- which I find rather amusing. I was on the phone while doing this dishes and I dropped it into the water filled sink and about had a heart attack.
But when I pulled the phone out of the water my girlfriend was still on the phone and my phone was still working properly. I even checked it fully when I was off the phone and everything seemed to be in order and it's been working great ever since.
For the first time since my Kyocera flip phone I'm fully happy with the phone I have from Virgin Mobile. I am having a few minor issues with my power button but that's the first issue I've had with my phone since I got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reef

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DisgruntledStargazer
From:  OH
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year now and it's been great. If you're looking for the fastest, nicest smartphone out there then this isn't for you. If you're looking for smartphone features for a significantly-less-than-smartphone price then look no further. I don't have trouble with freeze ups or battery life. I did recently run out of space and had to purchase an SD card, but that's understandable. I've never tested the water resistance so I can"t speak to that. I get compliments on my photos all the time, the camera is great! The only thing about it that I've never really cared for is the call quality, sometimes it sounds okay and other times everyone sounds like a robot. That's not a deal breaker for me though because I don't make a lot of long calls and I don't mind robots. All around good quality phone.
Pros: price, features, camera
Cons: call quality
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reef

sound quality lousy with whatever they do to waterproof it.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Trucker
From:  northern indiana
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted to upgrade to a phone with more features and since I drive a truck for a living, I thought I'd be safe with the reef since i'm out in rain and snow and might possibly get the phone wet somehow.
I probably should have gotten the awe instead because whatever they do to it to make it waterproof covers or muffles the mic and speaker to make it difficult for people to understand you or for you to understand your contact. the first phone I received had a problem with the mic where nobody (I tried several people) could understand me because it either cut in and out or my voice sounded weird like robotic or something.
I received the second phone in about 2 to 3 days which I liked, except for having to text only till it arrived, only to have trouble hearing/understanding anyone I tried to talk to from family to friends to my boss. they claimed my voice sounded like a robot going across a washboard.
I liked the pics it took and texting was no problem, but for talking, I would not recommend this phone.
I only used this phone for about 2-3 months before it got so annoying that I decided to buy a different brand phone which I am very satisfied with.
Pros: texting and other features were ok
Cons: muffled speaker made it hard to hear/understand pe
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reef

Great phone for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
crabie
From:  Shawnee, OK
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this phone for about a month and I love it!!! The touch screen is easy to press and no lag. Every app I installed worked flawless.
The 3G is a little slow but works good also. The rear camera is only a 5mp but my photo's look real good, camera has a lot of features to get the job done. The front camera I have only used once but it look and worked good.
In all it is a great phone for the price, It is no Galaxy 5S but the Reef gets the job done.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reef

great phone, great deal

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jsar1
From:  temecula, ca.
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive had 7 androids now and theres nothing wrong with this one. I got mine on sale and for this price its a whole lotta phone.its every bit as fast and reliable as any of the phones i paid ten times what this one cost.same features as any running the same os.if the screen were bigger i couldnt see using anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reef

The concept of it is awesome

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Katawesome
From:  Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The phone was awesome when I first got it, I wanted it only because it was waterproof, I had never heard of the brand ZTE before buying my phone. I of course had to test it out by dunking it in water to verify it was in fact waterproof (my last phone had started on fire thanks to my 2 year old giving it a bath and it subsequently shorting out), nothing happened to it which was great. Although, about 5 months into owning it the video card must have gotten damaged since now I have 3 lines on the left side of my screen that run vertically, pink, yellow, and blue... they've progressively gotten worse but have not rendered my phone unusable. The biggest turn off of this phone is the lack of calibration to the touch screen.. I've had this problem with a few phones, but this phone period needs this feature. The screen has issues with dropping off and picking up the touches while I'm trying to use swipe so often times when I'm trying to write something like 'thank you' it comes out as 'the ant kill you' or 'sometimes' turns into 'so me to me' That honestly is the biggest annoyance I have with the phone. The plastic piece that covers where the phone plug in is was really rigid plastic as well, which may have helped it be waterproof but after a few months it snapped off due to normal wear and tear of plugging it in every night, so now the phone is no longer waterproof. All in all, I like the idea of it, they had a good execution of the idea, but they used poor quality hardware which caused the phone to not live up to expectations. On a complete side note, the camera on this phone is really poor as well, the picture quality is ok if everyone stays completely still, but it takes forever for the camera to capture the picture so even with the 5mp the pictures often come out blurry due to movement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reef

horrible

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
keythequeen
From:  Fayetteville ark
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fell in a puddle and now I cant use my screen I want my money back!!!!
Cons: a
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
3of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reef

It's OK, good phone for the price

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
UNSatisfiedCustomer2
From:  San Diego
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone about 6 months and it's always done pretty good, untill now. Battery life is on par with other phones I've had. Not too sure I trust the "Waterproof**" feature. Got it slightly wet a couple times and it did strange things for a couple days after. The problem with the phone now is when placing a call the screen goes completely blank, I am unable to hang up or press numbered options when calling a business or something like that. Unless someone answers and they hang up, the phone is left ringing and ringing or leaving long voicemails. Have to pull the battery to end the call
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reef

AWESOME PHONE!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
luv2befit
From:  Rochester, NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I finally upgraded from the HTC One V since the phone was getting really slow and sluggish and I couldn't have many apps on it before it would slow down even more. This phone is amazing. I have never had a ZTE phone before but I would purchase another one. The phone calls are very clear, game play is excellent without any lag, tons of internal storage, and honestly I was surprised how good the music sounds on the phone through a nice pair of earbuds. The bass is very good and even the highs sound nice. I am even hearing some things in songs I have never heard before. The battery does die kind of fast but I do play games and listen to a lot of music. When Wi Fi the battery can last MUCH longer. ON 3G it does go through the battery pretty fast. The front facing camera takes nice pictures in the light and the back camera takes super nice pictures. I am very impressed with the quality of the pictures so far. And of course the phone is waterproof. The price is excellent for what you get. I highly recommend it!
Pros: camera music player game playing, phone calls text messaging no lag
Cons: battery life could be a little better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reef

Not a bad smartphone for the price

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From:  Gloversville, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this phone for my girlfriend last winter and I must say based on the times I've used it, its not that bad. Yeah its on the lower end of phone technology. I like the design of the phone and the camera isn't that bad. If you are looking to save some money and experience all the features of a smartphone user I recommend this phone for you. Worth it.
Pros: price, design, camera isnt bad
Cons: kinda slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reef

A great Temptation

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SriPhi
From:  N ID
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got the phone today. Let me be clear, I'm a bit of a Luddite and technophobe. But the ease of setting up this phone was quite pleasing. I've purchased the Chaser and Event for myself and family members as gifts to be used as mp3 players and mini-tablets operating off of our home wifi router. I'm still fighting with the Chaser with its' freezing, locking-up, etc. But putting mp3 music from PC is easy. So long as you make sure the mode is mp3 and not WAV, WMP, etc.
?Temptation, you say? This is the first smart phone which tempts me to go from a VERY old pay-as-you-go VM plan and possibly change to a Beyond Talk plan. But since my cell phone is for emergencies, and voice only at that, having to admit to this temptation is pretty serious.
As to the complaints about battery life. If I leave wifi "on" on my Kindle Fire, it drains the battery really fast. So I would say the problem isn't the device or the battery, it's an across-the-board issue with any wifi capable device.
When I get a dependable monthly income, I may just go for Beyond Talk. And maybe I'll learn to text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234next>>