Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.792 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(313 Reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 313 reviews
5 stars
145
4 stars
75
3 stars
24
2 stars
21
1 star
48
223 out of 29975%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Meg1988
From:  Staunton va
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I switched from iPhone 5 too this phone. It's better than iPhone I love the service I get and u can do alot on this phone. The battery last a long time for me. Calling on this phone is clear. I can text easy on this phone. I'm staying with droid for now on. Also virgin mobile customer service is very nice when u need there help. It's the best phone service I have ever had. And I don't get droped calls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Good starter phone

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MathNerd
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a good phone to get started on. If you are looking for something small and easy to use, this phone will be perfect for you. Although the battery does not last very long if you are using it. I normally carry the charger with me just in case the battery is getting low. There have been times when the phone is slow or freezes up, but it has happened maybe 5 times. The speaker for the phone is not the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Terrible

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gozer
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Terrible, with a capital "T". Thee worst phone I have ever owned. I can't believe I paid for this. I would take my nokia from 2002 over this piece of junk. First off, It crashes a lot, at least twice a day. It's slow, and not easy to use, basic functions are hidden 4 menu's deep. The battery is ok, maybe a day and a half, if you kill every app after use, and only use it a couple times. I never expected this low quality out of ZTE. I bought the "valet" as a track phone 3 years ago and loved it. But I think they have sold out as a cheaper product. Sad. I won't be buying their products again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Too Touch Sensitive

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
NotinAwe
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This would be a great phone but it's not due to the fact that it constantly flies to the bottom of the page when you begin to scroll down. If you look at the info the manufacturer puts out you can see they aim to have a responsive screen, but this version of their technology has just been wasting a lot of my time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great for a beginner smartphone

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Atalung
From:  Kansas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this in March of 2014 as my first smartphone ever (mind you that does influence my review). I honestly treated it pretty badly (no case, dropped it many times on campus) and it lasted over a year until a problem arose. This problem related the charger port on the phone needing to be held in a certain position for hours to charge barely any, and given the cost and the amount of time I used it, it did its job and did it well, would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

1 OK & 1 with problems

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
2users
From:  West Salem, WI
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We ordered 2 of these phones. One of them worked just fine. The other one had problems shutting down and restarting at odd times. Happened many times. Virgin replaced. Replacement works fine. Not a 'speedy' phone but works fine for a basic smart phone - 1 year of use so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Good deal

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Customer626
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
needed many updates when I purchased IT. but after the updates WEre installed, it has been dependable for a year and a half. Switched from HTC One V to this one. Great deal for the price!
Pros: dependable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not too shabby

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Doofenshmirtz
From:  Idaho
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone for my birthday. Within a month I had to get a replacement because there was some software problems so it froze and couldn't be fixed. Virgin Mobile replaced it without any problems. It has lasted me about a year with out too many problems. A few small ones here and there. But now the charging port wont work unless the cord is held in a specific spot, and its only getting worse. Overall, it has served me well but I think its time for an upgrade.
Pros: battery screen quality
Cons: charging port storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pretty OK

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tluv
From:  Texas
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got this phone a year or two ago and it is still useful. Not the best but not horrible either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

This product was well worth the money

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CMD3112
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I first bought the phone it had mixed reviews, but I gave it a try. The first one froze up but Virgin Mobile replaced it no questions asked. I had no other problems until the charging port wore out but that came after about two years of plugging and unplugging. My only true complaint was the camera, it was awful no matter what you did to try and get a good picture. However I bought a phone to talk, text, and go online not take photos that's why I have a DSLR.
Pros: price, performance, storage/sd card, transfers apps to sd card, easy to use
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

It's a good phone for what it is!

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CellFiend
From:  Tampa, FL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for about a year and a half. It worked well and it functions nicely. Touchscreen response it good and its size is nice. After a year, something may have happened with the hardware (I may have been overworking it with the apps), so I had to call in for a replacement; however, even after that, I still enjoyed using the phone. I'm not one of those people who uses android phones for the extra specs and such, but for basic uses like social media, texting, etc. it's not bad. The only reason I switched to an iPhone was because I wanted to try apple. For the price that the AWE is, it's a decent phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kita
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The phone worked great when i first got it but after 3 months everything went down hill. the phone freezes up it cuts off, the touch stops working, the mouth piece (microphone ) works when it wants to along with with many other issues.
Pros: space on phone is okay
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Adding a SD card seems meaningless

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LupinThe8th
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Even I added SD card, only so many things can be moved to it. I can only place minimum apps. While SD card available capacity is 90%, I get insufficient internal memory error messages if I want to install another app or even update existing ones. As if the phone doesn't know there are plenty of storage if it can use SD card. Very disappointing.
Also, it shuts itself off for no reason sometimes. Or it crashes/restarts every time you try to open specific apps. It also stops working with Wifi even if there is strong signal and my other devices work fine. I have to turn off/on Wifi to make it work so often.
It doesn't really live up to a real "smart phone," but for the price I paid and as a basic phone, it's not too bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not bad at all!

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JMO80
From:  Saint Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is not bad for the price! I was thinking the worse but when it arrived it was pretty cool! The battery life is great...a lot better than I thought. I take my phone to work and don't need to bring my charger. It keeps a good charge all day! I'm happy with my purchase.
Pros: battery life, easy to use
Cons: kind of small
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brittani
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent phone for the price. Everything works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone for the money

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Talisen
From:  Augusta, Ga
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great phone. I've had it a little over a year and haven't had any problems with it. Storage is small but other than that no issues. Don't think i could've found a better phone for the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sarah811
From:  Lowell ma
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone works great. It does have limited storage but a 16 gig chip in it and I've had no problems its small and easy to use idk y ppl r having any complaints its great for its price
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

5 Year Customer Still Satisfied, Great Product!!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
penguinBB
From:  YORK,PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been with Virgin Mobile for 5 years and finally upgraded my phone!
First, this phone looks better in person! I like the look of the Awe, its thin, nice size screen, light wight, nice camera w/ flash and a front camera as well!! The battery life is nice, I can play games for hours before needing to charge. Setting up this phone was easy and I got to keep same number, best of all I didn't even have to talk to anyone, did it all online! I've text, talked, and used the internet and have had no problems. Takes a little getting used to but thats the fun part of a new phone.
I would rate 5 stars but I haven't had the phone long enough to do so.
Pros: camera/ flash, easy use, battery life
Cons: none at the moment
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Died after 17 months

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TigerShopper80
From:  Arlington, VA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I first purchased this product in October 2013. Initially, I was fairly happy with it. It could do most of the things that high end smart phones can do--take pictures, surf the web, download apps, play video games etc.--albeit a bit more slowly and without all of the bells and whistles. The price was of course hundreds less than the newest phones.
After roughly one year of moderate use (in comparison to other smart phone users) it started to slow down, however. I would have trouble opening some apps and the phone would occasionally freeze and need to be restarted.
Over time, things got worse and worse. I found that sometimes it would freeze, need to be restarted and take two or three minutes to boot up again. Finally, roughly one week ago, it froze permanently and I could no longer get it to start up.
This was my first smart phone and it was not that hard to use. But ultimately I got what I paid for. It simply does not have the durability of a top of the line phone.
Pros: price
Cons: durability, software, limited memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarah811
Lowell ma
 
Please wait while more information about Sarah811 is loaded.
Additional information about Sarah811 could not be loaded.
Really!?!?!?
Posted May 29, 2015
The phone was almost 2 years old phones only last so long I've had mine 2 years the same phone and not a problem with it your "moderate" use must have bin more then mine if my phone is still going and I've had more ne since April of 2013!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for the price

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Stlcollegekid
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this is a good phone. It has the capabilities of any smartphone. My only complaint is the lack of storage space. I've never had a problem with battery life or call quality.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...16next>>