Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.804 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(306 Reviews) 306
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 306 reviews
5 stars
144
4 stars
72
3 stars
23
2 stars
20
1 star
47
218 out of 29275%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not too shabby

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Doofenshmirtz
From:  Idaho
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone for my birthday. Within a month I had to get a replacement because there was some software problems so it froze and couldn't be fixed. Virgin Mobile replaced it without any problems. It has lasted me about a year with out too many problems. A few small ones here and there. But now the charging port wont work unless the cord is held in a specific spot, and its only getting worse. Overall, it has served me well but I think its time for an upgrade.
Pros: battery screen quality
Cons: charging port storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pretty OK

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tluv
From:  Texas
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got this phone a year or two ago and it is still useful. Not the best but not horrible either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

This product was well worth the money

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CMD3112
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I first bought the phone it had mixed reviews, but I gave it a try. The first one froze up but Virgin Mobile replaced it no questions asked. I had no other problems until the charging port wore out but that came after about two years of plugging and unplugging. My only true complaint was the camera, it was awful no matter what you did to try and get a good picture. However I bought a phone to talk, text, and go online not take photos that's why I have a DSLR.
Pros: price, performance, storage/sd card, transfers apps to sd card, easy to use
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

It's a good phone for what it is!

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CellFiend
From:  Tampa, FL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for about a year and a half. It worked well and it functions nicely. Touchscreen response it good and its size is nice. After a year, something may have happened with the hardware (I may have been overworking it with the apps), so I had to call in for a replacement; however, even after that, I still enjoyed using the phone. I'm not one of those people who uses android phones for the extra specs and such, but for basic uses like social media, texting, etc. it's not bad. The only reason I switched to an iPhone was because I wanted to try apple. For the price that the AWE is, it's a decent phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kita
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The phone worked great when i first got it but after 3 months everything went down hill. the phone freezes up it cuts off, the touch stops working, the mouth piece (microphone ) works when it wants to along with with many other issues.
Pros: space on phone is okay
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Adding a SD card seems meaningless

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LupinThe8th
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Even I added SD card, only so many things can be moved to it. I can only place minimum apps. While SD card available capacity is 90%, I get insufficient internal memory error messages if I want to install another app or even update existing ones. As if the phone doesn't know there are plenty of storage if it can use SD card. Very disappointing.
Also, it shuts itself off for no reason sometimes. Or it crashes/restarts every time you try to open specific apps. It also stops working with Wifi even if there is strong signal and my other devices work fine. I have to turn off/on Wifi to make it work so often.
It doesn't really live up to a real "smart phone," but for the price I paid and as a basic phone, it's not too bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not bad at all!

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JMO80
From:  Saint Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is not bad for the price! I was thinking the worse but when it arrived it was pretty cool! The battery life is great...a lot better than I thought. I take my phone to work and don't need to bring my charger. It keeps a good charge all day! I'm happy with my purchase.
Pros: battery life, easy to use
Cons: kind of small
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brittani
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent phone for the price. Everything works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone for the money

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Talisen
From:  Augusta, Ga
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great phone. I've had it a little over a year and haven't had any problems with it. Storage is small but other than that no issues. Don't think i could've found a better phone for the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sarah811
From:  Lowell ma
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone works great. It does have limited storage but a 16 gig chip in it and I've had no problems its small and easy to use idk y ppl r having any complaints its great for its price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

5 Year Customer Still Satisfied, Great Product!!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
penguinBB
From:  YORK,PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been with Virgin Mobile for 5 years and finally upgraded my phone!
First, this phone looks better in person! I like the look of the Awe, its thin, nice size screen, light wight, nice camera w/ flash and a front camera as well!! The battery life is nice, I can play games for hours before needing to charge. Setting up this phone was easy and I got to keep same number, best of all I didn't even have to talk to anyone, did it all online! I've text, talked, and used the internet and have had no problems. Takes a little getting used to but thats the fun part of a new phone.
I would rate 5 stars but I haven't had the phone long enough to do so.
Pros: camera/ flash, easy use, battery life
Cons: none at the moment
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Died after 17 months

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TigerShopper80
From:  Arlington, VA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I first purchased this product in October 2013. Initially, I was fairly happy with it. It could do most of the things that high end smart phones can do--take pictures, surf the web, download apps, play video games etc.--albeit a bit more slowly and without all of the bells and whistles. The price was of course hundreds less than the newest phones.
After roughly one year of moderate use (in comparison to other smart phone users) it started to slow down, however. I would have trouble opening some apps and the phone would occasionally freeze and need to be restarted.
Over time, things got worse and worse. I found that sometimes it would freeze, need to be restarted and take two or three minutes to boot up again. Finally, roughly one week ago, it froze permanently and I could no longer get it to start up.
This was my first smart phone and it was not that hard to use. But ultimately I got what I paid for. It simply does not have the durability of a top of the line phone.
Pros: price
Cons: durability, software, limited memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for the price

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Stlcollegekid
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this is a good phone. It has the capabilities of any smartphone. My only complaint is the lack of storage space. I've never had a problem with battery life or call quality.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

unhappy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
littlerat
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I well never buy this phone again I purchased it and have had five...yes five replacements.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Storage space is way too small

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
thisisboom
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have about 1 gb of storage on the phone, a bunch of my apps can't be moved to my sd card. I am constantly trying to clear space off the phone. It is extremely frustrating.
Cons: small storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for a great price

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tresdox
From:  Wisconsin
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for over a year and it continues to work great. my friends who have phones costing hundreds more are astonished at what my little "bargain" phone can do. If you need a phone and are on a tight budget this is a good option. I am retired and didn't think I needed to upgrade from my old virgin cyclops clamshell. But I wanted easier texting so I thought I would try a smart phone. Soon I was using the phone more than my laptop. You can text, get your email, get phone numbers, locations and maps by keyboard or voice commands and surf the web for instant info. It comes with Google maps and works like a navigation device plotting your course and speaking directions. The screen is not huge but it fits fine in my pocket and smaller hand. With the resolution set higher it works ok for casual picture taking. I'm Learning how to manage apps to prolong the battery charge. It has a glass screen so won't melt and get wavy like some other bargain phones. I added an 8G SD card for pics and downloads. Virgin markets to a younger crowd but has some gems like this for us seniors.
Pros: price, features, sturdy
Cons: few accessories available such as cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Well Worth the Price 3-Awe household

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
TripleAWEsome
From:  WV
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this phone for a little over one year. First bought one for my 14 year old daughter, then followed with purchases for my husband and myself. Our first smart phones and they are still going strong. My daughter and I managed to screw up the charging port, so we cannot plug into usb. Apparently after losing and or breaking our charge cords, we replaced with off-brand since they weren't available when we needed them in the Virgin Mobile site. Using the off brand...I believe, lead to not working at all. I fixed this with ebay, purchasing additional batteries and wall charges and it has done the trick.
Biggets wish***I wish the camera were better. My eyesight is not what it used to be, so I often take several shots and am lucky to find one that is worth keeping.
Definitely worth purchasing on a budget. No regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Disappointing

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
StrayKatOne
From:  Twin Cities
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Have you noticed how the longer someone has a phone, the lower the rating. Seems to be true of nearly all phones. Same with this one. Worked great at first. Then, as time goes by, something else stops working properly or at all. Am now unable to access email or messaging from home screen icons. A couple of apps I downloaded have never worked properly even after deleting and reloading.
Pros: not much
Cons: most everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

worth about $40 cheaper

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
underwhelmed
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Seriously, this phone has a ton of problems.
Touch interface unresponsive in areas, horrible storage capacity, terrible camera, laggy... the phone barely accomplishes what it advertises to do. Battery life does not even come close to 6 days on standby; you can barely go a day of typical use without it being drained.
Don't expect much when you buy this phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

not a brick

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jooniebear
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been a very good phone. Have had it for nearly a year. I added a SD card and as long as you delete stuff once you add it to your computer it's fine. Battery life is excellent, just have to turns off apps when your done. Overall it has been a good phone. I've been with Virgin Mobile for 15 years, have had probably 6 different phones, and liked them all.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: camera started out great but seems foggy now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...16next>>