Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.915 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(259 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 259 reviews
5 stars
133
4 stars
55
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
34
192 out of 24977%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

this is better than some 4g phones:-)

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bigbadBen
From:  ATL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is better than some 4 g phones..virginmobile is great and they really care about keeping customers.. i just got this phone and you should get it to..i didn't even know about the front facing camera until i took the phone out of the box..my two last phones were Kyocera..the rise phone did rise up with that slider full qwerty keyboard and was a great phone for me for about a year..the event phone was good for about a month.. this virginmobile zte awe phone feels like it could last five years:-) enough said..
happy thanksgiving
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not a well made phone

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
SuzyQinBuffalo
From:  Buffalo, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I loved the phone at first but I feel that it must not be made very well. I had to buy this phone twice, and it is now broken for the second time. The overall speed, battery life, storage space, camera, and other features seem to be about average and it was certainly an improvement from my last smart phone. That's why I chose to buy the phone again when my screen broke after a couple of months. I didn't drop the phone; it was in my hand when I opened a door so I must have squeezed it with my palm? I was confused because I didn't feel that I had put enough pressure on the phone for the entire screen to shatter but I chalked it up to my fault. Like I said, I was satisfied enough with the phone otherwise and it was a decent price so I bought it again. Within about 3 months the speaker broke and it sounded muffled and static-y. Everyone around me would jump and comment on how bad it sounded every time I received a call or text. I let it go, though, until this morning when the speaker finally gave out altogether. Like most people, I use my phone as an alarm clock so if there's no sound then the phone is fairly useless to me. Also, my phone is now randomly turning off. Even though the price has dropped, I won't bother buying this phone again. It broke twice over the course of 6 months; not a great value.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great features, but not a good phone

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rh14nn4h
From:  Savannah, GA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had a Kyocera Rise at first, but after 10 months I replaced it with this phone due to power button problems. After two months the Awe has basically shut itself down, refusing to load past the droid screen. Wasn't happy at the Rise being done within 10 months, but this one at 2 months has me extremely upset.
Cons: life of the phone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Awesome Phone

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
qdizzle
From:  Arizona
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone. I have had no problems with it. I can download my games, text, fb, instagram, and take tons of photos with it. I love the fact that i can also do anything online with it as well. Awesome phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Loved it

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
vmawe
From:  Tunkhannock, PA
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone was wonderful. The best phone i had. I had it for 5 months but sadly about a month ago the microphone stopped working so i can no longer talk to people on the phone. Im getting a new phone this weekend and might get the same one and hope the mic doesnt blow again.
Pros: everything basically
Cons: mic blew, battery doesnt last long when running on 3g
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great device, very useful...and money left over for food and mortgage.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LockheedHudson
From:  S.E. US
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Low cost, full of goodies. Expandable memory... When friends and family tell you they got a great deal on some gadget for 150 bucks a month for a 2 year contract, you can just smile and say "Wow, That's Great!"
Battery life improves markedly with Cleaner Apps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pays for itself 10X over - great choice !

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JimJoe
From:  New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great choice if you want a Droid that can do a lot simply and quickly.
I have plenty of apps on here, the battery is better than I thought, and the camera/video is fine. The layout and size of the phone is also very manageable. For what you pay this phone pays for itself immediately.
I can do what an Iphone can for far less $.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Never worked properly!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
CreativePartyPlanner
From:  Walnut Creek, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is actually a nice phone with nice features. My main complaint is the microphone never worked so I could never make or receive phone calls!
I couldn't even set up a voice mail. By this time I had thrown out the receipt and box. So I am stuck with a broken phone. I like Virgin Mobile so I bought another cheaper model to use for now. Pros--Love the bigger screen especially the numbers. Cons..Broken microphone and battery life is short.
Pros: internet large screen, no contract cost, website is easy
Cons: broken microphone, short battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pretty good phone tbh.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheRunningMan
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy to be a Virgin Mobile Customer for 1 year. Camera sticks out and results the phone to wobble.
Pros: speedy loading speeds., excellent performance on games., camera, build quality
Cons: flash sometimes bugs., overheating, doesn't do a good job in low-light conditions., camera sticks out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

ZTE Awe

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
MsZ2014
From:  Phoenix, AZ
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone has great call quality and has lots of apps the are all ready pre-installed. The front facing camera is good quality as well as the rear facing camera. The phone is a great for beginners who are starting to use smart-phones. The down side about this phone is the updates. Before the updates the phone was perfect. Now the phone is very glitchy, turns off by itself, closes apps by itself when in use, and will freeze in the middle of use. If you don't mind having a constant glitchy screen I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Really like this phone

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
PitbullMom
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone around a year and I'm pretty impressed with it. It does have some minor issues but nothing super serious and it doesn't happen all the time. But the battery life was great at first and now my battery isn't lasting very long. Overall, I like it and would buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
keetaluv
From:  Charlotte nc
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone at Walmart and I would say I have been happy with it ever since... It is a great phone at a great price!!! Long lasting battery performs great no real COMPLAINTS the bottom line this phone is AWE-SOME!!!! I just cracked my screen so I WILL def buy another one... Thanks vm
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Decent

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
virgingirl5
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needed a cheap phone immediately after my S3 broke so I picked the awe, decent if you only talk and text. The speed is manageable but what make this phone get a 3/5 rating is the camera, compare to other this camera is abysmal. And the storage space is horrific, I constantly have to delete apps and photos which wasn't that good to be begin with.
Pros: battery
Cons: camera, memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone at price point

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nomad
From:  Princeton, NJ
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking to replace my high-end-at-the-time Motorola phone that failed catastrophically. Store in mall had an Awe at a good price, it had front camera which was my primary feature requirement. I've been very pleased with this phone in the now 5+ months I've had it. basically no glitches and bugs, performance is adequate, camera is good, battery lasts well.
Screen is OK, wife has a S4 mini, and her screen is noticeably brighter.
Does have some quirks of connectivity when wifi is on but not connected to something you know it can get to. Turning wifi off and reopening browser/maps/whatever fixes that.
CPU can get a little stressed if trying to play flash games in a browser on it, but it muddles along (does get hot then too)
Overall, very pleased, don't believe you'll get better at this price.
Pros: value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I really like it

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
skittles719
From:  Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone now for 10 months and hasn't given me any problems at all. I have had other android phones that would continually freeze on me, shut off and turn back on, or not let me shut it off at all. My last phone only lasted 7 months before it started giving me all those problems, but not this one! I really like it, and the price is awesome for a phone like this one. The only thing I don't like is the battery life. I guess like all androids, the battery does go out fast. But overall, this has been an excellent choice for me.
Pros: performance, durable, price
Cons: battery life
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

ok for the value, if you dont try to actually use it.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MizzRaye
From:  biloxi, mississipi
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is pretty terrible. nothing ever loads, the battery doesn't last half an hour, and it restarts anytime it vibrates or rings too loud.
Pros: affordable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Decent

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gracey
From:  OH
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone since January and while it really isn't all that bad it still isn't totally great. The front facing camera really isn't that great and at times when I go to click on something or put my pass pattern in the screen will stop working and it often clicks on things that I didn't go near. With that being said the battery life is decent. It stays charged enough to get me through my school day but, I have to charge it on my way home. There's a few apps that don't really work when using this phone but there's a possibility that's just the app itself. Also, it's VERY durable. I can't begin to describe how many times I have dropped this phone and it still hasn't been broken. It's been dropped on concrete, Wal-Mart floors, and evern down the stairs with just a few dents and scratches as proof.
Pros: durable, decent battery life
Cons: front camera, glitching screen, a few app issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I really love this phone!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
IJustReallyWannaUseMyApps
From:  Los Angeles, CA
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is amazing for the price I paid. Its easy to use, hardly gives any troubles and the battery lasts me far longer than I honestly thought it would. My only problem is the memory. It doesn't come with a lot and I even bought a SD card for it but it refuses to allow me to download things even if I had the space. I don't like the fact that I have to sacrifice my apps just so that I can get the text messages. It also won't let me move apps from my phone to the SD card. Help!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Good for price, but not great

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
CoolBro72
From:  Southeast Wisconsin
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought because of the reviews that this would be a great deal. For the price, it's good, but you should buy a better phone if you could afford one. The main issue is that every once in a while, it restarts itself randomly, and does this again while its in the process of restarting over and over. That keeps me from recommending it, but other than that it works pretty well
Pros: price, easy to use
Cons: random restarting issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent phone; especially as a first samrt phone

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MasterMind2045
From:  Grand Rapids, MI
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had been wanting to purchase my first smart phone for awhile but didn't want to spend a lot of money, but all of the lower priced phones had many poor reviews. Even when mixed in with the better reviews, their average ratings fell somewhere between 2.0 and 3.5.
Then I came across the Awe. The price was right and it had an average rating over 4.0. Its one noticeable fault is a relatively short battery life, but I can live with that by making sure I plug it in every night.
It has tons of features and I am having fun using its voice recognition capabilities to dictate my text messages, which is easier than trying to hit the right keys. Its speech to text accuracy rate is about 95%., even with some background noise. Although it is not the latest generation, it is working fine for me.
It has a 178 page manual (you have to download it), but it is deficient in some of the basic operations that a first time user of an Android phone may not be familiar with.
Pros: 95% accuracy of the voice recognition system, evrythig works together email contacts etc, very good resolution
Cons: battery has to be frequently recharged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...13next>>