Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 / 5
4
 / 
5
(212 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 212 reviews
5 stars
116
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
29
164 out of 20879%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

"AWE" blows the Kyocera Rise away!!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JcNiels
From:  Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm so happy with purchasing the "zte/virginmobile awe". Compared to the kyocera rise -:the zte "awe" blows the kyocera rise out of the water. Only nice feature the rise had that the "Awe" doesnt is the slide out qwerty keypad. Highly recommend the virgin mobile/zte "awe". Fantastic!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

THE WORST PHONE Ive EVER HAD!!!

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lisa42s
From:  Mpls,MN
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AWFUL PHONE! YOU WANT ANY PHONE BUT THIS ONE!!! ITS JUNK!
Cons: everything~one problem after another!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

horrible manufacturer

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
felipe99
From:  socal
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This device is the worst turns off when you use it more than 10 minutes,camera is below  avaverage .
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Bad just Bad

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Zakiva
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I gave this phone its due time and tried to give it the benefit of the doubt. But sometimes you can't fix stupid. I am not gonna waste any more time with this. just don't get this phone. period.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Has all the apps you want.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kderk
From:  Portsmouth,VA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone just to start my virgin mobile service, but I will not be keeping it. It allows me to do all the google play things I need to do. But the only issue is the battery life is very poor and its a hassle to keep charging the phone so I would not recommend anyone to get this phone. Battery life is very important.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Issues With This Phone

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
wvtracker
From:  WV
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't bother writing reviews much. I should have heeded the warnings when reading the reviews. At first the phone was ok. No issues. Then the camera started snapping pictures over and over, randomly and without even touching it. It could be lying on the table and it would turn on and start snapping. I called and they sent me a replacement phone which was a refurbished phone and it immediately started having issues. It kept restarting over and over to the point that it was unuseable. I called VM AGAIN and I am getting a new one sent. We'll see how long that one lasts. Choose a different phone if you can.
Pros: warning!
Cons: please read
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Terrible Phone

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
andreamat07
From:  green bay, wi
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR I GUESS. I NEEDED A CHEAP PHONE AFTER MY OTHER ONE WAS NO LONGER WORKING, NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. BATTERY DIES WITHIN A COUPLE HOURS UNLESS YOU DON'T TOUCH YOUR PHONE AT ALL, TOUCH SCREEN DOESN'T REGISTER HALF THE TIME, CAMERA HORRIBLE QUALITY, THE VIRGIN MOBILE START UP MUSIC PLAYS LOUDLY WHEN YOU TURN THE PHONE ON EVEN WHEN IT WAS ON SILENT, I ALREADY DISLIKED ANDROID AFTER HAVING EXPERIENCED IPHONE BUT THIS PHONE MADE IT ALL THE WORSE. ANDROID TO APPLE BACK TO ANDROID AND WITH A TERRIBLE PHONE, VIRGIN WANTS TOO MUCH FOR THE IPHONE THO, GOING TO CHECK OUT T MOBILE.
Cons: quality, battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

SYTEM CRASHES IN THIS PRODUCT, AND TURNS OFF CONSTANTLY

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ventwan1
From:  phoenix, az
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone for my mother, and since I opened it turns off alot and
system crashes constantly.
Pros: its good size
Cons: system
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Does everything I need it to without failure

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
owfly
From:  green bay, wi
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great phone. I had the Kyocera Rise before this, and had lots of issues. This one works great, is reliable, and easy to use. The battery does (just) last all of an average day, but if I'm using it constantly, or going on a trip and using navigation, I need to recharge.
If something did happen to break this phone, I would buy the same thing to replace it.
Pros: reliability, performance, quality, front facing camera, display
Cons: battery life (sometimes)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Best Phone I ever had

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
garry
From:  Georgia
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have owned a number of phones over the years, and my family has owned a number of different brands. All other brands have, at one time or another, given some kind of problem. This phone, the Virgin Awe, I have owned and used for several months and have never had any problems with it at all. The only drawback is the very short battery life, but I carry an emergency portable charger that solves that problem. If this phone got stolen or something I would not hesitate to buy another one.
Pros: no problems
Cons: short battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Can't be beat for the price

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
tborvm
From:  Sunny Northern IL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really have no complaints with this phone, especially for the price. The screen is bright and sharp. The phone is thin and the CPU is plenty fast. The 3G works as well as 3G can. The camera is good, not great. And voice quality is good not great.
I don't get any reboots or lockups, and the Android version it is running seems recent and works quite well. Battery life is decent at a a full day to day and a half under normal use. I use mostly web, text and data with just occasional calls.
The only real complaint I have is that there is only one case available for this phone right now on eBay or Amazon, and it's big and bulky like an Otter clone. But that's no fault of the phone itself. I wish Virgin would offer a case for the Awe.
Pros: screen, speed, price
Cons: no thin cases yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Good Phone

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
goodness
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I would recommend this phone. The biggest downfall is the battery life. When I am connected to WIFI the battery last longer than when connected to the 3G network. The up side is that I get good signal at my house, and I live about 20 miles from nowhere, I was surprised by this.
Pros: apps, i get signal
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Absolutely fantastic!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Marsbars
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is one of the many that I have had in my lifetime and it is truly the best. It is easy to use, the optics are great, it's speedy, and it's definitely a trooper when it comes to being "manhandled". Its battery life is pretty good (lasts the whole day without having to be recharged) but it's definitely not great. The only con that I can truly say it has is its storage. It doesn't hold apps well and those that it DOES hold will cause it to crash. Luckily, there's the option to add an 8 GB, 16 GB, or even 32 GB memory card to fix this issue. I purchased an 8 GB memory card and all of my apps (about 20-30 in total) have enough space with some to spare. If you're looking for a phone that is easy to use, durable, quick, and easy on the wallet, this is definitely the phone to go with. There's really no complaints about it!
Pros: cost, durability, speed, ability to use
Cons: app storage, battery life (somewhat)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Started out great, but turned out bat

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
hbehnke1
From:  Vallejo, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this phone after having the kyocera event and it was certainly an upgrade but after a few months with the phone the battery has stopped holding a charge and now wont turn on. It doesn't charge at all. i don't know if it was a fluke phone or what but its good at first and it ended badly for me. Up to you, pretty decent price. The front facing camera is pretty decent though.
Pros: 3g speeds, lightness, front facing camera
Cons: battery life, call reception
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Awesome phone, subpar camera. But not a dealbreaker.

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Keystone1972
From:  Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is light years ahead of my old phone, and I love the ample internal memory. I love the size and the overall ease of the phone. Would recommend to anyone.
Pros: ample internal memory
Cons: camera is not so hot
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Easy to use

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
AmarieInTN
From:  Oak Ridge, Tn
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I finally upgraded my old phone to this new android phone and it works great! Battery life is good, its easy to use, for the price and features its def worth your money. GREAT BUY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bakerman
HAVERTOWN PA
 
Please wait while more information about bakerman is loaded.
Additional information about bakerman could not be loaded.
rick
Posted June 17, 2014
PHONES IS GREAT BATTERY NOT SO MUCH I THOUGHT MY OLD PHONES BATTERY WAS BAD BUT THIS ONE IS JUST AS BAD I BASICALLY KEEP IT ON THE CHARGER ALL THE TIME SO HOPE FULLY
I MAKE IT THROUGH THE DAY
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Completely stopped working after 4 months

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
sgtpepper
From:  OH
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone was great and all, but out of nowhere it just stopped working. If I plug it in, a red light flashes, but nothing else. I thought it might be the battery so I bought a new one, but it still doesn't work. I only had it for 4 months and bought it brand new.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not what I expected

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
britishtea3
From:  Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had the HTC One, which I thought was the older version of this Awe but the HTC One has more options as far as wallpaper, ringtones, layout of apps, etc as well as more options in settings for making your apps more the way you like (like size of the messages bubbles as well as the colors, etc). The camera on the Awe, is, well, AWEful. With the technology available, I don't understand why they would choose to install this camera on a phone that was originally more expensive than the HTC One. You cannot change the flash, it is always on, and even then, every picture is blurry. It could not even focus well on my hand or a stationary object. Save your money and buy the HTC One or splurge and actually buy the phone you wish you could have. I wouldn't waste your time on this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great Phone

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
cabbycakes12
From:  Akron, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone since Dec of 2013 and it has worked great for me. Runs quick, good sound quality. I have all the apps I want. I have no problems with this phone. I really like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

GREAT PHONE

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DSV1127
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I previously had an LG Optimus V for 2.5 years which I enjoyed and upgraded to this phone a couple weeks ago. This is a great phone. Call quality is great, video quality is excellent. Decent internal memory and apps can be moved to SD Card. Obviously this is not an IPhone or a higher end Android device but this is great value for what you get. I am in wifi most of the time so I do not really care for 4G speed and when I am in 3G it is still good speed. There are many great deals for this phone, I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...11next>>