Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
4.098 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(174 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 174 reviews
5 stars
101
4 stars
34
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
18
141 out of 17182%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

It's an Ok product for the price

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
holyman
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone worked great for the first few months that I had and then the battery died. I checked with the battery from my wife's phone and the phone started up just fine and worked. I got a different battery and the phone died completely on my drive to Portland so I had to get a different phone. Seems like after 2 weeks of not using the phone that it has reset and the battery seems to be doing fine. It does get really hot hot at times when not in use!
Pros: features for the price!
Cons: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Poor quality

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DLP579
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this phone as a Christmas gift . It would shut off when I used it and it
lasted less then 4 months before it shut off completely. Very unreliable
Pros: price
Cons: dose not last more then a few months
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Very Good

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
AndroidLuver2
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think everyone needs to switch to Android Powered Phones because Iphones are stupid. This phone is amazing. Every now and then it may glitch or whatever, but what phone doesnt do that. This is a great phone that anyone can use.
Pros: the screen, the features, the camera, the overall look
Cons: some glitches, battery life is ok
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Wish I had spent a little more money on a different phone

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
valkyrie
From:  Indiana
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Of all the phones I have had over the years this is by far the worst. I have a hard time talking to people on this phone. They break up and I cannot hear half of what they say no matter how I set the phone. The people I call say the same thing, they only hear half of what I say. With or without max reception this phone is junk. Touch screen is not that sensitive and I have to press several times to do something. I will be buying a better phone and use this as target practice at the range. Do Not Buy!!
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Bad choice

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
dblteez
From:  Rochester NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used Virgin Mobile for 15 years and have owned close to a dozen of their phones. Not once have I had a preformance problem with a phone and/or a issue that wasn't easily solved by calling customer service. Choosing the ZTE AWE was a very bad choice on my part. Poor quality all around and the absolute worse speaker EVER! After 3 months of frustration, It's time to trash it. I will not pass this on to a friend or family member as I have frequently done. Please think twice about purchasing this looser!
Cons: speaker
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I guess you get what you pay for

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mlicoasty
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone worked all right for about a month, then it started randomly shutting down and dropping service. Now it has completely died after two months. I would be embarrassed to sell this product.
Don't be a sucker get something else
Pros: nothing
Cons: dropped calls, random shutdowns, dropped internet access
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

The new Optimus V

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bard
From:  Colorado
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I remember back when I got Virgin Mobile, I had a Optimus V. It was a great, simple phone that really did the job. The Awe is the spiritual successor to the Optimus. Cheap, relatively fast, decent battery life, and not alot of pre-loaded garbage like some phone makers.
Get this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Recommened, with reservations

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MickeyBitsko
From:  WIsconsin
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been using this phone for 4 or 5 weeks and it's been a pretty solid performer overall. The main drawback is the camera's image qualtiy--it's pretty poor. As far as other features are concerned, call quality is good and the 3G speeds are adequate for my purposes. Battery life is OK, but I'm not a heavy user. At this price point, and given the low monthly price of service, it's a winner in general.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
quentin
From:  quentin
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this is a good phone i really like it, alot, i have only had it for a couple weeks but its served me well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

There's a reason this phone is so cheap.

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ktdidnt
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I do not recommend this phone at all. I have had all kinds of problems with it since purchasing it just 4 months ago. The major problem is that it often does not ring when I receive calls, despite the fact that the ringer sound is turned all the way up. On top of that, the performance is very slow, and battery life is poor especially given how slow the phone is. Pictures are not even worth taking, which is a problem since I've got kids. The sound quality on speaker calls is not good either. The final straw is that now I'm having a problem where the battery will sometimes not even take a charge. I have to remove it and put it back to get it take one. I totally wasted my money on this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

BEST PHONE! BUY IT!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
psych4ever
From:  emmitsburg
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i got this phone with free overnight shipping. after i set everything up it was working fine. its been about a month with it and i love it. everything works great! im very satisfied. the screen is nice and bright and the 3g is fast. the screen is great and its fluid. there. the external speaker is very loud and its perfect for playing music. after reading some of the reviews i was uncertian cause some said it was junk. clearly they were wrong because this phone is the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

awesome

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
nisoper
From:  Mi
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone, recently had the kyocera event, and this is a huge step up! Would recommend this phone to anyone who is looking to save money getting a better smartphone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indi
 
Please wait while more information about Indi is loaded.
Additional information about Indi could not be loaded.
Posted April 15, 2014
oh my gosh, someone else upgrading from kyocera event. i'm glad i'm not the only one.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone.

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
kelbelle
From:  Lake havasu, AZ
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Best phone I've had for a long time. I own an iPhone 4, but its not activated yet because I like using this one .
When I purchased the phone I also purchased one for my boyfriend and he loves his phone too
Cons: touchpal
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

very easy to use

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
AmaryllisCaine61
From:  Greenfield,Indiana
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this was my christmas present to myself, it replaced the venture phone i had, which i constantly had to replace due to something always failing on it so i bought the Awe and i love it....i would recommend this phone to any of my friends
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Nice starter phone.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
limpsalot
From:  wichita, ks
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sometimes keyboard too sensitive. Dials a number not dialed.
Battery life is miserable.
Pros: cheap
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Do not buy

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bmxbabe
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just bought the phone less than a week ago and it lags really bad whether I'm texting or trying to access an app. And it closes out of apps randomly while I'm using them. Would not recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone with a couple of drawbacks

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
aguy
From:  Hawaii
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first VM phone I owned was the Motorola Triumph so my views and opinions are based on that.
First let me say that battery life is much better on this phone. Based on the same usage, at the end of the day I have 50 - 60% battery life left when I used to have 20% or less.
Next is performance. This phone is very responsive - apps load and run smoothly. GPS and bluetooth which were sore spots on the Triumph work perfectly.
Storage space. I do like that it has more built in memory (than the Triumph) but I also bought a 16GB micro SD card and have moved apps to it. I have not had any issues with memory.
Charging. I have read that some have had charging problems with this phone - either taking long or getting hot. I have not experienced either.
Drawbacks. One is the startup sound. It is much too loud and much too annoying. The second is the rebooting problem that others have also encountered. While my phone does not reboot as often as others I do notice that I can get it to reboot if I try to update multiple apps.
I also notice that where the power button is located (top) sometimes causes problems. I am using a generic phone case that I had used with my Triumph and if I put the Awe in a certain way, the case will press on the power button and cause a reboot.
If you still have a Triumph I think you should consider this phone. To me, it is a much better phone at very good price.
Pros: battery life, runs smoothly, reasonably priced
Cons: annoying startup sound, rebooting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Randomly Restarts for no reason :(

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
idahomommy1988
From:  Idaho
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DO NOT BUY!!! This phone is good for the first month or so then it starts to restart its self does not matter what your doing,
seems to increase after battery is half dead. restarts its self in the middle of text in the middle of calls ....all the time.
Cons: restarts its self
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Hate this phone!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fireonice2085
From:  Keystone Heights, FL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my second phone in a a year from Virgin Mobile. My first phone I had for 10 months, then it just stopped charging. The Virgin Mobile Awe I have had for about 4 months and it is horrible. The same message is always popping up. There is like no memory space on it, and I put a micro sd card and it doesnt work.
Pros: great pictures
Cons: battery life, memory space, sd card slot, weird message
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Awsome phone!!!!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Colber
From:  El Dorado, Arkansas
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this phone!! You can move apps to SD card without rooting it awesome!!!! You have 1.95GB of internal storage available to user but move apps to the SD card and save on storage. Everyrhing on this phone works flawlessly and it does not freeze, but battery gets hot if you use it on the charger and get a case for it on Walmart.com. wish it had 4g lte because I can't afford the other 4g lte phones except the lg optimus f3 and it doesn't have enough storage for me.
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...9next>>