Customer Reviews for HTC Evo V

HTC Evo V

Live fast on 4G. This 4G smartphone is built for speed with Android 4.0 and a lightning-quick 1.2GHz processor. Surf, stream, download, and share faster than ever before. Plus, it doubles as a Mobile Hotspot, so you can share all that 4G speed with your Wi-Fi enabled devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.153 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(1200 Reviews) 1200
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 1,200 reviews
5 stars
716
4 stars
225
3 stars
94
2 stars
56
1 star
109
922 out of 1,14481%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Evo V
Review 1 for HTC Evo V

still in love

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
STLChris
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for several months now and I'm still very satisfied. This phone is very reliable, quick and I'm still discovering new things about it everyday. I'm just going to keep this simple by saying this is a wonderful device and a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+222points
278of 334voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
humphrey0424
 
Please wait while more information about humphrey0424 is loaded.
Additional information about humphrey0424 could not be loaded.
Posted January 28, 2013
I have had this phone for quite awhile now it has proven to be well worth the money I spent on it. In the last month alone my 2 year old nephew has sprayed it well with febreeze on 3 separate occasions and it still functions very well the screen has a few shaded places but it still works very well. I could not be more pleased
+5points
6of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
ALXNY
New York City
 
Please wait while more information about ALXNY is loaded.
Additional information about ALXNY could not be loaded.
HTC EVO V -Best of Virgin Mobile
Posted November 17, 2012
I had this phone since it first came out ..I love this phone..
Virgin Mobile did the right thing with this phone ..I have no problems with it. well I the calls are loud and clear ..Pictures are great .. and have a few in 3d ..clock wiget are cool .I also use it like a Ipod have all my music and
I play alot of word games ..on 4g is available in some area but in some building signal will switch to 3g . where I live I have a good 4g connection
I also thing think that winmax 4g sprint is fast ..I also used it on wifi it works great ..I use pandora alot ..One thing I love is the calender alert is on screen ...and speed on the phone is fast ..netflix on wifi is great .
using data can be choppy . overall the price went down so its worth it..
also you can buy a 32gb micro sd chip and add all your suff .
One thing is that I had the Motorola Triumph but when I got this phone
my signal went to 5 bars with the Motorola Triumph was only 2 bars
this I don't know why..
I hope is review helps someone..take care
Alex
+13points
15of 17voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for HTC Evo V

Love Hate Relationship

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
21stCentury
From:  New York
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this phone for almost two years. I love the ease of using it, great apps and fun to use as well.
However EVERYONE I call or who calls me tells me my voice sounds garbled. No matter what I have tried to rectify the problem, I still sound muffled and sometimes people cant understand a word i am saying.
I speak clearly so that is not the problem. I am stumped.
It also can get very HOT sometimes...and of course on these phones the battery doesn't last too long.
I love the phone overall except for the GARBLED voice problem.
Pros: easy to use., good apps, nice looking., good camera., good video., texting easy
Cons: voice garbled., gets hot!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Evo V

great phone

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
2tough
From:  missouri
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone going on 3yrs and have never had an issue with it only just now the battery life is about shot but that's to be expected, I've dropped off my bike at least 3 times my rabbit has chewed on it and it still works fine my next phone will be an HTC that's for sure great phone guys guys!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Evo V

Battery over heats in pocket & screen touches by itself & locks up screen

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LowUsagePhoneUser
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Virgin Mobile has been very good about replacing this defective phone twice - it was still under the one year warranty.
The 1st one would over overheat when not in use - everything off except wifi, screen off when in pocket or case - I would also feel the heat coming from my leather belt case, plus the battery would be drained. Bought a spare battery and it did the same.
The 2nd one went bad after a couple of months, but this one would push screen buttons on its own. Several times I would hear the camera go off in my pocket and it wasn't even in camera mode, but in blank screen save mode as I always do before putting it away in standby. It heated up my leg, and I requested another. I hope they didn't try to send me another refurbished one...
So far so good after a couple of weeks. I didn't realize how responsive a touch screen could be without errors or locking up from the phone pushing its buttons on its own!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Evo V

decent

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Adawg12345
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this phone for about a year and a half. i love the quality that htc puts in their phones. The 3d feature is somewhat useless. It is cool to show off to your friends, but does not really serve other purposes. With time the phone does start to lag a bit and occasionally freezes. But being one of the lower end smartphones, it comes to no surprise. The battery life is terrible. I would say the phone is best for checking email, messaging, and occasional browsing. Any multimedia drains battery life at an astonishing rate. Overall, the phone has done me good throughout the year. it has disappointed me from time to time, but still got the job done. I will either get the lg volt or the new htc desire 816 for my next phone withing the next month. If you are going to be a first time smartphone user, i recommend finding another phone on the virgin mobile line-up
Pros: good screen, good build, htc
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Evo V

Simply horrible.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sikketh
From:  New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had two of these phones. The first developed problems with the touch screen within a few months, and the second had a severe problem with battery draining. The built-in apps are constantly starting on their own and trying to connect to networks while it's not being used and I experienced battery drain even while the phone was powered off. In order to use the phone, I had to have it on airplane mode with WiFi on, and manually disabling many of the apps... completely ruining the idea of even having a phone.
Pros: heavy enough to weigh down paper, sturdy construction
Cons: battery life, touch-screen responsiveness, sweat cripples the screen unusable after calls.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Evo V

Great phone...highly recommend it!!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fuzzyguzy
From:  Arizona
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this phone & all it's features and great battery life. I have owned the phone for over a year & have encountered no problems with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Evo V

This phone works wonders for me

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
darkstorm
From:  Chicago, Ill.
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for almost 2 yrs now and the 2 things bad i can think of is the battery life and the useless 3D. As far as the battery goes I purchased a new one and it is working great for over a year now, I listen to a lot of music and watch a lot of youtube and still had over half a charge after 6 or so hours and it takes great pictures also I'm thinking of getting the wife one since the price drop is so dramatic now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Evo V

I love it, except...

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CasualSmartPhoneUserDude
From:  Manhattan, KS
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this phone! I've had it for nearly 2 years now. Except, there's this one issue. Back when I got the phone, I was messing around in the settings, and turned on a pressure-pointer thing, to help me see where i was actually touching the screen, probably under the accessibility settings. Anyways, I never undid it. About a year into owning the phone, I started noticing phantom pressure points on the screen. I wouldn't be touching the screen, and the little pointer-dot would move back and forth across the screen, always at the same height, about halfway between the charger port and the top of the battery, or about 2/3's of the way up the screen. It makes calls sometimes when I have a text thread open, and in general makes a nuisance of whatever I'm trying to accomplish on my phone. My phone is great, and I love it. Except for that one thing.
Cons: phantom pressure point
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Evo V

Buyers Beware

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AnthonyJ
From:  TN
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please pay attention to the fact that the majority of the good reviews here are within the first few months of having the phone. My wife and I both bought this phone from different companies (her amazon, me virgin) and they both lasted around 6 months with good quality. They both started to come apart literally. The rim around the screen just started to peel off. Hers stopped powering on at all and she got a warranty exchange that lasted another 6 months or so and did the same thing. Mine still powers on but I can barely use the phone because the touch screen has a mind of its own so-to-say. I try to touch one app and it opens another and then just starts doing random things like texting and calling and even moving apps from the menu. even trying to answer a call is a hassle, it hangs up on people before I touch it or answers and goes on speaker and mute back and forth.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leahws
 
Please wait while more information about Leahws is loaded.
Additional information about Leahws could not be loaded.
Thanks for the tip!!
Posted August 21, 2014
Very helpful!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for HTC Evo V

What a pain

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DCP17
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone has a mind of its own. I noticed after about six months of owning it that the upper quarter of the screen was completely dead. If I want to click anything in that part of the screen I have to scroll so that it is out of that region. Beside that, the phone clicks buttons on the screen when i'm not even touching it. There is a setting that allows me to see what is being clicked on the screen, and the phone is clicking buttons by itself all the time. It is extremely frustrating and I wish I could throw it away and never use it again.
Pros: battery is good enough for practical use
Cons: screen goes dead, clicks buttons by itself, 3d is a useless feature
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Evo V

Good short time use phone

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gymnast4life
From:  Denver, CO
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone was great for the first six months or so I had it. It then became incredibly glitchy. The screen lost it's sense of touch and would randomly call people open app and other stuff without my doing so. The battery life is HORRIBLE. I charged it every night and come morning by the time I'd get to school it'd be halfway charged. The 3D camera is worthless and makes this phone ridiculously heavy.
Pros: price
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Evo V

Horrible camera, power hungry, screen failure

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Royal
From:  New Rochelle
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This one didn't make it to 18 months without touch screen failures. Within months, a buggy screen became totally broken. No way to access the phone.
The camera is horrible quality. Colors always look wrong. Soft, blurry low quality photos.
Battery wouldn't even last the day. I obsessively turned wifi off and everything else, Stopping apps. Didn't help. Even when WiFi is off, you get prompts that say WiFi networks detected? COnnect? If the antenna is truly powered off, it wouldn't be able to hear networks.
Had call issues. Phone calls would become listen only. No one could hear me after a long time on phone. I wondered about overheating. Always had to terminate the call and make a new one to get it to work again.
As a phone it worked decently. I didn't get complaints about voice quality on phone or speakerphone.
The things I liked about it were android features. It ran a very current version of Android when I purchased it. Some phones lag far behind due to over customization of the android OS. The less the carrier monkeys with Android, the quicker you get updates.
Pros: android
Cons: camera, battery, screen, reception
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Evo V

Buying Yourself A Headache

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scooter2012
From:  New Jersey
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't even know where to start. Absolutely terrible phone. Battery will go dead after 2 hours of listening to music. 3d camera was a cool concept, but its execution was not spot on (as expected). Only ran smoothly for first 3 months. Screen would start glitching and clicking random things on the display. It dialed 911 twice. It would literally freeze every 10 seconds and got to the point where I had to throw it on the floor just to make it work. Major pain in the neck.
Do yourself a favor, and spare yourself the frustration. I've had my Galaxy S3 for about 5 months now, and I have no complaints. Only wish I had upgraded a year sooner when it went on sale.
The HTC EVO V was released on Sprint as the EVO 3D in 2011. The outdated technology is not worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Evo V

stopped working completely

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
kaymae
From:  Roanoke, VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i had this phone for a little over a year and yesterday it froze and then turned on and off for about an hour and then finally wouldn't turn on at all. i figured it was just the battery and i just needed to go get a new one. so i went out to go get a new battery and they let me try it out and still nothing it just kept turning on and off.
The guy at the store then said that it wasnt the battery that it was the phone. it was fried and there was no fixing it.
i was very disappointed because i hadn't had the phone for too long and i really did like it. im just upset that it just quit with no warning.
Pros: easy to use, good memory
Cons: battery life, stopped working randomly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Evo V

Decent phone.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sharpie7
From:  Wichita, KS
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this phone two years ago, and it has served me pretty well. It was my first HTC phone, and I really enjoy the interface. Big plus there. 3D pictures is a unique option, but I didn't really ever use it. Responsive screen and was fast enough for all the apps and games I used on it.
Battery was shot about a year in, and I had to replace it. I had a rough time with the power and volume buttons sticking/ not working all of the time. Now at almost two years in, part of my touchscreen won't respond at all now, guess its time for an upgrade. I did drop it a couple times so that may be on me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Evo V

good idea, bad technology

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
tubesock
From:  lynnwood, wa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had to get my phone replaced over 5 times. This is my sixth phone after only a year of having this phone. It runs amazing when it comes out of the box and the battery life is decent. If a game is played for a while the battery life crashes. The reason I have had it replaced is not from me but due to technical error. The touchscreen goes out mostly and texts hardly go through in a 4 bar service area.
Cons: technology, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
educatingyou
texas
 
Please wait while more information about educatingyou is loaded.
Additional information about educatingyou could not be loaded.
Sounds like it is you actually
Posted July 21, 2014
The texting issue you speak of doesnt have anything to do with how many bars of signal you have. Texts use the data connection. And data transfer speed and signal strength have nothing to do with each other. Most games are graphically intensive which is hard on a phones cpu/gpu which in turn sucks a battery charge down quick plus it overheats the battery and a battery that is out of its temp tolerance drains fast as well. With how you view the battery drain issue i can also assume when you refer to the touchscreen going out, you mean the phone is freezing up which goes right back to the superheated and overloaded cpu/gpu.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for HTC Evo V

An okay phone

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wondershanae
From:  AZ
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for almost 2 years. It is fast, easy to use, and is able to use most apps. Cons would be it has a horrible battery life. I have to keep it plugged in at all times, won't even last 4 hours before it dies (and that is without me even using it). Other than that I haven't had to many problems!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Evo V

It was decent when i first bought it

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nalla
From:  Maryland, MD
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone lasted me about three two years, but now it is completely dead. It wont turn on anymore. This phone has had a series of problems over the time of its life. First the frame that is glued on started to peel off along with all of the trim, i was just left with the case protecting the battery. The screen would freeze as if i were holding down on a button when i wasn't touching the screen. Then the headphone jack keep saying i had headphones with a mic when i didn't and would start calling people in my contacts. App would crash all the time and processing is slow. Then the forward facing camera just stopped working... And now i am here with a phone that wont turn on.
Pros: storage, east use
Cons: cheap materials used, slow, battery life, bad picture quality, horrible speakers
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Evo V

I will never buy an HTC phone ever again.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cold
Age: 18-24
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for less than a year and it is already dead. I had an Optimus V that lasted over 2 years (and still works perfect) and that thing took some wear and tear.
The digitizer in the screen started to go bad a few months ago but I dealt with it. The battery life was pretty much always horrible. I avoided using it for anything other than when I really needed it because the battery life was so bad. The performance was also always really bad. I found myself clearing all the recent apps every time I tried to type because the phone would get so bogged down with only a few apps running.
I should have just spent the money at the time and got the s3...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...60next>>