Customer Reviews for Motorola Triumph

Motorola Triumph

Android Gone Wild. Rev up your smartphone experience with a superfast 1GHz processor, 4.1" touchscreen, 5MP camera, front-facing VGA camera, 720p HD camcorder with HDMI output, Google Navigation, Android Market, and more. All on the Android 2.2 platform.
Average Customer Rating:
3.489 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(1674 Reviews) 1674
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 1,674 reviews
5 stars
635
4 stars
335
3 stars
210
2 stars
202
1 star
292
973 out of 1,59961%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Motorola Triumph
Review 1 for Motorola Triumph

Such potential, left to flounder

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
motorolasadface
From:  midwest
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone within the first month it was offered on Virgin. It was an incredible upgrade over my previous Samsung Intercept. As time went on, it (the phone) got left behind. Relegated to the dust bin by VM and Motorola, it never got the upgrades it deserves and has been stuck on 2.2 since its birth. This phone, despite the widespread complaints it receives, has never failed to perform. If I am on wi-fi, the apps run great. I can stream 720 movies and output them to my TV. no lags, no hiccups. Battery life is poor, but I have never experienced any of the other complaints about the phone locking up or the charging port getting loose. Camera is not professional level, but always works great for candid shots.
Bottom line is that this phone had great potential that will never be realized. I could not in good conscience recommend this phone to anyone else, as there are vastly superior phones that cost the same, or phones running 4.0 that are much cheaper.
Pros: big screen lots of horsepower
Cons: battery life ancient os
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola Triumph

Buy Something Else!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Phonie
From:  Madison, WI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Motorola Triumph is a cheaply made phone. Three of them have been defective in a period of 6 months. Virgin Mobile helped me resolve this issue. Skip the hassle, buy a different model that is similarly priced.
Cons: battery, speed, construction
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola Triumph

Don't waste your money

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
serena
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year and a half. I've had to get it replaced twice; the first time it turned off and just did not turn back on again, and the second time part of the touch screen stopped working. Also, the version of android that this phone is ANCIENT (2.2.2), so not all apps work on it. The touch screen is super flaky, and the phone is not as sturdy as it seems. The camera is also not that great (5MP). All my photos come out with a weird yellowish tinge, and are often blurry (the shutter speed is super slow). This phone is not worth the money spent on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola Triumph

Absolutely horrible.

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mewbag
From:  New York, NYC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have nothing good to say about this phone at all. It feels cheap and flimsy, but don't let that fool you: it really is cheap and flimsy.
The battery cover started falling off within a year. You can sort of bend the retaining clips back into place, but it's difficult (since they're already bent and you don't know how which way to bend them back).
The USB connector fritzed out and totally failed within a year and a few months. I sent it to the manufacturer for repair; upon return, the port looked slightly better but still askew. It didn't look like a high quality repair and, sure enough, it lasted for almost two weeks before the same problem recurred. I got the message and bought replacement batteries and a charger from a third-party since I could no longer charge my phone directly. At least I could still take out the microSD to update my music.
The touch-screen is beyond flaky. Apart from just being unresponsive and inaccurate, if the air is even slightly damp, the phone will detect spurious presses at the edge of the screen (presumably from moisture in between the frame and the screen), making everything difficult and typing impossible.
The soft buttons will occasionally nod out for about ten seconds for no apparent reason, about once every few hours. It's hard to tell at the time this is happening whether it's general touchscreen flakiness or this particular problem. You find out about ten seconds later, when the ignored button presses suddenly all go through at once, sending you who-knows-where.
The camera is blurry and has the well-known green blotch in the middle of the display.
The stock ROM is ancient and basically unsupported. I won't go into detail here, though I surely could. Just trust me: the software is every bit as solid as the hardware. This was my first "smart"-phone, so I didn't know how bad it really was. I'm embarrassed that I stuck with it this long. Note: I've only listed the problems which I am _absolutely certain_ are specific to this piece of garbage.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola Triumph

Gets worse and worse

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Androiduser21
From:  New York
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I first got the phone, the screen was great! But all my apps keep force quitting, which i noticed is just what happens to android phones. I have had this phone for a year, and I can not add any apps. I have all standard apps that came with the phone and 3-4 apps that I downloaded. Every time I use these apps, my phone says it is low on memory. Sometimes my text message (all) get deleted.
I lost the cover to the phone and now use a phone cover.
The battery life gets better over time.
not worth the 200 sticker price.
Pros: screen
Cons: memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola Triumph

excellent

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Minna
From:  Goldsboro, NC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had a few Virgin Mobile phones and this is the best by far. I have had this phone a little over 2 months, and so far i absolutely love it. it hardly has any problems with freezing up. the battery life is awful, but the phone itself makes up for it. the front camera is not the best quality but it works. i would definitely recommend this phone to anyone.
Pros: features
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola Triumph

Wish I could give a good review

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
thad
From:  Oregon
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this phone the first month it came out and was very excited to have a smart phone on the 40 bucks a month plan. phone was good on all accounts except the battery life as with many smart phones was found lacking. Then about 3 months in the back constantly fell off, battery falling out in my pocket. Then the phone started crashing randomly. Got the phone replaced under warranty, The second phone right off the batt wasn't right. charger/ usb didn't work, wouldn't connect to computer/ HDMI nothing. The screen would white out. Changed phones. I really wanted to like this phone. Too bad it wasn't a triumph.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola Triumph

Terrible!

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
VM2015
From:  Lynchburg, VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone was a mistake from the beginning. At one point it simply stopped taking power, despite the battery being in great shape. The phone's operating system was weak, it was glitchy to the point of opening apps on its own and not opening them when i told them to. If you like the descriptions of this phone's features, I would suggest the HTC Evo V.
Cons: battery, operating system, service
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motorola Triumph

Literally the worst phone I have ever had.

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
muhlissa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You're pretty much paying for a phone that is going to do absolutely nothing it says it's going to do. This is the only time I have ever reviewed a product. So, the fact that I'm taking time out of my day to warn complete strangers about this phone, is saying something.
The first Triumph I had, it stopped working correctly about 6 months after I purchased it. I wasn't receiving my texts or phone calls, the phone would randomly shut off, all my contacts were deleted for no reason, god forbid you wanted to take a picture, you couldn't call out, it told me I didn't have any storage space left when the only things installed to the phone is what came with it.
Thankfully, I had a warranty, and thought it'd be all sunshine and rainbows. Nope. Within two days time, my screen went completely white, I can't see a thing on it, and it will shut off just for fun.
Thank god for customer service, right? Wrong. They hung up on me after no one would would resolve the problem. Wow, what an awesome phone company.
Cons: i'm ready to snap this phone in half.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nessa10596
 
Please wait while more information about nessa10596 is loaded.
Additional information about nessa10596 could not be loaded.
thanks!
Posted March 18, 2013
thank you for your review i currently have a kyocera rise and its probably the worst phone ever always turning off! maybe its just the companys phone >:l
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Motorola Triumph

Many Problems

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Djpro34321
From:  Central Falls,Rhode Island
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ive had to trade in this phone 4 times to get a new one , on one the sd card wouldnt read, screen was cracked and the other wwouldnt turn on. the one i have now has dust stuck in the screen but im not gonna send it in again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola Triumph

Awful!!!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShesCountry93
From:  Christiansburg, Va
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have this phone in to which im on the phor with virgin mobile now. All the triumphs are the same you get the phone an your like man this is an awesome phone wait 2-3 days after you have ot. The screen will turn completley white it freezes up. I do NOT reccomend this phone at all!!!!
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motorola Triumph

Horrible touch screen

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
4fantrashcan
From:  Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've owned the phone for two years, and thought that all android phones had difficult to use touch screens. After using other phones, I found that it's my phone. I bought the phone for it's larger screen, but what a disappointment. It's very frustrating to type even a simple text. Lately I've been using the voice-text feature to avoid using the touch screen.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tb2009
Iowa
 
Please wait while more information about tb2009 is loaded.
Additional information about tb2009 could not be loaded.
Posted March 15, 2013
Hold on a second... You've had the triumph for TWO YEARS and now you are complaining about it being a difficult touch screen.? Here's a couple of suggestions. First, download the Gingerbread Keyboard off Google Play Store. I like it/use it all the time. I know it's a bit outdated but it works great! Second, remove the factory plastic screen protector. No, it's not the one that came with the phone out of the box with the tab on it. There really is a thick, and I mean a REALLY thick plastic "covering" on top of the glass. After two years of use I'm sure your's is pretty much scratched up as mine did the same. I removed the thick plastic "protector" about 6 months ago and still have not one scratch on the screen. It's gorilla glass and it's smooth and responsive. Enjoy! Oh, look at any corner and pick and pull carefully from there and you'll see what I'm trying to share with you. Good Luck!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Motorola Triumph

good phone

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
juli
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i bought this phone to replace the wildfire i had. i had the wildfire for about two weeks and i downloaded like 2 appz and had no room for more. i bought this phone in hopes of being able to download lots of apps. i have sooooo many apps on this phone!! i love this phone. it works great for me, so i dont understand how some people are having problems. i love the size of the screen and the shape of the phone. its also a huge plus that it has a front facing camera! although i do wish it took a little bit better quality photos but all n all its an awesome phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motorola Triumph

This Product isn't worth it!

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TETEbby93
From:  MORROW,GA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was a Really good phone for the FIRST 3-6 months, after the 6 months the phone started to do what it wanted to do. Slowing down, battery began to die at random times, even if I charged my phone 100%! When I take a picture the entire phone turns completely off, or restarts itself. ALL-IN-ALL I would NEVER recommend this Phone to ANYONE!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motorola Triumph

Great intro phone

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Peanut39
From:  Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Having owned this phone for longer than two years without major problems shows a testament to how good the phone is. The phone is powerful without spending an obscene amount and the phone, from a software standpoint, is reliable. A lot of people complain about a few issues (signal strength, GPS capabilities, memory leakage) that were easily remedied by a few apps and a reset after a year, which is normal. Don't feed the trolls. My only sincere complaint is that the battery life could do better. I had to buy a second battery and a universal battery charger to make it through days where I was at the lake or at a high school where Wi-fi was lacking and I had to rely on data. Otherwise, the phone is a great investment, especially for those still on the $25 a month grandfathered plan.
Pros: robust, simple and powerful
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motorola Triumph

Triumph has a bad feature

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lstn4u68
From:  California
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When using the phone to your ear the screen goes blank, as a protection of some sort. But when you pull the phone away to imput some numbers or code on the dial pad, it also goes blank, thinking it is in contact with your ear.
Often, the blank out period causes what you are trying to imput to get cancelled. VERY iritating. I don't know of another phone that does this,.
Cons: screen blank out
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola Triumph

Overpriced garbage

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wes47
From:  Shippensburg
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Frequent problems,replaced once (still junk)! Don't waste your time or money! Lesson learned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motorola Triumph

My phone

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Richierich
From:  texas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just got my replacement phone in and thing wont do nothing batteys in backs on chargers pluged in stell it wont work nothing....
Pros: nothing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motorola Triumph

There are much better

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
slslsldkeldlsodkwle
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has been OK. It sends and receives calls. The wireless adapter is very flaky. Many times when connecting to wireless networks the phone just shuts off. This generally happens once a day. The pnone will lock up on occasion and I have to remove the battery to fix the issue. Most of the time the battery is ok, but today amongst other days it charged all night and it is 10 am and it died. The camera is terrible. There is a huge delay from the time you tap the button to when it actually takes the pic. If I am taking a pic of my two year old he is generally out of the picture by the time it takes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola Triumph

Great Easy phone

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BabyKeke
From:  south portland,maine
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone works really good it does go dim and little stuff but overall good phone and worth it. I play a lot of games so my battery goes quickly but when i'm not its pretty good. I love the space i have tons of pictures and music and downloaded apps and theres still room left.!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...84next>>