Customer Reviews for HTC One V

HTC One V

This smartphone has a lightning-quick 1-GHz processor and is powered by Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) so you can surf, stream, share and download faster than ever. Everything you hear on your phone - from music and videos to games and YouTube - is rich and authentic with Beats Audio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.807 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(834 Reviews) 834
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 834 reviews
5 stars
370
4 stars
189
3 stars
97
2 stars
100
1 star
78
547 out of 78170%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC One V
Review 1 for HTC One V

Great and long lasting

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jackknows
From:  Philly
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for over a year and a half. Dropped it on numerous occassions and it hasn't let me down yet.
It gets better wifi and mobile connections than my laptop and accepts all the android apps for easse of use.
I love this phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC One V

Not happy

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
gptny
From:  New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not happy with this phone. Phone restarts by itself randomly, contacts storage issues, battery length short. Sorry I picked this phone. Had an HTC Evo before (which I loved), but switched to this one when switched to Virgin Mobile from Sprint.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC One V

Not fast enough

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dan773
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone is fast enough for basic calls, music, etc... but if you want to multitask whatsoever the phone just slows down to almost unusable speed, very frustrating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC One V

not the best

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
beck18
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i have had this phone for a year and a half and now it is running way slower than when i first got it. i was trying to do something on it when all of a sudden the screen when black so i held the lock button to restart it and it restarted but i could see anything on my screen so it over heated really bad and when i tired to tell friends and family not to text me it starts working again. so honestly its a nice phone at first but dont keep it more than a year. slow loading lags and just seems more for a first time user .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC One V

Cheap Phone, but slow and loses power quick!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
livewithzeal
From:  Virginia
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Good
I love the beats audio sound. I can listen to music from across the room and hear it just fine. The camera also takes clear pictures.
The Bad
The phone itself isn't bad if you are a casual user. If you use aps, surf the web, or do anything that you would expect to do on a smartphone it runs slow and loses it's power at a ridiculous rate. No flash for the camera so night pictures are out!
Pros: good camera, great sound
Cons: battery, processor speed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC One V

Decent mid range phone

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From:  Gloversville, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When I first got this phone I loved the beats audio and the design of the phone but after a while it started lagging and slowing down. I did not like how the lip at te bottom would stick out if I were to place the device in my pocket. This phone would only be good if it was your first phone or if you were tight on cash. Other than that I would recommend getting something different for the same price. Maybe the Elite.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC One V

Durable and useful, but has it's limits

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
HaroldDelaney
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone has been dropped, stepped on and even thrown against a brick wall (without a case) and only comes up with minor dings. And if you're anything like me and break every plastic smartphone you've ever had, then the durability of this phone makes it a better buy than the $500 phones. I used the HTC One V for about a year, "upgraded" to a different phone on a different, 3x more expensive monthly contract (AT&T) and not only did I break the phone after falling out of my pocket on a jog, the data and voice coverage was better on Virgin Mobile! So now I'm back on Virgin and the One V is still going strong. The size is great too, not too big or too small and the screen is very crisp, bright and clear. It takes great pictures too.
The downside of the phone is it's processor, or whatever it is that makes it go. For example, sometimes something as simple as texting takes 10-20 seconds to load up, which doesn't seem like a big deal but when you just want to make a quick text and be on with your life it becomes pretty inconvenient. I'm guessing the texting can be like this because I'm a pretty heavy user of other apps like Spotify, MapMyRun, and Chess. The phone can run these apps without much issue but running simultaneously it starts to lag pretty heavily and I have to force close the apps. If I want to go on a jog and have Spotify and MapMyRun going at the same time, it will lock up and both apps stop. But it's really not that frequent of an issue and for the price and monthly cost you can't complain. Considering how cheap the phone is and the service cost, I've saved probably over $2000 by being a Virgin Mobile customer rather than AT&T or Verizon. To me that's worth some app lag here and there.
Bottom line, if you are a heavy user and require some intense memory usage for business or whatever I would probably probably buy a nicer phone (but it won't be as durable!), but definitely stick to Virgin Mobile. Very reliable and fast service as well as excellent customer service from my experience. If you are a very active person that'll put this phone through the ringer and can put up with some lag every now and then, this is the phone for you. After a couple years of use I still get all day battery life and I plan on sticking with this phone until it just doesnt have the juice anymore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC One V

Good for basic use

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rose718
From:  Chicago,IL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone a little over a year ago, and I was pleased at the fact that it worked fine. It does drain once you start browsing, but for the price it's not too bad. I've dropped it a million times, so it's falling apart now and starting to malfunction, but that was obviously my fault.
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: small scrren
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC One V

An average to not so average phone

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
YourDadjesty
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone was very promising when I first received it and all the reviews seemed pretty positive.
The first thing you will notice is the phone is pretty laggy. Even sending a simple text will cause the phone to lag. It could be possibly remedied by doing a simple process to remove all the preloaded bloatware... but aside from that the phone does have an annoying overall lag.
I'm not sure why they tried to utilize beats audio for this phone because this is the quietest phone I've ever had, I can't use it for an alarm clock even because it is a.) too quiet and b.) the phone will randomly freeze in the middle of the night so the alarm will not go off at all (and yes i've restarted the phone and tried everything to remedy it and nothing works). Also the head phone jack is of poor quality and will eventually start popping and/or start going out on one side or another.
The phone at least has some pretty good battery life (not that you can remove it or anything) and is ultra-thin. Overall HTC seems to have pretty solid phones but this unfortunately is not one of them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC One V

Good camera and easy to use.

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jakers127
From:  Illinois
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When you first get the phone it has a great speed. Over time phone starts to slow down and sometimes seems to have a mind of its own. An example would be making a phone call and going to end it but the phone glitchs and turns the screen off and on. Also if you notice the phone starting to be hot a lot it may be a sign that the phone is near its end. I have had this phone model for a little over a year and have had to get a replacement because it over heated and died. Overall, phone is great to have and like any other phone it does have it glitchs but it gets the job done
Pros: easy to use
Cons: speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC One V

Regret came on quickly

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
msmutter
From:  Big Bear, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I downsized too much when I switched from an HTC Evo 4G to the HTC One V. I didn't realize how much SLOWER it would be! Wow. This phone was excruciatingly slow when accessing internal data such as contacts text messages etc. Ain't nobody got time fo' that!! If you just need a basic phone that you can go online with but aren't impatient then this would be fine. The camera does take decent pics and the sound is actually really good. Just the slowest of slow processors. I've finally switched to a Samsung Galaxy 3.
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC One V

Disappointing

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
adamck
From:  Alabama
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive had this phone for over a year now. It was fine at first, but now it's mostly junk. The speaker sounds blown out and it lags constantly even when doing the most basic functions, such as typing this review. The one good thing I can say is it's very solidly built.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC One V

Slow, glitchy, requires additional SD card purchase

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mk0NYC
From:  New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I read good reviews of this phone before purchasing, but was dissatisfied within a few days of receiving it.
- Slow speeds
- Storing apps (e.g., additional emoji to use in chats) required the purchase of a 32GB SD card, adding to the overall price significantly
- Internal battery means that you can't force a restart by removing & replacing the battery
- The screen blacked out and the phone would not restart even with nearly full battery power
The best I can say is that it is a cute phone, sleek, compact size.
I plan to return the phone within the 14-day window.
Pros: sleek, compact
Cons: glitchy, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC One V

This has not been ending well

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Arista
From:  Delphi, Indiana
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had my phone HTC one V for approximately one year. It started out well and I was excited about the upgrade from the previous phone. However, this is my third replacement phone that Virgin has replaced for me. The phone freezes and renders it useless. It also has been slowly decreasing in speed of processing applications. I am currently not a happy camper. I do appreciate the great customer support services that Virgin does provide.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC One V

breaks down every 3 months like clock work

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
cassy14
From:  new york
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this phone is ok if you don't need a phone to use every day. it always malfunctions( voice dialer, music, calls, etc.) and I am on my 8th replacement. You will need the warranty to have this phone otherwise you will be buying a new one every three months. Get another brand phone don't buy this model or any of the other models from HTC. I don't recommend this phone at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC One V

Would not recommend this phone

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
cc22mms
From:  Ohio
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the HTC 4G 3D & loved it, til one day it just quit working. They no longer sell it so I got this HTC One V. BIG MISTAKE. First few days I thought it was a little slow & was figuring out how everything works. The battery life is GREAT, but that could be because I don't use it very much because of how slow it is. My alarm picks & chooses which days it actually wants to go off to wake me up. Last night and today it is constantly freezing up, VERY SLOW, I'm ready to flush it down the toilet. It doesn't matter if I'm connected to WiFi or just going through 3G, it is NOT worth the money. I just got this phone about 2 weeks ago:-(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC One V

Awful

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
aliceskates
From:  Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had 4 or 5 different cell phones in my life, and this was the worst phone out of all of them. The first few months were great; it ran well, the speed was good. Then after about six months the speed of the phone slowed tremendously. The screen is not responsive, and it turns off on it's own. The phone overheats and dies in a matter of minutes if you leave certain applications like Facebook open, and apps don't always respond to changes you make via the web (i.e. telling your devices to notify you when a certain person emails you.) Overall, this phone was not worth the money I paid for it. I love Virgin Mobile's service, but this phone was quite disappointing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC One V

Cannot recomend HTC phones Bad experience oveall

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MCBnotothisphone
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I did use my HTC for several years. I was stuck with it since it cost hundreds of dollars and I wasn't just going to eat the cost. It does have good features, however the both the phone hardware and OS it runs had non stop issues. The biggest problem was the phone speaker broke where I could only hear it if I used speaker phone mode. Second big issue is the phone randomly would begin heating up and drain the battery within minutes. Makes for a completely unreliable phone use. Eventually the phone got to a point it would not stay on for any length of time and power off and power on randomly, The battery was replaced and was not the issue. Going to Apple although they did not have all the features I wanted.
Pros: good feature support
Cons: phone reliability, os
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC One V

Not Good

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
alaska8456
From:  Raleigh NC
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this phone because i though HTC made quality phones. the camera's great but the processor is so slow, and not worth the money I paid for it. The phone's structure is beautiful, it 's just the software that makes the HTC One V a bad choice. Also the lack of a front camera was a bad move.
Pros: the camera, the structure
Cons: processor, apps, software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC One V

Starts off good, ends up bad

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tulipia
From:  CA
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for over a good year and I can say this phone is pretty average. In the first 6 months of having it, it worked like a charm and I loved it after losing my previous phone. But, once its reaches around 6+ months, it starts to go downhill. It glitches, it becomes really slow, and isn't worth having anymore. Ever since I first got it, the Beats feature has never really done anything to the sound and it overheats so fast. Overall, it's fine but, I'm planning on getting another phone.
Pros: durable for a small phone, good first phone, pretty screen
Cons: overheats, slow, glitches, not reliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...42next>>