Customer Reviews for HTC One V

HTC One V

This smartphone has a lightning-quick 1-GHz processor and is powered by Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) so you can surf, stream, share and download faster than ever. Everything you hear on your phone - from music and videos to games and YouTube - is rich and authentic with Beats Audio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.855 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(807 Reviews) 807
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 807 reviews
5 stars
368
4 stars
186
3 stars
93
2 stars
88
1 star
72
542 out of 75672%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC One V
Review 1 for HTC One V

Decent phone, extremely sluggish after 7-8 months

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ksauce
From:  Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've owned my HTC One V for right around a year. At first it seemed like exactly what I wanted out of a phone. I've mostly used it for playing music, text messaging, light games, and some internet browsing. For the first 7 or 8 months, it worked seemingly fine.
However, over the past 4-5 months, the phone has become unbearably sluggish and nearly unusable. The average response time for any action I take with the phone is around 10 to 20 seconds. I can't get Google Maps driving directions to even load properly. If I restart the phone, it works decently again for a few minutes, but it quickly becomes sluggish again.
I would not wish this phone upon my worst enemy. If I wasn't ordering a new phone right now, this phone would likely end up in pieces after I throw it against a brick wall.
Cons: becomes sluggish over time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC One V

One huge glaring dealbreaker flaw that should have been fixed long ago

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sleepyhead
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this phone a lot, as a phone. Great audio, good battery life, decent camera, not gigantic.
One huge problem. The alarm clock doesn't work. It works at first. For a few months, it's fine. Then the phone starts randomly sleeping through its alarm time. Occasionally at first, then frequently.
It's a problem for this model of phone, not just mine, and for some reason it hasn't been fixed even though the phone has been out for a year.
Cons: alarm clock doesn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC One V

It's reliable

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Soveliss4
From:  Philadelphia
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone is very durable. In the 8 months that I owned the phone i dropped it dozens of times and it only cracked after 6.5 months of having. I suggest getting a case. When texting vertically, the key board is very small . The messages also would not load on the first try when I tapped a conversation. Sometimes I had to tap the name 6 times for the messages to load. When I received group or picture messages I would always have to download the message/picture and that took a while. I could only download the picture while on data and not on wifi. You also cannot have group messages on this phone because it'll separate each message into a different thread. One of the drawbacks is that there is no front facing camera so if you like to snapchat or do a lot of selfies this phone is not for you. When it came to going online it was very slow. I don't recommend it if you're a big data user. The 3G on it is slow and you need really good wifi or service to use the apps to its full potential. Even thought the phone had a lot of cons it still got the job done just not in 3 seconds. You have to take care of this phone. Do not drop it a lot, get a case for it.
Pros: gps, camera, sound, image quality, switching from apps
Cons: data speed, vertical keyboard, picture messaging, group messaging, no front facing camera, text messaging
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC One V

The Good and the Bad

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Shangsta
From:  Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had this phone for about 8 months, the good is that it has amazing audio when you plug in your head phones (Beats Audio), it's small, durable and the battery life is pretty good.
The biggest issues are the performance, the screen is really small, apps load slowly, you will constantly get memory error issues (I can't run instagram and FB messenger at the same time) and it has a tendency to randomly freeze for about three seconds then spazz-out by pocket-dialing someone. I also don't like how hard it is to open text messages, you sometimes have to click 3 or 4 times, I even deleted all my old messages and the problem only improved slightly.
Decent cheap phone but I would honestly just spend the extra money and get the Optimus or Galaxy, maybe you'll save a few bucks now but you will end up paying it back later.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC One V

This phone is okay

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
emc2
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have has this phone for over a year however, the volume went out on me and now I have to plug in head phones to hear what the person on the other line is saying. The coverage is great! I live in a small community so finding a service carrier that works out here is rare. The camera is decent and sometimes the screen will black out but quickly comes back. The battery life works wonderful if you know how to control your usage with running apps. Beats audio on this is really cool and I love it although it does not work if your head phones are not plugged into it. All in all it's a decent phone I would recpomend this phone for someone who has never had an android phone before.
Pros: battery life, coverage
Cons: volume went out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC One V

Just an average phone.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Squid219
From:  Newark, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone has some problems, such as battery life, the headphone jack sometimes spazzes out and claims your still listening to music, apps load without touching them, etc. This phone is good for a teenager asking for their first smart phone. Beats audio is amazing when you plug your headphones in. All in all, its just an average smart phone.
Pros: beats audio, good price
Cons: battery life, spazzes a lot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC One V

What Could Be a Good Phone

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
XanderDylan
From:  Toledo, OH
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From the start (December '12) I could notice a few problems in performance. So I figured out ways of tweaking it without overclocking the phone or installing custom ROM's (turn of animations, close all unnecessary apps) This soon didn't help much as the phone just is becoming more and more aggravating to use. I don't play games on my phone and the only apps I have are Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat. Apps will constantly stop working and the phone will just get increasingly sluggish. I will get texts almost an hour after they were sent. Sometimes I won't have this problem but this has been becoming an increasingly popular problem with the phone. Also, when I go to turn my screen off, almost every time will the backlight is STILL be on if you look closely. I have to press the power button a few times to make sure it's off and it just gets aggravating. I'm looking to see if I can get this phone replaced with a different phone on the store.
Pros: htc sense 4.0 is an awesome os, camera quality is good, beats audio
Cons: constant lag, recieves texts late no matter the signal strength, slow text input
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC One V

GET SOMETHING ELSE

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for about 7 months now and everyday that goes by since the first day, something else stops working. I cant even make a phone call now without experiencing some sort of trouble like my phone freezing or just not executing my commands.
I did a lot of research before buying this phone, Its suppose to have pretty descent speed and the phone looks and feels really nice but I strongly recommend you to spend a little bit more on a better phone. By the way this is my second phone, I had to return the first one after a week because it died on me.
Basic function that stopped working on the phone:
Alarm clock
Phone calls
Pandora
SD card reader
Basically every other function that you want/need on a smartphone.
Pros: battery life, looks great, dont get this phone
Cons: speed, alarm clock, every basic smartphone fucntion
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC One V

Slowest Phone I ever owned

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TedE
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is the slowest phone I have ever used. It is way underpowered and takes 30 seconds to open a text or write an email, this is just to open the email. If it had a faster processor it might be a decent phone but in my opinion this thing is way underpowered. Steer clear of this and get yourself an Iphone or a more powerful droid you will not be happy with this phone at all.
Pros: lots of apps
Cons: performance really bad
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC One V

Lags and freezes after a while

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
WandaO
From:  Dumfries, VA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I thought it was a decent phone at first. It got basic tasks done for the first few months. But as months and months went by, the slower it became. I'd always get frustrated over opening text messages, I'd have to click on it repeatedly for it to load. I had the Square Card reader app installed for my business. But due to the phone's slow performance, my client's credit card was charged twice. After the incident, I had to get rid of it and replace it with a more reliable phone; which was worth every penny. As for the plan, I couldn't be more satisfied and the service has been great as well.
Cons: slow performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC One V

Painfully Slow

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
savvyshopper19
From:  Utah
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I really wanted to like this phone, but it's been nothing but trouble from day 1. My old flip phone worked better. It lags on everything. If you get a text and respond it will frequently keep it marked unread. It is frequently unresponsive to any kind of touch. Sometimes I have to wait a full minute for a simple text message to load. The battery drains very quickly when I'm using the GPS function. Avoid this phone!
Cons: everything
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC One V

It's a decent phone.

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
OhhhhYeahh4567
From:  WV
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had my HTC one V for about a year now, and overall it's a good phone. But it has started to slow down, and freeze a little. It doesn't happen everyday. But it is a lot slower then before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC One V

phone was only good for a few months

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MMMissy
From:  boston, ma
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this phone a year ago and I'd say about 4 months ago it just started acting very slow and barely functional. It takes me forever to open apps, it doesn't display weather, doesn't notify me of new emails. I sometimes get texts hours after they were sent. I have to hold the power button down repeatedly to get it to turn on. Really disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC One V

Good solid phone but unheard of plans

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Learimfroste
From:  Ua
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started my Virgin Mobile experience with the htc one v. I loved this phone, unfortunately i dropped and broke the screen. They have since discontinued the phone but if you can find one on ebay its worth whatever the seller is asking. Its fast and can do anything a top of the line phone can. The phone is nothing compared to Virgins plans. $35 a month for unlimited data and text. Thats ridiculous. Where else can you get a deal like that. Verizon and at&t require you to give up any children born during the contract period as well as taking a life insurance policy naming them as beneficiaries. All for like 50mb a month in data.
Pros: the plan, seriously the plan
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC One V

Very Laggy

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
longboarddude
From:  California
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Phone lags when opening messages and performing other basic tasks. Sometimes it will take me up to a minute before I'm able to actually type a message. I've had it for a year and this behavior started about 5 months into my time with it. I would not buy this phone again or recommend it to a friend. It's probably worth it to save up for a better, more expensive phone, even if it means living with one of lower quality for a while. Also, battery life isn't very good. I have to have brightness all the way down and all the radios (WiFi, GPS, etc.) turned off to get through the day. The phone heats up randomly sometimes as well for no apparent reason which also dramatically reduces battery life. This model is several years old now though, and is basically obsolete compared to the phones on the market now.
Pros: cheap
Cons: lag, battery, no front camera
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC One V

Very Easy to Use

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
MEH1989
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Phone started out great!
I've only had it for 8 months and the battery lasts only a few hrs of use, messaging does not work and I had to download a SMS app to even use texting, speakers cannot handle loud or high pitched sounds they crack and squeal, disappointing for a phone that is suppose to have great sound.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC One V

Phone is slow but good for the price

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
snowbunny97123
From:  portland or
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More you have on it the slower is goes. Sometimes takes a minute to open up text menu. Once you have it open you click on a thread and it will go back to messages menu have to press the thread 5 times before conversation will open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC One V

Slow and aggravating.

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jamesaw
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phone started out to be kind of neat. Beats Audio sounds awesome and it had a fancy look about it physically and the screen icons. But it's not anything fast it lags even when there is one task. No matter what browser you use even the one that comes with it, it is slow and laggy then facebook is not responding will pop up or something else making it even more infuriating. Is durable though I've thrown it out of my car at 30 miles an hour and it still works and the battery life is great. Otherwise it's absolute junk and I will no longer buy HTC products.
Pros: sound, battery life, camara, look, durability
Cons: internet on any browser., freezes on simple tasks., reception., laggy with any app., may cause a rise in blood pressure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC One V

I love it.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvsToTweet
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I will swear by this phone. Of course it is slow once and a while just like every other phone but just restart it and it is great again. Battery tends to last all day, especially when hooked up to WiFi. One of the best phones I have had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC One V

Pretty good

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mar89
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had this phone for a little less than a year and it was pretty good overall. I think the camera is decent, but the color was always slightly off, even when I changed the settings. Also there isn't a front-facing camera. Facebook and Instagram loaded fairly quickly on this phone. I had issues towards the end with messaging. For some reason whenever I clicked on a message it would start loading for a second and then go back to the main menu. I don't feel like the beats audio really made that much of a difference when listening to music. The battery life seemed pretty good to me. Overall, I think this is a good phone to get if you don't want to buy one of the really expensive phones from virgin mobile.
Pros: fast browsing, storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...41next>>