Customer Reviews for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Ovation MC760 USB Device

Plug this USB device into your laptop and connect to the internet from almost anywhere in the country. Surf the web, check email, download files, and more - all at lightning-fast speed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 1275%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Ovation MC760 USB Device
Review 1 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Works!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lexworth
From:  Bristol, CT
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work great for an Internet connection on the go or for a short term backup. I've had this modem for 3+ years and use it with a portable CradlePoint CTR350 wifi router and never had any problems with it. At home I use a land line but use mobile broadband on the go. I've been able to Skype while traveling in a car.
Depending on your location and the coverage effects the speed of the connection. I travel the east cost and my connection is fine plus it is a pay as you go service, their are not many service providers that offer that. 
Pros: every thing
Cons: non
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Constantly switches to lowest connection speed

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
bbell
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I no longer use cable. I needed something to connect to the internet for bill paying, to review emails and to visit a few forums. When this device connects at 3.1 mbps it works quite well. However it constantly drops to 153.6 kbps. When that happens almost no advance page will load. You get timed out errors. Also at that speed you are wasting your download allowance. Because the page will not completely load. This can be very frustrating when trying to pay bills or just trying to do modest web surfing. Since the network connection drops down to 153.6 kbs in just about every internet secession I can not recommend this device if the internet is important to you if only for about 30 minutes a day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Run.... don't walk away from this product.

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Code
From:  Martinsburg, WV
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this product for a year or so and have finally given up on this product. If you have 6-8 hours each day to try to get on the internet then this might be for you. You consistently get (no device detected) no matter what you do. You can reboot, uninstall and reinstall, run device manager, run safe mode, and do just about anything and everything. This is a common problem as there are millions of blogs about this very same issue. I have read them all. I have done them all. I have been to the EVDo website. I have talked to someone who of course only speak Hindi and read from a script. This is a major bug that cannot be fixed by any means and I would say that as an advanced user. When it did recognize the device, which was rare, it worked wondefully. And then the next day nothing. Bill Gates himself could not fix this product.
Cons: buggier than virginia in august
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
26of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Excellent product for an economy price.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
KitTown
From:  Northeast Ohio
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in a very rural area and normally get only one bar of service. Even then the web service is good, comparable to the wifi service at the local state college. I bought this at WalMart and it has a $20 a month 1 GB usage special on it.
This is a good device for the casual user who does online banking, bill paying, news, occasional movies, and basic information lookup.
This is a sturdy product, but will not hold up under continual rough usage. Take care of it and it will last for years.
I do not recommend this for an intense user that expects instant downloads of all information, or for avid gamers who constantly use internet connected games.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
42of 57voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Great Buy!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Alexandra
From:  Las Vegas, Nevada
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this device earlier in the year and it still works. I can easily use this anywhere I am and the connection stays high with no problems with fast speeds when surfing the web! This helps me easily take classes online.
Pros: fast speed, portable, easy connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Performance was not what was offered

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Teacher2
From:  Syracuse, UT
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a teacher and bought this device so I had internet to do schoolwork anywhere. I also have a Virgin Mobile phone. Coverage is supposedly good in my area. I never have problems with my phone. But when I try to do anything on the internet I am stuck. Last night it took 45 MINUTES to load the Virgin Mobile website. That was the only thing my computer was doing. I have tried using different computers with the same results. Loading Word documents from my students to correct just never happens. I certainly would not recommend this product to anyone.
Cons: doesn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
26of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

This product provides internet connection.

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CollegeStudentwithMohawk
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I need this when I am no where near a hotspot location and I need to finish some online homework. Then it is reliable for me to plug into my laptop and be connected just in less time that my slow laptop can start.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Ovation MC760 has been EXCELLENT

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
gogogo
From:  Dallas, OR
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I received as gift 2 1/2 years ago. It has been constantly used ever since. Once in a while it has a fluke that says it has malfunctioned but usually starting whole system over kicks it back into operation. It has no problem at all connecting, staying connected, and is very fast surfing and downloading! Plus, way cost effective compared to most any choice out there. Need the unlimited plan for watching many videos and stuff though BECAUSE THEN IT SUCKS THE PAID MB right away from your account.
Pros: absolutely everything
Cons: videos use up paid mb fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

It works

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
billc
From:  Jacksonville, FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not much to say other than it works. One annoying quirk is when you disconnect it and go to home wifi or other wifi setup the status screen for it keeps popping up. It is simply a nuisance. not a big deal. Speed is good, but not great. We are not talking 4G here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Great Peace of Mind

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DebM
From:  North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I travel a lot, both pleasure and some business. With the Broadband To Go we are not dependent on, nor concerned about, picking up a wireless signal at various locations. This device makes being a remote employee 100% dependable!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
25of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Not bad for the price, Actually its pretty decent!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MSWIsh
From:  NC
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only issue i Had was my pcs fault!...lol..the product worked just fine for me, its was a lil slow at times but still a connection is a connection.
+10points
24of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

This product works great when free WiFi spots are unavailable

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BIBSURFER
From:  Baton Rouge, LA
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used the MC760 for almost 2 years and recommend it highly. I primarily use it when vacationing at the Padre Island National Seashore near Corpus Christi, Texas. Because of the remote location, most cellphones do not work very well (AT&T is horrible), but Virgin Mobile and the MC760 work consistently and well. The connection is usually good enough to allow streaming of CNBC and to make phone calls using SKYPE. The Walmart plan for $20 for 1 gigabyte of data is a real bargain. Since I got my MC760, eight of my windsurfing friends have also become users of Virgin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+47points
59of 71voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ovation MC760 USB Device

Mobile Broadband

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jessy70615
From:  Lake Charles, La
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Broadband works for me and I like the services, and the rates plans fit my budget nicely. I have no complaint about my services I just love it. I would recommend this to everyone that is on a budget. Thank you for my services Virgin Mobile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
50of 81voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Palaimo
North Port, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Palaimo is loaded.
Additional information about Palaimo could not be loaded.
Wrong Review-Right Item/Right Item-Wrong Review
Posted November 16, 2011
I think this review is for something else
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)