Customer Reviews for Samsung Intercept

Samsung Intercept

Go crazy on Android with this 3G smartphone. Featuring a 3.2" touchscreen, Android Market (choose from over 100,000 apps), QWERTY keyboard, & 3.2 MP camera.
Average Customer Rating:
2.477 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(2206 Reviews) 2202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 2,206 reviews
5 stars
286
4 stars
330
3 stars
323
2 stars
478
1 star
789
671 out of 2,10832%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Intercept
Review 1 for Samsung Intercept

Great value for a smartphone!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
pyrogre24
From:  Landenberg, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Samsung Intercept is a great phone for the price. Even though it is only a 3G smartphone, you still get a good amount of bang for your buck. It is perfect for the person that wants the functionality of a smartphone without breaking the bank. You get all things you would want and expect from a decent smartphone, from the excellent MP3 player, internet access, Google Play, and the ease of texting with the QWERTY slider keyboard. The only improvement I would suggest on the phone itself would be a better digital camera, while it is a 3.2 Megapixel camera, Samsung could have integrated a better setup there, but other than that this is an excellent phone for someone who wants an Android phone without sacrificing cost. This phone shows that Samsung knows how to reach more than just a high end market.
Pros: value, samsung
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
-18points
1of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Intercept

Worst product ever owned

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Interceptistheworst
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a very active texter, caller, and big on checking my email on my phone. I estimated that I spend up to 2 to 3 hours a day waiting for this phone to load, stop crashing, recover, etc. This phone has been the biggest frustration in my life, and I absolutely hate it. The battery dies very quickly, if you kill apps, they restart so fast that it's useless to kill them, and thus the batter dies even faster. There will be points where it has been crashed for up to 6 to 8 hours. I take out the battery, put it back in, restart it again, and still crashed. For 8 hours. That is nearly the entirety of the work day, so you can guess it can get you into a lot of trouble. This phone has been nothing but a burden, and I urge you not to buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Intercept

JUNK!!!

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
nolachick
From:  New Orleans, LA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is THE worst phone I have ever had! I hate everything about it!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Intercept

freezes too much

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  williamsville, new york
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
facebook and youtube usually freezes, i cracked this phones screen once, and then i got another phone and its so slow, battery is not the best either
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Intercept

This smart phone is frustrating

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Awol
From:  texas
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had this phone for almost 6 months and it amazes me how much this phone has frustrated me. It freezes nonstop (no malware/plenty of memory), it takes too long to load the apps shortcuts on the main screens, and it has a hard time waking up sometimes.
It's my fault for not reading reviews before buying, but I was in the store and needed a replacement phone badly. If I had known, I would've spent a few more bucks an got a different phone.
Do not buy this particular phone.
Cons: freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Intercept

DO NOT BUY

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SuperFrustratedCustomer
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is the most frustrating thing I've ever owned! The first few months (after getting a replacement phone from my original one) it was working alright. It would get text really late or not at all sometimes, and wouldn't get picture messages and I have good coverage at my house. Now I've had it for 11 months and it's absolutally horrible. It randomly shuts off atleast 2 times a day if not more And it's ALWAYS when I need it most. Like when I'm about to call my parents or friend. Also the touch screen is bad, I will have a incoming call and I will try to answer it repeatedly but nothing will happen and it will keep ringing until it goes to voicemail. Then when I try to call right back it will start to slow down and freeze up and then shut off! I cannot stand it since I rely on my phone for communication with everyone, I'm dying to get a new one but I don't want to buy another phone like this one. DO NOT BUY IT is a I have to say in the end.
Pros: nothing
Cons: random shutting off, cannot answer calls, doesn't get all texts
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Intercept

Good for a 10 year old

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LikeNoContract
From:  St. Paul, MN
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1) why does the text address field automatically put a comma after the first character you enter?
2) why does the text address field refuse to let you remove the comma, without drama?
3) often locks up not allowing you to answer the phone
4) moves at snails pace
5) why can't I remove pre installed apps if I don't want them, to make space for the apps I do want since some apps can only be loaded to the phone not an sd card.
My 10 year old needs a phone due to after school activities. Hey, it's an android it's touchscreen, should get her some props w/her friends.....
Pros: 10 year olds will love it!
Cons: i could go on..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Intercept

I hate this phone

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
healthgeek121
From:  Boston,Massachusetts
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ive only had this phone for a year and im getting rid of it as soon as i can. I would think it should last longer becuase of how much it cost. Ive never hated somthing more than i hate this phone. It constantly freezes, shuts off, tells me i dont have enough space ect. Its one of the only androids that doesnt allow you to get instagram. I miss calls or cant pick up calls because it freezes so much. My messaging will randomly stop working where i cant send or recieve anthing. I cant stand it. This phone has made me age 10 years
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Intercept

Just don't.

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ckearney
From:  Colfax, WA
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for maybe 6 months and I absolutely hate it. It freezes ALL THE TIME. The "power-off" button, also just so happens to be the "end-call" button so if you're on the phone and would like to turn the screen off so your ear would stop pressing buttons, you'll just be hanging up. You can't use any apps because of how incredibly slow this phone is. And don't even think about asking a friend to send you a picture because you won't be able to open it. Before this phone, I had a Rumor Touch (which is also a horrible phone) but I would rather that non-android than this.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Intercept

just no.

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Girlwiththehorriblephone
From:  Chicago
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was and is my first phone so I was very excited at first. After a few months it started freezing, skipping calls, not sending messages, and I just hate it now. I regret getting it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Intercept

Worst phone EVER (not exaggerating)

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ispeakthetruth
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you value your sanity, do not buy this phone.
If you value your time and do not want to be calling customer service WEEKLY (yes weekly), do not buy this phone.
If you want a phone that does not compel you to throw it against a brick wall at least 3 times a day, do not by this phone.
Spend a little more money an get ANY other phone. This phone is the reason I will be switching to Boost Mobile next month.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Intercept

Awful phone

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
hannibal
From:  Chicago
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stay away. Phone is so slow that it's almost unusable. Have missed calls and been unable to place calls due to its glacial pace. Requires aggressive app killing and memory management. Every app runs slowly. Battery life won't last through a 12-hr day. Miserable, retchid, high-blood-pressure and grey-hair-inducing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Intercept

It worked for maybe 3 months

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Zodiac
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
after teh first three months it was been nothing but trouble. Keep in mind I have had not water damage never dropped it. It constantly freezes and restarts. it will say the battery is full the drop to 0 . its quite annoying I'm shopping for a new phone as soon as I'm done with this review
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Intercept

this product is slow and annoying

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
rachelredwine
From:  joplin mo
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this phone tends to freeze and shut down a lot, plus it is really really slow.
Pros: camera
Cons: slow, freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Intercept

Great for temporary use

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mockingjay254
From:  new york, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone was outstanding for the first three months that I used it. Then..... It started freezing, calls started dropping, games would not load, and text messages would not send. Also hard drive is very small. I would reccomend the Samsung Intercept to any young users who do not download many apps. Also I would reccomend the phone to users who are looking into a temporary phone. For any hardcore users, I would probably go with an iPhone or Motorola Droid X2.
Pros: qwerty keyboard, sound quality, call sound quality, graphics
Cons: speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Intercept

Sluggish junk

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So many times trying to do things like answer phone calls this phone is freezing up and basically a lump in the pocket. Lately it's been shutting down on its own very often (less than 2 year old phone). It's nice having the smart phone features in a very affordable package, but it I can't imagine how those features could be worse in actual practice.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Intercept

Don't buy this phone!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
twinnotwo
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't know why Virgin Mobile is still selling this phone. The only thing I found it good for was texting and browsing internet. If you install too many apps, it will bog down and freeze up. Mine locked up last night and booted itself. It has yet to come back on for me. When it was working, I had to keep apps to a minimum, the bare necessities if you will. I haven't had service for a while (my choice), but I was using it with my home Wi-Fi. It's time to part ways with this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Intercept

I have had nothing but problems

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
customersince2008
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It freezes up to much and im on my 5 replacement phone!!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dissatisfiedcustomer2
 
Please wait while more information about Dissatisfiedcustomer2 is loaded.
Additional information about Dissatisfiedcustomer2 could not be loaded.
Posted October 31, 2012
I sure hope Virgin Mobile and/or Samsung can read this! Why haven't they sent you a different phone rather than send you the same exact one?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Samsung Intercept

i'd try something else if i where you

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
blech
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i got this phone originally because of the keyboard and price. the keyboard is flawless, buttons responsive and easy to use even with my bog fingers, which is about the only unreservedly good thin i can say about this phone. it has been twitchy since the day i got it. apps crash,
the phone locks up solid, and everything runs geologically slow. and don't even get me started on the constant phantom notifications that have me dragging it out of my pocket only to find out it's lying to me again. it has been survivable for the year i've had it, but i have to pull the battery to restart it almost every bloody day, and problems have increased in the last couple months. when in finally bricked i almost heaved a sigh of relief to be done with the stupid thing.
Pros: inexpensive, keyboard
Cons: twitchy as a mental patient, slow as evolution
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Intercept

Tragic phone...the worst I've ever seen!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
biggh
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Paid twice as much for this phone as I just did for my Kyocera Rise. Couldn't even get two years out of this piece of junk. Within two months, phone was freezing and shutting down. This was followed by phone refusing to boot up. Spent the last year never knowing if the phone would cut on. Had to quit turning it off because it would take 4hrs to get it to cut on. Sadly bought the same phone for my wife and she would be near to tears trying to do the simplest task. Between the two phones we experienced constant freezing and restarting, freezing at startup, constant unprompted changes in our settings, mysterious messages and voicemail notifications that wouldn't go away, unresponsive screens, and the list goes on and on. We gave our old phones to our daughter and they are barely powerful enough to play simple games like Brick Breaker. She's 7 and she's disappointed in their performance! NEVER BUY!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...111next>>