Customer Reviews for LG Optimus V

LG Optimus V

Powered by the innovative Android operating system, the LG Optimus V offers customization options that are purely delightful. The stylish, 3.2-inch touch screen provides for a mobile experience that is both fun and functional. With over 100,000 of free and paid applications that offer unique functions from scanning bar codes to Facebooking, the Android App Market and the Optimus V give you plenty to smile about.
Average Customer Rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(3539 Reviews) 3536
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 3,539 reviews
5 stars
1,891
4 stars
913
3 stars
325
2 stars
230
1 star
180
2,794 out of 3,39182%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for LG Optimus V
Review 1 for LG Optimus V

LG Optimus V is a decent, fairly inexpensive, introduction to the capabilities of Android.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kfaber093
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had owned this phone for nearly a year and have gathered enough experience to properly review this product for other potential owners.
This is a durable, well built device that is well priced for what it does.
It's positives include a durable build, a responsive GPS and google Maps capability, loud speaker and external audio, as well a solid battery, if you download a battery conserving app such as juice defender. Its largest downfall which is merely of preference, is the slow processor. Using this phone for simple apps and limited internet browsing, you will find it to be flawless. But due to the 600 Mhz processor, it is unable to smoothly run games like Angry Birds or any taxing apps. However there are still a plethora of apps and games that will be run fine. The small screen may be difficult to work with at times but with the spell check and user dictionary, it makes up for its lack of size while texting. Overall, after buying a hard rubber case, downloading an app task killer and battery defender, I have found this phone to a reliable, basic android device that will perform well if not expected to be run like a high end android device.
Pros: durability, gps, audio, battery, ease of use
Cons: tiny screen (preference), slow processor for taxing apps and games
I would recommend this to a friend!
+107points
111of 115voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AReviewer
Wausau, WI
 
Please wait while more information about AReviewer is loaded.
Additional information about AReviewer could not be loaded.
but... can it make a decent phone call?
Posted July 9, 2013
Hi! Thanks for your detailed review. I have to replace my vm phone )LG Rumor Touch) which had good voice quality and I am wondering if you use your phone to make calls? Would you recommend it as an only phone for use during phone job interviews?
Thanks for your help!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for LG Optimus V

So sturdy you have no reason to upgrade.

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wendenator
From:  Los Angeles, CA.
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The LG Optimus V may not be the smartest of the smart phones but it has everything that other Android phones offer and It never breaks. I have dropped it on concrete, thrown it against walls (accidentally), and have gotten more use out of it than most others do with more expensive phones. The camera could use a flash or back lighting, but that is my only complaint. With insurance, i am paying only $30 per month. I have no reason to upgrade to a different phone. Virgin Mobile ROCKS!
Pros: awesome phone, screen never breaks or cracks
Cons: camera needs back lighting or flash
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Optimus V

Good phone-lousy memory

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
RunnerGrnwd
From:  Indiana
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OVerall have had this phone for 3 years. Durable and overall reliable.
Only two bad things is it uses up internal memory to fast and you can not move all apps to external memory card. This causes issues with operation and having to clear cache on numerous apps. I have tried certain apps to help manage but still same issue.
Second major issue is camera is not that great and sometimes causes the phone to reboot. Very annoying!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Optimus V

Good basic smart phone, poor for texting

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
TonyMB
From:  Virginia, USA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You get what you pay for. This is very basic smart phone. For making telephone calls and occasional texting it is ok. But because of its size and the small keyboard buttons (that are not very responsive) anyone that does a significant amount of texting will find this phone very frustrating. The same is true for using apps, again the small screen and virtual keyboard does not make this app friendly. The most significant drawback with regard to apps is the lack of memory. Load Google maps and you are pretty much done. Very few apps will load to the SD card.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Optimus V

This is the worst phone ever

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MeganMakesCute
From:  Fountain CO
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's terrible. Don't waste your money. It crashes, deletes files, dies, has no storage space. Horrible. Awful.
Cons: terrible., waste, storage space
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Optimus V

Poorly managed OS

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rockanj
From:  US
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although this phone is easy to use it has one main drawback, the Android OS is poorly implemented. Even though I have a 32GB SD card in the phone I can't add apps since the OS always tries to put it on the phone's memory. If I add a new app, an old app then disappears. There are also numerous apps on the phone that I don't use and can't delete, that take up this valuable phone memory. Any photos I take also aren't put onto the SD card, but mysteriously are deleted from the phone soon after taking the photo. Overall, this is one of the worst phones, and one of the worst tech gadgets I've ever owned. Not even worth its budget price....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Optimus V

Great entry level

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BillyW1000
From:  Akron Oh
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first "smart phone". I got fed-up with the "Big Phone Co." pay as you go, so I thought, why not give Virgin mobile a try. I don't spend a lot of time on the phone or texting so I didn't need anything extravagant. I have only had the phone a couple weeks and am very happy with it. I didn't read the directions and had it figured out in no time, very simple to use. The virtual keyboard is pretty good if you turn the phone sidways, I have kind-of fat calloused fingers due to my job and only hit the wrong key once in a while. I like all the free aps available. Also the phone service and 3G is pretty decent. It is way better than I expected for the money. I have no complaints as of yet. The battery will stay charged a long time if you go into settings and shut off data when not in use.
Pros: great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Optimus V

Not what it used to be

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
digitalrico
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've own two optimus V's and I enjoyed the first one but was very laggy... I got that phone when it first came out. Now my newer Optimus V is utter garbage! They have removed sensors. The back button broke way too easily. Google play won't install anything. It’s just a garbage phone... I do not recommend. It's of lower quality of when the phone was first released. Do Not Buy!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Optimus V

Overall Good Phone

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Neji795
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is a pretty good phone especially if your just now getting into the smart phone world i suggest this phone to people between 35-50
Pros: very simple easy to use phone, durable
Cons: lacks apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Optimus V

Good Starter Phone

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
SportyGirl23
From:  Mid-Michigan
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like every phone the first year or so of having this phone it ran well. However, I do not do much on this phone except check email, Facebook, text, and call so keep that in mind when buying this phone. It's a durable phone and I never had to get a case for it. All I had was a screen protector on it. One aspect that I've never been happy with is the camera quality. The camera is absolutely horrid.
Now, after two years of having this phone, it randomly shuts down even when I'm using it. Though, I do believe this is due to a bad battery as the battery life isn't what it used to be either.
So, I would only recommend this phone for short-term and for your basics. If you are looking for something more technical, go to a different phone.
Pros: starter phone
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Optimus V

BAD PHONE!!!!!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  Soddy Daisy, TN
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I very much dislike this phone.
Do not get it!!!!!
Cons: it's horrible
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Optimus V

Good Quality Phone

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Just2simple
From:  Long Island
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just signed up with Virgin Mobile after leaving Verizon due to their expensive planes/rates. This phone is sturdy, not cheap looking and has decent size screen. My old phone was basic texting/voice calls and didnt have a touch screen. I'm not heavy on the web or with downloading apps so this is a good starter phone for me. I was able to keep my old number and actviate the new phone on line without having to speak with a customer service rep. However, if you keep your old number you must provide your account number & account pin for the previous cell service carrier you had during the activation process on the Virgin Mobile web site but its easy.
Pros: quality size performance, price
Cons: keypad letters are small
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Optimus V

Not a good smartphone

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
CH1986
From:  Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone for over two years now and can say that it's great if you want your basic talk and text phone to look like a smartphone, but not actually be one. If you are actually looking for a smartphone that you can download apps on or watch movies move on, this one is not for you! Any time I get a invite for a new game or app it's "not available for my model of phone". When I actually find an app I can download it takes up all the memory on my phone. And guess what? Most everything that I have downloaded is unavailable to move to my SD card. So I am stuck with a phone that has a pitiful amount of memory to begin with and an SD card with tons of room but it won't let me move anything to it. So frustrating! Spend a little bit more a get a better phone!
Cons: no memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Optimus V

Trouble since I bought it.

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
jconley
From:  indiana
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This has been one of the worst phones I've owned from Virgin Mobile. The battery does not last at all. It resets and shuts off on it's own and will not keep apps on an sd card. It forces you to keep stuff on your phone that is worthless and takes up the memory. You can't store a lot of the apps on a sd card either. Smart phone? I think not. Don't waste your money. They won't do anything about it either as long as it makes and takes calls.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Optimus V

Bought in 2011

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
neen
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for a couple of years now, and to be honest, despite it's few bad characteristics, it's proven to be extremely durable. I've dropped it numerous times to the degree where the battery falls out and it remains physically unblemished. Maybe this is why it will go through freezing spells that require restarts (?). The low memory is also an issue. I've tried deleting the apps that came on the phone, but this is not an option. Other than that, It's easy to use, very good value for your money, and as durable as they come. If you can deal with these minor glitches, you've found a good phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Optimus V

stays alive for a while

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
cfa21
From:  sacramento, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
freezes and runs slow. would not recommend...but it will stay alive for days in airplane mode...
Pros: battery life
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Optimus V

good phone but storage space is lacking

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bec24
From:  New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i had this phone for over a year and this was my first smart phone. overall i didn't think it was bad. my biggest problem with it was that it repeatedly ran low on space. The messaging also ran out of space often. The battery life was fair and pretty easy to work. Again the only problem I ever had with this phone was the storage space on the phone
Cons: storage space
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Optimus V

Not a Great Choice.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
jahhp
From:  Chicago
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my second Optimus (the first was replaced under warranty) and I couldn't be any LESS enthused about this phone. It is fairly intuitive to use, the battery life is decent, but I have had WAY too many issues with this phone.
I have to remove the battery quite often to allow the phone to re-start as it freezes up on me. This is very annoying and I will not purchase an LG phone ever again.
It is slow to respond to touches as well. Not sure if this is the phone all the time, or if it's Virgin Mobile's (Sprint's actually) network.
I'm trying to get 2 years out of this phone, but I think I may be switching to a Samsung Galaxy sooner.
I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Optimus V

Mine was always crashing

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
bottlerocket
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My Optimus V could hardly even handle my contacts, and I only had about 70. Also, doing simple tasks like taking a picture or starting a route on the Navigation app would make the entire phone crash, and the phone would turn itself off and then back on again. If it happened while I was using Navigation, I would have to just pull over and wait for the phone to restart itself so I could start getting directions again. It also comes with 5 or 6 apps that you can not delete off the phone and just take up space. You will be way better off with a cheap phone and a separate GPS. I had to put up with my Optimus V for a year and 8 months, so it wasn't just bugging out on me. It's just a bad phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Optimus V

Had this phone for two years and its hardly ever glitched

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
girly77
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this phone for two years and its hardly ever glitched. Could have more internal storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...177next>>