Customer Reviews for LG Optimus V

LG Optimus V

Powered by the innovative Android operating system, the LG Optimus V offers customization options that are purely delightful. The stylish, 3.2-inch touch screen provides for a mobile experience that is both fun and functional. With over 100,000 of free and paid applications that offer unique functions from scanning bar codes to Facebooking, the Android App Market and the Optimus V give you plenty to smile about.
Average Customer Rating:
4.155 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(3557 Reviews) 3554
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 3,557 reviews
5 stars
1,893
4 stars
921
3 stars
328
2 stars
232
1 star
183
2,804 out of 3,40882%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for LG Optimus V
Review 1 for LG Optimus V

LG Optimus V is a decent, fairly inexpensive, introduction to the capabilities of Android.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kfaber093
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had owned this phone for nearly a year and have gathered enough experience to properly review this product for other potential owners.
This is a durable, well built device that is well priced for what it does.
It's positives include a durable build, a responsive GPS and google Maps capability, loud speaker and external audio, as well a solid battery, if you download a battery conserving app such as juice defender. Its largest downfall which is merely of preference, is the slow processor. Using this phone for simple apps and limited internet browsing, you will find it to be flawless. But due to the 600 Mhz processor, it is unable to smoothly run games like Angry Birds or any taxing apps. However there are still a plethora of apps and games that will be run fine. The small screen may be difficult to work with at times but with the spell check and user dictionary, it makes up for its lack of size while texting. Overall, after buying a hard rubber case, downloading an app task killer and battery defender, I have found this phone to a reliable, basic android device that will perform well if not expected to be run like a high end android device.
Pros: durability, gps, audio, battery, ease of use
Cons: tiny screen (preference), slow processor for taxing apps and games
I would recommend this to a friend!
+115points
119of 123voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AReviewer
Wausau, WI
 
Please wait while more information about AReviewer is loaded.
Additional information about AReviewer could not be loaded.
but... can it make a decent phone call?
Posted July 9, 2013
Hi! Thanks for your detailed review. I have to replace my vm phone )LG Rumor Touch) which had good voice quality and I am wondering if you use your phone to make calls? Would you recommend it as an only phone for use during phone job interviews?
Thanks for your help!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for LG Optimus V

Good starter phone

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bmfp
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first smart phone. It worked great for a while but after a year it got really slow. (Even after an added SIM card, restarting, deleting apps to make room, etc.) Good for a while but I was ready to move on. :\
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Optimus V

Ol' Reliable

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
RebeccaM
From:  Menomonee Falls, WI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After having this phone for four years, I'm having trouble parting with it. It was an amazing phone. I've dropped it many times and it has had no screen damage whatsoever, I've even accidentally dropped it in snow and rain puddles and it still worked great. Call quality is decent, and I get fair reception in most areas. Over time the battery began to drain very quickly the more I used it - but that didn't bother me too much and the fact that it doesn't drain much on standby made up for it.
After a while this phone became somewhat "obsolete" for most of the "cool" apps, but I could get by with just Facebook, Google, and some other ones. Also, the camera/pic quality isn't the greatest unless you're outside on a sunny day, but I wasn't much of a selfie taker.
Only major problems were some back-logging, would freeze up sometimes, and lately all it does is flash the LG screen. :( Waiting for a reply on that and hoping I can revive it. But if not, this phone served me well for the time I had it, and I would definitely recommend it!
Pros: reliable, durable, long life
Cons: "meh" picture quality, somewhat glitchy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Optimus V

Rating for 2014 use

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Taylor123
From:  Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 25-34
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was not a bad phone in 2011, but it's just not a good choice in 2014. In comparison to anything from 2013-2014, The processor is dog slow, the screen is small and low resolution, the camera is awful and the built in memory is way too tiny. It won't run a lot of new apps since this is on Android 2.2 and most phones are on 4.1+
Considering the several newer models Virgin has in the price range, I just can't see anyone wanting to buy such an old outdated phone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Optimus V

Outdated phone there are better ones for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HereToHelp
From:  Harrisburg, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone was great when it came out a few years but now it is just a fancy paper weight. It has only 140 MB internal memory to use, an outdated android OS and a slow processor. The coverage was great, the phone was very durable, and it is an easy to use phone for first time android users. With the money you are spending on this I recommend looking at the other phones in this price range.
Pros: ease of use, durable
Cons: slow processor, little internal memory, outdated android verison, 3g only
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Optimus V

no Iphone,,,but definitly a great little phone!

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
UpstateNYer
From:  upstate ny
Age: 45-54
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had my Optimus V for over 2 years and it has been an extremely reliable phone. It was my first android phone and was very easy to use.
Pros: reliable/easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Optimus V

This phone is a perfect for anyone that is buying there first touch screen cell phone.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
TFCrazyC77
From:  Maine
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my LG Optimus V for about six years now! I'm ready soon for an upgraded, but that's only because I've had if for so long. It's still a great phone, but it seems like after the time passes it doesn't download as much and I can send pictures to people, but I can't receive any? I can say that this phone is the strongest phone that I have ever seen!!! I have dropped this phone almost everyday and it has falling apart every time, and the screen is not cracked at all! it goes back together very easy and without one scratch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Optimus V

Out-dated

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
David161
From:  Atlanta
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While this phone has performed reliably for the past three years, it is out-dated tech. The OS system will not run my bank's app anymore and the built-in memory is too small. You can load some apps to the extra memory card but many current apps require using the built-in memory and apps get bigger by the day. Too many apps are preloaded and can't be removed without rooting your phone.
It does have a user replaceable battery and I have not had any problems with the network.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Optimus V

decent smartphone, does all that I need, good for a non-gamer

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BonnieBayArea
From:  Bay Area, California
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I agree that the processor would be too slow to play any type of games, etc (although my daughter has played a couple of my phone before). This was my first full function smartphone, and I"ve had it exactly three years this month. I didn't know ANYTHING about data storage and how much space apps would use when I first got the phone. I like that you can move most of the apps to the SD card (I'm stunned that with some newer phones this is NOT an option!). Battery will last 3X as long if you go under setting and make sure GPS location is off (when you aren't actually using it) AND make sure that "background data" (which allows apps to update constantly) is NOT checked. Just do that periodically and turn it off afterwards. I like the "real" buttons on the bottom versus 100 percent touch screen since I sometimes have lotion, oils, soap, etc residue on my hands. My biggest complaint about this phone is that when I don't have it on screen lock, it "purse dials" and "purse texts" quite frequently when phone brushes up against other things in my purse, which might be comical but sometimes I don't want to contact someone at that particular hour!) (I don't say "butt -dials" because I rarely wear it ON me).
Pros: good price, does all the basics, decent battery, move apps to sd card, variety of preinstalled sounds
Cons: camera quality, not good for games
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Optimus V

awful phone

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anne444
From:  Waynesboro, Virginia
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone because I had lost my old phone and this phone is cheap. Worst mistake of my life. I hate this phone. The battery dies before I even get out of school. Twitter deleted its self off of my phone and now it's saying that twitter can not be downloaded because the phone is basically too old to get it. I also can not get most popular games like Candy Crush or temple run etc. very disappointed.
Pros: not so easy to break. the screen is tough.
Cons: no front facing camera can not gete many., can not get many apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MarkSMadison
Madison,WI
 
Please wait while more information about MarkSMadison is loaded.
Additional information about MarkSMadison could not be loaded.
Awful or outdated
Posted July 11, 2014
This was a decent entry level phone 3-4 years ago. I am not surprised people are unhappy with it.
I had one for about several years but some things started not working with Android OS 2.2 so I upgraded. There's cheap phones with faster processors, newer OS,etc. I am not sure why Virgin Mobile started selling this again?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for LG Optimus V

This phone is tough!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jeaner
From:  Utah
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this phone for over two years now, and it has been awesome! I have dropped it countless times, it still works. I have dropped it in a puddle, at first i thought it was done, but after a couple of days, it started working just fine again! And that has happened to me twice! This would make an excellent phone for kids because of how durable it is! I don't know how many more years it will last, but it is still working great! The only thing that i don't like is the battery life. i have even downloaded a juice defender app, and i still have to charge it every night. But other then that it has been a great phone for me. :)
Pros: durable
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Optimus V

sprint is awful

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
chewie20
From:  Appleton, WI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very disappointed after getting this phone. My old phone had a much longer battery life than this one. As soon as I open Facebook my battery life is pretty much being sucked out. After 2 years with this phone the screen lock button is starting to hardly work. They don't even make my top up card anymore, only one store has it. Once that is gone I am switching companies because $35/month is not worth sprints awful service! Full bars and it can't open Facebook or internet. I'm surprised sprint is still in business.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Optimus V

This product doesn't last long.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
lcarmo
From:  El Paso, TX
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this phone and after a year with it, I had to buy it again simply because it was cheap and it stopped working suddenly. Now, same thing happened this time. It stopped working all of a sudden.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Optimus V

Great first smartphone

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From:  Gloversville, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone was my first smartphone after switching from the LG Rumor Touch. I loved this phone so much, the phone seemed to be flawless until the fancy Iphones came out and stuff. I still love this phone today even though I no longer use it I would definitely recommend it to a new smartphone user.
Pros: price, compact, battery life, indestructible
Cons: camera, out of date, internal memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Optimus V

This phone gets boring over time.....

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
UpgradeTime96
From:  Newport news, Virginia
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When I first received my LG Optimus V I was so exited because it was an upgrade from the previous phones I had owned (they weren't touchscreen phones). Now I hate this phone because it's too small, it doesn't allow a lot of apps (even if you buy a memory card), and the battery life is AWFUL! I am planning on upgrading to the LG Volt LTE or a Samsung Galaxy S III.
Pros: nothing
Cons: battery life, memory, processor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Optimus V

Good when it was new

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
phoneexpertoftoday
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was great when it came out, the features were cool and it was at a reasonable price. However today I would not recommend it because it has a short battery life, it can't process much, and there is not enough storage space for today's apps, should I also add that the preinstalled apps are horrible. You can't uninstall most of them and they continue to update themselves. One of them, AirG chat, just takes you to a website. I would save your money and get something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Optimus V

Overall very decent phone

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ffffffffffd
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is still running strong three years later. Unfortunately a part of the screen has died making texting a chore, otherwise I'd continue using it. First three years though? Near flawless.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Optimus V

good phone,

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
iatros
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this phone for a couple of years (or close to it). At first it was great, did everything i need a smartphone to do. The phone is indestructible. I have dropped it at least 3 times, and each time it hit the floor, the casing, backing, and battery would all fly out and I thought the phone was done for, but it still keeps on chugging. The only cons are that there is very little internal storage, so now its impossible to download any apps (which need to download to the phone, before being moved to sd card), fall number 4 may have done something to the speakers (makes weird clicking noises during calls), and the battery life has run down significantly and heats up quickly. Otherwise it is a great starter phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Optimus V

Going on it's 4th year! :D

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
scente990123
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's not real fancy, but gets what I need done. Has survived many drops and that's why it deserves a 5 star rating!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Optimus V

So sturdy you have no reason to upgrade.

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wendenator
From:  Los Angeles, CA.
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The LG Optimus V may not be the smartest of the smart phones but it has everything that other Android phones offer and It never breaks. I have dropped it on concrete, thrown it against walls (accidentally), and have gotten more use out of it than most others do with more expensive phones. The camera could use a flash or back lighting, but that is my only complaint. With insurance, i am paying only $30 per month. I have no reason to upgrade to a different phone. Virgin Mobile ROCKS!
Pros: awesome phone, screen never breaks or cracks
Cons: camera needs back lighting or flash
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...178next>>