Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Virgin Mobile USA.

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
3.292 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(885 Reviews) 885
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 885 reviews
5 stars
254
4 stars
217
3 stars
114
2 stars
133
1 star
167
479 out of 83358%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

Best Phone Ever

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2Buy
From:  Florida
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Would Literally Look Up This Phone Everyday , After Finally Getting The Phone , All I Can Say Is Awesomeness. Battery Life Is Terrific , Lasts Me 2 Days , Quick Processor . Downloads Apps Quickly . Great Price And Has The Capability To Stretch Limits. Go Kyocera Rise !
Pros: awesome phone !, great battery life last 2 days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+233points
296of 359voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pipper
ct
 
Please wait while more information about pipper is loaded.
Additional information about pipper could not be loaded.
katesk4
Posted August 1, 2013
I do like this phone, but my dislike is that the screen back light
turns off all the time, like it's got a shot in the system.
I have to keep clicking it on to see what I'm doing and all the apps.
also NO back button when a mistake is made hitting the # to dial.
I may trade this in.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
alacombe
 
Please wait while more information about alacombe is loaded.
Additional information about alacombe could not be loaded.
Posted December 28, 2012
How long did you charge your phone when you first got it?
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

(Nearly 2 years owner) Here's what you need to know if you can't live without a physical keyboard

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nulunas
From:  Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been told for nearly 3 years now that I should just move along with everyone and drop the keyboard. Personally, I like that I can text without looking at my phone, and a screen keyboard doesn't cut it. Now, I'll give my review before I move on from this phone.
With this phone's single-core processor, it won't stand very well against the current day's apps. But I give this a phone's performance a 4 because if you have a decent understanding of how to manage your tasks (not with any non-root flimsy task manager apps) this phone runs rather smoothly. If you can't, or won't learn, this phone, and eventually any phone you've had for a year will become useless to you.
This keyboard took some getting used to, especially the special character placements. I seriously lose where the "+" is half the time I need it. The phone otherwise comes with the standard Android keyboard and Swype, which helped in my leap to a non-physical keyboard phone. At low battery, the keyboard will selectively light up. It's weird, and only charging it will help that out.
Physical KB-Phones are notorious for poor battery life. For a good reason: you've sacrificed about 30% of your phone for that keyboard. Good news is if you talk about 2 hours max a day on it, you just need to do nightly recharges. My battery has only lost about 3 hours idle time (roughly 10%) after about 2 years of ownership.
The stock software from Kyocera (Not from Google) is very iffy and will try to constantly run in the background without provocation. I suggest you run with your own suite of apps, especially a music app, as well as downgrade the stock apps.
This phone has a good lock-up recognition mechanic, and fixes it with a restart. Unfortunately this phone takes some time to boot. (about 3 minutes with 4 e-mail accounts to full control)
Most everything else not mentioned works as expected and is typically not a problem. Screen doesn't smudge bad, no dead keys or ports, don't have to pull the battery out more than once a month, etc..
Side-note: This phone will delay PUSH notifications up to 10 minutes. I do not know why, but this was a pressing reason why I'm switching.
OVERALL: This has been the best keyboard phone for its time under Virgin Mobile since the Switchback (Strobe for other carriers) in my honest opinion. As a keyboard phone owner, you should understand that your are making a sacrifice (usually in battery) for that keyboard, and you need to outweigh the cons to this difficult pro.
Pros: keyboard phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

good for the price, but that doesnt say a lot

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
hellabadyo
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Basically I got this phone because it was cheap. Apps crash all the time and the phone freezes almost daily and I have to take the battery out to restart it. The memory is horrible and fills up quickly. The only I actually really like about it is the keyboard because its the only smartphone that seems to have one. Overall you get what you pay for, not much.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

Horrible phone I would buy it for a 13yr but not for a busy mom or dad

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dejno1fan
From:  Zeeland, MI
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first smartphone so when I got it I was so excited, and for the first month things went really well. Then my phone kept shutting off by itself and it would freeze running basic apps like calendar or email. I did have to call and ask what I should do with this and they said do a factory reset which I did. All I can say is that if I had the money to replace I would and that is our next top thing we are going to buy. My phone is not good at all and I have to continually restart it because it freezes.
Cons: battery life freezes often shuts off on its own
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

Only sufficient for people with certain needs

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gubs
From:  Fraser, MI
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It can't support any pictures, or applications. It's memory is just too horrible. It's gotten to the point where I can't save any pictures for some reason... The phone crashes all the time on various apps and even on calls. It texts pretty well, and the slide out feature is nice, even though it makes the phone a bit bulky. The web on this phone is slow, which is to be expected with the 3G, not 4G. The battery life also lasts about 6 hours when not in constant use(not that great at all). So I recommend this for a first phone for a teenage, or someone that doesn't rely on their phone much, someone that only needs the phone for texting or calling. I would definitely NOT recommend it for someone who needs a phone to last them long, and to preform tasks reliably.
Pros: the slide out feature is very useful
Cons: slow, little memory, crashing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

If you need something cheap it is ok.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheJulz
From:  Columbia, TN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone has been ok, I switched from a contract phone that I LOVED to this due to the costs. This phone freezes ALL the time. Can't wait to get a better phone. Virgin Mobile is a pretty good network, and the monthly prices can't be beat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

breaks alot

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
naomi12345
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Breaks alot. My keyboard eventually started detatching, they sent me a new one and now a coule mounths later it keeps turning off randomly all the time when im in the middle of doing things.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

Worse phone ever!!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MykelJay1
From:  Long Beach , CA.
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy this phone! It is slow and the processor is not sufficient enough to handle even the slightest amount of data traffic.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

Easy to use phone

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
VEGANLife13
From:  Las Vega,s NV
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is a perfect phone for a person who loves to text.
The keyboard makes it easy for you to use and it even has a touch screen keyboard if you dont want to slide. Over all a great phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

slow and unreliable, but it works, mostly

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
tomtul2
From:  los angeles, ca
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone does give you an affordable smartphone with Internet and Android apps anywhere you have cell coverage.
It's adequate if you don't rely on it too much. It can even be fun and impressive sometimes.
- gmail and google calendar work well
- alarms work
But-
- If you strongly need reliable communication, at this price, stick with a dumb phone.
- crashes frequently, especially when using Maps. Still I use it every day to check traffic and it is very useful for that. Not a GPS replacement for navigation because of crashes, going to sleep.
- has crashed trying to make a phone call--unforgivable--a phone call can be a matter of life and death.
- some apps like Maps and Draw Something keep running even when phone is sleeping and drain the batter to 0 in 5 hours. Unforgivable- see above.
(however these problems happen to some degree on other Android phones)
- very slow loading web pages - don't know if its network or phone
- very slow loading Draw Something game - 30 sec?
- camera ok in daylight, bad indoors
- no rear facing camera so no video calls
- screen resolution (number of pixels) is low so Draw Something 2, probably other games do not work on it.
But screen looks fine to me, sharp.
Pros: works mostly
Cons: crashes slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

Great performance and features, everything you could need.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kittles1000
From:  Chattanooga, TN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would say for the price you can't beat this phone. The keyboard makes it easy for people who can't swype, but it has that featured too. The screen is large and has many customizable features for those who need bigger fonts or just want a better set up. Lots of apps for this phone also, Average battery life, thats to be expected with andriod. The internet connection is fast as well. And virgin mobile got the phone delivered to me in less than 3 days. You can't beat the price or the service. Love this phone!
Pros: great for the price!, large screen and lots of customization
Cons: battery life could be better, adware and preloaded apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

Good only if you can't afford better.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
a124
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had this phone for six months, it broke so I got another and that broke in another three months. It has Andriod, so you can do anything any other smart phone can do. Good starter smart phone, but if you're looking for dependability/long term this is not the phone for you.
Pros: android, cheap
Cons: easily breaks, slow/freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

It's a good phone for a little while.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
emlove
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone started out great! I loved the Qwerty keyboard for texting and surfing the web. It seemed to work without a glitch for about 6 months or so. Then it started randomly turning off. The only way to restart it was to plug it into a charger which is not convenient at all. The battery also started to drain very fast. Now, the power button has broken. It is so sensitive that if you touch it, it unlocks the phone, or turns it off. The software was awesome, but the phone itself could use some work.
Pros: apps keyboard
Cons: breaking parts battery life diminishes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

Not a very good phone

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From:  Gloversville, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had this phone for all of a week and hated every second of it. At first, I thought the keyboard would be very awesome and it was but the phone itself felt cheesy. If your new to android and love having a keyboard then I would recommend this phone to you but if your looking for a fast phone then look at something else.
Pros: keyboard, screen size
Cons: design, camera, battery, messaging, internet, music sound quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

Worked Ok for about 9 months then quit

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BassGuy
From:  Michigan
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My first smart phone so I did not know what to expect. I really liked the slide out keypad as my fingers are to big for touchscreen buttons. It was really slow and not much good for surfing the web. It did not have enough memory to run apps well, and as for a phone it was mediocre. It seemed to perform worse the longer I owned it. Finally for no good reason the phone quit. I could hear people talking, but all they could hear was a buzzing sound when I made a call. Tried resetting the phone to factory defaults, but that did not help. The only good thing about this phone was the slide out keypad.
Pros: slide out keypad
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

Nice phone! Not much battery life though

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
KatrinaMae
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have the phone set to full on eco-mode, I make sure to close all web tabs when I leave the page, and I always shut the screen off when I'm done using the phone. I rarely watch videos online, and only surf the web in the evenings. But my battery is always in the red by bedtime.
I love the phone, it's very cool and easy to use, I'm just not a fan of the battery life. If I don't have it set to Eco-mode it will die in hours.
Other than that though, it's a top-notch phone for the money, it's great! I was reluctant to give up my slide-out keyboard, but between voice-to-text and Swype, I haven't used it since I bought it. I wish I had gotten a plain touchscreen so it would be lighter, but if you love your keyboard, I would TOTALLY recommend this phone!
Pros: almost everything, swype and voice-to-text, alarm features, ease of navigating internet
Cons: battery life, camera quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

I like this phones features

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MoGIrl
From:  Texas
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features are good - but to many - phone is slow...
Pros: it like a mini-computer in my hands, i can take photos where ever i am, i can send photos & share on face book, i get email alerts & check my email, i can control the apps i want on my front screen, the key board feature is quite handy, can use it as an alarm clock, can listen to my favorite radio station, can use it like an mp3 player, one touch calender at my finger tips
Cons: phone is possessed or a ghost is playing with it, @ 2 am it restarts its self..., start up jingle and vm logo plays 2x's..., wakes me up from a dead sleep..., does it even with yfy & g3 turned off..., and in airplane mode, keyboard feature doesn't work with some apps, can't remove preinstalled apps, can't move preinstalled apps to sd card, not quite enough internal storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

A great phone for the price.

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JP527
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone for a month and I think I made a good choice. Those really cool phones are way out of my budget, so I picked the Rise and figured it would be a cheap phone but I would live with it. I was surprised at how nice this phone really is! The slide out keyboard is really a great feature. Phone calls sound clear, and the speaker feature sounds good even to people on the other end. The battery life is fantastic. I charge it overnight and I never have had to charge it during the day.
The Kyocera Rise gives you a lot of bang for the buck and I would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

I love this phone

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Yuppers0509
From:  Minnesota
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this type of phone for almost a year. I bought my first Rise last November and it lasted until July. Then I bought the exact same phone cause I love it and has lasted me up until now. I had to get a new one because it is a keyboard phone, so when you drop it a lot, the keyboard comes apart. I love that it is a touch- screen and a keyboard. And it is a smart- phone so you can download apps. The only downsides are that it makes a noise when taking pictures and that it doesn't have a front facing camera.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

There are better phones you can get for the money.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
erilynbmore
From:  SC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone for 2 months and it has given me nothing but problems since the day I got it. Sometimes it just doesn't work at all. All the apps freeze at least once a day. It may be cheap but it still isn't worth the headache not even for someone new to Android phones. I'd rather just use my 15 year old Nokia than the Rise.
Pros: nothing
Cons: freezes, 3g drops randomly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345...45next>>