Customer Reviews for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

4G on the Fly. Connect your tablet, laptop, and other wireless devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 out of 3087%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot
Review 1 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

you cant beat this

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
rladdog2012
From:  Texas
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well I live in the country can't get good internet So I had a dish on my roof to get internet it was getting three years on this they sold the co. Would not replace with up to date with out a large cost so I ordered this wow its less then the cost and works better the speeds you can be leave it thank you V. M.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

SAVE YOUR MONEY don't bother.

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lalo333
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I may be cursed but this device is a hockey puck. I reminds me of dial- up internet 25 years ago! Sir Richard got it wrong this time....When I browse now I better have other things to do between clicks ....Click. Go make tea...Click Feed the cats Click take bathroom break,..Forget video streaming.
Pros: nothing, expensive hokey puck
Cons: makes good hand warmer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

This product is good if you only need to connect one or two devices.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ginniecal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let me start with set up - it would have been fine except there was a discrepancy of terms for online set up. A call was needed to Virgin Mobile to figure out what numbers were needed. My goal was to use this broadband device instead of my ATT Uverse. There are six wireless devices in my household that require internet connection - two laptops; a Wii game system; two smart phones; and a SmartTv. Unfortunately, this device was not powerful enough to keep them all connected simultaneously; and the band would frequently freeze. I purchased the $25 plan which lasted only 1.5 days; so this device and plans were uneconomical and unusable for my household. I will keep the device and use it when I travel because it will work well as a portable device for just one wireless connection.
Pros: easy to set up and good for travel
Cons: not enough power for multiple devices
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Perfect!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
calicobelle73
From:  Denton, TX
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This works perfectly. The only problem I had was the initial setup - had to talk to tech support, but we got it done. Recently went on an 8 hr. trip & it was a lifesaver (had 2 little girls in the backseat w/ Kindles). I've been able to connect all my devices with no problems (after the initial one) & everything has worked great with no glitches. I've had this for about 6 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Works well.

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jhar
From:  Aurora, CO
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just got it and am surprised how small it is. Set up instructions could be a little clearer. I only get 3G at home but is as fast as Comcast for half the price. So far I am impressed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
26of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Works great!

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DJT77
From:  Pittsburgh, PA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive had mine for around 10 months now. I use it mainly with my laptop but, mostly to stream Netflix and Youtube via my apple tv. It works great, never any buffering. If you live in a 4G area, its a great replacement for traditional internet service. Like some other reviewers, it did overheat a few times and lose the signal. I fixed this problem by simply standing it on its side and it hasnt happened since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+49points
58of 67voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
helpme
 
Please wait while more information about helpme is loaded.
Additional information about helpme could not be loaded.
Posted March 7, 2014
Which plan did you buy? Does the data last you the whole month? Is your area 3g or 4g?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

2go Wifi is good to use anytime

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LennyG
From:  The Big Easy
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got my WiFi almost 2 years ago , had a few issues, with is dropping basically off the map, meaning shutting itself off or not staying connected to the laptop or the tablet I use, but since updating the drivers for it I have not had a problem or an issue with it staying connected, So I would recommends it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
25of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

buy this! :-)

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jnett
From:  ca
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Excellent and the speed is a beautiful day when you use the device
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
15of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Great if you dont want a contract

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bunni
From:  St Heights, MI
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ive had this device for two months. Its ok but not the greatest. It does over heat and will shut down. The battery life is ok. But I would recommend charging it when youre not using it. When its fully charged it gives you enough time to use it before battery life drains. Charging while youre using it will cause it to over heat after about an hour and will shut the device off.
Pros: price
Cons: it over heats
I would recommend this to a friend!
+35points
37of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Reyes
 
Please wait while more information about Reyes is loaded.
Additional information about Reyes could not be loaded.
Question
Posted May 31, 2013
Does this connect to gaming devices such as ps3 or xbox360?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

basic phone

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
triskaw
From:  pass christian, ms
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nowadays. We need good phones. This one is not great, doesnt have alot of internal memory, so you will struggle with full memory. the sd is useless since its not possible to put the apps in it...but hey, it's an android.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-134points
6of 146voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alyy
 
Please wait while more information about Alyy is loaded.
Additional information about Alyy could not be loaded.
not a phone
Posted June 7, 2013
Its not a phone.....its a mobile hotspot, which is just a wifi box to give internet to other electronics.
+44points
44of 44voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Wonderful product

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
smch
From:  Ward, Arkansas
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Overdrive Pro because the least expensive internet service I could find in my area was almost $60. I bought a new laptop that came with windows 8 so there were very few broadband options out there unless I wanted to sign a contract. I did some research and found the Overdrive Pro would work. I have 3 phones through Virgin Mobile and never had any problems so I figured I would give it a try. I had a little trouble getting the device activated ( which was my fault because I'm still figuring out this new windows) I called for help and after a battle with the computer we got it figured out and I got the device activated. I would recommend Virgin Mobile to anyone. Myself, my husband, and now my son all have phone service through them and now we have added the internet service through them. They have lifelong customers with my family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+74points
90of 106voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Primary internet

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
baltc0293
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this product for about 1 month, and I like it so far. I was able ot download a movie in about 15 minutes. When I was on Comcast, the fastest I could get was 1.2 mbps. On the 4G network with this device, the fastest I got so far is about 1.0 mbps. Not too much loss of speed considering I'm saving a boatload in money and headaches. I should say that at my previous apartment (comcast) I was in a suburban area, and now I am in a little more of a rural area.
Pros: speed, battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
55of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

This is now our primary home Internet

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Portable
From:  Seattle, Wa
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So our previous Internet service provider wasn't able to give us very good speeds when we moved to our new apt. Bought one of these so my husband could stream football games, since our dsl kept cutting out, but the overdrive performed so nicely in our place that we cancelled our other service and just use this. It does everything I need it to. Plus, I can take it on the bus and use my wifi-only iPad with it. Battery life is pretty blah but we just keep it plugged in at home.
Pros: portable, affordable, good speeds
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
41of 48voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

This is great for a cheap price!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
canmon88
From:  Baltimore, MD
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have VM phone service and it's pretty decent for the price, so I decided to try the internet. I was a little hesitant at first from reading some of the reviews online but still decided to try it for myself. So far so good, I've had the Overdrive Hotspot for about 2 weeks now and it works great for me. I have the $35 plan and have 4g in my area so I haven't even used any of my 3g data. The speed is good and I can use and anywhere in my house and I've even took it places as a backup, when I couldn't get a good wifi signal. I would recommended this to anyway who wants a decent connection for cheap and without the hassles of a contract, but check your coverage before hand to make sure you choose the right plan for your area.
Pros: price speed
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+33points
39of 45voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheDragon
 
Please wait while more information about TheDragon is loaded.
Additional information about TheDragon could not be loaded.
Overdrive Pro 3G/4G
Posted February 2, 2014
Hey Canmon88, I have a question. What do you mean by, "have 4g in my area so I haven't even used any of my 3g data?" Does this mean that as long as you live in 4g area coverage, then you pretty much have unlimited internet because you won't be using your 3g? For instance, if I pick the $25 of 1.5 GB monthly plan, then as long as I live in 4g area coverage, I wouldn't even use any of my 1.5 GB at all.
Im planning on buying the OverDrive Pro. Please your respond will help me.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

HORRIBLE!!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
lis12
Current Owner? No
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When i purchased this i wasnt expecting the best but i was exspecting better then what i got...If you want to only look at things online, this is for you..If you plan on downloading anything...FORGET IT!!!
Cons: slow wont download things
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
29of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Convenient and Simple!

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tammy
From:  Raleigh, NC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
At first I was At first I was a little hesitant to purchase thee Overdrive Pro because of a previous experience with WiFi with another pre-paid company! Well I was pleasantly surprised and not only the ease of setting it up, but also how well it works. Since I live in a 4G area, coverage is excellent and I watch countless movies without interruptions. My only gripe (so to speak) is that because it’s portable, I am not able to connect my DIRECTV receiver to it and watch on demand features (but that is probably more of an issue with DTV than VM). The best part of all is that this device is mobile, I can take it to work, on trips, or just leave it at home, all for a low price each month!hesitant
Pros: portable, fast, low monthly price
Cons: no modem
+21points
27of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Works like I need it

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Momzo
From:  Michigan
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a few difficulties with the set up and actually called support two different times to get things all situated. As frustrated as I was about things not going quickly, they did help me patiently and got me going.
I've tested out the Wifi at home and at a school. At home it was working just as well as my cable internet connection, and I actually spent the day using my hot spot to see if I could detect a difference. I couldn't.
I took it to school with a laptop for the next test. Schools have a way of being built so no signals can possibly work. Several of us typically have to stand near a window or step outside in order to use our cell phones.
I had absolutely no problems using the hot spot here. It was great to use. I plan on taking it out on the road next (no, I won't be driving!), to see how it'll work that way. So far, so good!
+23points
29of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

This product is reliable and fast

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MerryBerry
From:  Downey, California
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very happy with my overdrive pro! I use it at work and at home, everywhere I go. I've had no problems and I think the price is awesome! I'm sooo happy I don't have Verizon anymore. It was horrible. I feel so free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

I love this this thing!!! <3

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DimenB
From:  New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i love this thing! it loads up pretty fast!
*wii
*ps3
*psp
*laptop
*my ipod & pad
All of my devices with wifi option work perfect & fast with this!!! & even if u have all 5 devices using it at the same time it still is fast. i use it all the time & i think the bill is amazingly cheap for the great service u get with it!! if u live in jersey & are worried it might not work as good for u i live in jersey & its perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
37of 45voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Great Product and Great Service

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
FreedomwithVMobile
From:  Boca Raton, FL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Overdrive Pro after having problems loading the software with the USB version (my company restricts software loading on company laptops). The Overdrive Pro solved these issues and provided a huge increase in performance. I can now place the Overdrive Pro in the window and get four bars of signal strength and the WiFi signal is available throughout the house and patio. Additionally, we can all share the Internet including two laptops and two iPods. Internet speeds are amazing. Wish I had switched sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12next>>