Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Browse the web at lightning-fast 4G speeds and see every detail on the massive 4.52" touchscreen. The 8.0MP camera/camcorder lets you capture HD quality pics and video. And, you can turn your phone into a mobile hotspot.
Average Customer Rating:
3.884 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
24
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
12
75 out of 10671%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Crazy problem with menu button. Poor 3G and no 4G reception

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BrowardTeacher
From:  Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ghost menu problem where the menu button activates itself all the time. Makes the phone almost impossible to use. I also get very poor data coverage despite being in a large metro area. I got faster data in the days of dial up modems.
Do not buy this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Lousy Battery/OK Features--Get a Different Phone! (HTC Desire Coming!)

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mirilita
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So, just one question--what use is your phone to you if you can't use it? The battery life on my Galaxy II is so poor that I nicknamed it
Ga-lazy.
Got this when my Motorola Triumph finally died. Worst thing is the battery life, which I've seen other posts about--ok for a few months then became terrible--absolutely awful--can die within just a few hours when only on standby. Specs and features are fine--but can be found on other phones, and weren't all that much better than the Triumph I'd already had for quite some time--yet when I bought it was the top Galazy Virgin offered.
And specs and features really don't matter when the thing just up and dies on ya in a few hours. Or you set alarms to wake you up and the battery dies in the middle of the night.
I've been with Virgin Mobile for years now. Can't remember the name of the first phone...but second was an LG Rumor, then Motorola Triumph, now the Galaxy II. Rumor was fine for its time, Motorola much better, Galazy II a big disappointment. I hope the press is right that Virgin soon will be offering the HTC Desire 601. Pity they won't offer the HTC One, but, hey--it's not a perfect world. :) Don't let the hype and TV commercials sway you--pick a different phone.
Cons: really poor battery life esp after a few months
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Too many problems

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bruuno
From:  Kansas City
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This thing goes crazy. It acts like I'm pressing the search and settings buttons repetedly. It too bad because this could be a good phone.
Check other reviews because this is a common problem.
Also, my 4G doesn't work. If I turn it on it will not connect.
This is a real problem if you pay full price for a Virgin Mobile phone.
Do yourself a favor and don't take a chance on this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Great

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Marcie
From:  Orlando, FL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really wanted this phone so I went to amazon to get it since it was sold out so long on the virginmobile site. Overall its a great phone, I LOVE the camera, but i dont like the shutter sound that cant be turned off and it lowers the quality to send a picture which basically defeats the purpose of an awesome camera. At least to me. Other things i dont like is that the phone does freeze often and the buttons on the bottom sometimes take a while to start working. Things i love about this phone is how easy it is to use. Apps download superfast, I can multitask and do school assignments on my phone, and it charges fast. Before this phone i had a Motorola Triumph that i bought used and damaged, i needed a new phone that i could rely on and i wanted something with a good battery. So you guys know where I'm coming from. I really love the Samsung over all, and definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a reliable phone.
Pros: battery, camera, multitask, fast, easy to use
Cons: freezes, overheats, lowers quality of pictures to send them, shutter sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

menus pops out without motive... and it will drive you crazy!!!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
JuCas64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
phone starts going crazy the settings button is constantly being pushed without even touching the phone and the phone goes on and off by its self ...... please don't purchase this phone iv gone threw 2 replacement phones and still have same problems...besides that it's a good phone,enough internal memory and good camera but the menus pop-outs drive you crazy!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Worst thing ever!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
fisshyceee
From:  los angeles, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Well the original phone I bought from radio shack in March was perfect. Then I had to get a replacement phone literally a week ago from vm headquarters. Worst choice EVER. Twitches on me, freezes on me, 3g will NOT work. Heats up, battery does not last. I just cant deal with this anymore. This happens to me with every phone I have gotten from vm.
Cons: everything is bad
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Decent Phone.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
dstnshfr
From:  Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is a nice one but you can not use it as a hotspot on the virgin network.
Pros: nice design
Cons: wifi hotspot capabilities
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VirginMobileKing
Minneapolis
 
Please wait while more information about VirginMobileKing is loaded.
Additional information about VirginMobileKing could not be loaded.
Incorrect
Posted October 18, 2013
Yes you can use as hotspot. Just pay $15 more a month.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Best phone I have had so far!

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
KittyB
From:  Pekin, IL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had my Galaxy S II since March and I must say I am very pleased with this phone. I can do almost anything on this phone, the only downside is the battery life. I might get 3 hours of active use, but get an overnight stand by time with a battery saver app on. I would highly recommend this phone to people who are new to android phones, very easy to use and has the best camera you can get on a prepaid phone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Good phone for a good price

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
theregoesmyeye
From:  NC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Keep in mind that it isn't the S III or S IV, but it is indeed an older phone. But for it to be as old as it is, I was definitely surprised. It is actually the exact same phone as the Sprint Epic 4G Touch and it can be upgraded through Kies Air OR Samsung's simple downloader tool to Android Jellybean 4.1.2 (but keep in mind using Samsung's tool will make your phone have the Sprint crud and replace the Virgin Mobile banner with Sprint's stuff.) It's pretty speedy but I have noticed that before I upgraded and it was still using Android Ice Cream Sandwich that the gyroscope didn't work well and sometimes when I went to turn the screen on it would light the touch button lights up and the screen wouldn't come on until I pulled the battery. After the upgrade, both things were fixed. I will also say if you are wanting this phone for custom recoveries and custom ROMS be VERY VERY CAREFUL!! The recovery and the kernel are the same thing so if you flash the wrong thing, you're out of a recovery and a working phone. Thanks, Samsung. Also, speaking of Samsung, if you do run into a problem with your S II Samsung will help you with anything that has to do with your phone, I've contacted them a few times through live chat and they were eager to help. All In all, this phone would be a 8/10.
Pros: customer support via samsung, great screen colors, easy to use, great camera
Cons: battery can die quickly, poor gyroscope movement before upgrading
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Unimpressed with phone and reception

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
JR88
From:  Ventura, CA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Galaxy SII GPS locks only about 30% of time, and usually takes 1-5 minutes. Sometimes a restart helps, sometimes it doesn't. Either way, you either have to pull over or mess with phone while driving, which isn't cool.
I live downtown in mid-sized city (Ventura, CA) right next to mall - I get no reception or 1 bar, calls dropped every 2 minutes, can't hear other person. Also poor or no reception in certain places downtown Madison, WI, another reasonably sized city. Even outdoors with few obstructions.
Battery life got as low as 3 hours after just a few months. Background media services which were enabled in new Android by default multiplied this problem. At least the Android version is recent, which is one of the positive things I have to say about this phone.
Charging port is pretty iffy. Have to push cord at angle to make it charge sometimes.
Very unhappy. Something has to change, but things have only gone downhill in the past year.
Pros: fairly recent software, nice size, impressive camera
Cons: non-functional gps, iffy charging port, eats battery like no tomorrow, 2 generations out of date even when purchased
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Great Phone some issues

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Vin94
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone since January and its awesome!!! the only issue i have sometimes is that it crashes but that's rare and it takes only 5 min to fix
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Great Phone

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bandit
From:  Deland, Fl.
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is the best one I have owned, easy to use, big screen is nice.
Jelly bean o/s is great
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Great Phone

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hailibean77
From:  Lehigh Acres, Florida
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product is a great choice. You drop it in water or the toilet it still works. Trust me I'd know.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

i don't like it

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kdrakee
From:  Wisconsin, WI
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone randomly turns on & off.. sometimes it won't turn off at all ill shut it off & I wil restart back up so I have to take the battery out & keep it separate, when I go to turn it on it will restart atleast 3 times.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

too bad

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
cathc
From:  Nj
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wanted to make the switch to android but the battery life it horrible on this phone and will not be carrying a cell that only lasts from 7 am to 6 pm daily. I have the Arc and actually feel better with this one again despite fact I want to try the S2300 when it becomes available again. Not a heavy texter, not on the web much so this will do for now till I make a step up to the 2300. Guess being an older woman living a fast paced tech world I am a dinosaur, but have to do what is comfortable. One good thing came out of the switch, I was introduced to Sprint's executive office who were and continue to be most helpful with plans, questions, etc. Thanks Sprint!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Amazing

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Meggerz
From:  Seattle wa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone my Husband got it for me a few month's ago and I haven't had any problems with it besides me lol dropping it it is very slick I had to get a case for it but other than that great phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

I love my Galaxy s2

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Shelleymac24
From:  Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I went from and LG Optimus V to this phone and I love it! Easy to navigate. My only issue is with battery life, but I think that it's because it's a new phone and I am constantly messing around on it.
Pros: easy to navigate
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

worst phone iv ever purchased

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
noneofyourbusiness
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
phone starts going crazy the settings button is constantly being pushed without even touching the phone and the phone goes on and off by its self ...... please dont purchase this phone iv gone threw 2 replacement phones and still have same problems
Cons: buttons push by self
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jetpac
 
Please wait while more information about Jetpac is loaded.
Additional information about Jetpac could not be loaded.
Same issue
Posted October 8, 2013
Just sent back because of same issue.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Buggy!!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
djyone
From:  arlington, TX
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had two of these phones already and its super buggy! It would turn on and off by itself! And it will press the menu button on its own! Its annoying! Don't buy! Go for the S3
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Phone goes dead

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pugman
From:  Amherts, NY
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had my phone go dead at least a 6 times. I then have to take the battery out and put it back in. The phone then works I cannot figure out why this is happening so i am looking for to changing phones.
Pros: many features easy to use.
Cons: goes dead
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.