Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Browse the web at lightning-fast 4G speeds and see every detail on the massive 4.52" touchscreen. The 8.0MP camera/camcorder lets you capture HD quality pics and video. And, you can turn your phone into a mobile hotspot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.361 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(352 Reviews) 352
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 352 reviews
5 stars
241
4 stars
54
3 stars
19
2 stars
19
1 star
19
293 out of 33986%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Great phone

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gx2u
From:  AZ
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for a while now and really I can't ask for more from the phone with the exception of better battery life. However, unless any replacement phone I get performs just as well or better AND can last two full days before needing a charge, then I can't really expect better. From the time I wake up until I go to bed it holds a charge and really that's good enough. Everything else about it is outstanding; speed, cam, screen size, etc.
Pros: does it all
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Best phone ever had for Virgin Mobile

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From:  Gloversville, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What can I say? I love this phone especially since after the the update to Jellybean. Huge screen, clear picture and very slim. Battery could be better but i'm not complaining. This phone will do anything you want it to!
Pros: software update, screen, features
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

phone features are great

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
geewheezy
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
phone features are great but, the battery life is less to be desired, i charge my phone every 1 1/2 hour even when not in used....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

This product is fair.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GabGab
From:  Pine Bluff, AR
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The only thing people don't tell you is with this device your phone go black sometimes and you would have to take the battery out just to cut the phone back on.
Pros: the camera, the phone memory, the battery life
Cons: the black outs, no three way calling
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

NOT AN LG

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
backintime
From:  usa
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for about 3 months... kept thinking I'd get used to it; that it was just me. Well, the battery life alone has proven to be just one of the things that makes me want to throw this phone in the trash.... for the $$$$ I've spent I can hardly justify spending another penny on a new phone, yet I am to the point where the continued aggravation is causing me to pause. Compared to an LG I find the navigation counter-intuitive, causing me to have to go into 2 - 3 levels to get where I want to be. The wifi connection performance is less than optimal. All in all I am planning to go backward in time to my smaller yet trusty LG Optimus Elite which was a great little phone.
Cons: navigation, service
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Love this phone!!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jrod3391
From:  New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone now for about 2 weeks and am very happy with my purchase. I went from a contract, basic phone to Virgin Mobile and, so far, could not be happier. The service from Virgin Mobile has been good and no complaints. The phone itself is terrific and is likely the best phone I've owned so far. This is my first smart phone and find it it pretty easy to operate. I was using an iPod Touch to play games and use apps and connect to wifi and this phone runs almost any app I had on my iPod much better. The functionality of the phone is fairly intuitive and is very smooth and responsive. The camera also takes very good pictures and videos. I also updated the phone to Jelly Bean. So far no freezing or any other performance issues that others have mentioned in their reviews. My only gripe is the battery, which does drain fairly quickly. But this is something I thought would happen and will just have to try and manage. Overall, great phone, great performance. Highly recommend!!
Pros: big clear screen, great performance, solid build
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Bad Phone

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
UnhappyGS2
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible battery life. On my 2nd replacement. Battery lasts about 4 hours and phones will just shut off. Virgin service is good but there is little if any credit to switch to a better phone. Don't get this phone. I am not the only person with this issue.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Best phone since Jelly Bean Upgrade

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mega1
From:  Palm Springs, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I live this phone. Just the right size. Very fast. great price.
Pros: fast, price, size
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Terrible Performance

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AayDee
From:  North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I received this phone a few months ago. It worked ok for about a week. Then for no reason the menu screen started to constantly pop up on its own. I was not able to do anything on the phone without the menu continuously popping up. Even making phone calls was a hassle because the menu would continuously pop up while trying to dial or look up a Contact number to make a call. Very annoying. The only thing I can do now is grin and bear it for a little while longer, until I can afford to buy a new phone. Most likely a different one. I would not recommend this phone to anyone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

The SII has amazing features and is very easy to use.

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
EllieBird
From:  Sandy Hook, CT
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone for almost a year, it was my first smart phone and it didn't take me long to catch on. I am extremely happy with this phones features and ease of use. I love the layout and durability that some other phone brands do not have. I am a very satisfied and proud owner of the Samsung galaxy s2.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Very good phone and THE best value

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Thompson
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Galaxy S2 works very well. Very fast phone. Good battery life. Big Bright screen. Responsive touchscreen. Great, clear pics with decent resolution. This phone is the best value you can find. I have good Sprint coverage here in Central Connecticut.
Pros: best value in a phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Awesome

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bignutswife
From:  28palms ca
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
all preteen and teen should have this phone it is awesome.my hands are really large so I had to buy the BLU view life. Its huge!
Pros: camera
Cons: size n battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

This product seems to have a lot of issues

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kglass87
From:  Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Between the apps on the phone freezing. the keyboard not working at times and it has now switched to restarting itself several times a day without any one touching it. Only had it about 6 months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Melnaynay
 
Please wait while more information about Melnaynay is loaded.
Additional information about Melnaynay could not be loaded.
Posted October 26, 2013
You probably have a virus. Mine was doing the same thing several months ago and i installed Avast antivirus software. Got rid of the virus and no more problems.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
jazj1234
 
Please wait while more information about jazj1234 is loaded.
Additional information about jazj1234 could not be loaded.
Posted October 15, 2013
im having the same problem
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Great Phone! Just bought 3 more!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Caller7
From:  Buffalo, NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had my S II for over 6 months and I have had NO problems. My phone works perfectly, and very fast, even though I live in a "3g only" area of upstate NY. It's been so good, I've just purchased 3 more S II phones for my family. My battery lasts about 2 days in idle mode. Otherwise, if I use the phone alot for web access, ect.., I get about 20 hrs. I've dropped it a few times, even dropped an old metallic nano on the screen, but not even a scratch... Great "gorilla-glass" screen! Maybe a few owners got bad phones but I must have gotten a great phone, like most of the other reviewers.
Pros: fast!, great cameras., huge internal memory for this caliber phone., heavy duty screen.
Cons: battery life could be better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Nothing great about it.

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
phonecritic22
From:  California
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I decided to ignore previous reviews and judge the phone on my own. I've had it for 1 day and I hate this thing and it's going back.
*Drops every call I make
*Battery dies within 3 hours and drains super fast.
*Turned off autocorrect and it's still doing it.
*No good wallpapers, not many ringtone options.
* Really slippery unless you have a case
* GPS drops which is seriously not okay
NO! NO! NO!
Cons: battery life, service, autocorrect
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Big phone - Big battery drain

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Leaf
From:  Ohio
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After 6 months of having this phone I just simply cannot take it any longer. The battery life lasts almost 8 hours idle off of the charger. It dies every single night around the same time.
The phone also randomly flashes (like I'm pressing buttons) when I am not. Without touching it it will blink, flash, freeze, and restart itself whenever it feels like it. The phone gets very hot very quickly which tends to lead to more flashing and restarting. I would not recommend this phone even after updates and what not its very cumbersome to add or update a contact.
Pros: display, size, camera
Cons: freezes, battery life is poor, does not have 4g coverage on this carrier, hard to update contacts, sync is often days behind, does not allow custom sounds for incoming texts
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
curtisebear
 
Please wait while more information about curtisebear is loaded.
Additional information about curtisebear could not be loaded.
Heads up
Posted September 27, 2013
Settings - System update - update firmware, fixed a lot of problems your having (restarting, flashing etc....) noticeable difference after.
Can by a big battery on amazon, but will make phone bigger, I didn't mind the size difference. I've had the phone for a year, pretty happy I'll try and go another year before upgrading.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Love-Hate Relationship

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Purplexo67
From:  Erlanger,Ky
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was very excited to get this phone. Great look, alot of cool apps, and the camera takes great pictures! I have only had it a few months and I can tell you that I wouldn't buy it again. The battery life is very short if you run much of anything on it. My unit is now taken to shutting down on it's own frequently, and starting up in safe mode. There is nothing "lightning fast" about the 4G either, if you can pick it up at all. Not good. Alot of money I see flying out the window right now. ;(
Pros: camera
Cons: battery life
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

I like this phone, but...

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
RealRogerBird
From:  Allegan, MI
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was so glad to see Virgin get the Galaxy S line of phones I bought the S II. It's very slick looking, with a big, bright screen and Jelly Bean. There are problems, however. First, the battery life is terrible. I have done a factory reset, gotten rid of all but one of my widgets, and taken to shutting off my wifi unless I absolutely need it all in the hopes of extending my battery life but to no avail. This phone battery dies CONSTANTLY! I habitually plug my phone in and still battle low battery life.
Second, it is pretty glitchy. The menu button randomly self activates pulling up the menu while I am texting on searching on line or playing a game on my phone, on the other hand the home and back buttons are very unresponsive and often take two or three presses to get them to respond.
In addition, the gps is very wonky. It often cannot find me or, if I am using maps, will show me a couple of hundred feet off of the road that I am driving on. VERY frustrating.
All in all, it's a good phone, but it takes some patience.
Pros: looks great!, jelly bean
Cons: battery life, glitchy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

Hobbled by WiMax

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SweetWill
From:  San Francisco, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This spectacular smartphone (my first) is hobbled by Sprint WiMax 4G, which constantly drops connection and can be painfully slow at times. When it works it's brilliant. I live on Market Street in San Francisco so there really is NO excuse for inconsistent and spotty service.
It is my understanding that WiMax will be history by 2015, which is great news ONLY if LTE is faster and more reliable.
Virgin is a responsive service provider, and the phone is a fantastic device (should a person love a phone? I love this one),
I would advise anyone purchasing a smartphone to get one for LTE,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S II 4G

love virgin mobiles service and coverage but the Galaxy s2 is defective

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
missmyphone
From:  roseburg or
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
loved everything until one day I plugged my galaxy s2 in when I went back to get it the inside was cracked. My phone had never been dropped it was always kept in a case. looked it up online and found others had the same problem. we called Samsung and were told someone would call back the next day but no one ever called back. very disappointed with Samsung only got to use the phone for 6 months. I will be going through virgin mobile again but I will not get another Samsung product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...18next>>