Customer Reviews for Venture

Venture

Break into the world of Android-powered phones with the Venture. This 3G and Wi-Fi capable smartphone gives you access to over 400,000 apps in Android Market. It also features a 2.8" touchscreen, QWERTY keyboard, and a 2.0MP camera and camcorder.
Average Customer Rating:
2.59 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(554 Reviews) 554
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 554 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
111
3 stars
98
2 stars
116
1 star
170
201 out of 52638%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Venture
Review 1 for Venture

not a bad phone at all, just would prefer a touch screen

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
tona
From:  pasadena, md
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I can afford one I plan to get a touch phone. Trouble is going on line to make changes to plan. Multiple problems with that.
Cons: switching to 750 min talk n text
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Venture

Worse phone I've ever had!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
lleh
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Since I received this phone, it shuts off. Even with a fully charged battery. They sent a new battery, it still does this. Virgin sent me a new phone to replace it, the "new" phone was more messed up than old one. I sent new phone back to Virgin. Now after owning the phone for TWO months it doesn't work at all. You can hear it turn on, but the screen doesn't come on. This is the worse phone I've ever had. The features were cool, when the phone actually worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Venture

It's cute but...no

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
sadcat
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone because the one I had before it broke... and it was the cheapest "smart phone" but it has a poo battery life, you cant really get any apps because the phone is so out of date...and it drops my calls from time to time or it won't send my SMS. I wouldn't get this phone unless you absolutely need it to replace a broken one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Venture

love/hate this phone

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
discinDetroit
From:  Detroit, Mi
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This seems like a great phone for the price. So I am on my 6th Venture. I am hooked on Android and the Venture has all the features a non-techie Senior Citizen is likely to use; Maps, email, Google Play. et al. The trouble is using them runs the battery down so quickly, you cant make those emergency phone calls you got a cell phone to make.
I am on the 3rd replacement of a Venture that just mysteriously died and refused to take a charge. On the plus side, Virgin Customer Service has over-nighted replacements as soon as contacted. As a friend pointed out about warranties, its great to have a good warranty, better to have a good product.
Pros: price, apps, features, service
Cons: battery time, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Venture

A dated android

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pathog3n
From:  Minneapolis, mN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first android phone months ago and even at the time I could tell it was slightly dated and a bit slow. It's screen is very tiny and if you have big fingers it will probably be near impossible to use the qwerty keypad ( I have tiny fingers and I miss typed regularly. It's also on some really old android software so you may find it incompatible with some apps. It's hardware is behind with todays software, the processor is at the speeds of my pentium II over 13 years ago and it regularly runs out of Ram/internal memory. In the end it's an android that can't perform at android level, but it can get you into the basics. At the time it was a decent cheap alternative and I would rate it higher than but save yourself a headeace and spend the extra 6 bucks if you want a budget android and get yourself the event which is miles ahead of this phone.
Pros: price
Cons: dated android software, small keyboard, slow hardware
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Venture

this phone work good

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
rrr581
From:  florida
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I like the phone the way it is nice performance, nice screen , I like this kind phone touch screen key board , wi-fi ok but battery life is really poor or bad .just when you like the phone working need recharge it really sad for a good android phone
Pros: nice phone to start
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Venture

just bad!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ejrey
From:  los angeles, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros: nothing!!!
cons: battery life, apps crash unexpectedly, camera, internet, and everything else with the phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Venture

Ive had this phone a year now...

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
nans
From:  irvine ca
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good basic Android phone
As others have mentioned the battery life is bad. The phone earpiece doesnt always work and you have to put it on speaker. Its not compatible with Instagram and a number of other apps.
There is minimal space for apps, even with a memory card.
I lost my old one and just purchased another one yesterday. If you arent a million percent relying on your phone, if your life isnt centered around your phone but you want to use it to make your life a bit easier (I can deposit checks to my credit union using the app that they have for it) then this is the phone for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Venture

Ok for now

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
j1234jesse
From:  Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for a year with only minor problems. The battery life isn't great if you are playing games or using the internet. I've had it freeze occasionally but it really wasn't too bad most the time. I've reached the year mark with the phone and its finally done for I can receive calls but they can't hear me when I answer. This isn't the best phone you'll ever have but if your someone like me who really doesn't live on their phone all day and is just looking for a cheap smart phone it seems like an ok route to go.
Pros: cheap
Cons: battery life
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Venture

Okay, but not stellar.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kbobsdaddy
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
As smartphones go, this one isn't a bad deal. I've owned mine for a year or so, and it has performed reliably. My only complaints are that the screen is very small, and so are the keys on the QWERTY. It's not really designed for adult hands. The camera is okay, but I've seen better. All in all, it's a good entry-level smartphone
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Venture

Just Terrible overall

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CarlosHerriott
From:  Youngstown Ohio
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've Had this phone for over a year. It was great when I first got it, I loved it and all its features. The past few months I've noticed the battery loss has become poor. The phone losses battery life fast and the phone doesn't completely charge. I would strongly discourage you to purchase this phone unless you don't look o use your phone a lot.
Cons: poor battery life, poor performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Venture

Virgin Mobile

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
yellowflower
From:  CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A multitude of exceptional features. I wouldn't change my Virgin mobile phone for any other brand. Over ten years of ownership of this brand of phone, communication, Excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Venture

I just got my phone and it has such great features.

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
boopsy
From:  texas
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new phone. I'm like 60 and and I have learned so much since it is hard. Thank you for thinking about us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Venture

i loved this phone

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
mikey92
From:  Keokuk, ia
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this was my first phone through this company i wish i still had it great phone to start out on
Pros: almost everything
Cons: crama is low quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Venture

The external keyboard is small but overall it has average features.

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sandman
From:  Ohio
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had my Venture for almost 2 years and about the 1 1/2 year mark is when the ability to charge properly and hold a charge became terrible. Also around that time people I'd talk to on my phone started telling me they couldn't hear me and/or that I sounded like I was in a barrel. The only time they could (barely) hear and understand me was when I turned the phone on speaker mode. The next phase, they could no longer hear me, even if I used the speaker phone feature. My sister described it as, I sounded as if I was speaking through a broken McDonald drive-thru speaker.
Overall it's a decent phone 'for someone trying a smartphone for the first time' (like me). I would recommend it as a starter smart phone. I would not recommend it if you've had experience with good or better smart phone.
Pros: qwerty keyboard
Cons: battery life and talking speaker
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Venture

Frustrating!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
sn00py89
From:  Copperas Cove, TX
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the second time I've had this phone and the same thing is happening again! When someone calls me or I call someone I can only hear the other person if I turn my phone's speakerphone option on. There is not much extra space on this phone for apps. The battery life is poor, even when phone is charged for recommended hours before use. I would not recommend this phone and I can't wait to replace it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Venture

Very Easy To Use :-)

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
HardwareKid
From:  San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Found This Phone Extreemly Easy To Use!!! The Readouts Are Clear And Menus Are Easy To Navigate...No Need To Fiddle With A Touch Screen Durring A Call....Just Use The KeyBoard. Memory Is So-So...But I've Seen Much Worse...This Phone Will Acctually Support The Memory Required Of Apps And Updates! The Keyboard Makes It Quick To Use...And I Feel More Secure That If The Screen Gets Unresponcive (As It's Getting Now...I've Had It Over A Year) I Can Still Do Basics! The Battery Life Was So-So...But Within The Past 3 Months...It's Declined...And Has Now Plummeted. I Love This Phone, Though!!! One Of The Best That I've Ever Had! I Hope Virgin Mobile Comes Up With More, Of This Formatt!!!
Pros: love the keyboard!, easy to navigate menus
Cons: battery life so-so
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Venture

Good phone

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
sangrecatracha
From:  honolulu, hawaii
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Everything works well except the charge doesnt last very long. I would recommend it to everyone. Apps are fun.. it msy first time using a touch screen and i really love it. Facebook works well the messenger i have no complaints except for the charge doesnt last and it doesnt really charge if you are using it while its charging or maybe i am doing it wrong. over all good phone worth the buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Venture

Perfect for Blackberry fans!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DoItNowDiva
From:  Oregon
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I loved my old Blackberry but couldn't afford a new one so, for quite some time, I used a variety of other phones. I loved the smartphone's apps but found them a bit odd-feeling in my hands. I had severe carpal tunnel from my job so it was with some distress that I tried slide phones with qwerty as well as non-qwerty phones. They were fine, but I still missed my old Blackberry's sturdy feel and ease of use. This Venture is fantastic if you miss your old Blackberry! It feels almost identical and functions quite nicely. No, it doesn't have as large of a screen as some of my slide phones, but I don't use the Internet that much nor do I play games. My phone is for texting and calling, mainly texting. Venture is wonderful for that and is substantial enough in your palm to be usable even with carpal.
Pros: sturdy, easy to use
Cons: smaller screen
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Venture

Total Dud

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CellPhoneLover
From:  Nashville, TN
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone to replace my Samsung Mantra flip phone. I'd had 3 of those and loved them. Unfortunately, they all went belly up. I already had a smartphone from Virgin Mobile (a touch screen) and decided I wanted one with a keyboard as my second because I discovered I really do need 2 cell phones.
I chose the Venture because it was budget priced and I figured it would be easy to use. I was so excited when it arrived but my joy quickly turned to disappointment.
The battery doesn't last til the water gets hot. You pretty much have to keep it on the charger all the time even while talking on it.
I would make or receive phone calls and the reception would be terrible. No one could hear me. And I couldn't hear them. Even with the volume up to the max, it was barely audible.
The keyboard is too small and difficult to use.
I regret not replacing it right then. But things were going on at the time that made it impossible. So I regaled it to camera and video use only. It takes GREAT pics and videos.
Overall tho, this is a major dud. And I WILL be replacing it.
My advice? Read and take ALL of the reviews of these phones to heart. If I had, I wouldn't have gotten this one. Remember, "low priced" doesn't always mean it's the better buy.
Pros: lots of features, camera, nifty ringtones, takes great pics and videos
Cons: battery life, low volume and reception, keyboard too small, everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...28next>>