Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Samsung Galaxy Ring

Own your social circle with the Samsung Galaxy Ring™. Share/post/tweet last night's pics with the 5.0 MP camera and HD video capture. And when you want to skip the emoticons and LOLs, the 4-inch touchscreen and 1.3 MP front-facing camera make it easy to video chat face to face.
Average Customer Rating:
3.006 / 5
3
 / 
5
(179 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 179 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
32
3 stars
27
2 stars
33
1 star
43
78 out of 16946%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ring
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Not so great.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
KensPhone
From:  San Antonio TX
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this phone as an upgrade from the AWE. Big mistake this was a downgrade. Cannot move apps to SD card unless they are very large. When called the phone took 25 seconds to ring. Cannot send MMS messages over Wi-Fi when mobile data is turned off. The AWE was cheaper and way easier to use.
Pros: its a samsung
Cons: mms messages have to be on mobile network only
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

It's a mid-level phone not the best !

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
computerguy
From:  Ohio
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for a few months now.
It is very glitchy shuts off in middle of doing things. Battery life is low maybe eight hours begore charge is needed. Maybe soon than that with heavy usage online.
I would pass on this and go to regular Galaxy phone or something diffetent then Samsung.
Pros: easy of use
Cons: battery life glitchy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

i love my phone

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
stephgroomer
From:  parkville,maryland
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i love this phone. i got it for me and my husband. he has never had any problems with his, and he plays games on it all the time, also plays music on it all day while he's working. the only down parts is you can't transfer apps to the sd card (he say's he can with an app that he got from the play store) the battery life isn't the best. but thats what they made chargers for. mine has froze on my a couple of times but not that much i'm the queen of apps so im always downloading new ones. i very RARELY run out of room. i love this phone and it always suprises me everyday with a cool feature that i've never seen before. we can't buy expensive phones, we don't have much $. but with this phone it feels like i have one of the expensive ones like the galaxy s 3. so if you want a cheap half way decent phone i would go with this one. to my understanding all phones crash.
Pros: great google apps, cheap, excellent gps, lots of storage space
Cons: crashes once in awhile
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Can't download apps to SD card

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
UPSETinPITTSBURGH
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When purchasing this phone, it was recommended to me to purchase an SD card for more memory, as the phone itself only has 2GB, so I bought a 16GB card. I recently discovered the only thing this phone is able to save to the SD card is pictures. You are not able to save any apps to the card, so I have to uninstall less-used apps in order to download something new. I can't blame this on the sales person, as when I went back & asked him to show me how to save items to the SD card, he tried to show me & found out at the same time as me that it's not an option with that model. Had I known this when I purchased the phone, I would've chosen a different model & also would not have spent the additional money on the larger SD card.
Cons: you can't save to an external memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Just a headache!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SarahOvando
From:  Harrodsburg, KY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for several months now and honestly, it's probably the worst phone I've ever owned! I've had problems from day 1... This phone is constantly turning off on it's own, closing apps and needing resets! Most of my apps will close spontaneously or need to be downloaded again because they start to lose normal function. The phone resets EVERY time I try and open the camera now and will reset while I'm trying to do pretty much anything! The browser almost never lets me go to the pages I click on and usually loses them anyways. I had an error message for about 3 weeks that notified me every 30-60 seconds until I uninstalled all updates to most of the standard apps. I also have to charge it pretty much throughout the day. I would not recommend this phone to anyone and I don't understand how anyone gave it more than 1 star!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Poor Service

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MeMe24
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It doesn't work out of town and not good signal in your area.
Cons: it don't keep battery life and not good sercices u
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Dissapointment

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
KyuuV
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The first day I got this phone (about 6 months ago) it froze and rebooted, but I figured it was just a minor glitch that would go away after I broke the phone in. Wrong. After constantly freezing and rebooting (constantly losing playlist data along the way) the OS crashed and was the now the phone is completely useless.
Cons: dissapointing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Good phone for basic use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
jedimastergirlie
From:  portsmouth nh
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was so excited when I got my first Samsung phone, over a few weeks of having it, apps crashed and now after 6 months the gps wont work. maps mysteriously close every time I use them and in order to get apps to work I have to uninstall and reinstall them. Phone randomly turns off too.
On the other side its great for texting and calls. my only issue is sometimes I don't always get phone calls until 10 min later and I have a voicemail but the phone never rang. LOL I usually only text but for some people that's a huge issue. Am switching phones soon.
Pros: long battery life, variety of apps, decent camera
Cons: dies randomly, apps crash suddenly, dont always get phone calls in
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

this product is junk!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mommy11
From:  St.Cloud, MN
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I loved thiss phone at first but now it just is junk. The apps crash all the time! The battery life on it is just junk! You have too restart this phone all the time! i deffinetly WOULD NOT Recommend this phone too anybody!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

worst phone I've ever owned

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
McDJ
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is by far the worst phone I've ever owned. Samsung typically makes quality products, but this phone is total garbage. It turns itself off and restarts constantly. Have fun texting because the the keyboard constantly freezes and the phone needs to be restarted to get the program to work. Doesn't ring or notify you half the time if there's a text or phone call. Apps crash all the time, even down to the OS. All in all a phone to be avoided nothing but a constant headache. I've been with virgin mobile since about 2003 and after the experience with this phone and the spotty coverage overall in my state and indoors am switching to a competitor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Multiple issues with this phone

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ammoemig
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone since November (so, about four months). I'm already on my second one, and am having even more problems with this one than with the first. With the first one I had, the microphone stopped working for no reason, so I couldn't talk on the phone. Now with this second one, for a while it restarted every time I tried to open an email. Now it restarts randomly, and freezes at the startup Samsung screen. Also, it won't save anything to my SD card, so the internal memory is completely full (and there's not very much on there). Overall, I'm not very pleased.
Pros: it's a samsung...
Cons: memory, restarts, freezes, microphone stopped working
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Horrible Phone

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Happy2bBack
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had a horrible experience with two of these phones. (Virgin Mobile replaced my first model when it became inoperable. The second model only took a few weeks to become a mess.
Here are some of the problems I have had with both models of this phone:
*Difficulty hearing phone conversations and weird screeching sounds during calls
*Inability to make or receive calls
*Missing voice mail messages
*Frequent app crashes
*The need to restart the phone one or more times per day to decrease the number of other problems it has
*The entire phone crashing
*After a while, the phone will begin to crash so badly you have to remove the battery.
*My first model of this phone got itself stuck in a constant crash and restart loop, preventing me from using it at all.
I was so excited to get this phone and for the first few weeks (for each of the two phones I owned), it was great. But then the problems became so bad I couldn't depend on it. We made many, many phone calls to Virgin Mobile to try to work through problems.
I was forced to replace the phone, using a credit from Virgin Mobile to help with the cost.
I love Virgin Mobile and we've used them for years, but this is the worst phone by far that I have ever used.
Pros: small looks nice, nothing
Cons: crashes can't understand people on the other line, apps crash, not dependable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Not for me

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
notmycupoftea
From:  Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone since 2012 and it is not my cup of tea. The memory on it is not very good. I have a 16G memory card and still I ran out of internal memory.
Cons: memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Piece of Junk

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kay123
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cons
.shuts off by itself
.deletes messages, pictures and apps by itself
.cannot use more than one app at once
. half of the time the phone doesnt even ring or tell you if someone called
. text messages dont go through a lot of the time
. picture messages freeze
. snapchat video does not work
. app crash on a regular basis
.has no memory and you cant put stuff on the SD card you get which makes no sense whatsoever
. just a lot of cons
Pros
.its a Samsung phone
. it looks nice
.can withstand a couple accidents
.takes good pictures although the camera is only 5MP
.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Ugghhh

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
SweetThang
From:  St Paul, MN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When I first got this phone I loved it. Now the phone constantly freezes, and randomly shuts off or restarts. The low storage icon is always on my phone, I have to keep my pics to a minimum and cant download or update any apps due to the low storage. I am so tired of this phone, its time for a new one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

DO NOT get this phone

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SaraBailey12
From:  Williamstown Kentucky
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about a year and had to get a new one 3 times, the battery life is terrible, when you call and listen to music it's staticy, it turns off by itself, it freezes, it's not worth the price, do not buy this phone!!!
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Turns off

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dirty4X4
From:  Colorado
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is by far the worst phone I have ever owned. It looks good, feels good, is easy to use, etc. However! The silly thing turns off randomly. It is a real pain in the rear. I have missed calls, messages, emails because it just shuts off. Sometimes it just resets, other times It is off when I look at it and I have to turn it back on. I got this phone at the end of November and I wish I had taken it back the very first time it powercycled on me. Please save yourself the headache and get a better phone from the get go, this one is not worth it.
Pros: nada
Cons: turns off all the time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

worst phone

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
teenGirl
From:  Melrose, MN
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my first smartphone and all but there's a lot on this phone that doesn't work like: 1. The call intercept is junk.
2. Even after like 3 weeks to a month it tells me that storage is running low cause most of the device storage is full of the preloaded apps that are already in it so that gives you less than 1gb to use, yea I even got a 16gb sd card but my phone doesn't let me put pictures or anything on it.
3. The battery life only lasts you for so long like I would fit school with full battery and by the time I get back on the bus to go home it's at 65% already. Over all its ok of a phone If you're not one of those people who like apps and pictures cause the storage sucks!
Pros: good for listening to music
Cons: battery life storage call intercept
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swaggy22698
Houston Tx
 
Please wait while more information about swaggy22698 is loaded.
Additional information about swaggy22698 could not be loaded.
Posted March 20, 2014
you can move pictures with another gallery app and theres an option to move pics u take with the camera to the sd card
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Only thing good is the camera

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
LEEVI340
From:  ST THOMAS, VI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I would not recommend anyone buying it unless they want a cheap phone. Way too many issues. Plus it takes great pictures. It keeps rebooting even while your on a call. When your texting it freezes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Ring

Maybe the best 3G Virgin Mobile offering for the money

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
PsychoDad
From:  Florida
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my 6th VM smart phone, I really prefer a slide-out keyboard, but the Ring has the best "computer" performance of all of them. There is about 2GB of usable memory for Apps. All of my downloaded Apps uses just under 1GB, but after 2-3 weeks I would get a "low memory" warning. Then I would have to do a factory reset and start over. I hated the phone. Last week, I searched for and found advice: The auto-updating was quickly using up my memory. I found the Setting to disable auto-updates, and it solved my problem. I love the phone again. Still on the $25 plan. Wish network coverage was better.
Pros: processor speed ram rom size battery life
Cons: can't think of anything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PsychoDad
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about PsychoDad is loaded.
Additional information about PsychoDad could not be loaded.
More on this review
Posted March 18, 2014
To disable auto-updating go to Google Play->Settings->Auto-Updates->Choose the option NOT to auto-update. *** Every Samsung phone I owned would occasionally re-start itself. I think it's a Samsung thing that their devices get stupid once in awhile. My old Samsung DVD player did it, too. *** Lastly, many of the Android 4.xx OS will not store apps on the SD card. It's an Android issue; not the phone itself.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
12345...9next>>