Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Introducing Virgin Mobile's first LTE-capable device, featuring Android™ 4.1 (Jelly Bean), Google Wallet™, HD video capture and a 4.0" touchscreen. Paired with unlimited data and messaging on all plans, it's a win-win.
Average Customer Rating:
3.77 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(347 Reviews) 347
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 347 reviews
5 stars
151
4 stars
76
3 stars
41
2 stars
47
1 star
32
230 out of 33169%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Just get the S3 instead

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Vioxe
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Got this phone for my birthday in June 2013... It was, admittedly, pretty great for the first few months. A definite upgrade over my old phone. Not so much past those first months. The small internal storage wasn't a big deal for me; I'm not one to use a bazillion apps and games, I used my phone for very few things (texting, social media, GPS, etc.)
After owning it for a few months it began to DRAG. Like, take thirty seconds to pull up the KEYBOARD drag. Even after clearing memory, it never took less than five seconds to pull the keyboard up. A while later it began randomly pausing my music (using the built-in player), and would restart itself while just playing tunes in my pocket.
In the long run these are minor annoyances. I could live with them, albeit unhappily. A few weeks ago it progressed another step, and using the flash on the phone would also cause it to turn off. It no longer vibrated for incoming notifications or calls. It began to have trouble accessing WiFi (that my laptop could easily reach).
Then a few nights ago while I was writing a text it turned off. Surprise! It's been doing that a lot lately... Except this time it didn't turn back on. After trying several fixes found on the internet all I got out of it was a flash of the samsung logo, then nix. I'm glad I had my photos stored in an external card.
Looking at other reviewers, I'm not the only one who had this issue. If you're looking at this phone for the price, just upgrade to the S3; they're similar enough in price but different enough in quality.
Pros: inexpensive, basic, decent camera
Cons: slow, small memory, shuts down frequently, not the best battery life, died
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Great Android

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Neo82
From:  Ohio
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great Android phone. I've had it for about a year and a half now and, though I had to replace the battery this summer, it's still going strong. It does occasionally freeze up and restart for no reason, which is a problem I've heard all users of Samsung Galaxy type phones have, but that doesn't bother me much. I'm still glad I bought the phone. The only complaint I really have for it is the 1.7 GB's of storage mine came with. That is NOT enough storage for an Android phone. Everyone I know, even people who have cheap branded phones, have much more GB's than I do. I have to constantly delete apps if I want to add another and I've even had to delete entire albums full of pictures (like 200+).
Still though, I recommend the phone, especially if you don't care about lots of storage space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Terrible phone.

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
paolesha
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had my phone for about a year now. I never really had problems with it until the past couple of months. Although the storage on this is horrible. But anyways, a few months ago my phone started to shut off anywhere between 20-95% battery life left. If it died at 50% I would immediately turn it back on and it would be at 4%. I just ordered a new battery for it yesterday because my brother had the same exact issue and a new battery fixed his phone. But all of a sudden it turned off in the middle of me using it, and has not turned back on since. there's no water damage, there's one small crack on the screen but nothing that would damage the inside of the phone. It has not turned on since yesterday and I do not think it will ever turn back on. waste of money, do NOT buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Worst Phone

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SamuelSimsJr
From:  District Heights M.D.
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is some trash. You Can't import your contacts from my SD card and the storage spaces is trash to. I will not refer anybody to get this phone. I been a virgin mobile customer for some years.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Simple, durable, and affordable

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BaeBae
From:  NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want an Android phone that is durable and affordable, this is certainly an option. It has a really nice and sleek design, even if it is a little small. This was my second Android-phone, and it has served me well. I just wanted a phone that made being a college student a little easier. It has been great in helping me schedule events, courses, appointments, and reminders; the email function is good too, especially when professors email last minute class cancellations. Plus, it has had really great battery life, especially when using the internet. My brother and sister had a YouTube-a-thon on my phone for about 3-4 hours straight before it finally started showing drainage, which is almost as good as a small laptop. Now, that's not so much the case anymore, but it's probably more the battery than the phone itself.
Also, I've dropped this phone I don't know how many times, but it has endured it all, with and without my case. I do think it's finally getting to it after about a year of having it, which is actually pretty long for an Android phone nowadays even when you haven't dropped it (sadly). It's finally beginning to shut down randomly on me, and I don't know until I need to use my phone for something. Again, that may be more the battery itself than the phone. I plan on upgrading REALLY soon though, but it definitely has served me well. So, if you want something with a lot of memory and fun features, this isn't the one for you. But if you're looking for something to get you through rainy days, this is a great place to start. I am very satisfied with this phone, as I listen to Spotify on it right now (ps. also pretty nice speakers too) :)
Pros: durable, affordable, easy to use, nice speakers, all necessary apps, long battery life, can accept up to 32gb memory card, takes good pictures
Cons: low memory space, small in size, shuts down randomly (after a year), can't move apps to sd card, video quality not too great
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

not enough storage

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
teamleader
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this thing barely has 2gigs storage space, and you cannot move apps to sd cards. other than that, it's pretty great
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

For its price, it was good.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Crump
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had this phone for about a year before i dropped it and the screen finally cracked (which surprised me, this phone was very strong and AMAZINGLY durable. It never had a case, and was even thrown around sometimes.) It's a very, very good budget phone. It's a little small and sometimes slow, but it did a good job. My only complaints are the storage capacity, call quality (at times) and after around 150,000 texts with vibration on, app-caused vibrations, and around 80,000 incoming phone calls, the vibration finally went out and stopped working. This was recently, however for the past couple months it showed signs of weakening. It was a good phone, and for someone who wants a good android for a cheap price i would recommend it. I'm switching to the LG Volt as of now, but again, I would recommend it for what it is. If you want an amazing, do it al, highest quality, best phone, don't get this. If you're on a budget and want a good little phone, go for it.
Pros: durability, service, features, cameras/flash, internet speeds, apps, good for light gaming
Cons: battery life is below average, vibration went out after heavy use in only a year, storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Lacks performance

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Strausy
From:  Prairie Village, KS
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros:
1) The phone is a good size
2) Fairly decent price.
3) The battery lasts a pretty good amount of time if you turn off unnecessary features you are not using (bluetooth, connections optimizer, etc.)
Cons:
1) Very slow when you load it with even standard apps (Facebook, a decent browser, etc). It needs more processing power and RAM.
Pros: price
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

It's nice, but...

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
JoeGoesRetro
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
At first the phone was great, but you're limited to 4GB internal storage for apps, which gets filled up fast, the SD card storage is only to store pictures, video and music. The battery life leaves quite a bit to be desired as well.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: app storage, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

PHONE WILL SHUT DOWN AFTER 4-9 MONTHS!

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TallNYCLady
From:  Brooklyn
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hello,
I've had this phone for about 8 months. Without ever dropping it, no water damage, the phone has began to glitch and turn on and off randomly. I learned that samsung has what is called planned obsolescence, which means after a period of time they purposefully rig the motherboard of their phones to glitch. Which is what happened to me and this phone.
This will be my LAST samsung product. And even though I wanted to stay loyal to a non iphone brand, I can't stay loyal to a company that doesn't make products to last. Switching to the Iphone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

not too shabby of a galaxy

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
brianthefisherman
From:  ri
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cheap affordable. Very nice slim small phone. Has everything. You need
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Good starter phone

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LEW69
From:  Houston,TX
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good speed easy to use good first smartphone that's not that expensive battery holding up so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Battery drains in 4 hours

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
joward
From:  San Ramon, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for 1 year and 2 months and for the first 6 months it was great. Fast with good battery life. However in the last 8 months the battery performance has degraded to the pojnt where I have to charge the phone at least twice per day with little or no use. E.g. sending a text message can drain the battery 5-10%.
I have followed all the online advice to minimize battery usage and I have bought a brand new battery in case it is that.
I will get $8 refund on this phone which I guess is another indication of it's overall value.
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Clunky, get an LG instead.

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tnick
From:  Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Makes a good paperweight. Being serious though this phone replaced my LG Optimus F3 (my fault I bricked it). I got it on the cheap and I got what I paid for. Never had a Samsung product, and probably wont ever again. Keyboard on the screen remains when messenger has closed, restarts randomly. Wont recognize when you add an SD card. Apps fail and close often. Screen not as pretty as the LG's. Sound quality on calls is average. Space is inadequate if you want more than a few apps installed at once. Loaded with bloatware. I am sure the Galaxy S5 is nice considering the price tag, but I have been turned off from Samsung.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

i hate this phone

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ksikma4
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone started out good. It was an update from my last phone and I loved it. But I soon came to realize what a piece of junk out really was and is. First of all, you cannot save anything onto your SD card, save for pictures and music. So you can really only have the bare minimum of applications loaded. Even with that, the phone runs so slowly. I am constantly stopping apps and clearly ram memory. Secondly, after awhile, even the most basic uses of this phone Begin to freeze up -- the keypads, the keyboards, the phone logs, soon you won't even be able to make any calls. Isn't that what a phone is for? To Virgin mobile's credit, I was under warranty and received not just one but two replacements. Even on my third one though, it's still junk even after resetting, and factory resetting all three. Don't buy this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Slow, outdated

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheMightyGulagg
From:  Portland OR
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Basic smartphone. Command response and app use is excruciatingly slow. Voice commands are neat, but sloppy. My wife got a Galaxy Ring for less and it works much more quickly.
Cons: outdated
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Good starter smartphone

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SmartphoneChallenged
From:  New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this phone, and it has been a good teaching tool for me to learn how to use a smart phone. I like the camera, but it isn't good for taking good photos of people unless you are very close to them. Group pictures with this phone are not so great. But I use this for Instagram and FB quite a bit.
The memory isn't great, there are definitely limits to how much can be installed. I don't use a lot of the google stuff that was pre-installed, and you can only remove the updates, not all the apps for certain things. I have installed and un-installed a lot of things, for example, games I have tried. The memory will let you know if it has reached a limit. I connected the phone to my computer and regularly try to download my photos. It is connected to google cloud, though, and automatically saves pictures. Even the ones you don't want to save.
I do recommend this phone. It is pretty sturdy. I have dropped it a few times, and so far so good, fingers crossed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Good at first, but not a long-term phone

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
lawjess87
From:  Williamsport, PA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got the Samsung Galaxy Victory last year and was super excited about it. It kind of reminded me of one of the Galaxy S phones. It was great for a while, but I really couldn't have many apps on it (pretty much just fits Facebook and one or two games or other apps). Now the battery is all messed up (at least, I think that is what is wrong). The battery will read that it is 50-60% charged, then all of a sudden the phone will shut off. When I turn it back on, it reads 1% battery and then shuts off. I will charge it, and then it dies within an hour (even though I am in an area with great cell reception). It also oddly charges itself (or at least reads an increase in battery percentage) when it is not plugged in. For example, I will unplug it from my car, and it will be at 45%, and then 10 minutes later is reading 55%. But this seems to be an error, because then it will shut off after just half an hour, when it should be lasting a few more hours. I am very unhappy with the phone now, especially when I need it for work and never know when it will just randomly shut off. Once it shuts off, if I am not near a charger, then it will not turn back on.
Cons: poor battery life, not enough storage, random shut off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Nice phone but not enough memory

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cyclerider
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this phone but with one major reservation. It doesn't have enough memory for apps. Later versions of Android don't allow you to put apps on the SD card which is just crazy. You can have a 16GB SD card and meanwhile this phone is running slow and giving not enough memory errors when you try to update apps. You can mitigate this some by removing updates to all the Google apps that you don't need. But you must also turn off automatic updates in the Play store or it will keep re-downloading those updates and using up all your memory for apps you'll never use. That's very poor design.
When the memory gets low the phone gets really slow and you can't add new apps or update existing ones.
Other than that it's a great phone with good call quality and great GPS if you want to use it for navigation.
Pros: inexpensive ease of use great gps
Cons: not enough memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Like It

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
cheryblosom
From:  Michigan
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have no idea why this phone gets bad reviews. I had it for about 3 weeks now and love it. I don't have an SD card in it yet and haven't taking to many photos but do have 15+ apps and still have space left. The "secret" is remove all the apps (updates) that you don't use. The only bad thing is the screen is on the small size and sometimes my fingertips hit the wrong letters. Also, download the app called Clean Master Phone Boost, it helps out any phone!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...18next>>