Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Introducing Virgin Mobile's first LTE-capable device, featuring Android™ 4.1 (Jelly Bean), Google Wallet™, HD video capture and a 4.0" touchscreen. Paired with unlimited data and messaging on all plans, it's a win-win.
Average Customer Rating:
3.788 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(340 Reviews) 340
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 340 reviews
5 stars
151
4 stars
72
3 stars
41
2 stars
46
1 star
30
226 out of 32570%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Lacks performance

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Strausy
From:  Prairie Village, KS
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros:
1) The phone is a good size
2) Fairly decent price.
3) The battery lasts a pretty good amount of time if you turn off unnecessary features you are not using (bluetooth, connections optimizer, etc.)
Cons:
1) Very slow when you load it with even standard apps (Facebook, a decent browser, etc). It needs more processing power and RAM.
Pros: price
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

It's nice, but...

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
JoeGoesRetro
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
At first the phone was great, but you're limited to 4GB internal storage for apps, which gets filled up fast, the SD card storage is only to store pictures, video and music. The battery life leaves quite a bit to be desired as well.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: app storage, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

PHONE WILL SHUT DOWN AFTER 4-9 MONTHS!

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TallNYCLady
From:  Brooklyn
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hello,
I've had this phone for about 8 months. Without ever dropping it, no water damage, the phone has began to glitch and turn on and off randomly. I learned that samsung has what is called planned obsolescence, which means after a period of time they purposefully rig the motherboard of their phones to glitch. Which is what happened to me and this phone.
This will be my LAST samsung product. And even though I wanted to stay loyal to a non iphone brand, I can't stay loyal to a company that doesn't make products to last. Switching to the Iphone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

not too shabby of a galaxy

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
brianthefisherman
From:  ri
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cheap affordable. Very nice slim small phone. Has everything. You need
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Good starter phone

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LEW69
From:  Houston,TX
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good speed easy to use good first smartphone that's not that expensive battery holding up so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Battery drains in 4 hours

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
joward
From:  San Ramon, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for 1 year and 2 months and for the first 6 months it was great. Fast with good battery life. However in the last 8 months the battery performance has degraded to the pojnt where I have to charge the phone at least twice per day with little or no use. E.g. sending a text message can drain the battery 5-10%.
I have followed all the online advice to minimize battery usage and I have bought a brand new battery in case it is that.
I will get $8 refund on this phone which I guess is another indication of it's overall value.
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Clunky, get an LG instead.

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tnick
From:  Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Makes a good paperweight. Being serious though this phone replaced my LG Optimus F3 (my fault I bricked it). I got it on the cheap and I got what I paid for. Never had a Samsung product, and probably wont ever again. Keyboard on the screen remains when messenger has closed, restarts randomly. Wont recognize when you add an SD card. Apps fail and close often. Screen not as pretty as the LG's. Sound quality on calls is average. Space is inadequate if you want more than a few apps installed at once. Loaded with bloatware. I am sure the Galaxy S5 is nice considering the price tag, but I have been turned off from Samsung.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

i hate this phone

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ksikma4
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone started out good. It was an update from my last phone and I loved it. But I soon came to realize what a piece of junk out really was and is. First of all, you cannot save anything onto your SD card, save for pictures and music. So you can really only have the bare minimum of applications loaded. Even with that, the phone runs so slowly. I am constantly stopping apps and clearly ram memory. Secondly, after awhile, even the most basic uses of this phone Begin to freeze up -- the keypads, the keyboards, the phone logs, soon you won't even be able to make any calls. Isn't that what a phone is for? To Virgin mobile's credit, I was under warranty and received not just one but two replacements. Even on my third one though, it's still junk even after resetting, and factory resetting all three. Don't buy this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Slow, outdated

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheMightyGulagg
From:  Portland OR
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Basic smartphone. Command response and app use is excruciatingly slow. Voice commands are neat, but sloppy. My wife got a Galaxy Ring for less and it works much more quickly.
Cons: outdated
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Good starter smartphone

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SmartphoneChallenged
From:  New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this phone, and it has been a good teaching tool for me to learn how to use a smart phone. I like the camera, but it isn't good for taking good photos of people unless you are very close to them. Group pictures with this phone are not so great. But I use this for Instagram and FB quite a bit.
The memory isn't great, there are definitely limits to how much can be installed. I don't use a lot of the google stuff that was pre-installed, and you can only remove the updates, not all the apps for certain things. I have installed and un-installed a lot of things, for example, games I have tried. The memory will let you know if it has reached a limit. I connected the phone to my computer and regularly try to download my photos. It is connected to google cloud, though, and automatically saves pictures. Even the ones you don't want to save.
I do recommend this phone. It is pretty sturdy. I have dropped it a few times, and so far so good, fingers crossed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Good at first, but not a long-term phone

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
lawjess87
From:  Williamsport, PA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got the Samsung Galaxy Victory last year and was super excited about it. It kind of reminded me of one of the Galaxy S phones. It was great for a while, but I really couldn't have many apps on it (pretty much just fits Facebook and one or two games or other apps). Now the battery is all messed up (at least, I think that is what is wrong). The battery will read that it is 50-60% charged, then all of a sudden the phone will shut off. When I turn it back on, it reads 1% battery and then shuts off. I will charge it, and then it dies within an hour (even though I am in an area with great cell reception). It also oddly charges itself (or at least reads an increase in battery percentage) when it is not plugged in. For example, I will unplug it from my car, and it will be at 45%, and then 10 minutes later is reading 55%. But this seems to be an error, because then it will shut off after just half an hour, when it should be lasting a few more hours. I am very unhappy with the phone now, especially when I need it for work and never know when it will just randomly shut off. Once it shuts off, if I am not near a charger, then it will not turn back on.
Cons: poor battery life, not enough storage, random shut off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Nice phone but not enough memory

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cyclerider
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this phone but with one major reservation. It doesn't have enough memory for apps. Later versions of Android don't allow you to put apps on the SD card which is just crazy. You can have a 16GB SD card and meanwhile this phone is running slow and giving not enough memory errors when you try to update apps. You can mitigate this some by removing updates to all the Google apps that you don't need. But you must also turn off automatic updates in the Play store or it will keep re-downloading those updates and using up all your memory for apps you'll never use. That's very poor design.
When the memory gets low the phone gets really slow and you can't add new apps or update existing ones.
Other than that it's a great phone with good call quality and great GPS if you want to use it for navigation.
Pros: inexpensive ease of use great gps
Cons: not enough memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Like It

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
cheryblosom
From:  Michigan
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have no idea why this phone gets bad reviews. I had it for about 3 weeks now and love it. I don't have an SD card in it yet and haven't taking to many photos but do have 15+ apps and still have space left. The "secret" is remove all the apps (updates) that you don't use. The only bad thing is the screen is on the small size and sometimes my fingertips hit the wrong letters. Also, download the app called Clean Master Phone Boost, it helps out any phone!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

1.75gb of memory -- awful!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
DoNotBuyThisPhoneEither
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Specs only indicate "expandable memory up to 32gb". Technically that is correct but the problem is that Android OS does not let you store apps to external SD cards (only photos and music). This means you're stuck with 1.75gb of space for all of your apps, which include a ton of Google apps you can't remove. I spend way too much time clearing out caches simply to make room on the phone and I'm not a heavy app user.
Cons: memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ElusiveBurn
 
Please wait while more information about ElusiveBurn is loaded.
Additional information about ElusiveBurn could not be loaded.
What?
Posted September 23, 2014
Of course you can store apps on the SD card! Some Apps only allow you to move app data, and yeah, SOME apps like system apps or essential 3rd party apps (like launchers) can't be moved. But the majority of apps CAN.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Great Phone!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LolationCutie
From:  Toppenish,WA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Its a very good phone. Just the battery life kind of bails also to the phone storage. If you download a lot of things this probably isn't a good match for you.
Pros: easy to use, small
Cons: battery life, phone storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Never regretted buying this phone

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
germinik
From:  Milwaukee WI
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliable phone all the way around. Never any software issues for the nearly 2 years I owned it. Battery was decent, accessories were cheap and plentiful on Amazon. Just the right size. Great reception. I cant think of anything negative to say about this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Ok for its generation and price

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
CJoy333
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was an OK little phone for its generation. I bought it a little over a year ago, and compared to my LG Optimus V it was way better. Unfortunately it has very limited RAM 806 MB and ROM 1.83 GB in reality and personally I hate all the bloatware. B/c of the limited space I only put essential apps on it especially the RAM hungry ones like FB and I kinda liked being free of apps like FB. I did drop it on concrete without a case and have a crack in the glass and a yr later it has finally started to bug out on me and I need to restart it, take the battery out, lower battery longevity etc. If you like a lot of apps this phone is not for you, but if you are entering the world of smart phone and have limited money you can find it much cheaper than the Volt or kyocera hydro vibe ( definitely do not get the LG optimus F3). If you can afford it definitely get the volt or vibe or higher.
Pros: inexpensive, easy to use
Cons: limited memory, no longevity, better phones for same price or less
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ssandee
Detroit Metro
 
Please wait while more information about ssandee is loaded.
Additional information about ssandee could not be loaded.
thanks!
Posted September 2, 2014
I agree, definitely stay away from the LG Optimus F3 ! Looking for it's replacement right now, for all the reasons in it's review on this site.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Great in New York, NY

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Melvin007
From:  New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have this phone for a month now and I did read many reviews both on this site and other sources before buying. I use phone at home to connect to my wifi and it works great. I’m careful which apps I download and the amount of memory and permissions they need. One morning away from home I decided to test my phone to connect to a video site online and there before my eyes my phone said 4G and connected without any problems. I’m not a web hog or anything but in my opinion it’s a great Android phone and I would recommend to a friend of family member.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Not bad...not great, but not bad.

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
olygoalie
From:  Seattle, WA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pretty good little phone. The reviewer that said that it was virtually an S3-mini was not too far off. The main drawback is the low amount of storage (2GB) which, when you subtract what's taken up by the system, doesn't leave you with much - so if you're an app hound you probably should look at an S3 or S5. What a lot of reviewers here don't seem to realize that the inability to move apps to the SD card is not a limitation of this phone, but of Android systems above froyo. It is somewhat frustrating, however. That said, this phone does perform well. Processing speed is fine, battery life is average, screen resolution is OK. Not a bad little hone for the price, really. You could do far worse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alun
Maryland
 
Please wait while more information about Alun is loaded.
Additional information about Alun could not be loaded.
Not a limitation of Android above FroYo
Posted August 27, 2014
It may be a limitation of later versions of Android that you can't move apps to the SD card, but it is NOT versions above FroYo. I have a version that is more recent than that, and it can still do it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE

Good at first, but gets worse the longer you have it

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
IHateChoosingUsernames
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone was my first smart phone ever so I was very exited when I first got it. The phone ran very well for the first few months and I liked it a lot. After awhile, it crashed the more I used it. the memory was not good at all. but I purchased a big sd memory card so I fixed that problem (relatively) At first the battery life was pretty good but now I have to charge it at least twice a day. This phone is good for probably the first 6 months of use but after that it just goes downhill. I've had this phone for a little over a year now and I could use it a little longer but instead I will get a new one just because I can.
Pros: great at first, nice design, easy to use, pretty good camera, not bad for the price, Battery (for the first 6 months)
Cons: Crashes a lot, terrible memory, freezes consistently, not meant for long term use, battery life (after 6 months)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...17next>>