Customer Reviews for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Expand your network with Mingle and easily connect up to 10 Wi-Fi enabled devices.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 out of 1267%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot
Review 1 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Stay away

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pollywog
From:  Western Wachington
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Mingle Wireless for about five months. I have already had to purchase another battery. But what REALLY upsets me is that this data plan. For example - I get 1 GB of data per month for $20.00 - THIS itself is too expensive for a data plan - my Virgin phone gives 8 GB a month for $55.00 plus phone and text. On top of the price for bandwidth I do not watch videos, nor stream music. I check my email and view webpages that are NOT media heavy - this past billing cycle I supposedly used up 1gb of data in approx. 10 hours of usage without watching a single youtube video or listening to any music. I am going to discontinue this service.
Cons: data plan, battery life, supposed data usage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot is a recommended purchase for those on the go

PostedOctober 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Macca
From:  Lawton, OK
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What can be better than Internet service that you can take anywhere you go. I've had this device for about a year and I really like it. The signal is strong and the speeds are equivalent to the DSL service I used to have. You can generate random passwords for the guest wi-fi and connect up to 10 devices to the hotspot.
You can either use the device wireless or connect to your PC via the USB port. The range of the signal is impressive. I can receive a signal from the back of the house when I am outside in the front yard. The same goes for work. I can leave the device upstairs and go pretty far before I lose the signal.
Paying for the data plan is easy. The device will automatically direct you to the Virgin Mobile website when it is time to renew the agreement.
All that I need is for the data plan to be increased to 8GB. If the device data plan was 8GB, this device would be perfect.
Pros: installs with no problems, fast speeds, strong signal
Cons: would like to see the data to plan to 8gb
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Awesome Product!!

PostedOctober 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
skate4life
From:  Kearney Mo
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has great led screen and works great all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Locks Up

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
throwaway
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Every few days it locks up. It takes me 45 minutes of, off and on and pulling the battery to get it back. If it wasn't for that I would say it is great.
Cons: locks up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+42points
48of 54voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Avoid

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
jcalva
From:  Fort Worth, Tx
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst device Ive ever owned. It does not stay charged and you never know when its on or off. The coverage is slow and I can't get any support. Please stay away from this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+35points
46of 57voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
details4please
CA
 
Please wait while more information about details4please is loaded.
Additional information about details4please could not be loaded.
Is that it
Posted March 14, 2015
it seems like there are other reasons for this not working for you it may be the location you are in. the device was faulty. was it the locations fault? the device fault? were you satisfied with the ammount of data you had?Idk I kinda am in need of a hot spot so if you are up to answering back Id like this insight alot. thanks.
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Customer sevice needs improvememnt

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
EskimoUpNort
From:  Wausau, WI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The device itself works great. Impressive 4mbs download speed. Now I can't log onto the mingle manager website. Chrome can't even find the web page not through my smart phone or laptop. I paid good money for this device and now I have no idea how I'm going to add more data when the time comes. The Mingle Manager needs to be integrated into "Manage my account" on Virgin Mobiles main website. Hopefully it gets fixed soon...
Pros: speed, simplicity, reliable
Cons: customer sevice
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+30points
37of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JustTryinToHelp
TN
 
Please wait while more information about JustTryinToHelp is loaded.
Additional information about JustTryinToHelp could not be loaded.
G Crome
Posted December 21, 2014
Look at page 110 of the manual........If all else fails perform a master
reset. If your using Win 8.1 try it on a Win 7 machine. Yeah It should work with 8.1 but I've had hotspots that won't work on 8.1.......
http://devicehelp.virginmobileusa.com/document/WebResources/Mingle_Mobile_Hotspot/Virgin_Mobile/en/PDF_User_Guide
+5points
6of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

If you need this type of device . . .get this one!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MiFiGuy
From:  Long Beach, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VIrgin does it again. I needed connectivity when working at my customers locations. I didn't want to wait for their IT department to get connected so I did the research and ended up getting this device. Compared to the competition I felt this was the best, especially not having to commit to a plan. Pay for what you use, what a concept. I had, emphasis on had, a competitors "hi-speed" DSL in my office and out of curiosity I did a speed comparison and my mingle was almost twice as fast. Great piece of equipment, thanks Virgin.
Pros: great connectivity easy to use no plan compact
Cons: no negatives. the best on the market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
46of 61voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Macca
Lawton, OK
 
Please wait while more information about Macca is loaded.
Additional information about Macca could not be loaded.
Great device, but please increase it to 8 GB
Posted June 5, 2015
I like the device, but 6 GB isn't enough. Verizon has at 8 GB, why not Virgin Mobile?
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Outstanding Device - Incredibly fast and reliable with magnificent coverage

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
W2GSS
From:  Cape May, NJ
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't really know how to begin this review except to say "I am so happy I bought this unit" I was using an ATT portable WiFi device and I'm not kidding when I say this " This Netgear Mingle from Virgin Mobile blows ATT out of the water!" Page loading is faster than I can blink! downloads are unbelievably faster. I downloaded 4 audio files and it took less than 10 seconds for all four to finish at the same time. The user interface is awesome and easy to setup. Keeps perfect track of the data your using and the list goes on. The most incredible thing I found with this device were the accessories. Yeah, there is a docking station with two antennas on each side that turn this Mingle into a full blown home router, it adds 5 Ethernet ports and 5 additional wireless connections into the 10 you already have. It charges the battery at the same time. There is an external antenna for your Car, too. Yep, You can add up to 2 antennas in your car, RV or boat. There are batteries with a much higher capacity available. The list of accessories is incredible. I like the port forward features which allows me to interface my ham radio gear to something called Echolink which is impossible with my other type of Portable WiFi gear. I'm not kidding when I say "If you don'y buy one of these at the price it's gong for then your going to loose out on a great devise. This was the answer to all my prayers! I put my BRAND NEW ATT 4G LTE away and it's getting sold, there is no way any ISP can compete with this unit or service. I travel a lot and no matter where I have been I had a signal. I live on an island and inside my house I only get one bar on the meter but it didn't stop this unit from performing normally. I plan on buying the home and auto docking accessories, expansion battery and mobile antennas. I'm all set. I will be using this exclusively as my ISP since the only thing I really do is read the news, Facebook, Google+, upload and download my photos and videos and much more. I disconnected with my wired ISP and got rid of ATT. I don't care if I have to buy 2 plans a month because this device is magical. I highly recommend the purchase of this unit and the 6GB data plan. You will not be disappointed unless of course you live in an area where 4G is limited. No fears, I hit one spot and the unit automatically switched to 3G and I didn't even notice the change, I didn't have to reload my pages when the speed changed, Truly, I am so pleased and that's hard to do with me since I'm an electronics Guru for over 40 years and Ham Radio Operator for over 35 years. I know good a good thing when I see it and this is "A GOOD DEVICE" No, it's great! I hope my review helps and if you have any questions I'll do what I can to answer all of yours. Enjoy the device, it's loads of fun.. Oh, I forgot to say it has a guest mode so you don't have to give everyone your password, the guest mode password can be setup to change by itself each time somebody tries to connect, Once they disconnect the password changes which means they can't abuse your data, You can also kick anyone off your guest mode if they start using to much or are abusing the allotted time you gave them. GO FOR IT! BUY ONE! You won't be sorry.
Pros: user interface and speed, it is pretty and fits in my pocket easily., long battery life, guest mode, accesories
Cons: i have found nothing bad about the unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+74points
85of 96voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
budgetwise
 
Please wait while more information about budgetwise is loaded.
Additional information about budgetwise could not be loaded.
Thorough Review
Posted October 24, 2014
Thanks for the thorough review. I'm not an electronics expert, but I have worked with Netgear products before, and I like them. Sounds like the Mingle gives you a lot of bang for the buck and SIMPLE to use. I like that.
Thanks for sharing.
+9points
9of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

I wish I had this sooner!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LockheedHudson
From:  S.E. US
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Secure high-speed wi-fi connection where there is none available, or where unsecured wi-fi can't be trusted. For a four day period, I had multiple devices linked. Mingle recognized and displayed them all. Very simple to use, and battery life is great. Keeps constant track and displays data used, so no guesswork.
I love my VM phone (Virgin Awe) for price and features, but it doesn't have hotspot. Mingle allows hotspot without killing your mobile device battery.
Pros: price, ease of use, data tracking, battery life, no contract, use on-demand
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Great product for the money

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cayman55
From:  Nashville, TN
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this for traveling to a few US cities without the desire to find wi-fi, pay for it at a hotel, or in the case of visiting my near elderly mother, not having it at all. The horror.
After using the Mingle daily for two weeks I have had zero problems. Setup was easy and the small issue I did have was resolved within minutes by customer service. Victor the gentlemen that assisted me even apologized for their error and fixed it in under one minute. I'll keep my business right here thank you. Bottom line, If you need this type of device--get this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+33points
41of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

Great Product

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BearRockRay
From:  Mount Morris, MI
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall this is a great product, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a mobile hotspot. Today is the first day I got to use it and so far I am very impressed.
+7points
22of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

This thing is Awesome

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CarolinaB
From:  South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The LTE is worth every penny. The other Wimax devices weren't as impressive as this. You can check the battery, signal, usage, connections and all from the simple webpage from the modem's url. I was a little concerned about having a battery verses as usb device. I got over that really quickly. It doesn't just die so you got plenty of time. I like that I can lock the network and name it what I want. The signal is good but its not a home router but it can be used similarly up to your 6gb. I love netgear and they haven't disappointed me this time either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
31of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Netgear Mingle Mobile Hotspot

this product has great features

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
paul4813
From:  washington, dc
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This IS an excellent product fast downloads
Easy to just charge it and your ready to go
Would give it five stars
Keep up the excellent products
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
27of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DesertRose
Twentynine Palms CA
 
Please wait while more information about DesertRose is loaded.
Additional information about DesertRose could not be loaded.
Not worth the effort
Posted September 12, 2015
I have been a Virgin Moble customer for 14 years. When they had the usb stick the net was great, I expected this unit to be better. I am a student and take classes online. The day I got the unit and activated the account, customer service has trouble setting it up first red flag! Finally, when it was up and running, there were minor glitches here and there, such as unit locking up. However, that was not the most disappointing thing, I purchased the 6 gigs monthly plan, they tell you that 5 devices can log in on the unit at a time..used up 6 gigs in less than a week.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
curt2121
bronx ny
 
Please wait while more information about curt2121 is loaded.
Additional information about curt2121 could not be loaded.
GREAT DEVICE WITH ONE ISSUE
Posted August 30, 2014
I have purchase this device, and it works well, but one issue for me is that it depends on what type of building you are in. this is something that you should take into consideration. the older the building, the bigger the problem, and the lesser the signal. I am now searching on line for a signal booster. but besides that. when im on the run. it is the best device worth buying for a month to month service.
+6points
6of 6voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)