Customer Reviews for LG Volt

LG Volt

Enhance your mobile experience with the LG Volt. Stream your favorite content, take pics on the 8MP BSI camera, and enjoy it all on the sharp 4.7-inch qHD display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.252 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(353 Reviews) 353
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 353 reviews
5 stars
224
4 stars
65
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
29
272 out of 33082%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for LG Volt
Review 1 for LG Volt

Reliable Phone

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LMA11
From:  NoHo, CA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone to replace my HTC Desire, which I loved! I also love this phone. It is reliable and offers a lot of features for the price. You can also count on not having this phone die in the middle of a workday. The battery is a whopping 3000mAh battery.
Pros: screen, storage, battery, processor, 4g lte is fast, speaker is loud
Cons: app loading is slow, thickness
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Volt

Nice 4G smartphone

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
stringbean
From:  Fairfax, VA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After previously owning 2 LG 3G smartphones with Virgin Mobile, I decided to get the LG Volt 4G phone. The area in which I live (No VA) has pretty good 4G coverage. I am very pleased with this phone. It has worked flawlessly and brings up web content with ease. I also use the phone quite a bit for email, and it has functioned well. The battery life has been better than my expectations. I am not wild about the white color, but I have put it in a black Aero Armor case, which works well.
Pros: great performance and battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Volt

WORST PHONE I'VE EVER HAD

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  Texas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first month I had it, it was okay, not the best phone. First you comes with ALL these apps downloaded onto your phone, (which a lot of phones do now..) BUT you put your SD card in to actually get more space, and when you go to download them to it it doesn't have the option taking up more space on your phone, MAKING it slower.
My second problem happened yesterday at about 8 pm when I got home from work.
I was playing a game, and closed that app and went to open buzzfeed, Not only did it shut down buzzfeed it froze. No biggie? i went to restart my phone. IT FROZE doing that. so I take the battery out like you can with anyother phone, IT HASNT TURNED BACK ON. SO now its almost christmas and i'm out of a phone. I read though thanks to google that this is a common problem with this phone. SO NO I wouldn't recommend it
AND I've only had it for a MONTH. BTW.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Volt

Yes Yes Yeeees....!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MysticG2
From:  Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay, I switched from the HTC Desire 510 due to it's cheap feel, cheap build, low internal memory, bloat-ware that refused to turn off and switched to the LG VOLT ! People I kid you not...this is the phone I'm sure you would love especially over the HTC Desire 510.
The LG VOLT has plenty of AVAILABLE MEMORY, EXPANDABLE MEMORY SLOT, VERY RESPONSIVE TO TOUCH, BRIGHT COLORS...gosh...it's like night and day compared to the HTC Desire 510. You have plenty of room to install lots of apps and then some. Features has a cool built in universal remote control which surprised me that it actually is compatible with my other gadgets and TV's. Battery is great....not super perfect but it gets you through the entire day depending on how you are using it.
There are software from LG you can download and called OSP (On Screen Phone) where you can view and control your phone on your pc. You might have to go through various models of phones to find the one that's compatible with the VOLT. Nice feature to play with. Though it is more than the HTC Desire 510, trust me, if you get the HTC Desire 510 because of budget then well, that's fine and understandable but be prepared to find things that more than likely would frustrate you and make you wish you would have saved up for a more advanced phone such as the LG models or Samsung or even phones with better specs. Just read reviews first before buying to get an idea of what to expect.
Or just go to other websites and look at reviews about any phone you purchase. Your money is yours and you deserve to be happy with whatever you choose to buy. Oh and the LG VOLT has a beautiful LED light at the bottom screen (Hard Button) that changes colors....very cool. I am very pleased with this phone.
Pros: screen size bright colors solid memory, optional software from lg's website, solid build nice led light
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Volt

left apple for lg

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
nikki23
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loving the phone. It's. Faster than my iPhone 4 i had. Team android .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Volt

Virgin Mobile sent to me with a dead pixel.

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShinUrKimchi
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I can say this it was a big upgrade from my zte but sadly my zte battery lasted longer.(and it's battery is bad) the screen had a dead pixel in it when i got, tried to fix but no. Wasted my money on this. Can't really wipe the screen off or it will freak out. The keyboard goes away to much. And it closes apps on me. I would like a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Volt

Worst. Phone. Ever

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Eromer
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the absolute worst phone I have ever owned. I am pretty easy to please when it comes to phones. I am not an app collector. I have a few messaging apps, a yoga app, a music app, and some organizational apps. I use my phone mostly for the browser to check social media and for msging, taking pictures, and listening to music. Pretty standard.
This phone force closes EVERYthing anywhere from immediately upon opening the app up to a variety of intervals. I counted the other day and I was on the internet (facebook) for 7 min. closed. I restarted. 3mins. closed. I restarted. 1 min. closed. I resisted the urge to smash it to pieces. One day I couldn't get through a single strip of a webcomic with out it force closing the internet not once, not twice, but three times. (and yes, I have cleared the cache).
It often does not let me into what's app which is what I use to talk to my boyfriend and coordinate plans so I can get stranded some place or have him waiting for me some where. It also has begun force closing the camera as I take a picture. I open the camera app, line up the shot, hit the shutter button...and it closes... I usually only get through 3 times doing this before I get so frustrated I give up.
As another inconvenience, the speaker is on the bottom so if I am laying in bed looking at my phone in landscape mode, I can't hear anything. It is also super slippery and thin and rounded so it's difficult to hold onto...but at least a case can fix that part. The rest is just very frustrating
I need to add that I know this is all very first world problems but it all comes down to expectation. If I am told a phone will work , my expectation is that it will perform basic smart phone tasks.. if I knew it was a bad phone and I bought it anyway well then...ok.. I can deal with it. I knew it going into it. Don't say this is a smart phone when it's, at best, quite a bit under average intelligence.
Don't buy it. I wish I could trade it in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Volt

It's a good phone

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Julesrldumont
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I first got this phone super excited, I had a terrible phone. So it was a nice upgrade. But after a month the keyboard stopped working and apps shut out, so I erased my phone and redid it and now it works fine. I had everything backed up so I didn't loose anything important. It was just a annoying. Also I dropped it a few times didn't break, but one time it finally dropped good and broke the digitizer. Oh well...... The camera is kinda awful. But overall I am happy with my phone. The battery is pretty good just don't over charge. I do recommend this phone, it's easy to use and fun
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Volt

Screen cracked twice in first 4 days

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
bern
From:  New York, NY, United States
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If screen is so delicate why not install a screen protector or at least tell us we need to buy one. The apps and screen are not intuitive and are getting on my nerves.
Pros: cute looking, affordable
Cons: screen physically, screen navigation
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Volt

very impressed

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
greynus97
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My first phone was the Kyocera Event and during the summer of 2014 i bought this phone. It excels at everything i do everyday which is Clash of Clans, Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, and other apps on my phone. The cameras are excellent, and it has a very sleek design. Also the way the home button lights up when i get a notification is just an added bonus. the only thing i don't like about is that occasionally the keyboard is really stubborn and wont open, also (I'm not sure if this is because of my case or what) but it overheats pretty often and i feel like it could be ruining my battery. i have had this phone for 4.5 months and it still works great, would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Volt

this fon has been easier to use than my previous htc,, its smart , it has enuff power and the battery stays charged for days

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ezweezy
From:  new york
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
as of now I have had this fon for about two months and I am enjoying every day with it. I have not had one problem as of yet.. I did not know the lg product before I purchased , but as of now I am very happy with the products performance
Pros: very reliable and good fon overall
Cons: have not had a bad experience as of yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Volt

horrible

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
caitwinn
From:  Windham, OH
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I switched from the iPhone 4s to this phone and this phone is a major downgrade. It closes apps while I'm using them, the keyboard goes away in the middle of texting and won't come back up unless I close the app and open it again.
Pros: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Volt

glitches

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
texter85
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I came from the Galaxy S3 to this phone and it was definitely a downgrade. This phone freezes quite often when texting or at other random times when using the touchscreen. I also have issues with people hearing me on calls. I can not really even use the speaker phone, even in a quiet room, because the other person cannot hear me. The front view camera is not very good. The regular camera is pretty good. I haven't had many problems using the web or anything else. My main issue is how often the screen freezes. It is SO extremely annoying.
Cons: freezes up constantly especially when texting
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Volt

Love it.

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chrystwin
From:  Benton Harbor, Mi
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this phone in August and have had no problems what so ever with it. I use it everyday for everything. I switched from a Samsung Galaxy Discover on Cricket because of monthly price and having 4G LTE
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Volt

LG can do better.

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ERIS
From:  san diego, ca
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My main problem with this phone is that it CAN NOT multitask. I can't use a music app and browse the internet, I didn't even think that was possible with a so-called "smart phone". Another annoying issue is that the browser frequently crashes; whether its the stock browser, chrome or firefox this phone doesn't seem support internet browsers. There's also a problem with the keyboard, it doesn't always show up when you need it to. The phone also has two speakers but only one actually works, no its not broken, that's just how LG designed the phone to have two speakers and only have one work.
The battery power is fantastic though! A day and a half of moderate use will get you to about 25% which is pretty good in my book and the only redeeming quality for this phone.
Pros: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Volt

Great battery life - slow processing

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Inkeddog
From:  Raleigh, NC
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone when my Galaxy was stolen. I like the interface and the icons. I don't think the antennae is as strong as the Galaxy though - Pandora and Spotify consistently stop every 5 or so minutes. And sometimes I'll open an app and just as it finishes loading, it quits and I have to restart the phone.
It's pretty slow to get back the home screen as well. When you click the Home button it can take up to 6 seconds for the phone to show all the icons. Pretty annoying.
My Galaxy got returned and I think I'll reactivate it and ditch the LG. It's ok for the $$ but I'd keep it trim in terms of adding apps.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Volt

This product is great overall.

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Daniel12799
From:  Chicago, Illinois
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, this product overall is excellent. It has great battery life and amazing speeds. The phone is slim and a nice screen size. It's, in some ways, better than those big brand phones like a Samsung Galaxy. This phone can be used as a remote control for the television or TV Cable box. It has a beautiful camera display with 8MP and an average front camera. Flash is super bright and amazing overall. One problem, however, is the WiFi keeps turning on by itself. I turn it off but not even 5 minutes later its on again. Maybe just a software issue and might be solved in the next update? Great phone overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Volt

So Slow

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
breezymae
From:  Wisconsin
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ive had this phone since the beginning of september this year, and it honestly is not the greatest. it is frequently slow, apps are always crashing, battery life is terrible, and some of the settings are garbage. over all this phone is NOT worth the money. all virgin mobile phones are terrible and over priced.
Cons: slow, crashes, overpriced
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Volt

All in all....a great.mid level phone

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Thrasher545
From:  Flagstaff, AZ
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had this phone for two months now. I like it a lot. It does all the things I look for in a smartphone. Widgets, cameras, web browser, notes, music player and of course, calls and texts. Battery usually lasts two days with my usage. RAM is higher than low level phones but still got to be careful of apps running in background. I only do Facebook through the browser for this reason. I put all my music on 32gb microSD card where I also save my pics and videos. Wish taking screenshots was easier than using "Quick Memo." I am quite happy with this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Volt

Was a really good phone. Could use some tuning up on the processing

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheGod
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this phone is great. battery life is godlike. really fun to play with once i got it and i loved the bubble noise that would happen when i tappe dthe screen. dislike that it would lag a lot at times and how it shows two speakers at the bottom but only one worked and the other one was for design.
Pros: battery life, size, price, easy to use
Cons: only one working speaker other is for show, kind of lags every now and then, people
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...18next>>