Customer Reviews for LG Volt

LG Volt

Enhance your mobile experience with the LG Volt. Stream your favorite content, take pics on the 8MP BSI camera, and enjoy it all on the sharp 4.7-inch qHD display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(307 Reviews) 307
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 307 reviews
5 stars
208
4 stars
54
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
20
246 out of 28786%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for LG Volt
Review 1 for LG Volt

Worst phone ever!

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
youngspice
From:  boston, ma
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this phone is a piece of junk. right out of the box, i would get a triangle in the top corner saying "cannot connect to wireless data" all the time. just randomly too, even while on wi fi. i very rarely had LTE on this phone. apps randomly close all the time. when i'm texting someone, it will randomly save as draft, then go to a different contact to text, again right out of the box. the phone constantly freezes up. as well as the lock/power button rarely works. i find myself sitting there for 2 or 3 minutes just hitting it for a screen to pop up, then it takes forever for it to register my finger to unlock the phone. all in all, this phone is terrible, even for expecting an aweful phone. waste of time and money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYopinion4u
NY
 
Please wait while more information about NYopinion4u is loaded.
Additional information about NYopinion4u could not be loaded.
Posted October 26, 2014
Sounds like you have gotten a borked phone. Too many issues you are having right out of the box for any other explanation, as the phone itself is very good. A replacement should fix every single problem you are having because there is no other explanation other than the phone being a dud.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for LG Volt

Love this phone!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Spritzie
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone! At first i was hesitant about trying out anything other than samsung because i loved my samsung but needed a new phone and didnt want to spend hundreds of dollars. I have been extremely pleased with this phone. It is lightweight and not heavy. The screen is really bright and clear. I like all the. Customizing features it comes with. You can switch to a cute bunny and chicken texting BUBBLE lol. Ive had no problems whatsoever with this phone. And ive had plenty of space for all my favorite apps. Im not one to put a ton of apps and music on my phone so not sure how that would go for space wise. But i do have some songs and a good amount of apps and still plenty of space. Battery is amazing as well! My friend ended up getting a samsung galaxy 3, which i almost got but it was out of my price range, and i actually like my lg volt better! This phone is definitely worth the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Volt

Exceptional for the price, very good smart phone regardless.

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
NYopinion4u
From:  NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a daily driver of smart phones (work and play) for many years. Most recently a iphone 5 that was given to me by my employer, however I was leaving that job and had to turn it in. I found myself in the market without a budget limit but I wanted something specific to my needs (both phone and plan). I do not mind spending top dollar, but try and refrain to do so needlessly. Having said that, my needs include:
1. Clear & loud speaker/call quality
2. Simple e-mail set up
3. GPS functionality
4. A decent size/quality screen
5. Light video/gaming needs
6. Decent camera
7. Decent build quality
8. Good battery life
I spent about a week or so searching forums, friend recommendations, and review sites to get a good grasp of what is the latest technology to chose from. I also spent a good amount of time in local stores feeling out my options. At the end of the day the LG Volt (as well as Virgin Mobile) seemed to be the perfect fit.
Now that I have had the phone for about a month I can confidently say I am very happy. The call quality is very good, and the screen size/quality is perfect for all my texting/e-mail needs. The phone is powerful enough to handle all my youtube/netflix/gaming needs (which are light), and the camera is good as well. The build quality is very good also despite being a plastic shell, and the phone is powerful enough to service all my needs without nary a pause/lag. The battery life is also exceptional!
To be blunt, it fits me perfectly. I was thrilled to find it so cheaply, but truth be told I would have been satisfied paying upwards of $200 or more for it. If you are in the market for a phone that simply works well, has a nice sized screen, some oomph under the hood, and are smart enough to not spend hundreds more needlessly, this phone may be for you.
To wrap this up and to draw a most recent comparison/conclusion, the iphone 5 obviously had a better build with the all aluminum body, but for what and how I use my phone, the LG volt is as good if not better in every single task I need/want out of a phone. And for hundreds less.... Mind you, this is not a knock at the iphone, it was a very good phone, but more so a testament to the LG volt.
Pros: simply put it just works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Volt

Frustrating phone

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nikky
From:  Yonkers, NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Came from a Samsung Galaxy victory. Thought this would be an improvement in speed & stability. It was the opposite. Apps freeze. Downloading, app installs & delete times are forever, even with a wifi connection. When clicking audio attachments in emails, they simply don't play and app freezes. Then a message pops up and says audio file was downloaded. A phone reset didn't help. Virgin was quick to replace it, so good service there. Hoping the replacement works better. If not, will try a Samsung S3 or S5 or maybe an Iphone. Fingers are crossed.
Pros: screen size, customization options
Cons: freeze ups, load and delete times
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nikky
Yonkers, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Nikky is loaded.
Additional information about Nikky could not be loaded.
UPDATE
Posted October 22, 2014
Got the replacement phone & all is good - really good. Must have been a defect in the hardware or software but the replacement is awsome. As others have said, this phone is plenty quick, no more pocket button pushes (a big annoyance with the other phone when a text came in), clear sound when on speaker mode. Can't beat this for the price. Gets a solid 5 stars now! Just needs a thin silicone case so it doesn't slip from my hands.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for LG Volt

Great phone

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
transformerguy
From:  johnson city tn
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got my volt a few days ago and i love it. I upgraded from the optimus f3 and the volt is a much better phone. The battery life is just ok, but everything else about the phone is great. It takws great pictures, it is faster than the f3 and the features are great too. This by far is the best virgin mobile phone i've owned, the price is great too. I have no complaints about this phone.
Pros: features speed ease of use
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Volt

worth it buy asap

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
brianthefisherman
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightning. Fast great phone FOr the price. Flys from one app to another. Big and slim. Excellent. Phone
Pros: speed size
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Volt

Ehhh it's okay

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Moniimedina
From:  Illinois
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? No
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for less than two months, and am already tired of it. I liked it at first, it was okay. Now it always freezes on ME, the battery life isn't as good anymore either. I have to take me battery out at least once a day because of it FREEZing on me. It gets really slow too sometimes. I really did like the battery life at first though, and I like knock code, and the remote feature. Those are some of the things I will miss, but other than that NOT much else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nikky
Yonkers, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Nikky is loaded.
Additional information about Nikky could not be loaded.
Too many apps running in background?
Posted October 22, 2014
Check the apps you've downloaded. Many continue to run in the background. There are process killer apps that may help this. Check the app store. Just may solve your problem.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for LG Volt

I wish I had bought it sooner.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LukeMN
From:  Twin Cities, MN
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I don't know why others say anything negative about this phone, I am very pleased with everything thus far. The speed, clarity, ease of use, battery life all excellent. I don't want to carry around a tablet ie Galaxy 5 or IPhone??... "to big for my liking", this is every bit as good without the big screen tv hanging out my back pocket.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Volt

Good phone at a Good Price

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
McMeekin
From:  California
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for 5 months. It has started to occasionally freeze up or run slowly. However It's still not as bad as my iphone 4s was. The battery life is good and it has good features. Typing is not as smooth or easy as the smaller iphone 4s. Im comparing this LG Volt against a more expensive phone. So yes I would recommend the LG Volt, it may have quirks like any other phone, but it runs well, it has good battery life, it's easy to use, and the price is soooo much less than many competitors. Even the Data/ Online use is very good, pretty fast, and the screen has good resolution for viewing media. The one true downside is that if you are a true picture taker from your mobile phone, the picture and video quality is less than a more expensive iphone type. But for someone who takes occasional shots this is just fine.
Pros: battery life, price, ease of use
Cons: picture quality, video quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Volt

Great value

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jello2shop
From:  san diego ca
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is a great value. It does everything I need a mobile phone for.
I was hesitant to think that this phone would be adequate because of the its lower cost, but I can't imagine needing any other phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Volt

A different story after less than 3 months of use

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
alsjkhfaslkjdfhasld
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not sure if I just got a bad egg, but I've only had the Volt since August and it is now almost halfway through October. The phone worked fine up until this point but now the touchscreen won't respond at all. I've attempted multiple battery pulls and reboots to no avail.
Before this the phone functioned fine. The battery life got pretty dismal over the last few weeks where it would die overnight. Low screen ppi didn't really bother me and I really liked a lot of the features in Kit Kat. The phone is sturdy and has a bit of heft to it with the 3000 MhA battery. Screen is a nice size and while the back plat is really thin plastic, the rest of the phone looks pretty nice.
Because Virgin only has the bottom of the barrel or the highest end models to work with, I'll probably just trade this phone in for another Volt. Not because I was that happy with the phone in the first place, but because its really the only viable option for a true midrange phone. Hopefully my second one will perform longer than my first.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Volt

Slow and buggy!

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
makiomilano
From:  Michigan
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not a worth to buy! LG has dropped the priced very fast because is not a good phone. Look for other options. It is not Virgin's fault, the service is incredible but the phone nop!.
Sorry LG, you did wrong this time with this LG Volt
Pros: long battery
Cons: buggy, slow performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nikky
Yonkers, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Nikky is loaded.
Additional information about Nikky could not be loaded.
Free replacement
Posted October 22, 2014
I had same problem. VM quickly sent a replacement and it works great. Just call for a free replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for LG Volt

Nice phone

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
C123
From:  CO
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is the best pre-paid phone i've ever had. The battery lasts about 3-5 days depending on how much i use it. It is fast and calls are crystal clear. The phone is perfect size. It barely fits in my pocket! Not too big not too small. The pictures come out clear. Overall, I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants a good quality phone for a fantastic price!
Pros: battery life, no lag, size, picture quality
Cons: i don't have anything to complain about!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Volt

Great Phone

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Natie
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this phone. So easy to use. No lag. Easy to set up. Great data speeds. Amazing and sleek!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Volt

In love with this phone!

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous2
From:  Ohio
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this phone looking for an upgrade. My "off-brand" phones through VM weren't holding as long as I'd hoped they would and I made the decision I'd switch to a "name-brand" phone instead. I compared plenty of phones in my price range throughout the website and broke it down to two LG phones: The Volt and the Optimus F3. I ended up with the Volt, honestly, because the F3 wasn't available when I arrived at my local retailer. I was really excited for the Volt because it looks amazing and it's definitely an upgrade. I almost immediately opened the box and set the phone up. I was not disappointed at all upon looking at all the new features the KitKat Android system provided. I was even able to mess around with my friend's TV using the remote app. Changing the texting themes and wallpapers were definitely a new feature that neither of the other phones I'd had could provide. I am so in love with this phone. I have already recommended it to my friends and I am confident that they will be just as happy with theirs as I am with mine!
Pros: screen size, 8.0 mp rear-facing camera, android 4.4 kitkat operating system, tv remote app
Cons: still looking for something i don't like about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Volt

Love the LG Volt

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
audshappy
From:  FL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first smartphone and I love it! I am still learning all of the features and how to use them. .There are so many! Nice size screen, loads fast, battery life is pretty good. I suggest that you do you do not leave apps running to save battery life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Volt

DO NOT PURCHASE!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
FURIOUS93
From:  rock hill, sc
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
if you are looking for a quality android phone for not so much money, this is not your phone. i have had this phone for about a month and all it does is freeze up. i will try to swipe into my home screen, but the lock screen will not allow it. It's almost as if it freezes up. The battery life was fine and the storage space was amazing, but the fact that the lock screen swipe did not work 98.9% of the time was a deal breaker.
Pros: storage, camera quality
Cons: lock screen
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Volt

I love this phone

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
phonereviewuser
From:  Kentucky
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first turned on my phone the accessibility feature was on and it was hard to use. I did not like that feature. but once i disabled the feature i was able to use it without any issues.The phone was easy to navigate(i can see it being hard to understand for older people) The camera features are sweet. This is a great smart phone at a great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Volt

Great phone

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Heaven
From:  Rockford Illinois
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I enjoy this phone I've had it a month great Speed great pictures I wish the front cam was better tho
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Volt

Fantastic price for the device

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShallowWalletGeek
From:  Texas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This device sports a 1.2 Ghz quad core processor (better than some mainstream devices on the market), which you really notice when switching between applications. The RAM is a little lacking for the amount of bloatware on the device but after removing several initial applications and disabling others, the device runs smoothly. The battery, which is the only real weight to the device, holds up to the advertised 24 hour talk time. I will use the device all day, internet radio and games in between classes (15-20 min) several times a day, texting constantly, and a few calls. From 5 in the morning, the device will only have dropped 25% in battery by the time I get done with my day around 6 or 7 in the afternoon. I'm sure this will change with more use but, I am initially impressed by the functionality of a cheaper device. The Kit-Kat OS was a nice touch to the device but I'm afraid the RAM is being spent almost entirely on running it. If I have an option to drop the OS to a less resource hungry 4.1 Jelly Bean, I probably will.
Pros: processing, battery, functionality, price
Cons: ram
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...16next>>