Customer Reviews for LG Volt

LG Volt

Enhance your mobile experience with the LG Volt. Stream your favorite content, take pics on the 8MP BSI camera, and enjoy it all on the sharp 4.7-inch qHD display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.102 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(452 Reviews) 452
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 452 reviews
5 stars
263
4 stars
86
3 stars
35
2 stars
22
1 star
46
334 out of 42379%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for LG Volt
Review 1 for LG Volt

A Great Phone

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Isaias
From:  Los Angeles
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great phone for the price. The phone has a long-lasting battery life with a lot of memory for downloading apps. I can go all day without charging the phone and it will last me until I go to bed with battery still left over, even on a busy day.
The biggest issue I have with this phone is the keyboard, which sometimes does not appear when I am trying to text or google something on the web. Another issue that has been becoming a problem is the bottom-left button that is used to go back. It is beginning to malfunction as it fails to recognize my finger or thumb when I am pushing the back arrow button. I have had this phone for about 8 months now.
Pros: great batter life, lots of memory
Cons: keyboard fails to appear at times to text/write, the back arrow button fails to function properly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Volt

One if the best Androids from Virgin Mobile I've had.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
VirginCell
From:  Midland, TX
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been pretty pleased with this phone. With heavy usage, the battery lasts the whole work day and then some. The display quality while watching videos Very clear. I do, however, have either a dead or stuck pixel that numerous pixel fixer apps have not been able to cure. I also have some trouble with the LG default keyboard disappearing on me sometimes during text entry. I just switched to using the Android AOSP keyboard. Other than those small issues, this phone takes good pictures. Has led flash which I like. Sound quality is good I like it. One of my best Virgin Mobile phones. I've had it for about two or three months now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Volt

great!

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
katelynmb
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for just over 4 months. I can say yes, occasionally it does freeze. But it unfreezes very quickly. I've never had problems with NY keyboard. Also, it clearly is just unlucky for people who didn't get a good one. But more than likely, it won't be terrible as some have named. I definitely like this phone a lot.
Pros: battery life easy to use good storage space
Cons: freezes occasionally (not for long at all though)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Volt

I really like the phone

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JESohio
From:  Dayton Oh
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had it for about one month and so far so good. I upgraded from my 3G LG Slider and I am happy with it. Holds a good charge, camera is good, sound is good. I like the apps available on this compared to my older phone. I bought the right phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Volt

great phone

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
dzack117
From:  Baltimore maryland
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
for the price defiantly the best phone you'll find the battery last me at least 16 hours playing music and the abality to control a tv is amazing....but it needs more internal memory i tried using an sd card but cant set it as primary memory
Pros: battery life
Cons: memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Volt

Fantastic upgrade

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lala73
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really fast response time. Lo ts of space. Big screen. Was worried it would be slow like the last phone I got from vm but this volt is superb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Volt

locks up camera will not open when you need to

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
wolo
From:  orlando
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
after owning two ill never buy another lg they r low quality first started acting up camera would not open some messages would not go thru now seems to lock up freeze when you need most first few weeks ok but as it starts to get older it goes down hill blame bloat ware.
Cons: slow locks up camera will not open
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Volt

Phone: great, except...

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cerra
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm getting so fed up with Virgin mobile it's not even funny. I bought the HTC 3D whatever it's called 2 years ago. It didn't work like at all. It was so jacked up it would barley let me text. They sent me a new one and it worked for awhile, then did the same thing. Well I just ordered this phone in March, for my birthday. The phone is greatttt! It has awesome features, great battery life, looks nice, EXCEPT it's force stopping my internet pages, WILL NOT bring up my keyboard so I can type/text, doing all these seriously annoying things I'm truly about to be done with Virgin Mobile. Every time I buy a phone from them there's a problem!
Pros: battery, features
Cons: it's ability to do what i need it to do!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Volt

Pretty Good Phone

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ashhleyy
From:  Martinsville, VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its a great phone!! I've had it for almost 3 months now... only thing that can use some IMPROVEMENT is the front facing camera ... but other than that i cnt find nun wrong wit it
Cons: front facing camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Volt

Ugh

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jazzy2530
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have plenty of room on this phone. It works very well. But for some reason, out of nowhere, a little over 200 pictures disappeared. I wasn't anywhere near a delete button, or any of that, but 200 pictures are gone. Very important pictures. Just POOF. I'm very upset right now and would not recommend this phone to anyone who likes their pictures.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mari2020
 
Please wait while more information about mari2020 is loaded.
Additional information about mari2020 could not be loaded.
Posted April 14, 2015
Unfortunately, the reason why this happens is because you had your phone set to save to your SD card. Because of the current operating system (android 4.4), we are unable to edit anything on our SD storage including saving or deleting music on it. If you switch the settings to save to internal memory, you won't lose any more pictures.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for LG Volt

Great Phone

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
citygirl
From:  Framingham, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I switched to VM from Sprint. I had to pay an early termination fee to get out of my Sprint contract but it was worth it because VM plans are 65% cheaper than Sprint plans. I had an iphone 5S through Sprint. It was a good phone, overrated in my opinion. I think everyone just wants to drink the Apple kool-aid. The LG Volt has much better features than my iphone 5S did. There's probably too many to type but I absolutely made the right decision. I like my LG Volt more than I liked my phone 5S. It will not disappoint!
Pros: features
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Volt

Good phone / Frustrating phone

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
NCFan
From:  Raleigh, NC
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There are some things about this phone that I love, and a couple of things that make me want to smash it to pieces. I always buy inexpensive phones and that's why I like LG. I've owned the Optimus, the Optimus Elite, and the Optimus F3. I've owned the Volt for about 3 months.
Pros:
- Screen size is great
- Battery life is amazing. If I don't use it much, it's at 70% when I go to bed. I've had days where I've used it for hours, including a couple drives using GPS, and it's at 15% after a very long day.
- Reception is somehow better than other phones. LTE is fantastic, but it picks up 3G a little better than previous phones. I think the voice reception is better as well, but I'm not certain about that.
- Screen resolution is adequate. I used to think it was fine, but I recently bought a tablet with great resolution, and that makes me wish my phone was a little better. But for the price, it's good. Besides, I think that lower resolution is part of the reason the battery life is so great.
- I love the LED light indicator around the home button
Cons:
Most of the complaints I read about are true. This phone cannot mulit-task. If I am listening to internet radio and I turn on GPS, internet radio crashes. If I turn on internet radio again, GPS crashes. Same thing happens when I listen to internet radio and surf the web. It happens with both Pandora and iHeartRadio, so I don’t think it is the app. I tried streaming from a website and thought that worked, but then Bluetooth started crashing.
Over time, Chrome started crashing more and more even when I wasn't multitasking. I’ve read comments from others that the keyboard doesn't pop up when it should. That started happening after a couple of months.
It got to the point where the phone was almost unusable. I couldn't read a paragraph online without the browser crashing. I did a factory reset a couple of days ago and that stopped the browser crashing and the keyboard issue. It did not help the multitasking issue. So I hope it will work again for the next couple of months.
Overall, the phone isn’t bad for the price. I am frustrated because it is almost a great phone. I probably would buy it again if I had it to do over, mostly because a phone with this size screen is usually much more expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Volt

Great product

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
uncomfortable
From:  anonymous
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great phone I switched from the Samsung galaxy s3 and this phone is such an upgrade
Thanks virgin mobile
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Volt

phone is great

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
dondada
From:  seattle, wa
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone does everything i need. Battery lasts all day. Its pretty fast and i dont have lag or crash issues like these other people doing reveiews because i clean all cached files and disable unnecessary apps. Ive had this phone for 9 months going on 10 and it still performs like new out of box. Camera works great, keyboard is excellent, for the price it does what all the other fancy phones can do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Volt

This phone is the worst

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mmorgan14
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I switched from sprint having a galaxy s III to virgin and got this phone, its horrible. It freezes all the time, when i play a game it turns on my music.... my texting opens but it wont pull up the keyboard for my to type. When i play games they are always shutting down by a force stop. I cant wait until i can afford to replaced this phone! I would never recommend this phone to ANYONE!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Volt

Even after a year

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Danika
From:  Kenosha, WI
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this phone. The battery life is AWESOME. It can be off the charger at 5:30am and I'll still have 40% left after 13 hours of use. Granite I'm not on my phone all the time. Mostly just texting and listening to books. I do have a issue with the keyboard not coming Up when I Click on it but everytime it's done that was in Facebook or the messenger. If I'm normally on the Web or texting..... The keyboard is completely Fine. So my deduction is IT'S Facebook. I'm not a big camera person so the camera works for me. My pictures turn out very good. I like that it comes with like 6 different ways to lock your phone. My favorite one is the knock code. In my opinion it's alot harder for some one to unlock it Especially If you don't display the pattern. There's an option for it under the lock settings. Also a great tool...the backup pin, btw it's set for whichever lock you Choose. You can personalize it, down to having certain colors for people when they are calling and texting you. The size and weight is fine too, not a big issue for me. It is quite fast for surfing the Internet, although keep in mind it depends where you are and is the service decent. Space is 4 gb but I have a 16gb SD card in it. So If it starts to have lack of space, clean out your files. That what happens when you download apps and remove them and download pictures and documents. I ended up freeing 2 gb of storage bcuz of it. there is alot of accessories (now, not a year ago when I first bought it) and they are pretty good. I Have a pretty sweet case for it too. So To end this review All my friends are ENVIOUS, they want one. So for all the people putting a bad name for this phone, did you actually take the time to learn the phone?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Volt

Great phone, great price!

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
IBMamaBear
From:  Tampa, FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the second log in feature. Also, I drop my phone often, even with a case, I'm sure it's the screen of this phone that's been my saving grace!
Pros: bang for your buck
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Volt

Happy after two weeks...

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gilroy
From:  Los Angeles, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first so-called smart phone wasn't; replaced it with the LG Volt which has a much higher IQ. Particularly happy with the virtual keyboard which still surprises me by its accuracy. Good battery life, and, even though I'm an Apple guy, the Android operating system is simple and reliable. Wish the volume controls on the side were a little easier, but I'm not complaining.
Pros: battery life good keyboard
Cons: side volume control
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Volt

Better substitute for Galaxy

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
crashley
From:  Washington
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone because it was cheaper than a galaxy BUT essentially the same PRODUct.
I got it almost a year ago and have had no issues, the battery still lasts me two days at a TIME,
Amazon has many cases available.
Its only froze up on me maybe once or twice, and I'm not the easiest on phones.
Love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Volt

awesome phone

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Russiandoll
From:  Jersey
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When i first gotten this phone i was iffy about it because it was bigger than the ones that i normally get, i gotten This 2 months ago an it still works amazing i love this phone
Pros: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...23next>>