Customer Reviews for LG Volt

LG Volt

Enhance your mobile experience with the LG Volt. Stream your favorite content, take pics on the 8MP BSI camera, and enjoy it all on the sharp 4.7-inch qHD display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.132 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(410 Reviews) 410
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 410 reviews
5 stars
247
4 stars
73
3 stars
30
2 stars
17
1 star
43
304 out of 38479%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for LG Volt
Review 1 for LG Volt

lg volt

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
cara
From:  Fresno,Ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great phone i have had it for 6 months still works great the camera takes great pictures. The only issue ive had is once in awhile the phone will freeze. This has happened only a few times. It has alot of extra features.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Volt

Love it -great price!- great sound- fast - looks good

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Moshekatan
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it -great price!- great sound- fast - looks good
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Volt

Don't buy this phone!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DontBuyLG
From:  missouri
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this phone for a week before I had to take it back. The keyboard only pops up a third of the time. My apps closed every 5 minutes, and I couldn't get the internet to stay open either. Both browser and chrome would just shut down. 15 times in 20 minutes. It constantly reset the background back to the default picture. Don't waste your time or your money..
Pros: awesome battery, neat lights on the front, good storage
Cons: keyboard doesnt work, apps close out, internet wont stay open
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Volt

okay....but speaker broke already

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
renlau
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for 6 months now and everything was working fine. It can get laggy sometimes but it works after a few seconds. The only problem i've had now is the speaker when i make phone calls has seemed to be blown out. i rarely make phone calls or use my speaker so I have no idea how this would happen. Speakerphone works and i can hear if i make a call on speakerphone (inconvenient), but when talking normally the person sounds muffled and robotic which is hard to hear. Speaker already broke within a few months...a little ridiculous. otherwise god phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Volt

This phone is a good one

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
baskatballgrl25
From:  Malibu, California
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is really good and has a great battery life. But teenagers shouldn't have this phone. I downloaded snapchat twice and i had to system reset my phone twice because snapchat was messing up my phone and the keyboard went away. It wouldn't let me type on anything and i had to result to system restting. But i deleted snapchat and have no problems now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Volt

Is my everything!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BloggerFan
From:  Macon, GA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. I had the LG Optimus F3 prior and I couldn't run all the apps I needed. I'm a seller on ebay and etsy and needed real-time info. The LG Volt provides me with everything I need and then some. Here's a list of all the apps I'm running:
1. Paypal.
2. Google Voice
3. PdaNet
4. Etsy
5. Instagram
6. Skype
7. Airbnb
8. Craigslist
9. Google Adsense
10. Amazon Kindle
11. Pandora
12. Netflix
13. Chromecast
14. Crackle
15. Flashlight
16. LibriVox
17. Ebay
18. Photocollage
All the above are apps that I downloaded and often use. I couldn't do that with my old phone. oh and I also use it to take photos of my ebay and etsy items. and shoot video tutorial with the phone camera. The camera is better than the digital camera Canon, that I purchased to make YouTube videos. Best part is, I also use it to upload my videos on YouTube.
Can't wait for the next upgraded version
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Volt

Great... when it works.

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Internetty
From:  Portland, OR
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had free phones that worked better than this. Battery life is generally amazing, but sometimes it'll just drain in an hour. Half the time the keyboard doesn't work, or it wont take pics. The wallpaper often resets (though this might be an Android issue). It's ridiculously slow to load my single home screen as well, and with almost nothing installed of my own it rests at 800mb+ usage constantly.
Pros: battery life
Cons: mostly everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Volt

great

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jennyfredokay
From:  phoenix
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good PHONE. Fast and easy to use. But Since my last update the battery life has shortened. Would still recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Volt

after 6 months

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bgwaltgney
From:  San diego
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Of having this phone its super slow. Lack of being able to transfer many apps to the SD card really slow it down. It freezes a lot. If you are looking for a phone for minimal usage this phone is ok. But for heavy use it becomes sluggish and unresponsive with several simple apps running at a time.
I want a new phone already.
Cons: slow and sluggish after a few months. not good for
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Volt

Awful phone.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AJS5
From:  Columbus, Ohio
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone back in September (5 months ago) to replace my Galaxy S3 that accidentally got smashed (I didn't have insurance at the time). If you have any idea what you're doing do NOT buy this phone. It was great at first, but by the end of those 5 months I was constantly having to take the battery out due to constant freezing. If i ever tried to view pictures in my gallery for too long (2-3 minutes) all of the photos would turn black and I would have to take my battery out. Twice towards the end of that 5 months I had to factory reset my phone because it would NOT send or receive messages or calls. The camera? Terrible. Heaven forbid you try to take a picture indoors without any natural light.
The battery on this phone was great at first too, but that also became unbearable. It got to the point where it would drop roughly 10% every hour, even if I wasn't using the phone. I resorted to turning off my location and doing everything I could to save power to try and make it through the morning until I could plug in. I was constantly having to disconnect and reconnect to WiFi because even when it was connected it wouldn't work (and no there wasn't any problem with the WiFi itself, it worked great for everyone else). It was constantly closing out of apps for absolutely no reason, which is really annoying when you're trying to listen to music, play a game, or search things on the internet.
Last week I caved and bought a new phone, the HTC 816. I'm in love with it, I beg you, if you can buy the 816, not this phone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Volt

great unless you use a lot of apps

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
random32
From:  California
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone doesn't allow you to transfer apps to your sd card which is ridiculous because it uses up all of your storage. It doesn't even allow me to transfer photos to my sd card anymore, it says its full but when I look at it under the storage category in the settings my sd card is 90% free. Also the Swype function stopped working a month into owning phone and battery life is practically non existent at this point due to not being able to transfer anything to the external storage. I have had this phone for 6 months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Volt

LG Volt after many months

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
PB4953
From:  USA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this phone as a secondary line and it is not my primary device. I use a Note 4 for that. However, this phone, for the price, is excellent. Its battery life is superb and actually better than the Note 4. The screen is good and I find no lag after using it for any period of time. The build quality of the phone is good. It has nice features and everything I use on it works fine. Call quality is excellent. I recommend this phone if you want something better than the cheap phones and the 600 dollar ones. It's a good middle of the road device.
Pros: quality and price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Volt

Great features for a reasonable price

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Satai
From:  Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone to upgrade from my old Optimus Slider. Had it for about three years, and really liked it. I like the Volt better, since it's larger.
Pros: Inexpensive, lots of nice features, camera with flash
Cons: Somewhat short battery life, can't see new pictures after using the camera
The fact I can't see my new pictures I took is surprising. Would anybody be able to help me with this?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Volt

Don't bother with this phone.

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Berks
From:  Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ALMOST took this phone back to the store within the 14 day period. Almost. Within the first two weeks, the phone's unlock mechanisms (there are three of them) became less and less responsive. It takes several attempts just to activate the screen in order to unlock it. Now, whenever I touch any text box in order to type (Google, text message, whatever) the keyboard refuses to pop up. Just the other day, my phone's clock froze and I was late to work. Save yourself the frustration and buy the Samsung Galaxy S III instead. I was so happy with my Samsung Galaxy S II from Virgin Mobile. It lasted for two years until I broke the charging port, which is why I had to buy this piece of junk from LG.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Volt

After a couple months, you will see the flaws!

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chesley
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First of all: The reason this entire review is in caps is because of this phone. My keyboard does not have caps lock turned on, but despite this, is RANDOMLY Typing in caps. Anyway, I REALLY WISH I COULD GIVE THIS PRODUCT A 5 STAR RATING, AND AT FIRST, I LOVED IT. BUT MONTHS LATER, I NOW SEE ALL OF THE FLAWS. THE KEYBOARD DOESN'T POP UP 90% OF THE TIME I GO TO THE BROWSER. MY FIANCÉ OR FAMILY WILL OFTEN ASK ME WHY I HAVEN'T RESPONDED TO THEIR CALLS/TEXTS WHEN I DIDN'T EVEN KNOW THEY HAD CALLED OR TEXTED BECAUSE MY PHONE DIDN'T RECEIVE THEM. THE CAMERA IS TERRIBLE ALONG WITH THE SCREEN RESOLUTION. YES, THE CAMERA IS 8 MP BUT IT IS VERY FAR FROM BEING ANYTHING CLOSE TO HD. IF YOU ARE THINKING OF TYPING ANYTHING IN ANY "BOX" (I.E. E-MAILING) WHILE YOU ARE USING THE BROWSER, FORGET IT. WHEN YOU BACKSPACE, THIS PHONE MOVES THE CURSOR WHEREVER AND STARTS BACKSPACKING OTHER WORDS, ADDING LETTERS TO WORDS THAT YOU DIDN'T TYPE, AND FREEZING. WHEN RESPONDING TO A TEXT, MY KEYBOARD OFTEN FREEZES OR LAGS AND SOMETIMES I AM COMPLETELY UNABLE TO RESPOND ALL TOGETHER. SAVE YOUR MONEY, EVERYONE. YOU REALLY DO GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. THE ONLY PROS IS THE BATTERY LIFE AND SCREEN SIZE.
Cons: keyboard, browser, performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Volt

GIVE IT A COUPLE MONTHS AND YOU WILL SEE ALL THE FLAWS!

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Captivatingbeauty
From:  New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok, I really REALLY wanted to love this phone but at the end, I get so angry with the performance of this phone, that I want to throw it away. When I first got the phone, it was soo amazing to me! Despite the pathetic internal memory on the phone, the phone was lightening fast, very responsive, able to text effectively and browse the web on a nice big screen. Not to mention the long battery life. But after only 5 months of use, problems after problems arose!
The list of my problems includes: missed phone calls and text (I live in NYC that receives service almost everywhere for virgin mobile), all of the apps constantly crashes, wallpaper keeps reverting back to factory setting wallpaper, phone freezes ALOT, my alerts don't work sometimes, mp3 app shuts off music on its own, internet is so slow, the keyboard ALWAYS takes FOREVER to pop up for me to type, wifi always disconnects, internet always crashes then goes back to homepage, navigation/status bar doesn't always like to slide down, terrible camera and most of all, the phone is just sooooo slow overall! The list continues though.
Mind you, all these problems didn't occur because of me downloading stuff. I mean, how can I, with a measly amount internal memory gb? I can't even put apps on an sd card!
I really hope, I saved you from a potential terrible purchase! But if not, you've been warned.
Pros: battery life, big screen
Cons: slow, missed phone calls/text, crashing apps, terrible camera, internal memory, glitches a lot, terrible keyboard
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Volt

Nice smartphone

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kusiaka
From:  Corry, PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the first smartphone I have ever had, and it's very nice. My only complaints are that occasionally the messaging app will freeze and I can't respond to texts for a few minutes, but it usually works itself out. The battery also dies pretty quickly if you're searching for an internet connection in an area where there isn't a strong one. The graphics are nice, though, and its fast. I've had no major issues with it since I purchased it six months ago.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Volt

Love this phone love Virgin Mobile!!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  Coventry, Rhode Island
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this phone. Virgin Mobile knocked it out of the park with this one! This phone is just as good as most high end phones. Features are numerous an fun to explore, screen is so clear and bright and the battery life is insane! I work in healthcare and before work I charge my phone and won't need to charge it again for at least a couple of days!! Yes I said a couple of days!! I can't say enough about this phone and the excellent service from Virgin Mobile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Volt

GPS does not work

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
sevenyanks
From:  Rhode Island
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GPS has suddenly stopped working, Been stranded several times. Do not get if you need reliable maps.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Volt

A good battery life is overshadowed

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
justanotherreview
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros:
-Good battery life
-Large screen
Cons:
-Camera doesn't work at all
Other thoughts:
So I bought this last year and didn't notice until too late that the camera is terrible. Wouldn't focus and all pictures were blurry. Well, now I'm out of warranty and have a need for a camera so I'm forced to use my old phone just to take pictures. Tried 3 different programs and updated everything, but the phone refuses to use auto or manual focus
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...21next>>