Customer Reviews for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Feed your feed. Faster. The speedy LG Optimus F3™ 4G LTE lets you share and post to your social feed in a flash. The QuickMemo feature, 1.2 GHz dual-core processor and 5MP camera allow you to quickly switch between apps and easily capture, personalize and share your latest obsessions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.393 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(608 Reviews) 608
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 608 reviews
5 stars
195
4 stars
134
3 stars
87
2 stars
99
1 star
93
328 out of 56858%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE
Review 1 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

LG Optimus F3

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
BreeKeerstin
From:  Pennsylvania
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was in love with this phone when I first got it. While the QSlide, Quick Memo and NFC features are neat, they're not something that's really used often. The excitement of those features wore off pretty quickly once I realized I would never really use them.
Anyways, the camera quality on this phone is pretty good. That is, the back-facing camera. The front-facing camera, which is mostly used for video chatting and taking selfies, is pretty shotty. It's fuzzy and pixelated compared to the crisp quality of the back-facing camera, which has pretty good auto focus and other settings.
I've had no problems with lagging or freezing on this phone, which is great considering my last phone (Kyocera Event) froze all the time, resulting in me having to remove and replace the battery constantly throughout the day.
Speaking of batteries, the battery life on this phone is fantastic. With past phones, I've had to charge them at least once or twice a day. I have plenty painful memories of going out with friends or to family gatherings and sitting in silence because my phone has recently passed, and I didn't bring my charger with me. I've had no problems of the sort with this phone, though. The battery is 2460mah, which is pretty good. I can normally go 2 days without charging my phone, and I've never had it die randomly because I forgot to charge it the previous night.
The one thing that is my biggest complaint - and dealbreaker - about this phone is the lack of space. The phone claims to have 32gb of expandable storage, but that's not entirely true, is it? I have a 16gb micro SD card in my phone, but I've only been able to install 5 apps, adding to the apps that were already pre-downloaded onto the phone. 5 apps is nothing. You can't do anything with 5 apps.
I have over 700 songs and about 150 photos on my micro SD card, but for some reason it's shown as being on the phone's internal memory, and is therefore taking up space there. Every time I take a few pictures or a short video, I get an alert warning me that my storage is low and I end up having to delete a few things.
It also doesn't help that the phone doesn't allow you to move apps/photos/videos/anything to the SD card. You can of course root the phone, but I don't want to waste my time when I have a perfectly good 16gb SD card and the phone itself claims the storage is expandable to 32gb. Why should I have to root my phone? I should have plenty of space, or so that's what the phone claims.
In conclusion, if I had the chance to buy this phone again, I wouldn't. Although the features are great for a budget phone, the lack of space isn't worth it. There's really not much you can do with it. I'll be upgrading very soon.
Pros: good back-facing camera, decent features, great battery life
Cons: low storage, low quality front-facing camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Waste of money

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Shade21
Age: 18-24
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone about a year and a half ago. I am very good to my phones, this device was not once dropped, exposed to excessive moisture, or mistreated in anyway. I read the reviews about the lack of space for apps and the inability to move apps to the SD card, but I needed a replacement phone after the touch screen on my htc evo died and this seemed to be the best deal at the time. It worked pretty well for the first week, but after I installed Facebook and removed what bloatware I could, there wasn't much room for anything else. The camera takes ok pictures, I never tried to record anything because of the space issue though. About 4 months in it started showing me popups after I powered it on saying backup has crashed. This continued for awhile, then it got worse. I was constantly getting notices that there was not enough memory and the phones systems could be affected. I went through the phone files and deleted anything unnecessary and uninstalled everything but Facebook, and it worked again for awhile. Then it started having system updates daily. Then the messages came back, so I uninstalled Facebook. The space issue messages were still coming, and the preinstalled apps were crashing when I tried to use them. Some wouldn't even open. Google maps crashed halfway through a roadtrip. I did a factory reset, and it was telling me with nothing more than the preinstalled apps that there is not enough room on the phone. It has reset itself 3 times today and now it will not come on at all. The trouble shooting prompts didn't help, so I'm moving on. I think this would be an ok phone for a kid, or someone's first smartphone; but if you need anything reliable, look elsewhere.
Pros: good battery, good first smartphone
Cons: not enough space, crashing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Great 4G phone with limited storage space

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
jwight
From:  Dayton, OH
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want a lower priced 4G phone this one is fine, with some good features. It has limited internal memory (4GB) and you cannot move apps to the SD card, so if you like a lot of apps this phone fills up fast. At some point even trying to update apps will get you the "not enough memory" message and then all you can do is delete a couple to allow the most used apps to update.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

phone is essentially a barely functioning brick

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
sominex
From:  germantown, wi
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
thanks to the new Android OS disallowing storage of apps on the SD card this phone is useless with only 1.24GB total storage space for all of your apps (including preinstalled stuff that you can't delete and are forced to give space on your phone to)
Pros: battery lasts a while, looks nice
Cons: no storage space, can't uninstall some apps, buggy and error prone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Not the greatest, but it works.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Myriad
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the striking points that doesn't get enough attention on the site is exactly how much memory space you have on the phone. With a multitude of fairly worthless apps that clog up your phone's storage, you're left with (and I'm not even joking) ~400 megs of space for your own apps and other things. On a 1.1 gig drive. So unless you want to have a few small little apps to do things (Social media) or have just one big game on your phone at a time (kind of a silly thing, if you ask me), you're limited on what you niche yourself into.
Aside from the simple nitpick, it's a pretty solid phone. Fast processor, clear speakers, bright and color-rich screen, and an amazingly efficent battery makes this worth its value. But unless you're willing to let yourself be pigeonholed into a few apps I'd suggest either rooting this phone if you can to remove the chaff apps that you can't uninstall, or just looking to other phones with more app space.
Pros: good battery, sharp screen, feature-rich
Cons: poor drive space, "feature"-rich
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

No swype

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
scossel
From:  Springfield, OH
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for almost a year now and its been a bit of a disappointment. You can't move apps to the SD card (what is up with that) so you can't have a bunch of apps on your phone. Also the camera is not that great and swype stopped working after a few months so I had to download the google keyboard which also takes up space. Don't waste your time - get a better phone.
Cons: no storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Doesn't last

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Awaitingreplacement
From:  Michigan
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone was good at first, but had way too many extra icons for suggested Virgin Mobile apps. The phone doesn't have enough storage available to actually download and run more than a few apps and you can't run apps from an sd card. It has a good camera that worked unless you wanted to use the zoom which was very blurry. Overall an easy phone to use.
With that said, my calendar stopped syncing after about 8 months so no calendar would work at all. I couldn't even use the phone's calendar on its own. Then a month or so later, the backlight support stopped working, whatever that means, and finally all of the systems in my phone stopped working and my phone was unresponsive most times and started to 'hard reset' itself several times per day so I could keep no info on the phone and needed to set up the sync and accounts every time I wanted to try to use it while I waited for my replacement phone. Hopefully this one will be put together better and the updates will work together and not crash the whole phone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

I Absolutely Hate This Stupid Phone

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ABeachGuy
From:  Melbourne Beach, Florida
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this miserable piece of junk for a little over a month now, and I'm ready to smash it with a hammer, and go buy a real phone. I don't rush out and buy something new every time something new hits the shelf... I buy something because I need it.... and in this case, my old phone stopped functioning, so I purchased what I thought would be a good phone. My old LG Optimus Slider was great, and the Optimus F3 looked to be a better phone. Sadly it is nothing more than a constant source of frustration.
Apparently LG No longer makes a phone with an actual slide out keyboard with real buttons. The on screen keyboard on this phone makes it impossible for me to type.... characters to the left, right, above, or below the character I want usually appear on the screen.... trying to hit the backspace button usually results in another unwanted character instead.... so I can no longer type anything.... which means that I can't respond to text messages.
The phone has GPS capability.... but how am I going to enter a destination if it is darned near impossible to type?
It constantly does what ever the heck if wants. As in, it will suddenly decide that it wants to go into silent mode... It decides that Airplane Mode would be nice... It changes ring-tone, because it feels like it. I might be listening to a Jazz Station from Paris France, but the phone suddenly decides that it would much rather play a Hip-Hop station from Newark New Jersey.... It performs a google search for Plastic Pancake nail doors. Lord knows I can't type with this stupid phone, so I sure as heck didn't try to perform a google search for anything, let alone Plastic Pancake nail doors.... It decides that it would be a good idea to call my wife's uncle John... so it does.... It decides that it doesn't like the home screen photograph, and switches to something new.... it loads apps that I don't need, don't want, and didn't ask for....
My old LG had a "Home" button.... no matter what screen or function that was being displayed could be terminated by pressing the "Home" button. This new LG doesn't have that function. I'll pick up my phone, and discover that it is doing something I didn't ask it to do... and sometimes the only way to get it to stop is to power it off... the alternative is a multitude of "Backspace" or "Return" keys, that takes me a step at a time back out of what ever the heck my phone has decided to get into. Did I mention that I absolutely HATE this phone?
I don't have children... but if I did, I'd suspect that they were messing with my phone, just to drive me nuts.
I really can't afford to go out and buy another phone at the moment, but it really looks like I'm going to have to do exactly that. I purchased this phone because my old LG Phone was great... I doubt I'll buy another LG product again for a long long time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Sooo little storage

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ang065
From:  Wakefield, RI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you're big on apps, don't bother with this phone. I constantly deleted apps and it wouldn't even let me move stuff to the SD card. Literally nothing. If you want to have like Facebook, twitter, and tumblr, that's probably already way too much storage. Also, mine just randomly died one day so I upgraded to the LG Volt and it actually has storage and lets me move stuff to the SD card.
Pros: cheap
Cons: no memory, sd card is obsolete, died spontaneously
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

not much ap storage

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
DanDad
From:  st. Louis
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Storage space for aps on main mem is horrible. 1 gig doesnt do much and every update takes away more space. I guess android or ap updates wont remove old files when it updates. Even if you root it, it still wont allow much workable aps to reside on the External SD card. External card is basically only good for pix and music. also the External speakers as not very good in my opinion. Everything else is fine, but even though I bought this phone less than 1 year ago, I'm fed up with constantly running out of space due to android or the few aps you can have updating themselves. apparently updates dont remove the old files they are updating, so space fills up quickly.
Cons: ap usable storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Poor Hardware

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
FBeachy
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My display stopped going sideways just after one year of owning the phone, which makes texting much harder for me. My last phone was a different Optimus, and it died completely, apropos of nothing, just after one year. I love the Virgin plans, but the quality of the phones is pretty lousy. I'm not a real heavy user of my phone, and while it's been dropped several times, I wouldn't say it's taken a lot of use or abuse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

No memory

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
wen2000
From:  Schenectady NY
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When I bought this phone it had better reviews then it does now. If I had known about the lack of phone memory I would not have chosen this phone. Don't know why the phone allows an sd card if I can't back anything up to it. And the phone comes with so many apps I don't use and can't remove I can't add all the apps I do want and use. Not happy at all.. Time for a new phone. UGH!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Not enough storage space for apps

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
RoberttheReviewer
From:  Anywhere, Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This would be a great budget phone if it had more free storage space.
Most of the internal memory is dedicated to bloatware, and you can't install apps on an external SD card. What does this mean? You're stuck with a couple hundred megs for apps.
If you don't want to download many apps and just use the phone for basic things - email, the web, actually phone calls, then it's a good value.
I'll be buying a new phone soon.
Pros: price
Cons: storage space
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Lack of storage space

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
geebaby2k14
From:  Hattiesburg Mississippi
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone would be great if it would allow you to move items such as apps to your SD card because it is frustrating not being able to download apps because of the lack of space. Other than that everything else is ok
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Terrible

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kayleen
From:  indianapolis, in
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dropped my htc desire in the toilet and had to downgrade to this. I hate this phone. Ive literally just bought it brand new and it freezes every two minutes. The playstore wont even load at all. I had to download facebook through chrome. The "4g network" is so slow. No memory space. I could go on and on. I loved my htc desire. It was a way netter choice
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Nice phone hampered by low memory

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
NateP
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Basically, this phone falls short in the amount of user-available memory. What does that mean? It means that if you like apps, you're severely - no, really, SEVERELY - limited. The bloat that comes installed from VM hogs most of the memory, leaving you about a gig and a half available to install things. And watch out - you should make sure to download things and save pictures and video to an SD card.
Other features are nice - the screen is good, it's a quick, not fast, processor, and the usual Android things are fine. If the memory was larger, it would be a good-to-great phone.
Pros: screen resolution, size/weight
Cons: memory available for apps, vm-included software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Not Great

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
baldjtb
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There are several problems I have with this phone. (1) You can not transfer apps of any kind to a SD card if you have inserted one. (2) You can not turn off the shutter sound even if the phone is on silent profile.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Very happy with purchase

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jean6356
From:  Ohio
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone used in excellent condition to replace my LG Optimus. It's definitely superior to the Optimus. I use it the most for receiving texts/calls (obviously), GPS capabilities and to stream music from Spotify. Don't need anything fancier, this phone does its job. Overall very pleased.
Pros: Decent battery life, clear calls, doesn't lag, good sound quality.
Cons: I recorded a voicemail and the playback recording was awful. It sounded muffled and scratchy, despite re-recording 5 or 6 times. Terrible recorder. Only negative I've found.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

Virgin Mobile & LG has really stepped up its game(latest technology & great price)

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RobStella
From:  Piedmont Triad, NC
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the price and the service i couldnt ask for a better phone, LG has really stepped up its game(latest technology & great price)
Pros: great deal & service
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Optimus F3 4G LTE

not very good

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
mrfuture
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Be careful with this phone. Virgin Mobile installed an app that will hack and reset your phone every month automatically. it is simply annoying.
the phone performance is outdated now. slow. memory gets full but you cannot move apps to SD card. GPS takes too long to receive data. I dont see this phone runnig on 4G often even there is 4G service in the area. phone is super slippery and probably you will drop it on the day you get it.
Not recommended. you get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...31next>>