Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
2.458 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(251 Reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 251 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
47
3 stars
32
2 stars
61
1 star
86
80 out of 24333%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

Not a good phone

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sami123x
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is nice if its your first smartphone. But its not a phone i would recommend. I've had this phone since June of last year and I've had many problems with it. Its freezes a lot, shuts itself off at random times, and the battery dies very fast, calling isn't so great on it either. Wifi will keep turning back on after I turn it off. If you're thinking about getting this phone, I wouldn't, I'd find something better. I'm going to upgrade my phone and get rid of this piece of junk phone.
Pros: the qwerty keyboard is the only nice thing
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

Great phone.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Busy
From:  Lawton, Ok
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my Kyocera Rise. It slides easily every time. It never gets too hot, it doesn't reset all the time, and the battery lasts a full day or more. It's easy to learn as use, and fits into my pocket, too. The android os is easy to use, apps are easy to find, and I have never had an issue. It's also surprisingly durable. I got a snap-on case for it and it's been dropped many many times, the battery doesn't leap out when it's dropped and it hasn't sustained any damage. This was my first smartphone, and I have had it for a couple years with no issues. My only wish is that the camera was a little better.
Pros: battery life, durability, android os, keyboard slides easy
Cons: camera could be better
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Great in the beginning! But went south within a year...

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bri187
From:  Wichita, KS
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So I'm an average young women, always on my phone, be it texting, facebooking, taking pictures! but this phone is not the phone for you if you plan to do that!
I can't take/make calls half the time because the other person cannot hear me, (they all say it sounds like I'm standing in the middle of a windy field!).
I'm lucky if the battery lasts more then half of my day if I'm continuously use it (even if i don't use data and its just texting). Due to this I carry a charger on me at all times.
The camera quality isn't really that bad as far as that is concerned.
I personally LOVE phones with keyboards on them but looks like my time with them is running out. At least every 3 days, if not more, I have to tighten one or more of the screws on the phone. This is, I'm assuming, due to sliding the keyboard out frequently just starts to loosen up the screws causing the keyboard to start to fall off!
I have had this phone for barely over a year, and it started off great, just went down hill within the past 2 months. If you are looking for a phone to just last you for about 6-8 months, this is phone is for you, but if you are looking for something durable, look elsewhere.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: battery life, keyboard starts to break off, screws come loose in the phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

horrible phone

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
tima122
From:  missouri
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is exactly what you pay for.. this phone constantly freezes and its impossible to hear from the speakers on it.. I listened to music from my google music app.. and you cant even hear it unless you hold it up to your ear.. I wouldnt recommend this phone for anyone!
Pros: nothing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

this product is nice!!!!!!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bugsy
From:  florida
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone would be great starting off in the android world.it does crash if you are on it for a really long time but otherwise it is great! the battery is really nice,of course it runs low if you are on it all day.the keypad is great but it started the break after a while.this is a great phone!
Pros: better than alot of phones
Cons: the key pad starts to break apart from the phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

Kyocera Rise WORST cell phone Brand

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Amber301
From:  Pasco, Washington
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive had to replaced this Kyocera Rise phone 2 now 3 times! Problems calling 911 ending the call doesnt allow it 2 end take more mins & freezes the the phone, turns on & off all night, turns on & off when in uses, internet does not work outside of wifi, phone calls drop outing & incoming most cant be answered, texts dont go out or come in, unlocking screen blacks out, contacts gone, downloading apps freezes the phone causing more problems, updates have been done but its still doesnt work! I'm tried of spending money on phones that dont work!! along with the bad Service!!
Pros: nice looking cell phone, $35 phone plane 4 all phones
Cons: virgin moblie service unreiable, cell phones unreiable, prices on phones r expensive
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

This phone is possessed

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShanS
From:  Ohio
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had nothing but problems with this phone. It will randomly restart over and over again for no reason. The wifi keeps turning back on after I turn it off. When the wifi is on basic things like making a phone call won't work. If I have more than 2 apps on this phone it is out of memory and they are not large apps but there is a ton of stuff on this phone that i don't use that it won't let me get rid of. Overall this phone stinks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

Like the keyboard and durability, but nothing else

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
AnnoyedAndDone
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is something I would recommend getting a child or young teenager. It is rather durable when it comes to being dropped repeatedly. Like other people had said, the phone freezes and crashes often. I have also experienced calls and messages not going through, even before the numerous droppings. Unfortunately for those of us who don't want to give up slide-out keyboards, this is the best option.
Pros: slide out keyboard, surprisingly drop-resistant
Cons: crashes, terrible performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

The battery is fine!!!!!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JJChgo
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I get 3 or 4 calls a day and the battery last more than a day. For the price this is a fine beginners smart phone. Again for the price I made a good decision ignoring the reviews. I've had it now for months and nothing is wrong with it. just like new. no loose screws. the slide out keyboard is so great. the on screen keyboard for making calls is also good, large enough.
Pros: better than the reviews!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

you get what you pay for

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
KidCudi
From:  NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
it's pretty bad, but it's cheap. it kept freezing, which was especially worrying when it froze during phone calls. I did everything I could to stop it from slowing down like delete apps and all that, but to no avail. It played games only at the lowest graphics settings and even so it stuttered a lot. It couldn't play robot unicorn at all. also the battery was kinda bad. I had to carry a charger around everywhere. If you can afford it, get a better phone. If not, get this. You'll be miserable, but you'll survive.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

I love the keyboard option

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Beaglebaileysmom
From:  Bradenton, FL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Game downloads are very limited on storage and the phone can log you out right in the middle of the game which means losing that life/game. Sometimes the phone shuts itself down completely just sitting in locked mode. However, I have had worse phones. Besides with no contract and unlimited text/web and 300 minutes it is perfect for my usage.
Pros: better than most, the keyboard makes it easier than the other option
Cons: limited download of games, shuts down on it's own
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

Can't Wait to Get A New Phone

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TiffTiff
From:  PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for a year now and I can't stand it. The battery life is terrible even if i put it in Eco Mode. I always take my charger with me. It randomly crashes and stops working. There's nothing special or "smart" about it. I recommend saving your money and buying a more advanced smart phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

The slide out QWERTY keyboard is a big plus!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Redheded
From:  San Diego, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very reasonably priced phone with many features comparable to a Samsung model that costs literally hundreds of dollars more. It navigates well and has decent speed. A perfect phone for the budget minded.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

For calling & texting, ok. For more than that, consider alternatives

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
gladdadof4
From:  York, PA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought 2 of these phones, one for me, one for wife. I've had the phones now for 6 months. My wife only uses for calling & texting & it's been fine. I use more apps and I'm not liking the performance. By battery life has gone downhill fast. Even for calling now, it's very slow and unreliable. I've just taken off a number of apps so we'll see how it goes. We bought them b/c they had qwerty keyboards, but the buttons are stiff & hard to use. We've also found that a screen keyboard is fine (had never used one before and will no longer seek out physical qwerty keyboard). If you only use the phone for basic calling & texting, it's good (though the sound quality using speakerphone is poor). If you plan to do more than that, check out other alternatives.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

Do NOT get this phone

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LeprechaunSL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When I first got this phone it started out great with no problems. Than after about a month the phone starts freezing up and apps i try to open a minute earlier are now beginning to open up even to just make a call or send a text message. Sent it back and got a new one and the same thing happened again. Save your money and get a better phone.
Pros: slide out keyboard
Cons: speed, preformance, processor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

Crashes constantly and horrible battery life

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ghem
From:  Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had liked this phone for about the first month I had it, then apps started crashing left and right, even in 3G it was slower then dialup used to be. Then came the freezing. It would just not wake up so I would have to pop out the battery and restart the phone to be able to use it. I am speaking from unfortunate repeat experience. After my first one just completely died about 8 months after buying it, I bought another.
Hoping the second would work better I was sadly disappointed. Same issues, only the 2nd one the screws holding the 2 parts together would randomly decide to fall out basically making the phone useless unless I had a jewelry screwdriver with me at all times.
Also the battery life. I may be an exception as I work on the go all the time and a lot of it was via my phone, but the battery life lasted ~maybe~ 2 hours at best. I had to go out and buy back up battery power packs so I could be useful while on the go. Even in eco mode (which makes doing basically anything impossible) I squeezed maybe an extra half hour of battery life while in my pocket.
On a positive note however; the slide out qwerty keyboard is great and the camera (when it wasn't crashing) was actually pretty good for a phone of this price.
Overall, for someone that doesn't really use a mobile phone it's great. If you do basically anything other then text/call this is not for you.
Pros: keyboard
Cons: apps crashing, freezing, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

Constantly crashes

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
cpb0205
From:  New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Started out great. Now basic functions don't work properly. Can't even send a text message without the entire phone freezing, which means I have to take the battery out and turn it back on. Won't even make a phone call without problems.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

very short batt life combined with slow processes and alot of freezing

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
notsatisfiedkj
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
it acts sortof like an android is supposed to however it constantly freezes over simple processes and can be slow as ever opening any app. sending texts most of the time with full bars is always delayed. it has a on again off again relationship with the slide working properly and half the time its sticky hard or stubborn then all the sudden starts to work right. the batt life is almost non existant even on eco settings and lowest dimness. the charge light stopped working for no reason and all the sudden its just freezing without even having any processes constantly not even 2 months old yet. i dont abuse it i keep it in a case and i baby the heck out of it. not worht what i paid when my wifes service charges less for a far better phone.
Pros: you can text, not much
Cons: poor batt life, not durable, constant freezing, slow, tons of bugs, random things stop working for no reason
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

Strong at first but slowly dying

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lulu2015
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I first got this last winter then the summer started to act different, shuts down random times or turn on by it self. The phone was great to texting and data but calling was terrible. This phone is not worth the time. Love the company but this phone was terrible. Even for a college student trying to contact family.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

Love it

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
surpre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great and isn't expensive. It's just a phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...13next>>