Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
2.35 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(351 Reviews) 351
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 351 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
57
3 stars
46
2 stars
79
1 star
136
107 out of 34131%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

Freezes and Frustrating

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lithura
From:  Minneapolis, MN
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Got this phone because it was fairly cheap and had a keyboard and woah man was that a mistake. I've had it for about a year now and it has been constant frustration in its use. Apps freeze for no reason other than the fact that the phone has only 1 GB of RAM and system processes take up more than half of that. The phone itself freezes and has to restart fairly often (sometimes you have to take the battery out to get it to do anything at all). Often times if you make one phone call and then want to make another the call button is unresponsive. I once sat for 45 minutes trying to make an important call because the "call number" button would respond to touch but refused to start the call (yes I tried restarting the phone). The slide keyboard is nice at least but if you only want a slide keyboard without the smartphone features I would recommend the Samsung M575 or something like it.
Pros: slide keyboard, durable
Cons: freezes often, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

horrible all to gather

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Goodmanb61
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
you get what you pay for. short battery life slow lags and glitches all the time apps shut down with out warning on screen key board is slow and doesn't work half the time if you don't have very much on it its sorta ok
Cons: every thing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Nope.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AnotherSam
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phone is super user friendly when it's not SHUTTING ITSELF OFF FOR NO REASON. If you have this phone, I'm sorry. I've had 2 replacements, and they're equally awful. Never rely on this phone for an alarm clock because it will randomly shut itself off while you are sleeping and you'll miss your alarm. The battery life is really the only good thing about this phone. Probably because it's off half the time, and therefore not using any power.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

Hate this phone

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Monkeyshine81
From:  New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
This phone is horrible.... Do not buy. It would have been nice if the keyboard lit up in the dark. I don't like that all of your notifications are tiny in the left hand corner. My email doesn't load up correctly. The phone is super slow. I'm not an android fan, going back to an iPhone. The sound quality for calls is poor, sounds muffled if you ask me. The battery life is horrible..
Pros: nothing, the slide out keyboard
Cons: everything, it doesn't light up in the dark
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

Eh.. you get what you pay for

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
delicatedaisy
From:  Amarillo, TX
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was my first smart phone.. I would rather have a flip phone than this. I love the keyboard but eh. I replaced it with the Lg F3, this phone is waaaay better lol.
Pros: the slide out keyboard is cool.
Cons: crashes alot
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

Don't Waste Your $

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dnvy
From:  Columbia, MD
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is absolutely horrible. It shuts off constantly, freezes, loses connection with every application. You'll spend most of your time pressing "ok" to the constant notice that "whatever app" has lost connection. It's been one thing after the next of something not working and I came really close to smashing it on the ground yesterday. Seriously, steer clear of this headache.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

durable phone...has gone through alot and still works fine

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
techybuff
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone (which i write this current review from) has been broken in half and glued back together and still works just as good as day one...this phone is durable and really one of the strongest iv used and it does everything it says it does and it is very cheap...first smartphone and I love this thing
Pros: durablegood appsdoes what says
Cons: slow at first but tends to speed up
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

nice phone

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Buggy27
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Works well for an entry level smart phone. Not a lot of bells and whistles but serves it purpose. Battery life is not very good if you leave the WiFi on while traveling as it keeps trying to connect to any nearby signal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

Horrible Phone

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Denitxs
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a horrible product. I understand you get what you pay for, however this phone force shuts on almost all applications, lags and freezes. I have nothing good to say about it.
Cons: freezes, lags, apps shut down
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

It freezes to much!!!!!! WAY TO MUCH AND IT'S SLOW.!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungMacMiller
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've already had to replace the phone twice because it freezes way to much. I always have to turn it on and off I don't receive all my notification and the storage it to small and my apps are always closing down.!! Don't purchase this phone and don't upgrade to this phone. It's a bad phone to have.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

Awful!!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mxsfinest
From:  silver spring md
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Worst cell phone I ever had,keeps freezing and takes forever to open apps or pages;I'm just about ready to replace it .
Cons: everything!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

Cheap Android

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ElizabethDarcy
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first smartphone. It was ok at first, but with use it grew slow ( I don't even have very many apps) and I found that it lags.
The battery life is very poor. Don't expect to use it heavily for the half the day. It probably wouldn't even last the whole day with light use.
When the phone isn't lagging, it works well. However, when you're using social sites and trying to say, text, it will lag and eventually freeze. you'll have to force restart it.
The camera is ok. Zooming in will just make things even more blurry, so don't rely on that. I got CameraMX to use instead. (also, you can't turn the shutter sound off. That gets annoying.)
The biggest turn off for me is it's lagginess and bugginess. IF you try to operate maps, have back up directions, because it will freeze and you will miss your turn(s). IF it decides to load. Most of the time it takes a while to even come up with Navigation.
If this is your first smartphone, it's ok. I definitely would not recommend this for long time use. I got it a little before Christmas, and I'm looking for another android.
Hope this helps!
Pros: easy to hold, slide out keyboard
Cons: battery, lags
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

Phone is not reliable

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Vic1522
From:  Gulf coast MS
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone shuts off if bumped, to re start it the battery has to be removed and that does not re start the phone 80% of the time, one has to place the phone on the charger, and restart it to get it to turn back on. the on and off button will not re set it when pressed after it shuts off.
The phone turns it self on and off at any given moment, the battery life is average, and the sliding keypad will shut the phone off some times when the slide feature is used.
Cons: on and off issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

A horrible phone

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TerryRose
From:  Patchogue New York
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone does not download, times out too fast, when talking is not clear. There is absolutely nothing nice or convenient about this phone.
Cons: dosen't do anthing says
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

Not a fan of this phone

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
fansarefun
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would never recommend this phone to others. I bought this phone cause it was cheap and convinent. I was very disappointed, the phone freezes almost every time I go to use it and turn off then back on. I had to take the battery out all the time. Also battery life is terrible, had to charge it almost 3 times a day and I barely used my phone. Another con was that every time I tried to run an app like snapchat it would freeze and tell me it was unresponsive. This phone also isnt the best at calls. The maybe only good thing is that it is an easy use to use not very complicated.
Pros: easy performance
Cons: almost everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

Not bad, but some major issues...

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMphonereview0001
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In short, I like this phone but it has some major performance issues - it regularly freezes, blacks out or restarts on its own. I have had the phone for nine months and its starting to be really annoying - I recently did a factory reset, which resolved the issues short term. Regular normal rebooting of the phone does also help, as does closing apps and minimizing what you download...
Some other people have noted freezing/blacking out is caused by the battery shifting - I did find better performance once I put in a think bit of cardboard behind the battery, but there are still deeper-routed performance issues as well.
Take note the phone also only has a outward facing camera, and it is very easy to sometime hit the 'power' button (putting the phone to sleep) while texting on the slide out keyboard.
PROS: I really like the size of the phone. Easy to hold, not too large. I personally love the combo of touch/physical keyboard as I do a lot of e-mail on my phone. You have the full range of Google Apps to download. Battery life is fairly good, esp. if you manually control your data and/or wifi connectivity and keep the light on dimmer settings. For the price, the phone has a lot of nice features. The camera is fairly okay in decent light (don't use it as your sole camera though).
Conclusion - while I enjoy the phone itself, I wouldn't recommend it due to performance issues with freezing/blacking out. I really want to like the phone more, but it can be frustrating to work with.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

Not good at all

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ktk4mouse
From:  san diego
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
crashed after 8 days, power was on but the screen remained black. went online and finally read all the bad reviews. should have checked online before we purchased the phone. we really got what we paid for.
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

You Get What You Pay For.....

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jinx49
From:  West Covina
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this phone yes because it was cheap, but I got what I paid for. Initially, it worked fine but over the past 3-6 months it isn't working well. It will freeze up at any given time, the battery drains pretty quick. The phone will shut off for no reason whatsoever. I am ready to throw it out of a window. It is a bit bulky/heavy for a phone. Time to get another one....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

Not worth the money, unreliable.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bethcompnotta
From:  columbus ohio
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I cant stand this phone, waste of money. Since day one it has crashed atleast 3-5 times a day. It lags constantly as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

Works fine for me.

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gone912
From:  MN
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I use an i7 laptop everyday, but my favorite PC is the Pentium 4 quad core in the basement of my house. People now days have a habit of picking apart a product, forgetting the price they paid for it. I have had no unreasonable issues with this phone, It isn't the latest or greatest, but it was money well spent, for a cell phone that is. I've been considering purchasing one for my wife. We are both happy with Virgin Mobile and it's products,
Pros: value
Cons: people who spend too much time on their smart phon
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...18next>>