Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Virgin Mobile USA.

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
2.3 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(376 Reviews) 376
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 376 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
57
3 stars
48
2 stars
86
1 star
151
108 out of 36630%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

fell apart after a few months use

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
textingmomma
From:  Chicago, IL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love that fact it has a slide out keyboard, but the screws fell out and now I have to rubber band the phone to text and take rubber band off to close keyboard.
Pros: sliding keyboard
Cons: it fell apart
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

Okay starter phone.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
RandomGuy
From:  nevada
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is bad. really bad performance issues. lag is a terrible issue. often freezes up. really really slow. on top of all that, its fat, clunky, and has an unactractive design. the battery wastes even when im not using it. i suggest you spend a little more money and get a better phone.
Cons: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Don"t waste your money

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HouseSitter
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone goes off and won't come back on. I have had it almost 8 months and the keyboard is going bad. Very unreliable...I received it as a gift and it still was not worth it...too much grief taking the battery out and begging it to work.
Pros: nothing
Cons: lousy cell phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

Buy only if you really cannot afford a better phone

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Natalie82
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the Rise for two years now and I've used it extensively. I loved the slide out keyboard (an extinct feature in smart phones anymore) and the long battery life. The phone was so sturdy, never broke on a major fall. The performance, however, left a lot to wish for. I am not a heavy app user - I talk, text, use maps, facebook, and one or two other major apps. No games, no IM, or other apps that need to be on the whole time to do what they do. Not only would the apps be slow, they would often crash the phone (especially facebook and google maps). What's worse, the dialer would often crash, so I'd have to reboot the phone to actually make a call! Finally, after two years, when most apps are made for faster, dual core phones, and most of the apps just kept crashing, I gave up and decided to upgrade.
If all you do is talk and text and once a week you need to look something up on the web, this phone will meet your needs. If you need more, save up and get a faster, a newer phone. Rise was made quite a few years ago and it's too old and too slow for the mobile world of today.
Pros: batttery life, slide out keyboard, impact resistant
Cons: performance, apps crash or are slow, dialer and contacts crash often, camera not good for photos
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

Total piece of junk

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
george222
From:  New York
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got the Rise to replace my iphone. I didn't expect anything like iphone performance from such a cheap phone, but this thing just plain sucks.
It's unstable and reboots randomly. It's slow ( like click and 10 seconds before anything happens). Sound quality sucks. And the battery life is horrible with even minimal services running.
Don't buy this phone. You won't be happy with it.
Pros: price, whats great
Cons: just about everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

Take that wool away from your eyes

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
hashtagphresh
From:  Colorado
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't be fooled by the $50 price tag, this phone not only fails as a smartphone, it even fails as a regular phone!
Sure you might not expect it to be as swift as a more expensive model, but I would consider a flip phone an upgrade just because a flip phone would actually function as a phone and call people when I asked it to.
This thing crashes like a pre-schooler on a sugar bender. Ask it to complete a simple task, and 20% of the time the phone is all "Okay boss, you got it." But the other 80% of the time (I wish I was exaggerating) it acts as though it were a child who you forced to clean their room, while standing there and telling it you never actually loved it.
I've missed important emails, calls, and messages, because it can't be bothered to perform on a basic level.
Don't even get this as a starter phone for your child, I know cheap is good for the little rascals, but you won't even be able to reach them reliably because this wretched thing will shut off and restart itself in the middle of a call, if processing the fact that someone was calling didn't shut it down in the first place.
Awful device, awful features, since I'm on a tight budget and can't afford a new phone, this phone (read: piece of garbage) is the bane of my existence (as well as the Bane of my existence, were I Batman).
tl;dr AVOID AVOID AVOID THIS THING ISN'T WORTH THE PLASTIC IT WAS MADE FROM.
Pros: handy paperweight
Cons: the phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

Look the other way.

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
xSnakeStyles
From:  San Antonio, Texas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is a fail. Kyocera biggest fail of them all. Can hardly handle multiple apps running at the same time. It freezes and re-boots daily and as time goes by, it gets worser. Sooner or later it's going to get stuck in a "Boot Loop" (Restarts every Five seconds). Sad thing this phone doesn't even had a Recovery mode. The camera doesn't even have Auto Focus so the quality of the pictures are awful. The audio from the headphones is pure garbage. There's nearly no bass coming from the headphones no matter what headset you use. It's like listening to Rock N roll with no Drums, Dubstep with no Bass, Hip hop with no Low frequency beats. Do yourself a favor and look the other way; learn from my mistake and view the reviews. I can assure you you'll save time and money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

Get a Better Phone.

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
xXx420QuikSc0p3sxXx
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trust me when I say that you are better off getting a different phone. This phone has bad performance issues. It sometimes crashes a program mostly when you use the internet explorer.
Cons: perfomance issues, lag
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

BEST PHONE EVER if you FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS...

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luckygrrrl
From:  Dallas
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(I used to own a Rise; and I disagree with everyone. It's an AWESOME phone, when you know how to make it work)
Here is how to get the most of your KYOCERA RISE...
Find the App Called "Connections Optimizer"
Go to SETTINGS. Find 'More'.
and it is there.
DELETE IT. I you are not 'rooted' and cannot delete it, then 'Un-check' the box.
It is supposed to connect you 'automatically' to any wifi when you are in range, but it NEVER SHUTS OFF.
When deleting this 'app' you will find that
90% of your battery was being drained by it.
If you never turned it on, then don't.
Because once you turn it on, it will always
turn on in the background on its own.
Download this FREE App : Link2SD
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.buak.Link2SD
***It removes Bloatware (apps that come with the phone that you don't use, but usually can't delete)
Link2SD also gives you the ability to use your SD as RAM,
(if you are rooted)
and it can Link your System Apps to your SD card,
so that your phone's memory can be used for
SPEED and not storage.
Use it to delete the "Connections Optimizer"
and anything ELSE that came with your phone that is using up space.
***To ROOT your Android, and unlock its power...
download these completely free apps
POOT: https://www.dropbox.com/s/odgbq448eova7ag/Poot-debug.apk
MINISTRO 2: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.kde.necessitas.ministro
BUSYBOX:https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bitcubate.root.busybox.complete
Use those 3 apps in the order I gave them.
Poot, then Ministro , then Busybox.
You may need to Poot and restart your phone a couple times until it tells you that have 'success'
BusyBox will then Give you "SuperUser" status.
--------------------------------------------
Once you are finally ROOTED and have complete Control
of your Android...
You'll need the BEST File Manager out there.
Download FX File Explorer (classic) from here:
http://fx-file-explorer.en.softonic.com/android
Or here:
https://play.google.com/store/search?q=FX%20%5BFile%20Explorer%5D&hl=en
----------------------------------------------------
One last Tip about Power Usage and Battery Longevity:
When you receive a new phone,
ALWAYS use it until the battery is 100%
DRAINED.
Then... CHARGE IT FOR 24 HOURS. (That expands the cells to MAXIMUM, so that it ALWAYS charges Completely.
If you drain it, and then charge it, then use it immediately once it's at "100%" the battery will Always have a short life thereafter.
Any questions about specs your phone should be on ?
Reply to this message and I will reply back
Pros: how to keep phone from draining, affordable, durable screen, best version of android (4.0), slide keyboard, can be rooted easily, can be found on amazon, virgin never loses connectivity
Cons: i have never had any problems with my kyocera rise
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

This Phone Really Sucks!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Shortyhalfpint
From:  Missouri
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wasn't happy with this phone not one bit. Everyone I know that went through Virgin Mobile has had this phone. Actually we all had it at the same time. We all had problems with it, some the same & some different problems. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL!!!!!!
Pros: nothing
Cons: over all sucks
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

This phone is not worth the hassel.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dissapp0inted
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For one this phone is very fat and weighs a lot. It crashes all the time. It drops calls, and decides to restart in the middle of everything. you cannot send picture messages and the camera is so bad they should just save space and not include it.
Pros: it is pretty durable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

RISE SAD FACE

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CATGIRL84
From:  DAYTON, OHIO
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I HAD MY RISE FOR OVER A YEAR.... I FINALLY GOT A NEW ONE. THE BATTERY DON'T LAST LONG. PLUS THEN AS TIME GOES ON THE KEYBOARD MIGHT COME LOSE AND YOU HAVE TO GLUE THE KEYBOARD BACK ON. I AM NOT SURE IF THERE WAS SUPPOSE BE SCREWS OR NOT. OTHER THEN THAT IT WAS A OKAY PHONE.
Cons: keyboard, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

Wow

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
CountryPrincess
From:  Worthington Florida
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I loved this phone,at first. Slide is not something that I would recommend to anyone. It's like my phone is in two pieces! I do have to say that it has one very tough screen. It is very slow,it takes forever to do anything! Cameras is ok,though I would download a camera app. My battery sucks too,my phone always needs to be plugged in,and I'm not on it all the time. Don't purchase this phone! Get a different one by Virgin Mobile.
Pros: tough screen, loud, size
Cons: everything else, slow, shuts off randomly, falls apart easy and fast, bad battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

You get what you pay for.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Velynna
From:  Spokane, WA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Like others have said, things started out well, but they went downhill fast. The phone freezes multiple times per day. I have too reset it every time. Programs freeze easily. The phone restarts on its own multiple times per day. I've factory reset it, and it behave for about a day before reverting to it's normal state. Currently the screws for the slide have to be tightened every-so-often, because it gets loose easily, and the power button has a hair trigger. I just have to touch it (not depress it) to make the screen shut off, which makes typing difficult. I got what I paid for, and I can't wait to get a new phone.
Also, the camera is awful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

Insufferable Startup Music Too Much to Bear

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bettiegrl
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I totally get that this is an economy phone and I don't expect it be a Samsung Galaxy 5. But for the love of God, why is there this awful startup music that plays when you turn on the phone? AND you can't disable it?? It wouldn't be so bad if the phone didn't randomly restart whenever. I MUST have my phone on silent for work and school. Even on silent mode the grating music plays at maximum volume accouncing to the world, "Hey, this person's phone is turning on!" This prompts entire rooms of people to turn around and give me the evil eye. I don't like turning my phone off because if you drop it, then even GPS won't find it. Please, don't buy this thing. Save yourself the misery and embarrassment. Thanks to Virgin Mobile for ruining an otherwise halfway decent phont.
Cons: the awful startup music
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

Doesn't even deserve the one star being given

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nerdpunk
From:  Minnesota
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As most reviews go I'll start by saying that at first this phone was great. Super fast, easy to use etc. But as time went on it began to go downhill. Freezing randomly, apps crash all the time, phone repeatedly shuts itself off all the time. I don't go through a single day without having to take out the battery at least at LEAST 8 to 12 times a day because of how often it freezes up and just stops. Aside from the bad things the keyboard is a nice touch but in all honesty it isn't worth the time and money because the problems out weigh the very little positives about this phone. You would be better off buying a different smartphone and just learning to use swype rather than wasting your money on this technical terror.
Pros: keyboard price
Cons: performance overall
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

love the keyboard

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nicobaby76
From:  Sacramento Ca
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone falls apart.The screws come and and get lost and it becomes 2 halves. I thought the first phone I purchased was maybe a defected phone so I purchased another and it lasted me about 6 months before falling apart for second time. Other than that the phone was great for someone who doesn't use there phone to much.
Cons: falls apart(screws)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

Overall not a good phone

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Disappointed56
From:  Georgia
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You get what you pay for. The slide out keyboard is nice but that's about it. GPS crashes every time I try to use it. Phone will randomly turn off and back on, sometimes even while trying to send a text message. Back to back phone calls are impossible. I would not recommend this phone at all. save your money and get something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

Poor

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Morris
From:  New York
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Phone always crashes. cant handle running all but the basic apps.
and this was after i bought a second one to replace the first that would not stay on for more than a few minutes.
Junk phone by a calculator company doubling as a phone company.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

I liked the QWERTY keyboard

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GlobalVV
From:  Charlotte, NC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You get what you pay for... Its a very good starter phone for people who have yet to get smart phone, but once you start looking at other smart phones, you realize how much garbage this phone is made of. I wish there were more powerful phones with the qwerty keyboard, but unfortunately there are not.
Pros: qwerty keyboard, cheap
Cons: slow, little internal storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...19next>>