Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
2.312 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(369 Reviews) 369
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 369 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
57
3 stars
48
2 stars
85
1 star
146
107 out of 35930%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

fell apart after a few months use

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
textingmomma
From:  Chicago, IL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love that fact it has a slide out keyboard, but the screws fell out and now I have to rubber band the phone to text and take rubber band off to close keyboard.
Pros: sliding keyboard
Cons: it fell apart
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

Okay starter phone.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
RandomGuy
From:  nevada
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is bad. really bad performance issues. lag is a terrible issue. often freezes up. really really slow. on top of all that, its fat, clunky, and has an unactractive design. the battery wastes even when im not using it. i suggest you spend a little more money and get a better phone.
Cons: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Don"t waste your money

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HouseSitter
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone goes off and won't come back on. I have had it almost 8 months and the keyboard is going bad. Very unreliable...I received it as a gift and it still was not worth it...too much grief taking the battery out and begging it to work.
Pros: nothing
Cons: lousy cell phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

Buy only if you really cannot afford a better phone

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Natalie82
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the Rise for two years now and I've used it extensively. I loved the slide out keyboard (an extinct feature in smart phones anymore) and the long battery life. The phone was so sturdy, never broke on a major fall. The performance, however, left a lot to wish for. I am not a heavy app user - I talk, text, use maps, facebook, and one or two other major apps. No games, no IM, or other apps that need to be on the whole time to do what they do. Not only would the apps be slow, they would often crash the phone (especially facebook and google maps). What's worse, the dialer would often crash, so I'd have to reboot the phone to actually make a call! Finally, after two years, when most apps are made for faster, dual core phones, and most of the apps just kept crashing, I gave up and decided to upgrade.
If all you do is talk and text and once a week you need to look something up on the web, this phone will meet your needs. If you need more, save up and get a faster, a newer phone. Rise was made quite a few years ago and it's too old and too slow for the mobile world of today.
Pros: batttery life, slide out keyboard, impact resistant
Cons: performance, apps crash or are slow, dialer and contacts crash often, camera not good for photos
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

Look the other way.

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
xSnakeStyles
From:  San Antonio, Texas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is a fail. Kyocera biggest fail of them all. Can hardly handle multiple apps running at the same time. It freezes and re-boots daily and as time goes by, it gets worser. Sooner or later it's going to get stuck in a "Boot Loop" (Restarts every Five seconds). Sad thing this phone doesn't even had a Recovery mode. The camera doesn't even have Auto Focus so the quality of the pictures are awful. The audio from the headphones is pure garbage. There's nearly no bass coming from the headphones no matter what headset you use. It's like listening to Rock N roll with no Drums, Dubstep with no Bass, Hip hop with no Low frequency beats. Do yourself a favor and look the other way; learn from my mistake and view the reviews. I can assure you you'll save time and money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

Get a Better Phone.

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
xXx420QuikSc0p3sxXx
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trust me when I say that you are better off getting a different phone. This phone has bad performance issues. It sometimes crashes a program mostly when you use the internet explorer.
Cons: perfomance issues, lag
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

This phone is not worth the hassel.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dissapp0inted
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For one this phone is very fat and weighs a lot. It crashes all the time. It drops calls, and decides to restart in the middle of everything. you cannot send picture messages and the camera is so bad they should just save space and not include it.
Pros: it is pretty durable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

RISE SAD FACE

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CATGIRL84
From:  DAYTON, OHIO
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I HAD MY RISE FOR OVER A YEAR.... I FINALLY GOT A NEW ONE. THE BATTERY DON'T LAST LONG. PLUS THEN AS TIME GOES ON THE KEYBOARD MIGHT COME LOSE AND YOU HAVE TO GLUE THE KEYBOARD BACK ON. I AM NOT SURE IF THERE WAS SUPPOSE BE SCREWS OR NOT. OTHER THEN THAT IT WAS A OKAY PHONE.
Cons: keyboard, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

You get what you pay for.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Velynna
From:  Spokane, WA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Like others have said, things started out well, but they went downhill fast. The phone freezes multiple times per day. I have too reset it every time. Programs freeze easily. The phone restarts on its own multiple times per day. I've factory reset it, and it behave for about a day before reverting to it's normal state. Currently the screws for the slide have to be tightened every-so-often, because it gets loose easily, and the power button has a hair trigger. I just have to touch it (not depress it) to make the screen shut off, which makes typing difficult. I got what I paid for, and I can't wait to get a new phone.
Also, the camera is awful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

Doesn't even deserve the one star being given

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nerdpunk
From:  Minnesota
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As most reviews go I'll start by saying that at first this phone was great. Super fast, easy to use etc. But as time went on it began to go downhill. Freezing randomly, apps crash all the time, phone repeatedly shuts itself off all the time. I don't go through a single day without having to take out the battery at least at LEAST 8 to 12 times a day because of how often it freezes up and just stops. Aside from the bad things the keyboard is a nice touch but in all honesty it isn't worth the time and money because the problems out weigh the very little positives about this phone. You would be better off buying a different smartphone and just learning to use swype rather than wasting your money on this technical terror.
Pros: keyboard price
Cons: performance overall
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

love the keyboard

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nicobaby76
From:  Sacramento Ca
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone falls apart.The screws come and and get lost and it becomes 2 halves. I thought the first phone I purchased was maybe a defected phone so I purchased another and it lasted me about 6 months before falling apart for second time. Other than that the phone was great for someone who doesn't use there phone to much.
Cons: falls apart(screws)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

Overall not a good phone

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Disappointed56
From:  Georgia
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You get what you pay for. The slide out keyboard is nice but that's about it. GPS crashes every time I try to use it. Phone will randomly turn off and back on, sometimes even while trying to send a text message. Back to back phone calls are impossible. I would not recommend this phone at all. save your money and get something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

I liked the QWERTY keyboard

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GlobalVV
From:  Charlotte, NC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You get what you pay for... Its a very good starter phone for people who have yet to get smart phone, but once you start looking at other smart phones, you realize how much garbage this phone is made of. I wish there were more powerful phones with the qwerty keyboard, but unfortunately there are not.
Pros: qwerty keyboard, cheap
Cons: slow, little internal storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

This phone has been fustrating

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ROSE2014
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Every day one of my apps or the phones itself will freeze, kick me out , or just turn off on it own... It frustrating to be paying for a phone..when half of the day you can't barely use it...Please don't purchase this phone..it not worth the money at all..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

Do not buy

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rpc53
From:  gettysburg pa
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased my phone in december of.2013 worked great till march this year then it.started Freezimg.up or just shutting of. VM semt me a mew one.it worked all ofa week then same.problem. They are sending me.a 3rd one to try. Do Not BUY
Pros: nothing
Cons: freezes up, shuts off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

This phone freezes repeatedly, and some apps won't stop suddenly

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
KyoceraOwner
From:  Philadelphia, Pa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone in February (2013), in the last year and a half I have :
1.Had to get an exchange from Virgin because the the keyboard broke off from the touchscreen
2.Had to take the battery out several times a day
3.Had to switch SD cards because it constantly tells me that I have no space. Even though when I plug my SD cards into other devices, they have plenty of space.
4. Had to Restart multiple times (aside from removing the battery)
5.Had to delete multiple apps (remove the updates from the permanent ones) to make room for ones I wanted to keep on my phone.
I will be buying a new phone as soon as possible!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

i have rubber bands holding my phone together

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
RayRay77
From:  Ypsilanti, MI
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone started off fine. I was pretty resistant to just a touch screen phone, so I figured this was a good transition phone. I guess it did serve it's purpose because I'm only able to use the touchscreen part of the phone, due to the phone pulling apart from itself. Therefore I have rubber-bands wrapped around the phone holding it together, so it doesn't fall apart in my hands. It freezes a lot and randomly resets itself. Its very frustrating and I do NOT recommend.
Cons: falls apart
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

Not worth the hassle

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mamabear1110
From:  Edison, NJ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone twice. The first time, the screen wouldn't turn on and the battery wouldn't charge. So my husband ordered me the same phone. Both phones only lasted a year each. Definitely not worth the time or price. I will be looking for a different phone and hope that I don't have the same problem with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

Freezes and Frustrating

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lithura
From:  Minneapolis, MN
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Got this phone because it was fairly cheap and had a keyboard and woah man was that a mistake. I've had it for about a year now and it has been constant frustration in its use. Apps freeze for no reason other than the fact that the phone has only 1 GB of RAM and system processes take up more than half of that. The phone itself freezes and has to restart fairly often (sometimes you have to take the battery out to get it to do anything at all). Often times if you make one phone call and then want to make another the call button is unresponsive. I once sat for 45 minutes trying to make an important call because the "call number" button would respond to touch but refused to start the call (yes I tried restarting the phone). The slide keyboard is nice at least but if you only want a slide keyboard without the smartphone features I would recommend the Samsung M575 or something like it.
Pros: slide keyboard, durable
Cons: freezes often, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

horrible all to gather

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Goodmanb61
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
you get what you pay for. short battery life slow lags and glitches all the time apps shut down with out warning on screen key board is slow and doesn't work half the time if you don't have very much on it its sorta ok
Cons: every thing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...19next>>