Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
2.364 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(341 Reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 341 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
56
3 stars
45
2 stars
79
1 star
129
105 out of 33132%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

Awful!!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mxsfinest
From:  silver spring md
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Worst cell phone I ever had,keeps freezing and takes forever to open apps or pages;I'm just about ready to replace it .
Cons: everything!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

Cheap Android

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ElizabethDarcy
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first smartphone. It was ok at first, but with use it grew slow ( I don't even have very many apps) and I found that it lags.
The battery life is very poor. Don't expect to use it heavily for the half the day. It probably wouldn't even last the whole day with light use.
When the phone isn't lagging, it works well. However, when you're using social sites and trying to say, text, it will lag and eventually freeze. you'll have to force restart it.
The camera is ok. Zooming in will just make things even more blurry, so don't rely on that. I got CameraMX to use instead. (also, you can't turn the shutter sound off. That gets annoying.)
The biggest turn off for me is it's lagginess and bugginess. IF you try to operate maps, have back up directions, because it will freeze and you will miss your turn(s). IF it decides to load. Most of the time it takes a while to even come up with Navigation.
If this is your first smartphone, it's ok. I definitely would not recommend this for long time use. I got it a little before Christmas, and I'm looking for another android.
Hope this helps!
Pros: easy to hold, slide out keyboard
Cons: battery, lags
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Phone is not reliable

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Vic1522
From:  Gulf coast MS
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone shuts off if bumped, to re start it the battery has to be removed and that does not re start the phone 80% of the time, one has to place the phone on the charger, and restart it to get it to turn back on. the on and off button will not re set it when pressed after it shuts off.
The phone turns it self on and off at any given moment, the battery life is average, and the sliding keypad will shut the phone off some times when the slide feature is used.
Cons: on and off issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

A horrible phone

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TerryRose
From:  Patchogue New York
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone does not download, times out too fast, when talking is not clear. There is absolutely nothing nice or convenient about this phone.
Cons: dosen't do anthing says
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

Not a fan of this phone

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
fansarefun
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would never recommend this phone to others. I bought this phone cause it was cheap and convinent. I was very disappointed, the phone freezes almost every time I go to use it and turn off then back on. I had to take the battery out all the time. Also battery life is terrible, had to charge it almost 3 times a day and I barely used my phone. Another con was that every time I tried to run an app like snapchat it would freeze and tell me it was unresponsive. This phone also isnt the best at calls. The maybe only good thing is that it is an easy use to use not very complicated.
Pros: easy performance
Cons: almost everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

Not bad, but some major issues...

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMphonereview0001
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In short, I like this phone but it has some major performance issues - it regularly freezes, blacks out or restarts on its own. I have had the phone for nine months and its starting to be really annoying - I recently did a factory reset, which resolved the issues short term. Regular normal rebooting of the phone does also help, as does closing apps and minimizing what you download...
Some other people have noted freezing/blacking out is caused by the battery shifting - I did find better performance once I put in a think bit of cardboard behind the battery, but there are still deeper-routed performance issues as well.
Take note the phone also only has a outward facing camera, and it is very easy to sometime hit the 'power' button (putting the phone to sleep) while texting on the slide out keyboard.
PROS: I really like the size of the phone. Easy to hold, not too large. I personally love the combo of touch/physical keyboard as I do a lot of e-mail on my phone. You have the full range of Google Apps to download. Battery life is fairly good, esp. if you manually control your data and/or wifi connectivity and keep the light on dimmer settings. For the price, the phone has a lot of nice features. The camera is fairly okay in decent light (don't use it as your sole camera though).
Conclusion - while I enjoy the phone itself, I wouldn't recommend it due to performance issues with freezing/blacking out. I really want to like the phone more, but it can be frustrating to work with.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

Not good at all

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ktk4mouse
From:  san diego
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
crashed after 8 days, power was on but the screen remained black. went online and finally read all the bad reviews. should have checked online before we purchased the phone. we really got what we paid for.
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

You Get What You Pay For.....

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jinx49
From:  West Covina
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this phone yes because it was cheap, but I got what I paid for. Initially, it worked fine but over the past 3-6 months it isn't working well. It will freeze up at any given time, the battery drains pretty quick. The phone will shut off for no reason whatsoever. I am ready to throw it out of a window. It is a bit bulky/heavy for a phone. Time to get another one....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

Not worth the money, unreliable.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bethcompnotta
From:  columbus ohio
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I cant stand this phone, waste of money. Since day one it has crashed atleast 3-5 times a day. It lags constantly as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

Works fine for me.

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gone912
From:  MN
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I use an i7 laptop everyday, but my favorite PC is the Pentium 4 quad core in the basement of my house. People now days have a habit of picking apart a product, forgetting the price they paid for it. I have had no unreasonable issues with this phone, It isn't the latest or greatest, but it was money well spent, for a cell phone that is. I've been considering purchasing one for my wife. We are both happy with Virgin Mobile and it's products,
Pros: value
Cons: people who spend too much time on their smart phon
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

Not so great

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gingypepper
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Messaging works about 60% of the time. When I make phone calls, most of the time they won't even go through, even when i have a full five bars of service. App response is hit or miss. Keyboard is often slow or freezes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

One year on, its completely useless

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
nmoon1988
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I hate to say this turned out to be a lemon in the end but that is what happened. After just one year my particular phone corrupted its own firmware after a crash and it cannot be recovered even for someone who is knowledgeable with firmware rescue processes. This whole thing started a month after I got the phone with it randomly restarting especially in the middle of the night after crashing and ended just yesterday with the self corruption incident mentioned earlier on. From then until now it was ok albeit a bit sluggish at times especially for a 1 GHz processor but could run Adobe Flash thanks to having version 4.0.4 of Android. Would I recommend this phone as it stands now absolutely not. If Kyocera would debug the firmware and stabilize it or if they would allow for third party compatible firmware then this would be an excellent buy for the price. The device over all is mixed, very capable hardware which is hampered by the poorest quality software I have ever seen.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

Worst phone ever

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ChicagoGreg
From:  Chicago
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Over the past year the phone continually disconnects me, thoughout the day and in the middle of the night, turns itself off and back on for no apparent reason. When I'm on a call it will lock up, I can't hear the other person, they can't hear me, I have to take the battery out, wait 60 seconds, but it back it and then call the person back.
Pros: nothing
Cons: too much to list here.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

Beginner Phone

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
kabelub23
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone over a year ago and at first I really liked it. I was also new to smart phones and it was the first phone I bought for myself so I didn't know what to expect. The longer I had it, the more problems I started noticing. Small memory, it would freeze and randomly restart itself, it was really slow, and even when the wi-fi was turned off, it would find the nearest wi-fi and override the 3G. I would recommend spending more money on a better phone, but altogether it's a great starter phone for teens or new smartphone users.
Pros: easy to use, clear screen
Cons: low memory, freezing, lagging, battery life, restarting, mind of its own
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

I like it...

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LM3Cooks
From:  PA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone over a year and I still like it. I wish I could remove some of the Google Apps, but it is what it is. I like the keyboard and it's very easy to navigate.
Pros: easy to use, slide keyboard
Cons: non-removable apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boutique
IL
 
Please wait while more information about Boutique is loaded.
Additional information about Boutique could not be loaded.
You can remove the Apps -
Posted July 11, 2014
Adding and removing Apps is no problem on this phone, you just have to go to the right location to oo it. Go to the APP section of the phone and use the menu to delete. I remove things all the time that I ended up not using after all.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

Keeps bugging

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Blipblop
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I do not recommend this phone. Since I have it, i keep having problems with it. The only good thing is the keyboard.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

good at first

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Deadpool
From:  minnesota
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When i first got this phone it kept resetting after the first three months. I got a new one because i liked the key board and this one lasted a full year. But the phone is very slow if you ask me. It could be the area i am in but we move every once in a while and it is messed up no matter where we go
Pros: keyboard
Cons: speed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

Not enough RAM, processor slow -- freezes

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
RenoRedhead
From:  Reno, NV
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This thing sometimes freezes so bad I have to remove the battery. My memory boosting app (the one that uses very little RAM itself) tells me I have only about 10% RAM available to work with, which accounts for this.
There is no easy way to make successive phone calls quickly, such as redial, or return to address book to choose another name. It simply stays on the "disconnected" screen for 10-15 seconds before you have to go to the desktop and start again. Definitely not good in an emergency - or when you're trying to win the Radio Station's prize!
Otherwise, it looks and feels like a substantial phone, but I wouldn't buy it again. In fact, I have just ordered an HTC.
Pros: has a physical keyboard
Cons: not enough memory, restarts itself frequently, freezes up, slow to make phone calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

Good phone

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Emslimmathers
From:  Columbia,SC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't know what everyone is saying,this phone was a great phone for me.There is no better phone for the price and I seldom had problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

Great smart phone for beginners.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
AustinPuppyUSA
From:  Parkersburg, WV
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great phone for those new to the smart phone era. I would recommend this phone to those getting their first phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...18next>>