Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.478 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 star
9
40 out of 6166%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Has issues

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissmyHTCbadly
From:  Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I bought these phones to replace our HTC phones that both died almost simultaneously. Those phones were great. So now we both have the hydro less than the 14 day trial period when I can return them to the store. I returned my phone because it would not always charge. You plug it in and expect your phone to be charging and surprise, it's not. Back it went. I am also taking my husbands phone back because the button you press to turn on the screen now is not working. If this is a problem when having the phones less than 2 weeks, what else is going to go wrong. FYI anyone buying these phones to use with Square, they are not compatable with the card reader so you will have to manually punch in all the info to take credit cards. Not fun. Call quality is pretty bad too.
Cons: not reliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very good for budget phone, full featured phone at flip price

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Salem13
From:  Salem
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Apparently I received my phone the day after a large update to the firmware and operating system was released and I performed updates out of the box. This means I have skipped by some growing pains I read about in other reviews. Features were robust and well mannered save one program, the 'Lumen Toolbar' is right up there with digital herpes in that you get it like it or not and it wont ever completely go away.
Using the 'earpiece' or learning to set your ear to the glass in the right spot is a little counter intuitive but works once you understand it. It seems a little quiet still but acceptable. The speaker is good but who wants to walk around looking like they are shouting at a slice of pizza?
I've also been told that it is at times it is harder to understand me with this phone than my previous t-219 flip dinosaur.
Horrible, though no fault of the phone were the 59$ JBL headphones that broke on day 2 that were suggested equipment for the Hydro Vibe.
Pros: features, android performance, price, durability, water resistance
Cons: lumen toolbar, front 'earpiece', front microphone, yucky jbl accessories
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Came from a Galaxy S3, had low expectations. Beat them easily.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jaxsey
From:  Baltimore, Md
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coming from a Galaxy S3, I had low expectations of this phone. I have limited funds yet wanted something that was good, I ride a Motorcycle, my phones snap on to a handlebar mount. This phone, being waterproof, 4g LTE, having bluetooth 4.0 with A2DP, expandable memory and removable battery seemed like an ideal fit.
First is the size, it's a bit thicker and the screen is a bit smaller, but its a good phone size. I am not into the phablets that are huge...
The screen is very nice, i have yet to find an occasion where it didn't do what i needed or wanted.
Battery, so far it seems very good, able to last almost a whole day (longer then the Galaxy S3 by far.)
It comes loaded up with the typical VM bloatware, but i found i was able to clean it up a bit. I have a 16gb sd card that gives me plenty of space. could even go to a 32 for not much money
Speed, i think it is faster and more responsive then my Galaxy ever was. Network and processor seem much quicker
Wireless charging is pretty cool, but if you do go that route, know there are two standards, Qi and PMA.. this is PMA, it works well, the phone will get warm, but not unsafely.
The sonic hearing technology or whatever it's called. It works really good, i kept hearing people say it was tinny and sounded bad... It doesn't, AND it really does help when you are in a loud environment. I'm impressed.
Pros: Price! Speed, Waterproof, Camera button, built in Fm radio ability, wireless charging and battery life.
Cons: Lack of support compared to more popular brand phones, The VM bloatware stuff that you don't need but can't get rid of, the camera has good stats, but is only marginal (ok for social media, YouTube, etc. Don't expect it to replace a real camera) Built in apps are not so great.. I recommend another keyboard, and a messaging app... I use Kii keyboard and Textra. Much more responsive and just seem to work much better.
It's a Kyocera, kinda like driving a KIA, it's good, yet it's still a Kyocera...
Overall i am completely impressed and surprised by this phone, It honestly is a shame that the only reviews seem to be comparing it to an expensive top of the line phone.. It's NOT a bad phone at all, it will do what you need and it will do that well. I like it quite a bit, and i've had top of the line phones, and honestly, the difference is negligible. unless you have them side by side.. for the price, WAY TO GO KYOCERA!
Pros: battery, waterproof, speed, camera button, size, sound quality, wireless charging, fm radio hardware built in, price
Cons: vm bloatware, camera so/so, the auto rotate has no easy button, brand
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Barely usable as a phone

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
NYopinion4u
From:  NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this phone for a couple weeks because I was impressed with the look, feel, and spec's of the phone. However, it became very clear right off the bat that the call quality was very poor. To use it as a simple phone was all but unusable unless you were inside a small, very quiet room. The sound was just that bad. I had to pair a Bluetooth ear piece with it to even use it for the short time I had it.
All in all, if you MUST have a waterproof phone and are ok pairing it with a Bluetooth ear piece to function, then the phone itself is quite good.
Cons: sound is very bad
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

impact glass NO

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
skullfreak
From:  saint paul
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had this phone for two months fell out of my lap as I was getting up landed face up and screen shattered. I've only dropped it a hand full of times. My old lg held up a lot longer
Cons: memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Good phone.

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hillis
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off I am really hard on phone and this one seems to be doing good so far. Only iissue I have had with it is the keyboard sticks on or off the screen sometimes and I have to reset my phone to get it to work again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Perfect

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kulbacki
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is waterproof. Get a case. Fast as heck and has the new android update available.
Pros: lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I highly recommend!

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
newluv
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for 2 months and very pleased. Easy to use and waterproof! Battery life is great. Lots of memory!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
amunet07
 
Please wait while more information about amunet07 is loaded.
Additional information about amunet07 could not be loaded.
texting
Posted October 18, 2014
is the screen keypad easy to use? I'm used to having a slide-out and a little leary to go without a slide out.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

GooD PhonE!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
EricB
From:  Jarreau,LA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like its waterProof and Impact Resistant.Thats cool as heck!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Warning: Not Impact Resistant at all

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Marr21608
From:  Utah
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The features, speed and function of this phone are awesome, and the price is great. The only problem I have is the claim that the screen is "impact resistant". In the real world, dropping a phone three feet from the ground and having the screen shatter is not resistance to impact. It's the same as many other phones. The glass extends to the edge of the phone, making it vulnerable to a drop from any height. I highly recommend getting a case as soon as you get it. Neither Kyocera nor Virgin mobile will repair the screen if it breaks, you have to buy a new phone or purchase the warranty. I also could not find any company that sells replacement screens for doing it yourself.
Pros: the features speed and function of this phone are
Cons: in the real world dropping a phone three feet fr
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Not to bad

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DrewP
From:  Knoxville TN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the HTC Desire 601. i got this phone cause i lost the desire. im glad i lost it. i like this phone better. the issue with the camera is true its not the greatest. the calls do sound tinny like but lets not be so picky people.
Pros: almost everything
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Battery life = 0

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Aggrivated
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone was on the charger alllllll day and yet still NO charge.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Classy and stylish

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
PhoneSavvy
From:  Deltona, FL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My daughter upgraded her phone to the VM Supreme and she was graceful to give me this one. I had been using the LG Optimus and I was very please with it, until I got this one.
The screen is amazing, so much memory, fast, the sound is great. Callers can hear me perfectly and so can I. The FM feature is great. Navigation is good. I got all my picture, video, contact, navigation destination, transfer from one phone to the other in less than 10 mins. I can watch,Showbox, Netflix, brighthouse Cable with out a problem. Games are also good. This will definitely be my phone for a long time.
Pros: memory
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Highly overpriced

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sport78
From:  Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I paid nearly for this phone expecting it to be a much better phone than it is. The rotating screen is terrible as it turns unexpectedly. The phone crashes and has to restart on a regular basis. Overall for the money spent this phone is definitely not worth it.
Pros: nothing
Cons: overpriced in
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

horrible

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ariana95
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was happy until I Started playing my game, it gave me a blue screen of death, restarted twice, and now I can't open anything without it force closing. Very unhappy with this phone, only good thing is the looks of the phone.
I was listening to music typing this and it all force closed.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I liked Kyocera until now..

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LilMissFRAG
From:  Portland, OR
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There is no simple "activation" icon for set up. You have to go into the user manual to figure it out. Neither speaker works. One hour after activation my phone already freezes, blacks out, and kicks back to home page for no reason. Head phone jack isn't the same quality of other electronics. Weird sounds.
I had a Kyocera slider before and loved it. Then i switched to and HTC switch worked well but was made with the worst material ever.
I was genuinely excited for the Hydro Vibe. With in 3 hrs of unboxing I want to break it.
Pros: customer service replaced it after an 2 hr.. talk
Cons: everything, and everything else, do not buy this phone, cost too much for not working
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Overall a good phone.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
PersonJustLikeYou
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you want a good, cheap, and fast phone, this phone is for you.
Everything about the phone satisfies my needs, except ONE thing. Let me go on about the pros of this phone first.
The size of the phone is nice; nice wide screen, not too big & not too small, and not heavy. Picture quality is nice (not the best, same goes for the other phones around this price). Sound speakers for entertainment purposes (i.e. music & videos) is nice and loud. This phone is fast (nice 4.3 Jellybean and quad processor). If you are wondering, this phone can transfer apps and media to an SD card. Lastly, this phone is dust and water repellant, which will make this phone last generally longer (from situations like dropping your phone accidentally in the toilet)
Now, let me go on with the ONE bad thing about this phone. The one thing that held me back from giving it a good rating. The call quality is horrible! The Smart Sonic Receiver Technology was not so good on this one. This phone doesn't have a small speaker so you can put your ear against so you can hear the person you're talking to on the phone. Instead, it is just the screen, where the Smart Sonic Receiver Technology vibrates the call sounds through the screen. This makes the calls unclear, and hard to hear. The speaker option will send the sounds through the loud speaker in the back.
Overall, like I stated, this phone satisfies my needs. It is cheap, fast, and good. Does the job except for that one thing.
Cons: call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Awful

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
carebearchristy
From:  pa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was so excited to get this phone with its water resistant capabilities, but instead I was awfully disappointed. Its a horrible phone in every way. The camera quality was bad, ever app I opened shut itself down when I used it. Error messages poped up every few minutes. The keyboard would freeze on the screen even after leaving the app that was using it. Only correction to that was to restart the phone. The battery life was acceptable but not pleasing. The only thing that was useful was its "water resistance" it can withstand being dropped in the pool but it can keep simple apps open or take decent pictures.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lpen21
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Lpen21 is loaded.
Additional information about Lpen21 could not be loaded.
Keyboard
Posted October 2, 2014
I've posted this numerous times already but the keyboard is NOT the phones fault. Switch to something else like swift or Google keyboard. That will take care of the keyboard remaining on the screen. Also freeze Lumen toolbar which is intrusive and causes instability.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

New to this

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
prvtdancer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So on average compared to previous phones. Still figuring things out, so far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This phone worked great for me

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
thatgir1
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for close to four months now and overall I am happy with it. It is true that the in-call sound quality is not the best but it's definitely workable, the front facing camera isn't great but that means less fuel to the fire of my selfie addiction. The phone is definitely durable I've dropped it flat onto concrete so many times, and the only damage I have is some chipping around the edges, after I got a case, that isn't even an issue anymore. The only app problems I have are from the apps themselves and have nothing to do with the phone. There is space on the phone for apps, if you need any more space sd cards are always available. The keyboard has frozen on me before but restarting the phone fixes the problem, so it's not a huge deal. If you want a nice phone for a decent price, I'd definitely recommend the Kyocera hydro vibe
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234next>>