Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.446 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
9
33 out of 5165%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Battery life = 0

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Aggrivated
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone was on the charger alllllll day and yet still NO charge.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Classy and stylish

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
PhoneSavvy
From:  Deltona, FL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My daughter upgraded her phone to the VM Supreme and she was graceful to give me this one. I had been using the LG Optimus and I was very please with it, until I got this one.
The screen is amazing, so much memory, fast, the sound is great. Callers can hear me perfectly and so can I. The FM feature is great. Navigation is good. I got all my picture, video, contact, navigation destination, transfer from one phone to the other in less than 10 mins. I can watch,Showbox, Netflix, brighthouse Cable with out a problem. Games are also good. This will definitely be my phone for a long time.
Pros: memory
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Highly overpriced

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sport78
From:  Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I paid nearly for this phone expecting it to be a much better phone than it is. The rotating screen is terrible as it turns unexpectedly. The phone crashes and has to restart on a regular basis. Overall for the money spent this phone is definitely not worth it.
Pros: nothing
Cons: overpriced in
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

horrible

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ariana95
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was happy until I Started playing my game, it gave me a blue screen of death, restarted twice, and now I can't open anything without it force closing. Very unhappy with this phone, only good thing is the looks of the phone.
I was listening to music typing this and it all force closed.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I liked Kyocera until now..

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LilMissFRAG
From:  Portland, OR
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There is no simple "activation" icon for set up. You have to go into the user manual to figure it out. Neither speaker works. One hour after activation my phone already freezes, blacks out, and kicks back to home page for no reason. Head phone jack isn't the same quality of other electronics. Weird sounds.
I had a Kyocera slider before and loved it. Then i switched to and HTC switch worked well but was made with the worst material ever.
I was genuinely excited for the Hydro Vibe. With in 3 hrs of unboxing I want to break it.
Pros: customer service replaced it after an 2 hr.. talk
Cons: everything, and everything else, do not buy this phone, cost too much for not working
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Overall a good phone.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
PersonJustLikeYou
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you want a good, cheap, and fast phone, this phone is for you.
Everything about the phone satisfies my needs, except ONE thing. Let me go on about the pros of this phone first.
The size of the phone is nice; nice wide screen, not too big & not too small, and not heavy. Picture quality is nice (not the best, same goes for the other phones around this price). Sound speakers for entertainment purposes (i.e. music & videos) is nice and loud. This phone is fast (nice 4.3 Jellybean and quad processor). If you are wondering, this phone can transfer apps and media to an SD card. Lastly, this phone is dust and water repellant, which will make this phone last generally longer (from situations like dropping your phone accidentally in the toilet)
Now, let me go on with the ONE bad thing about this phone. The one thing that held me back from giving it a good rating. The call quality is horrible! The Smart Sonic Receiver Technology was not so good on this one. This phone doesn't have a small speaker so you can put your ear against so you can hear the person you're talking to on the phone. Instead, it is just the screen, where the Smart Sonic Receiver Technology vibrates the call sounds through the screen. This makes the calls unclear, and hard to hear. The speaker option will send the sounds through the loud speaker in the back.
Overall, like I stated, this phone satisfies my needs. It is cheap, fast, and good. Does the job except for that one thing.
Cons: call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Awful

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
carebearchristy
From:  pa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was so excited to get this phone with its water resistant capabilities, but instead I was awfully disappointed. Its a horrible phone in every way. The camera quality was bad, ever app I opened shut itself down when I used it. Error messages poped up every few minutes. The keyboard would freeze on the screen even after leaving the app that was using it. Only correction to that was to restart the phone. The battery life was acceptable but not pleasing. The only thing that was useful was its "water resistance" it can withstand being dropped in the pool but it can keep simple apps open or take decent pictures.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

New to this

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
prvtdancer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So on average compared to previous phones. Still figuring things out, so far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This phone worked great for me

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
thatgir1
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for close to four months now and overall I am happy with it. It is true that the in-call sound quality is not the best but it's definitely workable, the front facing camera isn't great but that means less fuel to the fire of my selfie addiction. The phone is definitely durable I've dropped it flat onto concrete so many times, and the only damage I have is some chipping around the edges, after I got a case, that isn't even an issue anymore. The only app problems I have are from the apps themselves and have nothing to do with the phone. There is space on the phone for apps, if you need any more space sd cards are always available. The keyboard has frozen on me before but restarting the phone fixes the problem, so it's not a huge deal. If you want a nice phone for a decent price, I'd definitely recommend the Kyocera hydro vibe
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Powerful, yet flawed

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
williamwilliam
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being very pleased with the power, speed, high quality camera, latest OS, I was disappointed to have issues with the keyboard software acting faulty and displaying a keyboard when it should be off, or not displaying a keyboard when it should appear. Rebooting will correct it. I am keeping the phone because I have it all set-up. But I may have avoided it if I knew there were flaws. I am hoping automatic upgrades may correct this.
Pros: powerful with nice camera
Cons: faulty software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Problems since I bought it!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
UnhappyCustomer28
From:  Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this $100-something dollar phone, (which wasn't exactly cheap for me), and literally the same week, it was already giving me problems. I have only had it for a month, and it randomly turns off on me.. or the screen just freezes and stops working.. or it pops up with all of these messages telling me that every single application on my phone is "no longer working." What kind of mess is that? Also, I take VERY good care of my battery. I charge it fully, and then I let it die before plugging it in. I don't talk on it while it's plugged in.. I don't even use it while it's plugged in, at ALL.. so tell me why a month old phone dies 15min after I take it off of the charger?? If I pay more than $50.00 for a phone, I guess that the least I expect is that it works, and works well. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Maybe spend less time worrying about whether or not the phone is water resistant, and more about the actual functionality of it.. just a suggestion. P.s. I factory reset my phone, and I am STILL having issues with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
phonedoc
texas
 
Please wait while more information about phonedoc is loaded.
Additional information about phonedoc could not be loaded.
I think youve answered your own questions.
Posted September 15, 2014
If your battery dies that fast and the phone freezes up and gives force close popups then its out of memory. Youve mentioned these problems but never mentioned clearing the caches even once. Android and windows are the same in this respect, you have to keep up maintainance to keep it working right. If you dont change the oil and the engine blows, do you blame the car?
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

So far I like it

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LetteLizard
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is def different from my last phones, however I am getting used to it. I feel like I have a hard time keeping a grip on it, but I am waiting on a case for it so hopefully that will help. I am not too pleased with the piece that runs around the phone when I am talking on it, it kind of hurts my ear. Hearing the person on the other line really isn't that bad. It is different, but not horrible like some reviews I have read. I keep forgetting not to tap the contacts, that's not how you edit!! That's how you call! So far I do not really have issues with the camera, the front camera does not pick anything up very well. I wish the phone would stop turning things on by itself, like wifi...! Right now I am having an issue with charging, It will charge for 5-10 mins and then stop. I think this is affecting my battery life, its bad.
Pros: value, waterproof feature, size, functionality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very buggy

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Stefaine
From:  Murfreesboro Tn.
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So many bugs. The keyboard will randomly freeze up and stay on the screen, the only way to get it off is to restart the phone.
Phone randomly freezes up.
Touch screen sometimes freezes up and won't respond, and the phone has to be restarted.
Camera will zoom in and look beautiful but then the picture always looks blurry.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lpen21
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Lpen21 is loaded.
Additional information about Lpen21 could not be loaded.
Keyboard/freezing
Posted August 30, 2014
The key board issue is not the phone it's the stock app "Swype" don't use it instead use the google keyboard or download "swift" from the play store. Also disable the "loomen tool" its full of bugs. Go to apps under "all apps" and disable it there. You need to disable it every time the phone reeboots.
After you take these steps the phone should work fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great phone for the most part...

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Danny86
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is very fast, lots of storage and a long battery life. My only gripe is the camera. The photos aren't great quality and the settings don't stay like I want. Even though I set everything to auto (flash etc), I have to reset them before each use. Its easier to just use my digital camera instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Good phone for the money

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
darknight9669
From:  Tampa, Fl
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed a phone with better processing than my previous phone which i only used 6 months(LG Optimus F3). I wanted a quad core phone to handle my company email and the ever growing FB apps and this does the job but did not want all the bloatware that comes from having a phone like samsung. I can truly say that i am happy with this phone and it serves my needs. I can now watch live stream tv, videos, with no problems and I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very happy

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SirAlexander
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with this recent purchase. Chose over LG Volt for better build and more RAM (1.5GB instead of 1GB). The phone is very solid. Performance has been excellent - no slow downs or restarts. The screen is great.
Kyocera launcher is not pretty. Replaced with Apex Launcher, things are looking much prettier now! The dialer is not pretty either, but can be replaced as well.
As others mentioned, the back camera is kinda bad. The front camera is abysmal (but I don't much care for the cameras...)
Hearing people speak does feel different (because of the fancy vibrarting tech), but seems just fine. People can hear me ok as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Apex Launcher
Posted August 18, 2014
How did you get that? Do you have to root it?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

bad

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
phyzics7042014
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I can't move my music or photos to my internal sd card. I have no more memory.
Pros: its fast
Cons: not enough memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Agnes3
Maryland
 
Please wait while more information about Agnes3 is loaded.
Additional information about Agnes3 could not be loaded.
Poor memory
Posted September 21, 2014
What someone has posted a message about, concerning the phones poor memory is 100% correct. I can rest, now that I have discovered that I am not the only owner of the phone who has problems with moving music into it. I was wondering if it was just something that I was doing wrong, even though I have very likely moved music into more phones than anyone on the planet.
I should not think that is good to hear someone else give a negative opinion of the phones memory, but I am glad to know that I am not the only one with that opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Love This Phone

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
HisBabyMomma
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like everything about this phone. Battery is great only charge it once a day since I wake up and I like the 4glte it's pretty fast. Only thing I dislike is the front camera it is too dark even when you put it to full brightness
Pros: everything
Cons: front camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This is a good phone.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
gtindal
From:  Freeport, NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a very good phone although the camera is left to be desired. The phone does what I want it to do. It feels good in my hand and feels durable. I'm not a geek, but like I said earlier, it does the job of what I want it to do. I recommend this phone If you don't plan to do a lot with it. It's good for surfing the web, email, playing casual games. The Google Now feature is excellent.
Pros: water and possibly damage proof.
Cons: the camera is left to be desired.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

great phone

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
wicvan80
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an great phone I have tested the duribity and water proofness this phone has stood up to everything I've put it against and it's still going strong,
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123next>>