Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.395 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
13
1 star
12
44 out of 7063%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Do you have bad reception? Nope, just this phone.

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonnnn
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Every time I spoke with someone on the phone they said it sounded like I was breaking up. Even when I had full bars and was in a quite place, people could not hear me.
Also, I bought the phone on August 20th, 2014. On November 22nd, 2014, it died inexplicably. Three months and two days of use. It worked when I woke up and refused to turn on again by noon. It had been sitting on my bed, next to soft, dry pillows. That is some expletives right there.
Pros: cheep cheep cheep
Cons: it breaks, poor reception
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

upgrade feels like a downgrade

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
leopo
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had two of these phones now in less than 3 months. My first one the screen went on it within the first 3 months. Just simply stopped working. And now my 2nd one that I have had for less than 2 weeks I dropped it once and the whole entire screen is spider webbed, for a resistant screen it broke quite fast and quite easily.
Cons: the screen is not resistant at all, the screen scratches and break easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Camera died

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
arkayn
From:  Arizona
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best phone out there and has some problems.
When I first got the phone the screen would go dark while trying to play games or even make calls. A recent update seems to have fixed that problem.
The camera on the other hand went from good to bad all of a sudden. It suddenly started rolling the picture and the image is fuzzy as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I LOVE THIS PHONE!

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
karls
From:  Flushing, MI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had several virgin mobile phones and this one by far is the best I've ever had!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

awsome phone

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Neyiah
From:  Philadelphia,PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far I'm not having the problems alot of people r having. I can hear calls very clear. This phone has some awesome speakers all my music comes out clear,rich n loud. I love the super fast browsing whether I have it on wifi or 4glte . The best part is that this has the same durability as the s5 for a fraction of the price.
Pros: durablity, sleek, price, fast, nice features
Cons: keyboard can lag a little sometimes, front facing camera, screen can be very senstive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

worst phone

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
crptman
From:  syracuse new york
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this phone has major issues,turning on some apps causes inability get into phone.downloads are slow if it downloads at all,hard for others to hear you when speaker is on
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Cheaply made...

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
vmcust1111
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is cheaply made. The voice on the other end always sounds strange, as though it is filtered, and after dropping it once the screen jilted and has lines running up and down. It looks like static. It's difficult to navigate through the settings as well, since they aren't right on the main screen for ease of use.
Not a good brand at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great phone for the money

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MusicGuy
From:  Bloomington, IL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is great for the money and frankly I don't think you can get a better phone for the money. The phone is fast, waterproof, and the build quality is pretty good also. The only thing is that calls are really quiet and are sometimes hard to hear but other than that I really can't find anything wrong with it.
Pros: fast, waterproof, decent amount of internal memory, camara, decent battery life
Cons: calls are quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I love this phone

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
HuntAndFish
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im an active outdoors man and am always dropping my phone. I have had this phone for three months now and absolutely love it, i have fallen in creeks while fishing and have pulled the phone out and it was still going. I also have dropped it from tree stands, usually most phones screen would have broke but this I dusted off and climbed back up. I also do not have a case on it which is the biggest plus.
Pros: durability
Cons: lag time for apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Has issues

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MissmyHTCbadly
From:  Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I bought these phones to replace our HTC phones that both died almost simultaneously. Those phones were great. So now we both have the hydro less than the 14 day trial period when I can return them to the store. I returned my phone because it would not always charge. You plug it in and expect your phone to be charging and surprise, it's not. Back it went. I am also taking my husbands phone back because the button you press to turn on the screen now is not working. If this is a problem when having the phones less than 2 weeks, what else is going to go wrong. FYI anyone buying these phones to use with Square, they are not compatable with the card reader so you will have to manually punch in all the info to take credit cards. Not fun. Call quality is pretty bad too.
Cons: not reliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very good for budget phone, full featured phone at flip price

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Salem13
From:  Salem
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Apparently I received my phone the day after a large update to the firmware and operating system was released and I performed updates out of the box. This means I have skipped by some growing pains I read about in other reviews. Features were robust and well mannered save one program, the 'Lumen Toolbar' is right up there with digital herpes in that you get it like it or not and it wont ever completely go away.
Using the 'earpiece' or learning to set your ear to the glass in the right spot is a little counter intuitive but works once you understand it. It seems a little quiet still but acceptable. The speaker is good but who wants to walk around looking like they are shouting at a slice of pizza?
I've also been told that it is at times it is harder to understand me with this phone than my previous t-219 flip dinosaur.
Horrible, though no fault of the phone were the 59$ JBL headphones that broke on day 2 that were suggested equipment for the Hydro Vibe.
Pros: features, android performance, price, durability, water resistance
Cons: lumen toolbar, front 'earpiece', front microphone, yucky jbl accessories
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Came from a Galaxy S3, had low expectations. Beat them easily.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jaxsey
From:  Baltimore, Md
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coming from a Galaxy S3, I had low expectations of this phone. I have limited funds yet wanted something that was good, I ride a Motorcycle, my phones snap on to a handlebar mount. This phone, being waterproof, 4g LTE, having bluetooth 4.0 with A2DP, expandable memory and removable battery seemed like an ideal fit.
First is the size, it's a bit thicker and the screen is a bit smaller, but its a good phone size. I am not into the phablets that are huge...
The screen is very nice, i have yet to find an occasion where it didn't do what i needed or wanted.
Battery, so far it seems very good, able to last almost a whole day (longer then the Galaxy S3 by far.)
It comes loaded up with the typical VM bloatware, but i found i was able to clean it up a bit. I have a 16gb sd card that gives me plenty of space. could even go to a 32 for not much money
Speed, i think it is faster and more responsive then my Galaxy ever was. Network and processor seem much quicker
Wireless charging is pretty cool, but if you do go that route, know there are two standards, Qi and PMA.. this is PMA, it works well, the phone will get warm, but not unsafely.
The sonic hearing technology or whatever it's called. It works really good, i kept hearing people say it was tinny and sounded bad... It doesn't, AND it really does help when you are in a loud environment. I'm impressed.
Pros: Price! Speed, Waterproof, Camera button, built in Fm radio ability, wireless charging and battery life.
Cons: Lack of support compared to more popular brand phones, The VM bloatware stuff that you don't need but can't get rid of, the camera has good stats, but is only marginal (ok for social media, YouTube, etc. Don't expect it to replace a real camera) Built in apps are not so great.. I recommend another keyboard, and a messaging app... I use Kii keyboard and Textra. Much more responsive and just seem to work much better.
It's a Kyocera, kinda like driving a KIA, it's good, yet it's still a Kyocera...
Overall i am completely impressed and surprised by this phone, It honestly is a shame that the only reviews seem to be comparing it to an expensive top of the line phone.. It's NOT a bad phone at all, it will do what you need and it will do that well. I like it quite a bit, and i've had top of the line phones, and honestly, the difference is negligible. unless you have them side by side.. for the price, WAY TO GO KYOCERA!
Pros: battery, waterproof, speed, camera button, size, sound quality, wireless charging, fm radio hardware built in, price
Cons: vm bloatware, camera so/so, the auto rotate has no easy button, brand
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Barely usable as a phone

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
NYopinion4u
From:  NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this phone for a couple weeks because I was impressed with the look, feel, and spec's of the phone. However, it became very clear right off the bat that the call quality was very poor. To use it as a simple phone was all but unusable unless you were inside a small, very quiet room. The sound was just that bad. I had to pair a Bluetooth ear piece with it to even use it for the short time I had it.
All in all, if you MUST have a waterproof phone and are ok pairing it with a Bluetooth ear piece to function, then the phone itself is quite good.
Cons: sound is very bad
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

impact glass NO

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
skullfreak
From:  saint paul
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had this phone for two months fell out of my lap as I was getting up landed face up and screen shattered. I've only dropped it a hand full of times. My old lg held up a lot longer
Cons: memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Good phone.

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hillis
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off I am really hard on phone and this one seems to be doing good so far. Only iissue I have had with it is the keyboard sticks on or off the screen sometimes and I have to reset my phone to get it to work again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Perfect

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kulbacki
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is waterproof. Get a case. Fast as heck and has the new android update available.
Pros: lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I highly recommend!

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
newluv
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for 2 months and very pleased. Easy to use and waterproof! Battery life is great. Lots of memory!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
amunet07
 
Please wait while more information about amunet07 is loaded.
Additional information about amunet07 could not be loaded.
texting
Posted October 18, 2014
is the screen keypad easy to use? I'm used to having a slide-out and a little leary to go without a slide out.
Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

GooD PhonE!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
EricB
From:  Jarreau,LA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like its waterProof and Impact Resistant.Thats cool as heck!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Warning: Not Impact Resistant at all

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Marr21608
From:  Utah
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The features, speed and function of this phone are awesome, and the price is great. The only problem I have is the claim that the screen is "impact resistant". In the real world, dropping a phone three feet from the ground and having the screen shatter is not resistance to impact. It's the same as many other phones. The glass extends to the edge of the phone, making it vulnerable to a drop from any height. I highly recommend getting a case as soon as you get it. Neither Kyocera nor Virgin mobile will repair the screen if it breaks, you have to buy a new phone or purchase the warranty. I also could not find any company that sells replacement screens for doing it yourself.
Pros: the features speed and function of this phone are
Cons: in the real world dropping a phone three feet fr
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Not to bad

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DrewP
From:  Knoxville TN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the HTC Desire 601. i got this phone cause i lost the desire. im glad i lost it. i like this phone better. the issue with the camera is true its not the greatest. the calls do sound tinny like but lets not be so picky people.
Pros: almost everything
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234next>>