Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.519 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 star
16
64 out of 9766%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very good phone

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ree333
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had this phone for about 3 months now very pleased with it camera is not the best. Battery life is ok runs all my apps sometimes is a bit slow to laod at times. But an upgtade from my htc evo. So all around good phone for a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Fragile as an egg, lousy touchscreen

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MrMarkus
From:  Tucson, AZ
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The touchscreen comes unlocked randomly on a regular basis, and is jumpy as can be. The first time I dropped it, the 'impact resistant screen' shattered into a million pieces. Worst smartphone I've ever owned.
Cons: fragile
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

It performs well, not perfectly

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scrapthenickname
From:  Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After 1 month of use: Good browsing, good texting, and fairly good call capabilities. The rear camera is passable. Photo-buffs should pass on this device, but most of the rest of us will find the rear picture-taking to be decent enough, but not top-notch. The front camera is poor. If you need to take good self/buddy pics, then this is not the phone for you.
Do yourself a favor and buy a micro-SD card to expand the memory. This is relatively cheap and could possibly prevent problems later on.
That said, the phone has "glitched out" on me twice so far (in spite of memory upgrade) If this phone starts opening apps without your input, do a power down and re-start. I've read other reviews that suggest taking the battery completely out once a month. Might not help but couldn't hurt.
Texting with emoji smileys can be problematic, or so I've read, so I don't use them. I prefer the swype keyboard and alternate between swiping or touch tapping the keys with this program. It works well enough. If you really need to use emojis, consider another phone.
Battery life is about what I expected. Good enough with light to moderate use; not very good with intense screen use. Most of the battery usage is tied to the display.
Reception of cell service is passable, but not as good as what is available on a friend's Samsung Galaxy S3 on the same VM network. Sometimes calls have had poor reception for me. Annoying when this happens, but not a common occurrence.
Pros: web surfing, multi-media texting
Cons: the front camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Good phone for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kllr
From:  Seattle,Wa
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I liker the ease of use this phone offers however when it did the first system update the battery life decreased by almost half, If you are looking for a cheaper smart phone I would recommend this one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2Txt23
From:  Lebanon MO
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is so amazing and fast it takes great pictures and videos
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great For the Price!

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LateNiteMsgs
From:  South Carolina
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I actually like this phone! I love the look of Android 4.4.2 (you have to update the phone when you get it). Its a nice size phone and it does everything you would normally do on a phone. The only thing i dont like about this phone is the camera. It says the rear camera is 8MP and the front camera is 2MP, but my previous Samsung Galaxy Victory is only 5MP and 1.3MP and both are much better than the Hydro Vibe. Maybe because Samsung is a better and larger brand? But thats really the only problem i have with the phone. Battery life is good when used normally, but if you sit there and listen to music an play games non-stop for a while, then the battery runs down MUCH quicker than other phones. Other than that, the phone is a great deal for the price and i dont see any problems with it in the future!
Cons: camera quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

no problem

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bekkomike
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my FIRST TIME TO USE SMART PHONE,BUT PRETTY EASY TO NAVIGATE .easy-to-use phone. ONLY PROBLEM IS CAMERA FEATURE that IS NOT GOOD AS I EXPECTED. REACT slow and cannot focus well. However other than that,very,good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Amazing phone for the price.

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheRunningMan
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this phone at Christmas Eve, this has great specs than my ZTE Awe.
Pros: waterproof, smart sonic receiever, build quality, sound quality, camera, screen size, customization, hd
Cons: nothing so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Frustrating, disappointing phone

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SherOne
From:  Portland, OR
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I only bought this phone because my other phone had been stolen, and the sales people recommended it. While I liked the calendar and contacts functions (and kinda liked the voice-to-text voicemail function), I had problems with everything else.
The battery life was awful -- died in a day, even after being fully charged the night before and not being heavily used during the day.
The texting interface was not good (wouldn't let me delete a draft, plus the default cursor is on composing-a-new-text, making it too easy to accidentally text someone). Had the phone for two weeks and still couldn't text, using the google keyboard, without tons of typos (that could be user error since I'm not used to all-touchscreen phones, but two weeks seems like it should be long enough to get used to it...).
E-mail was okay but glitchy (the phone sent messages multiple times without my knowing it); hulu and youtube were very glitchy on this phone. On hulu, it would only play the commercials (slowly and with loading issues) and then give an error message when the actual video came up.
The sound quality on calls was constantly staticy, every time and everywhere I used it; once I had to call someone back on a landline because the connection was so bad and rough.
This phone has a lot of bells and whistles but I did not find it to be very user-friendly.
Pros: calendar, contacts, voicemail
Cons: battery life, texting, sound quality, hulu, youtube
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

You get what you pay for.

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
GlenCoco
From:  Newport Beach, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall the phone is okay. I had a hard time navigating through the phone at first. I would say I downgraded from my iPhone 5c. I've had this phone for 2 moths and already switched back to the iPhone. Only once did this phone shut off on me (it froze). The battery life is great. I've seen the reviews people have made and don't know what they are talking about. I'd say the battery would last me a good 5-6 hours on Netflix (without WiFi). I love the customization and the speaker on the phone. What I do hate about the phone is the front facing camera! The phone has trouble taking pictures on either side (they come out blurry if you don't hold the phone steadily). I haven't dropped my phone or dropped it on water, so I am not familiar with its durability. So yeah, not the best phone out there.
Pros: speaker, sleek design, fast internet
Cons: camera (both front and back), hard to navigate at first, 1gb memory, keyboard (sensitivity and precision)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great phone,!!! Quick, great battery life!!

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jeromed
From:  New York, NY
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would highly recommend this phone. Quick with quad core cpu, great battery life, just the right size. I have owned it for about 4 month now, but have no complaint at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I'm very dissappointed with this phone

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Raddude
From:  LA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Several problems with this phone.
It's very awkward and a little difficult to use.
The emoticons (smiley faces don't work).
Camera is blurry very often.
My wife has one too and she doesn't like it either.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great call quality. Easy to set up and get using.

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bordercolliedad
From:  Mercer Island, WA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Considering moisture might have killed my last phone, I opted for the Hydro. It is very easy to set up and use. Sound quality on calls is clear as advertised. The 4G works well with loading articles, music and videos. The device itself feels substantial and the build quality is very good. The power and camera buttons are oddly located. Accidentally activating the camera by the position of the button can happen. Very pleased with the device. Would recommend it.
Pros: call sound quality, ease of set up and use
Cons: camera button position
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Not what I expected

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
cakes
From:  Los Angeles, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had this phone for a total of maybe 3 days, less than a week for sure. I was trying to upgrade from the Samsung Galaxy Ring from Virgin Mobile. It didn't work out.. The front-facing camera is VGA! It is one of the worst cameras i have ever encountered. I cannot send emoticons to anyone! i downloaded numerous apps and none of them worked. All they received were question marks. On the Ring i could customize the background and the bubble shapes on messages and on the Vibe i could not. I could also not use the flash while taking pictures. The camera would freeze and remain as a flashlight. wouldn't let me take front-facing or back -facing pictures with flash. So i figured maybe i could take a picture with Snapchat then save it.... NOPE! did the same thing. That's when i knew I could no longer keep the phone. It was too soon for me to be irritated about it. It had to go. I re-activated my Ring, and now i'm semi-happy again.
Pros: speakers
Cons: emojis, front facing camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Overall Great Performance

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
RoniPoP
From:  Palm Springs Ca.
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is a huge upgrade from my last. I'm still learning its full potiental but so far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Excellent Phone!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
luv2befit
From:  Rochester, NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. It's super fast. The pictures come out pretty nice and the phone calls are VERY clear. I know some people complained of not being able to hear well but I can hear better than on any other phone I have owned. It has Kit Kat and runs nice and smooth. I love that the battery lasts me all day long even with pretty heavy use of playing game and listening to music. The sound quality for music is very good. Videos and screen are nice and bright. Definitely worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

You don't get what you pay for.

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
shelbielynn3
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You just don't get the great features that you pay for. Bought TWO phones and BOTH had the same problems: Can't hear phone calls unless on speaker, video recording did not match sound when played back, can see but can't send emojis (contacted Kyocera and they blamed Google's android 4.4.2 not working for all brands of phone, NOT true because I got an LG Volt with the same 4.4.2 and can send emojis), power button loosely attached so jingles when phone vibrates for everything including typing, did not always charge. Money not well spent. DO NOT BUY.
Pros: clear screen, basic functioning
Cons: call quality, camera video, no emojis, poor quality of materials
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Excellent phone!

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JCScott
From:  West MI
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life is never enough on any phone, but this phone has been great in every way. Handled a pretty good drop and some water as well as a LOT of dust in my work environ.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Cute phone

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Spikey
From:  Louisville, KY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone because I didn't have the money for a more expensive phone. I wanted an android on a budget. The phone was fine until yesterday afternoon. I was on Facebook when it suddenly froze. It then turned itself off. I restarted it and to my horror realized that the phone had reset itself for the previous day at 11:59 p.m. This happened at 7:28 p.m. on the 8th. I shut it down and took out the battery in the hopes that it would reset itself when I put it back in. No dice. I had to manually reset the time. I think my phone time is now a minute off. Also, although I was thrilled to find that I had a weather app preloaded for those cold work days I could just glance at my phone and dress accordingly. I made the mistake of turning on the location feature. I traveled from California to the South Pacific to Phoenix all without ever leaving the comfort of my job or apartment. I was only once in the city I actually live in the whole weekend that I have owned this phone. Another thing that I don't like about this phone is the battery life. There is no way that I should lose 2% off the charge before I even leave the house. I lose 1% just taking it off the charger. That is insane. I don't do anything that uses battery beyond putting it in my pocket after I take it off the charger. No games, no music, nothing. Where in the world does that make sense? For an android on a budget it is an ok phone. My last complaint is the backlight. My other android phone would allow me to set the backlight for more than 30 seconds before it shut off the phone. I only get 30 seconds of inactivity before the phone locks itself. During games the phone locks itself at critical moments. I've had to stop myself from throwing my phone when it does that because it makes me mad. I plan to buy a better phone after I get my niece and nephew's Christmas out of the way.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Camera isn't that great.

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Virginboy1
From:  Cincinnati, OH
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a great fast phone overall. The front camera is not good and when you record videos, the quality is terrible when you it play it back. Other than that, great phone! The back camera takes excellent pictures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.