Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.56 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 star
7
31 out of 4667%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Awful

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
carebearchristy
From:  pa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was so excited to get this phone with its water resistant capabilities, but instead I was awfully disappointed. Its a horrible phone in every way. The camera quality was bad, ever app I opened shut itself down when I used it. Error messages poped up every few minutes. The keyboard would freeze on the screen even after leaving the app that was using it. Only correction to that was to restart the phone. The battery life was acceptable but not pleasing. The only thing that was useful was its "water resistance" it can withstand being dropped in the pool but it can keep simple apps open or take decent pictures.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

New to this

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
prvtdancer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So on average compared to previous phones. Still figuring things out, so far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This phone worked great for me

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
thatgir1
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for close to four months now and overall I am happy with it. It is true that the in-call sound quality is not the best but it's definitely workable, the front facing camera isn't great but that means less fuel to the fire of my selfie addiction. The phone is definitely durable I've dropped it flat onto concrete so many times, and the only damage I have is some chipping around the edges, after I got a case, that isn't even an issue anymore. The only app problems I have are from the apps themselves and have nothing to do with the phone. There is space on the phone for apps, if you need any more space sd cards are always available. The keyboard has frozen on me before but restarting the phone fixes the problem, so it's not a huge deal. If you want a nice phone for a decent price, I'd definitely recommend the Kyocera hydro vibe
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Powerful, yet flawed

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
williamwilliam
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being very pleased with the power, speed, high quality camera, latest OS, I was disappointed to have issues with the keyboard software acting faulty and displaying a keyboard when it should be off, or not displaying a keyboard when it should appear. Rebooting will correct it. I am keeping the phone because I have it all set-up. But I may have avoided it if I knew there were flaws. I am hoping automatic upgrades may correct this.
Pros: powerful with nice camera
Cons: faulty software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Problems since I bought it!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
UnhappyCustomer28
From:  Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this $100-something dollar phone, (which wasn't exactly cheap for me), and literally the same week, it was already giving me problems. I have only had it for a month, and it randomly turns off on me.. or the screen just freezes and stops working.. or it pops up with all of these messages telling me that every single application on my phone is "no longer working." What kind of mess is that? Also, I take VERY good care of my battery. I charge it fully, and then I let it die before plugging it in. I don't talk on it while it's plugged in.. I don't even use it while it's plugged in, at ALL.. so tell me why a month old phone dies 15min after I take it off of the charger?? If I pay more than $50.00 for a phone, I guess that the least I expect is that it works, and works well. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Maybe spend less time worrying about whether or not the phone is water resistant, and more about the actual functionality of it.. just a suggestion. P.s. I factory reset my phone, and I am STILL having issues with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

So far I like it

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LetteLizard
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is def different from my last phones, however I am getting used to it. I feel like I have a hard time keeping a grip on it, but I am waiting on a case for it so hopefully that will help. I am not too pleased with the piece that runs around the phone when I am talking on it, it kind of hurts my ear. Hearing the person on the other line really isn't that bad. It is different, but not horrible like some reviews I have read. I keep forgetting not to tap the contacts, that's not how you edit!! That's how you call! So far I do not really have issues with the camera, the front camera does not pick anything up very well. I wish the phone would stop turning things on by itself, like wifi...! Right now I am having an issue with charging, It will charge for 5-10 mins and then stop. I think this is affecting my battery life, its bad.
Pros: value, waterproof feature, size, functionality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very buggy

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Stefaine
From:  Murfreesboro Tn.
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So many bugs. The keyboard will randomly freeze up and stay on the screen, the only way to get it off is to restart the phone.
Phone randomly freezes up.
Touch screen sometimes freezes up and won't respond, and the phone has to be restarted.
Camera will zoom in and look beautiful but then the picture always looks blurry.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lpen21
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Lpen21 is loaded.
Additional information about Lpen21 could not be loaded.
Keyboard/freezing
Posted August 30, 2014
The key board issue is not the phone it's the stock app "Swype" don't use it instead use the google keyboard or download "swift" from the play store. Also disable the "loomen tool" its full of bugs. Go to apps under "all apps" and disable it there. You need to disable it every time the phone reeboots.
After you take these steps the phone should work fine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great phone for the most part...

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Danny86
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is very fast, lots of storage and a long battery life. My only gripe is the camera. The photos aren't great quality and the settings don't stay like I want. Even though I set everything to auto (flash etc), I have to reset them before each use. Its easier to just use my digital camera instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Good phone for the money

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
darknight9669
From:  Tampa, Fl
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed a phone with better processing than my previous phone which i only used 6 months(LG Optimus F3). I wanted a quad core phone to handle my company email and the ever growing FB apps and this does the job but did not want all the bloatware that comes from having a phone like samsung. I can truly say that i am happy with this phone and it serves my needs. I can now watch live stream tv, videos, with no problems and I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very happy

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SirAlexander
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with this recent purchase. Chose over LG Volt for better build and more RAM (1.5GB instead of 1GB). The phone is very solid. Performance has been excellent - no slow downs or restarts. The screen is great.
Kyocera launcher is not pretty. Replaced with Apex Launcher, things are looking much prettier now! The dialer is not pretty either, but can be replaced as well.
As others mentioned, the back camera is kinda bad. The front camera is abysmal (but I don't much care for the cameras...)
Hearing people speak does feel different (because of the fancy vibrarting tech), but seems just fine. People can hear me ok as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Apex Launcher
Posted August 18, 2014
How did you get that? Do you have to root it?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

bad

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
phyzics7042014
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I can't move my music or photos to my internal sd card. I have no more memory.
Pros: its fast
Cons: not enough memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Love This Phone

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
HisBabyMomma
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like everything about this phone. Battery is great only charge it once a day since I wake up and I like the 4glte it's pretty fast. Only thing I dislike is the front camera it is too dark even when you put it to full brightness
Pros: everything
Cons: front camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This is a good phone.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
gtindal
From:  Freeport, NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a very good phone although the camera is left to be desired. The phone does what I want it to do. It feels good in my hand and feels durable. I'm not a geek, but like I said earlier, it does the job of what I want it to do. I recommend this phone If you don't plan to do a lot with it. It's good for surfing the web, email, playing casual games. The Google Now feature is excellent.
Pros: water and possibly damage proof.
Cons: the camera is left to be desired.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

great phone

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
wicvan80
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an great phone I have tested the duribity and water proofness this phone has stood up to everything I've put it against and it's still going strong,
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This has great features

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MGoss72
From:  Texas
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On board memory lacking in my opinion but great response and fast device
Cons: memory, not enough memory
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

The product is okay

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kayness
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phone data drains the battery power button sensitive.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great Phone for on the job

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bails
From:  Indiana
Age: 55-64
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Want durable and long lasting battery this phone is great for all day use without a charge. Very happy with this phone. I manage a manufacturing plant and use my phone in an environment that requires durability and endurances and this has it all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Happy I upgraded

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BigDaddyJoe
From:  Central Coast, Ca
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife and I both recently upgraded to the Hydro Vibe. So far it has met or exceeded every expectation. Battery life is good enough. My wife typically makes to the end of the day with 60% left, mine is more like 25%. As a bonus, it charges faster than my old phone, too. The screen is awesome. Yes, there are more awesome screens out there, but that does not diminish this beautiful screen. The phone is responsive has handled everything I've thrown at it without problem. 3g speed has been good, 4g is still pretty limited in my area but great where it exists. Cell reception is better than my old Evo.
The camera is also good enough, but not great. It does just fine outdoors, but indoors it's hard to catch my toddlers without motion blur. Still, there's a few tricks that help. Selecting quickshot mode eliminates shutter lag completely and seems to bias the camera to eliminate blur. Continuous shooting is another great addition. Panorama another fun feature. Overall, the camera app is easy to use and offers acceptable results.
Call quality is interesting. I find the sound to be very clear, but slightly tinny and flat. Unlike my old phone, it doesn't blast my ear when I'm talking to my wife and a child screams in the background. I do find it easy to understand in noisy environments. My wife suffered eardrum damage when she was young and has always had trouble understanding people over the phone with any background noise. For her, this phone has been an amazing upgrade in sound clarity, since it bypasses the eardrum and sends sound through the skin.
I've had trouble finding a case that I liked for this phone. Most tend to be poorly fitting.
In summation, I've been absolutely pleased with this phone.
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Complete Trash

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
what
From:  Michigan
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My first impressions of this phone were great. It handled everything as well as my S3 did. I played Xcom and Injustice on it without lag. The camera is ok but fine for a phone camera. The water proof was the reason I bought it and I tested it several times without any failure. Now for the reason I want Kyocera to eat this pile of garbage. I have NEVER broken a phone screen. I have had no less than a dozen different phones. This thing dropped 2 feet on to the fake plastic linoleum and the screen shattered. I am now back to my S3 and have droped it several times from higher on to CONCRETE and its fine... This phone is a fragile pile of junk and I can't even get a replacement screen. 2-3 week life on this piece of garbage and now I have a paperweight...
Cons: durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
7of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great phone

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
PJisCool
From:  California
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a very good phone, its fast, its waterproof, and has great features. Its good for social apps like Instagram and so on. I left my iPhone 4 for this phone, my iPhone 4 was slow and lags a lot. But the Kyocera Hydro Vibe is a great phone overall..
Pros: speed
Cons: the camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123next>>