Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.263 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(198 Reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
54
3 stars
25
2 stars
28
1 star
39
110 out of 18759%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This phone alright with me...

PostedApril 16, 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
NotBadatAll
From:  FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had this phone for 3 years, it's DURABLE, WATERPROOF and not expensive. The front view camera isn't BRIGHT but it takes nice photos. The speaker phone isn't the best, but with a Bluetooth device it LINKs up pretty good. It's speed is great when the 4g kicks IN. Overall, I got my money's worth and then some. Also, the phone is being used now...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

4G on a budget

PostedMarch 4, 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Justtalk2me
From:  Fleming Island, Fl
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 4G speed allows videos to play without buffering as long as you have a 4G signal. The back key on the left takes a little getting used to if your previous phone had it on the right. The right key is neat though by showing you all the previous tasks that you accessed. Say, for instance, you were looking at email or pictures in your Gallery or any app you had launched. Just press the right key and you can scroll to the one you want to access again or you can swipe it to the right and remove it from the list. It acts sorta like a favorites list. Plus it is more waterproof than most phones, so you could drop this phone in the tub for a couple of minutes and it will survive. I have not tested this and I don't intend to anytime soon. I like the speakerphone on/off key is easy to use. I moved most everything I download to the memory card I installed. No complaints really. Overall I give this phone a solid B+
Pros: 4g lte on a budget
Cons: back key on the left
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Apps just shut down

PostedFebruary 27, 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BORINGGUY0U812
From:  Denver
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife and I each have this phone. Google maps used to work on both. Now it crashes. Same when I try to open a pdf. You get the idea.
We don't have many apps on the phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jaik
 
Please wait while more information about Jaik is loaded.
Additional information about Jaik could not be loaded.
Apps just shut down
Posted March 5, 2016
I was experiencing this problem and others , I found that if I deleted all updates I would be given an option to return the app to it's factory defaults , that took care of the problem with Maps , as well as the problem with messenger . Seems to fix any apps that start crashing after updating .
I rarely l update anything anymore .Hope this helps someone .
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Google Play Services Don't Work & Phone Stats Crashing After 7 Months

PostedFebruary 26, 2016
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Phone4You
From:  USA
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Google Play Services have not worked since I bought the phone! (Can not save progress on game, Play Store stopped, and crash reports don't send) The speakers are good for music but not while talking on the phone. In the past month the phone has stopped sending text messages and crashes about every hour. Memory is not good you must purchase an additional external Mini SD card. I would not suggest this phone. You should go ahead and purchase a more expensive better quality phone. It was good while it lasted!!! (1 Month lol)
Pros: price
Cons: battery, google services, phone, bad quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

problems with this product

PostedFebruary 25, 2016
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mellobello
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought the phone expecting 8gb, when it arrived i found that there were only 4gb that couldn't even be accessed. Bought the phone in april 2015, it was working fine until a month or so ago. Now its gotten incredibly slow.
When the storage is at capacity I delete unneeded photos and videos, then go back to the camera to find that it still says i cannot record or document anything. unless youre in a very well lit room or have light shining directly onto you the front camera will only pick up dark silhouettes. When watching anything you've recorded on that phone the audio and video are not synced, instead the audio plays 2-3 seconds before the video.
Without me telling it to, the phone randomly undownloads my music, then when i try to redownload any of it it the phone says that there isn't enough space.
for months i haven't been able to update some of the predownloaded apps that i use because the phone seems to be uncompatible with the recent updates (such as youtube, google hangouts, gmail, google play music)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

luv this phone

PostedFebruary 23, 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
215intha757
From:  Newport news Va
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I luv the phone easy to use screen did crack in my pocket and when u use up memory on your SD card it acts funny other THEn that I luv my phone I get a new SD card and the screen can be replaced so I'm happy
Pros: eaay to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Worth the money

PostedFebruary 17, 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ml93m
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone for a year and it is very durable. I have never had a case on it, dropped it a few times, and the screen had never cracked or messed up. The battery life is not the best and neither is either camera, but they work. The phone is to the point now it will only charge on one charger unless the back is off. If the back is off it will charge on any other charger. I will probably be buying a new one soon just for the simple fact of, I need a phone THAT will charge with thw back on. Easy to use and transfer items to THE sd card. A good buy, definitely worth thw cheap price of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Cons

PostedFebruary 13, 2016
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mariah23
From:  St. Louis, mo
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I hate when the phone goes off by itself, freezes and don't responds
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Only good for the first few months

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AverageTanner
From:  Napa, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was a big step up from the Kyocera Rise, but still significantly lower in quality than a good phone. The camera is trash and the front-facing camera is even worse. Also, the phone randomly shuts off in the middle of conversations and web browsing. It crashes every time I try to open maps, gmail, Google, and many other apps. The ONLY upside to this cell phone is that it's relatively tough, meaning it doesn't require a case.
Pros: durable screen
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Seriously, it's waterproof

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
atthebeach
Age: 25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's not the fastest, most high powered phone, but it cannot be broken. I dropped this thing in a salt water marsh and left it there until low tide 18 hours later. 2% battery, I scooped it out with a net and made a phone call. I was in disbelief.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: call volume
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

So far so good

PostedFebruary 9, 2016
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
freak4life
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using this phone for over 3 years and the only problem was when the charging cord failed. The phone itself has never shut off during any app running, Hulu works great, plenty of memory. Maybe I just got lucky but this phone has been great.
Pros: performance
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Ok for price

PostedFebruary 7, 2016
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
AliShort1
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kyocera seems to have phones that shut down/freeze a lot. This one eventually did it too. After 8 months it's still, for the most part, running okay. This isn't a good phone for people hard of hearing. The "sonic receiver" makes the speaker sound muffled and you can't understand ENUNCIATIONS very well. And the volume doesn't go very high either. The screen is BUILT to last and the memory that it comes with SUPPORTs plenty of apps, pictures, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Don't turn your back on this phone

PostedSeptember 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Evivie
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year now. The only problem I've had is battery life. After being fully charged, battery wouldn't last a day. That's with not using it except to check time. Memory is nice. Easy to transfer things to the microSD. I hardly have that much on the internal memory.
Pros: everything but battery
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Don't buy

PostedSeptember 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SayRah
From:  Arizona
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone has so many issues. I bought it because it was cheaper, but it has been such a pain. It closes programs when I'm trying to use them. It crashes and turns off randomly. I so regret buying this phone. And I can't get my money back. Horrible experience.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Perfect for the price

PostedSeptember 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kyoko
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is really awesome for the price, looks sleek, and feels great. Touch screen is smooth, and everything else is nearly perfect, I have not tried the waterproof capability, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

please do not get this phone

PostedSeptember 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
paris1030
From:  La Crosse, WI
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone was good at first. Then it just keeps HAVING all of these PROBLEms which does not make me happy. This phone is not worth buying I rather have a phone with a crack screen then this phone. The reason of getting this phone was because my Samsung galaxy s3 got crack and the screen turned completely black. And because it was cheap I have never trusted Kyocera phones because of all the problems the phone HAs. This phone is just not worth it. Please if you want this phone PLEASE do not get this phone. I haven't had much good about this phone since I got it.
Cons: charge and the system
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I like my Hydro Vibe!

PostedAugust 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DangItDave
From:  Phoenix, AZ
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had my Kyocera Hydro Vibe for about 3 months now and, there's a lot to like about it. It has good quality features, a slim profile, good battery life, a very speedy quad core 1.2GHz Snapdragon 400 processor and, a better than average amount of DDR3L-12800 RAM (1.5GB). It has 8GB of NAND Flash storage, of which about 4.3GB are available to the user. It has WiFi (and Hot-Spot capability), Bluetooth 4.0, and a high capacity Micro SD card slot (32GB expandable). The display is very bright, if you want it to be - (think battery life) and has a 240ppi pixel density - which provides very clear and sharp images and video. The camera is an 8MP Auto Focus with flash... You know, most comparably priced phones don't come close to these features.
Now, the first day I went to watch a video and, the phone got so hot it interrupted my video to tell me it was taking steps to cool itself down and, informed me that it would affect performance. I've watched videos, (even streaming ones), since then and, have not had any problems with overheating(?). There is a serious problem with storage memory access when connecting to other devices via USB. It seems that, for what ever bizarre (anti-piracy?) reason Google has for doing this with their Android 4.4 OS, most of the stuff you download to your phone, and even the pictures that you take, get "lost from view" or are otherwise inaccessible to the computer you connect your phone to. Hard to blame the phone for the Android OS bug though but, it is a real issue for KitKat OS device users. (To get around this, I use the built in Bluetooth FTP; it's much slower than using a USB connection would be otherwise though.)
2 somewhat more minor gripes... The phone has a buggy auto focus with the camera. It seems to not be sure of what it is supposed to be focusing on and often wound up taking less than clear pics. Fixed (infinity) focus was no better but, I found that the Zoom FX camera app pretty much fixes that problem. I get good, clear pics very consistently now with something less (usually) than a second's delay between pushing the camera button and taking the focused picture. Last is the sound quality of the display as a speaker; it's not so great. I can usually make out what all is being said but, you have to press the phone pretty firmly against the ear to hear it decently. If you have a Bluetooth device you like to use, Great! I've used a Motorola H730 with this phone and, not only do I hear the caller I'm talking to without a problem but, they say they hear me crystal clear too. I also have an Arctic P311 stereo Bluetooth headset that works flawlessly with this phone as well - whether taking a call or listening to a music video on YouTube.
I've never owned a Kyocera phone before but, I look forward to checking them out again when I get to making a choice for my next phone upgrade. The Hydro Vibe is a very good phone for the budget conscious.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Listen to my review.. seriously

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
yarg
From:  pittsburg, ks
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So this phone is kinda cheap which is really awesome.. like 20 times cheaper than an iphone with the phone and the plan and all that. However, there are some negative things about this phone. For starters, the most annoying thing is when the phone closes out your texting program like 3 times during one simple text and you have to get back into it. Next, this phone claims it is impact resistant and water proof. It is about as impact resistant and water proof as an egg that isn't water proof. Lastly, I wish this phone would stop updating the firmware package every two days... stupid. Anyway, at least it's cheap and better than one of those tin can string phones that we all made when we were kids.
Cons: dumb
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Don't work how I thought it would...

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dan123
From:  Stockton CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone because my last one got messed up because I had dropped it in water. I have only been having this phone for a week and some times it doesn't even show who calls me or texts. I have to constantly open the meggasees to see if anyone has texted me. When I go on the internet sometimes the page goes blank. Also this phone is not durable. The screen is made of glass. I accidentally dropped it and it wasn't even had and the whole screen shattered. This phone also says that it has an 8mp camera and that is not true! The last phone I had was an 8mp and it took nice pictures at night and this phone sucks at that. They will be grainy and video looks like it was taken in slow motion. I work for a news paper and I am constantly taking pictures of scenes on my phone and this phone is not good for that. Definitely also not waterproof too! Sav yourself some money and buy a better phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I can't make calls at home

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
beansy0716
From:  Haverhill, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I read the reviews that people had problems hearing when making calls. I have no service at home. I have had a Virgin acct so why w/ the change of a phone do I not have service? I am at home making calls and everyone says, I can't hear you, you are breaking up. I can't stand outside year round to make calls. I couldn't download anything and I had to call customer support. It took me to yell at the guy to get him to help me. It is a much faster phone than the one I had so that is good, but not being able to make calls is obviously a big problem
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...10next>>