Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.469 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
9
38 out of 5866%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Barely usable as a phone

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
NYopinion4u
From:  NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this phone for a couple weeks because I was impressed with the look, feel, and spec's of the phone. However, it became very clear right off the bat that the call quality was very poor. To use it as a simple phone was all but unusable unless you were inside a small, very quiet room. The sound was just that bad. I had to pair a Bluetooth ear piece with it to even use it for the short time I had it.
All in all, if you MUST have a waterproof phone and are ok pairing it with a Bluetooth ear piece to function, then the phone itself is quite good.
Cons: sound is very bad
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

impact glass NO

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
skullfreak
From:  saint paul
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had this phone for two months fell out of my lap as I was getting up landed face up and screen shattered. I've only dropped it a hand full of times. My old lg held up a lot longer
Cons: memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Good phone.

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hillis
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off I am really hard on phone and this one seems to be doing good so far. Only iissue I have had with it is the keyboard sticks on or off the screen sometimes and I have to reset my phone to get it to work again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Perfect

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kulbacki
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is waterproof. Get a case. Fast as heck and has the new android update available.
Pros: lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I highly recommend!

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
newluv
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone for 2 months and very pleased. Easy to use and waterproof! Battery life is great. Lots of memory!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
amunet07
 
Please wait while more information about amunet07 is loaded.
Additional information about amunet07 could not be loaded.
texting
Posted October 18, 2014
is the screen keypad easy to use? I'm used to having a slide-out and a little leary to go without a slide out.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

GooD PhonE!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
EricB
From:  Jarreau,LA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like its waterProof and Impact Resistant.Thats cool as heck!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Warning: Not Impact Resistant at all

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Marr21608
From:  Utah
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The features, speed and function of this phone are awesome, and the price is great. The only problem I have is the claim that the screen is "impact resistant". In the real world, dropping a phone three feet from the ground and having the screen shatter is not resistance to impact. It's the same as many other phones. The glass extends to the edge of the phone, making it vulnerable to a drop from any height. I highly recommend getting a case as soon as you get it. Neither Kyocera nor Virgin mobile will repair the screen if it breaks, you have to buy a new phone or purchase the warranty. I also could not find any company that sells replacement screens for doing it yourself.
Pros: the features speed and function of this phone are
Cons: in the real world dropping a phone three feet fr
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Not to bad

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DrewP
From:  Knoxville TN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the HTC Desire 601. i got this phone cause i lost the desire. im glad i lost it. i like this phone better. the issue with the camera is true its not the greatest. the calls do sound tinny like but lets not be so picky people.
Pros: almost everything
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Battery life = 0

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Aggrivated
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone was on the charger alllllll day and yet still NO charge.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Classy and stylish

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
PhoneSavvy
From:  Deltona, FL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My daughter upgraded her phone to the VM Supreme and she was graceful to give me this one. I had been using the LG Optimus and I was very please with it, until I got this one.
The screen is amazing, so much memory, fast, the sound is great. Callers can hear me perfectly and so can I. The FM feature is great. Navigation is good. I got all my picture, video, contact, navigation destination, transfer from one phone to the other in less than 10 mins. I can watch,Showbox, Netflix, brighthouse Cable with out a problem. Games are also good. This will definitely be my phone for a long time.
Pros: memory
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Highly overpriced

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sport78
From:  Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I paid nearly for this phone expecting it to be a much better phone than it is. The rotating screen is terrible as it turns unexpectedly. The phone crashes and has to restart on a regular basis. Overall for the money spent this phone is definitely not worth it.
Pros: nothing
Cons: overpriced in
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

horrible

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ariana95
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was happy until I Started playing my game, it gave me a blue screen of death, restarted twice, and now I can't open anything without it force closing. Very unhappy with this phone, only good thing is the looks of the phone.
I was listening to music typing this and it all force closed.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

I liked Kyocera until now..

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LilMissFRAG
From:  Portland, OR
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There is no simple "activation" icon for set up. You have to go into the user manual to figure it out. Neither speaker works. One hour after activation my phone already freezes, blacks out, and kicks back to home page for no reason. Head phone jack isn't the same quality of other electronics. Weird sounds.
I had a Kyocera slider before and loved it. Then i switched to and HTC switch worked well but was made with the worst material ever.
I was genuinely excited for the Hydro Vibe. With in 3 hrs of unboxing I want to break it.
Pros: customer service replaced it after an 2 hr.. talk
Cons: everything, and everything else, do not buy this phone, cost too much for not working
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Overall a good phone.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
PersonJustLikeYou
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you want a good, cheap, and fast phone, this phone is for you.
Everything about the phone satisfies my needs, except ONE thing. Let me go on about the pros of this phone first.
The size of the phone is nice; nice wide screen, not too big & not too small, and not heavy. Picture quality is nice (not the best, same goes for the other phones around this price). Sound speakers for entertainment purposes (i.e. music & videos) is nice and loud. This phone is fast (nice 4.3 Jellybean and quad processor). If you are wondering, this phone can transfer apps and media to an SD card. Lastly, this phone is dust and water repellant, which will make this phone last generally longer (from situations like dropping your phone accidentally in the toilet)
Now, let me go on with the ONE bad thing about this phone. The one thing that held me back from giving it a good rating. The call quality is horrible! The Smart Sonic Receiver Technology was not so good on this one. This phone doesn't have a small speaker so you can put your ear against so you can hear the person you're talking to on the phone. Instead, it is just the screen, where the Smart Sonic Receiver Technology vibrates the call sounds through the screen. This makes the calls unclear, and hard to hear. The speaker option will send the sounds through the loud speaker in the back.
Overall, like I stated, this phone satisfies my needs. It is cheap, fast, and good. Does the job except for that one thing.
Cons: call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Awful

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
carebearchristy
From:  pa
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was so excited to get this phone with its water resistant capabilities, but instead I was awfully disappointed. Its a horrible phone in every way. The camera quality was bad, ever app I opened shut itself down when I used it. Error messages poped up every few minutes. The keyboard would freeze on the screen even after leaving the app that was using it. Only correction to that was to restart the phone. The battery life was acceptable but not pleasing. The only thing that was useful was its "water resistance" it can withstand being dropped in the pool but it can keep simple apps open or take decent pictures.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lpen21
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Lpen21 is loaded.
Additional information about Lpen21 could not be loaded.
Keyboard
Posted October 2, 2014
I've posted this numerous times already but the keyboard is NOT the phones fault. Switch to something else like swift or Google keyboard. That will take care of the keyboard remaining on the screen. Also freeze Lumen toolbar which is intrusive and causes instability.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

New to this

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
prvtdancer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So on average compared to previous phones. Still figuring things out, so far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This phone worked great for me

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
thatgir1
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for close to four months now and overall I am happy with it. It is true that the in-call sound quality is not the best but it's definitely workable, the front facing camera isn't great but that means less fuel to the fire of my selfie addiction. The phone is definitely durable I've dropped it flat onto concrete so many times, and the only damage I have is some chipping around the edges, after I got a case, that isn't even an issue anymore. The only app problems I have are from the apps themselves and have nothing to do with the phone. There is space on the phone for apps, if you need any more space sd cards are always available. The keyboard has frozen on me before but restarting the phone fixes the problem, so it's not a huge deal. If you want a nice phone for a decent price, I'd definitely recommend the Kyocera hydro vibe
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Powerful, yet flawed

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
williamwilliam
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being very pleased with the power, speed, high quality camera, latest OS, I was disappointed to have issues with the keyboard software acting faulty and displaying a keyboard when it should be off, or not displaying a keyboard when it should appear. Rebooting will correct it. I am keeping the phone because I have it all set-up. But I may have avoided it if I knew there were flaws. I am hoping automatic upgrades may correct this.
Pros: powerful with nice camera
Cons: faulty software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Problems since I bought it!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
UnhappyCustomer28
From:  Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this $100-something dollar phone, (which wasn't exactly cheap for me), and literally the same week, it was already giving me problems. I have only had it for a month, and it randomly turns off on me.. or the screen just freezes and stops working.. or it pops up with all of these messages telling me that every single application on my phone is "no longer working." What kind of mess is that? Also, I take VERY good care of my battery. I charge it fully, and then I let it die before plugging it in. I don't talk on it while it's plugged in.. I don't even use it while it's plugged in, at ALL.. so tell me why a month old phone dies 15min after I take it off of the charger?? If I pay more than $50.00 for a phone, I guess that the least I expect is that it works, and works well. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Maybe spend less time worrying about whether or not the phone is water resistant, and more about the actual functionality of it.. just a suggestion. P.s. I factory reset my phone, and I am STILL having issues with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
phonedoc
texas
 
Please wait while more information about phonedoc is loaded.
Additional information about phonedoc could not be loaded.
I think youve answered your own questions.
Posted September 15, 2014
If your battery dies that fast and the phone freezes up and gives force close popups then its out of memory. Youve mentioned these problems but never mentioned clearing the caches even once. Android and windows are the same in this respect, you have to keep up maintainance to keep it working right. If you dont change the oil and the engine blows, do you blame the car?
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

So far I like it

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LetteLizard
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is def different from my last phones, however I am getting used to it. I feel like I have a hard time keeping a grip on it, but I am waiting on a case for it so hopefully that will help. I am not too pleased with the piece that runs around the phone when I am talking on it, it kind of hurts my ear. Hearing the person on the other line really isn't that bad. It is different, but not horrible like some reviews I have read. I keep forgetting not to tap the contacts, that's not how you edit!! That's how you call! So far I do not really have issues with the camera, the front camera does not pick anything up very well. I wish the phone would stop turning things on by itself, like wifi...! Right now I am having an issue with charging, It will charge for 5-10 mins and then stop. I think this is affecting my battery life, its bad.
Pros: value, waterproof feature, size, functionality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234next>>