Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Be pool ready with the Kyocera Hydro Vibe. Featuring waterproof capabilities, a 4.5-inch impact-resistant display and Smart Sonic receiver technology, accidents and loud environments are no longer an issue. Plus with its 1.2GHz Quad-Core processor, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and 4G LTE, you can stay connected at lightning speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.487 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
32
3 stars
11
2 stars
16
1 star
18
68 out of 10863%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great Phone...

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
dlls251
From:  United States
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
no problems at all ... sounds and performs much better then my previous phone - Samsung junk
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Love it, but...

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunshine1988
From:  12078
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only thing that REALLY bother to me about this phone is the camera. It's 8MP, but the images still come out grainy. You have to hold the phone EXTREMELY steady or the image blurs because there's no image stabilizer, and the front camera is pretty useless if there isn't A LOT of light, otherwise it's super dark.
I'm put at ease to know that it's supposed to be waterproof, however I still haven't actually tested it out in water.
I've had it since June/July and so far the battery is still pretty good. Depending on how much I use it, which is A LOT of texting, messaging, web and data, I only have to charge it a max of 3 times a day now.
When I make/receive a call, sometimes the call volume will sound extremely low even on the highest setting, so I have to really press my ear against the phone to hear, so the claim that I can hear crystal clear in louder environments does not hold true for me.
Otherwise, I really like it. I might search for a phone that will take better pics though, cuz this doesn't do it for me.
Pros: supposedly waterproof, sleek and appealing
Cons: camera, call volume
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

it's a phone.....kinda

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
heydarehidarehodare
From:  hudson valley, ny
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone is fast.....that is the quad core processor. However, the volume, when talking on the phone, is quite horrible. Sometimes I can barely hear the person whom I'm talking to. Basically, if you want a phone for the internet, it's solid, but if you want to use the cellphone to call someone, try a different one.
Pros: operating speed
Cons: call volume
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Started off good then fell down

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
pharaoh
From:  Stockton California
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Its battery performance is low, it heats up fast when sending emojis it appears as question MARKS to CONTACTS, signal dies in and OUT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Not a terrible phone, but not a good one either.

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Moonlight1252
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is waterproof obviously to a certain extent. When I first got it, I put it under a very low running sink to see if the water bounces off the screen. It does. The camera is just terrible. On the front facing camera, it doesn't pick up on the amount of lighting you're in. It's either way too dark to see my face or too bright. There is rarely anywhere in between. My phone has frozen up on me quite a few times. And it has restarted randomly on me sometimes. The battery doesn't last very long. This phone hasn't treated me terribly but not very great either.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

It's great but it restarts out of the blue

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SHANY
From:  Puerto Rico
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's great but it restarts out of the blue when I'm hearing music on It, but it's only in rare occasions that this happens. I used to have a kyocera event but I changed it to this one because it would keep restarting every time I wanted to use it.
Cons: it restarts out of the blue
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Nice Phone!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
ent9
From:  champaign, Il
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this for Christmas. It's a great cell. The best one ive had from virgin And I've owned around 8 different ones! It charged quickly in the beginning but ever since I let my husband charge his on my charger it doesn't charge as fast. I don't have any other complaints with it so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Not waterproof / resistant - lasts 6 months tops

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
ellioan
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It can handle splashes but not being submerged under water. Speaker is terrible and hard to hear people when calling. It's a cheap phone with cheap features.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hillary
From:  Chicago IL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had problems since day one! My phone won't stay charging while on the charger, it freezes, and it constantly crashes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

This Phone

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chilledsteven12589
From:  Columbia, SC
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has the worst battery life I have ever had in a phone. My old iPhone 4 had a better battery life than this phone. This phone does not work underwater or just in a little fog. I put it in the bathroom on a shelf to play music while I am in the shower and I go to change it it does nit work. So I have to wipe off the steam from the screen just for the phone to work.
The performance is bad I mean really bad. The performance with 3G service with Sprint. You mine as well say that this phone is NOT for you unless if you feel like throwing this phone at the wall and giving up on Sprint. That is all I have to say about this phone.
Pros: the screen size and the res.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jeddoman
 
Please wait while more information about Jeddoman is loaded.
Additional information about Jeddoman could not be loaded.
Capacitative touch screens don't work in water, pe
Posted January 30, 2015
NO capacitive touch screens work in water because they require minute detection of electrical current, which is obscured by water. Listing that as a downside to a phones screen is not a negative of the phone, as they ALL fail to work in water. The same happens on my Galaxy S5, and the same happened on my S3, and even on my old LG Optimus.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

good phone

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
p3nolepe
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
But, using snapchat, recording is a bit off. All other features works fine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Very good phone

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ree333
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had this phone for about 3 months now very pleased with it camera is not the best. Battery life is ok runs all my apps sometimes is a bit slow to laod at times. But an upgtade from my htc evo. So all around good phone for a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Fragile as an egg, lousy touchscreen

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MrMarkus
From:  Tucson, AZ
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The touchscreen comes unlocked randomly on a regular basis, and is jumpy as can be. The first time I dropped it, the 'impact resistant screen' shattered into a million pieces. Worst smartphone I've ever owned.
Cons: fragile
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

It performs well, not perfectly

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scrapthenickname
From:  Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After 1 month of use: Good browsing, good texting, and fairly good call capabilities. The rear camera is passable. Photo-buffs should pass on this device, but most of the rest of us will find the rear picture-taking to be decent enough, but not top-notch. The front camera is poor. If you need to take good self/buddy pics, then this is not the phone for you.
Do yourself a favor and buy a micro-SD card to expand the memory. This is relatively cheap and could possibly prevent problems later on.
That said, the phone has "glitched out" on me twice so far (in spite of memory upgrade) If this phone starts opening apps without your input, do a power down and re-start. I've read other reviews that suggest taking the battery completely out once a month. Might not help but couldn't hurt.
Texting with emoji smileys can be problematic, or so I've read, so I don't use them. I prefer the swype keyboard and alternate between swiping or touch tapping the keys with this program. It works well enough. If you really need to use emojis, consider another phone.
Battery life is about what I expected. Good enough with light to moderate use; not very good with intense screen use. Most of the battery usage is tied to the display.
Reception of cell service is passable, but not as good as what is available on a friend's Samsung Galaxy S3 on the same VM network. Sometimes calls have had poor reception for me. Annoying when this happens, but not a common occurrence.
Pros: web surfing, multi-media texting
Cons: the front camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Good phone for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kllr
From:  Seattle,Wa
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I liker the ease of use this phone offers however when it did the first system update the battery life decreased by almost half, If you are looking for a cheaper smart phone I would recommend this one
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Kyocera Hydro Vibe

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2Txt23
From:  Lebanon MO
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is so amazing and fast it takes great pictures and videos
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Great For the Price!

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LateNiteMsgs
From:  South Carolina
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I actually like this phone! I love the look of Android 4.4.2 (you have to update the phone when you get it). Its a nice size phone and it does everything you would normally do on a phone. The only thing i dont like about this phone is the camera. It says the rear camera is 8MP and the front camera is 2MP, but my previous Samsung Galaxy Victory is only 5MP and 1.3MP and both are much better than the Hydro Vibe. Maybe because Samsung is a better and larger brand? But thats really the only problem i have with the phone. Battery life is good when used normally, but if you sit there and listen to music an play games non-stop for a while, then the battery runs down MUCH quicker than other phones. Other than that, the phone is a great deal for the price and i dont see any problems with it in the future!
Cons: camera quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

no problem

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bekkomike
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my FIRST TIME TO USE SMART PHONE,BUT PRETTY EASY TO NAVIGATE .easy-to-use phone. ONLY PROBLEM IS CAMERA FEATURE that IS NOT GOOD AS I EXPECTED. REACT slow and cannot focus well. However other than that,very,good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Amazing phone for the price.

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheRunningMan
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this phone at Christmas Eve, this has great specs than my ZTE Awe.
Pros: waterproof, smart sonic receiever, build quality, sound quality, camera, screen size, customization, hd
Cons: nothing so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro Vibe 4G LTE

Frustrating, disappointing phone

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SherOne
From:  Portland, OR
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I only bought this phone because my other phone had been stolen, and the sales people recommended it. While I liked the calendar and contacts functions (and kinda liked the voice-to-text voicemail function), I had problems with everything else.
The battery life was awful -- died in a day, even after being fully charged the night before and not being heavily used during the day.
The texting interface was not good (wouldn't let me delete a draft, plus the default cursor is on composing-a-new-text, making it too easy to accidentally text someone). Had the phone for two weeks and still couldn't text, using the google keyboard, without tons of typos (that could be user error since I'm not used to all-touchscreen phones, but two weeks seems like it should be long enough to get used to it...).
E-mail was okay but glitchy (the phone sent messages multiple times without my knowing it); hulu and youtube were very glitchy on this phone. On hulu, it would only play the commercials (slowly and with loading issues) and then give an error message when the actual video came up.
The sound quality on calls was constantly staticy, every time and everywhere I used it; once I had to call someone back on a landline because the connection was so bad and rough.
This phone has a lot of bells and whistles but I did not find it to be very user-friendly.
Pros: calendar, contacts, voicemail
Cons: battery life, texting, sound quality, hulu, youtube
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.