Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.117 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(711 Reviews) 711
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 711 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
78
3 stars
66
2 stars
144
1 star
352
172 out of 67126%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

This product is definitely not worth the price I paid.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kevin4762
From:  Miami, FL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone has some serious technical issues. I have had the Launcher, which is basically the apps screen, not working and ask me to Wait or Close. Sometimes I'll just open an app and it will immediately say it is not responding. The battery life is short, the phone takes forever to load apps, and sometimes will shut off automatically for no reason. Apps will sometimes simply close on their own and the phone just takes too long to do what you want it to. I dread having to look stuff up on my phone because it takes soooo long for keyboard alone to appear. Texting is hassle and calling people can take 30 seconds before connecting. The phone "works" after a year but it's just degraded so much since then that it's not even worth it. Hopefully my next phone works and I would definitely not recommend any Kyocera phone to anyone who wants a phone that functions properly after 6 months.
Cons: too slow, short battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

will not work

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
joshua21
From:  texas
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
when i turn it on it freezes on the event by kyocera screen and i have to take the battery out and put it back in but it still will not work anyone know what to do? ive tried everything it wont let me get on again
Cons: it wont turn on, it frezzes, wont let me download apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Eduardo97
California
 
Please wait while more information about Eduardo97 is loaded.
Additional information about Eduardo97 could not be loaded.
Ask for a replacement.
Posted July 18, 2014
The same thing happened to mine. There's not really anything you can do about that, but you can get a replacement since the phone has a 1 year guarantee.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

this product has lame features

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dionnysuz
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is a very simple phone but it doesn't do much
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Worthless

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BuffaloGuy
From:  Western NY
Age: 35-44
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought his phone for my son in April. Over the three months he has used it, it has continually rebooted itself randomly and on at least a dozen occasions it has frozen to the point where we had to take the battery out to reset the phone (even holding the power button down for over a minute did not work to reboot). I have done all system updates hoping that would fix the issue. This past week it froze again, so I did the battery removal procedure and this time it won't get past the VM splash screen. I tried going into the android recovery mode (power button plus the down volume key while booting) and did a factory reset but no luck...it still hangs on startup at the VM splash screen. From what I have read on-line, the phone is trash at this point. I know this wasn't a high end phone, but 3 months before it becomes a paper weight...seriously? Thanks Kyocera for a worthless piece of junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Please discontinue this phone

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rch123
From:  Charleston, SC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought that any phone would be worth buying if it was this cheap. However, this phone is sadly not even worth this price. It works sometimes but mostly it runs as if it's 10 years old and has been dropped IN lava. Please don't waste your time
Pros: sends texts sometimes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

This is the best Android phone that I done had.....And the first!!!!! Lol

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Diamonte
From:  Michigan City, IN
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone it will be 3 weeks tomorrow........All some
Pros: android 4.0, camera, touchscreen, apps, easy to use, speaker is perfect
Cons: frezzes almost barley when you are doing to much
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

This phone is a waste of pieces and parts to a terrible phone.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShortCake227
From:  Nashville, MI
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I first got this phone about a year ago, it was a good phone when I first got it. Than the phone just started having problem after problem. The phone will drop calls for no reason in a good serviced area. I even had Virgin Mobile check my service around my house where I usually use my phone, and I should have full bars, but instead I get two, if any. It just randomly started calling people. My screen just randomly started getting white spots in the screen as of right now it has three of these little white spots. You cant delete pictures off the phone permanently, it will disappear at first like it deleted, but than when you take a new picture all the old pictures you thought were deleted pop back onto your phone. This phone runs apps terribly, I got like 4 apps and the phone is so slow. When using Facebook or something you can barely stay in the app long enough to do anything cause its always kicking you out of it. Lets just say I've had too many replacement phones trying to see if it would resolve the problems I've been having, but instead the same problems are there if something new doesn't go wrong with it on top of anything else. Just a terrible phone.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mommaonthego
From:  Boston, MA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I have owned it for a little under year and have had to have it replaced 3 times and it's looking like I'm going to have to have it replaced yet again. I am very cautious and careful with it (as there is no case in the world that fits it) but it doesn't matter. It gets stuck on the load screen, randomly restarts itself, and recently has been getting the error "system processor not responding and has no service at all while this error is present. After 4 factory resets it may be okay, but only time will tell. Even when this phone is working, it doesn't work well. The battery life is a joke. It lasts only a few hours off the charger (and it's the phone not the battery because I have changed the battery out many times). It freezes up in the middle of games and force closes apps all the time. Text messages that say sent on my phone do not get to the other person for an hour after I send them. I guess if you want a phone to make phone calls and nothing else then this might be an okay phone for you. If you want to do anything else, get a different phone.
Cons: battery life, freezes, texts dont send right away, force closes, error messages
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

unsatisfactory

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
dcc9437
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it freezes constantly, opens programs on its own, exits programs on its own. It is the slowest phone I've ever had.
Cons: poor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Do not purchase this phone.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MariiatheGreat
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about a year, it is awful. It freezes everytime I use it, and I constantly have to take the battery out & turn it back on. When I text I have to speak whatever I want to say into the microphone because the keyboard ALWAYS freezes. It will randomly shut off and turn back on. This phone is incredibly unreliable and I am very unhappy with it.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Not bad if you like a frozen phone

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
hatethisphone2itshorrible
From:  Belleville, il
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Got this phone about 3 months ago. It worked good for about a week then started freezing up and also shutting off for no reason. a couple of times, my speaker decided to quit working so I couldn't tell when someone would call. All in all a horrible phone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Phone worked for a month!!!!!

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From:  Lancaster, PA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst piece of technology ever put on the market. CONSTANT crashing, freezing, shutting off and just terrible to deal with. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: picturing myself destroying it.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Problems with calls.

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
OrcaBear
From:  Northwest
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't really use the internet on my phone so I bought one of the cheaper phones. Big mistake! This one continuously digitizes people's voices when making a call, making it hard to understand the other person. The phone on 4 out of 5 calls is always trying to add another line to the call by itself, causing it to mute you and the other person now thinks you have hung up. I have held it far from my face to see if that fixed the problem but it continues. I would think it was just my phone but my mother has the same phone and the same add-a-line problem. I will never buy Kyocera again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Not horrible, but definitely not up to my standards

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
banina
From:  Tampa, FL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone in October and just upgraded to an LG Volt a couple days ago, so I had it for about 9 months. No major problems aside from the typical low-end smartphone bugs.
It's slow, it lags, the screen resolution is poor, the audio quality is poor, it runs apps horribly.. but it's such an inexpensive phone, so I don't understand how anyone could have big expectations for it. Yes it's low end and has its issues, but that's to be expected for the price. I don't recommend it to anyone who uses their phone frequently, but I think it would be an acceptable phone for an older person who just needs it to make calls from time to time, or a young teenager who is getting their first phone. It's not the worst phone in the world and I think the price is fair for what you're getting, but it's just not for me.
Pros: price, ease of use
Cons: slow, laggy, poor resolution, poor audio quality, randomly shuts off from time to time, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

you get what you pay for

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
disappointed55406
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
you get what you pay for, cheap phone....apps are always freezing up, i have to take my battery out at least 3 to 4 times a day because of that...now that a system software update happened most my app will not work at all and phone is running extremely slow...i am happy with the virgin mobile plan, but not happy with the phone at all...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Do no waste your money

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
antman712
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is horrible. The phone freezes and stutters. Do not waste your time. I am switching to my old phone as we speak.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

TAKE THIS PHONE OFF THE MARKET. IT'S GARBAGE.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
cjoy
From:  Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
VIrgin Mobile gatekeepers pulled my previous review! This phone is a piece of trash and doesn't need to be off the market! Don't bother calling the customer service with problems because all they will do is offer you the SAME PHONE. I got mine replaced and the "NEW" is worse than the first!
BUYERS BEWARE!
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

It's alright for the price.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MisFrie1
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wouldn't recommend this phone, unless you were looking for something short term with the perks of a touch screen.
Freezes up on me whether I'm in apps or not and it shuts off randomly. Doesn't hold much on the phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Terrible

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
v3ryunhappy
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The BATTERY life is terrible. It lags like crazy. Not a good product for gaming. It's a great starter phone for teens I guess. Customer service is terrible. I wish I had read the reviews first. Definitely a get what you pay for phone.. there is a reason it's so cheap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

It's ok if it is just for texting, calling and web browsing.

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Benihime
From:  California, Huntington Park
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is not good for quality things such as games or watching videos at all. Most of the time the phone restarts or it crashes when I am using the phone, or even when i am doing something as simple as texting. It becomes really laggy; like when you are playing a video game that requires internet and it is so bad that you cannot take it, that bad. It ends up restarting like how i said before. The memory is ok but even though everything saves to the memory card it gets full. The light that comes with the camera is nice but the camera sometimes doesn't work either and you have to restart the phone. The pictures you do end up taking simply cannot get erased. if you do want to erase them you have to format the memory card.
To sum up, its a decent phone if you are using it for the basics but even those do not work sometimes. But if you are in dire need of a phone and your money is limimted go ahead and get this one. If you have the money to spend however, do yourself a favor and get a better one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...36next>>