Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
1.997 / 5
2
 / 
5
(892 Reviews) 892
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 892 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
86
3 stars
76
2 stars
179
1 star
476
186 out of 84122%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Don't Even Think About It

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Incomplete
From:  Orlando, Florida
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone was only good for parents to give their kids to have contact with them. I had this phone for almost a year and I was unsatisfied with the battery life and storage space it has. I don't recommend this phone to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Average at best

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
TeeMick13
From:  Chambersburg, PA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for a year and am now looking for a new phone. The biggest problem is all of the Google add-ons that cannot be deleted and for which I have had absolutely no use. They have eaten all of the available memory, rendering the phone useless even though I have deleted all photos and all apps from the phone. Most apps cannot be stored on an SD card. On the bright side, the phone was easy to use and, for almost a year, it worked fine. Given all of the Google filler, however, I cannot recommend this phone.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: google filler
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

3 Phones in 15 Months

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TruReviewer
From:  USA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Thanks to a warranty I received 3 of these phones - each one breaking. Each time it was the screen not working right. And then there was the issue of the speaker not working. I could not hear my callers! The quality of the calls was poor.
I would not recommend this phone. I have chosen not to get another phone under the warranty as I am tired of replacing it.
Cons: horrible, not worth it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

i wish could give no stars

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ianseein4
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This Phone is the worst phone. It freezes constantly, turns of for no reason and ever since yesterday y my phone will urn on but the screen stays black i know the phone is on because te 3 buttons on the bottom are lit i truley want a refund. id rather have a flip phone then this piece of junk
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

For $20 what do you expect

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
juggawest
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This thing restarts in my pocket if I don't battery lasts me a couple days games don't work well unless you have an SD Card and the fact I had to change my plan just because it's an alleged smart phone Virgin Mobile made me change my service I don't use texts much and calls vary from month to month but before with my old flip phone $20 lasted 3 months all they wanted was every 90 days even if you went 100 days without paying the second you put on a $20 card those minutes were still carried over, now 1 month and barely used I used 25 out of 300 minutes the 1st month, by the time it was over put a card on the day before it expired and still stated 0/300 used no roll over. Found an older flip phone and wire that I actually have a spare for which is why original was replaced thinking to reactivate and ditch this phone ASAp.
Pros: battery life
Cons: minutes availability, bad camera not even 720p, no selfie camera
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

farrrrrrrgh.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
janeen
From:  chicago
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
it constantly shuts off on its own.
it wants to delete your preferences and reset itself to default apps. often.
the google apps start off tiny and then quadruple in size. eek
sometimes drops calls-even with all of the bars lit up.
I've had two of these phones and they barely last 6 months.
Cons: a lot.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Garbage phone. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

PostedJune 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CanadianinNYC
From:  NYC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wish I could give no stars. This phone is terrible. Freezes constantly, shuts down for no reason. Service sucks. I only bought it because it was the cheapest phone I could find. DO NOT BUY.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

This is a terrible phone

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
spartan75
From:  Virginia
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a terrible phone. Would not recommend to anyone.
Cons: connection and sound
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Awful, Awful Phone. Do not buy unless you intend to root it

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
atomicuniverse
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 3+ years
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've dealt with this phone for over three years, primarily due to finances being tight. I would never wish this thing on my enemy. Well, maybe someone I *really* hated.
At first I thought, "Hey, cool! My first smart phone!" That novelty wore off real quick , though, one the problems started occurring.
First off, and the most ANNOYING, is that the browser force quits all the time. And the kicker is that the second time it force quits, all your tabs are cleared. Chrome seems more stable, but this phone, out of the box, unmodified, CAN'T RUN IT. Come on guys! Why the heck is there a program on here that you CAN'T REMOVE that you can't even run?
Second, and I'm typing this while holding the back against frozen peas (no joke), is that because the developers loaded so much junk on here that it overheats all the time. If the weather is above 75, be prepared to bring ice packs around with you unless you're not planning on using your phone.
Oh yeah, the phone. Sometimes I've received phone calls, and by the time I've flicked the answer button, and the time it takes the phone to respond, I've missed the call! This has happened several dozen times to me.
So people... If you really hate your kids, or yourself.... or you just want to buy someone a gift that will anger them for years to come, buy this phone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

WORST PHONE EVER.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mary317
From:  Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone shouldn't even be on the market. After reading other reviews, I can see that I'm not the only person who feels this way. The phone literally does nothing you ask. If you need to make a quick emergency phone call or you're lost and you want to use maps quickly, you're out of luck. Phone calls, text messages and just regular functioning causes this useless thing to freeze and you have to restart it. The only thing it can do right is display "not responding" messages. It's slow in the rare occasion that it does work and there's so little memory on it that I can't even install updates when I need to. If you're thinking about buying this phone DON'T. I had phones that worked better in 1992.
Cons: everything., literally. everything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

bad phone reception

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kazdigb
From:  minneapolis
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When calling poor voice quality. Either a serious delay, broken connectivity or high static.
After upgrades, even on monthly plan, it lost authentication with virgin
Cons: voice quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

worked okay for a while.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
jabu500
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have been with Virgin Mobile for quite a while. This phone worked fine for about 6 months and now it is going nuts on me. The apps sometimes automatically download . Now it is shutting off on its own and calls aren't going through or double calling the person I am calling. Now it is constantly saying the 3G's aren't working , so that means no use. May shop for another one and see if that works.
Cons: ineffecient
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

The only good thing about this phone is the battery life. Not worth your money.

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tiffanylynn
From:  California
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is good for 1 month then it gives you problems constantly. It takes me 15 minutes to even get a phone call to launch. It'll freeze up after not using it for hours in between texts or calls. The phone will call people randomly or call somebody 5x in a row after you get off the phone with somebody. Can't turn Wifi off. launching any applications takes forever and most of the time it'll fail and pull up a message saying "Phone activity not working. Ok or Cancel"
Pros: good battery life
Cons: waste of money, pour quality, fails to call or text 75% of the time, mutes you in the middle of calls constanly, freezes up a lot, randomly calls people over and over, "phone activity not working" comes up all the time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Pretty much hate this phone

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
tin0
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Even the phone function of this phone stops working! The apps always stop working before they even start - I keep getting "not responding" messages and have to shut down. The memory is tiny so I only have a few apps on it.
The camera doesn't flash and is only forward facing.
Cons: not responding
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Definelty worth it!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MathGirl
From:  Staunton, VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I lost this phone in the snow for three weeks. In that time span, it snowed more than 5 inches twice, melted, snowed again and then rained. I found my this phone of the hill and after 1.5 weeks in rice, it came back to life and is still working 3 months later. This phone is very durable.
Pros: durable
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Event rising no more!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rekehi
From:  Chicago
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? No
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must tell you that you will have this phone for 4 or 5 months. It will slow down after a messege about security and said it will crash. 3 days later it crashed. The phone quality sounds digital. You will have problems understanding words. However, the battery life is wayyyyy better than the Venture phone. It does not have an external micro sd card. You got to buy that separately. Don't get this phone.!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Not Good at all

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MzJay
From:  Atlanta, GA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The battery life for this phone is no good. I've have to factory reset this phone four different times and it still doesn't work. Just a bad choice overall. I hate that the phone service is very poor and I lose signal all the time or it just says process Android has stopped working and the phone call gets cut off. My text messages take like five minutes just to send and when ever I receive pictures it never downloads or takes forever to get.
Cons: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ChrisS2465
From:  Virginia Beach
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is an absolute piece of junk! The phone freezes, calls don't go through or you flat out can't dial them. Apps are slow. I'm thankful that i haven't had to make an emergency call with it. If you're looking for a budget phone SKIP THIS ONE and buy something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

great paperweight!!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TielLover
From:  Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
horrible, horrible phone!! cant find a single good thing to say, too bad as I liked the size.. Do not buy!
Now, what does it do? freezes, call cant go through as it will freeze halfway through typing the number.. randomly dials people in my contact list while I am on phone with someone else, no way to use hold feature, it automatially adds second caller to phone convo if I try to answer. recieves texts randomly, like in middle of night when text was sent morning before...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

not satisfy

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kaligurlswagg
From:  Inglewood, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been with Virgin Mobile for 4 years I have the Kyocera event phone for a year and a half out the year and a half I replace 7 phones this is the worst phone Virgin Mobile have I rather get a flip phone then this phone
Cons: overall
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...45next>>