Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.109 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(724 Reviews) 724
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 724 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
79
3 stars
68
2 stars
146
1 star
360
173 out of 68425%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Really?

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheVampMaybelle
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mom got the phone for christmas but didn't like it. when I started using it a month ago, it was a pretty good phone, then two days ago it started having these little messages pop up, "Unfortunatly (programe name) has stopped working." and last night it would restart, shut off, restart, shut off. And it did so until it would freeze halfway through the start up. Now I am back to my Kyocera Venture...
Pros: leight wieght, easy to use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

A good phone if you are using it for a few days

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
AggyDeeDee1
From:  Newark, NJ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I needed a cheap phone and thats exactly what I got. Its slow and freezes quite often. The Wi-Fi clicks on even when I havent set it on. Its very easy to use.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: its slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Freezes and resets

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nicole88
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When I first got this phone i thought that it was a pretty cool phone. However I quickly noticed that it began to restart itself and freeze. It did not do it often so I figured it was like most phones and just had a few bugs. I had this a little over a year and of course as soon as my warranty expired the phone started to give me more problems. Today it randomly restarted itself and shut itself off back to back. It has been almost 3 hours and it is still doing it. I contacted tech support, we did a reset and the issue still persists.
I did not plan to get a new phone just yet because I was planning to leave Virgin Mobile soon. However, I will have to buy a new one this week. I of course will be doing my research and I wish I had time to research before I bought this phone, It was a last minute thing and an emergency. I would not recommend this phone at all. It turns out this is a known issue and customer support cannot provide me with any other ways to fix this. It is definitely a disappointment.
Pros: cute cheap version of a smart phone
Cons: freeze, restarts, feels like plastic, apps crash, delay between calls and messages, call quality is poor, static or muffled sound on both ends
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

nothing good about this phone

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
thomaskuuttila
From:  danielson
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ive already had 5 replacements in two months because this phone glitches alot and frezzes pretty much never works all around worst phone possible
Cons: how it frezzes, how your texting never works, how you have to take the battery out ten times a d, how you have to do a factory rest every other day
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Awful

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
hockeyfan99
From:  Portland,OR
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This has to be the worst piece of technology I've had the misfortune of owning since the Timex Sinclair 1000. The battery life is close to nonexistent. (Weird note, the battery lasts longs if I'm playing mp3's on it than if it's just stilling in my pocket inactive). I phone is always locking up and I have to pull the battery out at least once a day. Even when doing simple tasks like making phone calls I will get "phone not responding" or "app not installed". Come on app not installed it's a phone. Also, in the middle of using an app such as gallery, another app such as phone or Facebook will launch and then say Facebook stopped responding. In less than 6 months, I've had to factory restore this thing 3 times. I got so frustrated thinking the device was defective and after trying to call my niece who had a medical emergency for over 30 minutes just to complete a call; I had the phone replaced under warranty, and the replacement is as bad if not worse than the original. There are some good points: It's inexpensive, it's easy to use
the features are good when they work, and the phone reception is good when the phone works, the alarm works and has never failed.
The biggest cone are poor battery life and the frequent freezing and crashing. I wouldn't recommend this to a friend, enemy or stranger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Kinda Bad

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
VerySadPanda
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was good for a while...then started acting up. I changing to a LG Volt.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Stone aged speed

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
773couponmom
From:  Orland Park, il
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I unfortunately bought this phone expecting to be able to at least make and receive phone calls. The speed on this phone is non existent. The apps are outdated and continually force close. This phone should be discontinued.
Pros: price
Cons: speed sound volume keyboard apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Decent phone for value

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
1tal1an
From:  Union City, NJ
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you use your phone for playing a lot of space gulping games with great graphics this is NOT the phone for you. If you mostly use your phone for making calls with some internet use then this is a very doable phone. The phrase, you get what you pay for, rings true with this smartphone. I still find it's a great phone for it's price. No doubt about that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

This product is very slow @3G!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LaVeine
From:  Wilmington, DE
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Prime issue with this phone is you cannot be in a hurry to use any function because it will freeze-up and do not work. When Wii is not available your are purely out of luck. Its capacity to update even with a SD Card installed is prohibited if you have too many Apps installed.
Pros: nothing
Cons: very very slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Good for the first year

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
aqua212rius
From:  NE Ohio
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone a little over a year now, at first everything worked great but now starting to have issues - mainly the poor battery - got to the point where I was charging twice a day with out even using it for the 8 hrs I am at work. Recently it will restart itself. Another downfall is turning the phone on takes too long - if there was an emergency and you needed to make a phone call - you'd be screwed. Occasionally it would freeze up and I would have to remove battery and now that happens more often than I would like. Currently looking for a new phone. PS - a replacement battery would cost as much as the phone did.
Pros: pictures/video, durable, turn by turn navigation
Cons: battery battery battery, unable to remove apps you don't use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Do not buy this phone!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SickofcheapPhones
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is one of the worst phones that I have ever had with Virgin Mobile! I am on the second one now the first one did not last a year and the only reason that I have another one is that it is the only choice that I had with the replacement insurance that I purchased that I could get without paying more. In addition I made an assumption that the first phone was defective and may not represent the model. I was wrong the new phone has had the same issues. It locks up and cuts off constantly. I am unable to delete any photos or contacts and it has been very undependable at times in that I have at random been unable to make calls or even answer calls. Because it is so terrible I have not only decided not to buy another phone from Virgin Mobile but to also discountinue my service with Virgin Mobile. I have been a Virgin mobile customer for at least 5 years but this is the last straw for me in dealing with the cheap quality of phones that they have available; I'm no longer willing to continually replace substandard phones with new substandard phones. This phone is a definate no go!
Cons: buyer beware!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Bad

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sandalius
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible phone. Restarts when the memory fills up and freezes which happens very frequently. Horrible speed and extremely frustrating to use. You may think, "Oh, there's a cheap 'smart' phone." but no, don't get this. Get a flip phone instead these are abysmal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Save your money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
terri
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is the worst. . . take this warning. you dont need to read anything else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

This product is definitely not worth the price I paid.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kevin4762
From:  Miami, FL
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone has some serious technical issues. I have had the Launcher, which is basically the apps screen, not working and ask me to Wait or Close. Sometimes I'll just open an app and it will immediately say it is not responding. The battery life is short, the phone takes forever to load apps, and sometimes will shut off automatically for no reason. Apps will sometimes simply close on their own and the phone just takes too long to do what you want it to. I dread having to look stuff up on my phone because it takes soooo long for keyboard alone to appear. Texting is hassle and calling people can take 30 seconds before connecting. The phone "works" after a year but it's just degraded so much since then that it's not even worth it. Hopefully my next phone works and I would definitely not recommend any Kyocera phone to anyone who wants a phone that functions properly after 6 months.
Cons: too slow, short battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

will not work

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
joshua21
From:  texas
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
when i turn it on it freezes on the event by kyocera screen and i have to take the battery out and put it back in but it still will not work anyone know what to do? ive tried everything it wont let me get on again
Cons: it wont turn on, it frezzes, wont let me download apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Eduardo97
California
 
Please wait while more information about Eduardo97 is loaded.
Additional information about Eduardo97 could not be loaded.
Ask for a replacement.
Posted July 18, 2014
The same thing happened to mine. There's not really anything you can do about that, but you can get a replacement since the phone has a 1 year guarantee.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

this product has lame features

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dionnysuz
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is a very simple phone but it doesn't do much
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Worthless

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BuffaloGuy
From:  Western NY
Age: 35-44
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought his phone for my son in April. Over the three months he has used it, it has continually rebooted itself randomly and on at least a dozen occasions it has frozen to the point where we had to take the battery out to reset the phone (even holding the power button down for over a minute did not work to reboot). I have done all system updates hoping that would fix the issue. This past week it froze again, so I did the battery removal procedure and this time it won't get past the VM splash screen. I tried going into the android recovery mode (power button plus the down volume key while booting) and did a factory reset but no luck...it still hangs on startup at the VM splash screen. From what I have read on-line, the phone is trash at this point. I know this wasn't a high end phone, but 3 months before it becomes a paper weight...seriously? Thanks Kyocera for a worthless piece of junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Please discontinue this phone

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rch123
From:  Charleston, SC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought that any phone would be worth buying if it was this cheap. However, this phone is sadly not even worth this price. It works sometimes but mostly it runs as if it's 10 years old and has been dropped IN lava. Please don't waste your time
Pros: sends texts sometimes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

This is the best Android phone that I done had.....And the first!!!!! Lol

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Diamonte
From:  Michigan City, IN
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone it will be 3 weeks tomorrow........All some
Pros: android 4.0, camera, touchscreen, apps, easy to use, speaker is perfect
Cons: frezzes almost barley when you are doing to much
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

This phone is a waste of pieces and parts to a terrible phone.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShortCake227
From:  Nashville, MI
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I first got this phone about a year ago, it was a good phone when I first got it. Than the phone just started having problem after problem. The phone will drop calls for no reason in a good serviced area. I even had Virgin Mobile check my service around my house where I usually use my phone, and I should have full bars, but instead I get two, if any. It just randomly started calling people. My screen just randomly started getting white spots in the screen as of right now it has three of these little white spots. You cant delete pictures off the phone permanently, it will disappear at first like it deleted, but than when you take a new picture all the old pictures you thought were deleted pop back onto your phone. This phone runs apps terribly, I got like 4 apps and the phone is so slow. When using Facebook or something you can barely stay in the app long enough to do anything cause its always kicking you out of it. Lets just say I've had too many replacement phones trying to see if it would resolve the problems I've been having, but instead the same problems are there if something new doesn't go wrong with it on top of anything else. Just a terrible phone.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...37next>>