Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Get smartphone portability plus the immersive experience of a tablet with the HTC Desire 816. Featuring a brilliant 5.5" Super-LCD touchscreen, 13MP camera, and HTC BoomSound(TM), you can experience your favorite movies, games and music like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.546 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
5 stars
105
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
3
124 out of 13592%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE
Review 1 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Good phone but......

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
device816
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is overall a pretty good device. but the only problem I would have is, it would overheat quite often.... this results in random restarts and my phone would freeze up quite often. other then that this is one of the better phones I have owned
Pros: battery screen size
Cons: overheating plastic
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Good Buy

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
PhnUsr
From:  Chicago
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I do not have any negatives to say about this phone. For what you are paying, you're getting a lot. I was scared at first about the size, but it is just fine. Looking back i can't imagine using a smaller sized phone. Although it does have quite of few junk on there you would have to root the phone to get off, I have yet to run out of room. Performance has been great, its not laggy, it hasnt frozen at a screen.
There are a little quirks with the phone but it really isnt something that is a bother.
The button being on the left side took a little getting used to but its not really a big deal.
Battery is alright, i would say i'm a moderate user, and i need to charge it every-night.
I would definitely buy again and again for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Excelent phone!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
HTCSanDiego
From:  San Diego, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything about it is great, the LCD is so sharp and bright, videos and games looks great, excellent battery life because sometimes I forget to plug it overnight and I can go on next day still have more than half battery, probably because I am not a big workaholic on my phone or always online, it serves its purpose and I am SO HAPPY I got it. I have dropped it a couple of times and with a thin case, and thank God it didn't break or crack the screen, and I dropped it on concrete lol. so, well built as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

LOVE THIS PHONE

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
EyezOnMe
From:  atlanta, ga
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything about this phone is sweet. The size, speed, image, two sided camera. A big upgrade from the HTC one v
Pros: sizespeedimage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

This phone will crack, even if you have a case on it.

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
HTCphonesaretrash
From:  Michigan
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was great for the first couple of months that I had it, I had a hard case on it and I was loving the phone. Then it fell out of my pocket and landed on carpet and the LCD panel cracked. I had to pay a $130 repair fee to fix the screen because HTC doesn't cover LCD screens breaking. This phone is great except for the fact that if you drop it once, even on carpet, it will crack.
Pros: battery life, size
Cons: the phone cracks easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

BEST PHONE I'VE EVER OWNED

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RightofWayLady
From:  Atascadero, CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So many great features on this phone! I love the larger size! I have small hands, but can easily hold and use it with one hand. I no longer need a stylus to text. Front speakers make hearing so much easier; sound quality is excellent. Camera takes beautiful clear and sharp pictures. Long battery life and phone is not getting hot as with some other brands. The gorilla glass doesn't have a single scratch after a month's use. The on/off and volume button are on the left side which takes a little getting used to but is not a problem for me. I absolutely love this phone and would recommend it to anyone. Along with offering this amazing phone, I've found Virgin Mobile customer service to be extremely helpful and easy to contact when I've had questions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Can it get any better than this?!

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Esme
From:  Los Angeles
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone in December but wanted to wait a little while before jumping to conclusions. Let me start by saying this is a great alternative to the iPhone 6 Plus, I put them side by side and they're exactly the same size in both length and width! I'm a girl with man sized hands lol so I don't mind the size at all. Quality of videos is amazing and the sound gets pretty loud when indoors. Battery life is great as well, one full charge in the morning will last you the whole day with moderate use. I moved everything to the memory card, if you go to Settings>Storage>Storage Settings you have the option to store other things into it as well. Overall I highly recommend to anyone who might be on a budget and wants a high performance smart phone.
Pros: size, battery life, sound, style, waterproof, lighting fast
Cons: screen smudges easily
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great Phone

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
PaulyD
From:  Washington, DC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the front facing speakers, I dont have to cup my hand anymore to watch a video. The battery lasts me from the 6am and is about 13% with heavy texting and websurfing by 7pm when I get home, I could care less if the battery is about to die when I'm at home I have a charger.
The cons with the phone is that it gets group texts all out of order and sometimes late but I think thats a carrrier problem not the phone's fault.
Another thing is that it is hard for you to use this one handed, you have to stretch your thumb to reach the other side of the screen, but its a 5.5" screen what did you expect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CoolK
 
Please wait while more information about CoolK is loaded.
Additional information about CoolK could not be loaded.
Posted February 21, 2015
Does the phone actually do group texting like iPhones? My current phone does not keep group messages together and other people in the group cannot see my replies.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Satisfied all the way!

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
savedbygrace802
From:  California
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently upgraded from a virgin supreme to this phone, I am extremely happy with the upgrade. Works great, battery life is awesome as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Excellent phone

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ele360
From:  Hammond, IN
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have no problems using this phone. Battery life is two days long and the features are great. The phones ringtone volume raises when it is in your pocket.
Pros: battery life, features
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great Phone, but the battery doesn't last,

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mak0
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The phone is fast for any apps , web browsing is fast , Speaker is awesome , its skinny so its easy to fit on the pocket, i would recommend this phone but the only thing is you can't really use the phone for games or watching video the battery doesn't last that long
Pros: the screen size, clear display, the sound / speaker
Cons: the battery doesn't last
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Perfect Phone

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chichitbob
From:  twin falls idaho
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Phone for me big screen very fast web surfing this New phone it's an upgrade for me from virgin mobile supreme way better about everything the only phone that I love has no issues bout this phone love everything about it I highly recommend this phone very lightweight thin as well
Pros: big scree
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Wonderful upgrade from HTC 510

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
VirginVeteran
From:  San Francisco, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been with Virgin Mobile and their low prices for almost 5 years now and have been through them all. I started on the LG Rumor touch, then picked the the LG Optimus V. Then I had the samsung S2, iphone 4, and the HTC 510. Now I have this 816 and I'm LOVING IT. It's really lightning fast, even faster than the iphone 5s(from personal experiences)
The battery is embedded so you can't remove or replace it, but don't worry; it holds its charge and with about 14 hour work day and moderate to heavy use(emails, youtube videos) i still have about 30% left in the day.
One of my only complaints is the glass doesn't seem too sturdy in the event of a drop.
Pros: looks battery performance
Cons: glass is fragile and it will shatter on one drop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Upgrade.. not

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
JoeGi
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life is horrible. wanted a upgrade from Lg volt and was actually down grading
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Better than expected. <3

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JessIsee
From:  Washington, DC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for almost three months and I LOVE IT! The camera is great and so is the BOOM sound. The screen size is a awesome. It is a large phone almost the same size as the iphone 6+. Taking selfies can be a challenge if you have small hands, but it is overall an awesome phone. Plus, the battery life is the best. I Love it.
Pros: battery life, camera
Cons: size (large)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

best phone ever

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
mhs23
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive used virgin mobile for 2 years and I always bought the cheap touch phones from Wal-Mart until I could afford the HTC desire 816. I love this phone & I am a teenager on my phone literally all day & it never crashes and the battery life is crazy good. I recommend this for everyone. I don't even notice how large the screen is, it's so wonderful!
Pros: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

It's everything I needed for less than I was expecting...

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Workhorse
From:  Sacramento, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for a few months now, and I can honestly say it was exactly what I was hoping it would be.
Positives: Battery life is good; I use it constantly for work, but I never have to charge it during the day. It's tough too, even with a cheap case it's survived my three-year-old throwing it twice, landing screen down. I've lost track how many times I've had it out in the rain, yet I've never had any complications from water damage. And as for speed, I've never had slowdown, even with the Anomaly games. The price was way less than I expected. Screen is also large and clear. Almost forgot, the sound is great!
Negatives: Not much onboard storage, although there are ways to get apps to install to the sd card. Network coverage isn't the greatest, but that isn't an issue with the phone itself.
Bottom line: I do not regret this purchase, and would do it again if given the chance.
Pros: screen, sound, speed, battery, durability, price
Cons: onboard storage, network coverage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great Phone

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JoeTisdale
From:  Port Richey, Florida
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HtC desire 816 is my favorite phone I have ever used! It has a nice large screen, great speakers and camera. I love the HTC sense ui. Overall I am really satisfied with this phone! The only thing wrong is it had a dead pixel out of the box, which I purchased from the virgin website. I got the runaround and different answers everytime i called vm. This went on for well over a month until I decided just to deal with the dead pixel. I highly recommend purchasing the vm htc desire 816 from somewhere other than the vm website! Other than that, it's fast, perfect size, lightweight, and is all is an awesome phone!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great phone but the screen breaks pretty easy.

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SocialMediaAddict
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved everything about this phone until I dropped it on the side. I was about a foot off the ground when it shattered the screen... I've only had this phone for 1 month. I use my phone for updating and maintaining various social medias. Better buy a nice phone case for this phone!
Pros: battery life
Cons: screen breaks
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Developer
 
Please wait while more information about Developer is loaded.
Additional information about Developer could not be loaded.
AGREED
Posted February 6, 2015
My 2nd day owning one, the screen cracked in my pocket. The shell on this phone is a terrible design, it allows body flex and so what happened is it flexed while in my pocket getting into a car. The glass was fine but the screen beneath cracked. JUNK!
-2points
0of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Needs a couple of improvements.

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
HARCH
From:  columbus oh
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have 2 of these for several months. Great phone but the downsides are the minimal internal storage, internal battery, and for a 13mp camera it is the worst camera phone i have used. Upsides are screen size, good screen, works fast.
To HTC- your biggest complaint of your phones is internal storage. Increase it. 1 gig of additional storage would go a long way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...8next>>