Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Get smartphone portability plus the immersive experience of a tablet with the HTC Desire 816. Featuring a brilliant 5.5" Super-LCD touchscreen, 13MP camera, and HTC BoomSound(TM), you can experience your favorite movies, games and music like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
42 out of 4495%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE
Review 1 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Amazing Phone!!!!

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
flymech83
From:  youngstown, oh
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. It is an incredible improvement over the galaxy s2 I had. The speakers sound fantastic and the battery life is way better than expected!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best Android Phone Ever offered by VM!

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CellPhoneObsessed
From:  Los Angeles Area
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been a VM customer since I bought a Samsung Intercept. I can't remember in what year that was, but about 10 years ago...Then I got a LG Optimus V... Then a Motorola Triumph, Then a HTC EVO V, Then a Samsung Galaxy SII, Then a VM Supreme AND NOW the HTC Desire 816...
Wow, I think I'm a VM Junkie! Hey, I can honestly say that this is the BEST Android Phone ever offered by VM! I used to be a LA Cellular customer, that was back in 1990. So I know a little bit about Cell service at least in the Los Angeles Area. I used to get dropped calls all the time w/AT&T. But ever since I've been on VM... Never. I know VM uses the Sprint Network and it's always being upgraded. If you want to pay more and be locked into a 2 year plan, fine. But as being a Cellular user for 24 years, I'm completely satisfied with Virgin Mobile, and I've saved a TON of money...
Pros: fast, big screen, thin, display, battery life, 2 front speakers
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Superior

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LizHam92
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as an Upgrade from Samsung Galaxy Ring (awful). It was a struggle getting used to the large screen, but I'm overall pleased with the phone. Great battery life is perfect for heavy all day use. And the speakers are unreal.
Pros: battery, size, sound, doesn't crash, #selfies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Phenomenal Phone for the Price

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
HTCfanboy
From:  New Orleans
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great phone and HTC is one of my favorite phone companies. For the great size it is extremely light, the button placement took some getting used to but with big hands it was a cinch. Both front and back cameras are good, slightly more laggy than the Galaxy SIII but images are sharp and vibrant. KitKat with Sense UI 6 looks amazing and every time I look at my phone I am pleased with the color choices and the placement of interface options (unlike the odd placement of things in the SIII and S5 running KK).
The processor runs apps smoothly and the screen while not Full HD is excellent for watching Netflix or YouTube, especially with HTC BoomSound speakers facing you. I find I do more with my phone now than with other phones because it is designed to be looked at and heard, not just be a fast phone with a lot of features.
Overall, I love this phone and intend to use it for a long time.
Pros: screen size, front-facing speakers, camera, lightweight, kitkat/senseui
Cons: plastic body, button placement
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Don't do it

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
erinlyn
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ridiculously priced phone and screen cracked after 6 days when simply set on a table. Horrible choice!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sayingthetruth
 
Please wait while more information about sayingthetruth is loaded.
Additional information about sayingthetruth could not be loaded.
Posted September 29, 2014
I find that hard to believe, a screen doesn't just crack when setting it down, unless it had a significantly strong force to it. I have had mine longer and it has been just fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

dont think get

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jester2966
From:  shenandoah valley,va
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had this for about a week battery life so far has been great even with location turned on and playing games,so far i like the htc better than the iphone 4s and the galaxy s3 and i have had both
Pros: battery life, screen, easy to use
Cons: havent found anything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

love it

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
gabby83
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
its the perfect size and lets me do all the cool things that the other phones are doing for a can't be beat price/
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Admirably fIlls a niche in Virgin's smartphone lineup

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
glassjar
From:  Northern VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a big phone with a HD display and speakers that aren't wimpy. The HTC Desire 816 delivered. I was immediately impressed by the BoomSound speakers which produce loud, immersive sounds that make watching videos or listening to music more enjoyable. The display is great, the cameras are crisp and fun to play with, especially the slow motion feature, and the Sense 6.0 UI is quick and responsive.
The front of the phone is aesthetically pleasing, but the back of the phone looks plain and is a haven for fingerprints. However, this problem is remedied by putting a case on your phone which, if you buy one, will most likely be shipped from China or Hong Kong because there is a limited selection of cases to choose from at the moment.
Overall, I'm pleased by this purchase. I think this phone offers the best bang for your buck of the phones currently offered by Virgin.
Pros: boomsound speakers, sense 6.0 ui
Cons: the back of the phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

sad...

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
patttstarrOnIG
From:  wash, PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PHONE !!! JUST WISH IT DIDN'T SHATTER WHEN IT WAS IN MY BACK POCKET AND I SAT DOWN... NICE SCREEN SIZE, EASY TO HOLD, FAST, SLEEK, AND CLEAN. LOVED IT .. JUST GONNA HOLD ON TO IT UNTIL VM GETS THE IPHONE 6PLUS. SO HAPPY IPHONES ARE AS BIG AND NICE LIKE THIS phone now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best Phone Ever!!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CarterLyfeStyle16
From:  Louisville, KY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I left my Galaxy S3 for this, and I'm impressed. Battery life is awesome, apps don't freeze, and I was able to take the perfect group picture at night without the flash. It came out flawlessly!!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best phone to get

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
granpa1
From:  Hillsboro Or
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy to set up and back up. had this phone for 2 weeks now. Been virgin mobile customer for 10 years now. Have a lot of phones in the past. This one is the bomb from my grankids say it is. Easy to read and text turn sideways makes key board even bigger. can do a lot of Microsoft office can even open up pdf files with on problem. It also has NFC which is really cool to have. pictures are great even in a dark arena, comes out very good. battery life is so so depending on you use it. get a case and tempered glass screen protector for it. the back is a finger magnet. Plus it will fit in pocket really nice. Really fast no lag what so ever. Call quality is verey good. love the front speakers on it.very good sound no lag on you tube.
Pros: best for htc, size
Cons: battery life that's ok, finger print magnet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

best phone htc made

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bigrudy
From:  nyc
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What can I say HTC did it again. Latest software. Better music quality. 4g Lte spark makes it super fast. I had the hydro vibe but this HTC blows it away. The only two things that I'm not okay is the battery life that only last me at least 8hrs. And the build in 8gb memory. But other then that this phone is a must buy. Is worth the penny saving since I got it on a good deal. And movies on this phone makes it look like a small tablet on your hands. Pictures are nice. Like I said it's worth it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great mid-range phablet for the price!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tony44
From:  San Diego, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boomsound is pretty awesome, especially while playing some immersive game; such good/loud audio from a small device! The 1.6GHz quad core processor makes this phone operate smoothly. Large 5.5" HD screen. 13/5 megapix cameras. NFC capable. HTC's added software, like Blinkfeed, are sweet. The 2700m battery makes this phone last a long time. And that's still without using Kit Kat's power saving modes. And nice how the phone's recognized as a USB drive when plugged in to a PC (i.e. Linux).
There are a few annoyances though: Only has 8GB of phone storage (leaving you with about 3GB for apps; good thing for the microsd slot, which can hold 128GB.). The power button is oddly placed on the upper left side of phone. And notification light could be a little brighter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

sleek big phone

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chih
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this for my daughter and she is happy. She was going to get 5c but it's out of the budget I set so she ends up with this one. It turns out to be a head turner among her friends! The phone is big but thin and simple and sleek. Great camera, great speed, great design, this one will hold it up well to iPhone 6 plus. Once you go big, you can't go back!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

I get compliments with this phone all the time!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
oakleyguy89
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely LOVE this phone! It takes good pictures, the sound is amazing, the bluetooth pairs with my car in 4 secs, its all around the best phone I've had. Don't let the 720p screen fool you that its not going to be sharp and vibrant, its crystal clear even my friends with iphone 5s drool over it. My boss even offered to trade me his lg g flex for this phone but I told him no because I love it too much! The only downside is a non removable battery, but I've been getting pretty good battery life out of this thing with moderate usage.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Such a great phone

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
aaron11
From:  utica ny
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is awesome . super fast, fluid , light and easy to use. When I first got the phone i was concerned it was too big for a phone but now i think it is a perfect size , fits in my pocket and is noticed less than my previous phone
the camera takes great picks and the speakers sound great and super loud . some things take a little getting used to but that is normal . I think the price is a little high but compared to some other brands it is a steal . a few things i dont like are the glossy slippery back , it shows fingerprints very easily but my new cover solved that. also the screen is hard to see when in bright lighting like outside. I would sill recommend this phone to anyone who is willing to pay the price . the battery life so far lasts me way beyond all day with moderate usage with music apps and internet . well worth getting
Pros: battery, speed, sound, quality, look
Cons: glossy back, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great phone but with some flaws.

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lyke2272
From:  Chicago,IL
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is amazing! The price was amazing. The screen is really big but adaptable after maybe a week using it. The new android system is really fast in every way. The cameras are amazing as well. Probably because I am coming from the s2. However, it does have it's problems . My sd card either won't read or it will say removed . nothing else really. Awesome battery life.
Pros: the screen, the android style, the overall screen
Cons: the sd card won't read .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best phone yet

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBrooks
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love this phone words can't even explain it. so fast and smooth
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Has a Winner!!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
chigginskeywest
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is Thee BEST Phone Ever offered from Virgin Mobile
Excellent Display, Fast Processor, Works Perfectly.
Cons: small battery cannot take out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Overall great phone

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chocotoco
From:  Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great phone. Know what you are looking for before you buy this phone or any phone. I upgraded form a galaxy s2 so the performance and specs were a boost all around. The main reason i got the phone was for the screen size, i'm a gamer and movie watcher. if your looking for the fastest phone with the best specs go with the GS5 or Iphone.
Pros: screen size
Cons: non removable battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123next>>