Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Get smartphone portability plus the immersive experience of a tablet with the HTC Desire 816. Featuring a brilliant 5.5" Super-LCD touchscreen, 13MP camera, and HTC BoomSound(TM), you can experience your favorite movies, games and music like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.718 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
35 out of 3697%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE
Review 1 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

sad...

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
patttstarrOnIG
From:  wash, PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PHONE !!! JUST WISH IT DIDN'T SHATTER WHEN IT WAS IN MY BACK POCKET AND I SAT DOWN... NICE SCREEN SIZE, EASY TO HOLD, FAST, SLEEK, AND CLEAN. LOVED IT .. JUST GONNA HOLD ON TO IT UNTIL VM GETS THE IPHONE 6PLUS. SO HAPPY IPHONES ARE AS BIG AND NICE LIKE THIS phone now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best Phone Ever!!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CarterLyfeStyle16
From:  Louisville, KY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I left my Galaxy S3 for this, and I'm impressed. Battery life is awesome, apps don't freeze, and I was able to take the perfect group picture at night without the flash. It came out flawlessly!!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best phone to get

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
granpa1
From:  Hillsboro Or
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy to set up and back up. had this phone for 2 weeks now. Been virgin mobile customer for 10 years now. Have a lot of phones in the past. This one is the bomb from my grankids say it is. Easy to read and text turn sideways makes key board even bigger. can do a lot of Microsoft office can even open up pdf files with on problem. It also has NFC which is really cool to have. pictures are great even in a dark arena, comes out very good. battery life is so so depending on you use it. get a case and tempered glass screen protector for it. the back is a finger magnet. Plus it will fit in pocket really nice. Really fast no lag what so ever. Call quality is verey good. love the front speakers on it.very good sound no lag on you tube.
Pros: best for htc, size
Cons: battery life that's ok, finger print magnet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

best phone htc made

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bigrudy
From:  nyc
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What can I say HTC did it again. Latest software. Better music quality. 4g Lte spark makes it super fast. I had the hydro vibe but this HTC blows it away. The only two things that I'm not okay is the battery life that only last me at least 8hrs. And the build in 8gb memory. But other then that this phone is a must buy. Is worth the penny saving since I got it on a good deal. And movies on this phone makes it look like a small tablet on your hands. Pictures are nice. Like I said it's worth it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great mid-range phablet for the price!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tony44
From:  San Diego, CA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boomsound is pretty awesome, especially while playing some immersive game; such good/loud audio from a small device! The 1.6GHz quad core processor makes this phone operate smoothly. Large 5.5" HD screen. 13/5 megapix cameras. NFC capable. HTC's added software, like Blinkfeed, are sweet. The 2700m battery makes this phone last a long time. And that's still without using Kit Kat's power saving modes. And nice how the phone's recognized as a USB drive when plugged in to a PC (i.e. Linux).
There are a few annoyances though: Only has 8GB of phone storage (leaving you with about 3GB for apps; good thing for the microsd slot, which can hold 128GB.). The power button is oddly placed on the upper left side of phone. And notification light could be a little brighter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

sleek big phone

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chih
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this for my daughter and she is happy. She was going to get 5c but it's out of the budget I set so she ends up with this one. It turns out to be a head turner among her friends! The phone is big but thin and simple and sleek. Great camera, great speed, great design, this one will hold it up well to iPhone 6 plus. Once you go big, you can't go back!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

I get compliments with this phone all the time!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
oakleyguy89
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely LOVE this phone! It takes good pictures, the sound is amazing, the bluetooth pairs with my car in 4 secs, its all around the best phone I've had. Don't let the 720p screen fool you that its not going to be sharp and vibrant, its crystal clear even my friends with iphone 5s drool over it. My boss even offered to trade me his lg g flex for this phone but I told him no because I love it too much! The only downside is a non removable battery, but I've been getting pretty good battery life out of this thing with moderate usage.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Such a great phone

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
aaron11
From:  utica ny
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is awesome . super fast, fluid , light and easy to use. When I first got the phone i was concerned it was too big for a phone but now i think it is a perfect size , fits in my pocket and is noticed less than my previous phone
the camera takes great picks and the speakers sound great and super loud . some things take a little getting used to but that is normal . I think the price is a little high but compared to some other brands it is a steal . a few things i dont like are the glossy slippery back , it shows fingerprints very easily but my new cover solved that. also the screen is hard to see when in bright lighting like outside. I would sill recommend this phone to anyone who is willing to pay the price . the battery life so far lasts me way beyond all day with moderate usage with music apps and internet . well worth getting
Pros: battery, speed, sound, quality, look
Cons: glossy back, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great phone but with some flaws.

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lyke2272
From:  Chicago,IL
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is amazing! The price was amazing. The screen is really big but adaptable after maybe a week using it. The new android system is really fast in every way. The cameras are amazing as well. Probably because I am coming from the s2. However, it does have it's problems . My sd card either won't read or it will say removed . nothing else really. Awesome battery life.
Pros: the screen, the android style, the overall screen
Cons: the sd card won't read .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best phone yet

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBrooks
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love this phone words can't even explain it. so fast and smooth
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Has a Winner!!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
chigginskeywest
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is Thee BEST Phone Ever offered from Virgin Mobile
Excellent Display, Fast Processor, Works Perfectly.
Cons: small battery cannot take out
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Overall great phone

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chocotoco
From:  Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great phone. Know what you are looking for before you buy this phone or any phone. I upgraded form a galaxy s2 so the performance and specs were a boost all around. The main reason i got the phone was for the screen size, i'm a gamer and movie watcher. if your looking for the fastest phone with the best specs go with the GS5 or Iphone.
Pros: screen size
Cons: non removable battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

BEST MID-RANGE PHABLET EVER!!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rene2NYC
From:  New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best mid-range phablet available on the market prepaid. HTC did a great job in judiciously cutting corners here and there on this phone vs it's siblings factoring in price. If you don't think so, do your own research...oh, and for those who get their feathers ruffled over fingerprints on the back of the phone...get yourself an aluminum case...everywhere I go with this phone in my silver aluminum case people want to look at it and ask me what it is or if it is the new iphone??!! This one just packs too much firepower for the money to pass up on!! Virgin Mobile has a winner here!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

love this phone...

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
hilde198881
From:  hilde198881
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to say this phone haz been amazing since day one since ive had it, its been pretty responsive and is worth the money. I had the lg volt and the battery on that phone was awesome, but ive gotten almost 15 hours of charge non stop all day use, i work at walmart and most my virgin mobile phones die faster cuz of ths lack of signal in that place, but overall it lasts awhile and could possibly last longer. The screen makes even the s5 look small, im telling ya most people ask about this phone and is very nice.
Pros: everything
Cons: could have a 1080p screen
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
KRPJ2
From:  Texas
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got a brand new HTC Desire 816 phone, and it is LOADED with all sorts of problems! It is difficult to use, and takes TOO many steps to be able to use any features with ease.
The battery drains RAPIDLY.
When I charge it, then remove the charge plug, the phone resets itself to original factory specs!
The phone also resets itself to factory specs when turned off then back on!
I keep getting error messages when trying to get online, even though there is nothing wrong with the settings and everything is correctly set up in the phone for getting online.
You have to reset the camera options every single time you use the camera or video features, even though there is an option to save your settings, it DOES NOT WORK!
Setting it up on your computer is a fiasco, as all I ever get is an error message "your phone is not connected" even though it IS connected!
All in all, it's just a piece of garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
2of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
VinnieT
 
Please wait while more information about VinnieT is loaded.
Additional information about VinnieT could not be loaded.
Did you return it for replacement?
Posted September 10, 2014
Based on the many other reviews here and on other sites, what you described sounds like a defective phone and not a design flaw with this model. While I understand your frustration, why not return it for replacement instead of just calling the phone a piece of garbage. Obviously, based on all of the other reviews, it appears to be a very good phone.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Ccoral1
California
 
Please wait while more information about Ccoral1 is loaded.
Additional information about Ccoral1 could not be loaded.
Unsophisticated user?
Posted September 9, 2014
I would not jump straight into a new smart phone and not expect some kind of learning curve. Don't be afraid to ask questions.
Overall HTC Sense is very easy to use. Just keep at it! Good luck!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

It's great!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
animeluver04
From:  Maryland
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been wanting to get this phone since it came out, but I have to say that the screen size did surprise me a bit. It's a big phone especially with my small hands. However, it's still easy to use! I love the features and the battery life is pretty good too. Overall, VERY pleased. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

amazing phone for the price

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jhook3142
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing phone for the price. I'm beyond impressed with it. The 5.5in screen is great and my worry of course was the phones Comfortability in my pocket. I honestly don't even notice it there. Some have complained of a "plasticy" feel. The only thing plastic feeling is the back so in the case it feels great! The LTE is super fast and the battery lasts all day. I was probably most impressed with battery life. It was my biggest worry seeing as the battery is unremovable. I'd recommend the HTC desire 816 to anybody.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Amex131
 
Please wait while more information about Amex131 is loaded.
Additional information about Amex131 could not be loaded.
What if you need to reset?
Posted September 6, 2014
I'm considering getting a new phone, but i was wondering how would you reset your phone if the batter is not removable? It might just be my bad experience with phones, but ive always had instances where i need to remove the battery in order to get the phone working again.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great phone

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
hayyou
From:  jim
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will start by saying I have had a lot of phones. This phone is built like a truck. Its fast and easy to use. I would recommend this phone over any other. Note this phone dose have NFC the HTC 816from over seas don't. The phone is big and may be hard to fit I'm some pockets but you can manag if your coming from a s4, note 2, or something like that. The sound out of this thing is better then my Chromebook. I have not used my tablet or my Chromebook since I received this phone. I would spend the cash and get it you will be 100% happy you did
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great phone..one hiccup

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
qpHalcy0n
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone is huge. It's about the size (same screen size) as a Galaxy Note 2. This is a phablet, not a phone. Let's be clear on that. The PPI (pixels per inch) is pretty decent. Hard to notice any pixelation despite the fact that other phablets have better PPI. Sense 6 is the real deal. Definitely a step above Sense 5.5 as seen on the Desire 601. The phone is very very snappy. I haven't noticed any delay with any app that I run. Very happy with the phone...
However: One thing *must* be fixed on this phone. It's happened twice. Sometimes when receiving calls, the phone will completely lock up upon answering. This normally wouldn't be a bad thing except for the fact that 1) The battery is NOT removable and 2) The phone locks up BAD...you can't even hold the power switch to turn it off. I literally had to wait for the battery to drain down and die before being able to use the phone again. Sent a report both times it happened so hopefully this can get resolved quickly. Bear in mind, this happened in only 2 out of perhaps 100 calls that I've received, but the problem is so severe that it's a horrible nuisance if it DOES happen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mkbkr1
 
Please wait while more information about Mkbkr1 is loaded.
Additional information about Mkbkr1 could not be loaded.
Posted September 7, 2014
To soft reset the phone if it locks up just press and hold both the power and volume up buttons. This is the same as a battery pull to soft reset the phone, and will not affect your apps or data.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

big

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JamesNobleBand
From:  Indiana
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it is plain and it is big but it does run well. I'd prefer a Samsung S 5 but they r just too expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12next>>