Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Get smartphone portability plus the immersive experience of a tablet with the HTC Desire 816. Featuring a brilliant 5.5" Super-LCD touchscreen, 13MP camera, and HTC BoomSound(TM), you can experience your favorite movies, games and music like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
70 out of 7495%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE
Review 1 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

great phone!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
NewHTCfan
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone, it's an upgrade from my Galaxy Ring and it's a huge difference! I have never had a phone that has 4G and let me tell you, its lightning fast! This phone is my first HTC, very user friendly. The sound on this phone is awesome! It also has Instagram type filter options with the pictures you take, the picture quality is pretty good for a cell phone, that was a selling point for me for this phone. Another thing, I have absolutely hated every keyboard on every Android phone I've ever had... mainly because of the wack auto corrections to words that weren't even close to what I was typing. But this phone is great, I think its because it is so big, I haven't had the issues that I have in the past. I was torn between this and the iPhone but I'm glad I went with this because its just as good for a lot less $$$. Plus you can add up to 128G of memory (which is a TON!) on this phone, you can not add memory to an iPhone. Also, if you download the HTC transfer app for your old phone, everything including your pics & text messages will be downloaded to the new phone in like 2 mins. - awesome.
My only complaint, which is something that has been on my previous androids as well, is the actual phone comes with 8G abut after the apps that are already installed are updated, you have about 3G left. Its not that big of a deal because more memory can be added but you can't uninstall apps you won't use. Overall its a great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Love this phone

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
kitkat6
From:  Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had some good phones during the years but nothing come close to this one. WOW, from the moment I opened the box I knew that this was no ordinary phone. Looking at the size of the screen and seeing how big the phone actually was I realized that what I had was a " phablet ". I was a little worried it wasn't going to be comfortable to carry, but once I held it in my hand those worries went out the window. It's surprisingly light for a " phablet " It's nice and slim and fits nicely in my hand. The screen size is perfect for viewing photos, surfing the web, playing games and most importantly watching movies. The duel speakers are one of the best features and it allows my husband, who is hard of hearing, to hear music and movies so much clearer. I also have a Samsung galaxy 4, and although I love to watch movies on it I find myself watching more and more of them on this phone due to the awesome HD feature. So far there is nothing that I don't like about this phone. I will give an update in a few weeks after I've had time to use it more and find out more of its features.
Pros: nice big screen, unbelievable sound due to the duel speakers, comfortable to carry, awesome apps
Cons: not one thing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

great phone!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jadagurl17
From:  Chicago, IL
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this phone for over four months now. I believe it is one of the best phones I have ever had for this company especially from comming from a Samsung ring to this HTC it really makes a difference.
Pros:good battery life, durable, nice amount of pixels
Cons: big, heavy for someone with little hands like me
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great phone!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tristand
From:  Danville,va
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was skeptical about buying this phone because of it having a 720p display that stretches to 5.5", but the screen is actually bright and easy to read small text. The performance of it is definitely a plus but the battery is not the worlds greatest. Both the front and rear cameras are crystal clear and take great photos.
Pros: screen size, performance, battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Amazing phone!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
GirlsCanBeTechiesToo
From:  America
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'd give it a 5/5, but it's like a 4.5/5. Mainly because I went from a Galaxy to this HTC. There are some features that I miss, but the quality of the phone outweighs the features I miss in the Galaxy.
I'll start with the processing power. AMAZING. I've only ever had issues with some apps, and those were problems from the apps themselves.
The camera is also amazing, though I do wish it wasn't in the corner. Makes it hard to take pictures, since your finger is in the way no matter how you hold it.
Sound is INCREDIBLE. It beats my car's audio!
The one downside is the screen size. I don't actually mind it but I get a lot of negative feedback from people around me. But I like it. It's one size under a phablet!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EskimoUpNort
Wausau, WI
 
Please wait while more information about EskimoUpNort is loaded.
Additional information about EskimoUpNort could not be loaded.
What she said...
Posted November 17, 2014
Who needs headphones when the audio on this device is tops? Seriously. Music hunting on YouTube has never been this nice on a cell phone. That is all.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

awesome

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
m15starrrad
From:  Beachwood,NJ
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Came just as advertised. Sound is awesome. 4G Lte is an uprgrade compared to my old 3g phone. A lot more options. Huge screen which is a plus for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Very nice

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Malcom
From:  Michigan
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was thinking about Galaxy S5 or S3 but got this phone instead. It has bigger screen than S5, and 720P resolution does not have much difference from 1080P. Only it lacks from Samsung phones is the multi-tasking capability, but I would not open two windows on this size of screen anyway so that's fine. It's so fast, thin, light. You will love it.
Pros: huge screen, thin and light, long battery life, fast performance
Cons: takes long to charge
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

DYNOMITE phone!!!!!!

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Geno50
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned the HTC Desire for well over a year. I bought this phone and it's like night and day between the two. The 816 has incredible processor speed with the quad core and 4G LTE reception is unbelievable. I work in a building where I had poor reception with the HTC Desire but the Desire 816 connects immediately with great speed. Obviously......TOTALY SATISFIED!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Poor screen glass durability!

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
BroadwayEddie
From:  New York, New York
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like this phone a lot. Good battery life, pretty fast. I've had it for less than two weeks, dropped it once from waist high.....sustained a hairline crack from mid left to lower right corner of screen. Very disappointed b/c the previous phone I had was an HTC "3D camera type" almost more than 2 years of abuse and not a scratch on the screen. Shame! I was gonna skip getting the IPhone plus, but I'm gonna have to kiss HTC and Virgin Mobile goodbye sooner than later.
Pros: light weight, good battery life, nice pixs
Cons: poor screen glass durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
5of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MikeBigD
Dallas, Tx
 
Please wait while more information about MikeBigD is loaded.
Additional information about MikeBigD could not be loaded.
Posted November 12, 2014
I dropped this phone many times, like 4 times I think...a couple of time on a rocked drive & just knew it shattered but nothing. I was stunned, the other couple of time pretty hard & realized this is a really durable phone. I'm not sure how you dropped yours but you might have just had a weird angle drop on yours. Sorry this happened.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Fast!

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
EskimoUpNort
From:  Wausau, WI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First some specs. It has a nano SIM card slot, so if you wanted to try it out on another network, you could. Many but not all apps can be transferred to the 128 gb micro SD card (not included). The speakers sound awesome. It is a power hungery machine. One has to really dig into the settings for it to consume the battery at a reasonable rate. It does have a Power Saver funtion and an Extreme Power Saver function just like the Samsung S5. The Extreme Power Saver function turns the device into a GSM talk and text device with access to HTC's email and calendar apps as well. If your a guy who likes to keep your phone in your front pants pocket, this phone is too big. If your a guy who already has a "man bag" or wears suits or jackets on a daily basis, this is a great value. even full size web pages load fast and look good on the 720p display. It can be viewed nicely from any angle. This device has replaced both my old phone and tablet pc due to its size and speed. It does lack some features that Samsung phones offer, but for around half the price, I can live with that.
Pros: speed, size
Cons: size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

exceeded my expectations

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
uristacrat
From:  big pine key
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Was worried it was gonna be clunky when I ordered it....not at all! Phone is really light weight for its size. Bluetooth connects automatically. Pictures are great. Tv watching even better. Love this phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

This phone is SOLID!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jeffrey526
From:  Groveland , FL
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whats not to love about my new phone. This HTC Desire 816 is SOLID! Has everything I want and more. I have been with Virgin for years and the clarity of their service is awesome. This is by far the best phone they have yet to offer. Solid phone all around.
Pros: everything read all reviews
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

phone

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
vannakjohnnykuy
From:  san diego, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The rear facing camera lense cover protection is already scratched. The back is also sensative to scratches. I like the front facing camera, but the back camera lense is so sensative to getting scratched, it's not usable. The dual facing speakers are okay. The volume and power buttons feel like there not even there. They feel very cheap . Had this phone for less than 3 months and my screen is cracked. I can't do nothing about that though. Although this phone is pretty decent for the price.
Cons: back camera protection lense
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Awesome phone

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2train
From:  seattle wa
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally love it. No complaints. And text message sounds can be added thru ringtone maker app.
Pros: everything, music, camera, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

its the best phone I've ever had but...

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
er0919
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Everything is awesome about the phone the features but if you're a heavy user it might not be the best for you I use it for games,social networking, videos, and the web and the battery only lasts me a whole day
Its okay but I would like it to have a better battery life
Other than that its an excellent phone
Pros: everything is easy to use
Cons: battery life is okay
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JayB1997
 
Please wait while more information about JayB1997 is loaded.
Additional information about JayB1997 could not be loaded.
Posted November 15, 2014
Can you see emojis on this phone? Like on instagram and twitter?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Virgin Mobile's BEST Phone Ever offered

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
chiggins
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the Best phone they have ever offered. If you want a Big Screen smartphone you will not be disappointed with this phone.
Pros: works smoothly, its fast!, takes excellent pictures, great "boom" sound, screen is big and clear hd, battery life is really good, 4g lte
Cons: stuck with 4.4.2, wont ever get a update
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great Phone

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dee199490
From:  Rochester, NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is great. The camera is very clear. The speakers are really loud because of the BoomSound, It reminds me of a Note 2, because of the size and interface. Touch screen is very sensitive. I would definitely recommends this phone.
Pros: camera, size, speakers
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Size perfect

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brigh1
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy for a old timer like myself "60" color is brilliant easy to work with and texting is simple. No complaints.
Pros: love the screen size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

What more can you ask for?

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wingmn
From:  Tacoma, WA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To begin in have to say what phone I am coming from. I have had my LG Optimus 5 since 7 March 2011. So, I have had the same phone for 3 yrs and 8 months. The DESIRE 816 is a large phone, but not the largest. It is twice the size of my LG. The phone can do everything with ease, not even stutter a second when completing basic phone tasks. It has 4GB of usable internal storage when you get it. That alone makes me biased toward this phone. My LG has like half a GB total. I'm thrilled to have upgraded to a modern smart phone from my VERY dated Optimus V. Don't buy it from VMs website thought, Amazon, QVC, both have been selling the phone around the $199 price point.
My only disappointment was I kept reading reviews about this phone having dual SIM slots, the VM version does NOT. Slot number 2 is blocked by a rubber blocker. I removed it to look and the slot is empty. Not an issue, I suppose that's why the VM version of the phone is cheaper than other carriers offerings.
Pros: screen processing power battery storage
Cons: not dual sim
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

I like it

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
sugalips89
From:  Lincoln Nebraska
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Big difference from my s3 really huge phone only downside is I cant set ringtones for text messages and it only has 8gb
Cons: only 8gb and cant set ringtones for messages
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234next>>