Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Get smartphone portability plus the immersive experience of a tablet with the HTC Desire 816. Featuring a brilliant 5.5" Super-LCD touchscreen, 13MP camera, and HTC BoomSound(TM), you can experience your favorite movies, games and music like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
83 out of 8894%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE
Review 1 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Excellent phone!!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TPCLUVSHTC
From:  Bremerton, WA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Granted this is only my 2nd "smartphone" ever, but I did a lot of research before replacing the 1st one, which was nothing but trouble. This phone was highly recommended by both users and professionals, so I was confident in making the choice. I was not disappointed! The size does take a bit of getting used to, if you're switching from a "regular" sized phone, but it is worth it. I wanted a quality phone that could double as a tablet, I really didn't want both. This does the job and more. It has NEVER shut off, restarted, or any of the other nonsense phones drive u crazy with. The LCD screen is big, bright, crystal clear, and easy to use. The speakers are amazing, with plenty of volume and clean sound even if turned all the way up. Phone calls are clear as day, and it has yet to drop a call in the 3 mnths I've had it. And wow is it durable... I'm hard on my phones, this doesn't have a scratch on it. I would highly recommend this phone.
Pros: quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Amazing performance, build quality and value...

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
New2thech
From:  West Coast
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After considerable research, I chose the 816 over the S5. After testing the two, owned by friends, I founds no discernible difference and I like the larger screen of the 816. HTC Sense 6 is also much less cluttered than Samsung's Touch Wiz...Activation is easy and took minutes to transfer my number from my HTC EVO V4G. I used the HTC transfer tool application and all my photos, music and videos, (over 7gb total), were transferred without a hitch in less than 10 minutes over Wi Fi... I installed a 64gb card to augment the 4.2gb of avail memory. Most applications were able to transfer to s/d card storage as were all my music, photos and videos. I also installed a tempered glass screen protector and TMP/Silicone case. The operating system and Sense 6 overlay is easy to understand and like all Androids, very easy to customize. The Boom Sound front facing stereo speakers are amazing! No more cupping my hand behind the screen to hear the phone. They blow the S5 out of the water with great clarity and rich base and treble tones. The processor is very fast and runs 4.4.2 out of the box. HTC released a firmware up date that you will receive at initial start up. The handset comes with Swype pre-installed as an optional keyboard. I can type one handed with my thumb and it's spell check and predictive text, makes communication a breeze. The battery is strong and re-charges quickly. It is non-removable but if you shop around you can find the phone for 30% of the cost of the S5. If you ever have issue with the batttery, contact Virgin Mobile and use your insurance or just buy a brand new one! HTC has said it is considering this phone for the Lolipop update, Android 5.0, but don't count on it. Call clarity is very good and 4G LTE is enhanced by Sprint Spark in many areas making the phone very fast indeed! HTC's build quality is very apparent in this phone and while some have said the back it a finger print magnet, you are going to use a case or skin anyway, or just wipe it off! The camera includes the Zoe feature which is nice and the front camera at 5mp is great for Skype calls. Most of the flagship features from the HTC One M8 are included in this phone. This is the best phone that Virgin Mobile offers and now the screen on my older phone at 4.3" seems tiny! This phone, with case, still fits easily in the back pocket of my jeans but I wouldn't suggest sitting on it, regardless of the case or the tempered glass screen protector! Get this phone, you deserve it!
Pros: boom sound speakers, screen size, updated 4.4.2, battery life-rapid recharging, custom settings for fonts etc..., accurate touch screen response, google now
Cons: your friends will want to use it...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New2thech
West Coast
 
Please wait while more information about New2thech is loaded.
Additional information about New2thech could not be loaded.
Update on this review...More features...
Posted December 18, 2014
The native HTC keyboard offers the Trace feature (which is just as accurate as Swype) and it includes lots of Emoji characters out of the box! The phone also offers a FontFlip system that allows you to download 100's of free fonts from the Play Store to customize the look of your phone. The recipient of your text/email messages do not see the special font but it customizes your view. I chose a bolder type face because my eyes aren't as good as they used to be and it really helps. Install a file manager from the Play Store (ES File and Astro are great and up to date) and keep in mind with KitKat you must use the native Gallery app and the Native Polaris Office app to delete files. You can move downloaded files, in the Storage>settings>make more space, to your S/D card. An S/D card is a must! The Zedge application is a great way to add ringtones/alarms and notification sounds for free. The included phone charge/data cable is only 4' long, I got a 6' charge/data cable with a tricky little LED light built into the micro usb end for $15. 'Auto Screen On Off' by Daniel Kao, is a free application that uses the proximity sensor to turn the screen on and off without having to use the button. It also allows you to exclude apps, from turning off and allows you to set time off/on values. It keeps you from having to use the hardware button to wake/sleep the screen. I hope you enjoy the phone! It really is a great value for such excellent performance.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

It's a Phablet!!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Imcool
From:  Boston
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought this today to replace my Galaxy S2 from VM and so far it's been great and is everything the reviews said and more! Solid feeling, love the 5.5" display & the HTC BoomSound™ is fantastic! Netflix, Youtube, videos, games are so much better. I know I'm going to like this phone. Loved my S2 but the Desire 816 is a great upgrade.
The Samsung has 16GB of storage compared to the HTC's 8GB but I put my 32GB SD Card from the S2 in the 816.
I will say the S2's Super AMOLED® Display "looks" better than the 816's Super-LCD Display but it's 5.5" vs 4.52" I'll take the larger display. over the vibrant colors. Plus the dual front speakers.
The S2 runs on Sprint's 4G WiMAX network, I no longer have the WiMAX where I live, they shut it down and it will be gone by Nov 2015.
I have been on 3G (when not on WiFi) for the last 3 or 4 months, Now I'm 4G LTE and it's a lot faster than WiMAX.
Virgin Mobile hit gold with this phone!
Pros: 5.5" display, htc boomsound™, 13mp bsi camera, 1.6 ghz quad-core processor, android™ 4.4.2 kit kat, htc blinkfeed™, gps support
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

I love everything about this phone

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wadeee
From:  New York
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i switched from an iphone 4 to this phone. And it was more than an upgrade. its extremely fast. the cameras are excellent. it has a bright and beautiful screen. i love the size of it. i love it 10000000 times more than my old iphone 4. if you want a great phone for a great price, buy this one!!!
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Awesome phone!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Evan360
From:  Vancouver, WA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased this phone because my old device (Optimus Elite F3) didn't have sufficient space for the apps I wanted. This device is pretty large and definitely qualifies as a "phablet" at 5.5" diagonally. It's got a pretty powerful processor and handles all tasks seamlessly. The picture quality is above average, with a 13 MP camera and 5 MP front camera.
My only gripe with the phone is the battery life. After a 10 hour workday with minimal use, the battery goes down to 60% or so. Not terrible, just not great either.
Pros: camera, processor, appearance
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MikeBigD
Dallas, Tx
 
Please wait while more information about MikeBigD is loaded.
Additional information about MikeBigD could not be loaded.
Battery Saver
Posted December 18, 2014
You know you have 2 battery saver modes right? Power Save & Extreme Power Save (this shuts off data but leaves text/talk on). I leave my regular Power Saver on & get great battery life! Try it out.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

i was expecting more (3.5 stars)

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
wetto
From:  Phoenix, AZ
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SO I USUALLY WAIT A LITTLE WHILE BEFORE I WRITE A REVIEW SO I CAN REALLY TEST THE PRODUCT AND NOT GIVE MISINFORMATION. I BOUGHT THIS PHONE AS AN UPGRADE FROM THE DESIRE 610. I HAVE OWNED THE PHONE FOR A WEEK.
I LOVE THE DESIGN OF THE PHONE. IT HAS WHAT APPEAR TO BE LASER CUT BUTTONS FOR POWER/VOLUME. THE SPEAKER HOLES ALSO APPEAR TO BE IN A LASER CIT FASHION BUT ON PLASTIC. YES THE BACK COVER IS GLOSSY AND A FINGERPRINT MAGNET. IF YOU USE A COVER YOU WILL NEVER SEE THAT PROBLEM!
THE DISPLAY IS A 720P DISPLAY BUT IT IS CRISP. IT IS NOT PIXELATED AND I CAN'T TELL THE DIFFERENCE FROM A 1080P DISPLAY NEXT TO IT. IT IS A BIGGER PHONE, AND THUS IT MAKES YOU GIVE UP 1 HANDED BROWSING BUT TRADES OFF WITH MORE VIEWING SPACE ON THE 5.5 INCH SCREEN.
THE SPEAKERS ARE ABOVE STANDARD AND HAVE A SLIGHTLY PREMIUM SOUND TO THEM. THANKS TO HTC'S BOOMSOUND?
THE OVERALL PERFORMANCE OF THE PHONE IS EXCEPTIONAL. I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED ANY SORT OF LAG OR JITTER.
THE PHONE SPORTS A 5MP FRONT AND 13MP REAR CAMERA. THE STOCK CAMERA APP HAS GREATLY IMPROVED BY ADDING A FEATURE THAT ALLOWS YOU TO SAVE CUSTOMIZED/PERSONALIZED CAMERA MODES. THE FRONT FACING CAMERA SEEMS TO TAKE EXCEPTIONAL SELFIES ALTHOUGH I DON'T PERSONALLY USE FRONT CAMERAS. THIS IS WHERE THINGS FALL KIND OF SHORT. ALTHOUGH IT IS A 13MP CAMERA, TAKING GOOD SHOTS SEEMS TO BE A HASSLE. THE PICTURE QUALITY IS VERY GOOD IF YOU GET A GOOD SHOT. IT IS SOMEWHAT DIFFICULT TO GET A GOOD SHOT BECAUSE THE CAMERA HAS A SLIGHTLY SLOW SHUTTER SPEED. THIS MEANS YOU WILL GET MOTIONBLUR WHEN YOU'RE TRYING TO TAKE PICS ON THE FLY OR IF YOU HAVE SHAKY HANDS LIKE ME.
THE BATTERY IS MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT.. I TEND TO USE MY PHONE LIGHTLY TO MODERATELY. I PRIMALY USE IT FOR DATA OVER ACTUAL PHONE CALLS. I DON'T GAME OR USE ANY CPU INTENSIVE APPS. IT IS BARELY GETTING ME BY MY 8HR SHIFT AT WORK AND I HAVE IT ON POWER SAVER MODE THE WHOLE TIME! BEING NEW AND FRESH OUT OF THE BOX I WOULD'VE HAVE EXPECTED A LITTLE LONGER RUN TIME. I CAN ONLY AASSUME WHAT THE NEAR FUTURE HOLDS FOR ME; DEAD BATTERIES AND A DAILY CHARGER IN MY POCKET.
Pros: design, features, display
Cons: battery, shutter+speed, huge phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fnje
 
Please wait while more information about fnje is loaded.
Additional information about fnje could not be loaded.
Battery life
Posted December 15, 2014
I'm not exactly sure what you're doing with your phone by my phone generally lasts around 16 hours with around 20-40% battery left, it can probably go two days without a charge if I don't game too much. So first of all, make sure your screen brightness isn't too high, second of all, make sure you're not connected to mobile data when your phone is turned off. Turn off NFC, and make sure to close all apps when you're done using them so you don't have a bunch of apps running in the background.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Perfect size not to big or to small.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
PGTony
From:  Laurens SC
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took me a while to decide for this phone .My first smart phone ever was the HTC V One and I was very happy with it .Now I love the Desire is a great phone and wont changed it for anything . It took a while to find a case for it but now I got three lol if you having the same problem try amazon they just got them.
Pros: the sized is just percfect, great camera
Cons: the internal memory, could not find a case for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

yes

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
tazz99
From:  Chicago Illinois
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is great I came from a galaxy s3 and I'm very happy with this phone the screen size is huge and having front facing speaker is good the speaker is very loud and I think all phone should have front facing speaker the only down fall I have about the phone is the power and volume is on the left side just wish it was on the right side typeing on the phone is good I have two use to hand and with a small phone I only use one hand I never had a big phone b for so this is my first and I'm very happy and playing games is good
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Phone is good, battery life is terrible

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
suzieq4624
From:  United States
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm surprised this phone has such a high rating. The battery life is horrible, unpredictable, and sporadic. Sometimes it lasts 3 days, sometimes it lasts less than 10 hours - this is all standby time as I rarely use my phone.
Pros: basic android phone
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Darn near perfect

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
signothefish
From:  Raleigh, NC
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've owned lots of phones over the years, both HTC and Samsung, and this is the first phone I can say that's as close to perfection as you can get. None of the problems I had with former phones, including the many I had with my most recent Galaxy S3, are present in this phone. What can I say? IT.JUST.WORKS. Everything about this phone is brag-worthy. The price, the battery life, the connection quality, the cameras and sound, the responsiveness, the stability, they are all worthy of praise. I've owned this phone now for several weeks, and the more I use it, the more I like it. Only two things I have an issue with, and they are small things... the softbuttons at the bottom of the screen, it's easy to hit one of the buttons, thinking you're in the app, and it takes you to your home screen, probably something I just have to get used to. The screen is slightly washed out compared to the color quality of the S3, but not too bad. I guess I just got spoiled to the Samsung screen quality. This is the perfect VM phone for anyone looking for a phablet. Highly recommended.
Pros: price, battery life, connection quality, cameras, responsiveness, stability
Cons: screen color are slightly washed out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Awesome

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lanae1225
From:  Illinois
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It took me a long time to decide to switch from my Samsung Galaxy S III because I am such a fan of the Galaxy. BUT I definitely was not going to pay for a Galaxy S 5 so this was a PERFECT choice. I love my new HTC Desire 816
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Awesome phone

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Christa
From:  Berks County, PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When it first arrived, I was nervous. I have small hands, and it's a huge phone. It's really a mini tablet - at least, compared to any other phone I've ever used. Typing was difficult for me at first. It's been about a week now, and I've gotten used to it. Now, the phone feels comfortable, and all other phones feel too small! It has a great display, great responsiveness, and GREAT sound. It's a joy to watch Netflix on. It's speedy, crystal-clear, and capable. It even has a good camera (front and back). I'd recommend to anyone.
Pros: camera, display, sound, speed
Cons: ease of use if you have small hands
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Good Mid-Level Smartphone

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bigtime
From:  PA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upgraded from the LG Volt...Great decision..This is a great choice if ya dont wanna break the bank for the S5..
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Phone is amazing, No cases or screen covers on the market for it though.

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
itsmekelz
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Switched from a LG Optimus V (Ya i know so old ha), I really feel i got a great buy for my money. Totally a upgrade worth looking into. Only thing i dislike and its nothing honestly with the phone its self is.. that its hard to find phone cases and screen protectors for it, I've been looking constantly for weeks online and in stores and barely anything is out there. I don't really like buying off Ebay or Amazon but they seem to be the only place that sales anything and most items on there aren't appealing at all. I'm considering buying something ugly temporarily so i don't end up having to buy a new phone. Defiantly will be checking into this before i go purchasing a phone next time.
Pros: performance and battery. real solid overall feelin
Cons: no phone cases or screen protectors on the market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hawkeye
 
Please wait while more information about hawkeye is loaded.
Additional information about hawkeye could not be loaded.
There are several cases and screen covers for 816
Posted December 3, 2014
There are several cases and screen covers made specifically for the 816 available.
If they are not sold by Virgin, search on-line. It's a "hot" phone, many are being sold, and the case and screen protector makers are aware of this.
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Simply AWESOME!!

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Billie
From:  WI
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HTC Desire 816 is truly a top tier mid range phone with a 720p 5.5" screen and quad core processor. HTC Blinkfeed is an unique and pleasantly surprising delight medium to social media. I actually prefer the plastic encasing, which makes it light in weight. The front speakers are crystal clear sound, which is a great innovation. The only downfall is the embedded rechargeable battery. It has to be one of HTC's best value smartphones.
Pros: screen, processor, speakers
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

great phone!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
NewHTCfan
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone, it's an upgrade from my Galaxy Ring and it's a huge difference! I have never had a phone that has 4G and let me tell you, its lightning fast! This phone is my first HTC, very user friendly. The sound on this phone is awesome! It also has Instagram type filter options with the pictures you take, the picture quality is pretty good for a cell phone, that was a selling point for me for this phone. Another thing, I have absolutely hated every keyboard on every Android phone I've ever had... mainly because of the wack auto corrections to words that weren't even close to what I was typing. But this phone is great, I think its because it is so big, I haven't had the issues that I have in the past. I was torn between this and the iPhone but I'm glad I went with this because its just as good for a lot less $$$. Plus you can add up to 128G of memory (which is a TON!) on this phone, you can not add memory to an iPhone. Also, if you download the HTC transfer app for your old phone, everything including your pics & text messages will be downloaded to the new phone in like 2 mins. - awesome.
My only complaint, which is something that has been on my previous androids as well, is the actual phone comes with 8G abut after the apps that are already installed are updated, you have about 3G left. Its not that big of a deal because more memory can be added but you can't uninstall apps you won't use. Overall its a great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kitkat6
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about kitkat6 is loaded.
Additional information about kitkat6 could not be loaded.
Pre-installed Apps
Posted December 3, 2014
I totally agree with you about the apps that have been pre-installed on this phone. I do not use or want at least 3/4 of those apps and every time they come up for an update I uninstall them. Unfortunately this does not seem to work. I'll get about 2 weeks of not being asked to update and then wham, there they are again. And I'm thinking to myself " didn't I uninstall all these apps ?" So I uninstall them again, and a couple of weeks later it happens again. I started to think I was losing my mind and that maybe I
I'm not uninstalling them, but since I started reading the reviews on this phone I realized that I'm not the only one having this issue. It's not that misery loves company, but at least now I know that I'm not crazy. Lol.
If anyone out there knows how to permanently remove the apps that were pre-installed without causing any technical problems with the phone, I would sure love to hear from you, and I'm sure others would too.
If we can remedy this little annoyance, I will recommend this phone to all my relatives and everyone I know, heck, I'll even tell strangers about how great this phone is. I have a huge Italian family, that would be a lot of these phones being purchased for the holiday.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Love this phone

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
kitkat6
From:  Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had some good phones during the years but nothing come close to this one. WOW, from the moment I opened the box I knew that this was no ordinary phone. Looking at the size of the screen and seeing how big the phone actually was I realized that what I had was a " phablet ". I was a little worried it wasn't going to be comfortable to carry, but once I held it in my hand those worries went out the window. It's surprisingly light for a " phablet " It's nice and slim and fits nicely in my hand. The screen size is perfect for viewing photos, surfing the web, playing games and most importantly watching movies. The duel speakers are one of the best features and it allows my husband, who is hard of hearing, to hear music and movies so much clearer. I also have a Samsung galaxy 4, and although I love to watch movies on it I find myself watching more and more of them on this phone due to the awesome HD feature. So far there is nothing that I don't like about this phone. I will give an update in a few weeks after I've had time to use it more and find out more of its features.
Pros: nice big screen, unbelievable sound due to the duel speakers, comfortable to carry, awesome apps
Cons: not one thing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

great phone!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jadagurl17
From:  Chicago, IL
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this phone for over four months now. I believe it is one of the best phones I have ever had for this company especially from comming from a Samsung ring to this HTC it really makes a difference.
Pros:good battery life, durable, nice amount of pixels
Cons: big, heavy for someone with little hands like me
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great phone!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tristand
From:  Danville,va
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was skeptical about buying this phone because of it having a 720p display that stretches to 5.5", but the screen is actually bright and easy to read small text. The performance of it is definitely a plus but the battery is not the worlds greatest. Both the front and rear cameras are crystal clear and take great photos.
Pros: screen size, performance, battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Amazing phone!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
GirlsCanBeTechiesToo
From:  America
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'd give it a 5/5, but it's like a 4.5/5. Mainly because I went from a Galaxy to this HTC. There are some features that I miss, but the quality of the phone outweighs the features I miss in the Galaxy.
I'll start with the processing power. AMAZING. I've only ever had issues with some apps, and those were problems from the apps themselves.
The camera is also amazing, though I do wish it wasn't in the corner. Makes it hard to take pictures, since your finger is in the way no matter how you hold it.
Sound is INCREDIBLE. It beats my car's audio!
The one downside is the screen size. I don't actually mind it but I get a lot of negative feedback from people around me. But I like it. It's one size under a phablet!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EskimoUpNort
Wausau, WI
 
Please wait while more information about EskimoUpNort is loaded.
Additional information about EskimoUpNort could not be loaded.
What she said...
Posted November 17, 2014
Who needs headphones when the audio on this device is tops? Seriously. Music hunting on YouTube has never been this nice on a cell phone. That is all.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)