Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Get smartphone portability plus the immersive experience of a tablet with the HTC Desire 816. Featuring a brilliant 5.5" Super-LCD touchscreen, 13MP camera, and HTC BoomSound(TM), you can experience your favorite movies, games and music like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
52 out of 5496%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE
Review 1 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

It plays my music perfect!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
exohex
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone made me not want iphones anymore!
Plays my music loud and clear. Its easy to use. A nice big screen to watch videos and take pictures.
Great recordings as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

best yet

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
docbee
From:  Providence RI
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the HTC One before. It would get on the internet in a pinch but my daughter's phone was much faster. And I had to turn off wifi when not using it or the battery would run down.
This phone gets stuff off the internet fast, even maps. And the battery life is good even if I leave the wifi on all the time.
I hesitated to get such a big phone but it still fits in my pants pocket, and the size is a plus -- easier to see the display, easier to type.
Telephone calls are pretty clear, music good quality.
I couldn't activate it properly, but the Virgin rep was helpful and patient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great call quality, outstanding battery life. Fast

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Royaltim1
From:  Usa
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great phone coming from the Samsung Galaxy s2. Compared tp the s5,and s3 wich I've had hands on with. This phone is the best on Virgin minus Iphins wich I don't endorse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

A Great 2 in 1 Device to Own

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
R2d247
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After doing some extensive research , I finally ordered this device online & was Wowed when it arrived. This is my 3rd phone , & first device like this of any kind. The size , sound , picture clarity, special features really got m attention . I've had this new device for less than a month & I'm still learning about the capabilities this device has to offer. All I can say is WOW this baby Rocks. The only drawback is that the earphone jack located on top of the phone is a ( dirt / dust ) catcher. Other wise than that, I'm Proud to own this Great device.
Pros: great multi device
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

I like it, works great for all that I need (logmein, facebook, pictures, etc)

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Joe777
From:  New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I enjoy using this phone. When you get it, make sure to install the Qualcomm battery saver app. Also enable the iZat location app thing. It may take a couple of days for your battery to start acting normal as it does its optimization adjustments. I'm a developer and a bit more critical on my phones but this one works great for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

I like it

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nikah
From:  Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone is beautiful first of all. I had the galaxy victory so the size of this phone is definitely something to get used to. As far as performance...It's not necessarily better. Just bigger. The best thing to me was the activation. It was fast and super easy. Everything transferred from the old phone in one step. Even my text messages. I was impressed with that more than anything. It's a cool phone though. I'm happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dj77433
From:  Houston, TX
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first fablite, so it is a lot larger to use. I find it much easier on the eyes, I am not talking about looks-- its helps eye strain to have a larger screen. As for the phone itself. First off the cameras are great. The rear cam is 14 mega-pixels and works well. The phone seems to be very fast as my apps open and close much better than my older phones. I think this version of Android is the best yet. This is a great phone if you can handle the size.
Pros: rear camera
Cons: black plastic is a finger magnet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

This phone is awesome!!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sayingthetruth
From:  fresno
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been with virgin mobile for years, starting off with the lg optimus v, htc one v, samsung reverb, s2 and s3, zte supreme, iphone 4 and even the kyocera event for a back up phone. I am now with this phone, and it has to be one of the best phones i have ever owned. With 1.6 ghz quad core processing along with 1.5 gigs of ram, apps run flawless. The screen is the perfect size, also being crisp and bright. The sound is unbelievable compared to other phones. And the battery last all day, and i use wifi and 4g and use lots of social media. The back camera is clear and nice and so is the front facing camera, which is just as good as most back facing cameras on other phones. It's hard to believe how anyone could rate this less than 4 stars, this phone gets the job done. Anyone saying the phone will break by simply dropping it, need to realize that any phone may break by dropping it. Other than that, i would definitely recommend this phone.!!!!!
Pros: screen size camera battery os
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mikey123
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Mikey123 is loaded.
Additional information about Mikey123 could not be loaded.
many phones..
Posted October 21, 2014
wow! looks like you keep on changing phone every second day, what are you doing with the old ones? maybe I can buy one of them....
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best Phone iv'e had on VM

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MNVIKES
From:  Rochester, MN
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iv'e had an HTC EVO, HTC Desire 601 and finally decided it was time to upgrade. The screen size is perfect, nice and big. For the price you pay for this phone it is way worth it. Being able to get 4g LTE is another great plus from using 3g on previous phones. The Cameras work very well, Boom Sound will blow you away, a lot louder than i'm used to. I'm on my phone quite a bit, on and off apps, always on the web and the battery life is great ! It lasts all day for me till i charge it at night. I 'm glad i purchased this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best Phone for Price Yet .. Anywhere

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JimMNH
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Desire 816 is amazing for this price range. 13MP Camera and 1080P camcorder OUTSTANDING with minimal shutter lag, HTC apps nice without being intrusive and have a fantastically beautiful UI (OMG the SMS interface), brilliant display though darkest darks do wash a bit in high bright, great sound, solid calls, thin and stylish design, light yet quality feel. I've owned LG, Samsung and other HTC phones. Seen an array of iPhones too. Dare I say this is the best phone I have ever seen much less owned. HTC hit a home run with this one! Couple this with Commandr for Google Now app and Google Keyboard and it's downright unstoppable. If you're considering this phone DON'T HESITATE. It's a stunner. My only gripe would be the tiny notification light that only flashes when not on charge. But I'll take it and then some. Amazing phone!
Pros: darn near everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Amazing Phone!!!!

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
flymech83
From:  youngstown, oh
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phone. It is an incredible improvement over the galaxy s2 I had. The speakers sound fantastic and the battery life is way better than expected!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best Android Phone Ever offered by VM!

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CellPhoneObsessed
From:  Los Angeles Area
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been a VM customer since I bought a Samsung Intercept. I can't remember in what year that was, but about 10 years ago...Then I got a LG Optimus V... Then a Motorola Triumph, Then a HTC EVO V, Then a Samsung Galaxy SII, Then a VM Supreme AND NOW the HTC Desire 816...
Wow, I think I'm a VM Junkie! Hey, I can honestly say that this is the BEST Android Phone ever offered by VM! I used to be a LA Cellular customer, that was back in 1990. So I know a little bit about Cell service at least in the Los Angeles Area. I used to get dropped calls all the time w/AT&T. But ever since I've been on VM... Never. I know VM uses the Sprint Network and it's always being upgraded. If you want to pay more and be locked into a 2 year plan, fine. But as being a Cellular user for 24 years, I'm completely satisfied with Virgin Mobile, and I've saved a TON of money...
Pros: fast, big screen, thin, display, battery life, 2 front speakers
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Superior

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LizHam92
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as an Upgrade from Samsung Galaxy Ring (awful). It was a struggle getting used to the large screen, but I'm overall pleased with the phone. Great battery life is perfect for heavy all day use. And the speakers are unreal.
Pros: battery, size, sound, doesn't crash, #selfies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Phenomenal Phone for the Price

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
HTCfanboy
From:  New Orleans
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great phone and HTC is one of my favorite phone companies. For the great size it is extremely light, the button placement took some getting used to but with big hands it was a cinch. Both front and back cameras are good, slightly more laggy than the Galaxy SIII but images are sharp and vibrant. KitKat with Sense UI 6 looks amazing and every time I look at my phone I am pleased with the color choices and the placement of interface options (unlike the odd placement of things in the SIII and S5 running KK).
The processor runs apps smoothly and the screen while not Full HD is excellent for watching Netflix or YouTube, especially with HTC BoomSound speakers facing you. I find I do more with my phone now than with other phones because it is designed to be looked at and heard, not just be a fast phone with a lot of features.
Overall, I love this phone and intend to use it for a long time.
Pros: screen size, front-facing speakers, camera, lightweight, kitkat/senseui
Cons: plastic body, button placement
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Don't do it

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
erinlyn
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ridiculously priced phone and screen cracked after 6 days when simply set on a table. Horrible choice!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-35points
1of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Squeeks
 
Please wait while more information about Squeeks is loaded.
Additional information about Squeeks could not be loaded.
Hmm
Posted October 12, 2014
I feel like we aren't getting the full story and you're just trying to take it out on htc
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
sayingthetruth
 
Please wait while more information about sayingthetruth is loaded.
Additional information about sayingthetruth could not be loaded.
Posted September 29, 2014
I find that hard to believe, a screen doesn't just crack when setting it down, unless it had a significantly strong force to it. I have had mine longer and it has been just fine.
+17points
17of 17voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

dont think get

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jester2966
From:  shenandoah valley,va
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had this for about a week battery life so far has been great even with location turned on and playing games,so far i like the htc better than the iphone 4s and the galaxy s3 and i have had both
Pros: battery life, screen, easy to use
Cons: havent found anything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

love it

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
gabby83
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
its the perfect size and lets me do all the cool things that the other phones are doing for a can't be beat price/
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Admirably fIlls a niche in Virgin's smartphone lineup

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
glassjar
From:  Northern VA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a big phone with a HD display and speakers that aren't wimpy. The HTC Desire 816 delivered. I was immediately impressed by the BoomSound speakers which produce loud, immersive sounds that make watching videos or listening to music more enjoyable. The display is great, the cameras are crisp and fun to play with, especially the slow motion feature, and the Sense 6.0 UI is quick and responsive.
The front of the phone is aesthetically pleasing, but the back of the phone looks plain and is a haven for fingerprints. However, this problem is remedied by putting a case on your phone which, if you buy one, will most likely be shipped from China or Hong Kong because there is a limited selection of cases to choose from at the moment.
Overall, I'm pleased by this purchase. I think this phone offers the best bang for your buck of the phones currently offered by Virgin.
Pros: boomsound speakers, sense 6.0 ui
Cons: the back of the phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

sad...

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
patttstarrOnIG
From:  wash, PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PHONE !!! JUST WISH IT DIDN'T SHATTER WHEN IT WAS IN MY BACK POCKET AND I SAT DOWN... NICE SCREEN SIZE, EASY TO HOLD, FAST, SLEEK, AND CLEAN. LOVED IT .. JUST GONNA HOLD ON TO IT UNTIL VM GETS THE IPHONE 6PLUS. SO HAPPY IPHONES ARE AS BIG AND NICE LIKE THIS phone now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
-17points
3of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Best Phone Ever!!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CarterLyfeStyle16
From:  Louisville, KY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I left my Galaxy S3 for this, and I'm impressed. Battery life is awesome, apps don't freeze, and I was able to take the perfect group picture at night without the flash. It came out flawlessly!!
Pros: everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123next>>