Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Get smartphone portability plus the immersive experience of a tablet with the HTC Desire 816. Featuring a brilliant 5.5" Super-LCD touchscreen, 13MP camera, and HTC BoomSound(TM), you can experience your favorite movies, games and music like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
5 stars
92
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
108 out of 11693%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE
Review 1 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Needs a couple of improvements.

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
HARCH
From:  columbus oh
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have 2 of these for several months. Great phone but the downsides are the minimal internal storage, internal battery, and for a 13mp camera it is the worst camera phone i have used. Upsides are screen size, good screen, works fast.
To HTC- your biggest complaint of your phones is internal storage. Increase it. 1 gig of additional storage would go a long way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Easy to use

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
virginmobilefan43
From:  Farmers Branch Tx
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really love this phone it is so easy to use and love the stylus pen, and I got the cover and pen in my favorite color blue, it's hard to get a phone in my color. Thank you Virgin Mobile I have been a loyal costumer for 10 years Yes I have gone to other services but I came back to you guys because you are an honest company.
Pros: everything is great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

i <3 my htc desire 816

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
binx1992
From:  chicago
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this phone the big screen is perfect and gorilla glass makes me feel So much better knowing it won't crack as bad as a regular phone screen the speakers on it are amazing and over it's the perfect phone for me
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Sometimes hard to hear

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
thomas810
From:  Marlboro NJ
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall I would say this is the best phone I have used. It has a long battery life, is fairly responsive to browsing and pages opening. Using Google docs, I can run spreadsheets on it and connect a touch pad and keyboard to it to view documents and update work stuff. The screen is reasonable sized... a bit large to put in the shirt pocket but small enough to hold. Not so impressed with the camera features on this phone. They don't seem to come out very well. Speakers distort sound when played at max...
One downside is I sometimes have difficulty hearing people when I speak to them if not holding the phone in the exact correct position next to my ear. The speaker phone works fine... but that can not always be used.
Google maps works great on this and I have retired my Garmin when looking for places in the car. There are many after market holders for the car to use the maps hands free.
I compare this to my wife's samsung galaxy 5... and at half the price, I cant find a feature that it does not do and in some cases does better.
Pros: powerful, can do spreadsheets
Cons: camera, sound quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

This phone is the best yet

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
cldancr13
From:  PA
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone since they released it and I love it, I have had no issues with it. Battery life is way better than any phone I have had and I use it constantly. I am always on social media and internet. Its pretty fast. Music sounds great to. I highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

HTC Desire 816

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
networker
From:  Maryland
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I originally LIKED the phone but the 8 Gig of memory for Apps and photos is almost worthless over time. An expanded Data card will not fill the void for memory either. If it was 16 Gig or more brand new - it would have gotten 5 stars.
Pros: size screen sound
Cons: stored memry
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

This phone is a WASTE of money

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SLG410
From:  Florida
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got it a month before the battery had a shortage!
My sisters and boyfriends did the SAME THING!!
Was using it and then it just shut off and wont turn back on .
Very disappointing...
Cons: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

battery life is great, huge screen, texting is awesome. best phone i've ever had

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
pclark
From:  paterson, NJ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm switching from the evo 4g and what a big difference. I can watch movies and music videos on a large screen. 4g internet speeds are really fast. I love the auto connect to wifi features, i don't have to manually do it. Fits in my pocket with no problems at all. This was a great buy and if you have any doubts on purchasing this phone, get rid of them now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

By far the best smartphone I have ever owned.

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Misti
From:  Tennessee
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this phone for three and a half months now and I'm still in love with it. Previously, I've stuck to lower end phones from another manufacturer and while they were all decent, the HTC Desire 816 blows them out of the water. The battery life on this phone is excellent. With moderate use, I can go almost a full two days without needing a charge. The front surround sound speakers along with the large screen make watching movies and videos a pleasure. I've had no hang-ups or crashes and the software runs very smoothly. Switching between Wi-Fi, LTE, and 3G happens seamlessly with no delay so browsing is never interrupted. For anyone who wants a larger sized phone for watching videos, playing games, or even business use, I would definitely recommend this device.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Tha Bomb

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
spive84
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok I've had thiz phone for 2 weekz now, n I must say what a dang phone. A big difference frm my HTC evo 4 g...... This is the best phone virgin mobile has to offer hands down
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

love my phone

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bjohnson
From:  virginia
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got it a few days ago and I love this phone still learning it. As far as the battery it's great for me but then again I have only had this phone for a few days. The only thing that has bothered me is the fact the home button is right below the keyboard so at times I find myself hitting the home key and it sucks
Pros: everythin else
Cons: the home button right below the keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

great phone

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
rocbutler
From:  det. mi
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
at first I had trouble with its size ,but im use to it now. I just wish htc didn put so many of the apps on it.
Cons: too many htc apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

phone doesn't have enough internal memory

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
829moyo
From:  new Jersey
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Phone it nice size screen sounds good fast web browsing music sounds good even whit headphones. Memory storage is not enough it comes with 8 gb but only 4 is useable it have sd card slot . But only problem you could not move some app. Or music files to it. It seems that geoogel does not so port to rewrite to external sd card on Android kikkat 4.4.2 so some apps can't be move to external memory card. On camera settings you could actually set the setting to move pictures to external sd card. I found out as your phone use it up all it internal memory storage it have a setting to move files to external memory but only when the phone use it all it internal memory .you go to settings go to storage and go to save memory and there you could move your files
Cons: not enough phone memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great Phone Great Price

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Phoneforeverything
From:  Oneonta, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I absolutely love this new phone. my wife was hesitant when she first got it two weeks ago but she is enjoying it too. screen size if any bigger would be too big any smaller and you squint...it's nice to not have to blow up everything you look at...I have iPad and useability is just as good with possibly less glitches do to ipads use of touch to change screens and apps etc. though that is cool it is much more user friendly to hit a button if u want to swap screens and apps.
I have used for gaming, serving net, email, and work and everything works flawlessly.
sound is pretty awesome too compared to other devices and phones with the exception of the HTC One(M8) which gives u Harmon and other added sound choices which you also pay extra for.
video is crisp and clean looking...
camera works great without flash is fast and u can touch screen to take pic which makes for more interactive pictures. if the flash were just as fast or tool less time that would be great but it's not any slower than any other camera I've used...
over all for 3-400 dollars less than any other phone in its class like the iPhone6+ or the galaxy note which I feel are it's only real competitors this phone is awesome... and for anyone looking at the iPhone that released 9 months after this phone an interesting fact is this phone uses a quad core processor vs the iPhone's dual core...in layman terms this phone is twice as fast and can process twice as much as the iPhone!
if I could change one thing it would be the charging port! ITS THE ONE THING I FEEL APPLE HAS THAT IS SUPERIOR!
Yes, I recommend this product.
PS. I wrote my review on this phone...
Pros: size, price, useability, specs, everything you could want, awesome
Cons: charging port
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Excellent phone!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
guitarsandbeaches
From:  Oregon
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a brilliant phone. Best one yet! Long battery life, calls are the clearest, and quickest speed! It was so good...got my wife one too! Fantastic price! You will not regret it!
Pros: thin long battery life clear calls
Cons: have to get used to the size. once you do you'll
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

this phone is awesome

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
yungcali
From:  West coast California
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone has so many great features. I went from the galaxy 2 from Samsung to the LG volt an now I got the HTC desire 816 the phone is a nice size an thin
Pros: the features
Cons: the battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

This phone is the bomb...except he battery life.

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Triniboi
From:  Tampa, FL
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nearly everything about this phone is great except the battery life. it takes good photos, the screen is big and bright, the BoomSound is superb!! but the only hiccup with this phone is the battery it will die withing a day using it heavy with just LTE on but under moderate use it should get you through a whole day.
Pros: boomsound, big bright screen, fast lte and 3g, superb cameras front and back
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iceman322
Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about Iceman322 is loaded.
Additional information about Iceman322 could not be loaded.
Battery Life
Posted January 8, 2015
I recommended you download the iBattery app. I have it on my HTC Desire and it works great for me. I usually go two days before I have to charge the phone again
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Great!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bell
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is amazing! (Writing this review on the phone) at first I was scared this phone would be too big for me, but its really not! It's light and thin even with the protective case I got. It's awesome for games, movies, and everything. I LOVE the size, although it was a big change from my old iPhone 4. The sound quality is good, and it has a lot of features that I love. Great product. I would reccommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
adherna
From:  Beckley, Wv
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'VE HAD THIS PHONE FOR A LITTLE OVER TWO WEEKS NOW AND IT'S BEEN A GREAT EXPERIENCE UP UNTIL NOW. IT IS SLEEK AND VERY RESPONSIVE. IT PLAYS GAMES LIKE A CHARM, AND IT NEVER SEEMS TO LAG OR HEAT UP.
THEN, TODAY, I NOTICED A LITTLE SPECK OF WHAT LOOKED LIKE DUST ON THE SCREEN. IT WASN'T. THERE ARE ALREADY DYING PIXELS. VERY DISAPPOINTING AND AND UPSETTING. I HAD THE HTC EVO 3D AND THE TOUCHSCREEN FAILED ON IT WITHIN A COUPLE MONTHS. THIS WILL DEFINITELY BE MY LAST TIME DEALING WITH AN HTC. I BELIEVE I'LL STICK WITH THE GALAXIES.
P.S. THIS PHONE HAS NEVER BEEN DROPPED OR ABUSED. AND IT'S BEEN IN A BALLISTIC CASE SINCE IT WAS PURCHASED.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Desire 816 Dual Mode 3G/4G LTE

Fantastic phone

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wccdragon
From:  Boonville, IN
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great phone. This is the best phone I've had. It's quick and battery life is extraordinary. The speakers on the front are impressively loud. The screen is huge and has good clarity.
The only con I find is that it overheats quickly but this can be fixed with a simple downloadable program.
Overall, this is an excellent phone that would recommend to others.
Pros: huge screen awesome speakers great performance
Cons: overheats quickly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...7next>>