Customer Reviews for HTC Desire

HTC Desire

Maximize your listening pleasure with the HTC Desire®, featuring HTC BoomSound™ - dual front-facing stereo speakers with built-in amps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(184 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 184 reviews
5 stars
128
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
6
156 out of 17689%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire
Review 1 for HTC Desire

Upset Once Again

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LetDownGirl
From:  Lake Havasu City, AZ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone after my Samsung Galaxy Ring started acting up, and 2 days later I had to return it because it kept freezing and shutting off on its own. I got a replacement just to find out the new phone was worse! After 2 weeks it kept messing up like the previous phone and then *poof!* it shut down and cant be turned back on. I didn't drop it, get it wet, or anything like that! Im scared to buy another phone from here because of my bad experiences, and id go elsewhere if I had better credit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire

definitely great phone for price

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BIXdubs
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is great for anyone who wants a efficient phone but doesn't use a ton of processing power.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire

Love this phone.....but

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jaws76
From:  Sterling Heights, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Most likely I was one of the first to own this phone. I got it the first day it was available. I found out quickly that "Blink Feed" changed the way I used my phone for news and social media. The size of the phone and rear cover texture makes for a great combo. The "boom sound" speakers are absolutely awesome. The call quality is good, 4G on this phone works great, and I always seem to be in 4G service areas where I live. The camera isn't the greatest and ZOE only works if your sd card is a high grade card. The only design flaw I can find is the power/sleep button, it would be better on the side rather then on top. If your like me and keep your phone in your pocket then prepare to hear the start up tone over and over again. After almost ten months of use the battery only holds a charge for about eight hours. By the time I get out of work I need to charge it because the battery is totally dead. At first the battery would last all day and into the night with heavy use. So due to the battery (that I could probably just change because it's removable, but I wont) I'm looking at a new phone (HTC desire816). The great thing about a pre-paid service like Virgin is that the phones are repetitively inexpensive and there are no upgrade fees. Overall this phone is worth buying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire

battery life slows dramatically after a few months

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
tasiam
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for a few months now and after a good start, the battery life is now dramatically worse than it was when it was new. Even when the phone sits idle in my pocket, or if I send just one or two texts, the battery will be dead after 4-5 hours. If I actually make any calls, take any pictures, or go online for any length of time, I get 2-3 hours max. It's unfortunate because other than that, it's a decent phone for the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MinneapolisUser
Minneapolis, MN
 
Please wait while more information about MinneapolisUser is loaded.
Additional information about MinneapolisUser could not be loaded.
Same experience
Posted August 28, 2014
6 - 8 weeks after I got this phone the battery would not hold a charge. The screen is beautiful, the processor is lightening fast, but I had to buy a different phone. There's enough to do in a day without having to constantly check if your phone has juice.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HTC Desire

Its a nice phone.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kacy97
From:  Hagerstown
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's a nice phone. The camera itself is pretty nice, but the front camera, not so much. its sound quality is incredible . & the phone is very hard to break.
Pros: calls. the speaker. display.
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Desire

Nice Phone

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
richyz
From:  Columbus Ohio
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first smart phone. At first it was a little hard to set it up. As I grew accustomed to it everything just seemed to fall into place. Great phone and it does everything. Look's good. I will be an HTC customer for a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire

this phone is nice love it

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
snowman21
From:  claremont,CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the phone is a really good phone. love it makes me want to stay with htc phones and im a samsung phone guy.
Pros: everything
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire

Piece of junk

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The battery life is too short for a rather featureless phone. The price is rather high for a featureless phone. This phone restarts randomly as well. My last HTC phone was much better. This thing heats up if you run more than one app and the power light starts blinking orange. Often get the message that the device is not charging when hooked up to USB. Difficult to get the back cover off to remove the battery when the piece of junk locks up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire

Its decent

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
stadman
From:  New Ulm, Mn
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ive had this phone for about nine months now. The battery life was great for first six but now is getting weaker, overall phone is pretty good for price, only downside is camera isnt the greatest
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire

7 months and the battery's dead

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cathalain
From:  Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product in December of 2013. 7 months later, the battery no longer holds a charge and I have to recharge it twice a day just for it to function. The phone quality is DISMAL - I often have to shout in order to be heard. Definitely not worth the money I spent for it.
The only good thing about this phone is the music features - that IS a bonus on this and the sound quality is great. But I can buy an iPod for that.
Not recommended.
Pros: music features are great, speakers are crisp and clear
Cons: battery life is non-existent, phone call quality is awful
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire

battery bad ? look at my discription

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
htc4life
From:  simivalley, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great phone battery life is good , but I had a power drain until I charged it in safe mode and restarted it , all I can ask for is a brighter notification light and more megapixels
Pros: everything
Cons: notification light
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire

Battery life killed after update

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TooMuchBoost
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I switched from Verizon, and am happy withe the service on this phone. The phone it self is good too .It's very fast, and the sound quality is excellent. Although i wish it was more places in my area where i could get 4G\, but recently I got an update for 4.4.2 and it has killed my battery life. Before the update my battery would last all day with heavy usage, but now in standby it won't last half a day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ccoral1
 
Please wait while more information about Ccoral1 is loaded.
Additional information about Ccoral1 could not be loaded.
I had the same battery drain issue until....
Posted July 9, 2014
I reset my phone back to factory settings. Before that however, I was getting significantly worse battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
4n6dna
Medina, OH
 
Please wait while more information about 4n6dna is loaded.
Additional information about 4n6dna could not be loaded.
Kitkat battery life
Posted July 9, 2014
After force closing Google Play Services a couple of times (that seems to be the source of the problem) and restarting my phone, this problem mysteriously went away. I hope you will be as lucky. I see reports of this issue on many other phones BTW.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for HTC Desire

Good...but could be better

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SouringOnHTC
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had the phone for about 4 months. I like it but it does have some weaknesses.
1) Battery life - to get through an average day one MUST use all the power saving settings and tricks. I've gone to carrying an external battery/recharger which I have to use after about 8 hours of light use
2) Camera - not great and essentially worthless in low light
3) Phone performance degradation is very obvious after 4 months of light use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire

This Phone is Amazing

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lucas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
its faster and way easier to use than any other phone i have had, also it just updated to 4.4.2 instead of 4.2 which makes it even better
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire

Great phone for doe

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lamar6wunts9Debussy
From:  downtown compton
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE... I SWITCHED FROM VERIZON IPHONE 4S, IT IS WAY FASTER AND IT HAS 4G!!! I EASILY HAVE 200 APPS INSTALLED, AND IT IS STILL VERY FAST.
THE FRONT FACEING SPEAKERS MAKE YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE ACTUALLY IN THE VIDEO ......
BUY IT!!!!!!!
Pros: performance
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire

Great phone

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SarahAlex
From:  Dallas, Ga
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this phone after my iphone breaking and I couldn't be happier. I switched from an IPhone 4 with AT&T and I was a little wary of switching, but when I got my phone it proved me wrong. The camera and the quality is great. The apps and features are also wonderful. The battery life goes a little fast, but so did my Iphone. As a teenager I'm always on social networking sites such as SnapChat, Facebook and Kik so it's going to drain quicker than normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire

highly recommend

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
tjrc7777
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent phone, with outstanding sound, good features. All in all a typical HTC phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire

Incredible phone!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mikesaxclar
From:  Fresno
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Desire has been awesome! Been using it since December and has been a nearly perfect device (couldn't we all use more battery life). Makes it through the day most of the time.
When on LTE that is incredible (don't have it in my local area but had great results when traveling!)
Screen is awesome to look at and the Gorrilla Glass has been as advertised! No scratches so far!
Boom sound speakers are incredible for listening to music, movies, or whatever and voice calls are very clear!
Apps work smooth and fast and this phone just feels way more expensive than it is!
Pros: boom sound front facing speakers, speed and ease of use, blinkfeed, built in fm radio
Cons: battery life could be better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire

A great Mid-range device!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Androidfan36
From:  Ann Arbor MI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let's be honest, you're not always going to have the latest and greatest phone on a pre-paid plan, unless you wanna shell out big $$ (which kind of defeats the purpose of going with a pre-paid plan). This phone is actually somewhat of a downgrade from my EVO LTE, but it's still a great phone for it's price point, and has plenty of features. My only complaints are that it doesn't have Beats Audio, which considering it's billed as a music-lover's phone is pretty odd, and it is REALLY difficult to find a decent case for it. There are plenty of cheap snap-on cases online, but very few quality cases. Other than that, it performs very well, the screen is very vibrant and sharp despite the lack of full HD, and the camera takes very good pictures for a 5 megapixel camera. I can't really tell the difference from the 8 MP camera on my EVO, but megapixels only matter for certain kinds of picture taking. For everyday use, the camera is more than ample. The front facing speakers are AWESOME! They are loud and the sound quality is great! I read a lot of complaints about the battery before I bought it, but it's pretty comparable to just about every smart phone I've ever had. One other common complaint is that the phone heats up fast when in use, and I have found this to be true. I imagine it has to do with the phone's plastic body, which doesn't feel terribly rugged, so I would definitely get some kind of case for it. I also read a review that said it doesn't have NFC, but it does. So no worries if that's important to you (I barely use it).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Androidfan36
Ann Arbor MI
 
Please wait while more information about Androidfan36 is loaded.
Additional information about Androidfan36 could not be loaded.
Posted July 24, 2014
Condescending semantic arguments aside, having Beats turned on with my old EVO made a noticeable difference in not just the volume, but overall quality of the sound. Especially when using my Bose headphones ( Beats headphones are terrible). Because another thing that "educated users" know is that mp3 quality is garbage already, and using a cheap pair of headphones makes it much worse. So anything that can help restore the recording quality to is its desired state is helpful for the true music lover.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Ccoral1
 
Please wait while more information about Ccoral1 is loaded.
Additional information about Ccoral1 could not be loaded.
It's just a name.
Posted July 9, 2014
"Beats Audio" is just a marketing term from Monster. It holds no value whatsoever to educated users.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for HTC Desire

Dislike this phone more then any phone I've owned. Junk

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
annoyed1234
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would not purchase if I knew then what I know now .
-30points
1of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...10next>>