Customer Reviews for HTC Desire

HTC Desire

Maximize your listening pleasure with the HTC Desire®, featuring HTC BoomSound™ - dual front-facing stereo speakers with built-in amps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(206 Reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 206 reviews
5 stars
132
4 stars
38
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
8
168 out of 19885%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire
Review 1 for HTC Desire

Full feature phone that keeps working.

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JonFromDownTheStreet
From:  Norman, OK
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life far surpasses any other good smartphone including iPhone. My connection is faster to load web pages than iPhone users, and this phone is slim like an ipod touch. Camera isn't the highest resolution but focuses very fast. It loads navigation fast enough to realize you are lost and then have turn by turn directions loaded before a stop light turns green.. Don't use it while driving though! Except with pandora through your head unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire

Pretty good phone

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LoveSports
From:  Berkeley, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's a pretty legit phone. I liked how unlike my previous phone, it doesn't crash or freeze. The sound quality is pretty awesome! Battery life is meh, but that's a lot of smartphones for you. Overall a pretty nice product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire

Awful phone.

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LCMills123
From:  Columbus, OH
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
How does this phone have 4.3 stars? I'm not sure how one can give this phone anything higher than a one or two-star review. HTC sync is garbage, and does nothing to back up any actual info. So, if a factory reset is needed, all contacts, calendar, pictures, etc are lost. Camera quality is terrible; It's obvious HTC has done nothing to upgrade this feature since the droid incredible. Battery drains like crazy. phone overheats and often shuts off. The slowest, laggiest phone I've ever owned. The only good thing about this phone are the speakers. The pros outweigh the cons on this one, so I wouldn't even recommend this piece of trash to my worst enemy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire

An alright phone.

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
CoolGee
From:  Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone is an OK phone. The battery is not what its cracked out to be. The phone can be on airplane mode and still die.
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire

Been looking to upgrade to this model.

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bedlam2014
From:  Upstate NY
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I want to say first, that the reviewer who said this phone has no auto focus for the camera, should check the manual. it is there. it is on the 510, you can bet even without reading the manual (i did read the manual) it would be on the upgraded model.
I had the chance of checking one of these out, and decided i might give HTC another chance down the road. my only problem with HTC at least towards this model is what i have towards all HTC models after owning one... BLOATWARE.
Aside from the lack of flash, and storage space due to bloatware on the 510's limited 4gb, i would have kept it. i moved to an LG tribute, and might stay for a while, but i believe this HTC Desire 610 will be the phone i will go to. it has the 510s vibrant display, a better camera WITH AUTO FOCUS, and double the storage of the 510 or the tribute even with the usual HTC and Virgin mobile bloatware. seems to have all the necessary features of the 816 with a smaller screen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Desire

BEWARE THE BATTERY LIFE

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
stevelake
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great phone great price but am a seasoned droid user and know the tricks but you can watch the battery drain fast. bad bad bad. my old LG volt hardly ever needed charging. yes I turn btooth and everything else off. dim outside in sunlight. bad battery life. big cons against a great phone.
Pros: price performance
Cons: battery life, dim in sunlight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire

Great Phone, Exellent Battery life!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BikerDick
From:  Detroit, MI
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone has a lot of great features. It works well, has a great camera with a flash, and the battery is the best I've ever had from a factory battery. I can use it all day without any problem, and I use facebook and send tons of texts. The one thing that you must do is download Advanced Task Killer Free from the play store. I was having the battery overheating problem that one other reviewer has mentioned. This is the fix. No more overheating and the battery lasts and lasts. The other thing you need to do is disable the ridiculous home screen...I forget what it's called. Since the update, you can shut it off... this is perfect. Good phone, you'll like it.
Pros: battery life!
Cons: the ridiculous home screen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire

Love HTC phones, a little disappointed with my model

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Machuchal
From:  Sebring, FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HTC Desire 510 is a great value, does everything I need with only one disappointment: the camera doesn't have auto focus. I don't care much for the pixels, but the auto focus is very important to make the phone work with certain apps, mainly scanning applications to use with bar codes and others. I also found out I can't use it with my bank's online application for the same reason, it won't let you scan checks to be deposited in my account. I can't believe such a reputable manufacturer will skimp on the auto focus feature.
Pros: product quality
Cons: lack auto focus
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire

Great Phone

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LeeLA123
From:  Washington, DC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently brought this phone and its amazing ! Got it for a great price, features are awsome, easy to use, and battery life is EXCELLENT. Only issues I have is on my third day of having the phone it started to spaz out. I tried restarting, powering off, taking out the battery, even restarting the touch calibration and the phone continued to have issues. I don't know if all HTC Desire phones have this issue or not. Also it has no flash. Other than that it is a great phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BikerDick
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about BikerDick is loaded.
Additional information about BikerDick could not be loaded.
Spaz phone?
Posted December 21, 2014
It's not supposed to do that, Leela. Oh...and it DOES have a flash. Either something is wrong with it, or it's not turned on! I have done stuff like this, I'm not trying to insult! Go to the camera and look for the little lightning bolt in the upper right corner.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for HTC Desire

Battery Life

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jesmis
From:  B'ham, AL
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have almost had this phone for about a year. The past 3 months the phone has been saying Smith has stop. Then the battery overheats like nothing to it. I have try taking it out of the cases, but it still over heat. I know I can put it down for about a hour or so and not touch it and the battery life be down to 40% even if it was just on a 100% an hour ago. I loved this phone at the start because of the loud speakers, but then the speakers started to not be so loud. Then sometimes a factory reset is needed.
Pros: speakers
Cons: system, battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Mimi86
Brooklyn,new york
 
Please wait while more information about Mimi86 is loaded.
Additional information about Mimi86 could not be loaded.
lol who is smith?
Posted January 18, 2015
i'm having the same problem when i restart the phone i also see smith has stop hahaha i have no idea what that is does anyone else knows ?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
BikerDick
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about BikerDick is loaded.
Additional information about BikerDick could not be loaded.
Battery overheating FIX
Posted December 21, 2014
Mine did that, too. I sent one back because of that issue. The current one did the same thing until I downloaded Advanced Task Killer Free from the play store. This COMPLETELY fixed the issue. I have it set to kill everything except messages. Everything works fine, and NO overheating. The battery life is excellent! TRY this, it works! Mine says "smith" at the top too. I have no idea what that is, but it doesn't hurt anything.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
nmilj
 
Please wait while more information about nmilj is loaded.
Additional information about nmilj could not be loaded.
Posted November 30, 2014
if you force stop and disable google play service, the battery life will go back to normal. You will get a bunch of error messages from some apps that require google play service, but most of the functionality will be just fine. That's how I've been operating for the last 2 months.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
dimedown22
 
Please wait while more information about dimedown22 is loaded.
Additional information about dimedown22 could not be loaded.
Posted November 26, 2014
I have been receiving that same message that "smith" has stop working... who is smith...lol and what did you do to resolve this issue?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 11 for HTC Desire

Not perfect, but not bad

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
cicelyqed
From:  Ithaca, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From the day I got it almost a year ago, I've had some trouble with it- When first turning it on, it wanted to download an update which it claimed to not have enough hard drive space for.... a few days later, it somehow found the space and updated and that never bothered me again.
However, every time it turns on, a message flashes 4-5 times "Unfortunately, Virgin Featured Apps has stopped"... Not that I use the featured apps, or even know what they are, but the message is annoying.
Also, some people have complained about the battery life, and I will agree with them... However, my complaint is that the battery life is very inconsistent. One day, it will run out of battery without me using it (and in airplane mode!) within 4 hours... The next, I can use it constantly and it still lasts me all day.
Overall, despite some flaws in functioning, it is a good phone... The touch screen may be a little too sensitive sometimes, but it has plenty of features, pretty good reception, a good amount of hard drive (and plenty of expansion space!) and a really good camera.
Pros: camera, swype, screen size, front speakers
Cons: battery life, can be confusing to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire

there is nothing better than this phone.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
nataliem
From:  brooklyn, ny
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never had an iphone and i wont ever get one so i decided to go with this android which was my first major phone buy and so far i am nothing but satisfied. The features are great and easy to use on an everyday basis. The apps run great, only issue is leaving the apps running kills battery life but you can control that in your setting. As someone who doesnt know much about technology, i love this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire

I used to love this phone until I upgraded to Kit Kat.

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Marlenangel
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone used to be great, and then it asked me if I wanted to update the OS to Android Kit Kat. I didn't really need to update the OS, but I figured "What as the harm?" Boy, did I make a mistake. Now I'm lucky if the battery lasts until noon time. If you have this phone, do not upgrade the OS.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire

software update destroyed my phone

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
brint12d12n
From:  Mandeville,la
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My first phone the screen cracked to easy. And my 2nd one after software update does not read sd card, runs slow, hurt my battery life. I actually destroyed the phone.
Pros: easy to use and features
Cons: performance and some issues when software was upd
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire

Function deteriorates quickly

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
monkeyseemonkeydo
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone about 6 months ago and initially it was great - easy to use, very nice looking screen, all the features you could want, but that goes downhill very quickly. Now it drains its battery extremely quickly, even if I have closed all background apps and am not using it. If I do use it, to look at a website or chat with people, it barely lasts half of a day. The phone will randomly turn itself off and freezes frequently. It's frustrating to have spent so much money on a phone that basically only worked well for a few months. This phone is pretty, but unless you're getting it for free, I wouldn't spend any money on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire

Cool features for the price

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
KyoceraFannotanymore
From:  Tucson, AZ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received this phone in February and it was great when I first got it, but now that it is October, I'm in serious need for a new phone. I don't have much saved on this phone, or take a ton of pictures, but this phone slowed down incredibly. It constantly freezes and and overheats. The battery life is almost non-existent.
I love the look of this phone and the audio is great when playing music. Pictures come out beautifully and crisp, but it gets really hot.
Pros: screen, camera, audio
Cons: battery life, slow processor, overheats
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire

Poor battery life

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pepi
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just going to say that the phone is good but the battery life is really bad.Believe me I tried everything and nothing is working.Just when the phone decides to eat the battery you have to reset it some times few times before stops draining the battery,it gets really warm it can eat 20% for 1hour,without touching it !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire

Nice Features, Easy to use, but the battery becomes terrible over 3-4 months time

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
briakiri
From:  maryland
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for almost a year now (May i also note the phone was, and currently is in good condition with no cracks scratches burns or anything bizarre)..When I first purchased the phone I was very impressed. The battery lasted very long, it was easy to use and I loved the features it came with like swipe. The picture and video quality were both fine in my taste. However, over a period of a couple months(2-4) after i purchased this phone, the battery did not last long at all. I tried doing things like not keeping it in the charger after its 100 percent charged and such. Used tips & advice from friends and the internet to keep the battery going longer. Turning my brightness down to the lowest setting, power saver on, and even turning off wifi and mobile data all day to only use my phone for important calls & texts while im out or at work. It did not make a difference. The battery depletes by the minute. im talking about it being 100 percent and me taking it off the charger, then i walk maybe 10 minutes to get to my local bus stop and its at 40 percent. It is very disappointing. Then it takes a MUCH longer time to get a charge out of the thing. Since then it has only gotten worse with performance with random crashes, where it will just shut off, it will overheat easily or it will just glitch. The touch screen will freeze or do a million clicks i myself am not doing. sometimes its hard to send a text to someone alone. I suppose buying a new battery and portable chargers will be my temporary fix until i can purchase a new phone with virgin mobile or with another carrier if i choose. Otherwise the phone is not too heavy, defiantly not bulky. I loved the widgets and swype and the things you could do to personalize it. the sound quality on the phone is very nice. If the battery was not so poor this phone would definatly have gotten a better rating from me, simply because if the battery doesnt hold for my needs...then its really not a reliable phone in those situations where i will need it. another strage thing to finally add on the battery note. whenever i go to work or i go out, i also turn off my phone until i need it to make a call or call a taxi or whatever be the case and somehow the battery depletes by 10 percent from when i turned it off when i turn it back on..that also is problematic.
Pros: easy to use, not heavy or bulky, good soundvideo and picture quality
Cons: battery quality goes down insanely over time, phone does not hold a charge over time, takes longer to charge over time, phone will have glitches and shut downs over time, reacts slow to clicks over time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire

Some what disappointed

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
milwwi
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this phone today to upgrade from my S2. First off the when you tip the phone the screen changes to where it is hard to see. Next the messaging app does not display contact names then like magic they appear then disappear. I reasearched this and found this is a known issue. VM doesn't push software updates so I downloaded another sms app. One last thing the camera does have a flash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Desire

This product is basic

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bcase
From:  Maryland
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about a year now and it is nothing fantastic, nice ease of use though. This phone will use your data up very fast, even with unlimited data, i get a text about ten days into each months notifying me that i have used all my high speed data and the speeds will be slowed. The battery life is awful. I charge my phone overnight and after about five hours it is dead. This is provided i am not listening to music, playing games etc. Basically, if you get this phone, it is nice, the speakers are great, but i did find the screen scratches easily, but will not easily be cracked. Call quality is nice too, but the camera isn't all that great, it does take nice pictures from the back but the front camera is awful. I would recommend this phone if you dont mind keeping it charged and dont often use the front camera, otherwise i would recommend you try a different phone.
Pros: call quality, ease of use, price, display
Cons: camera, battery life, data usage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...11next>>