Customer Reviews for HTC Desire

HTC Desire

Maximize your listening pleasure with the HTC Desire®, featuring HTC BoomSound™ - dual front-facing stereo speakers with built-in amps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(199 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 199 reviews
5 stars
130
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
7
162 out of 19185%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire
Review 1 for HTC Desire

Love HTC phones, a little disappointed with my model

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Machuchal
From:  Sebring, FL
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HTC Desire 510 is a great value, does everything I need with only one disappointment: the camera doesn't have auto focus. I don't care much for the pixels, but the auto focus is very important to make the phone work with certain apps, mainly scanning applications to use with bar codes and others. I also found out I can't use it with my bank's online application for the same reason, it won't let you scan checks to be deposited in my account. I can't believe such a reputable manufacturer will skimp on the auto focus feature.
Pros: product quality
Cons: lack auto focus
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire

Great Phone

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
LeeLA123
From:  Washington, DC
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently brought this phone and its amazing ! Got it for a great price, features are awsome, easy to use, and battery life is EXCELLENT. Only issues I have is on my third day of having the phone it started to spaz out. I tried restarting, powering off, taking out the battery, even restarting the touch calibration and the phone continued to have issues. I don't know if all HTC Desire phones have this issue or not. Also it has no flash. Other than that it is a great phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BikerDick
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about BikerDick is loaded.
Additional information about BikerDick could not be loaded.
Spaz phone?
Posted December 21, 2014
It's not supposed to do that, Leela. Oh...and it DOES have a flash. Either something is wrong with it, or it's not turned on! I have done stuff like this, I'm not trying to insult! Go to the camera and look for the little lightning bolt in the upper right corner.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for HTC Desire

Battery Life

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jesmis
From:  B'ham, AL
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have almost had this phone for about a year. The past 3 months the phone has been saying Smith has stop. Then the battery overheats like nothing to it. I have try taking it out of the cases, but it still over heat. I know I can put it down for about a hour or so and not touch it and the battery life be down to 40% even if it was just on a 100% an hour ago. I loved this phone at the start because of the loud speakers, but then the speakers started to not be so loud. Then sometimes a factory reset is needed.
Pros: speakers
Cons: system, battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
BikerDick
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about BikerDick is loaded.
Additional information about BikerDick could not be loaded.
Battery overheating FIX
Posted December 21, 2014
Mine did that, too. I sent one back because of that issue. The current one did the same thing until I downloaded Advanced Task Killer Free from the play store. This COMPLETELY fixed the issue. I have it set to kill everything except messages. Everything works fine, and NO overheating. The battery life is excellent! TRY this, it works! Mine says "smith" at the top too. I have no idea what that is, but it doesn't hurt anything.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
nmilj
 
Please wait while more information about nmilj is loaded.
Additional information about nmilj could not be loaded.
Posted November 30, 2014
if you force stop and disable google play service, the battery life will go back to normal. You will get a bunch of error messages from some apps that require google play service, but most of the functionality will be just fine. That's how I've been operating for the last 2 months.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
dimedown22
 
Please wait while more information about dimedown22 is loaded.
Additional information about dimedown22 could not be loaded.
Posted November 26, 2014
I have been receiving that same message that "smith" has stop working... who is smith...lol and what did you do to resolve this issue?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for HTC Desire

Not perfect, but not bad

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
cicelyqed
From:  Ithaca, NY
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From the day I got it almost a year ago, I've had some trouble with it- When first turning it on, it wanted to download an update which it claimed to not have enough hard drive space for.... a few days later, it somehow found the space and updated and that never bothered me again.
However, every time it turns on, a message flashes 4-5 times "Unfortunately, Virgin Featured Apps has stopped"... Not that I use the featured apps, or even know what they are, but the message is annoying.
Also, some people have complained about the battery life, and I will agree with them... However, my complaint is that the battery life is very inconsistent. One day, it will run out of battery without me using it (and in airplane mode!) within 4 hours... The next, I can use it constantly and it still lasts me all day.
Overall, despite some flaws in functioning, it is a good phone... The touch screen may be a little too sensitive sometimes, but it has plenty of features, pretty good reception, a good amount of hard drive (and plenty of expansion space!) and a really good camera.
Pros: camera, swype, screen size, front speakers
Cons: battery life, can be confusing to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire

there is nothing better than this phone.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
nataliem
From:  brooklyn, ny
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never had an iphone and i wont ever get one so i decided to go with this android which was my first major phone buy and so far i am nothing but satisfied. The features are great and easy to use on an everyday basis. The apps run great, only issue is leaving the apps running kills battery life but you can control that in your setting. As someone who doesnt know much about technology, i love this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HTC Desire

I used to love this phone until I upgraded to Kit Kat.

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Marlenangel
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone used to be great, and then it asked me if I wanted to update the OS to Android Kit Kat. I didn't really need to update the OS, but I figured "What as the harm?" Boy, did I make a mistake. Now I'm lucky if the battery lasts until noon time. If you have this phone, do not upgrade the OS.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire

software update destroyed my phone

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
brint12d12n
From:  Mandeville,la
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My first phone the screen cracked to easy. And my 2nd one after software update does not read sd card, runs slow, hurt my battery life. I actually destroyed the phone.
Pros: easy to use and features
Cons: performance and some issues when software was upd
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire

Function deteriorates quickly

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
monkeyseemonkeydo
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone about 6 months ago and initially it was great - easy to use, very nice looking screen, all the features you could want, but that goes downhill very quickly. Now it drains its battery extremely quickly, even if I have closed all background apps and am not using it. If I do use it, to look at a website or chat with people, it barely lasts half of a day. The phone will randomly turn itself off and freezes frequently. It's frustrating to have spent so much money on a phone that basically only worked well for a few months. This phone is pretty, but unless you're getting it for free, I wouldn't spend any money on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire

Cool features for the price

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
KyoceraFannotanymore
From:  Tucson, AZ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received this phone in February and it was great when I first got it, but now that it is October, I'm in serious need for a new phone. I don't have much saved on this phone, or take a ton of pictures, but this phone slowed down incredibly. It constantly freezes and and overheats. The battery life is almost non-existent.
I love the look of this phone and the audio is great when playing music. Pictures come out beautifully and crisp, but it gets really hot.
Pros: screen, camera, audio
Cons: battery life, slow processor, overheats
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire

Poor battery life

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pepi
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just going to say that the phone is good but the battery life is really bad.Believe me I tried everything and nothing is working.Just when the phone decides to eat the battery you have to reset it some times few times before stops draining the battery,it gets really warm it can eat 20% for 1hour,without touching it !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire

Nice Features, Easy to use, but the battery becomes terrible over 3-4 months time

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
briakiri
From:  maryland
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for almost a year now (May i also note the phone was, and currently is in good condition with no cracks scratches burns or anything bizarre)..When I first purchased the phone I was very impressed. The battery lasted very long, it was easy to use and I loved the features it came with like swipe. The picture and video quality were both fine in my taste. However, over a period of a couple months(2-4) after i purchased this phone, the battery did not last long at all. I tried doing things like not keeping it in the charger after its 100 percent charged and such. Used tips & advice from friends and the internet to keep the battery going longer. Turning my brightness down to the lowest setting, power saver on, and even turning off wifi and mobile data all day to only use my phone for important calls & texts while im out or at work. It did not make a difference. The battery depletes by the minute. im talking about it being 100 percent and me taking it off the charger, then i walk maybe 10 minutes to get to my local bus stop and its at 40 percent. It is very disappointing. Then it takes a MUCH longer time to get a charge out of the thing. Since then it has only gotten worse with performance with random crashes, where it will just shut off, it will overheat easily or it will just glitch. The touch screen will freeze or do a million clicks i myself am not doing. sometimes its hard to send a text to someone alone. I suppose buying a new battery and portable chargers will be my temporary fix until i can purchase a new phone with virgin mobile or with another carrier if i choose. Otherwise the phone is not too heavy, defiantly not bulky. I loved the widgets and swype and the things you could do to personalize it. the sound quality on the phone is very nice. If the battery was not so poor this phone would definatly have gotten a better rating from me, simply because if the battery doesnt hold for my needs...then its really not a reliable phone in those situations where i will need it. another strage thing to finally add on the battery note. whenever i go to work or i go out, i also turn off my phone until i need it to make a call or call a taxi or whatever be the case and somehow the battery depletes by 10 percent from when i turned it off when i turn it back on..that also is problematic.
Pros: easy to use, not heavy or bulky, good soundvideo and picture quality
Cons: battery quality goes down insanely over time, phone does not hold a charge over time, takes longer to charge over time, phone will have glitches and shut downs over time, reacts slow to clicks over time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire

Some what disappointed

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
milwwi
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this phone today to upgrade from my S2. First off the when you tip the phone the screen changes to where it is hard to see. Next the messaging app does not display contact names then like magic they appear then disappear. I reasearched this and found this is a known issue. VM doesn't push software updates so I downloaded another sms app. One last thing the camera does have a flash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HTC Desire

This product is basic

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bcase
From:  Maryland
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about a year now and it is nothing fantastic, nice ease of use though. This phone will use your data up very fast, even with unlimited data, i get a text about ten days into each months notifying me that i have used all my high speed data and the speeds will be slowed. The battery life is awful. I charge my phone overnight and after about five hours it is dead. This is provided i am not listening to music, playing games etc. Basically, if you get this phone, it is nice, the speakers are great, but i did find the screen scratches easily, but will not easily be cracked. Call quality is nice too, but the camera isn't all that great, it does take nice pictures from the back but the front camera is awful. I would recommend this phone if you dont mind keeping it charged and dont often use the front camera, otherwise i would recommend you try a different phone.
Pros: call quality, ease of use, price, display
Cons: camera, battery life, data usage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire

Great!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
milklover
From:  NY
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is great! It has a nice designs, great features and overall great performance. I just didn't like the battery life, it goes down too quick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire

A great phone!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Deathcom6
From:  Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 2-3 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone because I have always like HTC products, so based on all its specs written I liked what I was reading as well as the size. When this phone arrived I fell in love with it instantly, the sleek desgine, the screen size, all its apps and features.I have now owned this phone for two years apoximately, and I still love this phone as much as I did the day I purcahsed it. I use this phone for everything from social networking, watching netflix, taking photos, browsing the web and everything in between! I may actually re-buy this phone when I need an upgrade I love it that much!! my only complaint is over time the battery life dwindles and will only last about six to ten hours before you have to charge it again, but there are always larger battery options out there.
Pros: screen size, amazing performance, sleek design, beautiful phone
Cons: short battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire

Upset Once Again

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LetDownGirl
From:  Lake Havasu City, AZ
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone after my Samsung Galaxy Ring started acting up, and 2 days later I had to return it because it kept freezing and shutting off on its own. I got a replacement just to find out the new phone was worse! After 2 weeks it kept messing up like the previous phone and then *poof!* it shut down and cant be turned back on. I didn't drop it, get it wet, or anything like that! Im scared to buy another phone from here because of my bad experiences, and id go elsewhere if I had better credit.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire

definitely great phone for price

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BIXdubs
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is great for anyone who wants a efficient phone but doesn't use a ton of processing power.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HTC Desire

Love this phone.....but

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
jaws76
From:  Sterling Heights, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Most likely I was one of the first to own this phone. I got it the first day it was available. I found out quickly that "Blink Feed" changed the way I used my phone for news and social media. The size of the phone and rear cover texture makes for a great combo. The "boom sound" speakers are absolutely awesome. The call quality is good, 4G on this phone works great, and I always seem to be in 4G service areas where I live. The camera isn't the greatest and ZOE only works if your sd card is a high grade card. The only design flaw I can find is the power/sleep button, it would be better on the side rather then on top. If your like me and keep your phone in your pocket then prepare to hear the start up tone over and over again. After almost ten months of use the battery only holds a charge for about eight hours. By the time I get out of work I need to charge it because the battery is totally dead. At first the battery would last all day and into the night with heavy use. So due to the battery (that I could probably just change because it's removable, but I wont) I'm looking at a new phone (HTC desire816). The great thing about a pre-paid service like Virgin is that the phones are repetitively inexpensive and there are no upgrade fees. Overall this phone is worth buying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire

battery life slows dramatically after a few months

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
tasiam
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for a few months now and after a good start, the battery life is now dramatically worse than it was when it was new. Even when the phone sits idle in my pocket, or if I send just one or two texts, the battery will be dead after 4-5 hours. If I actually make any calls, take any pictures, or go online for any length of time, I get 2-3 hours max. It's unfortunate because other than that, it's a decent phone for the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MinneapolisUser
Minneapolis, MN
 
Please wait while more information about MinneapolisUser is loaded.
Additional information about MinneapolisUser could not be loaded.
Same experience
Posted August 28, 2014
6 - 8 weeks after I got this phone the battery would not hold a charge. The screen is beautiful, the processor is lightening fast, but I had to buy a different phone. There's enough to do in a day without having to constantly check if your phone has juice.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for HTC Desire

Its a nice phone.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kacy97
From:  Hagerstown
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's a nice phone. The camera itself is pretty nice, but the front camera, not so much. its sound quality is incredible . & the phone is very hard to break.
Pros: calls. the speaker. display.
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...10next>>