Customer Reviews for HTC Desire

HTC Desire

Maximize your listening pleasure with the HTC Desire®, featuring HTC BoomSound™ - dual front-facing stereo speakers with built-in amps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.466 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(178 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
5 stars
126
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 star
5
152 out of 17189%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for HTC Desire
Review 1 for HTC Desire

Piece of junk

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Current Owner? Yes
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The battery life is too short for a rather featureless phone. The price is rather high for a featureless phone. This phone restarts randomly as well. My last HTC phone was much better. This thing heats up if you run more than one app and the power light starts blinking orange. Often get the message that the device is not charging when hooked up to USB. Difficult to get the back cover off to remove the battery when the piece of junk locks up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HTC Desire

Its decent

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
stadman
From:  New Ulm, Mn
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ive had this phone for about nine months now. The battery life was great for first six but now is getting weaker, overall phone is pretty good for price, only downside is camera isnt the greatest
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HTC Desire

7 months and the battery's dead

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cathalain
From:  Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product in December of 2013. 7 months later, the battery no longer holds a charge and I have to recharge it twice a day just for it to function. The phone quality is DISMAL - I often have to shout in order to be heard. Definitely not worth the money I spent for it.
The only good thing about this phone is the music features - that IS a bonus on this and the sound quality is great. But I can buy an iPod for that.
Not recommended.
Pros: music features are great, speakers are crisp and clear
Cons: battery life is non-existent, phone call quality is awful
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HTC Desire

battery bad ? look at my discription

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
htc4life
From:  simivalley, ca
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great phone battery life is good , but I had a power drain until I charged it in safe mode and restarted it , all I can ask for is a brighter notification light and more megapixels
Pros: everything
Cons: notification light
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HTC Desire

Battery life killed after update

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TooMuchBoost
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I switched from Verizon, and am happy withe the service on this phone. The phone it self is good too .It's very fast, and the sound quality is excellent. Although i wish it was more places in my area where i could get 4G\, but recently I got an update for 4.4.2 and it has killed my battery life. Before the update my battery would last all day with heavy usage, but now in standby it won't last half a day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ccoral1
 
Please wait while more information about Ccoral1 is loaded.
Additional information about Ccoral1 could not be loaded.
I had the same battery drain issue until....
Posted July 9, 2014
I reset my phone back to factory settings. Before that however, I was getting significantly worse battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
4n6dna
Medina, OH
 
Please wait while more information about 4n6dna is loaded.
Additional information about 4n6dna could not be loaded.
Kitkat battery life
Posted July 9, 2014
After force closing Google Play Services a couple of times (that seems to be the source of the problem) and restarting my phone, this problem mysteriously went away. I hope you will be as lucky. I see reports of this issue on many other phones BTW.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for HTC Desire

Good...but could be better

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SouringOnHTC
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had the phone for about 4 months. I like it but it does have some weaknesses.
1) Battery life - to get through an average day one MUST use all the power saving settings and tricks. I've gone to carrying an external battery/recharger which I have to use after about 8 hours of light use
2) Camera - not great and essentially worthless in low light
3) Phone performance degradation is very obvious after 4 months of light use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HTC Desire

This Phone is Amazing

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lucas
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
its faster and way easier to use than any other phone i have had, also it just updated to 4.4.2 instead of 4.2 which makes it even better
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HTC Desire

Great phone for doe

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lamar6wunts9Debussy
From:  downtown compton
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE... I SWITCHED FROM VERIZON IPHONE 4S, IT IS WAY FASTER AND IT HAS 4G!!! I EASILY HAVE 200 APPS INSTALLED, AND IT IS STILL VERY FAST.
THE FRONT FACEING SPEAKERS MAKE YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE ACTUALLY IN THE VIDEO ......
BUY IT!!!!!!!
Pros: performance
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HTC Desire

Great phone

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SarahAlex
From:  Dallas, Ga
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this phone after my iphone breaking and I couldn't be happier. I switched from an IPhone 4 with AT&T and I was a little wary of switching, but when I got my phone it proved me wrong. The camera and the quality is great. The apps and features are also wonderful. The battery life goes a little fast, but so did my Iphone. As a teenager I'm always on social networking sites such as SnapChat, Facebook and Kik so it's going to drain quicker than normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HTC Desire

highly recommend

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
tjrc7777
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent phone, with outstanding sound, good features. All in all a typical HTC phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HTC Desire

Incredible phone!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mikesaxclar
From:  Fresno
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Desire has been awesome! Been using it since December and has been a nearly perfect device (couldn't we all use more battery life). Makes it through the day most of the time.
When on LTE that is incredible (don't have it in my local area but had great results when traveling!)
Screen is awesome to look at and the Gorrilla Glass has been as advertised! No scratches so far!
Boom sound speakers are incredible for listening to music, movies, or whatever and voice calls are very clear!
Apps work smooth and fast and this phone just feels way more expensive than it is!
Pros: boom sound front facing speakers, speed and ease of use, blinkfeed, built in fm radio
Cons: battery life could be better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HTC Desire

A great Mid-range device!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Androidfan36
From:  Ann Arbor MI
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let's be honest, you're not always going to have the latest and greatest phone on a pre-paid plan, unless you wanna shell out big $$ (which kind of defeats the purpose of going with a pre-paid plan). This phone is actually somewhat of a downgrade from my EVO LTE, but it's still a great phone for it's price point, and has plenty of features. My only complaints are that it doesn't have Beats Audio, which considering it's billed as a music-lover's phone is pretty odd, and it is REALLY difficult to find a decent case for it. There are plenty of cheap snap-on cases online, but very few quality cases. Other than that, it performs very well, the screen is very vibrant and sharp despite the lack of full HD, and the camera takes very good pictures for a 5 megapixel camera. I can't really tell the difference from the 8 MP camera on my EVO, but megapixels only matter for certain kinds of picture taking. For everyday use, the camera is more than ample. The front facing speakers are AWESOME! They are loud and the sound quality is great! I read a lot of complaints about the battery before I bought it, but it's pretty comparable to just about every smart phone I've ever had. One other common complaint is that the phone heats up fast when in use, and I have found this to be true. I imagine it has to do with the phone's plastic body, which doesn't feel terribly rugged, so I would definitely get some kind of case for it. I also read a review that said it doesn't have NFC, but it does. So no worries if that's important to you (I barely use it).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Androidfan36
Ann Arbor MI
 
Please wait while more information about Androidfan36 is loaded.
Additional information about Androidfan36 could not be loaded.
Posted July 24, 2014
Condescending semantic arguments aside, having Beats turned on with my old EVO made a noticeable difference in not just the volume, but overall quality of the sound. Especially when using my Bose headphones ( Beats headphones are terrible). Because another thing that "educated users" know is that mp3 quality is garbage already, and using a cheap pair of headphones makes it much worse. So anything that can help restore the recording quality to is its desired state is helpful for the true music lover.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Ccoral1
 
Please wait while more information about Ccoral1 is loaded.
Additional information about Ccoral1 could not be loaded.
It's just a name.
Posted July 9, 2014
"Beats Audio" is just a marketing term from Monster. It holds no value whatsoever to educated users.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for HTC Desire

Dislike this phone more then any phone I've owned. Junk

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
annoyed1234
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would not purchase if I knew then what I know now .
-25points
1of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HTC Desire

HTC desire

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bellllllyz
From:  Houston
Age: Over 65
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has the worst battery life ever. It also overheats a lot and very easily. But the Speaker Is great. In my experience, sometimes i will put headphones in and it either doesn't read the headphones or it will play very low even if it is on the highest volume. The volume is good by the way. Camera quality is horrible. I will just recommend this phone for young teenagers instead of buying them the expensive phones, this phone comes in handy and has good apps. Space is good too. The phone doesn't scratch easily either. I dropped and threw it so many time and not one scratch.
Pros: volume, speaker, look
Cons: camera, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HTC Desire

Good Battery - LOUD Speakers

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MinneapolisUser
From:  Minneapolis, MN
Age: 45-54
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After having a phone where I constantly missed calls because the speaker was weak, this is overkill on the other end of the spectrum. Had to install an app to tone down the ringtone.
I actually use my phone as a phone, so call quality is very important to me. Call quality is excellent. I left a message on another phone so I could hear if the receiving call quality was good, and it is.
When my WiFi is acting up it switches seamlessly to 4G. Yay for that.
Battery life is surprisingly good on standby. A couple days, anyway. The battery charge does get eaten pretty quickly when using web services, especially games.
Some of the bloatware is kind of a drag, but at least personalization makes it easy to create a useful home screen.
I've had this phone for a month. The screen is Gorilla glass (at least on mine), for which I am thankful.
I am thrilled with this phone. Great price and value.
Pros: call quality, screen, battery
Cons: camera not great but serviceable, bloatware
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HTC Desire

Disappointed

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tank
From:  Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Purchased this phone after reading the reviews on here. Came to the conclusion this phone was not right for me after 1 day.. Returning it and getting the iphone
Pros: fast
Cons: not easy to use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HTC Desire

A killer phone:)

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
mtlman92
From:  carbondale Pennsylvania
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone is amazing. And the speakers are extremely loud and are amazingly crisp. And the phone is really fast.
Pros: everything is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
applegui
Venice, CA
 
Please wait while more information about applegui is loaded.
Additional information about applegui could not be loaded.
Is this Phone like the HTC One model?
Posted June 5, 2014
I was wondering if this model was pretty close to the HTC One model?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for HTC Desire

Perfect phone.

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Taani
Age: 25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this for a few months. (I swap phones a lot) .. and I loved it.
It never gave me a bit of problem, never froze, nothing.
The speakers are amazing too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HTC Desire

My phone just stopped working after less than 6 months of use

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
EHudd
From:  Fl
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My phone just stopped working after less than 6 months of use- i didnt drop it, nothing. The screen went blank and it was gone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HTC Desire

Filled with bloatware

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Crankypants
From:  Northern CA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Took a bit of getting used to, but it does what I want it to. I think it is filled with a lot of unnecessary stuff that I don't want or need -- and can't quite figure out how to uninstall. I am fairly scrupulous about shutting off the location services, wi-fi and data and only activating them when I want them, so I'm able to get 2-3 days out of a charge.
Pros: meh +
Cons: filled with unnecessary stuff
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...9next>>