Customer Reviews for iPhone 5s 16 GB

iPhone 5s 16 GB

The highly advanced iPhone 5s features the A7 chip with 64-bit architecture, the Touch ID fingerprint sensor, a new 8-megapixel iSight camera, a new FaceTime HD camera, ultrafast LTE wireless, iOS 7, and iCloud.
Average Customer Rating:
4.699 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
64 out of 6697%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5s 16 GB
Review 1 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Love this phone!

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sha0621
From:  Billerica, MA
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this phone but it has not been in stock for awhile! Wish Virgin Mobile would get more of the iPhone 5s 32GB in stock! If they don't, I might need to switch to another carrier (which I don't really want to do)!! Come on Virgin...make me happy!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DeeV
 
Please wait while more information about DeeV is loaded.
Additional information about DeeV could not be loaded.
Posted December 6, 2014
I'm having the same problem! I really just want to stay but not if they don't get the 5 S back in!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Great phone

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Neir
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Will virgin mobile get more iPhone 5s in stock ? And will the price go down for Christmas ?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Catsareawful
 
Please wait while more information about Catsareawful is loaded.
Additional information about Catsareawful could not be loaded.
Probably.
Posted December 14, 2014
They are probably trying to sell off all of them, including the 4, to make room for the iphone 6. They did the same thing with the Iphone 5. So its really a matter of waiting. And the price will probably no go down, as they may or may not even get more of the Iphone 5s.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

great

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kraken
From:  Bloomington, CA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? No
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you get one of these phones try not to lose it like i did.
Pros: os
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

best phone i ever had

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
phonegeek232
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ive been with android for a few years tried a few differnt devices they all kept freezing up they also did not last that long thats including samsung galaxy but when i got an iphone i got more features longer battery life and easier to use phone
Pros: battery, awesome features, nice in between size screen, performance
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Awesome phone, not so awesome battery

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mezacool2
From:  Lancaster, PA
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone. I was super excited when I got it in the mail in June. I was familiar with apple when I had purchased the phone and I felt like that really helped me with operating the phone. The phone handles great, and the finger print scanner is a major plus, it was one of the main reasons I bought it. The only problem is the battery and the fact the phone can overheat. If you have a case you don't really notice, but especially when you charge the phone, it has a tendency to get really hot on the back, but again this can be avoided by a case. The battery life is sub par. I can maybe get full usage for me (texting, music, email) out of about 4 hours at most, but again I use the phone for everything. Overall this is a great phone and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great smart phone with some awesome features.
Pros: great features, fits great in your hand
Cons: battery life, hot
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

It's okay, not that impressed.

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Heavendews
From:  Phoenix, AZ
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I gave 3 Stars for most parts because: 1) Screen is small. 2) I cannot play my music files from my PC that is running on Windows OS. 3) I cannot play video files from my PC. 4) It takes a long time to convert the files using iTune for music, and even longer for converting video files (software is not free). 5) If I take pictures/videos, or download music from iPhone and play on my PC, it a problem. These problems I did not know before purchased.6) Also, the "end" bottom on screen is not user friendly. I prefer the bottom on the Android phones better (you press it, and it goes back to previous page, or end the page). Besides these drawbacks, the phone is sleek, fast, and easy to use. I want another phone, but will wait for Galaxy S6 or iPhone 6P. Make your choice.
Pros: fast, sleek, easy to use
Cons: small screen., cannot play windows media files, end page bottom is not user friendly, take long to convert windows media files.
-24points
3of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ondi
 
Please wait while more information about Ondi is loaded.
Additional information about Ondi could not be loaded.
Did You Research Or Read Specs?
Posted October 7, 2014
I don't want you to think I'm being mean or disrespectful but I'm always amazed when people buy phones and say the screen is small etc. Maybe you should have done research and read the specs before buying. Mostly everyone knows the iPhone up until now have small screens. I would suggest everyone research as much as you can about any product before dropping a load of money on it. No excuse not to be informed about things in this day and age with all the resources we have such as internet search, YouTube etc.
+5points
6of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Finally, a phone with battery life!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
gamer777
From:  Glenview, IL
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 1-2 years
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love, love, love this phone. The call clarity is clear and no problems with reception. And, I play ALOT of games and the battery will last a full 24 hours. I imagine if I didn't play so many games, the battery would likely last days. Yes, you have to sacrifice a bigger screen but I wouldn't trade this phone for any other. Best cell I've ever owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Iphone 5s

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SashaWilliams
From:  North Carolina
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I ordered this phone in February and it came super fast. It's such a beautiful phone and it has grate features. The camera is awesome and semis the fingerprint scanner, it works every time. My only complaint is that I wish it had 4g and the freaking battery. The phone charges super quick but as soon as I unplug it and not even a minute later it will be at 97%. Overall I'm glad I made this purchase as I was upgrading from the Samsung Galaxy s3. Cant wait until ios8 update!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

IPhone 5s

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kiana
From:  Atlanta
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As eXpensive as this phone is i wouldve thought it would be a 4g phone & not a 3g. Its ok
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DanL
 
Please wait while more information about DanL is loaded.
Additional information about DanL could not be loaded.
iPhone 5s is 4G LTE and 3G
Posted November 22, 2014
The iPhone 5s can do both 4G LTE and 3G from the data/internet service on your plan. You need to go to the top of this page and click the Coverage Map to see where 4G LTE and 3G coverage is available. Coverage is not available everywhere. You can also get data/internet from Wi-Fi with the iPhone 5s.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
SolarisKnight81
 
Please wait while more information about SolarisKnight81 is loaded.
Additional information about SolarisKnight81 could not be loaded.
It is a LTE phone
Posted September 24, 2014
The iPhone 5s is an LTE phone, but you need to check the coverage in your area to see if you will receive LTE. My guess is you don't and that's why you see only 3G signal from your phone. Some carriers like AT&T and T-Mobile offer 4G coverage (not LTE, more like 3G on steroids), but since Virgin piggy backs off of Sprint's network, this is not an option.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

great phone love it

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
swimmer990
From:  north royalton ohio
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
best phone to date, has everything that you could ask for
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Amazing phone

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sirbb1290
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got this several months ago and I have absolutely loved this phone every second I've use it. It was totally worth the price to me. I really enjoy the fingerprint scanner and the slow-mo camera. The only thing that I don't love is the battery life it, but it's not terrible.
Pros: touch id, camera, looks awesome, tons of features
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Excellent phone

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jch062175
From:  Jacksonville, Florida
Age: 35-44
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first iphone and I could not be happier with it. It has everything you could ever need in a phone and more. I was a bit nervous about getting this phone at first, thinking I would not easily be able to navigate this phone, but the layout is so easy to follow, anyone from children to elderly people will find it extremely easy to navigate and use this wonderful product. I would most certainly recommend this phone to anyone of my family or friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

iPhone 5s

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cnorton1990
From:  North Arlington
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good phone. Videos play very will Without wifi outside.internet preTty good too.like the iphone 5s.apps download a little bit slow.this iphone runs faster internet then my brothers 5c he said his interneT is slow when it goes down to 3g.pick this phone over the 5c.better choIce. Smart Research and pick by me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

iPhone 5s

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Shammy
From:  New York, NY
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It a very nice phone with a good battery life. Had this phone for 4 months and 14 days. I upgraded from the HTC One V (huge upgrade). It lags sometimes but it cleared up when I restored my phone.
Pros: design touch id
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Awesome, Silver iPhone 5s!

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
nursejohn617
From:  Lowell, MA
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Decided to upgrade my 4s and can tell this is super light and super fast. Love the packaging and the earphones that come along with this is great! Had to protect my device right away so I went to my local Apple retailer and purchase a durable sleek case for just 35. If your looking for premium 5 star quality...choose Apple!
Pros: easy to use
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Great idea to switch over.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BigBen302
From:  Newark,DE
Age: 18-24
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The iPhone 5s is a great phone. On Virgin's network it is a great value, the service in my area (Newark, DE) is great and even though the map doesn't show, there is 4G is certain parts that my phone picked up. For the price I pay for service and the phone, I am saving thousands versus the competition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ceci
 
Please wait while more information about Ceci is loaded.
Additional information about Ceci could not be loaded.
question!
Posted August 4, 2014
Hi I have the HTC One V and it lags SO much, sometimes i have to wait 5 minutes to place a call, I work with children and I need a phone that will not lag when it comes to texting and calling, do you think this I phone is a good choice for me? thanks in advance!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Like any iPhone before it, the iPhone 5s is simplistic but will do fine as a phone.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cera09
From:  Somewhere on Earth
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The iPhone 5s is a great phone and if you have ever had an iPhone before the experience will not disappoint you nor will it really excite you. It is easy to use like all of Apple's products and has enough features to satisfy but keep you wanting more. I didn't find the fingerprint scanner to be a gimmick and thought that it worked decently because it tends to not work more often than work. But the scanner seems to know the difference between the fingers you scanned and the fingers you didn't scan. The camera can easily be said as one of the best cameras on a smartphone. As for the phone's overall speeds, if you're upgrading from an iPhone 4 or 4s you will be able to tell the difference in speeds when you use it, it's faster and the load times are shorter. The battery life fluctuates from day to day. Sometimes it can last a day without an extra second charge and sometimes a charge or two will be needed (and this is with the same amount of use moderate to heavy use). But with the slim build of the phone it's to be expected the battery won't be top notch (well from Apple). Overall this phone is another great phone from Apple that's pretty good compared to the competition.
Pros: camera is great
Cons: battery life is poor
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Great all around, especially the camera

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Taylor123
From:  Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 25-34
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Web & Data
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a long time Android User, I bought this after being really impressed with the iPhone 5c that we bought for my wife. Compared to the 5c, it's got a noticeably faster processor, and the camera has a few extra functions. I also notice I get a few more keepers with my 5s than my wife does on her 5c's camera. Of course it's metal vs plastic on the 5c, but I think people make too big a deal of that. The 5c actually feels better to hold as the edges are rounded, but the 5s feels like higher quality.
The main reason I bought this specific phone was the camera. I'm a hobby photographer with a DSLR and several compacts but I wanted good capabilities in my phone. My old HTC EVO really let me down there. To be honest, the camera in this has exceeded my expectation. Firstly, it takes a picture instantly. It's as fast as a DSLR, honestly. You just click and the picture is taken before your finger can even leave the button. You don't ever have any timing issues due to lag like my older phones. Second, the picture quality is up there with the best compact cameras. You don't have a zoom, of course. I've sold a couple of my compacts as I've found this to be good enough for anything that doesn't warrant lugging around my big camera and bag. Having a good camera in your pocket ALL the time opens a lot of possibilities and photo ops. And Apple has TONS of great photo apps for the phone that make sharing and editing on the go more fun.
This is pretty expensive up front, but it only takes a minute with a calculator to find out this is WAY cheaper than the alternatives when calculating total cost over two years.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Apple Does it Again!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gunny5821
From:  Richmond, VA
Age: 55-64
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? Under 6 months
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Talk
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I first purchased the first iPhone back in 2007 (I believe) and it is still 100% pristine condition and works better than when I first got it (Since the iOS has been upgraded). However, when the iPhone 5S was released, I just figured it was time to upgrade and so I retired the iPhone 1. Well the iPhone 5S is truly a work of art in both appearance and performance. This phone never runs slow no matter what I throw at it. Multitasking is a breeze with the iPhone 5S and the display is breath taking. Benchmarks show that the iPhone 5S runs twice as fast as the iPhone 5, and that folks is pretty darn fast! If your on the fence on purchasing this phone, just remember that your monthly bill can be as low as $30.00 per month, wherein folks with 2 year contracts are pay $80.00-$100.00+ per month. So for me, it was simple, buy the phone through Virgin Mobile (using Billpay) and loving these small monthly pymts. Need further info, check out all of the YouTube reviews. In closing, buy this phone and love it, you'll never regret it!
Pros: love the apple a7 chip, love the form factor
Cons: love the retina display, love apples customer support none better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cici26
 
Please wait while more information about cici26 is loaded.
Additional information about cici26 could not be loaded.
about bill me later
Posted June 7, 2014
I just wanted to know how much are your payments through bill pay if you don't mind? Also is is safe to apply for it cause i really wanna get this phone too but cant pay in full. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for iPhone 5s 16 GB

Best iPhone out

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
WesleyA
From:  Green Bay, WI
Age: Under 18
Current Owner? Yes
How Long? 6 months - 1 year
Primary Phone Use: Mostly Text & Messaging
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone. i got it for christmas. it was my first iphone and i like it sooo much better than the galaxy s2. iMessage and all the apps are great. the only problem is the battery. It was good at first lasting me all day then slowly decreased in battery life. Other than that the iphone 5s is awesome!! I hope when the iphone 6 comes out, virgin mobile will distribute it out :). I like how they came out with the Galaxy s5. It's really smart of virgin mobile to bring out new phones to people who like no contracts
Pros: messaging, apps, camera
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234next>>