Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.82 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(300 Reviews) 300
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (300 reviews)
5 stars
144
4 stars
69
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
46
214 out of 28675%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
324 Questions | 286 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brittani
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent phone for the price. Everything works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone for the money

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Talisen
From: Augusta, Ga
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great phone. I've had it a little over a year and haven't had any problems with it. Storage is small but other than that no issues. Don't think i could've found a better phone for the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sarah811
From: Lowell ma
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone works great. It does have limited storage but a 16 gig chip in it and I've had no problems its small and easy to use idk y ppl r having any complaints its great for its price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for a great price

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tresdox
From: Wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for over a year and it continues to work great. my friends who have phones costing hundreds more are astonished at what my little "bargain" phone can do. If you need a phone and are on a tight budget this is a good option. I am retired and didn't think I needed to upgrade from my old virgin cyclops clamshell. But I wanted easier texting so I thought I would try a smart phone. Soon I was using the phone more than my laptop. You can text, get your email, get phone numbers, locations and maps by keyboard or voice commands and surf the web for instant info. It comes with Google maps and works like a navigation device plotting your course and speaking directions. The screen is not huge but it fits fine in my pocket and smaller hand. With the resolution set higher it works ok for casual picture taking. I'm Learning how to manage apps to prolong the battery charge. It has a glass screen so won't melt and get wavy like some other bargain phones. I added an 8G SD card for pics and downloads. Virgin markets to a younger crowd but has some gems like this for us seniors.
Pros: price, features, sturdy
Cons: few accessories available such as cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone, great price

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
brandib
From: columbus, ohio
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone for my 10 year old son. Absolutely no problems with this phone! Love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Very Nice Smartphone!

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MopMan
From: New York, NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking at Smartphones, since I've never owned one before. My brother got fed up with me not having one, and bought me the Awe for Christmas. I really like it! I put a 32Gig SD chip in it, and it's really fast and responsive. The features, graphics, etc. are very impressive for the price he paid.
The battery is ok, I don't run many apps. But I did see the AcerSoft battery, 2050MaH. Is that safe to use in the Awe? If so, I'd buy it, and have a really nice phone that hold enough charge to have a lot of fun with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JustGriz
From: Coos Bay, OR
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Awe was a replacement for the Event I purchased when I started with Virgin Mobile. I went to Virgin Mobile because the price is in my budget & I haven't been disappointed. My Event died very fast & I needed a phone that would do what I wanted at a price I could afford. The Awe is great!
The only downfall is the battery life but a person can increase that if they shut down app notifications. I have most of my apps on the SD card so I have plenty of storage. Some reviews say there's problems with the phone freezing up. Not true with mine. I'm also not new to android phones. This phone will do nicely until my budget allows an upgrade. After more than 6 months, my phone is still running great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

My Kids Love This Phone!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CrochetQueen
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone to replace my kids' former phones, and all they can say is positive things about it! Camera on the front and back. Good battery life. Good internet speeds. Little to no lock ups. Ample storage space for their needs.
Score!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great smartphone value

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jcmom
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this for my 10 yo. We have 12 years experience with many Droid phones from Virgin including starter to several hundred dollar HTC Models and now iPhones as well. For a child, I wanted a less expensive smartphone as an entry level phone and the AWE delivers tons of features and performance at a great price. The AWE has the look and feel of a much more expensive phone and I got a great two piece otter box like case for less than ten dollars delivered on Amazon. I was pleasantly surprised that the size of this phone is quite large. It is larger than my iPhone 5c closer in size to my husbands iPhone 6. It has all the features my son needs and wants...texting, Instagram, aps, snapchat, etc. Major Plus is both front and rear facing camera. Moving between aps is as quick as my iPhone...maybe even faster? Easy to use and set up right out of the box and the $20 wifi plan is just perfect for his needs. Again, for the price, this is a great value. Very pleased with our purchase and as always with the value of Virgin Mobiles no contact monthly plans.
Pros: front facing camera, easy to use, fast
Cons: average battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE!!

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Raplsu
From: Biloxi, MS
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's truly a great little phone for the price!! It's an awesome phone with many features. the only drawback is battery life, but for the price you really can't beat this phone! i would definitely recommend this phone for everyday use!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great Cheap Phone

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JumboPaperclips
From: New York, NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first smartphone and I got the cheapest one I could find because I was planning to get a more expensive phone after the holidays but it's been over a year now and I'm still very happy with this phone. It's plenty fast, it works great, easy to use, perfect size, lovely display, great battery life. I have dropped it and thrown it around and it's held up well. If I have any complaint at all it's that it takes really bad pictures, like so bad I wish I was blind so I didn't have to see them.
Pros: speed, display, ease of use
Cons: camera
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

this is better than some 4g phones:-)

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bigbadBen
From: ATL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is better than some 4 g phones..virginmobile is great and they really care about keeping customers.. i just got this phone and you should get it to..i didn't even know about the front facing camera until i took the phone out of the box..my two last phones were Kyocera..the rise phone did rise up with that slider full qwerty keyboard and was a great phone for me for about a year..the event phone was good for about a month.. this virginmobile zte awe phone feels like it could last five years:-) enough said..
happy thanksgiving
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Awesome Phone

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
qdizzle
From: Arizona
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone. I have had no problems with it. I can download my games, text, fb, instagram, and take tons of photos with it. I love the fact that i can also do anything online with it as well. Awesome phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great device, very useful...and money left over for food and mortgage.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LockheedHudson
From: S.E. US
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Low cost, full of goodies. Expandable memory... When friends and family tell you they got a great deal on some gadget for 150 bucks a month for a 2 year contract, you can just smile and say "Wow, That's Great!"
Battery life improves markedly with Cleaner Apps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pays for itself 10X over - great choice !

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JimJoe
From: New Jersey
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great choice if you want a Droid that can do a lot simply and quickly.
I have plenty of apps on here, the battery is better than I thought, and the camera/video is fine. The layout and size of the phone is also very manageable. For what you pay this phone pays for itself immediately.
I can do what an Iphone can for far less $.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pretty good phone tbh.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheRunningMan
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy to be a Virgin Mobile Customer for 1 year. Camera sticks out and results the phone to wobble.
Pros: speedy loading speeds., excellent performance on games., camera, build quality
Cons: flash sometimes bugs., overheating, doesn't do a good job in low-light conditions., camera sticks out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
keetaluv
From: Charlotte nc
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone at Walmart and I would say I have been happy with it ever since... It is a great phone at a great price!!! Long lasting battery performs great no real COMPLAINTS the bottom line this phone is AWE-SOME!!!! I just cracked my screen so I WILL def buy another one... Thanks vm
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone at price point

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nomad
From: Princeton, NJ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking to replace my high-end-at-the-time Motorola phone that failed catastrophically. Store in mall had an Awe at a good price, it had front camera which was my primary feature requirement. I've been very pleased with this phone in the now 5+ months I've had it. basically no glitches and bugs, performance is adequate, camera is good, battery lasts well.
Screen is OK, wife has a S4 mini, and her screen is noticeably brighter.
Does have some quirks of connectivity when wifi is on but not connected to something you know it can get to. Turning wifi off and reopening browser/maps/whatever fixes that.
CPU can get a little stressed if trying to play flash games in a browser on it, but it muddles along (does get hot then too)
Overall, very pleased, don't believe you'll get better at this price.
Pros: value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent phone; especially as a first samrt phone

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MasterMind2045
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had been wanting to purchase my first smart phone for awhile but didn't want to spend a lot of money, but all of the lower priced phones had many poor reviews. Even when mixed in with the better reviews, their average ratings fell somewhere between 2.0 and 3.5.
Then I came across the Awe. The price was right and it had an average rating over 4.0. Its one noticeable fault is a relatively short battery life, but I can live with that by making sure I plug it in every night.
It has tons of features and I am having fun using its voice recognition capabilities to dictate my text messages, which is easier than trying to hit the right keys. Its speech to text accuracy rate is about 95%., even with some background noise. Although it is not the latest generation, it is working fine for me.
It has a 178 page manual (you have to download it), but it is deficient in some of the basic operations that a first time user of an Android phone may not be familiar with.
Pros: 95% accuracy of the voice recognition system, evrythig works together email contacts etc, very good resolution
Cons: battery has to be frequently recharged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

best bang for the buck

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
flyingsod
From: Indiana
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for nearly a year now. I have no major complaints. Everything works like it is supposed to. I've never had to read any instructions. The touchscreen is super responsive. The voice recognition is superb. Even in somewhat noisy conditions it recognizes my speech almost flawlessly. I'm so spoiled now that I get annoyed when I have to type things on my desktop. Also I work as a technician so me and the phone go through some rough and tumble scenarios and its still fine.
The one negative I can think of is the navigation. I'm not sure if its the preloaded googlemaps app or the phone itself but it sometimes freezes . it works though and is about 85% trouble free.
Pros: voice recognition
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345...15next>