Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.915 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(259 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (259 reviews)
5 stars
133
4 stars
55
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
34
192 out of 24977%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
307 Questions | 274 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

this is better than some 4g phones:-)

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bigbadBen
From: ATL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is better than some 4 g phones..virginmobile is great and they really care about keeping customers.. i just got this phone and you should get it to..i didn't even know about the front facing camera until i took the phone out of the box..my two last phones were Kyocera..the rise phone did rise up with that slider full qwerty keyboard and was a great phone for me for about a year..the event phone was good for about a month.. this virginmobile zte awe phone feels like it could last five years:-) enough said..
happy thanksgiving
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Awesome Phone

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
qdizzle
From: Arizona
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone. I have had no problems with it. I can download my games, text, fb, instagram, and take tons of photos with it. I love the fact that i can also do anything online with it as well. Awesome phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great device, very useful...and money left over for food and mortgage.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LockheedHudson
From: S.E. US
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Low cost, full of goodies. Expandable memory... When friends and family tell you they got a great deal on some gadget for 150 bucks a month for a 2 year contract, you can just smile and say "Wow, That's Great!"
Battery life improves markedly with Cleaner Apps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pays for itself 10X over - great choice !

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JimJoe
From: New Jersey
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great choice if you want a Droid that can do a lot simply and quickly.
I have plenty of apps on here, the battery is better than I thought, and the camera/video is fine. The layout and size of the phone is also very manageable. For what you pay this phone pays for itself immediately.
I can do what an Iphone can for far less $.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pretty good phone tbh.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheRunningMan
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy to be a Virgin Mobile Customer for 1 year. Camera sticks out and results the phone to wobble.
Pros: speedy loading speeds., excellent performance on games., camera, build quality
Cons: flash sometimes bugs., overheating, doesn't do a good job in low-light conditions., camera sticks out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
keetaluv
From: Charlotte nc
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone at Walmart and I would say I have been happy with it ever since... It is a great phone at a great price!!! Long lasting battery performs great no real COMPLAINTS the bottom line this phone is AWE-SOME!!!! I just cracked my screen so I WILL def buy another one... Thanks vm
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone at price point

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nomad
From: Princeton, NJ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking to replace my high-end-at-the-time Motorola phone that failed catastrophically. Store in mall had an Awe at a good price, it had front camera which was my primary feature requirement. I've been very pleased with this phone in the now 5+ months I've had it. basically no glitches and bugs, performance is adequate, camera is good, battery lasts well.
Screen is OK, wife has a S4 mini, and her screen is noticeably brighter.
Does have some quirks of connectivity when wifi is on but not connected to something you know it can get to. Turning wifi off and reopening browser/maps/whatever fixes that.
CPU can get a little stressed if trying to play flash games in a browser on it, but it muddles along (does get hot then too)
Overall, very pleased, don't believe you'll get better at this price.
Pros: value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent phone; especially as a first samrt phone

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MasterMind2045
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had been wanting to purchase my first smart phone for awhile but didn't want to spend a lot of money, but all of the lower priced phones had many poor reviews. Even when mixed in with the better reviews, their average ratings fell somewhere between 2.0 and 3.5.
Then I came across the Awe. The price was right and it had an average rating over 4.0. Its one noticeable fault is a relatively short battery life, but I can live with that by making sure I plug it in every night.
It has tons of features and I am having fun using its voice recognition capabilities to dictate my text messages, which is easier than trying to hit the right keys. Its speech to text accuracy rate is about 95%., even with some background noise. Although it is not the latest generation, it is working fine for me.
It has a 178 page manual (you have to download it), but it is deficient in some of the basic operations that a first time user of an Android phone may not be familiar with.
Pros: 95% accuracy of the voice recognition system, evrythig works together email contacts etc, very good resolution
Cons: battery has to be frequently recharged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

best bang for the buck

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
flyingsod
From: Indiana
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for nearly a year now. I have no major complaints. Everything works like it is supposed to. I've never had to read any instructions. The touchscreen is super responsive. The voice recognition is superb. Even in somewhat noisy conditions it recognizes my speech almost flawlessly. I'm so spoiled now that I get annoyed when I have to type things on my desktop. Also I work as a technician so me and the phone go through some rough and tumble scenarios and its still fine.
The one negative I can think of is the navigation. I'm not sure if its the preloaded googlemaps app or the phone itself but it sometimes freezes . it works though and is about 85% trouble free.
Pros: voice recognition
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
FONT
From: Scotch Plains NJ
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the price, this phone has all the features of a more expensive one,
video, camera, Google, and my favorite...VOICE RECOGNITION,
play a favorite recording all thru voice recognition, and many other features
....my battery has good endurance
Pros: voice recognition
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FrankWhite
South Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about FrankWhite is loaded.
Additional information about FrankWhite could not be loaded.
Excellent Phone
Posted September 27, 2014
I was thinking the same thing! This phone for the money is SPOT ON!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

No problems at all

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
buytires1
From: Boston
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very simply for the price (cheap) it does alot. Two small concerns are the battery life is short and there is no way to shut down the start up sound/noise which is very load. No big deal thought.
Pros: price - features
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sharong65
From: morris, IL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got mine about a month ago and love it, it is so awesome! I can't believe all the things it does! I am still learning all the features! It is so easy and cool to use! Well worth the money! I have never had an android phone before and Awe truly is Awesome! My only complaint is battery life. What is odd is that I noticed when I had wifi on, it lasted longer!? Would you believe it has more ram than my desktop computer? The processor is very fast inspite of the fact that it's half of what my computer is. I love my plan also! I got their limited time offer, the unlimited talk & text for $25. per month. I don't need data except for wifi. I have a wifi modem and there are all kinds of hotspots in this town!
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I was pleasantly surprised

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Roger3434
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a Samsung Exhibit which was absolutely horrid .... The Awe is incredibly responsive and well laid out. I was afraid it would slow down when I installed all of my requisite business apps, no slow down at all! It has become the central hub of my business, texts, tasks, alerts, news, and of course the phone.
I took video of my girls diving just last night, great quality with stabilization.
If you need a good droid at a very reasonable price this is it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I love the phone~

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
thriftybon
From: Fremont, Ohio
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was hesitant to buy this phone because everyone had told me to get an apple product. I didn't want to spend the money, so I had an agent help me with my decision by guiding me towards the Virgin Mobile Awe. I have had no problems with it at all, and it is very easy to use and understand The only thing I don't like is that I have to charge it every night, but I have heard that is normal with all phones that use Wi-Fi. I am totally pleased with this phone and would recommend it to anyone that is on the fence in deciding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

AWE IS GREAT

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CATGIRL84
From: DAYTON, OHIO
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ONLY HAD THE AWE FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS AND ALREADY THINK IT A GREAT PHONE. I LOVE THAT I CAN USE MY MUSIC FOR RINGTONES AND FOR MY ALARM. THE SPEAKER IS LOUD THAT I AM ABLE HEAR PEOPLE WHO ARE TALKING TO ME. THE ONLY THING IS THE BATTER. ACTUALLY BATTERY LIFE ON THIS PHONE IS BETTER THE RISER. IT IS EASY TO USE.
Pros: everything
Cons: batter but oh well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great inexpensive phone

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
wyvern713
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second Virgin Mobile phone and it is much better than my first one (Kyocera Event). The battery life is as expected from a smart phone--I plug it in every night and most of the time it lasts for the whole day. If I'm playing a lot of music, or a lot of games (e.g. Minecraft PE), then I have to plug it in sooner, but that seems to be standard for smart phones. It's easy to use, and I like how it has a front-facing camera.
There are a few things that I don't like as much about this phone. It does not have a dedicated search button alongside the home, back, and options buttons. Also, it is really hard to find a case for it. It's hard enough finding cases for phones that are not the iPhone or some version of the Samsung Galaxy, but even on Amazon.com, it's hard to find a case for this one.
All in all, this is a great phone and a great price. I would definitely recommend it if you don't have the hundreds of dollars needed for today's popular phones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Better than you'd expect

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hrothgar
From: Houston, TX
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pro's:
Responds immediately, no delays
Good screen
Battery lasts all day even with heavy music/video use on wifi
Flash is good, doubles as flashlight well
Perfect size, not too big or too small
Cons:
Tiny internal storage (not a big deal tbh with microSD)
When turning it on, it has a super loud and obnoxious start sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

"AWE" blows the Kyocera Rise away!!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JcNiels
From: Wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm so happy with purchasing the "zte/virginmobile awe". Compared to the kyocera rise -:the zte "awe" blows the kyocera rise out of the water. Only nice feature the rise had that the "Awe" doesnt is the slide out qwerty keypad. Highly recommend the virgin mobile/zte "awe". Fantastic!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Does everything I need it to without failure

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
owfly
From: green bay, wi
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great phone. I had the Kyocera Rise before this, and had lots of issues. This one works great, is reliable, and easy to use. The battery does (just) last all of an average day, but if I'm using it constantly, or going on a trip and using navigation, I need to recharge.
If something did happen to break this phone, I would buy the same thing to replace it.
Pros: reliability, performance, quality, front facing camera, display
Cons: battery life (sometimes)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Best Phone I ever had

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
garry
From: Georgia
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have owned a number of phones over the years, and my family has owned a number of different brands. All other brands have, at one time or another, given some kind of problem. This phone, the Virgin Awe, I have owned and used for several months and have never had any problems with it at all. The only drawback is the very short battery life, but I carry an emergency portable charger that solves that problem. If this phone got stolen or something I would not hesitate to buy another one.
Pros: no problems
Cons: short battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
12345...13next>