Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.82 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(300 Reviews) 300
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (300 reviews)
5 stars
144
4 stars
69
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
46
214 out of 28675%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
324 Questions | 286 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not bad at all!

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JMO80
From: Saint Louis, MO
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is not bad for the price! I was thinking the worse but when it arrived it was pretty cool! The battery life is great...a lot better than I thought. I take my phone to work and don't need to bring my charger. It keeps a good charge all day! I'm happy with my purchase.
Pros: battery life, easy to use
Cons: kind of small
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brittani
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent phone for the price. Everything works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone for the money

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Talisen
From: Augusta, Ga
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great phone. I've had it a little over a year and haven't had any problems with it. Storage is small but other than that no issues. Don't think i could've found a better phone for the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sarah811
From: Lowell ma
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone works great. It does have limited storage but a 16 gig chip in it and I've had no problems its small and easy to use idk y ppl r having any complaints its great for its price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

5 Year Customer Still Satisfied, Great Product!!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
penguinBB
From: YORK,PA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been with Virgin Mobile for 5 years and finally upgraded my phone!
First, this phone looks better in person! I like the look of the Awe, its thin, nice size screen, light wight, nice camera w/ flash and a front camera as well!! The battery life is nice, I can play games for hours before needing to charge. Setting up this phone was easy and I got to keep same number, best of all I didn't even have to talk to anyone, did it all online! I've text, talked, and used the internet and have had no problems. Takes a little getting used to but thats the fun part of a new phone.
I would rate 5 stars but I haven't had the phone long enough to do so.
Pros: camera/ flash, easy use, battery life
Cons: none at the moment
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Died after 17 months

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TigerShopper80
From: Arlington, VA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I first purchased this product in October 2013. Initially, I was fairly happy with it. It could do most of the things that high end smart phones can do--take pictures, surf the web, download apps, play video games etc.--albeit a bit more slowly and without all of the bells and whistles. The price was of course hundreds less than the newest phones.
After roughly one year of moderate use (in comparison to other smart phone users) it started to slow down, however. I would have trouble opening some apps and the phone would occasionally freeze and need to be restarted.
Over time, things got worse and worse. I found that sometimes it would freeze, need to be restarted and take two or three minutes to boot up again. Finally, roughly one week ago, it froze permanently and I could no longer get it to start up.
This was my first smart phone and it was not that hard to use. But ultimately I got what I paid for. It simply does not have the durability of a top of the line phone.
Pros: price
Cons: durability, software, limited memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for the price

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Stlcollegekid
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this is a good phone. It has the capabilities of any smartphone. My only complaint is the lack of storage space. I've never had a problem with battery life or call quality.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

unhappy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
littlerat
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I well never buy this phone again I purchased it and have had five...yes five replacements.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Storage space is way too small

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
thisisboom
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have about 1 gb of storage on the phone, a bunch of my apps can't be moved to my sd card. I am constantly trying to clear space off the phone. It is extremely frustrating.
Cons: small storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for a great price

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tresdox
From: Wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for over a year and it continues to work great. my friends who have phones costing hundreds more are astonished at what my little "bargain" phone can do. If you need a phone and are on a tight budget this is a good option. I am retired and didn't think I needed to upgrade from my old virgin cyclops clamshell. But I wanted easier texting so I thought I would try a smart phone. Soon I was using the phone more than my laptop. You can text, get your email, get phone numbers, locations and maps by keyboard or voice commands and surf the web for instant info. It comes with Google maps and works like a navigation device plotting your course and speaking directions. The screen is not huge but it fits fine in my pocket and smaller hand. With the resolution set higher it works ok for casual picture taking. I'm Learning how to manage apps to prolong the battery charge. It has a glass screen so won't melt and get wavy like some other bargain phones. I added an 8G SD card for pics and downloads. Virgin markets to a younger crowd but has some gems like this for us seniors.
Pros: price, features, sturdy
Cons: few accessories available such as cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Well Worth the Price 3-Awe household

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
TripleAWEsome
From: WV
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this phone for a little over one year. First bought one for my 14 year old daughter, then followed with purchases for my husband and myself. Our first smart phones and they are still going strong. My daughter and I managed to screw up the charging port, so we cannot plug into usb. Apparently after losing and or breaking our charge cords, we replaced with off-brand since they weren't available when we needed them in the Virgin Mobile site. Using the off brand...I believe, lead to not working at all. I fixed this with ebay, purchasing additional batteries and wall charges and it has done the trick.
Biggets wish***I wish the camera were better. My eyesight is not what it used to be, so I often take several shots and am lucky to find one that is worth keeping.
Definitely worth purchasing on a budget. No regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Disappointing

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
StrayKatOne
From: Twin Cities
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Have you noticed how the longer someone has a phone, the lower the rating. Seems to be true of nearly all phones. Same with this one. Worked great at first. Then, as time goes by, something else stops working properly or at all. Am now unable to access email or messaging from home screen icons. A couple of apps I downloaded have never worked properly even after deleting and reloading.
Pros: not much
Cons: most everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

worth about $40 cheaper

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
underwhelmed
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Seriously, this phone has a ton of problems.
Touch interface unresponsive in areas, horrible storage capacity, terrible camera, laggy... the phone barely accomplishes what it advertises to do. Battery life does not even come close to 6 days on standby; you can barely go a day of typical use without it being drained.
Don't expect much when you buy this phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

not a brick

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jooniebear
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been a very good phone. Have had it for nearly a year. I added a SD card and as long as you delete stuff once you add it to your computer it's fine. Battery life is excellent, just have to turns off apps when your done. Overall it has been a good phone. I've been with Virgin Mobile for 15 years, have had probably 6 different phones, and liked them all.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: camera started out great but seems foggy now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone, great price

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
brandib
From: columbus, ohio
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone for my 10 year old son. Absolutely no problems with this phone! Love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

You get what you pay for

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SugarRush
From: CT
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just...no. Only had mine for about six months and now it's a brick.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Worst phone ever

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bon77
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had this phone for a while it's slow it eats your sd cards
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Very Nice Smartphone!

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MopMan
From: New York, NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking at Smartphones, since I've never owned one before. My brother got fed up with me not having one, and bought me the Awe for Christmas. I really like it! I put a 32Gig SD chip in it, and it's really fast and responsive. The features, graphics, etc. are very impressive for the price he paid.
The battery is ok, I don't run many apps. But I did see the AcerSoft battery, 2050MaH. Is that safe to use in the Awe? If so, I'd buy it, and have a really nice phone that hold enough charge to have a lot of fun with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Will buy again

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MayHem
From: Massachusetts
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently lost my Awe and now I have to buy a new phone. After looking at phones in a similar price range, it is clear that this is the best one. The cameras aren't great, but I didn't expect them to to be. They are easy to use and work fine in good lighting conditions. Everything (apps, music, photos) saves to a microSD card, which makes it really easy to add more storage. The battery life is as good as much pricier phones, but this phone charges much faster. My complaints are minor and I love it enough to replace it with the exact same phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

good phone, not a lot of money

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
tickledpinkinWA
From: Kelso, WA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had many VM phones. Kyocera Rise, Kyocera Event, Motorola Triumph, Optimus V for starters. I really loved my Triumph. It took AWESOME pictures, and the AWE is a little behind in this, but still takes pretty good pics....My first Awe, the phone had something wrong with it, and VM replaced it almost instantly, lol. (shipping time) I have had it over a year now, and the biggest problem I have had with it was overheating and the charger that came with it only lasted maybe a couple days if that. It has become glitchy, but it is now a year old and I rather expect that. It has held up well to having been dropped a few times, even. Would I buy again? Most likely, even though I loved my Triumph. I actually discovered how to do screen shots on it, and have never been able to do that on any of my other smartphones! It is time for a new phone. Will I buy another AWE? 75% chance I will.
Pros: beyond expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...15next>