Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.921 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(253 Reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (253 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
54
3 stars
21
2 stars
15
1 star
33
188 out of 24477%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
306 Questions | 274 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pays for itself 10X over - great choice !

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JimJoe
From: New Jersey
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great choice if you want a Droid that can do a lot simply and quickly.
I have plenty of apps on here, the battery is better than I thought, and the camera/video is fine. The layout and size of the phone is also very manageable. For what you pay this phone pays for itself immediately.
I can do what an Iphone can for far less $.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Never worked properly!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
CreativePartyPlanner
From: Walnut Creek, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is actually a nice phone with nice features. My main complaint is the microphone never worked so I could never make or receive phone calls!
I couldn't even set up a voice mail. By this time I had thrown out the receipt and box. So I am stuck with a broken phone. I like Virgin Mobile so I bought another cheaper model to use for now. Pros--Love the bigger screen especially the numbers. Cons..Broken microphone and battery life is short.
Pros: internet large screen, no contract cost, website is easy
Cons: broken microphone, short battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pretty good phone tbh.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheRunningMan
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy to be a Virgin Mobile Customer for 1 year. Camera sticks out and results the phone to wobble.
Pros: speedy loading speeds., excellent performance on games., camera, build quality
Cons: flash sometimes bugs., overheating, doesn't do a good job in low-light conditions., camera sticks out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

ZTE Awe

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
MsZ2014
From: Phoenix, AZ
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone has great call quality and has lots of apps the are all ready pre-installed. The front facing camera is good quality as well as the rear facing camera. The phone is a great for beginners who are starting to use smart-phones. The down side about this phone is the updates. Before the updates the phone was perfect. Now the phone is very glitchy, turns off by itself, closes apps by itself when in use, and will freeze in the middle of use. If you don't mind having a constant glitchy screen I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Really like this phone

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
PitbullMom
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone around a year and I'm pretty impressed with it. It does have some minor issues but nothing super serious and it doesn't happen all the time. But the battery life was great at first and now my battery isn't lasting very long. Overall, I like it and would buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
keetaluv
From: Charlotte nc
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone at Walmart and I would say I have been happy with it ever since... It is a great phone at a great price!!! Long lasting battery performs great no real COMPLAINTS the bottom line this phone is AWE-SOME!!!! I just cracked my screen so I WILL def buy another one... Thanks vm
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Decent

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
virgingirl5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needed a cheap phone immediately after my S3 broke so I picked the awe, decent if you only talk and text. The speed is manageable but what make this phone get a 3/5 rating is the camera, compare to other this camera is abysmal. And the storage space is horrific, I constantly have to delete apps and photos which wasn't that good to be begin with.
Pros: battery
Cons: camera, memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone at price point

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nomad
From: Princeton, NJ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking to replace my high-end-at-the-time Motorola phone that failed catastrophically. Store in mall had an Awe at a good price, it had front camera which was my primary feature requirement. I've been very pleased with this phone in the now 5+ months I've had it. basically no glitches and bugs, performance is adequate, camera is good, battery lasts well.
Screen is OK, wife has a S4 mini, and her screen is noticeably brighter.
Does have some quirks of connectivity when wifi is on but not connected to something you know it can get to. Turning wifi off and reopening browser/maps/whatever fixes that.
CPU can get a little stressed if trying to play flash games in a browser on it, but it muddles along (does get hot then too)
Overall, very pleased, don't believe you'll get better at this price.
Pros: value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I really like it

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
skittles719
From: Dallas, TX
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone now for 10 months and hasn't given me any problems at all. I have had other android phones that would continually freeze on me, shut off and turn back on, or not let me shut it off at all. My last phone only lasted 7 months before it started giving me all those problems, but not this one! I really like it, and the price is awesome for a phone like this one. The only thing I don't like is the battery life. I guess like all androids, the battery does go out fast. But overall, this has been an excellent choice for me.
Pros: performance, durable, price
Cons: battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

ok for the value, if you dont try to actually use it.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MizzRaye
From: biloxi, mississipi
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is pretty terrible. nothing ever loads, the battery doesn't last half an hour, and it restarts anytime it vibrates or rings too loud.
Pros: affordable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Decent

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gracey
From: OH
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone since January and while it really isn't all that bad it still isn't totally great. The front facing camera really isn't that great and at times when I go to click on something or put my pass pattern in the screen will stop working and it often clicks on things that I didn't go near. With that being said the battery life is decent. It stays charged enough to get me through my school day but, I have to charge it on my way home. There's a few apps that don't really work when using this phone but there's a possibility that's just the app itself. Also, it's VERY durable. I can't begin to describe how many times I have dropped this phone and it still hasn't been broken. It's been dropped on concrete, Wal-Mart floors, and evern down the stairs with just a few dents and scratches as proof.
Pros: durable, decent battery life
Cons: front camera, glitching screen, a few app issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I really love this phone!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
IJustReallyWannaUseMyApps
From: Los Angeles, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is amazing for the price I paid. Its easy to use, hardly gives any troubles and the battery lasts me far longer than I honestly thought it would. My only problem is the memory. It doesn't come with a lot and I even bought a SD card for it but it refuses to allow me to download things even if I had the space. I don't like the fact that I have to sacrifice my apps just so that I can get the text messages. It also won't let me move apps from my phone to the SD card. Help!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Good for price, but not great

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
CoolBro72
From: Southeast Wisconsin
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought because of the reviews that this would be a great deal. For the price, it's good, but you should buy a better phone if you could afford one. The main issue is that every once in a while, it restarts itself randomly, and does this again while its in the process of restarting over and over. That keeps me from recommending it, but other than that it works pretty well
Pros: price, easy to use
Cons: random restarting issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent phone; especially as a first samrt phone

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MasterMind2045
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had been wanting to purchase my first smart phone for awhile but didn't want to spend a lot of money, but all of the lower priced phones had many poor reviews. Even when mixed in with the better reviews, their average ratings fell somewhere between 2.0 and 3.5.
Then I came across the Awe. The price was right and it had an average rating over 4.0. Its one noticeable fault is a relatively short battery life, but I can live with that by making sure I plug it in every night.
It has tons of features and I am having fun using its voice recognition capabilities to dictate my text messages, which is easier than trying to hit the right keys. Its speech to text accuracy rate is about 95%., even with some background noise. Although it is not the latest generation, it is working fine for me.
It has a 178 page manual (you have to download it), but it is deficient in some of the basic operations that a first time user of an Android phone may not be familiar with.
Pros: 95% accuracy of the voice recognition system, evrythig works together email contacts etc, very good resolution
Cons: battery has to be frequently recharged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

best bang for the buck

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
flyingsod
From: Indiana
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for nearly a year now. I have no major complaints. Everything works like it is supposed to. I've never had to read any instructions. The touchscreen is super responsive. The voice recognition is superb. Even in somewhat noisy conditions it recognizes my speech almost flawlessly. I'm so spoiled now that I get annoyed when I have to type things on my desktop. Also I work as a technician so me and the phone go through some rough and tumble scenarios and its still fine.
The one negative I can think of is the navigation. I'm not sure if its the preloaded googlemaps app or the phone itself but it sometimes freezes . it works though and is about 85% trouble free.
Pros: voice recognition
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Nice Phone, great price.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMguy
From: USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the phone for about a month. I like the battery life, camera, and GPS. The GPS even shows you which lane to be in.
It was a little more difficult to set up than it should have been. Android 4.1 has many options. Overall I'm pretty happy with it. Also the sound through headphones is much better then the Optimus Elite I was coming from.
If you need an inexpensive phone or are very accident prone, this would be a good phone for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Malfunctions after a few months

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Eustie44
From: Orlando, Florida
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone in March of 2014 and had to get a replacement 2 weeks ago because the camera stopped working and the phone would shut down. Lots of data issues.
All phones work well at the beginning but time shoes their life span.
My replacement phone is already working bad, shutting down how many times a day or even in minutes.
Customer service says it may be the battery, so i am awaiting one.
Pros: sizescreen display
Cons: battery life camera quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

LG optimus f3

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chinchilla
From: Vine Grove KY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just got this phone today and to say the least i am very dissapointed. My old phone the Lg optimus F3 broke so this is my temporary replacement. I would highly recommend the F3 to anyone instead of getting this phone for around the same price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone, except...

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
40creek
From: TEXAS, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for almost a year now. It's been a great phone for the money. However, about 2 months ago, I started having problems with the WIFI, it will quit working. I basically have to "forget" the network, turn off the WIFI, then power the phone off and then turn everything back on and connect for it to work again. It does this several times a day. I have deleted apps on the phone to try and pinpoint the problem and have even done a facotry reset, but to no avail. I'd probably have this phone for another 2 or 3 years if it wasn't for this issue. So, most likely I am going to get a new phone, prob a Samsung Galaxy, in the Spring.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Average

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
jane26
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is great for the basics such as calling and texting and even apps like instagram and pinterest. The problem I had with it was the camera, which in my opinion is very poor. This pictures I took with the camera were low quality but still recognizable..
Cons: camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...13next>