Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.899 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(267 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (267 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
60
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
36
197 out of 25577%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
317 Questions | 279 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great Cheap Phone

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JumboPaperclips
From: New York, NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first smartphone and I got the cheapest one I could find because I was planning to get a more expensive phone after the holidays but it's been over a year now and I'm still very happy with this phone. It's plenty fast, it works great, easy to use, perfect size, lovely display, great battery life. I have dropped it and thrown it around and it's held up well. If I have any complaint at all it's that it takes really bad pictures, like so bad I wish I was blind so I didn't have to see them.
Pros: speed, display, ease of use
Cons: camera
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for the price!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gator77
From: Bellwood, PA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First off, I'm a 50 year old man with limited technology skills with phones and such. I do however have four adult children between the ages of 19 to 25, so they are my technology go-to's. I use this phone basically to talk, text, and get on the internet. I keep track of sports and news on a consistent basis. I have had really good luck with this phone and it is quick enough for what I use it for. The battery life is decent. The apps work just fine. I'm sure this is by no means the most high tech device, but seeing as how I am putting my 4th kid through college, I needed to be concerned about cost. Also, the people at Virgin Mobile have always been very polite and helpful anytime I have had an issue. Overall, I think this phone is very good and affordable!
Pros: ease of use and affordability
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Okay phone if you've never had a smart phone, not much memory

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
kitcat20
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone as my first smart phone and overall it's been alright. It doesn't have much memory so I had to get an SD card so I could keep all my photos and my handful of apps. Overall the battery life is alright it last about a day with moderate use of the phone, but less if you're on apps a lot. The phone is a pretty straight forward smart phone it's easy to figure out how to use it. The camera isn't the best, it take alright pictures during the day but takes terrible night time pictures. The phone also gets a little hot, especially while talking on it. I can't talk to someone for more than 10 minutes with out it getting a little too hot to keep so close to my face.
Over all it's okay if you're looking for a basic smart phone, but it doesn't do anything fancy in terms of photos or videos, and does not have a lot of storage.
Pros: easy to use, okay battery life
Cons: not a very good camera, not a lot of storage space
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

This wasn't what I expected...

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Heatnord
From: Ashaway ri
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I think this is the worst phone I have ever owned. It's super slow, makes calls by itself, when I do make a call, it takes forever. Texts take way too long...the words come well after they have been typed. Everything justs takes forever! I would like to upgrade.
Regards,
Heather E Nordeng
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Low Price for Impressive Function

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
PurplePeopleEater
From: CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You guys might laugh at me because I'm going to say good things about this item even though it's beginning to freeze on me. The reason why I want to say good things about this phone is because I've owned about 7 various brands, had witnessed my friend's Samsung Galaxy 5's functions, and THIS Awe phone is STILL my favorite phone I've ever experienced. I stand behind this phone because, even though it has a low price, it had provided me with an up-to-date modern full-functioning design (inclu. front-face video chat), light-weight portability (I'm a minimalist), superior WiFi connection (better than my EVO or previous costly phones) and I'm impressed by the software design because the layouts are more user-friendly than other Android phones I've had.
So even though it's beginning to malfunction (keyboard screen freezes; phone needs Restart), consider my friend's Samsung Galaxy (or any other popularized phone) which has ALSO began freezing after a year's use before holding this flaw against it. I've never owned a single cellphone for more than 2 years before having to replace it anyway!--so I don't feel it's a fair grudge.
Therefore, ultimately, I think this Awe phone is a fantastic choice if you think about all you're getting for the small price you're paying for the reasonable life-time many cellphones usually last.
Pros: good deal, i'm frugal, my favorite
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great quick fix phone

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
PrChMnKy
From: North East OH
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I broke my other phone and was rough on cash, I searched around for something other than a flip phone that was cheap, and for the price of this phone I got all the quality of having a smart phone that I needed while it lasted. Great as a quick fix if you're strapped for cash and you break or lose a phone.
Pros: cheap
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

4 months.... It lasted 4 months.

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SuperTechMaster
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I didn't go scuba diving with it. I didn't drop it in a toilet from a third story window. I didn't run over it with my car or incinerate it with a flamethrower. I bought it 4 months ago. About two months ago it started turning off for no reason. I'd set it down on the couch- it'd turn off. I'd be on the phone in the middle of a conversation- it'd turn off. This weekend it turned off, fully charged, and for no particular reason, and refused to turn back on. It won't hold a charge. This phone is terrible. The storage is terrible. The constant prodding for updates is terrible. The battery is terrible. Don't buy it.
Cons: battery, storage, performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent Entry into the Smartphone Category

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ricecube
From: Pensacola, Fl
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great phone for anyone who is transitioning into a smart phone or wants to start using them. I had a 1st gen Smartphone for 5 years before changing phones to this and obviously there was a tremendous difference. You have all all the advantages that modern smartphones provide without having to shell out a fortune. This uses the Android OS, and has a decent amount of memory for apps. I found that I can listen to music or netflix, and twitter, etc. for several hours before the battery runs out. I looked only to see if it does have any trade in value and it does not, so be aware of that. Odds are your going to want to upgrade your phone after about a year because this is a Good Entry level phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

this is better than some 4g phones:-)

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bigbadBen
From: ATL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is better than some 4 g phones..virginmobile is great and they really care about keeping customers.. i just got this phone and you should get it to..i didn't even know about the front facing camera until i took the phone out of the box..my two last phones were Kyocera..the rise phone did rise up with that slider full qwerty keyboard and was a great phone for me for about a year..the event phone was good for about a month.. this virginmobile zte awe phone feels like it could last five years:-) enough said..
happy thanksgiving
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Not a well made phone

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
SuzyQinBuffalo
From: Buffalo, NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I loved the phone at first but I feel that it must not be made very well. I had to buy this phone twice, and it is now broken for the second time. The overall speed, battery life, storage space, camera, and other features seem to be about average and it was certainly an improvement from my last smart phone. That's why I chose to buy the phone again when my screen broke after a couple of months. I didn't drop the phone; it was in my hand when I opened a door so I must have squeezed it with my palm? I was confused because I didn't feel that I had put enough pressure on the phone for the entire screen to shatter but I chalked it up to my fault. Like I said, I was satisfied enough with the phone otherwise and it was a decent price so I bought it again. Within about 3 months the speaker broke and it sounded muffled and static-y. Everyone around me would jump and comment on how bad it sounded every time I received a call or text. I let it go, though, until this morning when the speaker finally gave out altogether. Like most people, I use my phone as an alarm clock so if there's no sound then the phone is fairly useless to me. Also, my phone is now randomly turning off. Even though the price has dropped, I won't bother buying this phone again. It broke twice over the course of 6 months; not a great value.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great features, but not a good phone

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rh14nn4h
From: Savannah, GA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had a Kyocera Rise at first, but after 10 months I replaced it with this phone due to power button problems. After two months the Awe has basically shut itself down, refusing to load past the droid screen. Wasn't happy at the Rise being done within 10 months, but this one at 2 months has me extremely upset.
Cons: life of the phone
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Awesome Phone

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
qdizzle
From: Arizona
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this phone. I have had no problems with it. I can download my games, text, fb, instagram, and take tons of photos with it. I love the fact that i can also do anything online with it as well. Awesome phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Loved it

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
vmawe
From: Tunkhannock, PA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone was wonderful. The best phone i had. I had it for 5 months but sadly about a month ago the microphone stopped working so i can no longer talk to people on the phone. Im getting a new phone this weekend and might get the same one and hope the mic doesnt blow again.
Pros: everything basically
Cons: mic blew, battery doesnt last long when running on 3g
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great device, very useful...and money left over for food and mortgage.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LockheedHudson
From: S.E. US
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Low cost, full of goodies. Expandable memory... When friends and family tell you they got a great deal on some gadget for 150 bucks a month for a 2 year contract, you can just smile and say "Wow, That's Great!"
Battery life improves markedly with Cleaner Apps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pays for itself 10X over - great choice !

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JimJoe
From: New Jersey
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great choice if you want a Droid that can do a lot simply and quickly.
I have plenty of apps on here, the battery is better than I thought, and the camera/video is fine. The layout and size of the phone is also very manageable. For what you pay this phone pays for itself immediately.
I can do what an Iphone can for far less $.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Never worked properly!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
CreativePartyPlanner
From: Walnut Creek, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is actually a nice phone with nice features. My main complaint is the microphone never worked so I could never make or receive phone calls!
I couldn't even set up a voice mail. By this time I had thrown out the receipt and box. So I am stuck with a broken phone. I like Virgin Mobile so I bought another cheaper model to use for now. Pros--Love the bigger screen especially the numbers. Cons..Broken microphone and battery life is short.
Pros: internet large screen, no contract cost, website is easy
Cons: broken microphone, short battery life
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Pretty good phone tbh.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheRunningMan
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy to be a Virgin Mobile Customer for 1 year. Camera sticks out and results the phone to wobble.
Pros: speedy loading speeds., excellent performance on games., camera, build quality
Cons: flash sometimes bugs., overheating, doesn't do a good job in low-light conditions., camera sticks out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

ZTE Awe

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
MsZ2014
From: Phoenix, AZ
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone has great call quality and has lots of apps the are all ready pre-installed. The front facing camera is good quality as well as the rear facing camera. The phone is a great for beginners who are starting to use smart-phones. The down side about this phone is the updates. Before the updates the phone was perfect. Now the phone is very glitchy, turns off by itself, closes apps by itself when in use, and will freeze in the middle of use. If you don't mind having a constant glitchy screen I would recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Really like this phone

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
PitbullMom
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this phone around a year and I'm pretty impressed with it. It does have some minor issues but nothing super serious and it doesn't happen all the time. But the battery life was great at first and now my battery isn't lasting very long. Overall, I like it and would buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
keetaluv
From: Charlotte nc
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone at Walmart and I would say I have been happy with it ever since... It is a great phone at a great price!!! Long lasting battery performs great no real COMPLAINTS the bottom line this phone is AWE-SOME!!!! I just cracked my screen so I WILL def buy another one... Thanks vm
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...14next>