Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.914 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (244 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
52
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
33
183 out of 23877%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
299 Questions | 263 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

ok for the value, if you dont try to actually use it.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MizzRaye
From: biloxi, mississipi
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is pretty terrible. nothing ever loads, the battery doesn't last half an hour, and it restarts anytime it vibrates or rings too loud.
Pros: affordable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Decent

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gracey
From: OH
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone since January and while it really isn't all that bad it still isn't totally great. The front facing camera really isn't that great and at times when I go to click on something or put my pass pattern in the screen will stop working and it often clicks on things that I didn't go near. With that being said the battery life is decent. It stays charged enough to get me through my school day but, I have to charge it on my way home. There's a few apps that don't really work when using this phone but there's a possibility that's just the app itself. Also, it's VERY durable. I can't begin to describe how many times I have dropped this phone and it still hasn't been broken. It's been dropped on concrete, Wal-Mart floors, and evern down the stairs with just a few dents and scratches as proof.
Pros: durable, decent battery life
Cons: front camera, glitching screen, a few app issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I really love this phone!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
IJustReallyWannaUseMyApps
From: Los Angeles, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is amazing for the price I paid. Its easy to use, hardly gives any troubles and the battery lasts me far longer than I honestly thought it would. My only problem is the memory. It doesn't come with a lot and I even bought a SD card for it but it refuses to allow me to download things even if I had the space. I don't like the fact that I have to sacrifice my apps just so that I can get the text messages. It also won't let me move apps from my phone to the SD card. Help!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Good for price, but not great

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
CoolBro72
From: Southeast Wisconsin
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought because of the reviews that this would be a great deal. For the price, it's good, but you should buy a better phone if you could afford one. The main issue is that every once in a while, it restarts itself randomly, and does this again while its in the process of restarting over and over. That keeps me from recommending it, but other than that it works pretty well
Pros: price, easy to use
Cons: random restarting issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent phone; especially as a first samrt phone

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MasterMind2045
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had been wanting to purchase my first smart phone for awhile but didn't want to spend a lot of money, but all of the lower priced phones had many poor reviews. Even when mixed in with the better reviews, their average ratings fell somewhere between 2.0 and 3.5.
Then I came across the Awe. The price was right and it had an average rating over 4.0. Its one noticeable fault is a relatively short battery life, but I can live with that by making sure I plug it in every night.
It has tons of features and I am having fun using its voice recognition capabilities to dictate my text messages, which is easier than trying to hit the right keys. Its speech to text accuracy rate is about 95%., even with some background noise. Although it is not the latest generation, it is working fine for me.
It has a 178 page manual (you have to download it), but it is deficient in some of the basic operations that a first time user of an Android phone may not be familiar with.
Pros: 95% accuracy of the voice recognition system, evrythig works together email contacts etc, very good resolution
Cons: battery has to be frequently recharged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

best bang for the buck

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
flyingsod
From: Indiana
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for nearly a year now. I have no major complaints. Everything works like it is supposed to. I've never had to read any instructions. The touchscreen is super responsive. The voice recognition is superb. Even in somewhat noisy conditions it recognizes my speech almost flawlessly. I'm so spoiled now that I get annoyed when I have to type things on my desktop. Also I work as a technician so me and the phone go through some rough and tumble scenarios and its still fine.
The one negative I can think of is the navigation. I'm not sure if its the preloaded googlemaps app or the phone itself but it sometimes freezes . it works though and is about 85% trouble free.
Pros: voice recognition
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Nice Phone, great price.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMguy
From: USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the phone for about a month. I like the battery life, camera, and GPS. The GPS even shows you which lane to be in.
It was a little more difficult to set up than it should have been. Android 4.1 has many options. Overall I'm pretty happy with it. Also the sound through headphones is much better then the Optimus Elite I was coming from.
If you need an inexpensive phone or are very accident prone, this would be a good phone for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Malfunctions after a few months

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Eustie44
From: Orlando, Florida
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone in March of 2014 and had to get a replacement 2 weeks ago because the camera stopped working and the phone would shut down. Lots of data issues.
All phones work well at the beginning but time shoes their life span.
My replacement phone is already working bad, shutting down how many times a day or even in minutes.
Customer service says it may be the battery, so i am awaiting one.
Pros: sizescreen display
Cons: battery life camera quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

LG optimus f3

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chinchilla
From: Vine Grove KY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just got this phone today and to say the least i am very dissapointed. My old phone the Lg optimus F3 broke so this is my temporary replacement. I would highly recommend the F3 to anyone instead of getting this phone for around the same price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone, except...

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
40creek
From: TEXAS, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for almost a year now. It's been a great phone for the money. However, about 2 months ago, I started having problems with the WIFI, it will quit working. I basically have to "forget" the network, turn off the WIFI, then power the phone off and then turn everything back on and connect for it to work again. It does this several times a day. I have deleted apps on the phone to try and pinpoint the problem and have even done a facotry reset, but to no avail. I'd probably have this phone for another 2 or 3 years if it wasn't for this issue. So, most likely I am going to get a new phone, prob a Samsung Galaxy, in the Spring.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Average

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
jane26
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is great for the basics such as calling and texting and even apps like instagram and pinterest. The problem I had with it was the camera, which in my opinion is very poor. This pictures I took with the camera were low quality but still recognizable..
Cons: camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Excellent

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
FONT
From: Scotch Plains NJ
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the price, this phone has all the features of a more expensive one,
video, camera, Google, and my favorite...VOICE RECOGNITION,
play a favorite recording all thru voice recognition, and many other features
....my battery has good endurance
Pros: voice recognition
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FrankWhite
South Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about FrankWhite is loaded.
Additional information about FrankWhite could not be loaded.
Excellent Phone
Posted September 27, 2014
I was thinking the same thing! This phone for the money is SPOT ON!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

It will get you by

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Crayons
From: Virginia
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
You get what you pay for with a smart phone, but for the price, it's a nice little phone. It will get you by until you have the extra money to splurge.
The storage is AWEful, so make sure you have a decent size SD card. The camera is AWEful as well. If there is any little movement, the image blurs.
The speed is decent for a "cheap" smart phone, calls are clear, messages send, it's survived several drops to the ground, and even a pocket ride when I fell in my pool (post-rice, of course).
It's a stepping stone phone for those in a pinch.
Pros: durable, cost efficient
Cons: memory, speed, camera, battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

No problems at all

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
buytires1
From: Boston
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very simply for the price (cheap) it does alot. Two small concerns are the battery life is short and there is no way to shut down the start up sound/noise which is very load. No big deal thought.
Pros: price - features
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

It ok

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShuShu
From: Novi, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I love the features on the phone and for the price it's great. After a few months though, battery was draining and I was hardly using it. It was constantly taking pictures and I was barely touching it. Also, there are NO cool phone cases for these :(
Pros: lots of features, good price, takes good pics.
Cons: battery life, a little hard to use, cant fine phone cases to fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sharong65
From: morris, IL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got mine about a month ago and love it, it is so awesome! I can't believe all the things it does! I am still learning all the features! It is so easy and cool to use! Well worth the money! I have never had an android phone before and Awe truly is Awesome! My only complaint is battery life. What is odd is that I noticed when I had wifi on, it lasted longer!? Would you believe it has more ram than my desktop computer? The processor is very fast inspite of the fact that it's half of what my computer is. I love my plan also! I got their limited time offer, the unlimited talk & text for $25. per month. I don't need data except for wifi. I have a wifi modem and there are all kinds of hotspots in this town!
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

its okay, not the best but it works

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
tonysmommy23
From: Santa Maria, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dont see why people are complaining. Ive had this phone for about a month. 3g is good. Yeah it dies a little quicker if you dont exit out the apps your not using. Just dont like how there are no thinner cases. Other than those two , i like my phone. Dont knock it till you try it!
Pros: front camera good size lightweight
Cons: no thin cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Overheating and Data roaming

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
CheapSkates
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Always overheating, and then afterwards randomly goes into data roaming MODE. Such a PAIN!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I was pleasantly surprised

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Roger3434
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a Samsung Exhibit which was absolutely horrid .... The Awe is incredibly responsive and well laid out. I was afraid it would slow down when I installed all of my requisite business apps, no slow down at all! It has become the central hub of my business, texts, tasks, alerts, news, and of course the phone.
I took video of my girls diving just last night, great quality with stabilization.
If you need a good droid at a very reasonable price this is it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Do not buy!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
pc3496
From: Lithonia Ga
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is awful!! cant see outside, drops calls, makes calls when you're just screening your call. dont waste your time or money on this phone!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
12345...13next>