Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.922 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(230 Reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (230 reviews)
5 stars
122
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
13
1 star
33
175 out of 22578%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
283 Questions | 255 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

It ok

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShuShu
From: Novi, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I love the features on the phone and for the price it's great. After a few months though, battery was draining and I was hardly using it. It was constantly taking pictures and I was barely touching it. Also, there are NO cool phone cases for these :(
Pros: lots of features, good price, takes good pics.
Cons: battery life, a little hard to use, cant fine phone cases to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sharong65
From: morris, IL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got mine about a month ago and love it, it is so awesome! I can't believe all the things it does! I am still learning all the features! It is so easy and cool to use! Well worth the money! I have never had an android phone before and Awe truly is Awesome! My only complaint is battery life. What is odd is that I noticed when I had wifi on, it lasted longer!? Would you believe it has more ram than my desktop computer? The processor is very fast inspite of the fact that it's half of what my computer is. I love my plan also! I got their limited time offer, the unlimited talk & text for $25. per month. I don't need data except for wifi. I have a wifi modem and there are all kinds of hotspots in this town!
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

its okay, not the best but it works

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
tonysmommy23
From: Santa Maria, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dont see why people are complaining. Ive had this phone for about a month. 3g is good. Yeah it dies a little quicker if you dont exit out the apps your not using. Just dont like how there are no thinner cases. Other than those two , i like my phone. Dont knock it till you try it!
Pros: front camera good size lightweight
Cons: no thin cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Overheating and Data roaming

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
CheapSkates
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Always overheating, and then afterwards randomly goes into data roaming MODE. Such a PAIN!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I was pleasantly surprised

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Roger3434
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a Samsung Exhibit which was absolutely horrid .... The Awe is incredibly responsive and well laid out. I was afraid it would slow down when I installed all of my requisite business apps, no slow down at all! It has become the central hub of my business, texts, tasks, alerts, news, and of course the phone.
I took video of my girls diving just last night, great quality with stabilization.
If you need a good droid at a very reasonable price this is it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Do not buy!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
pc3496
From: Lithonia Ga
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is awful!! cant see outside, drops calls, makes calls when you're just screening your call. dont waste your time or money on this phone!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

I love the phone~

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
thriftybon
From: Fremont, Ohio
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was hesitant to buy this phone because everyone had told me to get an apple product. I didn't want to spend the money, so I had an agent help me with my decision by guiding me towards the Virgin Mobile Awe. I have had no problems with it at all, and it is very easy to use and understand The only thing I don't like is that I have to charge it every night, but I have heard that is normal with all phones that use Wi-Fi. I am totally pleased with this phone and would recommend it to anyone that is on the fence in deciding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

worst phone I've ever had with vm

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
lis12
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone freezes all the time, a bunch of things say they have stopped working... Just overall a bad phone... Big disappointment
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

a bad experience.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
trueck
From: madison
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I usually do not write any reviews about any products i buy, but for this this one i will make an exception just because this is by far the worst cell phone i have ever own on my life. the cell star working properly for about two weeks then i could not connect to internet even when i was on WI-FI. after a month the cell got worse and worse my calls never went trough and it got to the point that i could not hear, anything, before the two moths the cell just died. i have not idea what happen, but for sure i don't think that cell is worth fixing it. be my guest if you want to buy it just to save some money, just like i did, but at the end you'll pay even more. just save some money and buy a decent cell, because this is not it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love it!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Missinde
From: Michigan
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is my first 'smart phone'. I simply love it! It's been easy to figure out how to use it with a little help from family. The battery drains quickly but that is probably due to the amount of apps that are running in the background. I've had the phone for 6 weeks now and not a single glitch. Takes great photos for what it is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

AWE IS GREAT

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CATGIRL84
From: DAYTON, OHIO
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ONLY HAD THE AWE FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS AND ALREADY THINK IT A GREAT PHONE. I LOVE THAT I CAN USE MY MUSIC FOR RINGTONES AND FOR MY ALARM. THE SPEAKER IS LOUD THAT I AM ABLE HEAR PEOPLE WHO ARE TALKING TO ME. THE ONLY THING IS THE BATTER. ACTUALLY BATTERY LIFE ON THIS PHONE IS BETTER THE RISER. IT IS EASY TO USE.
Pros: everything
Cons: batter but oh well
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

cant really knock it

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Octal
From: Connecticut
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Makes calls just fine, I like the front and back cameras, very easy to navigate through your different apps. I LOVE the voice recognition feature, it is accurate and makes it very easy to write text messages or surf the web. You can also use the google voice search to find the names of songs that are playing in the background which is cool.
Id say this phone would be perfect for at least 80% of smart phone users, with the excluded 20 percent being tech buffs who need/can afford the latest models. If you just need a regular smart phone, this is for you.
Pros: good value, easy to use
Cons: screen shuts off on its own uncontrollably
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great inexpensive phone

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
wyvern713
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second Virgin Mobile phone and it is much better than my first one (Kyocera Event). The battery life is as expected from a smart phone--I plug it in every night and most of the time it lasts for the whole day. If I'm playing a lot of music, or a lot of games (e.g. Minecraft PE), then I have to plug it in sooner, but that seems to be standard for smart phones. It's easy to use, and I like how it has a front-facing camera.
There are a few things that I don't like as much about this phone. It does not have a dedicated search button alongside the home, back, and options buttons. Also, it is really hard to find a case for it. It's hard enough finding cases for phones that are not the iPhone or some version of the Samsung Galaxy, but even on Amazon.com, it's hard to find a case for this one.
All in all, this is a great phone and a great price. I would definitely recommend it if you don't have the hundreds of dollars needed for today's popular phones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Worst phone that I've ever purchased.

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pachinko
From: Atlanta, Ga
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My phone shuts down and completely shuts itself off whenever I make phone calls, use random apps, or just for no apparent reason at all. I would think that I purchased a defective phone but my girlfriend also has the same issues with her's. This phone would be perfect if it wouldn't shut off so much.It's to the point where I'm thinking about not getting anything from Virgin Mobile ever again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

good phone

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Carnita
From: Akron,Oh
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The phone overall is pretty good. Battery life is good. I dont know why people are saying the battery life is bad. Its probably only bad if you have wifi on when you dont need too. Or you always have bluetooth on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone!

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
crazycatlady
From: Oregon
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price of this phone, I could not be happier! I am not someone on the go a lot or in need of a ton of apps so it's perfect! I have the apps I want and get the 3G speed with no problem; Also, when I'm on the go, I can expect the battery to last all day with no charge. Of course, I'm talking w/o constant use; But like I said, for the price, it can't be beat! I can text, email, take pics, download pics and use my apps with no problem. Watching videos takes a little buffering, but not too bad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Better than you'd expect

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hrothgar
From: Houston, TX
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pro's:
Responds immediately, no delays
Good screen
Battery lasts all day even with heavy music/video use on wifi
Flash is good, doubles as flashlight well
Perfect size, not too big or too small
Cons:
Tiny internal storage (not a big deal tbh with microSD)
When turning it on, it has a super loud and obnoxious start sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Battery "life" is non-existent

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
POed
From: Washington DC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Minimum use on day one...had to recharge at end of day. Overnite-after charging--by morning, Battery at 25%.
Would not reccomend to anyone..sent mine back day two.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

"AWE" blows the Kyocera Rise away!!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JcNiels
From: Wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm so happy with purchasing the "zte/virginmobile awe". Compared to the kyocera rise -:the zte "awe" blows the kyocera rise out of the water. Only nice feature the rise had that the "Awe" doesnt is the slide out qwerty keypad. Highly recommend the virgin mobile/zte "awe". Fantastic!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

THE WORST PHONE Ive EVER HAD!!!

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lisa42s
From: Mpls,MN
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AWFUL PHONE! YOU WANT ANY PHONE BUT THIS ONE!!! ITS JUNK!
Cons: everything~one problem after another!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
12345...12next>