Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe

Virgin Mobile Awe

Featuring a bright 4-inch IPS touchscreen display, 5MP camera with flash and video capture, and a front-facing camera for video chat, Awe has everything you need to stay social.
Average Customer Rating:
3.807 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(295 Reviews) 295
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (295 reviews)
5 stars
141
4 stars
67
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
46
210 out of 28274%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
324 Questions | 286 Answers
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Awe
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Died after 17 months

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
TigerShopper80
From: Arlington, VA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I first purchased this product in October 2013. Initially, I was fairly happy with it. It could do most of the things that high end smart phones can do--take pictures, surf the web, download apps, play video games etc.--albeit a bit more slowly and without all of the bells and whistles. The price was of course hundreds less than the newest phones.
After roughly one year of moderate use (in comparison to other smart phone users) it started to slow down, however. I would have trouble opening some apps and the phone would occasionally freeze and need to be restarted.
Over time, things got worse and worse. I found that sometimes it would freeze, need to be restarted and take two or three minutes to boot up again. Finally, roughly one week ago, it froze permanently and I could no longer get it to start up.
This was my first smart phone and it was not that hard to use. But ultimately I got what I paid for. It simply does not have the durability of a top of the line phone.
Pros: price
Cons: durability, software, limited memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for the price

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Stlcollegekid
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this is a good phone. It has the capabilities of any smartphone. My only complaint is the lack of storage space. I've never had a problem with battery life or call quality.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Awe

unhappy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
littlerat
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I well never buy this phone again I purchased it and have had five...yes five replacements.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Storage space is way too small

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
thisisboom
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have about 1 gb of storage on the phone, a bunch of my apps can't be moved to my sd card. I am constantly trying to clear space off the phone. It is extremely frustrating.
Cons: small storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great phone for a great price

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tresdox
From: Wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for over a year and it continues to work great. my friends who have phones costing hundreds more are astonished at what my little "bargain" phone can do. If you need a phone and are on a tight budget this is a good option. I am retired and didn't think I needed to upgrade from my old virgin cyclops clamshell. But I wanted easier texting so I thought I would try a smart phone. Soon I was using the phone more than my laptop. You can text, get your email, get phone numbers, locations and maps by keyboard or voice commands and surf the web for instant info. It comes with Google maps and works like a navigation device plotting your course and speaking directions. The screen is not huge but it fits fine in my pocket and smaller hand. With the resolution set higher it works ok for casual picture taking. I'm Learning how to manage apps to prolong the battery charge. It has a glass screen so won't melt and get wavy like some other bargain phones. I added an 8G SD card for pics and downloads. Virgin markets to a younger crowd but has some gems like this for us seniors.
Pros: price, features, sturdy
Cons: few accessories available such as cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Well Worth the Price 3-Awe household

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
TripleAWEsome
From: WV
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this phone for a little over one year. First bought one for my 14 year old daughter, then followed with purchases for my husband and myself. Our first smart phones and they are still going strong. My daughter and I managed to screw up the charging port, so we cannot plug into usb. Apparently after losing and or breaking our charge cords, we replaced with off-brand since they weren't available when we needed them in the Virgin Mobile site. Using the off brand...I believe, lead to not working at all. I fixed this with ebay, purchasing additional batteries and wall charges and it has done the trick.
Biggets wish***I wish the camera were better. My eyesight is not what it used to be, so I often take several shots and am lucky to find one that is worth keeping.
Definitely worth purchasing on a budget. No regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Disappointing

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
StrayKatOne
From: Twin Cities
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Have you noticed how the longer someone has a phone, the lower the rating. Seems to be true of nearly all phones. Same with this one. Worked great at first. Then, as time goes by, something else stops working properly or at all. Am now unable to access email or messaging from home screen icons. A couple of apps I downloaded have never worked properly even after deleting and reloading.
Pros: not much
Cons: most everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Awe

worth about $40 cheaper

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
underwhelmed
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Seriously, this phone has a ton of problems.
Touch interface unresponsive in areas, horrible storage capacity, terrible camera, laggy... the phone barely accomplishes what it advertises to do. Battery life does not even come close to 6 days on standby; you can barely go a day of typical use without it being drained.
Don't expect much when you buy this phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Awe

not a brick

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jooniebear
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been a very good phone. Have had it for nearly a year. I added a SD card and as long as you delete stuff once you add it to your computer it's fine. Battery life is excellent, just have to turns off apps when your done. Overall it has been a good phone. I've been with Virgin Mobile for 15 years, have had probably 6 different phones, and liked them all.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: camera started out great but seems foggy now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Awe

great phone, great price

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
brandib
From: columbus, ohio
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone for my 10 year old son. Absolutely no problems with this phone! Love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Awe

You get what you pay for

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SugarRush
From: CT
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just...no. Only had mine for about six months and now it's a brick.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Worst phone ever

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bon77
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had this phone for a while it's slow it eats your sd cards
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Very Nice Smartphone!

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MopMan
From: New York, NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking at Smartphones, since I've never owned one before. My brother got fed up with me not having one, and bought me the Awe for Christmas. I really like it! I put a 32Gig SD chip in it, and it's really fast and responsive. The features, graphics, etc. are very impressive for the price he paid.
The battery is ok, I don't run many apps. But I did see the AcerSoft battery, 2050MaH. Is that safe to use in the Awe? If so, I'd buy it, and have a really nice phone that hold enough charge to have a lot of fun with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Will buy again

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MayHem
From: Massachusetts
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently lost my Awe and now I have to buy a new phone. After looking at phones in a similar price range, it is clear that this is the best one. The cameras aren't great, but I didn't expect them to to be. They are easy to use and work fine in good lighting conditions. Everything (apps, music, photos) saves to a microSD card, which makes it really easy to add more storage. The battery life is as good as much pricier phones, but this phone charges much faster. My complaints are minor and I love it enough to replace it with the exact same phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Awe

good phone, not a lot of money

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
tickledpinkinWA
From: Kelso, WA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had many VM phones. Kyocera Rise, Kyocera Event, Motorola Triumph, Optimus V for starters. I really loved my Triumph. It took AWESOME pictures, and the AWE is a little behind in this, but still takes pretty good pics....My first Awe, the phone had something wrong with it, and VM replaced it almost instantly, lol. (shipping time) I have had it over a year now, and the biggest problem I have had with it was overheating and the charger that came with it only lasted maybe a couple days if that. It has become glitchy, but it is now a year old and I rather expect that. It has held up well to having been dropped a few times, even. Would I buy again? Most likely, even though I loved my Triumph. I actually discovered how to do screen shots on it, and have never been able to do that on any of my other smartphones! It is time for a new phone. Will I buy another AWE? 75% chance I will.
Pros: beyond expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Love this phone!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JustGriz
From: Coos Bay, OR
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Awe was a replacement for the Event I purchased when I started with Virgin Mobile. I went to Virgin Mobile because the price is in my budget & I haven't been disappointed. My Event died very fast & I needed a phone that would do what I wanted at a price I could afford. The Awe is great!
The only downfall is the battery life but a person can increase that if they shut down app notifications. I have most of my apps on the SD card so I have plenty of storage. Some reviews say there's problems with the phone freezing up. Not true with mine. I'm also not new to android phones. This phone will do nicely until my budget allows an upgrade. After more than 6 months, my phone is still running great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Awe

My Kids Love This Phone!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
CrochetQueen
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone to replace my kids' former phones, and all they can say is positive things about it! Camera on the front and back. Good battery life. Good internet speeds. Little to no lock ups. Ample storage space for their needs.
Score!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Awe

this phone had many problems

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
nofresreb
From: ca
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had 2 of these phones. The first was in Nov 2013. Several months later it would have a weird problem. When I got a call or a text or email and the phone would make a notification tone, the phone would restart itself. I got a free replacement from Virgin Mobile and they new phone didnt have that problem. Several months after that, the new phone would restart itself when I set it down on the table a little too hard. Then almost a year after I got the 1st phone the battery died on my 2nd phone and no matter what I did to charge it, It wouldnt turn on or charge. Instead of buying a new battery, I just got a different type of phone. Also I had to charge this phone twice a day
Pros: internal storage good but not great for apps, camera decent, features good
Cons: technical problems with phone, had to charge twice a day, too many problems
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Awe

Great smartphone value

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jcmom
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this for my 10 yo. We have 12 years experience with many Droid phones from Virgin including starter to several hundred dollar HTC Models and now iPhones as well. For a child, I wanted a less expensive smartphone as an entry level phone and the AWE delivers tons of features and performance at a great price. The AWE has the look and feel of a much more expensive phone and I got a great two piece otter box like case for less than ten dollars delivered on Amazon. I was pleasantly surprised that the size of this phone is quite large. It is larger than my iPhone 5c closer in size to my husbands iPhone 6. It has all the features my son needs and wants...texting, Instagram, aps, snapchat, etc. Major Plus is both front and rear facing camera. Moving between aps is as quick as my iPhone...maybe even faster? Easy to use and set up right out of the box and the $20 wifi plan is just perfect for his needs. Again, for the price, this is a great value. Very pleased with our purchase and as always with the value of Virgin Mobiles no contact monthly plans.
Pros: front facing camera, easy to use, fast
Cons: average battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Awe

battery won't hold charge!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
virginmobilenogood
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
4th phone with virgin moble, will not hold charges
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...15next>