Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Get amped with the Samsung Galaxy Reverb Android phone from Virgin Mobile featuring unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
3.605 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(506 Reviews) 506
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (506 reviews)
5 stars
208
4 stars
107
3 stars
53
2 stars
59
1 star
79
308 out of 48264%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
505 Questions | 502 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Reverb
Review 261 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

3rd time not a charm

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
jbird
From: pittsburgh
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is horrible. It constantly restarts and the touchscreen constantly freezes making the phone useless until restarted. Thankfully holding the power button on top long enough will send it into restart mode. I have had this phone replaced twice already due to these issues. I am on my third and it too needs to be replaced. I don't think it can handle the os
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 262 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

TROUBLE

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CAIRG
From: PASADENA, TEXAS
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JUST BOUGHT MY PHONE IN JUNE AND HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE SCREEN LOCKING UP, HAVE TO REMOVE THE BATTERY AND PUT IT BACK
THE SERVICE FROM VIRGIIN MOBILE IS GREAT
Cons: screen freezing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 263 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Terrible Touch screen and Keyboard

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Justaperson1234
From: Phoenix, AZ
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I REALLY wanted to like this phone. I found the touch screen to be terrible and the keyboard is very small. Those two flaws alone are enough for me to send this phone back. I am going to choose something else. I would not recommend this phone if you are used to a very responsive touch screen or if you have larger fingers or bad eyesight because the keyboard keys are so small. :(
Cons: touch screen, keyboard
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 264 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

pretty good phone

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mike576
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pros-
slim
lots of features
anything that you would normally find on a smartphone
internet is smooth
cons-
headphone jack on mine started to get loose after a year
pretty easily breakable screen
battery life (not bad but around 6 hours)
power/lock button breaks 75% of the time (look it up its pretty common)
phone is slow at times in screen animation
Pros: features, slim
Cons: battery life, lock button, headphone jack
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 265 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

No problems

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Billcy
From: NY
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Had this phone since May and have had no problems with it. Phone is easy to use. Camera takes really nice videos and pictures and has built-in flash. GPS works fine. Touch screen is very responsive. Wi Fi works fine, 3G is slower but good enough for me. Lots of nice features on this phone considering the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 266 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Screen Freeze

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
AndroidReviewer
From: Denver, CO
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone (as a phone) works well, zippy processor, and good voice quality. However the screen refuses to unlock at least once daily (several times on some days), and the only way to reboot it is to remove the battery and restart. An unacceptable flaw in my estimation. It is loaded with the latest firmware and the issue is still not resolved. What say you Samsung?
Pros: good sound quality and fast processor
Cons: screen freezes daily & requires battery removal
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 267 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Good and bad

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
hipogrito
From: NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hi,
I upgraded my LG Optimus V to this one few months ago. Good overall improvement. Better screen, faster, more memory so you can fit a good amount of apps (in the Optimus V that was a serious limitation).Skype works well. So, everything fine, right?
Well, not really. It crashes a lot. Very often. I don't know if blaming Samsung or Google for the Android version of this phone, or both of them, but the fact is that it isn't very reliable. And that's a pity on an overall decent phone. But sometimes it just dies. Sometimes doing camera related stuff, other times with random functionality, but it crashes way more often than any other phone I've had.
Note, my wife's also crashes, so that's why I think it's not a hardware issue.
Battery percentage is not very accurate, sometimes it gets stuck in a number and after a while, of course, it just shuts off as the battery has dried up without telling you. Yeah, it happened yesterday to me when I was going to record my kid in the playground... those things happen with this phone, or with this version of Android.
Also, it has some annoyances. For example, when I stream radio, using Wi-Fi, I didn't have too many problems with the Optimus, I don't have any issue at all with my Nexus 7 tablet, but with this phone, the audio just cuts on and off once in a while. Again, it looks like some software issue in the buffering but, annoying, as that's one of my favorite things to do with the phone. But that does not happen when I use Skype, which is great to use in a phone and before I couldn't with the Optimus, so, again, those things must be software issues.
So, I guess that it's "good for the price", which is a term that I hate, because it really means that it is not that good and sooner or later I'll be switching to another one...
Also, like other people, not a friend of the home button being at the bottom so close to the keypad (this happens in other devices as well). Too many occasions like typing a space I accidentally go over the Home button and it takes me away from what I'm writing.
Maybe we get software updates that fix these issues.
Regards,
Hipo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 268 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Great Phone. But It's Slow.

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great phone. I've had it for a while now. But the only problem Is that it's slow as mess!! It freezes and I have to take the battery out in order to get it to start working. It has good data and things. I just can't stand the fact that it's so slow. Oh, and get a case when you buy this phone. If you drop it.. it cracks badd.
Pros: great camera, lasting memory, good data
Cons: slow, battey life, cracks easily
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 269 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

to much lag

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Joshuayod17
From: Lagrange indiana
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phone is great phone all except it lags way to much!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 270 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Horrible. Don't do it.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cat204
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the worst phone I have ever had. EVER. The keyboard is impossible to type on. Everything was working fine, until the JellyBean update, just as everyone is saying. Don't purchase this phone, it comes automatically with the update, and your phone will run horribly. The phone has deleted all of my photos TWICE now off my SD card without me doing anything at all. It restarts itself, the screen freezes, I can't retrieve my emails, I get no notifications.
The actual phone portion of the phone does work however, I've never had a problem making calls. I have never had a phone less than 2 years, I haven't even had this one a year and I am getting rid of it ASAP now that I have some extra money. WASTE OF YOUR MONEY! Don't buy it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 271 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Hit or Miss Phone

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GDAutomotive
From: Florida
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been through two of these particular phones. I recently had to get my second one because the first one was having major software/electronic issues. But I will go through the pros and cons first.
Pros:
-It has pretty decent battery life, for a smartphone. Dont expect to go on a weekend getaway without bringing the charger, of course, but with minimal use, it can last 50 hours or so before hitting 15%. However, between web browsing, talking to customers (use this as a business phone), and other miscellaneous things, it will only last around 12 hours. Its not great, but it is an inexpensive phone.
-Screen is pretty nice. Good resolution for a small screen.
Cons:
-RAM is extremely low. I will fill it up just by web browsing, which then significantly slows down the processor.
-Very touchy touch-screen. If my finger or another conductive part of my body (hands, arm, ear, etc) brushes the screen, it will respond to it. This isnt a big deal, except for the fact that it will select when I simply want to scroll.
Finally, the bad. On my first one of these Samsung, it would constantly freeze for no apparent reason. I would go to unlock it, the screen would display, but the screen would not register any touches or commands. I was forced to have to continually restart the phone (holding down the power button) to get it to even work. This was happening as much as 5 times a day. Finally, I got so fed up with it, I called and asked for a replacement. Virgin Mobile, having excellent customer service (always had good experiences), they shipped out another one, and I had a new phone in under 3 days.
Even so, my current Reverb has the same issues. It has only happened a couple of times in the past couple months having it, but it was always at extremely inconvenient times (aka: business call, part orders, etc.). It hasn't happened lately, but I am always wary of this phone.
Bottom line: No, I highly advise against this phone due to its slow RAM, the fact that it slows down incredibly just when running a web browser, and the inconvenient freezes of the entire screen. I do recommend Virgin Mobile as a carrier. Have pretty good signal most places, and customer service is excellent.
Pros: screen resolution, customer service/carrier
Cons: low ram, screen freezing, phone freezing, touch screen
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 272 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Easy to use Phone great, Jelly Bean Bad

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
rcca
From: Bay area
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had phone for about 2 years, came with ICS, was fast and very fast response, never crashed nor freeze.
When Virgin asked to down load Jelly Bean, that was the biggest mistake I ever made, this phone was not made for JB and they don't tell you, and so far there will be no up date for this phone. With JB it will freeze, and will not responded, and will restart on it's own for no reason, no it' not a app that is doing this, it's JB, had same apps with ICS.
Others are going back to factory and that does not work,JB gets installed,they end up with same problem.
I hope Virgin gets this problem fixed?
Yes, I did go to the Google settings and like other said to do did not work.
Oh well future another phone or Cell phone carrier Company.
No complaints on Virgin support.
Would of gave it 5 stars If JB worked with this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DaMarv
Hilo, Hawaii
 
Please wait while more information about DaMarv is loaded.
Additional information about DaMarv could not be loaded.
Hard Reset....
Posted August 18, 2013
From what I've been reading, seems like everyone is having issues with this phone after obtaining the JB update. Have you, or do you know if anyone else has... done a hard reset on the Reverb to set it back to factory specs, and if so, does it retain the JB update after doing so?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
beesly
ny
 
Please wait while more information about beesly is loaded.
Additional information about beesly could not be loaded.
so far so good, but...
Posted August 17, 2013
Had this phone for 1 week, I like the battery life and the screen looks good...but don't like the keyboard very much, very hard for me to type on it and the phone will not send pictures at all! I realize this is most likely a service issue more than a phone issue, but sending pics is a basic reason for having a smart phone..anyone else having this problem?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 273 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Not Worthy of the Galaxy Name

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GadgetGeek
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone had some quirks when I first got it. The screen is not too responsive and processing is rather slow, but tolerable for mild use. However, with an Android update and many apps installed, the phone performance has completely diminished. Annoyances are becoming more serious. Routine crashing. Heavy lagging. Extremely slow processing. Wifi connection errors. And reduced battery life. All this in just 4 months. I recommend you try a different phone. The money that you save is not worth it for this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 274 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Great until Jelly Bean update

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Portmaniac
From: Somerset, NJ
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone since March. It originally came with Android 4.0.4 (Ice Cream Sandwich) and was a great replacement for my LG Optimus V. Since Samsung/VM pushed out Android 4.1.2 (in late June '13), it has been a disaster.
As most other customers have reported, the screen will frequently become totally unresponsive. The phone is still working (music keeps playing, text message come in, etc.) but the screen will not to respond to any touch input.
A good run is 2 days without having to reboot. A bad run is 2-3 reboots a day.
I have tried everything: disable Google Search hot word detection, 3rd party launcher, remove bloatware... and nothing has worked.
Sadly, Samsung and/or VM do not seem concerned or are unwilling to fix this problem.
Stay away from this model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 275 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

NOT WORTH IT

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chris123564
From: CA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is garbage. The touch screen is difficult to use and un-adjustable when it actually works (sometimes for no reason the screen will be completely unresponsive until the battery is removed and put back in). When the phone gets hot, and it does often, whatever button you push gets an undesirable result. The phone shuts-off and turns-on randomly. The battery life is pathetic. Even simple apps seem too much for the phone to handle. Get used to deleting all your pictures before taking new ones.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 276 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Jellybean=Ruining this phone

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kp123
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have owned this phone for over seven months and it worked great up until the Android Jellybean update. After I updated the phone, it would freeze on the lock screen and the only way to fix it is to take out the battery which is EXTREMELY annoying and time-consuming when you are working or even using the phone normally. It also started lagging after the update when it would take up to ten seconds in order to just change the screen. I have never written a phone review but I decided I needed to in order to alert people who are thinking about this phone. Please do not buy this phone.
Pros: camera
Cons: freezes all the time, battery life falls sharply after 50%
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChipSlayer
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about ChipSlayer is loaded.
Additional information about ChipSlayer could not be loaded.
Same problems same time owned.
Posted August 5, 2013
I have had the exact same issues and am turning the phone back in. It worked great until the upgrade. I use my device for a lot of sales calls and can not waste time rebooting 5-10 times a day.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 277 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Bad phone

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Portlandorusa
From: Portland, or
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After a week after buying it, I had to return it.
Poor battery that needs more than 2-3 hours to recharge completely.
The ring cannot be setup to "just make the phone calls" ring, so when volume down, every notifications are down.
The new notification are not being shown on the screen, so you have to guess or click on every application to identify which one is about the last "ring" you have.
The alarm cannot be set up in a way that if the phone is off, it will turn on to wake up you.
Functions work very slow, and it takes a few seconds to display.
The camera image of the contact when using Skype is distorted.
Poor case, the memory door keeps open and made the phone to restart again due loosing storage information.
Better to spend on a better phone than having this.
Pros: price
Cons: not a good phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 278 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

This phone works !

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bphonemaster21
From: Philadelphia, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been with virgin mobile for my whole smartphone career and every phone I had before this one had an issue. I even bought the iPhone 5 for a bit but returned it because of issues going back to the reverb. The reverb does everything it needs to do, besides freezing every once and awhile it is trustworthy and does the job, but I do feel like the phone lacks what other cell phones offer, the camera is just alright and touch wiz is boring, the phone feels cheep and is quick to wear and tear, if it offered 4g lte speeds I would keep it for another year or two but I feel like its time to upgrade, so in conclusion the phone does what it needs to do without hassle but it lacks that feature to make you love it, could not see anyone owning it for more than a year as it becomes dated.
Pros: no hassle, trustworthy
Cons: feels dated, no 4g speeds, camera is just alright, little bit of lag
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 279 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Good phone, sometimes slow.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DirtyMike
From: Richmond VA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is a great phone! i work in a kitchen all day and constantly use my phone for work related issues. It has some lag time where things don't load as fast as they should but other than that, performance is good. One thing that gets under my skin is that you cant move apps to the SD card. If you could do that, i would rate this a 4, so Virgin Mobile should allow you to do that with this phone.
Pros: desin, wi-fi, screen
Cons: app to sd card, sometimes slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 280 for Samsung Galaxy Reverb

Splendid Phone~Splendid Advanced Features...

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Prog1970
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
...Like For EXAMPLE~BIG 4 Inch Glass Screen~2 Cameras~One Being An Excellent 5 Megapixels~Faster 1.4Ghz Processor~Larger Internal Memory~4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich OS~Among Many More...
Pros: the advanced features
Cons: the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
<<prev1...1213141516...26next>