Customer Reviews for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Use the MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot to connect up to 5 Wi-Fi enabled devices to the 3G wireless internet. No contract.
Average Customer Rating:
3.154 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 out of 1354%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
2,072 Questions | 1,921 Answers
Customer Reviews for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot
Review 1 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Easy to Use, dropped connection alot, not able to look at videos online

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
happymobileuser120
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this as an alternative of getting DSL. Verizon was being such a hassle with the internet service so i decided to get this little thing. I was pretty suprised on how well it did on the 3G network but it failed around my area.. it was ok but i could not load a youtube page..it was like dial up internet
I am still a proud virgin mobile user, although i get little to no reception at my house -.-
22yrs, college student, california
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

I do not like this device.

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nick1117
From: Washington DC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I can't watch any videos nor t.v shows because the connection is too slow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Its good!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jord
From: Delaware
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had the mifi device for a while and I took it on a trip to Effingham, Illinois and it works great! The device is good. I just wish it had a screen to show how much signal there is and how much battery power is left and stuff but overall I love it. I was using it on the road and i stayed in touch with my friends and family on the go!
Pros: it works pretty well!
Cons: no unlimited plan.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Unreliable, don't waste your money.

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Aria
From: Charlotte, NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this product due to not having any internet and needing a temporary fix. I followed all instructions and it seemed to work well enough. Then, the next few days, it started randomly disconnecting. I constantly had to do a hard reboot on it, but the disconnecting got worse and worse as time went by. It eventually got to the point where every five minutes it disconnected, then every two. I finally got fed up with it and decided that the cheap price was not worth the stress. This product is a great idea, but it does not work as intended. I gave it two stars for ease of use because the instructions and set-up are fairly simple. The fact that I continually had to reboot it, however, makes it far less simple.
Pros: cheap
Cons: reeboot, mifi, pain, waste of money, waste of time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
36of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Not Recommended

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Manders378
From: St Louis, Mo.
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this device for about 6 Months, as long as it was plugged into the Wall it worked Great but if its Mobile I dont want to have to keep it plugged into the Wall. Recently it Stopped working, I would keep it plugged in for hours and it wouldnt turn on for nothing, take it off the Charger and it would die. I do NOT Recommend this Device...save your Money and buy a HTC EVO Cell Phone thru VM...you can use it as a Hotspot for only $15. Thats just Awesome!
Pros: nothing really
Cons: charge/battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+42points
43of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Unlimited??

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Glcr
From: Orlando, Florida
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After installing, MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot, in just three days slowed down. Fourth day, stopped!!
Nothing was unlimited. The reason from Customer Service, I used the internet too much!!!!
Why sell a product as Unlimited, if it has limitations!! It start counting usage as soon as my lap top turned on!!! Bad idea!!
Still great fan of Virgin cell phone services, but this, no way José
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+69points
94of 119voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

This product is a great WiFi Hotspot coverage.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
seatbounce
From: Orcutt, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is a great WiFi Hotspot coverage. The service works very good in my area I do not have a lot of lag. It is extremely good for the price and the best for a prepaid hotspot with multiple connections"up to five devices".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
27of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Good for occassional remote access

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
JCRX
From: North Carolina
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use the MiFi 2200 for the times when I am traveling, and it serves its purpose well. You cannot expect to use this as a replacement for home broadband service. If you want to use it every day, or even several times a week it will be of limited usefulness because of high plan costs. Fifty dollars per month is more than my 25 mbps broadband service at home costs.
I use the device on trips in the car and at airports to check email, use GPS, or get flight plan information. I can pull out my laptop or iTouch and have connectivity anywhere. This seems to be a good match with the 10-day plan. The rest of the time it sits in a drawer at home with no service (and of course no cost).
The device starts quickly, so it is possible to turn it on, use the internet connection for five minutes and then turn it off. This prevents using up data with all the background housekeeping things computers do online these days. One problem is that the ON button is very easy to press accidentally. This depletes the battery and uses bandwidth. I fixed this by taping a small flap over the button that I have to lift before pressing it.
The connection is 3G, so it is not fast. It is a limitation that is shared by all 3G devices and not just the MiFi 2200.
Most of the time this device sits in a drawer at home, deactivated. It is a bit of a pain to activate the device when I have a need for it, but that could just be me. Because I only use it four or five times a year on trips I tend to forget the exact activation procedure and have to call Virgin Support (which can be a hassle). I suppose I could just write the activation procedure down and tape it to the 2200..
In summary, this device serves a useful function as a remote hotspot several times per year. I do not believe it is either fast enough nor inexpensive enough to use as a primary internet device. The no-plan feature of virgin makes it very economical to use when it is activated for only the times it is needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+98points
108of 118voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Good So Far! Excellent Price as well

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sexy17capricorn
From: Kansas City, Mo
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product so that I could use it for my Amazon Kindle Fire because I will be places sometimes where there is no WiFi. So I got the product from Walmart it was very simple to set up all you do is. Turn the device on, connect to it through the wifi on your computer or laptop (ie.. if you are connected to another network, disconect from that one and connect to the Virgin mobile one) then you just follow the sey up guideline and your all set. Your password is on the back of your device and then you just choose a plan and roll. (VERY IMPORTANT: If you purchase a TOP-UP-CARD from Walmart at the same time you buy this MiFi device, when you get to your account page and it asks you to choose a plan, if you already bought the card enter in the info and then select the option that says WALMART TOP-UP and that will apply to card your account and then your device will begin to start working) IT TOOK ME TWO DEVICES TO FIGURE THIS OUT, (at no fault of anyone except myself...lol) but I figured it out and now all my stuff is connected. I will start out with the $20 plan and if I need more I will get the unlimited plan! I use this for my Kindle mostly but if I need to I will use it for my laptop!!!!! Thanks Virgin!!!
Pros: the ease of set up, size-fits right into my purse, for simple users, no contract!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+43points
47of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

I THINK IT'S GREAT

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
longtermcust
From: Pittsburgh Pa
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I THINK IT'S GREAT AND THE BEST THING IS NOW BEING ABLE TO TRAVEL AND IT WORKS WITH NO PROBLEM I LOVE IT AND I HAVE TOLD MANY OF MY FREINDS ABOUT IT THAT HAS BOUGHT IT AS WELL I NOW HAVE THIS SERVICE FOR MY CHURCH AS WELL GREAT GREAT GREAT KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK
Pros: it works very well
Cons: battery could be a little better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Works very good for web browsing

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
SMILE
From: TN
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great for web browsing and works great for itouch connection to play some games and can download aps but is very slow and will not download movie. Have taken with me on the road works good for that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Bandwidth Limitations Way To Severe and Costly

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
RickInRacine
From: Racine, WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We wanted to replace our DSL service and bought the MiFi 2200 and $20 to test this. The install and performance were okay although occasionally flaky when in use -- requiring disconnect / connect process. The big problem is that we have used over 300 MB in only 2.5 days even though we have closed all apps after usage and done very limited video. I looked at a post game interview of a football player and used about 20 MB in less than 1 minute. So my guess is that even the "unlimited" $50 service (really 2.5 GB) would likely be used up in two weeks even with careful use. Probably to download Microsoft operating system fixes or to watch a movie on line would cost $20 or more each time. So the cost is not practical in a world with advertising embedded everywhere and YouTube clips and interviews everywhere in the sports and financial worlds. If the $50 per month were really unlimited it would still be goodbye DSL but with the current pricing this product can only be used for emergencies where cost is not an issue. The real SPRINT network is advertised as truly unlimited. This product and the stick version should be avoided unless cost is not an issue at all or you only do text based applications.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+158points
199of 240voted this as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Customerwantsbetter
 
Please wait while more information about Customerwantsbetter is loaded.
Additional information about Customerwantsbetter could not be loaded.
PLEASE MAKE A DEVICE THATS FASTER AND TRULY UNLTD
Posted December 26, 2011
I BELIEVE THAT THIS DEVICE IS WORTH USING BUT ONCE AGAIN WE ARE AT AN AGE WERE SPEED IS EVERYTHING AND COST IS THE BEST WAY TO GET YOR CUSTOMERS RUNING TO YOU.... I AM NOT TOO HAPPY ABOUT THIS PRODUCT IN THAT IT IS TOO SLOW AND THE DEVICE RUNS OUT OF TIME TOO QUICLY MEANING DATA USAGE.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Submarine
 
Please wait while more information about Submarine is loaded.
Additional information about Submarine could not be loaded.
Not intended to replace DSL
Posted November 19, 2011
I use the older USB modem at work where I'm driving 12 or so hours a day, 5 days a week, and i leave it connected the entire time. As with this wifi hotspot, it's intended for mobile use not the heavy use you would usually do at home. For a netbook it's great for checking email and most internet use. I stream various radio stations and download podcasts as well as limited Youtube and still stay within my 5gb cap. Any sort of movies or Hulu will eat up bandwith pretty fast so if it's something where you take a trip or so the Unlimited plan would be more than enough. I switched from ATT and Virgin Mobile's service has been vastly superior.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
xailian83
new hampshire
 
Please wait while more information about xailian83 is loaded.
Additional information about xailian83 could not be loaded.
i disagree with this review
Posted November 16, 2011
Mifi is an excellent choice as a primary internet, because with the unlimited you still have web access even after you reach the cap, and honestly i have run speed tests during and after my cap and the speeds are about the same...1.3-1.4 mbps....
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 13 for MiFi 2200 Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Works great!

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
iceman
From: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice having a good hotspot you can carry wherever you go. It has worked flawlessly anywhere I have gone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-20points
43of 106voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LizeeTee
Levittown, NY
 
Please wait while more information about LizeeTee is loaded.
Additional information about LizeeTee could not be loaded.
Love it!
Posted December 7, 2012
I have used it to get online with my I-Pad and my Tablet, while I was downloading a file with my laptop. I take it with me on the road and I haven't had any trouble getting online with it in Florida and up around Rochester, NY. As for usage, some months I get the $35 dollar plan, other times I tried the $55 dollar plan and found I was ending my month with mb's left, so I'm sticking with the $35 dollar plan. I can always top up. And when I needed help, the service center was always available! I love Virgin!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Seymore
Philly
 
Please wait while more information about Seymore is loaded.
Additional information about Seymore could not be loaded.
Overall, very, very good, over all!!!
Posted December 9, 2011
I have yet to take it with me on the road but I love it at home! I love that the overall cost compared to other carriers is the best! I've had some issues but nothing to complain about, overall.
Overall, very, very good, over all!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)