Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at VirginMobileUSA.

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
3.292 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(885 Reviews) 885
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (885 reviews)
5 stars
254
4 stars
217
3 stars
114
2 stars
133
1 star
167
479 out of 83358%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

Early comparison

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
chipps61
From: Zelienople, PA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This review is a comparison between two similar phones available here; my Virgin Mobile Optimus Slider (owned 7 months), and the new Kyocera Rise (owned 2 days). With that in mind:
The Rise has a slightly larger screen, (3.5 vs. 3.2), a 20% faster processor (1ghz vs 800mhz), an updated version of Android (4.0 vs. 2.3) and most importantly, a WHOLE LOT more internal storage - almost 1GB compared to 150mb.
Even with moving all apps to the SD card, my Optimus Slider, which is otherwise a very good phone, by the way, was always right on the verge of being out of internal storage. Not so with the Rise...I installed every app I had on the Optimus, plus a few, plus 5 or 6 games... moved them to the SD card so as to compare apples to apples... and I have used somewhere between 15 and 20 percent of the available internal storage. That is an absolutely HUGE difference.
The 32gb SD card I had purchased for and used in the Optimus popped right into the Rise, and I had the phone activated and switched over from the Optimus in a matter of 5 or 10 minutes by following the instructions for swapping phones on Virgin’s web site. So far I have no complaints, especially for such a low priced phone, but a few observations in no particular order:
The Rise comes with a surprisingly vanilla installation of Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0), which is a very good thing. It actually downloads many of the Virgin Mobile programs that were preinstalled on the Optimus after activation. And unlike the Optimus, those programs can then be uninstalled at will. It took a little more effort to set the phone up because of this, but that wasn’t a con to me at all, I actually enjoyed the process.
The slightly faster processor in the Rise has in fact made a difference in what games will run on it - two that failed on the Optimus for me (World of Goo and Osmosis) run with no problem on the Rise. Other reviewers have noted that the power button is on the part of the phone that slides out with the keyboard, and that’s accurate… however it is on the left side of the keyboard (same spot it is on the Optimus, by the way)… and it just hasn’t gotten in the way for me thus far, I haven’t turned the phone off while texting yet, on either phone. If you’re left handed, it may be more of an issue.
The build quality of the phone does feel a little less robust than the Optimus, I left the protective film on the screen, and immediately went on eBay and ordered a rubberized case and screen protector for it, as well as a couple of spare batteries. Unlike the Optimus Slider, batteries and external chargers specific to the phone are not easy to find anywhere just yet. You can get them for next to nothing for the Optimus Slider everywhere.
The phone has, in a 2 day period, frozen twice on me, both times while trying to do something on it while it was plugged in and charging… requiring me to pop the battery out and back in again to bring it back to life. I ran it all the way down from a full charge unplugged and did not have any problems with it during normal use away from the charger.
So bottom line… overall, I really do like this phone so far, it’s the perfect upgrade from the Optimus Slider, performance and capacity-wise. Reliability is too early to tell, but if you like the physical qwerty keyboard phones, this is easily the most capable phone of that genre available on Virgin Mobile right now. I will keep my tried and true Optimus Slider for a backup in case something happens, and I very much look forward to spending more time with this beast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+49points
49of 49voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
chipps61
Zelienople, PA
 
Please wait while more information about chipps61 is loaded.
Additional information about chipps61 could not be loaded.
4 month update
Posted February 16, 2013
The Rise just yesterday got a firmware update, with Android 4.04, and a January 2013 build of the v3.0.8 kernel. The update took about 45 minutes to complete, and the phone is noticeably more responsive after installation.
In the last few months, I did run into what other people have been saying about the phone randomly rebooting or turning off for no apparent reason. The fix was exactly as other reviewers have stated: simply tear off a matchbook cover and place it in the battery well... then pop the battery back in on top of it - presto, problem solved, no issues since.
I'll continue to recommend the Rise to anyone looking for an entry level smart phone with a physical keyboard. This is a hard phone to beat for the money, especially if you catch it on sale.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
chipps61
Zelienople, PA
 
Please wait while more information about chipps61 is loaded.
Additional information about chipps61 could not be loaded.
Update after almost 2 months instead of 2 days...
Posted December 15, 2012
After spending more time with this beast, I continue to really like this phone. I just last week bought another one after the recent big price drop, and am currently using that one (a brand new, never-activated phone) as an external battery charger.
Not much else to add from my initial review, other than to say I don't plan to move away from this anytime soon. The phone is simply perfect for my personal needs, and I'm very happy with my purchase(s).
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

Shutdown Issue ---SOLVED---

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DIYGuy
From: Missouri
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had the same problem as many of the reviewers here and found the solution. If your phone is shutting down after pressing hard, shutting the keyboard, not turning on, etc., here is the fix:
1. Take out battery 2. place a small piece of thin cardboard (like a matchbook cover) in the battery well 3. Replace battery and ensure a snug fit for the back cover 4. Power on and test (paper width may need to be adjusted)
After the fix, the phone has been running great. The pictures are good quality, thanks in part to the built in flash. The screen and keyboard have an pleasant tactile feel. The phone has good speed for running ICS on 1Ghz. It has a strong wifi receptor.
For as cheap as the phone was, I don't mind a minimal DIY fix up. I am glad I didn't return it multiple times like some people.
Pros: inexpensive, good quality, keyboard, ics
Cons: loose battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Amazing for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SwitchedFromEvo
From: Los Angeles, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I switched to VM recently to save money and hoped this phone would be usable until I could afford to upgrade. It's performance is almost as good as my EVO was, although the screen is smaller and lower resolution, Netflix and YouTube still look good on it, the 3G is speedy, and the call quality has been great! I actually love the slide out keyboard, which surprised me because my last two phones (EVO and Instinct) didn't have keyboards. The battery life is way better than my old phone's; I'll be gone for 14 hours a day using my Rise to listen to music, record my bike rides with the GPS, watch Netflix on the train, etc etc etc and still have battery left when I get home at night. I will admit that the camera is not up to par with higher end devices, but if that's the only compromise I can get over it!
Pros: price, battery life, keyboard, android 4.0
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

Great Phone, Great Price

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheOutStandingOne
From: Queens, NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm not too sure how to review this phone. Personally for me it's borderline perfect, but for the average person that might not be the case.
Features: You got the standard smartphone affair. iOS may have more apps than Droid, but Droid does have some advantages. Apple doesn't have the slide out keyboard or old school game emulators (at least not without hacks) which super justifies this purchase for me.
Performance: Some games lag, but it doesn't make the games unplayable. However if you're looking to break world records, this isn't the phone to do it on. For the most part this phone is fast and responsive. I don't get the freeze issues that others have written about.
Ease of use: If you're more familiar with iOS then ICS may have some learning curve involved, but overall you should get the hang of it and with enough tinkering you'll be a pro in no time.
Battery Life: I turn Eco Mode on from 100% and call it a day. I don't use my phone for music. If you force quit apps and leave the phone alone while it's on Eco Mode, it virtually uses no battery. If you're gonna be on the phone all day, that makes it a typical smart phone battery, so bring a charger.
Other: call quality is decent. Camera is not top tier, but remember the price here. I don't understand complaints about weight; holding this phone is not a resistance exercise. It's slightly heavier because of the keyboard, but for me, the keyboard wins, so the weight isn't a factor.
Overall: personally, I love this phone. It's almost like this phone was designed specifically for me. If you're looking for a top of the line phone, then you better look for a top of the line phone because this isn't it. If you're looking for an inexpensive phone that wants to play with the big boys (and in a considerable amount of cases, can in fact play with the big boys), then you got a deal here.
Pros: keyboard, eco mode battery
Cons: camera, slight lag in some games
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

love this phone

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
heavydiesel
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Had a optimus elite and it kept overheating so i upgraded to this phone and i wouldnt change a thing about it except i wish it had a better camera and the battery life is ok, it lasts about 1 day but if you get the easy battery saver app it makes it last like 3 days on a single charge. NO OVERHEATING PROBLEM!!! Has a good music player and on this phone you can change the equilizer. Reguardless of what video reviews say the keyboard is perfectly spaced and i have very large hands just wish it had an enter button. It loads everything fast and the screen is very crisp. I also like that it has an indication light on the front. Over all i love this phone and i would recommend it to a friend!
Pros: performance, screen size and resolution, good music player
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

Has Changed My Opinion of Android Phones

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
aimpie87
From: Tempe, Arizona
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had two Android phones before this, and I hated them both. The battery life was awful, the screen was so glitchy, and the keyboards lagged or the swipe was to slow to even attempt to use. I went as far as considering a 98$ single plan for Verizon Wireless just so I could have web without having to use an Android phone. But because of a tight budget, this is really the only web phone service I can afford, so I looked for a third phone, and tried this out.
BUY IT. I love everything about this phone, touch screen works, it's pretty fast at downloads, video quality isn't great but photos turn out good, easy to use and find your way around, battery life TWO DAYS! AH! so happy. I've never had a kyocera phone in my life, but I will look for their label if I ever have to purchase again, which I really don't think I will have to for a long time.
I havent had any of the problems some negative reviews mention on here. Phone is great. I'm not one to write reviews normally, but I just had to this this one.
I hope this helps, a cheap phone with cheap service that doesn't act cheap! YES!
Pros: nearly everything
Cons: taking videos
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

Awesome Phone

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TextWebUser
From: MD / DC
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you're looking for a sleek android powered virgin mobile smartphone with a slide out qwerty keyboard, currently your choices are the Samsung Intercept, the LG Optimus Slider, and the Kyocera Rise. I recently and briefly had the LG Optimus Slider, but LG phones are notorious for their battery/charging issues. I started having charging issues after only one week. So, in deciding to replace that phone with a better one, my remaining choices were the Kyocera Rise or the Samsung intercept. Samsung is usually a reliable brand, but the Intercept only has 2.5 stars from over 2,000 ratings on this site, so I wouldn't try that one. Then, I decided to give the Kyocera Rise a try, and I'm so glad I did.
When I first opened the box, I was presently surprised. It was physically attractive, and when I turned it on, the fonts and colors were pleasing to the eye. The Kyocera Rise also operates on the most recent Android 4.0 system which makes it easy to use, easy to look at, and it performs better than previous versions of the android operating systems. The slide-out qwerty keyboard is also better looking and easier to use than on other phones I've had. I'm more than satistifed with my Kyocera Rise and I wish I had gotten it the first time around. I would recommend the Kyocera Rise to anyone looking for a sleek android powered virgin mobile smartphone with a slide out qwerty keyboard.
Pros: appearance, operating system, font size and color, features, performance, slide-out qwerty keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

Quality "SmartPhone" for the Money

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
irishrosegran
From: Tucson, AZ.
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have only had the new Kyocera Rise a couple of weeks, but for me, one of the "older generation", it is a remarkably easy phone to learn how to use. Comes with way more "apps" than I need, but has the talk, text & messaging that I wanted. No more contracts and the monthly plan I have is half what I was paying for the same thing with another carrier. Still learning the "ins and outs" of the phone and the battery seems to need recharging more often than my other phone, but have learned that I can "turn off" apps I don't want that take up lots of battery life. Texting/Qwerty keyboard is the same as my old phone and very easy to use. So far, love this new phone and it's ease of use.
Pros: great value in a smartphone
Cons: battery life not great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

This phone is amazing!

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jessce
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just switched from the Optimus V to the Kyocera Rise and the Rise is an absolute amazing phone. Its easy to use, runs smoothly, battery life is great, QWERTY keyboard fits perfectly in in you hand and is the latest android 4.0 so its a top notch phone. I would recomend this phone to anyone who loves android and needs a phone a an affordable price.
Pros: battery life runs smooth sleak fill
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

This product is easy to use

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
4n6Kid
From: Winchester, VA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I remember looking up this phone every single day when VM put it on their website. I was desperate to get it, but every time I had the money for it, it was always "Out of Stock". Finally, right before Christmas, I got it!
This is my first Android, and it's okay, for the most part.
THE GOOD: Because I live in one of the best areas for 3G, I have no problems whatsoever with having bars or service, etc . . . Also, the Kyocera is ridiculously easy to use (this is a plus coming from me becasue I am NOT, at all, good with technology) . . . And the battery life is out of this world (okay, maybe I'm exaggerating just a little . . . out of 5 stars, my opinion is that it is a 4 -- depending on usage -- I charge my phone completely overnight and it gets me through the whole day (I return home at 5 and it has 25% of battery left))
THE BAD: I love playing games (Shipwreak'd and Monster Park on the Kyocera being my favorites); however, this phone freezes in the middle of playing the games. The only solution I've come to when it freezes like that is taking out the battery and starting over . . .
This review probably isn't helpful, but so what! I was bored and wanted to give one (:
Pros: battery life, ease of use, 3g service
Cons: freezes . . . a lot
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Daveydog
WI
 
Please wait while more information about Daveydog is loaded.
Additional information about Daveydog could not be loaded.
Tips on games
Posted January 29, 2013
Make sure all unnecessary apps are killed before playing,as games utilize a lot of on board memory. If you are not playing online , disable mobile network data (3G). This saves a ton of battery life as well. You can still MAKE AND RECEIVE PHONE CALLS AND TEXTS WITHOUT 3G TURNED ON , so its a good idea to keep this feature off anyway. (just turn on when you want to use mobile web) If all else fails, try playing in airplane mode - even the most demanding games usually perform well while in this mode.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

Awesome!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jacob12
From: Brawley, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I began using Virgin Mobile a year and a half ago. I purchased the Samsung Intercept, VERY BIG mistake. A couple months ago I started using the Venture. It was better than the Intercept, despite the small keys & horrible battery life. A month I was given the Rise as a gift, and it is definitely 100% better! The phone has a nice sleek design, great screen, nice keyboard, and good internal space. Its very good in the hands & is great for people of all ages. Games are rarely jumpy. The only downside would be the camera. It isn't the worst, but could at least be 5 megapixels. Overall the Rise is absolutely worth it. A great experience at a very reasonable price. (:
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

Love this phone

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
NYRFAN24
From: Liverpool, NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First off, this is the first Android device I've ever had. That being said, my review is solely biased to this product. Now that I've set the record straight, I'd like to start by saying that the Kyocera Rise is a great beginners device. It's easy to use. It has great features. The OS is fairly quick. And I love having a full keyboard. Battery life is pretty good, usually last me 2 to 2-1/2 days before I need a full recharge. The screen has great colors and good graphics. The bluetooth syncs up with my vehicle perfectly and makes voice dialing a breeze. I've only had it freeze up a couple times, but simply removing the battery and reinserting solved the issue. Overall, this phone performs well and I highly recommend it.
Pros: overall great device
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

This phone is a little gem.....

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DrboB
From: Wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided to give ATT and my HTC inspire the boot. I was hesitant at first knowing that Virgin piggybacks the Sprint Network. I am satisfied with the network service..... Now on to the Rise, easily the best phone I've owned. The phone is so fluid and smooth. The screen is just fine and the ECO mode is amazing. The physical keyboard is awesome, the keys are perfectly spaced and backlit. The main reason we made ths move was to save money. I am not an easy person to please but Virgin Mobile's Kyocera Rise went way past expectations. I have the $35 plan, for those thinking that theres not enough minutes with the plan use the Voxer App. We hardly ever use minutes. Great phone, great company and service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

This product is reliable and has great battery life.

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
AlcaTElPHOneDoG7712
From: Ann Arbor, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I got my Kyocera Rise, I was impressed by the build of the phone. It isnt that heavy and was a major upgrade from my Optimus Elite. YouTube and web searches load up fast and the keyboard is a other great feature to have. For a 3.2 MP camera, the camera does take good pictures. I would totally recommend this to someone who doesnt want to buy something expensive.
Pros: 3.5" screen, keyboard, fast up/downloads, speedy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

Love This phone!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
RichieRich18
From: Brooklyn, NY
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently upgrade from the Lg optimus v to the Kyocera Rise. Just WOW!! the phone display is beautiful, ice cream sandwhich software is just beautiful, smooth transition, and the latest application from the Play Store. I play games like temple run and subway surfer and the tilt is good, the processor is snappy enough for basic task. the browser is super fast and flash built into the website is real smooth n fast. I Love this phone the only thing i would wish the phone do have is a front facing camera atleast a VGA or something but for the price point, you cant complain much. Great job Kyocera on a Great smartphones to people who's coming from a low end smartphone
Pros: displayscreen size battery qwerty keyboard
Cons: processor speed could be a bit faster
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

if u cant decide go with the rise

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
roothlus
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i was thinking to spend the extra money on the iphone but im glad i didnt. i dont see how it can be better than the rise. i really enjoy using this phone. its as fast as my laptop
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

Great phone with lots of memory space and apps

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lorbu
From: Harper Woods, MI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A few months ago I purchased the Samsung Dart offered by T-mobile. It was junk. I dumped it and purchased the Kyocera Rise. Love this phone. The Kyocera Rise has an enormous amount of internal memory as well as 2GB of SD memory. It also gives you the option of moving apps from internal memory to the SD memory. The beyond talk $35 plan with 300 minutes talk, unlimited web, text, and data is a great value, especially for those people who don't need a lot of talk minutes. It's more than enough minutes for my use.
I only wished I had found this phone first before I wasted my money on the Samsung Dart.
Thanks Virgin Mobile!!!!!
Pros: great phone with plenty of memory!, oodles of memory, plenty of apps, great battery life
Cons: navigating is a little confusing, currently nothing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

a great phone for a great price

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Moman
From: Chandler AZ
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was spending way too much on the Sprint network with my EVO. I began looking and thought VM was the best value. I kept waiting and looking at the selection of phones and bam, the rise came out.
It was perfect for me because I text more than type, love the keyboard
So far, everything works great, for less than half of what I was paying.
The weakpoints are the camera and screen resolution, but I dont play games on my phone. For the price, it cant be touched.
I stuck a 32mb card in it and bought a case on Ebay.
Buy this one!!!
Pros: keyboard, ics, size weight, voice quality
Cons: screen res, 3.2 mp cam
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

First Smartphone

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
andriodlover
From: Brunswick, NY
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love this phone! has a great battery life for a smartphone, sends texts fast 3G is pretty fast, but I think the wifi range could be a little better but not something to argue about. overall a great phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

The phone is OK but not reliable

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvVirginMobilePlans
From: CT
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The phone is OK but it frequently crashes, becomes unresponsive, the buttons don't always work, and the touch screen is awfully slow. When it works, it works just fine but I am giving it a lower rating due to the unreliability, weak performance, and the battery life.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
12345...45next>