Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at VirginMobileUSA.

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
3.289 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(894 Reviews) 894
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (894 reviews)
5 stars
256
4 stars
219
3 stars
115
2 stars
135
1 star
169
483 out of 84257%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

Best Phone Ever

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2Buy
From: Florida
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Would Literally Look Up This Phone Everyday , After Finally Getting The Phone , All I Can Say Is Awesomeness. Battery Life Is Terrific , Lasts Me 2 Days , Quick Processor . Downloads Apps Quickly . Great Price And Has The Capability To Stretch Limits. Go Kyocera Rise !
Pros: awesome phone !, great battery life last 2 days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+233points
296of 359voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pipper
ct
 
Please wait while more information about pipper is loaded.
Additional information about pipper could not be loaded.
katesk4
Posted August 1, 2013
I do like this phone, but my dislike is that the screen back light
turns off all the time, like it's got a shot in the system.
I have to keep clicking it on to see what I'm doing and all the apps.
also NO back button when a mistake is made hitting the # to dial.
I may trade this in.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
alacombe
 
Please wait while more information about alacombe is loaded.
Additional information about alacombe could not be loaded.
Posted December 28, 2012
How long did you charge your phone when you first got it?
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

Great 1st touch screen phone

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
FunnyLady
From: Jacksonville, FL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first touch screen phone and I love it! I like that I still have the choice of the slide keyboard or touch screen. This will make a great first phone for anyone who's not sure about the touch screen. LOVE IT!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Worst phone ever

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LongtimeVirginOwner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Command icons don't light up - alt text above letters on keyboard too dark.
Phone randomly switches function by rotating phone barely - causing calls to drop out or other functions to stop.
Just a simple keyboard call doesn't always work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

Why don't more phones have slide out keyboards?

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fyre
From: Ames, IA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
an excellent phone, it is the perfect size and weight. the slide out keyboard is the best design choice for smart phones ever. the physical keyboard doesn't use auto correct making life far easier than trying to use one emulated touch screen that randomly decides that what you were typing was not what you meant. If only they had a slider that was updated to a newer version of Android OS.
Pros: slide out keyboard
Cons: outdated os
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

prettyo good, not great

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
casey2493
From: NYC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best part of this phone is its battery life. i can last easily 2 days with no charge, and full use. coming from an iphone the battery on this phone is phenomenal. however it's awful camera and picture quality are severe. the phone restarts itself at least once a day - every 2 days. tiny performance bugs and lags are what made me get rid of it. the on screen keyboard is buggy and laggy, and texting on it is a hassle. the pull out keyboard, however, is wonderful. also, the google play store has more than enough apps to keep you happy. if you don't mind small bugs and occasional restarts then i recommend this phone.
Pros: battery, google play store
Cons: performance issues, camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

(Nearly 2 years owner) Here's what you need to know if you can't live without a physical keyboard

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nulunas
From: Las Vegas, NV
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been told for nearly 3 years now that I should just move along with everyone and drop the keyboard. Personally, I like that I can text without looking at my phone, and a screen keyboard doesn't cut it. Now, I'll give my review before I move on from this phone.
With this phone's single-core processor, it won't stand very well against the current day's apps. But I give this a phone's performance a 4 because if you have a decent understanding of how to manage your tasks (not with any non-root flimsy task manager apps) this phone runs rather smoothly. If you can't, or won't learn, this phone, and eventually any phone you've had for a year will become useless to you.
This keyboard took some getting used to, especially the special character placements. I seriously lose where the "+" is half the time I need it. The phone otherwise comes with the standard Android keyboard and Swype, which helped in my leap to a non-physical keyboard phone. At low battery, the keyboard will selectively light up. It's weird, and only charging it will help that out.
Physical KB-Phones are notorious for poor battery life. For a good reason: you've sacrificed about 30% of your phone for that keyboard. Good news is if you talk about 2 hours max a day on it, you just need to do nightly recharges. My battery has only lost about 3 hours idle time (roughly 10%) after about 2 years of ownership.
The stock software from Kyocera (Not from Google) is very iffy and will try to constantly run in the background without provocation. I suggest you run with your own suite of apps, especially a music app, as well as downgrade the stock apps.
This phone has a good lock-up recognition mechanic, and fixes it with a restart. Unfortunately this phone takes some time to boot. (about 3 minutes with 4 e-mail accounts to full control)
Most everything else not mentioned works as expected and is typically not a problem. Screen doesn't smudge bad, no dead keys or ports, don't have to pull the battery out more than once a month, etc..
Side-note: This phone will delay PUSH notifications up to 10 minutes. I do not know why, but this was a pressing reason why I'm switching.
OVERALL: This has been the best keyboard phone for its time under Virgin Mobile since the Switchback (Strobe for other carriers) in my honest opinion. As a keyboard phone owner, you should understand that your are making a sacrifice (usually in battery) for that keyboard, and you need to outweigh the cons to this difficult pro.
Pros: keyboard phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

Horrible phone I would buy it for a 13yr but not for a busy mom or dad

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dejno1fan
From: Zeeland, MI
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first smartphone so when I got it I was so excited, and for the first month things went really well. Then my phone kept shutting off by itself and it would freeze running basic apps like calendar or email. I did have to call and ask what I should do with this and they said do a factory reset which I did. All I can say is that if I had the money to replace I would and that is our next top thing we are going to buy. My phone is not good at all and I have to continually restart it because it freezes.
Cons: battery life freezes often shuts off on its own
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

Easy to use phone

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
VEGANLife13
From: Las Vega,s NV
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is a perfect phone for a person who loves to text.
The keyboard makes it easy for you to use and it even has a touch screen keyboard if you dont want to slide. Over all a great phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

Great performance and features, everything you could need.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kittles1000
From: Chattanooga, TN
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would say for the price you can't beat this phone. The keyboard makes it easy for people who can't swype, but it has that featured too. The screen is large and has many customizable features for those who need bigger fonts or just want a better set up. Lots of apps for this phone also, Average battery life, thats to be expected with andriod. The internet connection is fast as well. And virgin mobile got the phone delivered to me in less than 3 days. You can't beat the price or the service. Love this phone!
Pros: great for the price!, large screen and lots of customization
Cons: battery life could be better, adware and preloaded apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

It's a good phone for a little while.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
emlove
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone started out great! I loved the Qwerty keyboard for texting and surfing the web. It seemed to work without a glitch for about 6 months or so. Then it started randomly turning off. The only way to restart it was to plug it into a charger which is not convenient at all. The battery also started to drain very fast. Now, the power button has broken. It is so sensitive that if you touch it, it unlocks the phone, or turns it off. The software was awesome, but the phone itself could use some work.
Pros: apps keyboard
Cons: breaking parts battery life diminishes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

Not a very good phone

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From: Gloversville, NY
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had this phone for all of a week and hated every second of it. At first, I thought the keyboard would be very awesome and it was but the phone itself felt cheesy. If your new to android and love having a keyboard then I would recommend this phone to you but if your looking for a fast phone then look at something else.
Pros: keyboard, screen size
Cons: design, camera, battery, messaging, internet, music sound quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

Nice phone! Not much battery life though

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
KatrinaMae
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have the phone set to full on eco-mode, I make sure to close all web tabs when I leave the page, and I always shut the screen off when I'm done using the phone. I rarely watch videos online, and only surf the web in the evenings. But my battery is always in the red by bedtime.
I love the phone, it's very cool and easy to use, I'm just not a fan of the battery life. If I don't have it set to Eco-mode it will die in hours.
Other than that though, it's a top-notch phone for the money, it's great! I was reluctant to give up my slide-out keyboard, but between voice-to-text and Swype, I haven't used it since I bought it. I wish I had gotten a plain touchscreen so it would be lighter, but if you love your keyboard, I would TOTALLY recommend this phone!
Pros: almost everything, swype and voice-to-text, alarm features, ease of navigating internet
Cons: battery life, camera quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

I like this phones features

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MoGIrl
From: Texas
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features are good - but to many - phone is slow...
Pros: it like a mini-computer in my hands, i can take photos where ever i am, i can send photos & share on face book, i get email alerts & check my email, i can control the apps i want on my front screen, the key board feature is quite handy, can use it as an alarm clock, can listen to my favorite radio station, can use it like an mp3 player, one touch calender at my finger tips
Cons: phone is possessed or a ghost is playing with it, @ 2 am it restarts its self..., start up jingle and vm logo plays 2x's..., wakes me up from a dead sleep..., does it even with yfy & g3 turned off..., and in airplane mode, keyboard feature doesn't work with some apps, can't remove preinstalled apps, can't move preinstalled apps to sd card, not quite enough internal storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

I love this phone

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Yuppers0509
From: Minnesota
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this type of phone for almost a year. I bought my first Rise last November and it lasted until July. Then I bought the exact same phone cause I love it and has lasted me up until now. I had to get a new one because it is a keyboard phone, so when you drop it a lot, the keyboard comes apart. I love that it is a touch- screen and a keyboard. And it is a smart- phone so you can download apps. The only downsides are that it makes a noise when taking pictures and that it doesn't have a front facing camera.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

There are better phones you can get for the money.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
erilynbmore
From: SC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone for 2 months and it has given me nothing but problems since the day I got it. Sometimes it just doesn't work at all. All the apps freeze at least once a day. It may be cheap but it still isn't worth the headache not even for someone new to Android phones. I'd rather just use my 15 year old Nokia than the Rise.
Pros: nothing
Cons: freezes, 3g drops randomly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

Not a good investment! Very disappointed!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hlb1272
From: Columbus, Ohio
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone because I really love having the slide out keyboard but its just not worth it. you cannot do anything with this phone. it won't load apps it doesnt want to download them most of the time it won't send messages half of the time. I thought it was a really good deal for the money but you get what you pay for. I will be returning this phone tomorrow and I just bought it today and getting a new phone. I'm sticking with what I know and what I trust I'm getting an LG again. my advice is do not buy this phone!
Pros: flash for the camera, a little more base memory
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

Good for first time Smartphone users

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mighty
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Where do I start? There's so many things wrong with the phone but I'll just talk about a few things. This phone was really great when I first got it. But after while, it started to really make me mad. The battery life would die really quick. At first, it was because I used the internet a lot and my apps. But after that, even if I didn't touch my phone, it would die. I had to carry my charger around with me all day because I would end up charging it 3x a day and even then, I would have to charge it overnight.
This phone also froze a lot. And when using apps, it would say that the app was not responding and close it. It also would randomly shut itself off and turn itself on. This would happen unexpectedly and scare me. It happened when I was sleeping one time and it woke me up. It happened so much, it was normal for me eventually.
I'd say if you are new to the smartphone or new to a touch phone, get this, It was a great phone while it lasted. Otherwise, don't waste your money. I'm a person who keeps a phone for a while but I only had this phone for about 7 months because I could not stand it anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

this product has it's days!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
skiez1234
From: Standihs michigan
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this phone is a good phone. the battery life on it will last all day if you don't use your internet all day! some days it will just shut off and other days it'll be fine. it also has this very bad habit of freezing!
Cons: ugh!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

Big pain

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
j277
From: Colorado
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have nothing but a headache with this phone. Battery runs down rather quickly when I'm online or playing a game. Some features take forever to work or don't work at all. Don't wast your money on this one. =0(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

Great phone

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sexysnuggles202
From: washington dc
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the qwerby/sliding keyboard I text and email alot its great on batter life recommend getting a case for it if you drop it its over the camera is great. The price was good this is my first time being a virgin mobile customer any issues I hade was resolved quickly calling customer service was professional dont have you holding a long time. I am very happy with the service and the Kyocera Rise Please make more phones with a sliding keyboard
Pros: qwerby keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345...45next>