Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at VirginMobileUSA.

Kyocera Rise

Get the Kyocera Rise from Virgin Mobile featuring a full sliding keyboard, 3.2MP camera and video. Plus unlimited web, data, messaging and email with no contract.
Average Customer Rating:
3.291 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(884 Reviews) 884
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (884 reviews)
5 stars
254
4 stars
216
3 stars
114
2 stars
133
1 star
167
478 out of 83257%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Rise
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise

Best Phone Ever

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2Buy
From: Florida
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Would Literally Look Up This Phone Everyday , After Finally Getting The Phone , All I Can Say Is Awesomeness. Battery Life Is Terrific , Lasts Me 2 Days , Quick Processor . Downloads Apps Quickly . Great Price And Has The Capability To Stretch Limits. Go Kyocera Rise !
Pros: awesome phone !, great battery life last 2 days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+233points
296of 359voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pipper
ct
 
Please wait while more information about pipper is loaded.
Additional information about pipper could not be loaded.
katesk4
Posted August 1, 2013
I do like this phone, but my dislike is that the screen back light
turns off all the time, like it's got a shot in the system.
I have to keep clicking it on to see what I'm doing and all the apps.
also NO back button when a mistake is made hitting the # to dial.
I may trade this in.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
alacombe
 
Please wait while more information about alacombe is loaded.
Additional information about alacombe could not be loaded.
Posted December 28, 2012
How long did you charge your phone when you first got it?
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise

Horrible phone I would buy it for a 13yr but not for a busy mom or dad

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dejno1fan
From: Zeeland, MI
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first smartphone so when I got it I was so excited, and for the first month things went really well. Then my phone kept shutting off by itself and it would freeze running basic apps like calendar or email. I did have to call and ask what I should do with this and they said do a factory reset which I did. All I can say is that if I had the money to replace I would and that is our next top thing we are going to buy. My phone is not good at all and I have to continually restart it because it freezes.
Cons: battery life freezes often shuts off on its own
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise

Easy to use phone

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
VEGANLife13
From: Las Vega,s NV
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is a perfect phone for a person who loves to text.
The keyboard makes it easy for you to use and it even has a touch screen keyboard if you dont want to slide. Over all a great phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise

Great performance and features, everything you could need.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kittles1000
From: Chattanooga, TN
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would say for the price you can't beat this phone. The keyboard makes it easy for people who can't swype, but it has that featured too. The screen is large and has many customizable features for those who need bigger fonts or just want a better set up. Lots of apps for this phone also, Average battery life, thats to be expected with andriod. The internet connection is fast as well. And virgin mobile got the phone delivered to me in less than 3 days. You can't beat the price or the service. Love this phone!
Pros: great for the price!, large screen and lots of customization
Cons: battery life could be better, adware and preloaded apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise

It's a good phone for a little while.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
emlove
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone started out great! I loved the Qwerty keyboard for texting and surfing the web. It seemed to work without a glitch for about 6 months or so. Then it started randomly turning off. The only way to restart it was to plug it into a charger which is not convenient at all. The battery also started to drain very fast. Now, the power button has broken. It is so sensitive that if you touch it, it unlocks the phone, or turns it off. The software was awesome, but the phone itself could use some work.
Pros: apps keyboard
Cons: breaking parts battery life diminishes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise

Not a very good phone

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
YoungBlood
From: Gloversville, NY
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had this phone for all of a week and hated every second of it. At first, I thought the keyboard would be very awesome and it was but the phone itself felt cheesy. If your new to android and love having a keyboard then I would recommend this phone to you but if your looking for a fast phone then look at something else.
Pros: keyboard, screen size
Cons: design, camera, battery, messaging, internet, music sound quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise

Nice phone! Not much battery life though

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
KatrinaMae
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have the phone set to full on eco-mode, I make sure to close all web tabs when I leave the page, and I always shut the screen off when I'm done using the phone. I rarely watch videos online, and only surf the web in the evenings. But my battery is always in the red by bedtime.
I love the phone, it's very cool and easy to use, I'm just not a fan of the battery life. If I don't have it set to Eco-mode it will die in hours.
Other than that though, it's a top-notch phone for the money, it's great! I was reluctant to give up my slide-out keyboard, but between voice-to-text and Swype, I haven't used it since I bought it. I wish I had gotten a plain touchscreen so it would be lighter, but if you love your keyboard, I would TOTALLY recommend this phone!
Pros: almost everything, swype and voice-to-text, alarm features, ease of navigating internet
Cons: battery life, camera quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise

I like this phones features

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MoGIrl
From: Texas
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features are good - but to many - phone is slow...
Pros: it like a mini-computer in my hands, i can take photos where ever i am, i can send photos & share on face book, i get email alerts & check my email, i can control the apps i want on my front screen, the key board feature is quite handy, can use it as an alarm clock, can listen to my favorite radio station, can use it like an mp3 player, one touch calender at my finger tips
Cons: phone is possessed or a ghost is playing with it, @ 2 am it restarts its self..., start up jingle and vm logo plays 2x's..., wakes me up from a dead sleep..., does it even with yfy & g3 turned off..., and in airplane mode, keyboard feature doesn't work with some apps, can't remove preinstalled apps, can't move preinstalled apps to sd card, not quite enough internal storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise

I love this phone

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Yuppers0509
From: Minnesota
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this type of phone for almost a year. I bought my first Rise last November and it lasted until July. Then I bought the exact same phone cause I love it and has lasted me up until now. I had to get a new one because it is a keyboard phone, so when you drop it a lot, the keyboard comes apart. I love that it is a touch- screen and a keyboard. And it is a smart- phone so you can download apps. The only downsides are that it makes a noise when taking pictures and that it doesn't have a front facing camera.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise

There are better phones you can get for the money.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
erilynbmore
From: SC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this phone for 2 months and it has given me nothing but problems since the day I got it. Sometimes it just doesn't work at all. All the apps freeze at least once a day. It may be cheap but it still isn't worth the headache not even for someone new to Android phones. I'd rather just use my 15 year old Nokia than the Rise.
Pros: nothing
Cons: freezes, 3g drops randomly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise

Not a good investment! Very disappointed!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hlb1272
From: Columbus, Ohio
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone because I really love having the slide out keyboard but its just not worth it. you cannot do anything with this phone. it won't load apps it doesnt want to download them most of the time it won't send messages half of the time. I thought it was a really good deal for the money but you get what you pay for. I will be returning this phone tomorrow and I just bought it today and getting a new phone. I'm sticking with what I know and what I trust I'm getting an LG again. my advice is do not buy this phone!
Pros: flash for the camera, a little more base memory
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise

Good for first time Smartphone users

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mighty
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Where do I start? There's so many things wrong with the phone but I'll just talk about a few things. This phone was really great when I first got it. But after while, it started to really make me mad. The battery life would die really quick. At first, it was because I used the internet a lot and my apps. But after that, even if I didn't touch my phone, it would die. I had to carry my charger around with me all day because I would end up charging it 3x a day and even then, I would have to charge it overnight.
This phone also froze a lot. And when using apps, it would say that the app was not responding and close it. It also would randomly shut itself off and turn itself on. This would happen unexpectedly and scare me. It happened when I was sleeping one time and it woke me up. It happened so much, it was normal for me eventually.
I'd say if you are new to the smartphone or new to a touch phone, get this, It was a great phone while it lasted. Otherwise, don't waste your money. I'm a person who keeps a phone for a while but I only had this phone for about 7 months because I could not stand it anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise

this product has it's days!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
skiez1234
From: Standihs michigan
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this phone is a good phone. the battery life on it will last all day if you don't use your internet all day! some days it will just shut off and other days it'll be fine. it also has this very bad habit of freezing!
Cons: ugh!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise

Big pain

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
j277
From: Colorado
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have nothing but a headache with this phone. Battery runs down rather quickly when I'm online or playing a game. Some features take forever to work or don't work at all. Don't wast your money on this one. =0(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise

Great phone

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
sexysnuggles202
From: washington dc
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the qwerby/sliding keyboard I text and email alot its great on batter life recommend getting a case for it if you drop it its over the camera is great. The price was good this is my first time being a virgin mobile customer any issues I hade was resolved quickly calling customer service was professional dont have you holding a long time. I am very happy with the service and the Kyocera Rise Please make more phones with a sliding keyboard
Pros: qwerby keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise

Good first-time smart phone

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
InTheLou
From: St. Louis, MO
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this for my daughter, about 3 months ago and she loves it. All the smart phone features she wants and one-tenth the cost of an iPhone. The only complaint so far is with the Qwerty keyboard. The top row is a little close to the phone body when slide is open, making it a little tough to type texts quickly. Other than that, everything has been great including the Virgin coverage and service. Could not be happier.
Pros: cost ease of use features
Cons: top row of qwerty a little close to the phone body
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise

Dont even bother with this phone

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Neednewphone11
From: Westland, MI
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
At first, I really liked this phone. But then it screwed me over. It froze everyday, sometimes even restarting. Games were very glitchy and camera is mediocre. I should've known from the price the that this phone would suck
Pros: keyboard android 4.0
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise

could be a good phone, but it's frustrating to use - unstable.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
nunayabiz
From: FL
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
when i initially got the phone it was my first smart phone - and i was amazed at the number of apps available for the Android platform, and what the phone seemed capable of. and it was one of the few phones in Virgin's shop that had a slide out keyboard.
the honeymoon did not last long.
the Rise is cursed with a stingy 512MB of RAM, half or more of which is needed by the OS. even after disabling the unnecessary services leeching memory in the background, there's really not much left to run too many apps concurrently. i also find apps running from time to time that i never launched. the performance of the phone is highly variable - it crashes all the time, requiring a hard power-up or will suddenly reboot with no warning. often the Rise will do this on an incoming call. great...
no matter how many non essential services are stopped, at some point it just runs out of gas, unless you are very diligent about opening and closing apps. although app managers are not supposed to offer much of an advantage with the Android 4 OS, using one is essential for the Rise, or you will find the phone operating very slowly due to the leftover services still hogging precious RAM.
if the GPS, 3G and WiFi are disabled and the screen brightness is reduced enough, it's possible to get a full day out of the phone as long as there aren't too many long calls. i turned on the services i needed when i needed WiFi, navigation, etc. and turned them off when i was done. it's a pain, but that's how you get the most out of the battery. using the "Quick Settings" app makes it easier to do that. call quality is decent, camera is OK but lacks the resolution most modern phone cameras have.
when it's running right, the Kyocera Rise feels like an adequate phone - i don't need a fancy phone, just one that works and that has a keyboard. but too often i am waiting for the phone to wake up, or having to power it on and off, and then turn off the unneeded services and hope that it stabilizes...sometimes yes, sometimes no.
to further add to my frustration, now the microphone has suddenly stopped working after about 6 months of owning the phone.
Pros: slide out keyboard, feels solid seems durable, reasonable battery life
Cons: insufficient ram, locks up frequently, reboots randomly, mediocre camera quality, launches apps randomly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise

Alright First Android Device

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
JeffreyW
From: Florida
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this phone a year ago in October of 2012 and it was my first smartphone, ever. At the time, I wanted a keyboard over performance and there was a sale going on with the phone. The QWERTY keyboard is what made this phone actually worth buying. The phone felt like it was cheaply made, the screws came lose and my screen started to become floppy when rolling up at times. The keyboard was great, but the only thing I'd complain about the keyboard is that it didn't have an "@" button. This phone comes with pretty much stock Ice Cream Sandwich on 512MB Ram. The amount of ram it comes with is minimum recommended for ICS, so the performance of this phone wasn't so hot. This phone would reboot every few days on its own. It was tolerable. However, a few days ago the power button got stuck on my Rise and the phone would reboot about 30 times a day because it thought I was pressing the button when I obviously wasn't. This is a great beginner Android phone, but I'd save the extra $20 and go for the Virgin Mobile Awe. I currently have the Awe and it is just great.
Pros: qwerty keyboard, stock android
Cons: performance, camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texterandgamesandtheweb
Natick, MA
 
Please wait while more information about Texterandgamesandtheweb is loaded.
Additional information about Texterandgamesandtheweb could not be loaded.
Re: Alright First Android Device
Posted October 21, 2013
Same sort of thing for me! I got this phone in December 2012 and it was great and then like 4 months later is was just awful. The screws came loose and it froze and then about a month and a half ago it just fell apart. The screen came right off the keyboard and then the screen broke. I saved up some money and got the Awe last week.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise

love slide key board

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
pig78famer
From: mi
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like slide key board the over all phone features are good it works good in my area pretty much all the time can't fined a better deal with this plan as well no more contract,
Pros: no contract
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...45next>