Customer Reviews for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

4G on the Fly. Connect your tablet, laptop, and other wireless devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.147 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
26 out of 3184%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,002 Questions | 1,098 Answers
Customer Reviews for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot
Review 1 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

you cant beat this

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
rladdog2012
From: Texas
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well I live in the country can't get good internet So I had a dish on my roof to get internet it was getting three years on this they sold the co. Would not replace with up to date with out a large cost so I ordered this wow its less then the cost and works better the speeds you can be leave it thank you V. M.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Perfect!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
calicobelle73
From: Denton, TX
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This works perfectly. The only problem I had was the initial setup - had to talk to tech support, but we got it done. Recently went on an 8 hr. trip & it was a lifesaver (had 2 little girls in the backseat w/ Kindles). I've been able to connect all my devices with no problems (after the initial one) & everything has worked great with no glitches. I've had this for about 6 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
34of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Works great!

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DJT77
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive had mine for around 10 months now. I use it mainly with my laptop but, mostly to stream Netflix and Youtube via my apple tv. It works great, never any buffering. If you live in a 4G area, its a great replacement for traditional internet service. Like some other reviewers, it did overheat a few times and lose the signal. I fixed this problem by simply standing it on its side and it hasnt happened since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+56points
66of 76voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
helpme
 
Please wait while more information about helpme is loaded.
Additional information about helpme could not be loaded.
Posted March 7, 2014
Which plan did you buy? Does the data last you the whole month? Is your area 3g or 4g?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

2go Wifi is good to use anytime

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LennyG
From: The Big Easy
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got my WiFi almost 2 years ago , had a few issues, with is dropping basically off the map, meaning shutting itself off or not staying connected to the laptop or the tablet I use, but since updating the drivers for it I have not had a problem or an issue with it staying connected, So I would recommends it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
30of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

buy this! :-)

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
jnett
From: ca
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Excellent and the speed is a beautiful day when you use the device
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
16of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Wonderful product

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
smch
From: Ward, Arkansas
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Overdrive Pro because the least expensive internet service I could find in my area was almost $60. I bought a new laptop that came with windows 8 so there were very few broadband options out there unless I wanted to sign a contract. I did some research and found the Overdrive Pro would work. I have 3 phones through Virgin Mobile and never had any problems so I figured I would give it a try. I had a little trouble getting the device activated ( which was my fault because I'm still figuring out this new windows) I called for help and after a battle with the computer we got it figured out and I got the device activated. I would recommend Virgin Mobile to anyone. Myself, my husband, and now my son all have phone service through them and now we have added the internet service through them. They have lifelong customers with my family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+75points
92of 109voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Primary internet

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
baltc0293
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this product for about 1 month, and I like it so far. I was able ot download a movie in about 15 minutes. When I was on Comcast, the fastest I could get was 1.2 mbps. On the 4G network with this device, the fastest I got so far is about 1.0 mbps. Not too much loss of speed considering I'm saving a boatload in money and headaches. I should say that at my previous apartment (comcast) I was in a suburban area, and now I am in a little more of a rural area.
Pros: speed, battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
55of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

This is now our primary home Internet

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Portable
From: Seattle, Wa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So our previous Internet service provider wasn't able to give us very good speeds when we moved to our new apt. Bought one of these so my husband could stream football games, since our dsl kept cutting out, but the overdrive performed so nicely in our place that we cancelled our other service and just use this. It does everything I need it to. Plus, I can take it on the bus and use my wifi-only iPad with it. Battery life is pretty blah but we just keep it plugged in at home.
Pros: portable, affordable, good speeds
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
41of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Works like I need it

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Momzo
From: Michigan
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a few difficulties with the set up and actually called support two different times to get things all situated. As frustrated as I was about things not going quickly, they did help me patiently and got me going.
I've tested out the Wifi at home and at a school. At home it was working just as well as my cable internet connection, and I actually spent the day using my hot spot to see if I could detect a difference. I couldn't.
I took it to school with a laptop for the next test. Schools have a way of being built so no signals can possibly work. Several of us typically have to stand near a window or step outside in order to use our cell phones.
I had absolutely no problems using the hot spot here. It was great to use. I plan on taking it out on the road next (no, I won't be driving!), to see how it'll work that way. So far, so good!
+25points
31of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

This product is reliable and fast

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MerryBerry
From: Downey, California
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very happy with my overdrive pro! I use it at work and at home, everywhere I go. I've had no problems and I think the price is awesome! I'm sooo happy I don't have Verizon anymore. It was horrible. I feel so free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

I love this this thing!!! <3

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DimenB
From: New Jersey
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i love this thing! it loads up pretty fast!
*wii
*ps3
*psp
*laptop
*my ipod & pad
All of my devices with wifi option work perfect & fast with this!!! & even if u have all 5 devices using it at the same time it still is fast. i use it all the time & i think the bill is amazingly cheap for the great service u get with it!! if u live in jersey & are worried it might not work as good for u i live in jersey & its perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
38of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Great Product and Great Service

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
FreedomwithVMobile
From: Boca Raton, FL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Overdrive Pro after having problems loading the software with the USB version (my company restricts software loading on company laptops). The Overdrive Pro solved these issues and provided a huge increase in performance. I can now place the Overdrive Pro in the window and get four bars of signal strength and the WiFi signal is available throughout the house and patio. Additionally, we can all share the Internet including two laptops and two iPods. Internet speeds are amazing. Wish I had switched sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Great Hotspot and fantastic plan

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvVirginMobilePlans
From: CT
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hotspot is really easy to use, reliable, and has great features. Thank you! We love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
13of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Fits the Bill

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Caller1
From: Houston, TX
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is exactly what I needed. They say it cant replace a wired internet connection.. Well for me it does. I am staying in a motel and the motel WiFi would not let me stream anything. I couldn't play my xbox, update my iphone, or stream netflix on my motel Wifi because it kept dropping me. Well, in comes this little device like a godsend.. I can stream from my Roku, play my xbox, netflix, amazon video, Kindle Fire HD, iPhone,Laptop, even did the day 1 Wii U update on it. I use it stationary so have never put the battery in it. Did a speed test on it and it was less than impressive, but for me.. It could do what I needed it to do and that was good enough. I do have to keep it in the window to get a clear signal though.
Pros: ease of use, reliability, signal strength (output)
Cons: download speed, sensitive to obstructions
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
38of 45voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LoveMyLG
USA
 
Please wait while more information about LoveMyLG is loaded.
Additional information about LoveMyLG could not be loaded.
Hot spot configuration
Posted January 23, 2013
I just got one for my son. I got it to work only after I left everything as defaults. Did you have trouble changing defaults for: hot spot name, admin password, and wi fi password?
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Glad I purchased this product

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gadgetlady86
From: Jacksonville, FL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love my overdrive pro, its so amazing I love the service. I love the proformance, I'm currently on 4G usage and I have fast speed internet. I can surf the web, and watch movies at lighting speed. Using 3G in the past I couldn't watch movies and surf the web as fast as I can now. I love virgin mobile just $35 a month you can't beat that with a stick.
Pros: unlimited 4g access for only $35
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

this is a awsome product

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bazematic1
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i like this product its easy to use great signal strength and i use alooooooot of memory so i highly recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
13of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Great for hard to access areas.

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Shorebuys
From: Warrenton, Va
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I live in an area that is very hard to get internet access. But this unit will get us a signal strength of up to 4 bars, which is unheard of for us. No internet companies have lines where were at, so wireless is our only inexpensive alternative. The only weakness this unit has is that the battery time is low. You pretty much have to keep it plugged in all the time to get the best signal. Other than that, this unit is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
36of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Works for me as a nice alternative to pricey FiOS or Cable

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nachty
From: Central PA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Don't expect blazing 20MB downloads, but this thing is pretty fast.
I get an average of 1.5MB to 2.0MB down with it.
I am able to stream Netflix over my Wii, surf WiFi on my tablet and still have my MacBook connected at the same time with no problem.
No buffering on Netflix, no lag with surfing, just a nice solid connection.
Make sure you are in a 4G coverage area, otherwise this is useless for you. If you're like me, you'll eat through the tiny 3G allotment in no time flat.
Also, make sure that the 4G coverage is for indoors, not "on street". If it is "on street" (like it is in my area) you can still get a 4G signal inside… just be sure to rest the device on a window sill or ledge. Keep it as close to the outside as you can without actually putting it outside.
I do this and it works like a charm.
Also, the battery does heat up quickly. If you leave it plugged in and charging, with the battery still seated, you run the risk of the device shutting down to prevent overheating.
I never need to take this out of my house, so the battery is not really a big issue for me.
I have found that simply removing the battery and leaving it plugged in solves the overheating issue… therefore preventing any connection drops.
Still, it is nice to have that option of taking it with me wherever I go and using the battery.
Overall, for just $35 a month for unlimited 4G... this deal is way better for me than pricey FiOS or cable internet.
Pros: price, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+102points
110of 118voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

Faster than the DSL I have at home

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
4GUser
From: Fullerton, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ran speed tests while connected to the Overdrive and then again while connected to my DSL service. The Overdrive was faster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
41of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot

SWEET DEAL, FAST 4G SPEED, LOW PRICE!!!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMOBILEmatt
From: WASHINGTON DC
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!!! Use this to power my itouch, my sister's Itouch, and mother's Itouch! And the speed is incrediblely FAST!!! 4G speeds!!!
Pros: data speed, battery life, no limits, 60$, device look, service, 4g & 3g
Cons: nothing!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
32of 40voted this as helpful.
12next>