Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.188 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(618 Reviews) 618
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (618 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
73
3 stars
60
2 stars
127
1 star
291
159 out of 58327%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
348 Questions | 402 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Amazing Affordable Phone!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Fuchsia
From: Sarasota, Florida
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This android phone is amazing for the price. I don't think you can find a better deal with an $80 price tag or lower. Excellent value and perfect for those who are on a tight budget but wish to own an android phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Decent Phone for cheap...

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lively1
From: Metro Detroit Area, MI
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros:
- Android 4.0
- 1GHz Processor (fairly snappy at first).
- Decent size screen.
- Can take a 32gb micro SDHC card.
- Decent Camera for what its worth
Cons:
- Freezes and needs hard reset more than I would like.
- No dedicated Camera button.
- Slows down after usage, even with most apps put on micro sd card.
- Screen scratches fairly easy.
For the most of what this phone is, it's nice. It's meant to be for those that don't wish to spend lots of money for an android / smart phone. This phone coupled with the $45 monthly plan is more than what I need. I would recommend a screen protector ASAP.
Overall: Good phone with a few negatives that are to be expected with a lower end phone. I would recommend to someone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Better than my HTC Wildfire

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Joeydf
From: Baltimore, MD
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is easy to operate intuitive and does not drain it's battery as quickly as my former HTC Wildfire. Great price for the Kyocera Event and Android 4.0 to boot. Very pleased would recommend this to anyone considering a moderately priced first time Android phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Great Phone: Lives up to hype

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
EduardoinOhio
From: Cincinnati, OH
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Once you have trudged through the Google- Android setup maze, this phone really performs well. I primarily use it for email notification, phone, texting, and web browsing, Yelp, etc. I have two separate email accounts and an ebay watch list synced to this phone and it never misses a beat, notifying me no matter where I am. Voice quality is excellent..in fact this phone is really loud and clear. Integration with google drive, gallery, and Picassa work quickly and the phone has never crashed handling downloads and uploads. I like the virgin app that lets you check your account anytime, the keyboard is surprisingly accurate, and widgets work as they are supposed too. Only thing is the lack of a front facing camera for video calls. I dont really care about the supplied camera because I use a real camera for pics, but it is good for quickies. I set the eco mode to kick in at 30% which seems to get me through the day. Suffice it to say, this is the first time in dealing with a phone company that I havent felt oversold or ripped off. Thanks Virgin for a great deal.
Pros: google integration
Cons: camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

wow and surprised

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jangie86
From: Brooklyn New York
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over all this phone works great! I can send e-mails, make phone calls text with out a problem. The battery last all day for me. Today was the biggest test of them all. I was texting on my phone while waiting for a train (above ground) as I was doing this my phone fell out of hands and fell 30 feet to the street under me. I couldn't believe my eyes that this happened to me and I am a very careful person with my phone. Let me just say that I wasn't even near the tracks so my fell and bounce of the floor three times. I went running down to the street level to find my phone in three peaces the battery was in the middle of the road the front of the phone was next to a park card and the back of the phone (the case) was on the other side of the street. Once I got it all together and started up the phone it WORK like nothing happened. The screen didn't break and the only thing it was the some scratches on it but nothing crazy. This phone has lasted a fall like this and is still working (which I am thankful for) I would tell everyone about this phone and of course my story. Everyone needs to have this phone. Its great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Good for basic phone use and data

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
FrugalAndroidGuy
From: Phoenix,AZ
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all if you are buying this phone I assume you are either someone who needs something inexpensive, or like me sparingly uses their cell phone. I have installed over 50 different apps on this phone such as the more popular ones Facebook and Pandora.
The on screen keyboard is responsive which was important to me for texting. The phone is also Wi-Fi capable which is a necessity for the slower 3G speeds on Virgins network. Pandora streams fine on 3G in most areas. GPS has been great but is a battery hog (not sure if that is just a symptom for most smart phones in general?)
The phone does lag at times, but this is to be expected from a budget phone. It never lasts longer then a few seconds.
If I could ask for an important change to the phone it would have to be the camera, but I knew it was weak going in. The phone is also made of cheap plastic and the screen scratches easily. The benefit is the phone is nearly indestructible (I am hard on stuff).
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
RKrom
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons:
- Terrible performance issues.
- Frequent Crashes and slow processor.
- Too few options available for customization.
- No accessory support.
- Defeats the purpose of a smartphone since it can't run more than 1 background app without crashes and lag issues.
- Basic phone functions frequently don't work (messaging, dialer, contacts, menus, Interface).
- Frequently believes (falsely) that SD card has been removed
Pros:
- Cheap
- Durable
- Compact
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Poor product, manufacturer should refund money or recall product

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MysonsMom
From: W Virginia
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My son has had this phone for 6 months. It continues to shut on and off and will not turn on basically. Phone will not boot at all to main screen. Don't waste your money on this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Great for the price

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jahtiek
From: New York
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for two months and it has not disappointed. The battery will last you all day and it is packed with the full vanilla experience ICS (Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich). Besides a few freezes now and then (what phone doesn't freeze at least once) this phone is easy to learn. The touch screen may not be hulking big, but its is crisp and sharp. The 1GHz processor can easily handle multiple tasks, but may lag on the more demanding games out there. The look is another plus. The event fits good in the hand and the beveled edges eliminate the awkward feel of more square like phones. Overall, this is a good bang for the buck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

It's a pretty awesome phone

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Riley
From: Des Plaines, IL
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went from a junky flip phone held together with duct tape to the Event and I'm so glad I made the switch! I was always worried about what smart phone to get, considering I've never had one before. But this phone makes everything really easy! When you send out your first text, there are instructions on how to use the Swype text, the battery life is decent, the camera is fine for everyday pictures, and surfing the web is super simple. Overall, it's a very good phone for the price and it's easy to work. I'm very happy with it!
Pros: easy to use, swype texting, touchscreen, fits in pocket
Cons: battery life though not horrible, camera is lower grade
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

solid phone

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
techgeekiscool
From: California, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well i have this phone and the htc one v this phone is a very good phone and it's pretty fast too the graphics are not the best but you get used to it but the battery life is great i get 9 hrs on it and the eco mode is useful. If you want a solid phone for a good price then go for this one.
Pros: battery life, fast on 3g, 1 ghz processor
Cons: not the best graphics, not 4g capable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

This phone has good features

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mobilegranny
From: Indpls, IN
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first experience with an android phone and so far I really like it. It has a lot of nice features that I didn't have before with my old phone. I have been with Virgin Mobile for a long time and really like the service I receive and if you ever have a problem they will work with you to fix it. I will be using this phone primarily for calling and texting, some picture taking and a little web surfing, so for those functions it is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Started off great...

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ellevision
From: CA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When I first got this phone, I loved it. The touch screen was responsive, the call quality was good, and you couldn't beat the price. However, as time has passed, I've had the same problems everyone else here is complaining of. It can freeze during something as simple as sending a text, even with no apps running. At least once a day, it will get stuck in a reboot-loop, turning itself off and on again until I take out the battery. The Wifi reception is poor, even if I'm standing right next to my wireless router. Dropping of a Wifi or 3G connection will exit me out of a browser completely, which shouldn't happen. If the page has already fully loaded, why close the browser? Battery life is drained VERY quickly by the 3G, and I don't even use apps other than Facebook and Tapatalk.
Worst of all, the phone's screen will freeze or go blank during a phone call and subsequently drop the call, even in areas of full reception. If I made phone calls more frequently than I texted, this phone would be entirely useless. As it stands, this phone is about as useful as a pager. I have to get to another phone once I see someone has tried to call me. Save yourself the hassle and skip this phone, even though the price is tempting.
Pros: attractive styling
Cons: extremely glitchy, turns itself on and off, 3g drains battery fast, screen locks up, drops calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

This product is horrible.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
angryphoneuser
From: Johnstown, PA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It shuts off on itself and doesn't function at all
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Starts out average, but goes downhill

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
KXB1973
From: Mount Prospect, IL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When I first bought this phone, I already knew it was a step down from my Samsung. But, I do not believe in spending through the nose for a phone that will be obsolete in a year, so this Kyocera seemed to be a good compromise. The camera is very inferior to most smartphones, but the rest of the phone operated just fine.
That is, until about 3 months of use. Suddenly, it would re-boot itself. Sometimes, when I would try to dial a number, I would press a button on the keypad, and not have the number show up on the screen for several seconds. Apps launch smoothly maybe half the time. Increasingly unpredictable performance. It is not the sort of phone you would depend upon in an emergency.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Simple smartphone

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
freemike
From: Hickory, NC
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a nice entry level phone. It doesn't have all the newest bells and whistles. If you use your phone for basic social media, internet, email, and texting. No it's not going to run a live wallpaper and run 500 different widgets on the homescreens. I'm coming from the galaxy s3 because I wanted to save the monthly fee of my contract. I got this phone I loaded up my facebook, tapatalk, gmail, weather, and soundhound. It keeps me connected to all these apps and services efficiently my battery will last 6-8 hours. If you are expecting to play games, run widgets, live wallpapers, and do 4 things at once I would highly suggest another phone like a top end model. You just aren't going to find a phone in this price range that will do it. If you can keep your activities to 2 or 3 things at a time and run minimal background services then this phone should serve you well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

OK, I guess

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gizmonic
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It's a good phone If you don't mind resetting it after it locks up once a week. At least that's what happens to mine. Not good when you have an important call or text pending. Despite turning off WIFI, it manages to turn on anyway. When it works it works fine. But it isn't a reliable phone. I got it at a great price which makes me forgive some of the problems. Thank god I still have my old LG Optimus V in case this one completely fails. I'm staying with Virgin Mobile though. It's the best non-contract service out there. However, it looks like I'm going to have to spend a little bit more to get a reliable phone.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

do not buy this phone

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
longtimevmuser
From: newburyport, ma
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been a android user since they first appeared with vm. one of the best phones i ever had was a lg optimus v and then then the optimus elite came out. which i had for a while until i dropped it on the glass side of it and it shattered the screen. so i said i think i would try something else so i got this i was impressed with the os 4.0 however i heard reviews on how it reboots and the wifi comes on.... i said bah i can perhaps fix this thru the the os settings. well come to find out i cannot and it does reboot and the wifi does turn on by itself. thats not really a big deal but the big thing was when you disable the suggestive settings on the swpe and android keyboard it still comes up and i have gone thru all the settings... but thats not really a big deal... here is the real kicker i use voice to text a lot because i am driving you have to talk very quite for it to understand you and not all the time it works even when its dead quite sometimes it will not even respond. Its been a week. I cannot find my sales recipt but i am going to chalk to up as a loss and get another optimus elite..... it says says this is a nfc phone this is not correct i believe. if you looking for a great starter phone or another phone.... avoid this like the plague. trust me on this. iam going back to radio shack and going to get another lg optimus elite.... horrible experience from a xpert droid user. and another thing if your into rooting this cannot be done whatsover.
Cons: phone itself, voice tts, keyboard, screen, everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone ever!!!!!!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
beyondirritated
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had 3 of these phones since November 2013. It is the worst phone ever. I think my kids play phone works better than this!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone ever

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
flipphone
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Like pretty much everyone else is saying, this is the worst phone I've ever owned and I wish I would have read the reviews before purchasing. Saying it's the worst phone I've ever had is saying a lot because I've only had flip phones before and I'm considering going back to that because of how bad this phone is. I'm convinced that anyone that rates this phone above a 2/5 is paid by Kyocera. I don't know where to even start. I've had problems attempting to make a call where I had to wait 20 minutes for the phone to stop freezing up and finally process the request to call the person after I'd been hitting call every thirty seconds. It randomly turns off when I'm not even using it. The time will freeze for 5-10 minutes every so often. Every app(including messaging, launcher, other basic functions) has stopped responding on me at one time or another, and this is with no other apps open! I bought an SD card thinking that would help, it did absolutely nothing. Anytime I'm on 3G and I go back to my apartment to connect to my WiFi, I can't use my phone for about 5 minutes and I still don't understand why. There are more things I can't think of, but honestly DO NOT buy this phone
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
12345...31next>