Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.092 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(742 Reviews) 742
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (742 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
79
3 stars
68
2 stars
153
1 star
371
173 out of 70125%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
404 Questions | 493 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Screws fall out

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvcatsPhx
From: Phoenix, Az
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Kyocera for about a year. It is slow and has to be rebooted. The biggest problem now is the screws holding the phone together are falling out! These screws hold the front (screen) to the back (keyboard). When the screws fall out, your phone is in two parts. I have lost 3 out of 6 screws.They are the size of eye glass screws so finding the right screw driver easy is hard. I am currently looking for a new Virgin phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

VERY SLOW PROCESSOR

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LEW69
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DOES NOT MULTI-TASK WELL AND FREEZES UP CONSTANTLY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

cheap price...must root!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
louie37
From: lebanon, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phone is ok..you have to root it or its so slow it drives you insane. Easy to use! Overall price is cheap.
Pros: cheap price
Cons: screen size...cpu...its basic :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Horrible!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NovaVesperia
From: Harrisburg, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ended up with 2 of these phones within a year's time. The first one stopped working, wouldn't boot up, so they sent me a replacement which ended up doing the same thing within a few month's time. Don't waste your money on this junk! I'm now using my boyfriend's Kyocera Rise, which has lasted him for years, and is now working well for me. The Rise is a much better phone, well worth the little bit of extra money. I wish I would have gotten the Rise instead of the Event in the first place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Taking Phone back tomorrow

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
JanBradyLOL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have had this phone only 3 weeks, screen does not respond, it freeze up and the features on it are strange. Will spend more money and get a better phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

It was awesome at first

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mumble21
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was good at first until I started to add apps and then it became slower. Now it shuts itself on and off for no reason, if it comes on at all. I wouldn't really recommend this phone if you plan on having a lot of things on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

do not buy !! not worth not even a week it went bananas on and off for no reason

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
cookie69
From: san francisco
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this phone should be discontinue. Horrible it will turn on and off on its own. Stay clear of this phone. Just save your money and get a reliable phone.
Pros: looks kool and easy until start acting out in the
Cons: nothing avoid
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
eddrush
From: Albuquerque,NM
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I thought my Event phone was just a lemon or a fluke.no phone could be that awful.Boy was i wrong !It finally gave out and the insurance replaced it. and the new one turned out to be just as bad.It erases some of your contacts at random and others it will multiply two or three times.At times you won't be able to hear a caller without the speaker on.i suggest that you buy any phone except a Kyocera Event.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

pooruser

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
juckphoneuser
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Phone is slow and I have to turn it off and back on to get it to work fight. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

This is the worst phone I've ever had.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
102105cb
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The battery drains faster than the time it takes to charge. I have to restart the phone because it freezes several times a day. It always seizes up and freezes in the middle of texting or won't allow incoming calls in. Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Simple atrocity to humanity.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Str8OuttaCompton
From: Compton, CA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is tough, but it burns out in 5 months. Luckily, there is a one year warranty so you can get a new one, free of charge. After one month, you experience a sharp slow down. Don't have any apps on it . That makes it even slower. The call quality is a joke. By the fourth time, I'm sometimes able to understand what they said. It reboots 2-3 times a day. Don't get instagram because that's generally what forces my phone to reboot.
Pros: can take a good drop
Cons: constant reboots, terrible battery life, slow as can be, dies in 5 months, can't hear the other side
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Biggest waste of money ever.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
JFizzle
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is literally the worst purchase I have ever made, and that includes my ex-wife's engagement ring. If you buy this phone, every problem you've read about in the rest of these reviews will become your problems, too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Just don't.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enki
From: Gulf coast, Fl
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hardware-wise, this is perhaps the worst phone on the market. It WILL reboot for no reason when you haven't even touched it. It WILL freeze at random times, including in the middle of a call. A freeze almost always requires a hard reboot, eg taking the battery out, as it also freezes the power button.
About the only good thing I can say about this device, is the back cover is extremely easy to remove, facilitating a quick flick of the battery to reboot it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ladail27
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
About 80 percent of the time the phone does not respond to me at all. If I want to make a call it takes literally 2 or more minuets for it to get that I am hitting the phone button, then half the time it wont respond to me hitting call. Texting is the same thing, 80% of the time when I finally get into the texting app I am typing away and nothing is coming up. The apps are always force closing, the web and email, and I have to take the battery out of my phone at least twice a day because my phone freezes and refuses to do anything at all. Also when I get a notification I pull down to view them and it will be blank like I don't have any, even though on top it says I do. I hate this phone and am thinking of not renewing my plan as I don't want to use this stupid phone anymore. My daughter has the same phone and hers does the same as mine so I know its just the brand not just a fluke.
Pros: the battery
Cons: calling, apps, texting, voice quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Freezes up

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Skijor
From: Idaho
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Event phone freezes up often when using wifi or data. Fortunately I use it mostly for calling and txting. If you want a phone for using internet I'd shop around for something better.
Cons: freezes, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Horrible

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jenn83
From: NC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the stupidest smart phone that I've ever had, hands down.
Pros: price
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

THE WORST PHN I HAVE EVER HAD!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
angrycustomer101
From: Virginia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I WOULDN'T WASTE 1 PENNY REVIEWS PHN IF I WERE YOU!! SOOOO BAD I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE TO START....THE PHN FREEZES EVERY FEW MINUTES WHEN THAT HAPPENS SOMETIMES IT WILL RESTART ON ITS OWN OFTEN TIMES YOU HAVE TO TAKE OUT THE BATTERY (((EVERY FEW MINUTES))) WHEN YOU ARE IN THE MIDDLE OF SOMETHING, ANYTHING!! IT CRASHES CLOSING WHAT YOU WERE DOING AND TAKES FOREVER TO REOPEN..MEMORY IS FULL WITH LITTLE TO NO EFFORT AS IM TYPING THIS REVIEW THE CURSOR IS JUMPING ALL OVER THE PLACE!!! BATTERY LIFE IS ALSO HORRIBLE AND CHARGING TAKES FOREVER. II BOUGHT THIS PHN FOR TEMPORARY USE BC MY GALAXY NEEDS A NEW BATTERY OFTEN TIMES I WANT TO JUST SLAM IT AGAINST THE CONCRETE. HORRIBLE IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT!!! DON'T GIVE YOUR SELF THE HEADACHE BY WASTING ANY MONEY ON THIS PHN, ITS AS IF IT WAS NEVER TESTED BY ANYONE! THEY PUT IT ON THE MARKET FOR WHAT REASON I HAVE NO CLUE ITS GARBAGE!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Don't do it!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Carolinagirl310
From: New Bern, NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone looks great at first glance but has been worthless since I took it out of the packaging. Sound and vibrate works only when it feels like it. Swipe keyboard only works so long before you have to reset the phone. Signal is horrible where other virgin mobile phones have never had the least bit of trouble. Call sound quality is muffled and sometimes totally inaudible. Apps are so slow it's just easier to go find a computer somewhere. I will never buy another Kyocera phone again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Really?

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
TheVampMaybelle
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mom got the phone for christmas but didn't like it. when I started using it a month ago, it was a pretty good phone, then two days ago it started having these little messages pop up, "Unfortunatly (programe name) has stopped working." and last night it would restart, shut off, restart, shut off. And it did so until it would freeze halfway through the start up. Now I am back to my Kyocera Venture...
Pros: leight wieght, easy to use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

A good phone if you are using it for a few days

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
AggyDeeDee1
From: Newark, NJ
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I needed a cheap phone and thats exactly what I got. Its slow and freezes quite often. The Wi-Fi clicks on even when I havent set it on. Its very easy to use.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: its slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...38next>