Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.084 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(747 Reviews) 747
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (747 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
79
3 stars
68
2 stars
153
1 star
376
173 out of 70625%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
411 Questions | 502 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Not Worth it after few months

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DarkBetty001
From: NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I decided to give it a few months worth to see if it's a good decision. I shall show the pros and cons.
Pro: The phone does not light up when notification is sent - can notified you by either vibrating or its ringing alert's noise.
It updates itself for you, saving the trouble having to accept it or do it yourself and will not interfere in what you're doing.
When calling, setting it onto speaker has great volume, especially for a hearing aids wearer myself. Clear and loud.
It knows exactly where you are and helps you out in finding where to go in that area or nearby. The maps is definitely useful.
Views websites very well.
Swyping is useful and quicker than pressing a button of a letter. Sliding my thumb/finger is much better than pressing each letter.
Cons:
There are days that I cannot call.
The internet is sometimes slow or freezes up randomly - even if I pulled out the battery and put it back in, tends to repeat frequently in a week.
To play games like Candy Crush or Ruzzles are interrupted and immediately closed. Other times, it would not open up.
The battery life goes quickly, especially under 4 hours. It can last more, if it wasn't being in used at all or called twice and that would be it.
Making a phone call can be about thirty to two minutes to finally make a call.
The phone can make its own service, will not let you do anything when you need it the most or when attempting to arrange a phone call wouldn't work.
Touchscreen is sensitive sometimes, but tends to be too slow or not responsive when clicking onto something simple like 'next page'. And it wouldn't go to the next page until you hold it down for a while.
After using the phone for a while, about 5 months going onto 6 months. This phone tends to be nothing but trouble, unreliable, and difficult. I do like the internet and texting, especially with swyping a letter to letter to form a word right away. However, I do not like what I'm putting into this and makes me look bad when I can't call home to let my parents know where I am and when I am leaving. So, best off not buying this phone and getting something else. It's time I get something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

dont buy it!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
badbella
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst phone ever!
always crashing!
turns off and on by itself!
battery runs out quickly!
phone always freezes!
if u come into a wifi zone the phone will not allow u to do anything until you go into the settings and turn off wifi
heats up quickly
Cons: nothing!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Won't charge

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunshine76
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone a year ago for my kids for emergencies only. I kept it and charged it myself. But with that said, It runs all apps all the time causing the phone to freeze or shut down . Now it won't even charge. So I have a phone that is a paperweight. Not a good buy even for the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Junk!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
adamswife
From: West Alexandria, Ohio
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We have two and had them both replaced. Same issues with both. Junk! I really would like Virgin Mobile to replace them with different brands but they have to replace with the same phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Junk. Do not purchase this phone

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Skeech
From: Va
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Event has been nothing but trouble. It constantly freezes, requiring removal of the battery. I so miss my LG Optimus V. Other than screen scratches, I had no trouble with it for two and a half years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Screws fall out

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvcatsPhx
From: Phoenix, Az
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Kyocera for about a year. It is slow and has to be rebooted. The biggest problem now is the screws holding the phone together are falling out! These screws hold the front (screen) to the back (keyboard). When the screws fall out, your phone is in two parts. I have lost 3 out of 6 screws.They are the size of eye glass screws so finding the right screw driver easy is hard. I am currently looking for a new Virgin phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

VERY SLOW PROCESSOR

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LEW69
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DOES NOT MULTI-TASK WELL AND FREEZES UP CONSTANTLY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

cheap price...must root!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
louie37
From: lebanon, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phone is ok..you have to root it or its so slow it drives you insane. Easy to use! Overall price is cheap.
Pros: cheap price
Cons: screen size...cpu...its basic :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChevyBro1969
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about ChevyBro1969 is loaded.
Additional information about ChevyBro1969 could not be loaded.
Great phone
Posted August 21, 2014
This phone has treated me very well. I plan on switching phones soon to get a 4g phone only because Virgin Mobile 3g is not supported everywhere. But this phone I have had no problems with.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Horrible!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NovaVesperia
From: Harrisburg, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ended up with 2 of these phones within a year's time. The first one stopped working, wouldn't boot up, so they sent me a replacement which ended up doing the same thing within a few month's time. Don't waste your money on this junk! I'm now using my boyfriend's Kyocera Rise, which has lasted him for years, and is now working well for me. The Rise is a much better phone, well worth the little bit of extra money. I wish I would have gotten the Rise instead of the Event in the first place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Taking Phone back tomorrow

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
JanBradyLOL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have had this phone only 3 weeks, screen does not respond, it freeze up and the features on it are strange. Will spend more money and get a better phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

It was awesome at first

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mumble21
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone was good at first until I started to add apps and then it became slower. Now it shuts itself on and off for no reason, if it comes on at all. I wouldn't really recommend this phone if you plan on having a lot of things on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

do not buy !! not worth not even a week it went bananas on and off for no reason

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
cookie69
From: san francisco
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this phone should be discontinue. Horrible it will turn on and off on its own. Stay clear of this phone. Just save your money and get a reliable phone.
Pros: looks kool and easy until start acting out in the
Cons: nothing avoid
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
eddrush
From: Albuquerque,NM
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I thought my Event phone was just a lemon or a fluke.no phone could be that awful.Boy was i wrong !It finally gave out and the insurance replaced it. and the new one turned out to be just as bad.It erases some of your contacts at random and others it will multiply two or three times.At times you won't be able to hear a caller without the speaker on.i suggest that you buy any phone except a Kyocera Event.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

pooruser

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
juckphoneuser
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Phone is slow and I have to turn it off and back on to get it to work fight. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

This is the worst phone I've ever had.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
102105cb
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The battery drains faster than the time it takes to charge. I have to restart the phone because it freezes several times a day. It always seizes up and freezes in the middle of texting or won't allow incoming calls in. Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Simple atrocity to humanity.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Str8OuttaCompton
From: Compton, CA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is tough, but it burns out in 5 months. Luckily, there is a one year warranty so you can get a new one, free of charge. After one month, you experience a sharp slow down. Don't have any apps on it . That makes it even slower. The call quality is a joke. By the fourth time, I'm sometimes able to understand what they said. It reboots 2-3 times a day. Don't get instagram because that's generally what forces my phone to reboot.
Pros: can take a good drop
Cons: constant reboots, terrible battery life, slow as can be, dies in 5 months, can't hear the other side
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Biggest waste of money ever.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
JFizzle
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is literally the worst purchase I have ever made, and that includes my ex-wife's engagement ring. If you buy this phone, every problem you've read about in the rest of these reviews will become your problems, too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Just don't.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enki
From: Gulf coast, Fl
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hardware-wise, this is perhaps the worst phone on the market. It WILL reboot for no reason when you haven't even touched it. It WILL freeze at random times, including in the middle of a call. A freeze almost always requires a hard reboot, eg taking the battery out, as it also freezes the power button.
About the only good thing I can say about this device, is the back cover is extremely easy to remove, facilitating a quick flick of the battery to reboot it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ladail27
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
About 80 percent of the time the phone does not respond to me at all. If I want to make a call it takes literally 2 or more minuets for it to get that I am hitting the phone button, then half the time it wont respond to me hitting call. Texting is the same thing, 80% of the time when I finally get into the texting app I am typing away and nothing is coming up. The apps are always force closing, the web and email, and I have to take the battery out of my phone at least twice a day because my phone freezes and refuses to do anything at all. Also when I get a notification I pull down to view them and it will be blank like I don't have any, even though on top it says I do. I hate this phone and am thinking of not renewing my plan as I don't want to use this stupid phone anymore. My daughter has the same phone and hers does the same as mine so I know its just the brand not just a fluke.
Pros: the battery
Cons: calling, apps, texting, voice quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Freezes up

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Skijor
From: Idaho
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Event phone freezes up often when using wifi or data. Fortunately I use it mostly for calling and txting. If you want a phone for using internet I'd shop around for something better.
Cons: freezes, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...38next>