Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.024 / 5
2
 / 
5
(836 Reviews) 836
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (836 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
81
3 stars
73
2 stars
167
1 star
440
182 out of 79023%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

UTTERLY USELESS

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rasheeda77
From: jacksonville, fl
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I cant do anything on this phone, it is completely useless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

terrible

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
harm247
From: phx, az
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the worst phone I've ever had. its so slow. it freezes and shuts down constantly. spend more money on a better phone. this one is horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phons

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
thisisausername191817
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first phone, and likewise, we chose the cheapest and most decent looking one at the store. We jumped on the idea of an inexpensive and friendly phone. The first call I made with it was great, I could actually make out what the person was saying. The texting was difficult but, it's my first phone. What are you going to do? I figured I'd get used to it. Well, I think I blew the speakers or something immediately because the next call I made was raspy and I could barely make any words out of the robotic tone. The texting was bad in general. When the messaging app DIDN'T crash, it would always correct what I said into something obnoxious and completely wrong. The apps are always freezing and crashing. Usually if it just stalls for a second it takes about a minute before the "THIS APP ISNT RESPONDING. WAIT? CLOSE?" notification pops up. This notification pops up CONSTANTLY. Some apps like spotify and facebook dont even work. All the apps take forever to load. Using the phone for emergancies results in crashes, call-drops, and that unresponsive notification. The battery life ranges from a few hours to 30 minutes. The touch screen freezes constantly. overall, I WOULD NOT. RECOMMEND THIS PHONE.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

This product is bad

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
boe55
From: Santa Rosa, Ca
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wish I would have not bought this phone. This is the worst phone to have it is hard to make a call and when it does work and you hang up it keep calling the person back that you just called. Nothing comes up on it its always freezing up and you cant do nothing with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Terrible!

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
aliciaNY
From: ny
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this phone may be cheap but it is absolutely useless. It is impossible to do anything on it - every app shuts down or freezes when used.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rodana
From: Warsaw, Indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's was a Good deal for the price. It's useless for anything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

worst phone I've owned

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bookat
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received the phone as a Christmas present from my parents. At the time my mother did a lot of research and saw good reviews on it. They were all lies within the first 6 months my phone was having problems. You could not open the battery to stop running applications. The phone would freeze up and drop calls. Would not even send text messages. So under warranty I received a new one. Within 4 months the second one was doing the same thing. The phone was running too many applications for it to handle and the battery was spazzing out. I reset it twice the first time it worked for a day. The second time I reset the phone it lasted maybe an hour and went straight back to working like junk. Don't buy this phone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Not worth it..

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Johnnypoker
From: Wisconsin
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this phone and ever since I pulled it out of the package it has been nothing but issues. It says I don't have enough data to update twitter. I don't use Facebook on here cause it works really slow and laggy and crashes a lot.
Pros: it's a cheap starter phone
Cons: can't use more then 2-3 apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
lizstg
From: ohioville, pa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had 3 of these phones hoping the problem with the previous one was just that specific phone. Seems to be just a cheap phone. Works fine for a few months, but that's about it. Freezes up, restarts itself 5X a day, have to uninstall and reinstall apps to work properly, only get half of texts from others and only sends out half of texts. Doesn't travel well-can't use on the go/on the road (as a passenger of course). Just an all around bad phone. Hate to spend the money on a good one, but in this case it will be worth it when I do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Trash!! Its cheap but not cheap enough!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mrandroid
From: indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Save your money this is like android 101. Next step from flip phone its slow small and no reception. But its also cheap so if just need a back up phone then ok but if you are going to depend on this just save up your change.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Great Price not so great phone

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Diamondlace
From: Pottsville, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Phone is slow, shuts off randomly even with full battery, lost all contacts when phone decided to do its own factory reset. Apps shut down or fail due to slow processing. I won't be recommending this phone to anyone I know. Will be getting a different phone very soon.
Pros: price
Cons: slow, random power down, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Not very good, but good price.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rico27
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the phone a little over a month and then it started messing up. I was not able to text anymore, the features and apps started quitting on me.
Cons: apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

very good for the price!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
valenti
From: denevr,co
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
dropped this phone quite a few times and put it back together...worked like magic
Had it for more than 3 years and performed excellent for me
Very good for the price
love the touch screen
freezes sometimes
Pros: very good for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Nice for the price

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
C420
From: Hagerstown, MD
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the price no one should Complain about this phone. Works really well for not paying hundreds of dollars.
Pros: good deal
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Poor Reception

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ABJ629
From: Rock Island, IL
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The reception for this phone is horrible. When talking the caller says all kinds of sounds are heard.. Reception is not clear at all
Cons: poor reception, makes weird sounds to caller
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Awful

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cynde1m
From: Las Vegas
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Worst phone of all time: Has an error that causes the handset to freeze, apps to not run, browser to not work or slow to a crawl, reduced to tears, terrible, This is the Event phone I bought to replace a Kyocera Event phone that had the exact same problems, when you try to restart the phone to clear the cache you see this :E:cannot load volume /misc! Even doing a hard reset on the first phone, wouldn't fix it.
Pros: nothing
Cons: terrible
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Great starter smart phone.

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
chrisNY
From: Wallkill, NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This being my first smart phone, it was pretty easy to use. Just has a short battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Don't buy if you plan on using it to talk

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AARP
From: MN
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The sound quality is horrible, everyones voice has a vibration to it and gives you a headache. The battery life is short lived with or without the apps.The screen is constantly goig to sleep and the loading is slow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Never ever ever

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
whyEvenbother
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the biggest favor I can do you: DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! I have had it for less than 2 months and it won't even turn on now. You can be in the middle of using it and it'll just go to the power down screen but it doesn't actually power down. It will just play the opening Virgin Mobile sequence over and over. After looking into it, everyone apparently has this problem with this phone. It's a design flaw in all of them which means it shouldn't even be sold anymore. STAY FAR AWAY if you want to maintain your sanity.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event Very Durable Phone

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
kyocera3970
From: Florida
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had my event for three years, been run over in a major road when it slid out my window off my dash. Have dropped it several times finally starting to show wear a little bit best phone ever, as far as durable tuff phones go. Gonna purchase a new one now thanks Kyocera and virgin mobile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...42next>