Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.001 / 5
2
 / 
5
(884 Reviews) 884
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (884 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
86
3 stars
75
2 stars
177
1 star
471
186 out of 83422%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Awful, Awful Phone. Do not buy unless you intend to root it

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
atomicuniverse
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've dealt with this phone for over three years, primarily due to finances being tight. I would never wish this thing on my enemy. Well, maybe someone I *really* hated.
At first I thought, "Hey, cool! My first smart phone!" That novelty wore off real quick , though, one the problems started occurring.
First off, and the most ANNOYING, is that the browser force quits all the time. And the kicker is that the second time it force quits, all your tabs are cleared. Chrome seems more stable, but this phone, out of the box, unmodified, CAN'T RUN IT. Come on guys! Why the heck is there a program on here that you CAN'T REMOVE that you can't even run?
Second, and I'm typing this while holding the back against frozen peas (no joke), is that because the developers loaded so much junk on here that it overheats all the time. If the weather is above 75, be prepared to bring ice packs around with you unless you're not planning on using your phone.
Oh yeah, the phone. Sometimes I've received phone calls, and by the time I've flicked the answer button, and the time it takes the phone to respond, I've missed the call! This has happened several dozen times to me.
So people... If you really hate your kids, or yourself.... or you just want to buy someone a gift that will anger them for years to come, buy this phone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

WORST PHONE EVER.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mary317
From: Massachusetts
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone shouldn't even be on the market. After reading other reviews, I can see that I'm not the only person who feels this way. The phone literally does nothing you ask. If you need to make a quick emergency phone call or you're lost and you want to use maps quickly, you're out of luck. Phone calls, text messages and just regular functioning causes this useless thing to freeze and you have to restart it. The only thing it can do right is display "not responding" messages. It's slow in the rare occasion that it does work and there's so little memory on it that I can't even install updates when I need to. If you're thinking about buying this phone DON'T. I had phones that worked better in 1992.
Cons: everything., literally. everything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

bad phone reception

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kazdigb
From: minneapolis
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When calling poor voice quality. Either a serious delay, broken connectivity or high static.
After upgrades, even on monthly plan, it lost authentication with virgin
Cons: voice quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

worked okay for a while.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
jabu500
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have been with Virgin Mobile for quite a while. This phone worked fine for about 6 months and now it is going nuts on me. The apps sometimes automatically download . Now it is shutting off on its own and calls aren't going through or double calling the person I am calling. Now it is constantly saying the 3G's aren't working , so that means no use. May shop for another one and see if that works.
Cons: ineffecient
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

The only good thing about this phone is the battery life. Not worth your money.

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tiffanylynn
From: California
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is good for 1 month then it gives you problems constantly. It takes me 15 minutes to even get a phone call to launch. It'll freeze up after not using it for hours in between texts or calls. The phone will call people randomly or call somebody 5x in a row after you get off the phone with somebody. Can't turn Wifi off. launching any applications takes forever and most of the time it'll fail and pull up a message saying "Phone activity not working. Ok or Cancel"
Pros: good battery life
Cons: waste of money, pour quality, fails to call or text 75% of the time, mutes you in the middle of calls constanly, freezes up a lot, randomly calls people over and over, "phone activity not working" comes up all the time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Pretty much hate this phone

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
tin0
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Even the phone function of this phone stops working! The apps always stop working before they even start - I keep getting "not responding" messages and have to shut down. The memory is tiny so I only have a few apps on it.
The camera doesn't flash and is only forward facing.
Cons: not responding
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Definelty worth it!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MathGirl
From: Staunton, VA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I lost this phone in the snow for three weeks. In that time span, it snowed more than 5 inches twice, melted, snowed again and then rained. I found my this phone of the hill and after 1.5 weeks in rice, it came back to life and is still working 3 months later. This phone is very durable.
Pros: durable
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Event rising no more!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rekehi
From: Chicago
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must tell you that you will have this phone for 4 or 5 months. It will slow down after a messege about security and said it will crash. 3 days later it crashed. The phone quality sounds digital. You will have problems understanding words. However, the battery life is wayyyyy better than the Venture phone. It does not have an external micro sd card. You got to buy that separately. Don't get this phone.!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Not Good at all

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MzJay
From: Atlanta, GA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The battery life for this phone is no good. I've have to factory reset this phone four different times and it still doesn't work. Just a bad choice overall. I hate that the phone service is very poor and I lose signal all the time or it just says process Android has stopped working and the phone call gets cut off. My text messages take like five minutes just to send and when ever I receive pictures it never downloads or takes forever to get.
Cons: battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ChrisS2465
From: Virginia Beach
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is an absolute piece of junk! The phone freezes, calls don't go through or you flat out can't dial them. Apps are slow. I'm thankful that i haven't had to make an emergency call with it. If you're looking for a budget phone SKIP THIS ONE and buy something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

great paperweight!!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TielLover
From: Massachusetts
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
horrible, horrible phone!! cant find a single good thing to say, too bad as I liked the size.. Do not buy!
Now, what does it do? freezes, call cant go through as it will freeze halfway through typing the number.. randomly dials people in my contact list while I am on phone with someone else, no way to use hold feature, it automatially adds second caller to phone convo if I try to answer. recieves texts randomly, like in middle of night when text was sent morning before...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

not satisfy

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kaligurlswagg
From: Inglewood, CA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been with Virgin Mobile for 4 years I have the Kyocera event phone for a year and a half out the year and a half I replace 7 phones this is the worst phone Virgin Mobile have I rather get a flip phone then this phone
Cons: overall
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Terrible Phone

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
KittyCutie23
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've owned this phone over a year. At first it was okay, but now I can't even open up the phone without it freezing. If I had an emergency and had to call 911, it would not be happening. The keyboard comes up, and then goes down before you can type anything. Even with a huge SD card, you can't really play games, it will freeze. I dropped it one time, a few days ago, and now I can't even use it for anything. There is nothing good about this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

I used it for almost a year.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
zwazo
From: Utah
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone when I had almost no cash and kept using it even though it would drop calls, had poor call quality, froze on me, had a small screen with poor display quality, terrible battery life, and would randomly shut off and reboot on me. I didn't really care a ton because I was barely paying anything and figured it wasn't too bad. I ended up finally replacing it and feel like I've seen the light. My new phone is so much better. Overall this is the worst phone I've ever owned, but if you're like me and willing to put up with a little bit of hassle it will get the job done.
Pros: not much
Cons: almost everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

This product has poor battery life

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ceyonne
From: Durham,NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year and I still think it's not a great phone since i first got the phone. It has horrible battery life on phone. Even if, you have closed the apps some how the battery goes died within at least three hours. I have tried everything to save battery.
Plus, also i have problems with removing old pictures of my memory so, that i can have more memory on my phone and possibly have more battery life,
Cons: battery life, memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Buy a better phone

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
FTM3Mike
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was my first Android smartphone which I bought over a year ago. At first it was OK; although it did have problems with apps failing to start and the phone locking up. These problems just got worse, even though I used an app (C-Cleaner) to get rid of memory eating files along with a task killer. The camera is almost useless and can't really take a decent photo. You can only load a few apps before you run out of memory and the phone becomes virtually non-functional. Part of the problem is there are too many pre-installed apps that can't be uninstalled. It's finally got to the point that even when I've reduced the number of downloaded apps to the minimum, it takes forever to load apps and they just lock up. I do not recommend this phone for anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Youre better off buying a good flip phone for the money, or dropping the money on a proper touch screen

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive had this phone for about 8 months now. It has always been slow, which at first I was ok with. I bought it because I was tired of spending money on phones like galaxies where id just be on my phone on apps all the time. and in the beginning the phone would lock up and shut down when running things like facebook app or instagram, or stuff like that. But in the last few months I find myself trying hard for 20 minutes to send simple texts, missin half my calls because it freezes when i try to answer, it can't even run simple apps anymore. I would not recommend waasting your time on this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Good phone

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brooks3478
From: Charleston. , WV
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have owned this phone for almost a year and a half ,and it works good I have no complaints.if it gets slow I just reset it to factory settings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wendolin
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Wendolin is loaded.
Additional information about Wendolin could not be loaded.
Posted April 9, 2015
Could i use this phone with my lifeline service?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

not worth it!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bluerose80
From: Kentucky
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I originally wrote out a review saying why this phone is not worth your time or money but there was a problem with the site not responding.
I'm being honest. I have seen that message appear constantly in two weeks. My awe never done that. But due to my charge area messing up and my budget for the week, i got this phone. And in two weeks i will be getting another ZTE awe.
But honestly don't waste your time with this phone. Unless you want to resd error messages and restart your phone.
Cons: freezes up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Stay Away!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Aquaman
From: Providence
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is a piece of junk. My other Kocera phone from Virgin Mobile was the greatest and I have it for years. I thought this would be the same, but I was terribly disappointed... I rarely use the internet or any apps. I simply use it to talk and text and it still crashes. It was great for the first few months but at around the 4 mo. mark it started crashing and not notifying me of texts. Big Regret.
Cons: sucks
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
12345...45next>