Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.008 / 5
2
 / 
5
(866 Reviews) 866
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (866 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
84
3 stars
74
2 stars
173
1 star
460
185 out of 81823%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

not worth it!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bluerose80
From: Kentucky
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I originally wrote out a review saying why this phone is not worth your time or money but there was a problem with the site not responding.
I'm being honest. I have seen that message appear constantly in two weeks. My awe never done that. But due to my charge area messing up and my budget for the week, i got this phone. And in two weeks i will be getting another ZTE awe.
But honestly don't waste your time with this phone. Unless you want to resd error messages and restart your phone.
Cons: freezes up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Stay Away!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Aquaman
From: Providence
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is a piece of junk. My other Kocera phone from Virgin Mobile was the greatest and I have it for years. I thought this would be the same, but I was terribly disappointed... I rarely use the internet or any apps. I simply use it to talk and text and it still crashes. It was great for the first few months but at around the 4 mo. mark it started crashing and not notifying me of texts. Big Regret.
Cons: sucks
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

The worst phone ever!!

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MusicMedic
From: Atlanta, GA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is trash!! I usually spend 5 minutes just to make a phone call, that is if I don't have to force reboot it. It locks up, freezes, and reboots at least 3 times a day. I can not put any apps on this phone, and had to disable many of the ones that came with it, just so it has the memory to make a call or text. The switch from WiFi to Cellular kills it every time!! Streaming video, Maps, Navigation, the Camera? Forget it! Don't waste your money!!! This was a huge downgrade from my flip phone!!
Pros: ok battery life
Cons: terrible phone, waste of money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Terrible

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
serenitysel
From: Southern New Jersey
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for only a few months and absolutely hated it. Very hard to use and understand. I just got a new phone, and hopefully this one will be better.
I loved my flip phone, but after 4 years it finally died, so had to get a new phone. Sorry I ever wasted my money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Horrible Phone

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuckysMom
From: New York
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is not meant for anyone who wants a smart phone. Over all the battery never stayed charged, there is a horrible ease of use to the point no one could figure it out. Call quality is terrible, static and grumble sounds, super slow and no good features. I had it for over a year and it was the worst phone I think I have ever owned.
Pros: it wont be used no more
Cons: battery, calls, ease of use, internet, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

You get what you pay for!

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Spareparts54
From: NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phone always freezes & shuts down on it's own. Spend a few more dollars and get a better cell.
Pros: nothing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dd12
From: malvern, pa
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is the worst phone ever;
DON'T EVER BUY A KYoCERA phone;
it is slow to respod to any of your actions;\
the operating system keeps crashing so I have to
reboot it daily; forget using the guided gps on it;
this gps is sure to get you lost and not respond when
you need it the most
Cons: do not buy, system crashes daily, do not use gps on it, weak signal and service with this phone, yuck!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

brand new and already froze

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
tmillet
From: milwaukee, wi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this phone is garbage!!!! its cheap for a reason. dont buy it
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

This is the worst phone I've ever owned.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AngryForever
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got two of these originally they were cheap so I knew they would have issues but I was hoping they would be manageable. They weren't. It wont let you call half the time. It constantly say the the Phone App has crashed even tho thats one of the requirements of a phone. Like who wants a phone that wont work as one! It wouldn't tell me when I got a text message. It wouldn't send texts half the time. The Apps crashed constantly even tho I only 6 Apps installed that weren't included. Then the worst part happened. I had my first one for probably around 8 months. It was a constant fight against it but I couldn't just buy a new phone. Then one day while typing I noticed part of my screen wouldn't let me touch it. I thought I needed to calibrate it which I realized isn't an option. So for a few days I had to tilt my phone to type. Then one day it just glitched out. It kept opening the apps I had on the side that wouldn't let me type. It would keep trying to call the same number over and over. I thought I had just scratched and it messed up the screen. So I replaced it with another of the same. I had it for 4 months? Maybe less. It did the same exact thing. I'm now convinced its a programming error or some sort of internal thing. I'm out a lot of money and a phone that works. Do Not get this phone. You may think it won't happen to you. It will. It's not worth the price. It would be of more use as a paperweight. Spend a bit extra and get another phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Not a Good Phone

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
finnophile
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this phone because it was cheap. I got what I paid for, a cheap phone that works when it wants to. The phone rarely works. It often takes me half an hour to make a phone call or check an App. Nothing really works. When I try to make phone calls the phone app crashes about half the time. Widgets don't work. Earlier today I got a voicemail that has been left 3 days ago. There was no notification on my phone.
I would not recommenced this phone to anyone.
Cons: the phone chooses when it wants to work, phone will reboot itsself at random times
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Horrible phone, you get what you pay for.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MedLeaf66
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just got this phone in yesterday and it is absolutly horrible, all of the apps shutdown and u a lot of apps closing messages, this phone is extremely slow to, I know its 3g but I had 3g phones and they were a lot faster than this. do not buy this, even if its cheap it is not worth it, get a better phone from VM.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Worthless

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
twilight
From: Virginia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
THIS PHONE IS PURE JUNK!
I bought it less than a year ago, used it for a month or so and switched back to my old phone, much better phone. I kept this for back up, just in case. Week my other phone feel in the water duo....here I am. I've been using it again for 2 months, I've had too reset and erase the entire phone at least 3 times.
1. It's restarted itself multiple times a day.
2. My wallpaper screen randomly changes itself.
3. I get voicemails but not the calls, not even
registering a missted call.
4. It freezes constantly!
5. The dial pad features :
A. DISAPPEARED! SO I had no way to use automated systems or hang up a conversation without removing my battery.
B. There was no speaker option either.
6. I received 17 text messages one day, that had been sent for the previous 3 days. Happens but 3 days? Even hours later is UNACCEPTABLE!
7. Typing this was ridiculous, cursor jumping all
around the screen, much editing done.
SO many issues! This phone is worthless! I'm waiting to hear back from Virgin Mobile about a replacement.
I was told to pay shipping, I said I've paid for thisT phone and if I have to attend one cent on aphone, I'm switching providers too. There should be a big upgrade and incentives.
Overall- Don't buy this phone! It's pure junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Has everything you need, but only work for a little while.

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Active
From: Brooklyn, NY
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Never again, it worked well for five months, than began to slow down and freeze up on me, and I am not a heavy cellphone user, just to check my emails, and facebook, would not give gift this cellphone to anyone not even a child.
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Not good for phone calls

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bray
From: Phoenix, AZ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Bought Two Kyocera Even Sound on calls are horrible!!!! Always Garbled Can't understand each other. We have to text because we can't hear each other on Kyocera Event . I'm looking for another phone.
Cons: phone calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Bad phone

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
2BFREE
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a very cheap phone. My husband bought this phone twice. The first time he bought it, it lasted about 4 months. The camera would take several pictures daily on it's own. It would reboot itself several times though out the day and would always somehow use up the data in 2 days! He bought a 2nd one thinking that the 1st one may be defective but now the 2nd one is doing the same things after less than 1 week! Don't buy this phone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Good for the basics

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
lvmprxy
From: San Francisco bay area
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is great for what I need. I don't use it to play games, watch videos, or any extra thing. I use my tablet for that. It is good for phone calls, texts, reading emails, GPS, and basic stuff. It is a good phone for anyone on a budget, not expecting a lot. If you expect a lot, you will be disappointed.
Battery-I thought it was strange that I wouldn't use the phone but the few apps I have were draining the battery. The funny thing is that it is not doing that anymore. Stand by is not great, but I keep a battery charger while away for more than a day. If you can get an extra battery, it is probably a good idea to have one for backup for any phone.
Sound on calls-It happens once in a while that someone says that they can't hear me...about once every three months. Speaker phone is good. If I am riding a train to work or back, phone calls are difficult to make and receive-can't hear much with the train noise even with earphones. Texts are better. If I lose a call, it is probably once a month or less, but then I live in an area that is immersed in connectivity. Not enough to complain.
Camera-good if you don't need extra lighting and/or the subject is standing still. Moving subjects or dark areas don't work well, even with adjusting lighting or using flash. Same with video. God forbid you try to take video at a show or concert. The audio won't work at all. You just get white noise.
Storage-I have 16 GB card that I use for pictures and music and any apps I can move. Works well with most music apps, but I download my own music, so I don't worry.
Speaker-decent. You aren't going to get HD sound but it is better than some phones I have had before. Recording sound is decent except in a big arena or concert. I can listen to music on the speaker just fine in a quiet space like the office. Listening to the speakers out and walking doesn't sound as good. You aren't going to DJ a party with this phone. Earphones are my preferred way of listening to music.
None of the cons are annoying to me. Slightly disappointed with the video sound but I learn not to use the phone anymore. I am not expecting this phone to be an Iphone, Samsung, LG, etc.
The really only annoying thing to me is turning on the phone with the Virgin introduction.
If you are a heavy app user, this is not the phone for you. I like it for the basics, which has worked for me and I would recommend it for people who need very basic phones. I have had friends and family use my phone and no complaints yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Better than expected

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
porkchop
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My first smart phone. It is better than people have said except the battery. At night, mine will be charged to 100 percent, no apps open, and in the morning it has drained down to 88 percent capacity.
Just remember to close all the open apps and it will perform better. Two good features for old farts like me are the magnified text setting, and the hearing aid setting. All in all a good phone for the budget minded.
Pros: ease of use light weight
Cons: battery drains faster than most
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

It texts and it calls. Don't expect more.

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mimitwenty15
From: Michigan
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone because I needed a phone on a budget. This phone is great for texting and calling. You can use apps for the first couple of weeks with no issues. Then you'll find that it doesn't like to open apps or keep apps open. It closes apps on me all the time. Using two apps at once is not possible. Also, about three months later it glitches out while texting and trying to call. If you need a phone for a short period of time, it is good. Just get another phone after a couple of months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Unreliable

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SugarRush
From: CT
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The negative reviews are true. Mine worked, sort of, for about a year and then quit all together. Constantly turning on and off. Annoying.
Pros: affordable
Cons: unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phone

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2Craft
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Every call is pxelated every time, anyone I talk to can't hear me most of my time. The phone will randomly shut off and turn back on despite me keeping it off at times. The battery life is poor and the memory doesn't hold much even though I only have downloaded two apps that had very little space requirements to begin with. Sometimes when I have added new people to my contacts it deletes them for no reason. Camera quality is terrible, some texts don't go through, and overall everything is really bad with this phone. I tried keeping this phone for another year, but it can't even function as a normal phone, so I'm ready to upgrade or switch to a different phone company altogether.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...44next>