Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.081 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(757 Reviews) 757
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (757 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
79
3 stars
68
2 stars
157
1 star
381
174 out of 71624%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
426 Questions | 515 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Why all the hate?

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
XxTCPxX
From: Seattle, WA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really am not sure why so many do not recommend this mobile. Granted it is very true that it is prone to freeze and over heat, on the condition that you demand more than it can handle. Before people ought to buy any product, they really should look at what it offers. This has a 1 Ghz CPU, and 300 odd megabytes of RAM. That alone tells anyone that this is far from the greatest mobile out there. But when you try to run many system taxing apps ranging from skype mobile, to the chrome browser, pandora, and many other famous applications. (especially at any single time) You will be the sole reason why your phone becomes unresponsive, slow, and the reason why it automatically restarts itself. You may as well be trying to run a very system demanding program from windows 7 and trying to run it on something meant for windows xp, and then complain about how it did not meet your standards.
For those who wish to get the most out of this mobile, I highly advise you find a task killer of some sort. As well as an application specifically designed to help with battery life and performance. Advanced Task Killer and Juice Defender are very ideal choices, but not the only ones. Once you optimize this mobile and gear it up properly, it will make a very big difference.
Pros: concerning it's price it is a great machine.
Cons: it is not the best for multi tasking apps, very dependent on an optimizing application or 2.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Really Shouldn't Have...

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
unEVENTful
From: Dallas, Texas
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about 14 months and it was just ok when it was brand new. Granted, it's been dropped numerous times and thrown once (don't judge me lol), but even before all of that , the phone would freeze, overheat, and shut itself off. Battery life? What battery life?? If I dial a number and press talk, it has to process for about 90 seconds before it begins to dial. Very frustrating! VM should really take this phone off the market and try again. Use a friends's phone, buy a pigeon...whatever you do, don't buy this phone. Thanks!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT!!! BUY THIS PHONE!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gameboy
From: Augusta, Ga
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has been a nightmare! You wouldbe better off using two paper cups and a string. Seriously. It constantly freezes. Shuts off. Apps won't work. Freezes some more. This is the 3rd phone virgin mobile had to send me because of all the problems. Again, for your own sanity- DON'TBUY THIS PHONE. (It's even giving me a hard time trying to write this review!!!)
Pros: not much
Cons: freezes cuts off no front camera freezes some m
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

I wanted a budget phone, but this...

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mm71
From: Washington DC
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Having moved from the UK to the US, I released that I would have to go for a budget phone until I could justify a decent phone. I looked around and this was cheap, so I though "why not?". What a terrible mistake I made! The battery life is horrendous; an overnight charge gets me approximately 7 hours of power. By power, I mean leaving the phone turned on and not actually using it. Then there's the sound quality - appalling. Signal strength - terrible. The screen quality is as expected in a budget phone, as is the processor power. It actually looks OK and is quite light though, so it's not all bad...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

The worst phone and battery sold by Virgin Mobile

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
John1947
From: Long Beach CA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The only thing positive I can say about this phone is that it was cheap, in price. I guess it was also cheap for Kyocera to make. The battery which states it lasts for over 6 hours of talking, last for much much less. Just overnight with no calls, just one email, and the battery level is down to 67% of normal. Don't waste your money on this phone. It is not worth the cheap price if you have to keep it on the charger for hours every day in order to do simple things with it.
Cons: terrible battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Exasperating!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GiG1
From: Fort Wayne, IN
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Darn thing won't hold a charge even when not in use overnight. Heats up if I don't use the speaker during a call so there's no privacy. When I erase photos they reappear the next day. Drop calls and freezes up. Only reason I bought it was because it has voice command and talk to text.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

HORRIBLE PHONE

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From: Jacksonville, FL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has been a nightmare! I have had 2. Virgin mobile replaced the first one and this one is just as bad! It turns on and off, freezes constantly, and cuts off phone calls. My son was trying to call 911 after I had a seizure and it kept turning off. DON'T BUY THIS PHONE!
Cons: anything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone I've had.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tymbyr1wulf
From: Hot Springs, AR
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Kyocera Event is definitely a low end phone that could be kept in a drawer for a back up phone. Constantly drops data, disconnection from the sd card is constant. This phone is absolute garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Not what I expected.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Punkerelli
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound quality for phone is awful. I was surprised on my very first phone call.
Phone didn't last maybe 9 months, compared to 8 years (4 years each) on my last two Kyocera flip phones. Kyocera used to make a great phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Slow and erratic

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mben
From: Greensboro
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As time went on, the phone started freezing more and more, not dialing when I pressed the dial button until like the 10th attempt, closing me out of messages while I was trying to type a text, etc. The battery life is not great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Not Worth it after few months

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DarkBetty001
From: NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I decided to give it a few months worth to see if it's a good decision. I shall show the pros and cons.
Pro: The phone does not light up when notification is sent - can notified you by either vibrating or its ringing alert's noise.
It updates itself for you, saving the trouble having to accept it or do it yourself and will not interfere in what you're doing.
When calling, setting it onto speaker has great volume, especially for a hearing aids wearer myself. Clear and loud.
It knows exactly where you are and helps you out in finding where to go in that area or nearby. The maps is definitely useful.
Views websites very well.
Swyping is useful and quicker than pressing a button of a letter. Sliding my thumb/finger is much better than pressing each letter.
Cons:
There are days that I cannot call.
The internet is sometimes slow or freezes up randomly - even if I pulled out the battery and put it back in, tends to repeat frequently in a week.
To play games like Candy Crush or Ruzzles are interrupted and immediately closed. Other times, it would not open up.
The battery life goes quickly, especially under 4 hours. It can last more, if it wasn't being in used at all or called twice and that would be it.
Making a phone call can be about thirty to two minutes to finally make a call.
The phone can make its own service, will not let you do anything when you need it the most or when attempting to arrange a phone call wouldn't work.
Touchscreen is sensitive sometimes, but tends to be too slow or not responsive when clicking onto something simple like 'next page'. And it wouldn't go to the next page until you hold it down for a while.
After using the phone for a while, about 5 months going onto 6 months. This phone tends to be nothing but trouble, unreliable, and difficult. I do like the internet and texting, especially with swyping a letter to letter to form a word right away. However, I do not like what I'm putting into this and makes me look bad when I can't call home to let my parents know where I am and when I am leaving. So, best off not buying this phone and getting something else. It's time I get something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

dont buy it!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
badbella
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst phone ever!
always crashing!
turns off and on by itself!
battery runs out quickly!
phone always freezes!
if u come into a wifi zone the phone will not allow u to do anything until you go into the settings and turn off wifi
heats up quickly
Cons: nothing!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Won't charge

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunshine76
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone a year ago for my kids for emergencies only. I kept it and charged it myself. But with that said, It runs all apps all the time causing the phone to freeze or shut down . Now it won't even charge. So I have a phone that is a paperweight. Not a good buy even for the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Junk!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
adamswife
From: West Alexandria, Ohio
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We have two and had them both replaced. Same issues with both. Junk! I really would like Virgin Mobile to replace them with different brands but they have to replace with the same phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Junk. Do not purchase this phone

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Skeech
From: Va
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Event has been nothing but trouble. It constantly freezes, requiring removal of the battery. I so miss my LG Optimus V. Other than screen scratches, I had no trouble with it for two and a half years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Screws fall out

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvcatsPhx
From: Phoenix, Az
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Kyocera for about a year. It is slow and has to be rebooted. The biggest problem now is the screws holding the phone together are falling out! These screws hold the front (screen) to the back (keyboard). When the screws fall out, your phone is in two parts. I have lost 3 out of 6 screws.They are the size of eye glass screws so finding the right screw driver easy is hard. I am currently looking for a new Virgin phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

VERY SLOW PROCESSOR

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LEW69
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DOES NOT MULTI-TASK WELL AND FREEZES UP CONSTANTLY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

cheap price...must root!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
louie37
From: lebanon, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phone is ok..you have to root it or its so slow it drives you insane. Easy to use! Overall price is cheap.
Pros: cheap price
Cons: screen size...cpu...its basic :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChevyBro1969
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about ChevyBro1969 is loaded.
Additional information about ChevyBro1969 could not be loaded.
Great phone
Posted August 21, 2014
This phone has treated me very well. I plan on switching phones soon to get a 4g phone only because Virgin Mobile 3g is not supported everywhere. But this phone I have had no problems with.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Horrible!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NovaVesperia
From: Harrisburg, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ended up with 2 of these phones within a year's time. The first one stopped working, wouldn't boot up, so they sent me a replacement which ended up doing the same thing within a few month's time. Don't waste your money on this junk! I'm now using my boyfriend's Kyocera Rise, which has lasted him for years, and is now working well for me. The Rise is a much better phone, well worth the little bit of extra money. I wish I would have gotten the Rise instead of the Event in the first place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Taking Phone back tomorrow

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
JanBradyLOL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have had this phone only 3 weeks, screen does not respond, it freeze up and the features on it are strange. Will spend more money and get a better phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...38next>