Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.19 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(617 Reviews) 617
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (617 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
73
3 stars
60
2 stars
127
1 star
290
159 out of 58227%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
348 Questions | 399 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Good Value with a Manual Fix

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
EventFixer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
FOR EVERYONE WHOSE PHONE TURNS ITSELF OFF AND WON'T TURN BACK ON / CONSTANTLY HAS TO TAKE THE BATTERY OUT, PLEASE READ BELOW:
I found a solution to the problem. Like most people here, I was getting really frustrated when my phone would decide to randomly turn itself off throughout the day and then not let me turn it back on. I started looking into why that might have been happening, and I think it has to do with a bad contact between the battery and the phone. In other words, when you inset the battery into the phone, the three metal contacts on the top right of the battery contact the three metal prongs in the top right corner of the battery compartment and supply the phone with power. If the contact isn't good enough, then the phone doesn't get the power it needs and can shut off unexpectedly. I THINK this is what everyone's issue is. Here is how I fixed my problem:
1. Turn phone off and remove battery.
2. Take a very small piece of paper and fold it over itself (in half) a bunch of times until it has a reasonable thickness. I would say folding it 3-4 times should do the trick.
3. Reinsert the battery while wedging the folder piece of paper between the bottom right corner of the battery and the wall of the battery compartment. Note: The paper does NOT go underneath the battery. Please see attached picture for how mine looks (ignore the second piece of paper that goes along the entire bottom of the battery).
4. Check to make sure that the battery is really being pushed up against the three contact prongs. If you can still see the prongs, you might need to fold your paper again to make the wedge even tighter. I attached another picture showing how I can no longer see the prongs.
5. Turn the phone back on and hope it stays on!
Considering how inexpensive the phone is, when I bought it I wasn't expecting great things. But having the phone constantly turn off (every 10-15 minutes) made it unusable. Ever since I tried this fix, the phone has never turned itself off and has been going strong for about 3-4 days. Considering the price, it's now a perfectly reasonable phone! Hope this helps other people too!
Pros: problem can be fixed
Cons: requires manual fix to even be usable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gkowen
 
Please wait while more information about gkowen is loaded.
Additional information about gkowen could not be loaded.
Worked for me!
Posted July 9, 2013
I had this same issue and did exactly as this person suggested and it fixed the problem. Sad that a device should even have a problem of this sort.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Awful

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BlackoutMMA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is honestly probably the worst phone I have ever owned. Every application fails. No game will ever load for you to play. Calls sound terrible for the receiver and for the caller. The phone constantly powers down and restarts itself. I would not recommend this device to anybody. Yet again it is a very cheap phone, what did you honestly expect?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

So disappointed

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luciana
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My first brush with the Android world... And I am almost traumatized. I've been told, however, that android platform won't work well on"cheap" phones. Oh great, and now you tell me! Freezes all the time, the basics - like making a phone call - is the most frustrating part of trying to use this thing... Battery life is a joke and the list goes on. At least 3 times a week I have to literally remove the battery from the phone in order to reset it, because when it deep freezes, I can't even turn it off to reboot it. Sad... I had high hopes... I just need to get enough money to go back to Apple's lovely iPhone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Horrible Phone. Even for the price.

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Leahka10
From: Indiana
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Don't expect to make calls, the call application will fail. If you do get through, the sound is horrible on both ends, even when you have perfect reception. Every few minutes if you're doing anything with it or not, things start failing. The message "google music is not working would you like to close it?" was more familiar than anything else. Avoid this at all costs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

An ok phone

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rjbereal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is an okay phone I see those comments about people saying the songs terribleness freezes it freezes because you have to much RAM open if you just hold the home button down and get the apps it doesn't closing completely you have to download an app to get rid of the apps running in the background what you did that phone was fast responses does not freeze mine has not frozen once I had mine for four weeks my phone doesn't drop calls it sounds great no I wasn't paid I really do like this phone and especially the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Good phone for the price, but you get what you pay for.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
cxdh12
From: Ohio
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There are a lot of problems with the actual software on this phone. For about an hour or two a day, the clock would stop and I wouldn't be able to type at all. I am not the only person that I know that has had this problem with this model. It runs very slowly and has very little memory space. It does have excellent battery life though. I wouldn't recommend this phone to most people, but if you're looking for something cheap that will get you until you can afford a better phone, I would go with this one. I just replaced it with the Galaxy Ring.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone ever!!!!!!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
beyondirritated
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had 3 of these phones since November 2013. It is the worst phone ever. I think my kids play phone works better than this!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone ever

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
flipphone
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Like pretty much everyone else is saying, this is the worst phone I've ever owned and I wish I would have read the reviews before purchasing. Saying it's the worst phone I've ever had is saying a lot because I've only had flip phones before and I'm considering going back to that because of how bad this phone is. I'm convinced that anyone that rates this phone above a 2/5 is paid by Kyocera. I don't know where to even start. I've had problems attempting to make a call where I had to wait 20 minutes for the phone to stop freezing up and finally process the request to call the person after I'd been hitting call every thirty seconds. It randomly turns off when I'm not even using it. The time will freeze for 5-10 minutes every so often. Every app(including messaging, launcher, other basic functions) has stopped responding on me at one time or another, and this is with no other apps open! I bought an SD card thinking that would help, it did absolutely nothing. Anytime I'm on 3G and I go back to my apartment to connect to my WiFi, I can't use my phone for about 5 minutes and I still don't understand why. There are more things I can't think of, but honestly DO NOT buy this phone
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Awful

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Moxie
From: New York, NY
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is terri-bad!!! Do NOT buy it. You cannot erase pictures without going through extreme measures. The phone portion is god-awful, people will think you are speaking through a cloth. The stock camera is a travesty. The only reliable app that comes on this phone which never crashes is the messaging app. I implore you to not be swayed by the attractive price!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phone I've Ever Had

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AnnoyedStudent
From: Franklin, IN
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Kyocera Event is literally the worst phone I've ever had. At first, I thought it was just the phone I had (because it started freezing up and turning off/on randomly two weeks after I bought it). So I returned it and replaced it with the same model. This was a huge mistake. Less than three months later, I'm having the exact same problems. The phone freezes or even crashes, no apps will open, and now the phone will not even turn on properly. The backlight will turn on, but otherwise the phone will be unresponsive until you take out and put back in the battery. Sometimes, the phone will turn on, showing the "Kyocera Event" logo just to turn back off immediately. The last straw was getting lost in South Carolina for two hours after my phone crashed and refused to turn on, leaving me without any GPS or even a way to contact someone for help. After reading the reviews, I can see that these problems are typical of the Event. I wish I had read them BEFORE I bought this phone. Take it from me, read the reviews before you buy and spend the extra money on a better quality phone. I know that I'm going to.
Cons: crashes, freezes, unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Sounds like your underwater

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
classact
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The microphone on this phone is horrible. Both my sons have this phone and it sounds like they are underwater. I have to make them hang up and text me to understand what they are saying. The operating system is fair. Texting is easy but as a phone it is worthless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

I hate this phone a toy would of been better than this!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Meto
From: California
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't think about buying this phone I only got it because of the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Not functional

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Maui
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got the Kyocera Event phone as a temporary replacement for my HTC, which died on me. The Event is the worse phone I have ever had. The phone will constantly freeze and sometimes makes calls on its own. When I type a text message I have to wait for my text to appear or completely turn off and on the phone. Sometimes the phone will get stuck on a screen. Unfortunately your only option to get the phone working again is to take out the battery. While on a phone call be prepared for the person on other line to say they can't hear you. I find the phone is most enjoyable for my nephew who is two and like to use it as a toy. I know e can't make calls on it because the phone freezes up most of the time.
Cons: freezes, makes calls on its own., delayed messages, disconnects calls., other callers can't hear you., have to take battery out to unfreeze the screen., pointless for web browsing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Bad

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NeverAgain1
From: Charleston,WV
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste of money brand is bad as well it won't allow me to get past the Virgin Mobile start up screen before 3 seconds later shutting off. Then there's the not allowing me to delete my pictures permanently before shortly appearing again...ugh But I will say it was good buy at the time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

DON'T GET THIS PHONE!!!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
YourADoll
From: California
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
tHis Is The Worst Phone I have ever had :/ Worked For A month Before It Stopped Working Completely and wont even Turn On. It Would Constantly freeze. Sad thing Is This Phone Has Great potential The Features Are Good For The Price But its a piece of junk
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Get what you pay for

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
xul0999
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the good side, as just a phone it's fine. On the bad side even texting is a chore on it. apparently the keyboard uses as much ram as the phone has. For applications, a monkey with an abacus could probably run those more reliably. If you're just going to use an android for a phone, i guess it's a good choice. If you're even thinking about using it for anything else, spend more for sure.
Cons: just about everything
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Don't get this phone!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Miudream
From: Texas
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I should have read the reviews first. This phone is horrible. First of all when I call someone they can barely hear me. Second is even on full battery this phone will shut off on you. The battery is poor anyways. It can't go 8 hours without shutting off. Even if i'm not texting on it.
Just don't get this phone, please. Save yourself the way I couldn't.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

The absolute worst phone I ever owned

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
UpsetVirginMobiler
From: Kalamazoo, MI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not give this phone to my worst enemy. I regret buying the warranty for it since I have to keep getting the same phone, I am close to just trashing it and getting a different phone. I have had to send it in 3 times due to it going through the boot cycle and not stopping. I can't explain how much it lags on a daily basis I can't even use the apps I like to use because of how laggy it is. (Social Networks and Music apps like spotify) I don't even play games because I couldnt due to how poor this phone is. Spend more money to get a better phone DO NOT GET THIS GARBAGE
Cons: laggy, slow, will power on/off randomly (boot cycle problems)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phone

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
DBEST
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pro's
NONTHING
Con's
Very Poor Battery life,Very Poor Camera, Very poor Audio, Very Poor Visual, Very Poor Internet, Internet, Very Poor Download, Super Poor call quality, Poor Volume, Super Poor Phone
This Phone is the Nastiest, Poorest, Wast Of Money Phone I have Every Seen in my life
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

This phone is pitiful.

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MightyLittleMom
From: Texas
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Like so many others before me - calls dropped because phone decided to reboot, apps don't respond. Web browsing pretty much non-existent. Sometimes the screen doesn't change. Example: called someone. Screen never left the contacts page so I sat there like a moron thinking the call wasn't going through with someone on the other end saying "hello" until I heard them. Often when attempting to answer the phone, one flick of the screen will answer and then hang up immediately. Also the phone has the magic ability to be touched accidentally which opens the screen, the phone menu and selects someone to call and then dials them. Since I can barely get it to do this when I actually want it to, that's pretty impressive.
Pros: the price
Cons: everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345...31next>