Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.006 / 5
2
 / 
5
(873 Reviews) 873
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (873 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
85
3 stars
74
2 stars
175
1 star
464
186 out of 82523%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Good Value with a Manual Fix

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
EventFixer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
FOR EVERYONE WHOSE PHONE TURNS ITSELF OFF AND WON'T TURN BACK ON / CONSTANTLY HAS TO TAKE THE BATTERY OUT, PLEASE READ BELOW:
I found a solution to the problem. Like most people here, I was getting really frustrated when my phone would decide to randomly turn itself off throughout the day and then not let me turn it back on. I started looking into why that might have been happening, and I think it has to do with a bad contact between the battery and the phone. In other words, when you inset the battery into the phone, the three metal contacts on the top right of the battery contact the three metal prongs in the top right corner of the battery compartment and supply the phone with power. If the contact isn't good enough, then the phone doesn't get the power it needs and can shut off unexpectedly. I THINK this is what everyone's issue is. Here is how I fixed my problem:
1. Turn phone off and remove battery.
2. Take a very small piece of paper and fold it over itself (in half) a bunch of times until it has a reasonable thickness. I would say folding it 3-4 times should do the trick.
3. Reinsert the battery while wedging the folder piece of paper between the bottom right corner of the battery and the wall of the battery compartment. Note: The paper does NOT go underneath the battery. Please see attached picture for how mine looks (ignore the second piece of paper that goes along the entire bottom of the battery).
4. Check to make sure that the battery is really being pushed up against the three contact prongs. If you can still see the prongs, you might need to fold your paper again to make the wedge even tighter. I attached another picture showing how I can no longer see the prongs.
5. Turn the phone back on and hope it stays on!
Considering how inexpensive the phone is, when I bought it I wasn't expecting great things. But having the phone constantly turn off (every 10-15 minutes) made it unusable. Ever since I tried this fix, the phone has never turned itself off and has been going strong for about 3-4 days. Considering the price, it's now a perfectly reasonable phone! Hope this helps other people too!
Pros: problem can be fixed
Cons: requires manual fix to even be usable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gkowen
 
Please wait while more information about gkowen is loaded.
Additional information about gkowen could not be loaded.
Worked for me!
Posted July 9, 2013
I had this same issue and did exactly as this person suggested and it fixed the problem. Sad that a device should even have a problem of this sort.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

not satisfy

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kaligurlswagg
From: Inglewood, CA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been with Virgin Mobile for 4 years I have the Kyocera event phone for a year and a half out the year and a half I replace 7 phones this is the worst phone Virgin Mobile have I rather get a flip phone then this phone
Cons: overall
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Terrible Phone

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
KittyCutie23
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've owned this phone over a year. At first it was okay, but now I can't even open up the phone without it freezing. If I had an emergency and had to call 911, it would not be happening. The keyboard comes up, and then goes down before you can type anything. Even with a huge SD card, you can't really play games, it will freeze. I dropped it one time, a few days ago, and now I can't even use it for anything. There is nothing good about this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

I used it for almost a year.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
zwazo
From: Utah
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone when I had almost no cash and kept using it even though it would drop calls, had poor call quality, froze on me, had a small screen with poor display quality, terrible battery life, and would randomly shut off and reboot on me. I didn't really care a ton because I was barely paying anything and figured it wasn't too bad. I ended up finally replacing it and feel like I've seen the light. My new phone is so much better. Overall this is the worst phone I've ever owned, but if you're like me and willing to put up with a little bit of hassle it will get the job done.
Pros: not much
Cons: almost everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

This product has poor battery life

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ceyonne
From: Durham,NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year and I still think it's not a great phone since i first got the phone. It has horrible battery life on phone. Even if, you have closed the apps some how the battery goes died within at least three hours. I have tried everything to save battery.
Plus, also i have problems with removing old pictures of my memory so, that i can have more memory on my phone and possibly have more battery life,
Cons: battery life, memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Buy a better phone

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
FTM3Mike
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was my first Android smartphone which I bought over a year ago. At first it was OK; although it did have problems with apps failing to start and the phone locking up. These problems just got worse, even though I used an app (C-Cleaner) to get rid of memory eating files along with a task killer. The camera is almost useless and can't really take a decent photo. You can only load a few apps before you run out of memory and the phone becomes virtually non-functional. Part of the problem is there are too many pre-installed apps that can't be uninstalled. It's finally got to the point that even when I've reduced the number of downloaded apps to the minimum, it takes forever to load apps and they just lock up. I do not recommend this phone for anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Youre better off buying a good flip phone for the money, or dropping the money on a proper touch screen

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive had this phone for about 8 months now. It has always been slow, which at first I was ok with. I bought it because I was tired of spending money on phones like galaxies where id just be on my phone on apps all the time. and in the beginning the phone would lock up and shut down when running things like facebook app or instagram, or stuff like that. But in the last few months I find myself trying hard for 20 minutes to send simple texts, missin half my calls because it freezes when i try to answer, it can't even run simple apps anymore. I would not recommend waasting your time on this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Good phone

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brooks3478
From: Charleston. , WV
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have owned this phone for almost a year and a half ,and it works good I have no complaints.if it gets slow I just reset it to factory settings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wendolin
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Wendolin is loaded.
Additional information about Wendolin could not be loaded.
Posted April 9, 2015
Could i use this phone with my lifeline service?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

not worth it!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bluerose80
From: Kentucky
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I originally wrote out a review saying why this phone is not worth your time or money but there was a problem with the site not responding.
I'm being honest. I have seen that message appear constantly in two weeks. My awe never done that. But due to my charge area messing up and my budget for the week, i got this phone. And in two weeks i will be getting another ZTE awe.
But honestly don't waste your time with this phone. Unless you want to resd error messages and restart your phone.
Cons: freezes up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Stay Away!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Aquaman
From: Providence
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is a piece of junk. My other Kocera phone from Virgin Mobile was the greatest and I have it for years. I thought this would be the same, but I was terribly disappointed... I rarely use the internet or any apps. I simply use it to talk and text and it still crashes. It was great for the first few months but at around the 4 mo. mark it started crashing and not notifying me of texts. Big Regret.
Cons: sucks
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

The worst phone ever!!

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MusicMedic
From: Atlanta, GA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is trash!! I usually spend 5 minutes just to make a phone call, that is if I don't have to force reboot it. It locks up, freezes, and reboots at least 3 times a day. I can not put any apps on this phone, and had to disable many of the ones that came with it, just so it has the memory to make a call or text. The switch from WiFi to Cellular kills it every time!! Streaming video, Maps, Navigation, the Camera? Forget it! Don't waste your money!!! This was a huge downgrade from my flip phone!!
Pros: ok battery life
Cons: terrible phone, waste of money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Terrible

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
serenitysel
From: Southern New Jersey
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for only a few months and absolutely hated it. Very hard to use and understand. I just got a new phone, and hopefully this one will be better.
I loved my flip phone, but after 4 years it finally died, so had to get a new phone. Sorry I ever wasted my money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kennddoo
asbury park,nj
 
Please wait while more information about kennddoo is loaded.
Additional information about kennddoo could not be loaded.
Posted March 26, 2015
I've had this phone for more than 2 years never had a problem..Games work fine and load fast. It fell in a glass of water and yes it was full pulled it out wiped it dry worked fine..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Horrible Phone

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuckysMom
From: New York
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is not meant for anyone who wants a smart phone. Over all the battery never stayed charged, there is a horrible ease of use to the point no one could figure it out. Call quality is terrible, static and grumble sounds, super slow and no good features. I had it for over a year and it was the worst phone I think I have ever owned.
Pros: it wont be used no more
Cons: battery, calls, ease of use, internet, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

You get what you pay for!

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Spareparts54
From: NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phone always freezes & shuts down on it's own. Spend a few more dollars and get a better cell.
Pros: nothing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dd12
From: malvern, pa
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is the worst phone ever;
DON'T EVER BUY A KYoCERA phone;
it is slow to respod to any of your actions;\
the operating system keeps crashing so I have to
reboot it daily; forget using the guided gps on it;
this gps is sure to get you lost and not respond when
you need it the most
Cons: do not buy, system crashes daily, do not use gps on it, weak signal and service with this phone, yuck!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

brand new and already froze

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
tmillet
From: milwaukee, wi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this phone is garbage!!!! its cheap for a reason. dont buy it
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

This is the worst phone I've ever owned.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AngryForever
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got two of these originally they were cheap so I knew they would have issues but I was hoping they would be manageable. They weren't. It wont let you call half the time. It constantly say the the Phone App has crashed even tho thats one of the requirements of a phone. Like who wants a phone that wont work as one! It wouldn't tell me when I got a text message. It wouldn't send texts half the time. The Apps crashed constantly even tho I only 6 Apps installed that weren't included. Then the worst part happened. I had my first one for probably around 8 months. It was a constant fight against it but I couldn't just buy a new phone. Then one day while typing I noticed part of my screen wouldn't let me touch it. I thought I needed to calibrate it which I realized isn't an option. So for a few days I had to tilt my phone to type. Then one day it just glitched out. It kept opening the apps I had on the side that wouldn't let me type. It would keep trying to call the same number over and over. I thought I had just scratched and it messed up the screen. So I replaced it with another of the same. I had it for 4 months? Maybe less. It did the same exact thing. I'm now convinced its a programming error or some sort of internal thing. I'm out a lot of money and a phone that works. Do Not get this phone. You may think it won't happen to you. It will. It's not worth the price. It would be of more use as a paperweight. Spend a bit extra and get another phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Not a Good Phone

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
finnophile
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this phone because it was cheap. I got what I paid for, a cheap phone that works when it wants to. The phone rarely works. It often takes me half an hour to make a phone call or check an App. Nothing really works. When I try to make phone calls the phone app crashes about half the time. Widgets don't work. Earlier today I got a voicemail that has been left 3 days ago. There was no notification on my phone.
I would not recommenced this phone to anyone.
Cons: the phone chooses when it wants to work, phone will reboot itsself at random times
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Horrible phone, you get what you pay for.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MedLeaf66
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just got this phone in yesterday and it is absolutly horrible, all of the apps shutdown and u a lot of apps closing messages, this phone is extremely slow to, I know its 3g but I had 3g phones and they were a lot faster than this. do not buy this, even if its cheap it is not worth it, get a better phone from VM.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Worthless

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
twilight
From: Virginia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
THIS PHONE IS PURE JUNK!
I bought it less than a year ago, used it for a month or so and switched back to my old phone, much better phone. I kept this for back up, just in case. Week my other phone feel in the water duo....here I am. I've been using it again for 2 months, I've had too reset and erase the entire phone at least 3 times.
1. It's restarted itself multiple times a day.
2. My wallpaper screen randomly changes itself.
3. I get voicemails but not the calls, not even
registering a missted call.
4. It freezes constantly!
5. The dial pad features :
A. DISAPPEARED! SO I had no way to use automated systems or hang up a conversation without removing my battery.
B. There was no speaker option either.
6. I received 17 text messages one day, that had been sent for the previous 3 days. Happens but 3 days? Even hours later is UNACCEPTABLE!
7. Typing this was ridiculous, cursor jumping all
around the screen, much editing done.
SO many issues! This phone is worthless! I'm waiting to hear back from Virgin Mobile about a replacement.
I was told to pay shipping, I said I've paid for thisT phone and if I have to attend one cent on aphone, I'm switching providers too. There should be a big upgrade and incentives.
Overall- Don't buy this phone! It's pure junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...44next>