Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.061 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(782 Reviews) 782
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (782 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
79
3 stars
70
2 stars
161
1 star
399
176 out of 73824%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
446 Questions | 532 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Good Value with a Manual Fix

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
EventFixer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
FOR EVERYONE WHOSE PHONE TURNS ITSELF OFF AND WON'T TURN BACK ON / CONSTANTLY HAS TO TAKE THE BATTERY OUT, PLEASE READ BELOW:
I found a solution to the problem. Like most people here, I was getting really frustrated when my phone would decide to randomly turn itself off throughout the day and then not let me turn it back on. I started looking into why that might have been happening, and I think it has to do with a bad contact between the battery and the phone. In other words, when you inset the battery into the phone, the three metal contacts on the top right of the battery contact the three metal prongs in the top right corner of the battery compartment and supply the phone with power. If the contact isn't good enough, then the phone doesn't get the power it needs and can shut off unexpectedly. I THINK this is what everyone's issue is. Here is how I fixed my problem:
1. Turn phone off and remove battery.
2. Take a very small piece of paper and fold it over itself (in half) a bunch of times until it has a reasonable thickness. I would say folding it 3-4 times should do the trick.
3. Reinsert the battery while wedging the folder piece of paper between the bottom right corner of the battery and the wall of the battery compartment. Note: The paper does NOT go underneath the battery. Please see attached picture for how mine looks (ignore the second piece of paper that goes along the entire bottom of the battery).
4. Check to make sure that the battery is really being pushed up against the three contact prongs. If you can still see the prongs, you might need to fold your paper again to make the wedge even tighter. I attached another picture showing how I can no longer see the prongs.
5. Turn the phone back on and hope it stays on!
Considering how inexpensive the phone is, when I bought it I wasn't expecting great things. But having the phone constantly turn off (every 10-15 minutes) made it unusable. Ever since I tried this fix, the phone has never turned itself off and has been going strong for about 3-4 days. Considering the price, it's now a perfectly reasonable phone! Hope this helps other people too!
Pros: problem can be fixed
Cons: requires manual fix to even be usable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gkowen
 
Please wait while more information about gkowen is loaded.
Additional information about gkowen could not be loaded.
Worked for me!
Posted July 9, 2013
I had this same issue and did exactly as this person suggested and it fixed the problem. Sad that a device should even have a problem of this sort.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kaijublue
From: NM
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I hate this phone so much. I've had two different ones (I had to trade in the first one because it became so unusable) and I'm facing similar problems with the second one, as well. The screen stops working in the middle of calls so if I want to end a call, I have to open the back and remove the battery. There are a lot of apps that just don't work. With the old one, apps would remain open for a few seconds before crashing. Portable wifi hotspot has never worked.
I originally thought that it was just the first phone, but I realized when I received the replacement that this model is terrible. Please save yourself the trouble and invest in a better smartphone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE PHONE !

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
x0x1234
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is horrible. When I try to make a call it takes FOREVER to finally make the call, than it calls the same person on 3 way. I try to get on apps and it constantly closes on me it, It literately takes me 30 trys to finally get on any app. And forget about trying to write a text, when I'm typing nothing types, I have to go back to the home screen and wait a few minutes than try and go back. I've reset this phone more times than I should have to. I've only had this phone for about 4 months. It's just a horrible phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

this phone is the worst phone ever!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LAYLAY1274
From: sioux falls sd
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
when i got this phone i thought it would be a great first phone. well when i got it it was very fast and very goood but then i started having problems with it like people wouldnt be able to hear me when i would talk on the phone. well then i fixed that problem but had wayyyy more . no its starting to turn off on me when im trying to text or do something. the music turns on my itself at the wrong times. it over heats. when i charge it i can take it off the charger nd be fully charge but then around 10ish im at 25%. this needs to be fixed ASAP
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Great starter/temporary phone

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
lonelymiracle
From: Burbank, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I don't understand all the negative reviews for it, this phone served me well. I wanted a temporary phone that I can call, text and browse online with and I was surprised that it's so much more. I downloaded many social apps and games and it ran well. I ended up keeping it for 6 months until it was stolen. I got a pretty case and a cute dust pluggy charm for it so it probably looked more valuable than it is.
Yes, it does run slow sometimes but don't expect to have a powerful phone for this price. I was honestly expecting less so I was pleasantly surprised. The Android OS is very easy to use and get used to. I think this is a great starter phone for your kids or a first time Android user!
Pros: easy to use
Cons: runs slow sometimes
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

medicore phone. cheap android. cant complain

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
brianthefisherman
From: ri
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok phone. Worth forty bucks. Tends to get very slow at times. Easy to talk and text. You get what you pay for
Pros: battery life
Cons: speed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

the basics

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kedakeda
From: md
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD FOR THE basics BUT NOT GOOD FOR speaking ON PHONE. CAN BARELY HEAR AND THEY CAN BARELY HEAR ME. PHONE MUTES ITSELF A LOT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Do NOT buy!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gardengirl
From: Fort Worth, TX
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Horrible phone! I told VM customer service reps it was POSSESSED! It does weird things at the most inopportune times. When I can afford a better phone I will SMASH this "Event" into smithereens!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

dont do it to yourself

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
zeus
From: ct
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i had this phone for 2 months and i wanted 2 break it every day after the 1st day. get another phone avoid this SERIOUSLY this phone should be banned
Pros: nothing
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NixeL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nothing works on this phone. Even trying to answer an incoming phone call is a challenge. The phone freezes up way too much.The apps that you get with the phone are useless. I found that I was downloading what I needed. Then once i had the apps I wanted they all would not respond making it impossible to even use them. the wifi on the phone is really bad. Dropped calls as well due to the phone randomly shutting down with a fully charged battery. If could gave it zero stars or negative stars I would had.
Pros: tag if you agree
Cons: tag if you disagree
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Replacmentphone. Dont waste your money.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mwhittt
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Freezes constantly. Theres not even enough room for apps i want and my pictures. Shuts off on its own, doesn't anwser calls most of the time. Don't waste your money. Soo happy to be getting the LG Volt this week.
Cons: battery life, everything, freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Phone is bricked after factory reset

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
madmonk210
From: Bremerton, WA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a fsctory reset because the phone was lagging. Somehow the firmware was deleted after resetting the phone and now cannot find the firmware online. Only had it for 3 months. I tossed it in the garbage and bought a Galaxy S3 instead.
Pros: nothing special
Cons: too slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Dont Wast your Money

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
RoseyDueces
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is not worth the money i spent i havent had it a month and its really messed up. Something bout System Recovery and ive tried everything. I cant be without a phone and now i am Worst Phone EVER!!!
Cons: everything
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Poor phone

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
coree101
From: Cedar Springs, Mi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the most horrible phone I ever owned, it freezes all the time, all the apps always crash especially Facebook and Twitter, if it's a fully battery when you go to bed it's l dead when you wake up, so slow, texting works 3/4 of the time texting on Google search bar takes forever, I got this phone in July two weeks late it stopped working, I called they sent me a new one, Saturday morning it froze took the battery out put it back in starts up normal but half way through where the world android lights up its stops and restarts itself
Pros: it's light weight
Cons: freezes, crashes apps all the, google search bar texting works half of the time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

AWFUL

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BossMOM
From: Las Vegas
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Never thought I would say; I want my water damaged, cracked screen, random shut down and turn back on "AWE" back but this phone gives me plenty of reasons to do JUST THAT. This less than stellar device is super slow at web searches, apps quit randomly (and I have less than 3 add-ons from the standard come as you are because it can't even support a simple download from playstore without bombing out a few times). I have had for 1wk and this tuuurd is going back ASAP. I have 2 little ones and didn't want to invest in a phone that they might destroy but I am hoping they do this one in. DO NOT PURCHASE!!!
Cons: slow, freezes up, aborts apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Junk

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pinkdraaagonfly
From: Bay Area, Ca
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is by far the worst phone I've owned, including my flip phones. It can't handle much. At the end of it's short life, it'll black out, reboot itself, and programs will also be in 'not responding' mode quite often.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Literally worst phone i've ever had

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
clj515
From: urbandale, ia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the cheapest phone i've ever owned i would rather own a flip phone, it freezes all the time and is constantly closing my programs, just today my friend called and i had to sit here and watch it ring because the screen was frozen and i couldn't answer it, i tried to call back and guess what my contacts was not responding and closed itself i would not recommend this phone to anyone.. it is the biggest piece of junk ever
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Worst product ever, literally switched phones and smashed

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CodyMyers95
From: Kingsley, Mi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone did nothing but crash, make me mad, drop calls, and make anything, even calling someone, a minimum of a twenty minute process. Hands down the biggest waste of money, EVER!!! Do yourself a favor and NEVER buy this thing for yourself, or anyone you love! Maybe your worst enemy though... It just may make their head explode out of frustration!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

freezes

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HateKyroceraEvent
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whenever I use my phone it freezes and tells me that apps I've never used aren't working there's nothing good about this phone I've had it 3 weeks and broke already
Pros: long lasting battery
Cons: freezes, nothing works correctly, takes bad pictures, music volume too quiet, very very slow, fragile, low memory, preloaded apps don't work when you need them, google play music doesn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

what i expected

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
srw1
From: MA.
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
wanted to update my review now that i have had this phone almost a year. i had read all the reviews about the phone shutting off and bad battery life, but i had to watch my money so i bought this phone. right away the phone shut off and i had to remove the battery, a year later it is still like clockwork once a month or so i have to remove the battery to restart. other than this the phone still works pretty good, i dont have a million apps, all i use it for is calls,texts, camera and looking up things online. i do have to charge it each night but the battery lasts me all day, even listening to some pandora at work, if you realize your not getting a high end phone and dont need tons of apps, then this phone should work for you, but realize it is a very basic phone, you wont be happy if you expect a ton of stuff from this phone. hope this helps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...40next>