Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.07 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(767 Reviews) 767
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (767 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
79
3 stars
69
2 stars
158
1 star
389
175 out of 72624%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
430 Questions | 521 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Good Value with a Manual Fix

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
EventFixer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
FOR EVERYONE WHOSE PHONE TURNS ITSELF OFF AND WON'T TURN BACK ON / CONSTANTLY HAS TO TAKE THE BATTERY OUT, PLEASE READ BELOW:
I found a solution to the problem. Like most people here, I was getting really frustrated when my phone would decide to randomly turn itself off throughout the day and then not let me turn it back on. I started looking into why that might have been happening, and I think it has to do with a bad contact between the battery and the phone. In other words, when you inset the battery into the phone, the three metal contacts on the top right of the battery contact the three metal prongs in the top right corner of the battery compartment and supply the phone with power. If the contact isn't good enough, then the phone doesn't get the power it needs and can shut off unexpectedly. I THINK this is what everyone's issue is. Here is how I fixed my problem:
1. Turn phone off and remove battery.
2. Take a very small piece of paper and fold it over itself (in half) a bunch of times until it has a reasonable thickness. I would say folding it 3-4 times should do the trick.
3. Reinsert the battery while wedging the folder piece of paper between the bottom right corner of the battery and the wall of the battery compartment. Note: The paper does NOT go underneath the battery. Please see attached picture for how mine looks (ignore the second piece of paper that goes along the entire bottom of the battery).
4. Check to make sure that the battery is really being pushed up against the three contact prongs. If you can still see the prongs, you might need to fold your paper again to make the wedge even tighter. I attached another picture showing how I can no longer see the prongs.
5. Turn the phone back on and hope it stays on!
Considering how inexpensive the phone is, when I bought it I wasn't expecting great things. But having the phone constantly turn off (every 10-15 minutes) made it unusable. Ever since I tried this fix, the phone has never turned itself off and has been going strong for about 3-4 days. Considering the price, it's now a perfectly reasonable phone! Hope this helps other people too!
Pros: problem can be fixed
Cons: requires manual fix to even be usable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gkowen
 
Please wait while more information about gkowen is loaded.
Additional information about gkowen could not be loaded.
Worked for me!
Posted July 9, 2013
I had this same issue and did exactly as this person suggested and it fixed the problem. Sad that a device should even have a problem of this sort.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Literally worst phone i've ever had

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
clj515
From: urbandale, ia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the cheapest phone i've ever owned i would rather own a flip phone, it freezes all the time and is constantly closing my programs, just today my friend called and i had to sit here and watch it ring because the screen was frozen and i couldn't answer it, i tried to call back and guess what my contacts was not responding and closed itself i would not recommend this phone to anyone.. it is the biggest piece of junk ever
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Worst product ever, literally switched phones and smashed

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CodyMyers95
From: Kingsley, Mi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone did nothing but crash, make me mad, drop calls, and make anything, even calling someone, a minimum of a twenty minute process. Hands down the biggest waste of money, EVER!!! Do yourself a favor and NEVER buy this thing for yourself, or anyone you love! Maybe your worst enemy though... It just may make their head explode out of frustration!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

freezes

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HateKyroceraEvent
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whenever I use my phone it freezes and tells me that apps I've never used aren't working there's nothing good about this phone I've had it 3 weeks and broke already
Pros: long lasting battery
Cons: freezes, nothing works correctly, takes bad pictures, music volume too quiet, very very slow, fragile, low memory, preloaded apps don't work when you need them, google play music doesn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

what i expected

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
srw1
From: MA.
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
wanted to update my review now that i have had this phone almost a year. i had read all the reviews about the phone shutting off and bad battery life, but i had to watch my money so i bought this phone. right away the phone shut off and i had to remove the battery, a year later it is still like clockwork once a month or so i have to remove the battery to restart. other than this the phone still works pretty good, i dont have a million apps, all i use it for is calls,texts, camera and looking up things online. i do have to charge it each night but the battery lasts me all day, even listening to some pandora at work, if you realize your not getting a high end phone and dont need tons of apps, then this phone should work for you, but realize it is a very basic phone, you wont be happy if you expect a ton of stuff from this phone. hope this helps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Mostly good for an intro for android phones...

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
jubileeuniverse
From: Stafford, VA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone over half a year ago and now I just got my 3rd replacement of it. Each phone had some problems freezing, some apps not responding, calls not going through, and calls getting cut off. In the first replacement's case it cut off and would not turn on anymore, so that prompted for the second replacement. In all, you really can't expect no problems to happen because of the price. It's an ok phone as far as a first time intro to androids, but not for a long term one.
Whether I have to get more replacements or not, I'll be hanging with this phone type until Christmas where I can get a different one all together.
Pros: cheap, good first android for someone
Cons: battery life, freezes, apps not responding, calls not going through, calls ending
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

awful battery life

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMuser254
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Event for just under 60 days, and my battery will not last more than 2 hours after being fully charged. I am not using it to stream music or videos, this is just in average getting texts and e-mails (about 50 in a 2 hour period). I would not buy this phone again, and I am going to switch back to my HTC that I thought was a lesson in patience, but have since learned that it is a great phone compared to the Event
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phone I Ever Bought!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SwoleMan
From: Indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone does weird stuff when I am trying to talk to someone. I have to put it on speaker just to avoid the craziness. Plus, it acts like it can't handle doing 2 things at once. It freezes a lot! I don't trust any Kyocera phone anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Don't buy it!!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HiHo123
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone was in pretty good shape when I first bought it. But after about a month it started to crash constantly when I use my wifi. Now I can't even turn it on. It is a horrible product. Don't be fooled by the price, it's JUNK!!!
Pros: it's a smartphone, it's cheap
Cons: it dies within a month
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Edd7735
Bronx, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Edd7735 is loaded.
Additional information about Edd7735 could not be loaded.
Phone is only useful for paper weight!
Posted September 25, 2014
I've had this phone for a little over four months had to have it changed now five times, phone goes to sleep and does not wake up. Apps freeze, calls drop a multitude of problems will never get this phone again!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

You get what you pay for

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rob2232
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have owned this phone for a few months now just playing around with it, and I can tell you that you should avoid it at all costs. Not only is the performance awful, but the battery life is just unheard of. While it does have it's eco mode that gives it a few extra hours, I find it is not enough to get through the day without needing to charge up somewhere. This phone freezes up and locks up randomly requiring me to remove the back cover and take out the battery to reboot. This is very annoying, but they did make the back cover easy to remove for this reason.
Pros: sturdy, good antennas
Cons: slow, lock-ups, bad battery life, hot!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

WORST PHONE I HAVE EVER OWNED!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
reddh1
From: Greenville, NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone was by far the worst I have ever had. All 4 of them. Every single one kept malfunctioning. The apps would constantly freeze, it would always power itself off and on by itself and it would just stop working often! Very unreliable, it is junk and they should stop making them! Please don't waste your money! I had to give it a star rating, if it were my choice, it would get NO STARS!
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Why all the hate?

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
XxTCPxX
From: Seattle, WA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really am not sure why so many do not recommend this mobile. Granted it is very true that it is prone to freeze and over heat, on the condition that you demand more than it can handle. Before people ought to buy any product, they really should look at what it offers. This has a 1 Ghz CPU, and 300 odd megabytes of RAM. That alone tells anyone that this is far from the greatest mobile out there. But when you try to run many system taxing apps ranging from skype mobile, to the chrome browser, pandora, and many other famous applications. (especially at any single time) You will be the sole reason why your phone becomes unresponsive, slow, and the reason why it automatically restarts itself. You may as well be trying to run a very system demanding program from windows 7 and trying to run it on something meant for windows xp, and then complain about how it did not meet your standards.
For those who wish to get the most out of this mobile, I highly advise you find a task killer of some sort. As well as an application specifically designed to help with battery life and performance. Advanced Task Killer and Juice Defender are very ideal choices, but not the only ones. Once you optimize this mobile and gear it up properly, it will make a very big difference.
Pros: concerning it's price it is a great machine.
Cons: it is not the best for multi tasking apps, very dependent on an optimizing application or 2.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Really Shouldn't Have...

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
unEVENTful
From: Dallas, Texas
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about 14 months and it was just ok when it was brand new. Granted, it's been dropped numerous times and thrown once (don't judge me lol), but even before all of that , the phone would freeze, overheat, and shut itself off. Battery life? What battery life?? If I dial a number and press talk, it has to process for about 90 seconds before it begins to dial. Very frustrating! VM should really take this phone off the market and try again. Use a friends's phone, buy a pigeon...whatever you do, don't buy this phone. Thanks!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT!!! BUY THIS PHONE!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gameboy
From: Augusta, Ga
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has been a nightmare! You wouldbe better off using two paper cups and a string. Seriously. It constantly freezes. Shuts off. Apps won't work. Freezes some more. This is the 3rd phone virgin mobile had to send me because of all the problems. Again, for your own sanity- DON'TBUY THIS PHONE. (It's even giving me a hard time trying to write this review!!!)
Pros: not much
Cons: freezes cuts off no front camera freezes some m
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

I wanted a budget phone, but this...

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mm71
From: Washington DC
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Having moved from the UK to the US, I released that I would have to go for a budget phone until I could justify a decent phone. I looked around and this was cheap, so I though "why not?". What a terrible mistake I made! The battery life is horrendous; an overnight charge gets me approximately 7 hours of power. By power, I mean leaving the phone turned on and not actually using it. Then there's the sound quality - appalling. Signal strength - terrible. The screen quality is as expected in a budget phone, as is the processor power. It actually looks OK and is quite light though, so it's not all bad...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

The worst phone and battery sold by Virgin Mobile

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
John1947
From: Long Beach CA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The only thing positive I can say about this phone is that it was cheap, in price. I guess it was also cheap for Kyocera to make. The battery which states it lasts for over 6 hours of talking, last for much much less. Just overnight with no calls, just one email, and the battery level is down to 67% of normal. Don't waste your money on this phone. It is not worth the cheap price if you have to keep it on the charger for hours every day in order to do simple things with it.
Cons: terrible battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Exasperating!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
GiG1
From: Fort Wayne, IN
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Darn thing won't hold a charge even when not in use overnight. Heats up if I don't use the speaker during a call so there's no privacy. When I erase photos they reappear the next day. Drop calls and freezes up. Only reason I bought it was because it has voice command and talk to text.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

HORRIBLE PHONE

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From: Jacksonville, FL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has been a nightmare! I have had 2. Virgin mobile replaced the first one and this one is just as bad! It turns on and off, freezes constantly, and cuts off phone calls. My son was trying to call 911 after I had a seizure and it kept turning off. DON'T BUY THIS PHONE!
Cons: anything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone I've had.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tymbyr1wulf
From: Hot Springs, AR
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Kyocera Event is definitely a low end phone that could be kept in a drawer for a back up phone. Constantly drops data, disconnection from the sd card is constant. This phone is absolute garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Not what I expected.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Punkerelli
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound quality for phone is awful. I was surprised on my very first phone call.
Phone didn't last maybe 9 months, compared to 8 years (4 years each) on my last two Kyocera flip phones. Kyocera used to make a great phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345...39next>