Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.015 / 5
2
 / 
5
(858 Reviews) 858
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (858 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
84
3 stars
74
2 stars
171
1 star
454
185 out of 81123%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Good Value with a Manual Fix

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
EventFixer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
FOR EVERYONE WHOSE PHONE TURNS ITSELF OFF AND WON'T TURN BACK ON / CONSTANTLY HAS TO TAKE THE BATTERY OUT, PLEASE READ BELOW:
I found a solution to the problem. Like most people here, I was getting really frustrated when my phone would decide to randomly turn itself off throughout the day and then not let me turn it back on. I started looking into why that might have been happening, and I think it has to do with a bad contact between the battery and the phone. In other words, when you inset the battery into the phone, the three metal contacts on the top right of the battery contact the three metal prongs in the top right corner of the battery compartment and supply the phone with power. If the contact isn't good enough, then the phone doesn't get the power it needs and can shut off unexpectedly. I THINK this is what everyone's issue is. Here is how I fixed my problem:
1. Turn phone off and remove battery.
2. Take a very small piece of paper and fold it over itself (in half) a bunch of times until it has a reasonable thickness. I would say folding it 3-4 times should do the trick.
3. Reinsert the battery while wedging the folder piece of paper between the bottom right corner of the battery and the wall of the battery compartment. Note: The paper does NOT go underneath the battery. Please see attached picture for how mine looks (ignore the second piece of paper that goes along the entire bottom of the battery).
4. Check to make sure that the battery is really being pushed up against the three contact prongs. If you can still see the prongs, you might need to fold your paper again to make the wedge even tighter. I attached another picture showing how I can no longer see the prongs.
5. Turn the phone back on and hope it stays on!
Considering how inexpensive the phone is, when I bought it I wasn't expecting great things. But having the phone constantly turn off (every 10-15 minutes) made it unusable. Ever since I tried this fix, the phone has never turned itself off and has been going strong for about 3-4 days. Considering the price, it's now a perfectly reasonable phone! Hope this helps other people too!
Pros: problem can be fixed
Cons: requires manual fix to even be usable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gkowen
 
Please wait while more information about gkowen is loaded.
Additional information about gkowen could not be loaded.
Worked for me!
Posted July 9, 2013
I had this same issue and did exactly as this person suggested and it fixed the problem. Sad that a device should even have a problem of this sort.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

This is the worst phone I've ever owned.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
AngryForever
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got two of these originally they were cheap so I knew they would have issues but I was hoping they would be manageable. They weren't. It wont let you call half the time. It constantly say the the Phone App has crashed even tho thats one of the requirements of a phone. Like who wants a phone that wont work as one! It wouldn't tell me when I got a text message. It wouldn't send texts half the time. The Apps crashed constantly even tho I only 6 Apps installed that weren't included. Then the worst part happened. I had my first one for probably around 8 months. It was a constant fight against it but I couldn't just buy a new phone. Then one day while typing I noticed part of my screen wouldn't let me touch it. I thought I needed to calibrate it which I realized isn't an option. So for a few days I had to tilt my phone to type. Then one day it just glitched out. It kept opening the apps I had on the side that wouldn't let me type. It would keep trying to call the same number over and over. I thought I had just scratched and it messed up the screen. So I replaced it with another of the same. I had it for 4 months? Maybe less. It did the same exact thing. I'm now convinced its a programming error or some sort of internal thing. I'm out a lot of money and a phone that works. Do Not get this phone. You may think it won't happen to you. It will. It's not worth the price. It would be of more use as a paperweight. Spend a bit extra and get another phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Not a Good Phone

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
finnophile
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this phone because it was cheap. I got what I paid for, a cheap phone that works when it wants to. The phone rarely works. It often takes me half an hour to make a phone call or check an App. Nothing really works. When I try to make phone calls the phone app crashes about half the time. Widgets don't work. Earlier today I got a voicemail that has been left 3 days ago. There was no notification on my phone.
I would not recommenced this phone to anyone.
Cons: the phone chooses when it wants to work, phone will reboot itsself at random times
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Horrible phone, you get what you pay for.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MedLeaf66
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just got this phone in yesterday and it is absolutly horrible, all of the apps shutdown and u a lot of apps closing messages, this phone is extremely slow to, I know its 3g but I had 3g phones and they were a lot faster than this. do not buy this, even if its cheap it is not worth it, get a better phone from VM.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Worthless

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
twilight
From: Virginia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
THIS PHONE IS PURE JUNK!
I bought it less than a year ago, used it for a month or so and switched back to my old phone, much better phone. I kept this for back up, just in case. Week my other phone feel in the water duo....here I am. I've been using it again for 2 months, I've had too reset and erase the entire phone at least 3 times.
1. It's restarted itself multiple times a day.
2. My wallpaper screen randomly changes itself.
3. I get voicemails but not the calls, not even
registering a missted call.
4. It freezes constantly!
5. The dial pad features :
A. DISAPPEARED! SO I had no way to use automated systems or hang up a conversation without removing my battery.
B. There was no speaker option either.
6. I received 17 text messages one day, that had been sent for the previous 3 days. Happens but 3 days? Even hours later is UNACCEPTABLE!
7. Typing this was ridiculous, cursor jumping all
around the screen, much editing done.
SO many issues! This phone is worthless! I'm waiting to hear back from Virgin Mobile about a replacement.
I was told to pay shipping, I said I've paid for thisT phone and if I have to attend one cent on aphone, I'm switching providers too. There should be a big upgrade and incentives.
Overall- Don't buy this phone! It's pure junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Has everything you need, but only work for a little while.

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Active
From: Brooklyn, NY
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Never again, it worked well for five months, than began to slow down and freeze up on me, and I am not a heavy cellphone user, just to check my emails, and facebook, would not give gift this cellphone to anyone not even a child.
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Not good for phone calls

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bray
From: Phoenix, AZ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Bought Two Kyocera Even Sound on calls are horrible!!!! Always Garbled Can't understand each other. We have to text because we can't hear each other on Kyocera Event . I'm looking for another phone.
Cons: phone calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Bad phone

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
2BFREE
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a very cheap phone. My husband bought this phone twice. The first time he bought it, it lasted about 4 months. The camera would take several pictures daily on it's own. It would reboot itself several times though out the day and would always somehow use up the data in 2 days! He bought a 2nd one thinking that the 1st one may be defective but now the 2nd one is doing the same things after less than 1 week! Don't buy this phone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Good for the basics

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
lvmprxy
From: San Francisco bay area
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is great for what I need. I don't use it to play games, watch videos, or any extra thing. I use my tablet for that. It is good for phone calls, texts, reading emails, GPS, and basic stuff. It is a good phone for anyone on a budget, not expecting a lot. If you expect a lot, you will be disappointed.
Battery-I thought it was strange that I wouldn't use the phone but the few apps I have were draining the battery. The funny thing is that it is not doing that anymore. Stand by is not great, but I keep a battery charger while away for more than a day. If you can get an extra battery, it is probably a good idea to have one for backup for any phone.
Sound on calls-It happens once in a while that someone says that they can't hear me...about once every three months. Speaker phone is good. If I am riding a train to work or back, phone calls are difficult to make and receive-can't hear much with the train noise even with earphones. Texts are better. If I lose a call, it is probably once a month or less, but then I live in an area that is immersed in connectivity. Not enough to complain.
Camera-good if you don't need extra lighting and/or the subject is standing still. Moving subjects or dark areas don't work well, even with adjusting lighting or using flash. Same with video. God forbid you try to take video at a show or concert. The audio won't work at all. You just get white noise.
Storage-I have 16 GB card that I use for pictures and music and any apps I can move. Works well with most music apps, but I download my own music, so I don't worry.
Speaker-decent. You aren't going to get HD sound but it is better than some phones I have had before. Recording sound is decent except in a big arena or concert. I can listen to music on the speaker just fine in a quiet space like the office. Listening to the speakers out and walking doesn't sound as good. You aren't going to DJ a party with this phone. Earphones are my preferred way of listening to music.
None of the cons are annoying to me. Slightly disappointed with the video sound but I learn not to use the phone anymore. I am not expecting this phone to be an Iphone, Samsung, LG, etc.
The really only annoying thing to me is turning on the phone with the Virgin introduction.
If you are a heavy app user, this is not the phone for you. I like it for the basics, which has worked for me and I would recommend it for people who need very basic phones. I have had friends and family use my phone and no complaints yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Better than expected

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
porkchop
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My first smart phone. It is better than people have said except the battery. At night, mine will be charged to 100 percent, no apps open, and in the morning it has drained down to 88 percent capacity.
Just remember to close all the open apps and it will perform better. Two good features for old farts like me are the magnified text setting, and the hearing aid setting. All in all a good phone for the budget minded.
Pros: ease of use light weight
Cons: battery drains faster than most
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

It texts and it calls. Don't expect more.

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mimitwenty15
From: Michigan
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone because I needed a phone on a budget. This phone is great for texting and calling. You can use apps for the first couple of weeks with no issues. Then you'll find that it doesn't like to open apps or keep apps open. It closes apps on me all the time. Using two apps at once is not possible. Also, about three months later it glitches out while texting and trying to call. If you need a phone for a short period of time, it is good. Just get another phone after a couple of months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Unreliable

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SugarRush
From: CT
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The negative reviews are true. Mine worked, sort of, for about a year and then quit all together. Constantly turning on and off. Annoying.
Pros: affordable
Cons: unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phone

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Luv2Craft
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Every call is pxelated every time, anyone I talk to can't hear me most of my time. The phone will randomly shut off and turn back on despite me keeping it off at times. The battery life is poor and the memory doesn't hold much even though I only have downloaded two apps that had very little space requirements to begin with. Sometimes when I have added new people to my contacts it deletes them for no reason. Camera quality is terrible, some texts don't go through, and overall everything is really bad with this phone. I tried keeping this phone for another year, but it can't even function as a normal phone, so I'm ready to upgrade or switch to a different phone company altogether.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

HORRIBLE. SAVE YOUR MONEY.

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
marcia
From: Tampa, FL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is absolutely the worst phone I've ever had. It disconnects calls, has a short battery life, beeps constantly and can't get a decent signal no matter where I am. Save your money. I'm going tomorrow and getting a new phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Brick with a battery

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bclegg9175
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Does anyone else have the problem with your voice "digitizing" when on a phone call? Annoying. Constantly restarts. Claims there is no room for apps but I only have two that I can use?!
Do not buy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

This phone was bad

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tebowtime
From: Oneonta,NY
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst phone i've every had had it 6 months then it started turning on and off they sent me a new one did the same thing in 3 months
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT BUY

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CHING
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
WARNING: EVERYTHING STINKS ON THIS PHONE. NOT WORTH A DIME. DO NOT BUY.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

don't don't don't buy

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
forgoodnesssake12345
From: Washington
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DON'T BUY! Not even if you need a cheap phone,,, will bee a complete waste.. I BOUGHT FROM WAL-MART, I NEEDED A CHEAP PHONE WHILE I WAS IN BETWEEN I-PHONES BECAUSE I CRACKED MY SCREEN,,, ANYWAY FROM DAY ONE OUT CRASHED, HAD APPLICATION ERRORS, ERRORED WHEN I MADE CALLS, DELAYS CALL ... IN MISS CALL SWITCHES SCREENS AND THE OTHER PERSON CAN'T HEAR ME.... NOTHING I MEAN NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THE PHONE.... EVEN WORTH A 32G MEMORY I ADDED... ONLY THE BATTERY IS GOOD, BUT I HAVE HAD PHONE 1 MONTH CAN'T STAND.... WAITING FOR MY I PHONE
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

bad phone

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
edensdaddy
From: Minneapolis, mn
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had 4 of the phones and all of them were horrible two from the store and two right from virgin mobile. Will not recommended this phone to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Good at First

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mm2real
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone was pretty great at first with all of the features but after maybe a year it began to work very slowly, constantly freeze, and the prediction for my words has went crazy. Kinda sad that its past its glory days.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...43next>