Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.046 / 5
2
 / 
5
(805 Reviews) 805
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (805 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
80
3 stars
72
2 stars
166
1 star
414
179 out of 76124%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
458 Questions | 545 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Good Value with a Manual Fix

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
EventFixer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
FOR EVERYONE WHOSE PHONE TURNS ITSELF OFF AND WON'T TURN BACK ON / CONSTANTLY HAS TO TAKE THE BATTERY OUT, PLEASE READ BELOW:
I found a solution to the problem. Like most people here, I was getting really frustrated when my phone would decide to randomly turn itself off throughout the day and then not let me turn it back on. I started looking into why that might have been happening, and I think it has to do with a bad contact between the battery and the phone. In other words, when you inset the battery into the phone, the three metal contacts on the top right of the battery contact the three metal prongs in the top right corner of the battery compartment and supply the phone with power. If the contact isn't good enough, then the phone doesn't get the power it needs and can shut off unexpectedly. I THINK this is what everyone's issue is. Here is how I fixed my problem:
1. Turn phone off and remove battery.
2. Take a very small piece of paper and fold it over itself (in half) a bunch of times until it has a reasonable thickness. I would say folding it 3-4 times should do the trick.
3. Reinsert the battery while wedging the folder piece of paper between the bottom right corner of the battery and the wall of the battery compartment. Note: The paper does NOT go underneath the battery. Please see attached picture for how mine looks (ignore the second piece of paper that goes along the entire bottom of the battery).
4. Check to make sure that the battery is really being pushed up against the three contact prongs. If you can still see the prongs, you might need to fold your paper again to make the wedge even tighter. I attached another picture showing how I can no longer see the prongs.
5. Turn the phone back on and hope it stays on!
Considering how inexpensive the phone is, when I bought it I wasn't expecting great things. But having the phone constantly turn off (every 10-15 minutes) made it unusable. Ever since I tried this fix, the phone has never turned itself off and has been going strong for about 3-4 days. Considering the price, it's now a perfectly reasonable phone! Hope this helps other people too!
Pros: problem can be fixed
Cons: requires manual fix to even be usable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gkowen
 
Please wait while more information about gkowen is loaded.
Additional information about gkowen could not be loaded.
Worked for me!
Posted July 9, 2013
I had this same issue and did exactly as this person suggested and it fixed the problem. Sad that a device should even have a problem of this sort.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

This phone is not great at all

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mendalynn22
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone was definitely the worst purchase i have made all year. I have only had this phone for about 3 months and it is terrible. It's slow, freezes very frequently. Everyday i have trouble with this phone. Everyday it turns off by itself, and when i turn it on again it will take me to a screen that says "Process System is not responding would you like to close it" And gives me the option to wait or close when i press either it just stays on the screen and freezes there. When i open one of my apps, like my camera or facebook and etc. it will run okay for a while until a little box pops up that says the app is not responding. Also im not receiving texts from other nor are they receiving any from me from time to time. There are so many more problems with this phone that i cant even explain ! Im more than unhappy with this phone. I wish i could take it back and get a refund !!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

It's not an Iphone or Galaxy, so dont expect it to be one.

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ryukenblaze
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this phone last year after the buttons gave out on my old phone. I did a lot of research, reading reviews, tech specs, etc. and decided to take my first plunge into smartphones with this device. It is nowhere near the level of the A list phones out there, but at it's pricepoint, who would honestly expect it to be?
It comes with a the full outfit of sensors for an entry level smartphone: Multi touch screen, accelerometer, proximity sensors and they all work normally. It can be a little slow at times, but not unbearably so in most cases, and the biggest offender I find is often google chrome.
It does restart itself on occasion, but I have yet to own a virgin mobile phone that hasn't. It's a basic smartphone, with the basic essential features at a decent price. It's not the greatest phone in the world, but it certainly isn't the worst either. Also, if it gets to laggy/riddled with errors, just do a software reset, your phone will be running like new again in just a few minutes.
Pros: responsive, clear calls, multi touch
Cons: occasional memory leak issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

The worst phone in the world..........

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lady3Bleu
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend anyone to buy this phone because the features are poor battery life is poor too.
Cons: don't buy this phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Do not buy this phone

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
peanutbutter7
From: Austin, TX
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone cannot handle even the most simple tasks in any regularity. It is constantly bogged down it seems. Android is an excellent operating system but this phone is not keeping up. No features if this phone work consistently. Phone calls and texting are both very bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Entry level phone with poor voice performance

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sid1998
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Had 2 of them since i figured first one may be defective. Both are marginal at best.
My biggest complaint is the voice part of the phone. I spend half my minutes repeating what i said or asking person in talking to to repeat what they said.
The rest of the phone works as well as can be expected considering the budget price.
Pros: works reasonable for data
Cons: voice
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

this product is very easy to use

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
trickmaster
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone was great at first but now it resets at least 10 times a day when in not on a Wi-Fi network and just using the regular phone service
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

bunch of worthlessness in a plastic box.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bcurtis88
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Completely junk. When you first get it, it works great. After a few months it starts to lag severely bad to the point of getting error messages that every app or process is not responding. When I go to dial a number it sometimes takes the phone 30 seconds or more just to start calling the number. do yourself a favor and never buy this phone. Don't even look at it because it is trash. It serves better as mp3 player and camera but if you use anything else, it will just drag it down.
Pros: battery life
Cons: everything else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Not recommended

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
gbozo
From: Los Angeles
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a "nice" phone that suffers from a very inadequate processor, which I think is 1 GHz single core. The phone can seem to hang up when it is just trying to catch up with whatever I've asked it to do. Wait a while and it returns to normal. Also, the battery life is very poor. In general I really like Kyocera phones, but this one is not satisfactory.
Pros: android 4.0, large number of apps available
Cons: processor too slow, battery life too short
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

no good

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
arturomexico
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone crashes a lot while runing apps, turns off by itself and is very slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Do not waste your money

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scoo
From: Orlando, FL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ive had t.his phone for 4 months...it has many problems. Battery life is very poor. Phone turns off and on by its self. Apps on phone routinely don't work. Phone will dial and hang up on its own. DO NOT BUY!!!!
Pros: dont buy
Cons: dont buy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Bad Phone

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pixi
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is a nightmare.
I was kinda broke when I bought it and the price looked right, but I should have signed up for a land line instead.
This phoine picks and chooses when it wants to recieve calls or texts. After a month of putting up with it's mood swings, it decided to not load at all. I couldn't check messages because 'messenger was not responding." Go to make a call: "Contacts is not responding." I spent the next month without a phone at all doing all of my talking-to-people via Email on a desktop while saving up enough for something that would work. Do not buy one no matter how broke you are. This phone is a complete and utter waste of money.
Pros: nothing
Cons: it isn't even a phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Trash

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
DailyBread
From: Little Rock
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is terrible. Once you've had it for a month or so it'll start getting very slow and apps will crash alot. Sometimes it gets so bad that you have to hard reset or take the battery out and put it back in. Bad battery life. Freezes so much it'll make you want to throw it against the wall.
Pros: cheap light
Cons: apps crash phone freezes bad battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Not worth a penny

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mommy071414
From: Richlands, NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From the day I got this phone, I have had nothing but problems. Anything you can think of went wrong with this phone. It would take ten minutes just to make an outgoing phone call, Then you couldn't get the phone to hang up. It would turn off whenever it wanted and turn back on. My stupid self thought well maybe I just got a lemon, so I bought another one from walmart brand new. With an hour of activating the phone I had the same problems... You are wasting your time and money purchasing this phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

So far so good

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Buckwheat
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Friendly help desk, esy to set up account, has many features and a good value
Pros: easy to use
Cons: some coverage areas
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AiresComet
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about AiresComet is loaded.
Additional information about AiresComet could not be loaded.
Kyocera Event Phone
Posted November 19, 2014
This is my 3rd replacement. I have had the same issues. The phone shutting off and turning on by itself. Shutting the phone off, pulling the battery, wait 30 seconds, pop the battery back in, turn it on, then let it reboot. Calls to the same person dialed twice with no way to end either call except shut the phone off. Browser app suddenly stops and the phone immediately goes back to the main screen. Facebook is a nightmare. It's forever not responding, and will close out and the main screen will be back. Waiting FOREVER for a browser search. I can literally heat up a mug of coffee, come back, and the browser search is complete. That's a full minute. Dropped calls, while sitting at my kitchen table! Trying to open links and it fails. BAM! Right back to the main screen. There are some non-app features I like, but I sure am glad I have a memory card installed, and downloaded gcloud for daily back up. I want an upgraded phone without paying for it!! I mean, come on. This is the 3rd phone!! Virgin Mobile are you listening??!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mom222
From: gainesville, Ok
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is the slowest phone I ever had, I would try to go download an app and it would not download.Everytime I try to go into a app it would always force close. I would always go try to play music and it would not let me until i actually go into the app and play it manually,do not waste your money on this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

worst phone

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sohologo
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please save your money the worst phone ever. Only had two weeks and already getting rid of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kiarah
From: Pensacola Fl,
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is very stupid , the only thing about it thats good is the price. This phone crashes alot, you cant delete any pictures or albums because they will come back and it will be eight more of the picture . I have had ten replacement phones of this kind , im actually thinking about leaving this company because of my horrific experience with this phone . This phone also freezes alot and the games will run slow as Christmas .
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Worst VM phone I ever owned. Poor performance with low battery life.

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
4real050
From: Long Island, NY
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone was cheap and I got exactly what I paid for. Big mistake I won't make again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

waste of money

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
frustratedcaller
From: Ann Arbor, MI
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have two of these phones and they are both terrible. The sound quality is poor, I can't understand people when they talk. My phone always goes to another screen during a conversation and then it's like I am on mute, but I am not, so people don't hear me and I have to hit the back button so they can hear me again. Very frustrating. The battery dies before the end of the day and I give it a full charge every night with very little use during the day. The other day it completely froze so I couldn't make any calls.
Cons: terrible awful no good
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...41next>