Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.023 / 5
2
 / 
5
(839 Reviews) 839
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (839 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
81
3 stars
73
2 stars
169
1 star
441
183 out of 79323%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Good Value with a Manual Fix

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
EventFixer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
FOR EVERYONE WHOSE PHONE TURNS ITSELF OFF AND WON'T TURN BACK ON / CONSTANTLY HAS TO TAKE THE BATTERY OUT, PLEASE READ BELOW:
I found a solution to the problem. Like most people here, I was getting really frustrated when my phone would decide to randomly turn itself off throughout the day and then not let me turn it back on. I started looking into why that might have been happening, and I think it has to do with a bad contact between the battery and the phone. In other words, when you inset the battery into the phone, the three metal contacts on the top right of the battery contact the three metal prongs in the top right corner of the battery compartment and supply the phone with power. If the contact isn't good enough, then the phone doesn't get the power it needs and can shut off unexpectedly. I THINK this is what everyone's issue is. Here is how I fixed my problem:
1. Turn phone off and remove battery.
2. Take a very small piece of paper and fold it over itself (in half) a bunch of times until it has a reasonable thickness. I would say folding it 3-4 times should do the trick.
3. Reinsert the battery while wedging the folder piece of paper between the bottom right corner of the battery and the wall of the battery compartment. Note: The paper does NOT go underneath the battery. Please see attached picture for how mine looks (ignore the second piece of paper that goes along the entire bottom of the battery).
4. Check to make sure that the battery is really being pushed up against the three contact prongs. If you can still see the prongs, you might need to fold your paper again to make the wedge even tighter. I attached another picture showing how I can no longer see the prongs.
5. Turn the phone back on and hope it stays on!
Considering how inexpensive the phone is, when I bought it I wasn't expecting great things. But having the phone constantly turn off (every 10-15 minutes) made it unusable. Ever since I tried this fix, the phone has never turned itself off and has been going strong for about 3-4 days. Considering the price, it's now a perfectly reasonable phone! Hope this helps other people too!
Pros: problem can be fixed
Cons: requires manual fix to even be usable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gkowen
 
Please wait while more information about gkowen is loaded.
Additional information about gkowen could not be loaded.
Worked for me!
Posted July 9, 2013
I had this same issue and did exactly as this person suggested and it fixed the problem. Sad that a device should even have a problem of this sort.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

This product does not have great features

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dale
From: Tulsa, OK
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were looking for a smart phone for the Virgin mobile carrier. Virgin mobile offer sthis locally. At first I was pleased and excited, but the more I used it, the more I disliked it. It resarts on it's own, and the voice quality is very poor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Horrible

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
chelseagrin101
From: Massachusetts
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone you can literally buy freezes all the time shuts off always not responding. I wouldn't even get this phone for a kid nothing but issue's. I think this phone shouldn't even be on the market at all. I have two of them and they are garbage.
Cons: everything is horrible about it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Not top of the line, but it works.

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Katey115
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First smart phone. Works ok, some glitches like freezing or closing some apps. It works fine to just get by. I have had it for a year and a half, but after dropping it so many times I have broken my lock button. Until now have been fine with texting and everything, just the freezing at times.
Cons: apps freeze
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

UTTERLY USELESS

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rasheeda77
From: jacksonville, fl
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I cant do anything on this phone, it is completely useless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

terrible

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
harm247
From: phx, az
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the worst phone I've ever had. its so slow. it freezes and shuts down constantly. spend more money on a better phone. this one is horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phons

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
thisisausername191817
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first phone, and likewise, we chose the cheapest and most decent looking one at the store. We jumped on the idea of an inexpensive and friendly phone. The first call I made with it was great, I could actually make out what the person was saying. The texting was difficult but, it's my first phone. What are you going to do? I figured I'd get used to it. Well, I think I blew the speakers or something immediately because the next call I made was raspy and I could barely make any words out of the robotic tone. The texting was bad in general. When the messaging app DIDN'T crash, it would always correct what I said into something obnoxious and completely wrong. The apps are always freezing and crashing. Usually if it just stalls for a second it takes about a minute before the "THIS APP ISNT RESPONDING. WAIT? CLOSE?" notification pops up. This notification pops up CONSTANTLY. Some apps like spotify and facebook dont even work. All the apps take forever to load. Using the phone for emergancies results in crashes, call-drops, and that unresponsive notification. The battery life ranges from a few hours to 30 minutes. The touch screen freezes constantly. overall, I WOULD NOT. RECOMMEND THIS PHONE.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

This product is bad

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
boe55
From: Santa Rosa, Ca
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wish I would have not bought this phone. This is the worst phone to have it is hard to make a call and when it does work and you hang up it keep calling the person back that you just called. Nothing comes up on it its always freezing up and you cant do nothing with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Terrible!

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
aliciaNY
From: ny
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this phone may be cheap but it is absolutely useless. It is impossible to do anything on it - every app shuts down or freezes when used.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rodana
From: Warsaw, Indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's was a Good deal for the price. It's useless for anything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

worst phone I've owned

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bookat
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received the phone as a Christmas present from my parents. At the time my mother did a lot of research and saw good reviews on it. They were all lies within the first 6 months my phone was having problems. You could not open the battery to stop running applications. The phone would freeze up and drop calls. Would not even send text messages. So under warranty I received a new one. Within 4 months the second one was doing the same thing. The phone was running too many applications for it to handle and the battery was spazzing out. I reset it twice the first time it worked for a day. The second time I reset the phone it lasted maybe an hour and went straight back to working like junk. Don't buy this phone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Not worth it..

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Johnnypoker
From: Wisconsin
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this phone and ever since I pulled it out of the package it has been nothing but issues. It says I don't have enough data to update twitter. I don't use Facebook on here cause it works really slow and laggy and crashes a lot.
Pros: it's a cheap starter phone
Cons: can't use more then 2-3 apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
lizstg
From: ohioville, pa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had 3 of these phones hoping the problem with the previous one was just that specific phone. Seems to be just a cheap phone. Works fine for a few months, but that's about it. Freezes up, restarts itself 5X a day, have to uninstall and reinstall apps to work properly, only get half of texts from others and only sends out half of texts. Doesn't travel well-can't use on the go/on the road (as a passenger of course). Just an all around bad phone. Hate to spend the money on a good one, but in this case it will be worth it when I do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Trash!! Its cheap but not cheap enough!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mrandroid
From: indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Save your money this is like android 101. Next step from flip phone its slow small and no reception. But its also cheap so if just need a back up phone then ok but if you are going to depend on this just save up your change.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Great Price not so great phone

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Diamondlace
From: Pottsville, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Phone is slow, shuts off randomly even with full battery, lost all contacts when phone decided to do its own factory reset. Apps shut down or fail due to slow processing. I won't be recommending this phone to anyone I know. Will be getting a different phone very soon.
Pros: price
Cons: slow, random power down, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Not very good, but good price.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rico27
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the phone a little over a month and then it started messing up. I was not able to text anymore, the features and apps started quitting on me.
Cons: apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

very good for the price!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
valenti
From: denevr,co
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
dropped this phone quite a few times and put it back together...worked like magic
Had it for more than 3 years and performed excellent for me
Very good for the price
love the touch screen
freezes sometimes
Pros: very good for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Nice for the price

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
C420
From: Hagerstown, MD
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the price no one should Complain about this phone. Works really well for not paying hundreds of dollars.
Pros: good deal
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Poor Reception

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ABJ629
From: Rock Island, IL
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The reception for this phone is horrible. When talking the caller says all kinds of sounds are heard.. Reception is not clear at all
Cons: poor reception, makes weird sounds to caller
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Awful

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cynde1m
From: Las Vegas
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Worst phone of all time: Has an error that causes the handset to freeze, apps to not run, browser to not work or slow to a crawl, reduced to tears, terrible, This is the Event phone I bought to replace a Kyocera Event phone that had the exact same problems, when you try to restart the phone to clear the cache you see this :E:cannot load volume /misc! Even doing a hard reset on the first phone, wouldn't fix it.
Pros: nothing
Cons: terrible
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...42next>