Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
1.997 / 5
2
 / 
5
(892 Reviews) 892
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (892 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
86
3 stars
76
2 stars
179
1 star
476
186 out of 84122%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Average at best

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
TeeMick13
From: Chambersburg, PA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this phone for a year and am now looking for a new phone. The biggest problem is all of the Google add-ons that cannot be deleted and for which I have had absolutely no use. They have eaten all of the available memory, rendering the phone useless even though I have deleted all photos and all apps from the phone. Most apps cannot be stored on an SD card. On the bright side, the phone was easy to use and, for almost a year, it worked fine. Given all of the Google filler, however, I cannot recommend this phone.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: google filler
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

3 Phones in 15 Months

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TruReviewer
From: USA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Thanks to a warranty I received 3 of these phones - each one breaking. Each time it was the screen not working right. And then there was the issue of the speaker not working. I could not hear my callers! The quality of the calls was poor.
I would not recommend this phone. I have chosen not to get another phone under the warranty as I am tired of replacing it.
Cons: horrible, not worth it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

WORST PHONE EVER.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mary317
From: Massachusetts
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone shouldn't even be on the market. After reading other reviews, I can see that I'm not the only person who feels this way. The phone literally does nothing you ask. If you need to make a quick emergency phone call or you're lost and you want to use maps quickly, you're out of luck. Phone calls, text messages and just regular functioning causes this useless thing to freeze and you have to restart it. The only thing it can do right is display "not responding" messages. It's slow in the rare occasion that it does work and there's so little memory on it that I can't even install updates when I need to. If you're thinking about buying this phone DON'T. I had phones that worked better in 1992.
Cons: everything., literally. everything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

worked okay for a while.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
jabu500
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have been with Virgin Mobile for quite a while. This phone worked fine for about 6 months and now it is going nuts on me. The apps sometimes automatically download . Now it is shutting off on its own and calls aren't going through or double calling the person I am calling. Now it is constantly saying the 3G's aren't working , so that means no use. May shop for another one and see if that works.
Cons: ineffecient
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

The only good thing about this phone is the battery life. Not worth your money.

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tiffanylynn
From: California
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is good for 1 month then it gives you problems constantly. It takes me 15 minutes to even get a phone call to launch. It'll freeze up after not using it for hours in between texts or calls. The phone will call people randomly or call somebody 5x in a row after you get off the phone with somebody. Can't turn Wifi off. launching any applications takes forever and most of the time it'll fail and pull up a message saying "Phone activity not working. Ok or Cancel"
Pros: good battery life
Cons: waste of money, pour quality, fails to call or text 75% of the time, mutes you in the middle of calls constanly, freezes up a lot, randomly calls people over and over, "phone activity not working" comes up all the time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Definelty worth it!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MathGirl
From: Staunton, VA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I lost this phone in the snow for three weeks. In that time span, it snowed more than 5 inches twice, melted, snowed again and then rained. I found my this phone of the hill and after 1.5 weeks in rice, it came back to life and is still working 3 months later. This phone is very durable.
Pros: durable
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ChrisS2465
From: Virginia Beach
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is an absolute piece of junk! The phone freezes, calls don't go through or you flat out can't dial them. Apps are slow. I'm thankful that i haven't had to make an emergency call with it. If you're looking for a budget phone SKIP THIS ONE and buy something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

great paperweight!!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
TielLover
From: Massachusetts
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
horrible, horrible phone!! cant find a single good thing to say, too bad as I liked the size.. Do not buy!
Now, what does it do? freezes, call cant go through as it will freeze halfway through typing the number.. randomly dials people in my contact list while I am on phone with someone else, no way to use hold feature, it automatially adds second caller to phone convo if I try to answer. recieves texts randomly, like in middle of night when text was sent morning before...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Terrible Phone

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
KittyCutie23
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've owned this phone over a year. At first it was okay, but now I can't even open up the phone without it freezing. If I had an emergency and had to call 911, it would not be happening. The keyboard comes up, and then goes down before you can type anything. Even with a huge SD card, you can't really play games, it will freeze. I dropped it one time, a few days ago, and now I can't even use it for anything. There is nothing good about this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

This product has poor battery life

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ceyonne
From: Durham,NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year and I still think it's not a great phone since i first got the phone. It has horrible battery life on phone. Even if, you have closed the apps some how the battery goes died within at least three hours. I have tried everything to save battery.
Plus, also i have problems with removing old pictures of my memory so, that i can have more memory on my phone and possibly have more battery life,
Cons: battery life, memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Terrible

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
serenitysel
From: Southern New Jersey
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had this phone for only a few months and absolutely hated it. Very hard to use and understand. I just got a new phone, and hopefully this one will be better.
I loved my flip phone, but after 4 years it finally died, so had to get a new phone. Sorry I ever wasted my money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kennddoo
asbury park,nj
 
Please wait while more information about kennddoo is loaded.
Additional information about kennddoo could not be loaded.
Posted March 26, 2015
I've had this phone for more than 2 years never had a problem..Games work fine and load fast. It fell in a glass of water and yes it was full pulled it out wiped it dry worked fine..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

You get what you pay for!

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Spareparts54
From: NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phone always freezes & shuts down on it's own. Spend a few more dollars and get a better cell.
Pros: nothing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

brand new and already froze

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
tmillet
From: milwaukee, wi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this phone is garbage!!!! its cheap for a reason. dont buy it
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Has everything you need, but only work for a little while.

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Active
From: Brooklyn, NY
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Never again, it worked well for five months, than began to slow down and freeze up on me, and I am not a heavy cellphone user, just to check my emails, and facebook, would not give gift this cellphone to anyone not even a child.
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Not good for phone calls

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bray
From: Phoenix, AZ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Bought Two Kyocera Even Sound on calls are horrible!!!! Always Garbled Can't understand each other. We have to text because we can't hear each other on Kyocera Event . I'm looking for another phone.
Cons: phone calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Good for the basics

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
lvmprxy
From: San Francisco bay area
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is great for what I need. I don't use it to play games, watch videos, or any extra thing. I use my tablet for that. It is good for phone calls, texts, reading emails, GPS, and basic stuff. It is a good phone for anyone on a budget, not expecting a lot. If you expect a lot, you will be disappointed.
Battery-I thought it was strange that I wouldn't use the phone but the few apps I have were draining the battery. The funny thing is that it is not doing that anymore. Stand by is not great, but I keep a battery charger while away for more than a day. If you can get an extra battery, it is probably a good idea to have one for backup for any phone.
Sound on calls-It happens once in a while that someone says that they can't hear me...about once every three months. Speaker phone is good. If I am riding a train to work or back, phone calls are difficult to make and receive-can't hear much with the train noise even with earphones. Texts are better. If I lose a call, it is probably once a month or less, but then I live in an area that is immersed in connectivity. Not enough to complain.
Camera-good if you don't need extra lighting and/or the subject is standing still. Moving subjects or dark areas don't work well, even with adjusting lighting or using flash. Same with video. God forbid you try to take video at a show or concert. The audio won't work at all. You just get white noise.
Storage-I have 16 GB card that I use for pictures and music and any apps I can move. Works well with most music apps, but I download my own music, so I don't worry.
Speaker-decent. You aren't going to get HD sound but it is better than some phones I have had before. Recording sound is decent except in a big arena or concert. I can listen to music on the speaker just fine in a quiet space like the office. Listening to the speakers out and walking doesn't sound as good. You aren't going to DJ a party with this phone. Earphones are my preferred way of listening to music.
None of the cons are annoying to me. Slightly disappointed with the video sound but I learn not to use the phone anymore. I am not expecting this phone to be an Iphone, Samsung, LG, etc.
The really only annoying thing to me is turning on the phone with the Virgin introduction.
If you are a heavy app user, this is not the phone for you. I like it for the basics, which has worked for me and I would recommend it for people who need very basic phones. I have had friends and family use my phone and no complaints yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Unreliable

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SugarRush
From: CT
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The negative reviews are true. Mine worked, sort of, for about a year and then quit all together. Constantly turning on and off. Annoying.
Pros: affordable
Cons: unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

don't don't don't buy

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
forgoodnesssake12345
From: Washington
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DON'T BUY! Not even if you need a cheap phone,,, will bee a complete waste.. I BOUGHT FROM WAL-MART, I NEEDED A CHEAP PHONE WHILE I WAS IN BETWEEN I-PHONES BECAUSE I CRACKED MY SCREEN,,, ANYWAY FROM DAY ONE OUT CRASHED, HAD APPLICATION ERRORS, ERRORED WHEN I MADE CALLS, DELAYS CALL ... IN MISS CALL SWITCHES SCREENS AND THE OTHER PERSON CAN'T HEAR ME.... NOTHING I MEAN NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THE PHONE.... EVEN WORTH A 32G MEMORY I ADDED... ONLY THE BATTERY IS GOOD, BUT I HAVE HAD PHONE 1 MONTH CAN'T STAND.... WAITING FOR MY I PHONE
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

This product does not have great features

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dale
From: Tulsa, OK
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were looking for a smart phone for the Virgin mobile carrier. Virgin mobile offer sthis locally. At first I was pleased and excited, but the more I used it, the more I disliked it. It resarts on it's own, and the voice quality is very poor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Horrible

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
chelseagrin101
From: Massachusetts
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone you can literally buy freezes all the time shuts off always not responding. I wouldn't even get this phone for a kid nothing but issue's. I think this phone shouldn't even be on the market at all. I have two of them and they are garbage.
Cons: everything is horrible about it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...45next>