Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.015 / 5
2
 / 
5
(858 Reviews) 858
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (858 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
84
3 stars
74
2 stars
171
1 star
454
185 out of 81123%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
471 Questions | 558 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Has everything you need, but only work for a little while.

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Active
From: Brooklyn, NY
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Never again, it worked well for five months, than began to slow down and freeze up on me, and I am not a heavy cellphone user, just to check my emails, and facebook, would not give gift this cellphone to anyone not even a child.
Cons: slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Not good for phone calls

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
bray
From: Phoenix, AZ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Bought Two Kyocera Even Sound on calls are horrible!!!! Always Garbled Can't understand each other. We have to text because we can't hear each other on Kyocera Event . I'm looking for another phone.
Cons: phone calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Good for the basics

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
lvmprxy
From: San Francisco bay area
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone is great for what I need. I don't use it to play games, watch videos, or any extra thing. I use my tablet for that. It is good for phone calls, texts, reading emails, GPS, and basic stuff. It is a good phone for anyone on a budget, not expecting a lot. If you expect a lot, you will be disappointed.
Battery-I thought it was strange that I wouldn't use the phone but the few apps I have were draining the battery. The funny thing is that it is not doing that anymore. Stand by is not great, but I keep a battery charger while away for more than a day. If you can get an extra battery, it is probably a good idea to have one for backup for any phone.
Sound on calls-It happens once in a while that someone says that they can't hear me...about once every three months. Speaker phone is good. If I am riding a train to work or back, phone calls are difficult to make and receive-can't hear much with the train noise even with earphones. Texts are better. If I lose a call, it is probably once a month or less, but then I live in an area that is immersed in connectivity. Not enough to complain.
Camera-good if you don't need extra lighting and/or the subject is standing still. Moving subjects or dark areas don't work well, even with adjusting lighting or using flash. Same with video. God forbid you try to take video at a show or concert. The audio won't work at all. You just get white noise.
Storage-I have 16 GB card that I use for pictures and music and any apps I can move. Works well with most music apps, but I download my own music, so I don't worry.
Speaker-decent. You aren't going to get HD sound but it is better than some phones I have had before. Recording sound is decent except in a big arena or concert. I can listen to music on the speaker just fine in a quiet space like the office. Listening to the speakers out and walking doesn't sound as good. You aren't going to DJ a party with this phone. Earphones are my preferred way of listening to music.
None of the cons are annoying to me. Slightly disappointed with the video sound but I learn not to use the phone anymore. I am not expecting this phone to be an Iphone, Samsung, LG, etc.
The really only annoying thing to me is turning on the phone with the Virgin introduction.
If you are a heavy app user, this is not the phone for you. I like it for the basics, which has worked for me and I would recommend it for people who need very basic phones. I have had friends and family use my phone and no complaints yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Unreliable

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SugarRush
From: CT
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The negative reviews are true. Mine worked, sort of, for about a year and then quit all together. Constantly turning on and off. Annoying.
Pros: affordable
Cons: unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

don't don't don't buy

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
forgoodnesssake12345
From: Washington
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DON'T BUY! Not even if you need a cheap phone,,, will bee a complete waste.. I BOUGHT FROM WAL-MART, I NEEDED A CHEAP PHONE WHILE I WAS IN BETWEEN I-PHONES BECAUSE I CRACKED MY SCREEN,,, ANYWAY FROM DAY ONE OUT CRASHED, HAD APPLICATION ERRORS, ERRORED WHEN I MADE CALLS, DELAYS CALL ... IN MISS CALL SWITCHES SCREENS AND THE OTHER PERSON CAN'T HEAR ME.... NOTHING I MEAN NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THE PHONE.... EVEN WORTH A 32G MEMORY I ADDED... ONLY THE BATTERY IS GOOD, BUT I HAVE HAD PHONE 1 MONTH CAN'T STAND.... WAITING FOR MY I PHONE
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

This product does not have great features

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dale
From: Tulsa, OK
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were looking for a smart phone for the Virgin mobile carrier. Virgin mobile offer sthis locally. At first I was pleased and excited, but the more I used it, the more I disliked it. It resarts on it's own, and the voice quality is very poor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Horrible

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
chelseagrin101
From: Massachusetts
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone you can literally buy freezes all the time shuts off always not responding. I wouldn't even get this phone for a kid nothing but issue's. I think this phone shouldn't even be on the market at all. I have two of them and they are garbage.
Cons: everything is horrible about it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Not top of the line, but it works.

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Katey115
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First smart phone. Works ok, some glitches like freezing or closing some apps. It works fine to just get by. I have had it for a year and a half, but after dropping it so many times I have broken my lock button. Until now have been fine with texting and everything, just the freezing at times.
Cons: apps freeze
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

terrible

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
harm247
From: phx, az
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the worst phone I've ever had. its so slow. it freezes and shuts down constantly. spend more money on a better phone. this one is horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rodana
From: Warsaw, Indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's was a Good deal for the price. It's useless for anything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

worst phone I've owned

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
bookat
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received the phone as a Christmas present from my parents. At the time my mother did a lot of research and saw good reviews on it. They were all lies within the first 6 months my phone was having problems. You could not open the battery to stop running applications. The phone would freeze up and drop calls. Would not even send text messages. So under warranty I received a new one. Within 4 months the second one was doing the same thing. The phone was running too many applications for it to handle and the battery was spazzing out. I reset it twice the first time it worked for a day. The second time I reset the phone it lasted maybe an hour and went straight back to working like junk. Don't buy this phone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Not worth it..

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Johnnypoker
From: Wisconsin
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this phone and ever since I pulled it out of the package it has been nothing but issues. It says I don't have enough data to update twitter. I don't use Facebook on here cause it works really slow and laggy and crashes a lot.
Pros: it's a cheap starter phone
Cons: can't use more then 2-3 apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
lizstg
From: ohioville, pa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have had 3 of these phones hoping the problem with the previous one was just that specific phone. Seems to be just a cheap phone. Works fine for a few months, but that's about it. Freezes up, restarts itself 5X a day, have to uninstall and reinstall apps to work properly, only get half of texts from others and only sends out half of texts. Doesn't travel well-can't use on the go/on the road (as a passenger of course). Just an all around bad phone. Hate to spend the money on a good one, but in this case it will be worth it when I do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Great Price not so great phone

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Diamondlace
From: Pottsville, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Phone is slow, shuts off randomly even with full battery, lost all contacts when phone decided to do its own factory reset. Apps shut down or fail due to slow processing. I won't be recommending this phone to anyone I know. Will be getting a different phone very soon.
Pros: price
Cons: slow, random power down, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Not very good, but good price.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rico27
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the phone a little over a month and then it started messing up. I was not able to text anymore, the features and apps started quitting on me.
Cons: apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

very good for the price!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
valenti
From: denevr,co
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
dropped this phone quite a few times and put it back together...worked like magic
Had it for more than 3 years and performed excellent for me
Very good for the price
love the touch screen
freezes sometimes
Pros: very good for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Nice for the price

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
C420
From: Hagerstown, MD
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the price no one should Complain about this phone. Works really well for not paying hundreds of dollars.
Pros: good deal
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Poor Reception

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ABJ629
From: Rock Island, IL
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The reception for this phone is horrible. When talking the caller says all kinds of sounds are heard.. Reception is not clear at all
Cons: poor reception, makes weird sounds to caller
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Great starter smart phone.

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
chrisNY
From: Wallkill, NY
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This being my first smart phone, it was pretty easy to use. Just has a short battery life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

waist of money

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
JJBrown12332145
From: Twinsburg ,OH
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone for my birthday in march and in the summer time it started being slow and freezing up and now i cant recieve pictures or it wont send msgs and its hard to pick up the phone bc it crashes. But now december 7th it started freezing, i turn it off wait for a while then tried to turn it back on, nothing worked ive tried for 6hrs nothing happened now i lost all my precious pictures which was memories.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345...43next>