Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.081 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(757 Reviews) 757
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (757 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
79
3 stars
68
2 stars
157
1 star
381
174 out of 71624%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
422 Questions | 509 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Really Shouldn't Have...

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
unEVENTful
From: Dallas, Texas
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about 14 months and it was just ok when it was brand new. Granted, it's been dropped numerous times and thrown once (don't judge me lol), but even before all of that , the phone would freeze, overheat, and shut itself off. Battery life? What battery life?? If I dial a number and press talk, it has to process for about 90 seconds before it begins to dial. Very frustrating! VM should really take this phone off the market and try again. Use a friends's phone, buy a pigeon...whatever you do, don't buy this phone. Thanks!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT!!! BUY THIS PHONE!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gameboy
From: Augusta, Ga
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has been a nightmare! You wouldbe better off using two paper cups and a string. Seriously. It constantly freezes. Shuts off. Apps won't work. Freezes some more. This is the 3rd phone virgin mobile had to send me because of all the problems. Again, for your own sanity- DON'TBUY THIS PHONE. (It's even giving me a hard time trying to write this review!!!)
Pros: not much
Cons: freezes cuts off no front camera freezes some m
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

The worst phone and battery sold by Virgin Mobile

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
John1947
From: Long Beach CA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The only thing positive I can say about this phone is that it was cheap, in price. I guess it was also cheap for Kyocera to make. The battery which states it lasts for over 6 hours of talking, last for much much less. Just overnight with no calls, just one email, and the battery level is down to 67% of normal. Don't waste your money on this phone. It is not worth the cheap price if you have to keep it on the charger for hours every day in order to do simple things with it.
Cons: terrible battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone I've had.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tymbyr1wulf
From: Hot Springs, AR
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Kyocera Event is definitely a low end phone that could be kept in a drawer for a back up phone. Constantly drops data, disconnection from the sd card is constant. This phone is absolute garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Not what I expected.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Punkerelli
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound quality for phone is awful. I was surprised on my very first phone call.
Phone didn't last maybe 9 months, compared to 8 years (4 years each) on my last two Kyocera flip phones. Kyocera used to make a great phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Slow and erratic

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mben
From: Greensboro
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As time went on, the phone started freezing more and more, not dialing when I pressed the dial button until like the 10th attempt, closing me out of messages while I was trying to type a text, etc. The battery life is not great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Won't charge

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunshine76
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone a year ago for my kids for emergencies only. I kept it and charged it myself. But with that said, It runs all apps all the time causing the phone to freeze or shut down . Now it won't even charge. So I have a phone that is a paperweight. Not a good buy even for the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Junk. Do not purchase this phone

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Skeech
From: Va
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Event has been nothing but trouble. It constantly freezes, requiring removal of the battery. I so miss my LG Optimus V. Other than screen scratches, I had no trouble with it for two and a half years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Screws fall out

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvcatsPhx
From: Phoenix, Az
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Kyocera for about a year. It is slow and has to be rebooted. The biggest problem now is the screws holding the phone together are falling out! These screws hold the front (screen) to the back (keyboard). When the screws fall out, your phone is in two parts. I have lost 3 out of 6 screws.They are the size of eye glass screws so finding the right screw driver easy is hard. I am currently looking for a new Virgin phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Horrible!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NovaVesperia
From: Harrisburg, PA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ended up with 2 of these phones within a year's time. The first one stopped working, wouldn't boot up, so they sent me a replacement which ended up doing the same thing within a few month's time. Don't waste your money on this junk! I'm now using my boyfriend's Kyocera Rise, which has lasted him for years, and is now working well for me. The Rise is a much better phone, well worth the little bit of extra money. I wish I would have gotten the Rise instead of the Event in the first place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

do not buy !! not worth not even a week it went bananas on and off for no reason

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
cookie69
From: san francisco
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this phone should be discontinue. Horrible it will turn on and off on its own. Stay clear of this phone. Just save your money and get a reliable phone.
Pros: looks kool and easy until start acting out in the
Cons: nothing avoid
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Biggest waste of money ever.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
JFizzle
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is literally the worst purchase I have ever made, and that includes my ex-wife's engagement ring. If you buy this phone, every problem you've read about in the rest of these reviews will become your problems, too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Freezes up

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Skijor
From: Idaho
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Event phone freezes up often when using wifi or data. Fortunately I use it mostly for calling and txting. If you want a phone for using internet I'd shop around for something better.
Cons: freezes, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Don't do it!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Carolinagirl310
From: New Bern, NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone looks great at first glance but has been worthless since I took it out of the packaging. Sound and vibrate works only when it feels like it. Swipe keyboard only works so long before you have to reset the phone. Signal is horrible where other virgin mobile phones have never had the least bit of trouble. Call sound quality is muffled and sometimes totally inaudible. Apps are so slow it's just easier to go find a computer somewhere. I will never buy another Kyocera phone again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Freezes and resets

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nicole88
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When I first got this phone i thought that it was a pretty cool phone. However I quickly noticed that it began to restart itself and freeze. It did not do it often so I figured it was like most phones and just had a few bugs. I had this a little over a year and of course as soon as my warranty expired the phone started to give me more problems. Today it randomly restarted itself and shut itself off back to back. It has been almost 3 hours and it is still doing it. I contacted tech support, we did a reset and the issue still persists.
I did not plan to get a new phone just yet because I was planning to leave Virgin Mobile soon. However, I will have to buy a new one this week. I of course will be doing my research and I wish I had time to research before I bought this phone, It was a last minute thing and an emergency. I would not recommend this phone at all. It turns out this is a known issue and customer support cannot provide me with any other ways to fix this. It is definitely a disappointment.
Pros: cute cheap version of a smart phone
Cons: freeze, restarts, feels like plastic, apps crash, delay between calls and messages, call quality is poor, static or muffled sound on both ends
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Decent phone for value

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
1tal1an
From: Union City, NJ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you use your phone for playing a lot of space gulping games with great graphics this is NOT the phone for you. If you mostly use your phone for making calls with some internet use then this is a very doable phone. The phrase, you get what you pay for, rings true with this smartphone. I still find it's a great phone for it's price. No doubt about that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

This product is very slow @3G!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LaVeine
From: Wilmington, DE
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Prime issue with this phone is you cannot be in a hurry to use any function because it will freeze-up and do not work. When Wii is not available your are purely out of luck. Its capacity to update even with a SD Card installed is prohibited if you have too many Apps installed.
Pros: nothing
Cons: very very slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Good for the first year

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
aqua212rius
From: NE Ohio
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone a little over a year now, at first everything worked great but now starting to have issues - mainly the poor battery - got to the point where I was charging twice a day with out even using it for the 8 hrs I am at work. Recently it will restart itself. Another downfall is turning the phone on takes too long - if there was an emergency and you needed to make a phone call - you'd be screwed. Occasionally it would freeze up and I would have to remove battery and now that happens more often than I would like. Currently looking for a new phone. PS - a replacement battery would cost as much as the phone did.
Pros: pictures/video, durable, turn by turn navigation
Cons: battery battery battery, unable to remove apps you don't use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Do not buy this phone!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SickofcheapPhones
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is one of the worst phones that I have ever had with Virgin Mobile! I am on the second one now the first one did not last a year and the only reason that I have another one is that it is the only choice that I had with the replacement insurance that I purchased that I could get without paying more. In addition I made an assumption that the first phone was defective and may not represent the model. I was wrong the new phone has had the same issues. It locks up and cuts off constantly. I am unable to delete any photos or contacts and it has been very undependable at times in that I have at random been unable to make calls or even answer calls. Because it is so terrible I have not only decided not to buy another phone from Virgin Mobile but to also discountinue my service with Virgin Mobile. I have been a Virgin mobile customer for at least 5 years but this is the last straw for me in dealing with the cheap quality of phones that they have available; I'm no longer willing to continually replace substandard phones with new substandard phones. This phone is a definate no go!
Cons: buyer beware!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Bad

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sandalius
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible phone. Restarts when the memory fills up and freezes which happens very frequently. Horrible speed and extremely frustrating to use. You may think, "Oh, there's a cheap 'smart' phone." but no, don't get this. Get a flip phone instead these are abysmal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...38next>