Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.061 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(782 Reviews) 782
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (782 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
79
3 stars
70
2 stars
161
1 star
399
176 out of 73824%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
447 Questions | 532 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

this phone is the worst phone ever!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LAYLAY1274
From: sioux falls sd
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
when i got this phone i thought it would be a great first phone. well when i got it it was very fast and very goood but then i started having problems with it like people wouldnt be able to hear me when i would talk on the phone. well then i fixed that problem but had wayyyy more . no its starting to turn off on me when im trying to text or do something. the music turns on my itself at the wrong times. it over heats. when i charge it i can take it off the charger nd be fully charge but then around 10ish im at 25%. this needs to be fixed ASAP
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

medicore phone. cheap android. cant complain

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
brianthefisherman
From: ri
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok phone. Worth forty bucks. Tends to get very slow at times. Easy to talk and text. You get what you pay for
Pros: battery life
Cons: speed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

the basics

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kedakeda
From: md
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD FOR THE basics BUT NOT GOOD FOR speaking ON PHONE. CAN BARELY HEAR AND THEY CAN BARELY HEAR ME. PHONE MUTES ITSELF A LOT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Replacmentphone. Dont waste your money.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mwhittt
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Freezes constantly. Theres not even enough room for apps i want and my pictures. Shuts off on its own, doesn't anwser calls most of the time. Don't waste your money. Soo happy to be getting the LG Volt this week.
Cons: battery life, everything, freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

AWFUL

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BossMOM
From: Las Vegas
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Never thought I would say; I want my water damaged, cracked screen, random shut down and turn back on "AWE" back but this phone gives me plenty of reasons to do JUST THAT. This less than stellar device is super slow at web searches, apps quit randomly (and I have less than 3 add-ons from the standard come as you are because it can't even support a simple download from playstore without bombing out a few times). I have had for 1wk and this tuuurd is going back ASAP. I have 2 little ones and didn't want to invest in a phone that they might destroy but I am hoping they do this one in. DO NOT PURCHASE!!!
Cons: slow, freezes up, aborts apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Junk

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pinkdraaagonfly
From: Bay Area, Ca
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is by far the worst phone I've owned, including my flip phones. It can't handle much. At the end of it's short life, it'll black out, reboot itself, and programs will also be in 'not responding' mode quite often.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Literally worst phone i've ever had

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
clj515
From: urbandale, ia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the cheapest phone i've ever owned i would rather own a flip phone, it freezes all the time and is constantly closing my programs, just today my friend called and i had to sit here and watch it ring because the screen was frozen and i couldn't answer it, i tried to call back and guess what my contacts was not responding and closed itself i would not recommend this phone to anyone.. it is the biggest piece of junk ever
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Worst product ever, literally switched phones and smashed

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CodyMyers95
From: Kingsley, Mi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone did nothing but crash, make me mad, drop calls, and make anything, even calling someone, a minimum of a twenty minute process. Hands down the biggest waste of money, EVER!!! Do yourself a favor and NEVER buy this thing for yourself, or anyone you love! Maybe your worst enemy though... It just may make their head explode out of frustration!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

what i expected

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
srw1
From: MA.
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
wanted to update my review now that i have had this phone almost a year. i had read all the reviews about the phone shutting off and bad battery life, but i had to watch my money so i bought this phone. right away the phone shut off and i had to remove the battery, a year later it is still like clockwork once a month or so i have to remove the battery to restart. other than this the phone still works pretty good, i dont have a million apps, all i use it for is calls,texts, camera and looking up things online. i do have to charge it each night but the battery lasts me all day, even listening to some pandora at work, if you realize your not getting a high end phone and dont need tons of apps, then this phone should work for you, but realize it is a very basic phone, you wont be happy if you expect a ton of stuff from this phone. hope this helps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phone I Ever Bought!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SwoleMan
From: Indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone does weird stuff when I am trying to talk to someone. I have to put it on speaker just to avoid the craziness. Plus, it acts like it can't handle doing 2 things at once. It freezes a lot! I don't trust any Kyocera phone anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

WORST PHONE I HAVE EVER OWNED!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
reddh1
From: Greenville, NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone was by far the worst I have ever had. All 4 of them. Every single one kept malfunctioning. The apps would constantly freeze, it would always power itself off and on by itself and it would just stop working often! Very unreliable, it is junk and they should stop making them! Please don't waste your money! I had to give it a star rating, if it were my choice, it would get NO STARS!
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Really Shouldn't Have...

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
unEVENTful
From: Dallas, Texas
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about 14 months and it was just ok when it was brand new. Granted, it's been dropped numerous times and thrown once (don't judge me lol), but even before all of that , the phone would freeze, overheat, and shut itself off. Battery life? What battery life?? If I dial a number and press talk, it has to process for about 90 seconds before it begins to dial. Very frustrating! VM should really take this phone off the market and try again. Use a friends's phone, buy a pigeon...whatever you do, don't buy this phone. Thanks!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT!!! BUY THIS PHONE!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gameboy
From: Augusta, Ga
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has been a nightmare! You wouldbe better off using two paper cups and a string. Seriously. It constantly freezes. Shuts off. Apps won't work. Freezes some more. This is the 3rd phone virgin mobile had to send me because of all the problems. Again, for your own sanity- DON'TBUY THIS PHONE. (It's even giving me a hard time trying to write this review!!!)
Pros: not much
Cons: freezes cuts off no front camera freezes some m
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

The worst phone and battery sold by Virgin Mobile

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
John1947
From: Long Beach CA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The only thing positive I can say about this phone is that it was cheap, in price. I guess it was also cheap for Kyocera to make. The battery which states it lasts for over 6 hours of talking, last for much much less. Just overnight with no calls, just one email, and the battery level is down to 67% of normal. Don't waste your money on this phone. It is not worth the cheap price if you have to keep it on the charger for hours every day in order to do simple things with it.
Cons: terrible battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

Worst phone I've had.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tymbyr1wulf
From: Hot Springs, AR
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Kyocera Event is definitely a low end phone that could be kept in a drawer for a back up phone. Constantly drops data, disconnection from the sd card is constant. This phone is absolute garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

Not what I expected.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Punkerelli
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound quality for phone is awful. I was surprised on my very first phone call.
Phone didn't last maybe 9 months, compared to 8 years (4 years each) on my last two Kyocera flip phones. Kyocera used to make a great phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Slow and erratic

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mben
From: Greensboro
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As time went on, the phone started freezing more and more, not dialing when I pressed the dial button until like the 10th attempt, closing me out of messages while I was trying to type a text, etc. The battery life is not great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Won't charge

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunshine76
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone a year ago for my kids for emergencies only. I kept it and charged it myself. But with that said, It runs all apps all the time causing the phone to freeze or shut down . Now it won't even charge. So I have a phone that is a paperweight. Not a good buy even for the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Junk. Do not purchase this phone

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Skeech
From: Va
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Event has been nothing but trouble. It constantly freezes, requiring removal of the battery. I so miss my LG Optimus V. Other than screen scratches, I had no trouble with it for two and a half years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Screws fall out

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
LuvcatsPhx
From: Phoenix, Az
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Kyocera for about a year. It is slow and has to be rebooted. The biggest problem now is the screws holding the phone together are falling out! These screws hold the front (screen) to the back (keyboard). When the screws fall out, your phone is in two parts. I have lost 3 out of 6 screws.They are the size of eye glass screws so finding the right screw driver easy is hard. I am currently looking for a new Virgin phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12345...40next>