Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.066 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(779 Reviews) 779
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (779 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
79
3 stars
70
2 stars
161
1 star
396
176 out of 73524%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
440 Questions | 528 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Great starter/temporary phone

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
lonelymiracle
From: Burbank, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I don't understand all the negative reviews for it, this phone served me well. I wanted a temporary phone that I can call, text and browse online with and I was surprised that it's so much more. I downloaded many social apps and games and it ran well. I ended up keeping it for 6 months until it was stolen. I got a pretty case and a cute dust pluggy charm for it so it probably looked more valuable than it is.
Yes, it does run slow sometimes but don't expect to have a powerful phone for this price. I was honestly expecting less so I was pleasantly surprised. The Android OS is very easy to use and get used to. I think this is a great starter phone for your kids or a first time Android user!
Pros: easy to use
Cons: runs slow sometimes
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

medicore phone. cheap android. cant complain

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
brianthefisherman
From: ri
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok phone. Worth forty bucks. Tends to get very slow at times. Easy to talk and text. You get what you pay for
Pros: battery life
Cons: speed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

the basics

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kedakeda
From: md
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD FOR THE basics BUT NOT GOOD FOR speaking ON PHONE. CAN BARELY HEAR AND THEY CAN BARELY HEAR ME. PHONE MUTES ITSELF A LOT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Do NOT buy!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
gardengirl
From: Fort Worth, TX
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Horrible phone! I told VM customer service reps it was POSSESSED! It does weird things at the most inopportune times. When I can afford a better phone I will SMASH this "Event" into smithereens!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

dont do it to yourself

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
zeus
From: ct
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i had this phone for 2 months and i wanted 2 break it every day after the 1st day. get another phone avoid this SERIOUSLY this phone should be banned
Pros: nothing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
NixeL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nothing works on this phone. Even trying to answer an incoming phone call is a challenge. The phone freezes up way too much.The apps that you get with the phone are useless. I found that I was downloading what I needed. Then once i had the apps I wanted they all would not respond making it impossible to even use them. the wifi on the phone is really bad. Dropped calls as well due to the phone randomly shutting down with a fully charged battery. If could gave it zero stars or negative stars I would had.
Pros: tag if you agree
Cons: tag if you disagree
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Replacmentphone. Dont waste your money.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mwhittt
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Freezes constantly. Theres not even enough room for apps i want and my pictures. Shuts off on its own, doesn't anwser calls most of the time. Don't waste your money. Soo happy to be getting the LG Volt this week.
Cons: battery life, everything, freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

Phone is bricked after factory reset

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
madmonk210
From: Bremerton, WA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a fsctory reset because the phone was lagging. Somehow the firmware was deleted after resetting the phone and now cannot find the firmware online. Only had it for 3 months. I tossed it in the garbage and bought a Galaxy S3 instead.
Pros: nothing special
Cons: too slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Dont Wast your Money

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
RoseyDueces
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is not worth the money i spent i havent had it a month and its really messed up. Something bout System Recovery and ive tried everything. I cant be without a phone and now i am Worst Phone EVER!!!
Cons: everything
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

Poor phone

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
coree101
From: Cedar Springs, Mi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the most horrible phone I ever owned, it freezes all the time, all the apps always crash especially Facebook and Twitter, if it's a fully battery when you go to bed it's l dead when you wake up, so slow, texting works 3/4 of the time texting on Google search bar takes forever, I got this phone in July two weeks late it stopped working, I called they sent me a new one, Saturday morning it froze took the battery out put it back in starts up normal but half way through where the world android lights up its stops and restarts itself
Pros: it's light weight
Cons: freezes, crashes apps all the, google search bar texting works half of the time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

AWFUL

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BossMOM
From: Las Vegas
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Never thought I would say; I want my water damaged, cracked screen, random shut down and turn back on "AWE" back but this phone gives me plenty of reasons to do JUST THAT. This less than stellar device is super slow at web searches, apps quit randomly (and I have less than 3 add-ons from the standard come as you are because it can't even support a simple download from playstore without bombing out a few times). I have had for 1wk and this tuuurd is going back ASAP. I have 2 little ones and didn't want to invest in a phone that they might destroy but I am hoping they do this one in. DO NOT PURCHASE!!!
Cons: slow, freezes up, aborts apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Junk

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pinkdraaagonfly
From: Bay Area, Ca
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is by far the worst phone I've owned, including my flip phones. It can't handle much. At the end of it's short life, it'll black out, reboot itself, and programs will also be in 'not responding' mode quite often.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Literally worst phone i've ever had

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
clj515
From: urbandale, ia
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the cheapest phone i've ever owned i would rather own a flip phone, it freezes all the time and is constantly closing my programs, just today my friend called and i had to sit here and watch it ring because the screen was frozen and i couldn't answer it, i tried to call back and guess what my contacts was not responding and closed itself i would not recommend this phone to anyone.. it is the biggest piece of junk ever
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

Worst product ever, literally switched phones and smashed

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
CodyMyers95
From: Kingsley, Mi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone did nothing but crash, make me mad, drop calls, and make anything, even calling someone, a minimum of a twenty minute process. Hands down the biggest waste of money, EVER!!! Do yourself a favor and NEVER buy this thing for yourself, or anyone you love! Maybe your worst enemy though... It just may make their head explode out of frustration!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

freezes

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HateKyroceraEvent
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whenever I use my phone it freezes and tells me that apps I've never used aren't working there's nothing good about this phone I've had it 3 weeks and broke already
Pros: long lasting battery
Cons: freezes, nothing works correctly, takes bad pictures, music volume too quiet, very very slow, fragile, low memory, preloaded apps don't work when you need them, google play music doesn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

what i expected

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
srw1
From: MA.
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
wanted to update my review now that i have had this phone almost a year. i had read all the reviews about the phone shutting off and bad battery life, but i had to watch my money so i bought this phone. right away the phone shut off and i had to remove the battery, a year later it is still like clockwork once a month or so i have to remove the battery to restart. other than this the phone still works pretty good, i dont have a million apps, all i use it for is calls,texts, camera and looking up things online. i do have to charge it each night but the battery lasts me all day, even listening to some pandora at work, if you realize your not getting a high end phone and dont need tons of apps, then this phone should work for you, but realize it is a very basic phone, you wont be happy if you expect a ton of stuff from this phone. hope this helps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Mostly good for an intro for android phones...

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
jubileeuniverse
From: Stafford, VA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this phone over half a year ago and now I just got my 3rd replacement of it. Each phone had some problems freezing, some apps not responding, calls not going through, and calls getting cut off. In the first replacement's case it cut off and would not turn on anymore, so that prompted for the second replacement. In all, you really can't expect no problems to happen because of the price. It's an ok phone as far as a first time intro to androids, but not for a long term one.
Whether I have to get more replacements or not, I'll be hanging with this phone type until Christmas where I can get a different one all together.
Pros: cheap, good first android for someone
Cons: battery life, freezes, apps not responding, calls not going through, calls ending
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

awful battery life

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
VMuser254
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had my Event for just under 60 days, and my battery will not last more than 2 hours after being fully charged. I am not using it to stream music or videos, this is just in average getting texts and e-mails (about 50 in a 2 hour period). I would not buy this phone again, and I am going to switch back to my HTC that I thought was a lesson in patience, but have since learned that it is a great phone compared to the Event
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Worst Phone I Ever Bought!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SwoleMan
From: Indiana
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This phone does weird stuff when I am trying to talk to someone. I have to put it on speaker just to avoid the craziness. Plus, it acts like it can't handle doing 2 things at once. It freezes a lot! I don't trust any Kyocera phone anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Don't buy it!!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
HiHo123
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone was in pretty good shape when I first bought it. But after about a month it started to crash constantly when I use my wifi. Now I can't even turn it on. It is a horrible product. Don't be fooled by the price, it's JUNK!!!
Pros: it's a smartphone, it's cheap
Cons: it dies within a month
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Edd7735
Bronx, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Edd7735 is loaded.
Additional information about Edd7735 could not be loaded.
Phone is only useful for paper weight!
Posted September 25, 2014
I've had this phone for a little over four months had to have it changed now five times, phone goes to sleep and does not wake up. Apps freeze, calls drop a multitude of problems will never get this phone again!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
12345...39next>