Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.053 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(796 Reviews) 796
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (796 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
80
3 stars
71
2 stars
164
1 star
408
178 out of 75224%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
457 Questions | 542 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Do not waste your money

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scoo
From: Orlando, FL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ive had t.his phone for 4 months...it has many problems. Battery life is very poor. Phone turns off and on by its self. Apps on phone routinely don't work. Phone will dial and hang up on its own. DO NOT BUY!!!!
Pros: dont buy
Cons: dont buy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Bad Phone

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pixi
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is a nightmare.
I was kinda broke when I bought it and the price looked right, but I should have signed up for a land line instead.
This phoine picks and chooses when it wants to recieve calls or texts. After a month of putting up with it's mood swings, it decided to not load at all. I couldn't check messages because 'messenger was not responding." Go to make a call: "Contacts is not responding." I spent the next month without a phone at all doing all of my talking-to-people via Email on a desktop while saving up enough for something that would work. Do not buy one no matter how broke you are. This phone is a complete and utter waste of money.
Pros: nothing
Cons: it isn't even a phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

Trash

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
DailyBread
From: Little Rock
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is terrible. Once you've had it for a month or so it'll start getting very slow and apps will crash alot. Sometimes it gets so bad that you have to hard reset or take the battery out and put it back in. Bad battery life. Freezes so much it'll make you want to throw it against the wall.
Pros: cheap light
Cons: apps crash phone freezes bad battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Not worth a penny

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mommy071414
From: Richlands, NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From the day I got this phone, I have had nothing but problems. Anything you can think of went wrong with this phone. It would take ten minutes just to make an outgoing phone call, Then you couldn't get the phone to hang up. It would turn off whenever it wanted and turn back on. My stupid self thought well maybe I just got a lemon, so I bought another one from walmart brand new. With an hour of activating the phone I had the same problems... You are wasting your time and money purchasing this phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

So far so good

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Buckwheat
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Friendly help desk, esy to set up account, has many features and a good value
Pros: easy to use
Cons: some coverage areas
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AiresComet
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about AiresComet is loaded.
Additional information about AiresComet could not be loaded.
Kyocera Event Phone
Posted November 19, 2014
This is my 3rd replacement. I have had the same issues. The phone shutting off and turning on by itself. Shutting the phone off, pulling the battery, wait 30 seconds, pop the battery back in, turn it on, then let it reboot. Calls to the same person dialed twice with no way to end either call except shut the phone off. Browser app suddenly stops and the phone immediately goes back to the main screen. Facebook is a nightmare. It's forever not responding, and will close out and the main screen will be back. Waiting FOREVER for a browser search. I can literally heat up a mug of coffee, come back, and the browser search is complete. That's a full minute. Dropped calls, while sitting at my kitchen table! Trying to open links and it fails. BAM! Right back to the main screen. There are some non-app features I like, but I sure am glad I have a memory card installed, and downloaded gcloud for daily back up. I want an upgraded phone without paying for it!! I mean, come on. This is the 3rd phone!! Virgin Mobile are you listening??!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mom222
From: gainesville, Ok
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone is the slowest phone I ever had, I would try to go download an app and it would not download.Everytime I try to go into a app it would always force close. I would always go try to play music and it would not let me until i actually go into the app and play it manually,do not waste your money on this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

worst phone

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sohologo
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please save your money the worst phone ever. Only had two weeks and already getting rid of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kiarah
From: Pensacola Fl,
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is very stupid , the only thing about it thats good is the price. This phone crashes alot, you cant delete any pictures or albums because they will come back and it will be eight more of the picture . I have had ten replacement phones of this kind , im actually thinking about leaving this company because of my horrific experience with this phone . This phone also freezes alot and the games will run slow as Christmas .
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

Worst VM phone I ever owned. Poor performance with low battery life.

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
4real050
From: Long Island, NY
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone was cheap and I got exactly what I paid for. Big mistake I won't make again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

waste of money

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
frustratedcaller
From: Ann Arbor, MI
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have two of these phones and they are both terrible. The sound quality is poor, I can't understand people when they talk. My phone always goes to another screen during a conversation and then it's like I am on mute, but I am not, so people don't hear me and I have to hit the back button so they can hear me again. Very frustrating. The battery dies before the end of the day and I give it a full charge every night with very little use during the day. The other day it completely froze so I couldn't make any calls.
Cons: terrible awful no good
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Constantly froze up finally went into a start up loop

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunnie
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is by far the worst phone I've ever owned. It constantly froze up pretty much from day one. It finally died completely last week when it went into a start up loop. The moment it gets to the Virgin Mobile screen it turns itself off and restarts. I did a hard reset and it didn't fix it. Garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

A Paper weight, waiting to happen.

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Itsutsu
From: Texas
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros: This phone was a gift so I paid nothing for it.
Little to no applications that could NOT be deleted.
I can upgrade to a better phone on this site with free delivery.
Cons:
Minimal space
Sub par camera
Constant crashing of applications
Frequent pocket calls
Inaccurate touch screen
Weak processor
SMALL battery life.
Wasteful start-up screen.
Its currently a brick that does nothing.
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

Not Horrible

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bobby7977
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this phone about 2 months ago for my kid. He says it isn't bad but is NOT good. He says it freezes and sometimes just randomly shuts down and restarts. He wants a new phone for his birthday and i say i will get him one because he has been good. It was not a bad beginning phone though.
Pros: easy to use, good beginning phone
Cons: bad camera, not a lot of storage, freeze randomly, restarts itself
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

TERRIBLE PHONE DO NOT BUY

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rabbytdadon
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
terrible phone don't buy I had to tell the VM REP I was gonna leave the service nd company nd tht was after three replacement devices of this phone to finally get the Samsung galaxy victory
please do not buy
IT IS GARBAGE DONT WASTE YOUR TIME
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

worst phone ever

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
kaijublue
From: NM
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I hate this phone so much. I've had two different ones (I had to trade in the first one because it became so unusable) and I'm facing similar problems with the second one, as well. The screen stops working in the middle of calls so if I want to end a call, I have to open the back and remove the battery. There are a lot of apps that just don't work. With the old one, apps would remain open for a few seconds before crashing. Portable wifi hotspot has never worked.
I originally thought that it was just the first phone, but I realized when I received the replacement that this model is terrible. Please save yourself the trouble and invest in a better smartphone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE PHONE !

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
x0x1234
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is horrible. When I try to make a call it takes FOREVER to finally make the call, than it calls the same person on 3 way. I try to get on apps and it constantly closes on me it, It literately takes me 30 trys to finally get on any app. And forget about trying to write a text, when I'm typing nothing types, I have to go back to the home screen and wait a few minutes than try and go back. I've reset this phone more times than I should have to. I've only had this phone for about 4 months. It's just a horrible phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

this phone is the worst phone ever!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LAYLAY1274
From: sioux falls sd
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
when i got this phone i thought it would be a great first phone. well when i got it it was very fast and very goood but then i started having problems with it like people wouldnt be able to hear me when i would talk on the phone. well then i fixed that problem but had wayyyy more . no its starting to turn off on me when im trying to text or do something. the music turns on my itself at the wrong times. it over heats. when i charge it i can take it off the charger nd be fully charge but then around 10ish im at 25%. this needs to be fixed ASAP
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Great starter/temporary phone

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
lonelymiracle
From: Burbank, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I don't understand all the negative reviews for it, this phone served me well. I wanted a temporary phone that I can call, text and browse online with and I was surprised that it's so much more. I downloaded many social apps and games and it ran well. I ended up keeping it for 6 months until it was stolen. I got a pretty case and a cute dust pluggy charm for it so it probably looked more valuable than it is.
Yes, it does run slow sometimes but don't expect to have a powerful phone for this price. I was honestly expecting less so I was pleasantly surprised. The Android OS is very easy to use and get used to. I think this is a great starter phone for your kids or a first time Android user!
Pros: easy to use
Cons: runs slow sometimes
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

medicore phone. cheap android. cant complain

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
brianthefisherman
From: ri
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok phone. Worth forty bucks. Tends to get very slow at times. Easy to talk and text. You get what you pay for
Pros: battery life
Cons: speed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

the basics

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
kedakeda
From: md
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD FOR THE basics BUT NOT GOOD FOR speaking ON PHONE. CAN BARELY HEAR AND THEY CAN BARELY HEAR ME. PHONE MUTES ITSELF A LOT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345...40next>