Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event

Kyocera Event

Featuring a 3.5" touchscreen, Android 4.0, 1GHz processor and 3.2MP camera, the Kyocera Event is a big deal for a small price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.113 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(718 Reviews) 718
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (718 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
79
3 stars
67
2 stars
144
1 star
357
173 out of 67826%of customers would recommend this product
Customer Questions & Answers:
392 Questions | 457 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kyocera Event
Review 1 for Kyocera Event

Stone aged speed

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
773couponmom
From: Orland Park, il
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I unfortunately bought this phone expecting to be able to at least make and receive phone calls. The speed on this phone is non existent. The apps are outdated and continually force close. This phone should be discontinued.
Pros: price
Cons: speed sound volume keyboard apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyocera Event

Decent phone for value

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
1tal1an
From: Union City, NJ
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you use your phone for playing a lot of space gulping games with great graphics this is NOT the phone for you. If you mostly use your phone for making calls with some internet use then this is a very doable phone. The phrase, you get what you pay for, rings true with this smartphone. I still find it's a great phone for it's price. No doubt about that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyocera Event

This product is very slow @3G!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
LaVeine
From: Wilmington, DE
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Prime issue with this phone is you cannot be in a hurry to use any function because it will freeze-up and do not work. When Wii is not available your are purely out of luck. Its capacity to update even with a SD Card installed is prohibited if you have too many Apps installed.
Pros: nothing
Cons: very very slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyocera Event

Good for the first year

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
aqua212rius
From: NE Ohio
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone a little over a year now, at first everything worked great but now starting to have issues - mainly the poor battery - got to the point where I was charging twice a day with out even using it for the 8 hrs I am at work. Recently it will restart itself. Another downfall is turning the phone on takes too long - if there was an emergency and you needed to make a phone call - you'd be screwed. Occasionally it would freeze up and I would have to remove battery and now that happens more often than I would like. Currently looking for a new phone. PS - a replacement battery would cost as much as the phone did.
Pros: pictures/video, durable, turn by turn navigation
Cons: battery battery battery, unable to remove apps you don't use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyocera Event

Do not buy this phone!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
SickofcheapPhones
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is one of the worst phones that I have ever had with Virgin Mobile! I am on the second one now the first one did not last a year and the only reason that I have another one is that it is the only choice that I had with the replacement insurance that I purchased that I could get without paying more. In addition I made an assumption that the first phone was defective and may not represent the model. I was wrong the new phone has had the same issues. It locks up and cuts off constantly. I am unable to delete any photos or contacts and it has been very undependable at times in that I have at random been unable to make calls or even answer calls. Because it is so terrible I have not only decided not to buy another phone from Virgin Mobile but to also discountinue my service with Virgin Mobile. I have been a Virgin mobile customer for at least 5 years but this is the last straw for me in dealing with the cheap quality of phones that they have available; I'm no longer willing to continually replace substandard phones with new substandard phones. This phone is a definate no go!
Cons: buyer beware!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyocera Event

Bad

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sandalius
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible phone. Restarts when the memory fills up and freezes which happens very frequently. Horrible speed and extremely frustrating to use. You may think, "Oh, there's a cheap 'smart' phone." but no, don't get this. Get a flip phone instead these are abysmal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyocera Event

Save your money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
terri
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is the worst. . . take this warning. you dont need to read anything else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyocera Event

This product is definitely not worth the price I paid.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Kevin4762
From: Miami, FL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The phone has some serious technical issues. I have had the Launcher, which is basically the apps screen, not working and ask me to Wait or Close. Sometimes I'll just open an app and it will immediately say it is not responding. The battery life is short, the phone takes forever to load apps, and sometimes will shut off automatically for no reason. Apps will sometimes simply close on their own and the phone just takes too long to do what you want it to. I dread having to look stuff up on my phone because it takes soooo long for keyboard alone to appear. Texting is hassle and calling people can take 30 seconds before connecting. The phone "works" after a year but it's just degraded so much since then that it's not even worth it. Hopefully my next phone works and I would definitely not recommend any Kyocera phone to anyone who wants a phone that functions properly after 6 months.
Cons: too slow, short battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyocera Event

will not work

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
joshua21
From: texas
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
when i turn it on it freezes on the event by kyocera screen and i have to take the battery out and put it back in but it still will not work anyone know what to do? ive tried everything it wont let me get on again
Cons: it wont turn on, it frezzes, wont let me download apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Eduardo97
California
 
Please wait while more information about Eduardo97 is loaded.
Additional information about Eduardo97 could not be loaded.
Ask for a replacement.
Posted July 18, 2014
The same thing happened to mine. There's not really anything you can do about that, but you can get a replacement since the phone has a 1 year guarantee.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Kyocera Event

this product has lame features

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
dionnysuz
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is a very simple phone but it doesn't do much
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyocera Event

Worthless

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
BuffaloGuy
From: Western NY
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought his phone for my son in April. Over the three months he has used it, it has continually rebooted itself randomly and on at least a dozen occasions it has frozen to the point where we had to take the battery out to reset the phone (even holding the power button down for over a minute did not work to reboot). I have done all system updates hoping that would fix the issue. This past week it froze again, so I did the battery removal procedure and this time it won't get past the VM splash screen. I tried going into the android recovery mode (power button plus the down volume key while booting) and did a factory reset but no luck...it still hangs on startup at the VM splash screen. From what I have read on-line, the phone is trash at this point. I know this wasn't a high end phone, but 3 months before it becomes a paper weight...seriously? Thanks Kyocera for a worthless piece of junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyocera Event

Please discontinue this phone

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
rch123
From: Charleston, SC
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought that any phone would be worth buying if it was this cheap. However, this phone is sadly not even worth this price. It works sometimes but mostly it runs as if it's 10 years old and has been dropped IN lava. Please don't waste your time
Pros: sends texts sometimes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyocera Event

This is the best Android phone that I done had.....And the first!!!!! Lol

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Diamonte
From: Michigan City, IN
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone it will be 3 weeks tomorrow........All some
Pros: android 4.0, camera, touchscreen, apps, easy to use, speaker is perfect
Cons: frezzes almost barley when you are doing to much
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyocera Event

This phone is a waste of pieces and parts to a terrible phone.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
ShortCake227
From: Nashville, MI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I first got this phone about a year ago, it was a good phone when I first got it. Than the phone just started having problem after problem. The phone will drop calls for no reason in a good serviced area. I even had Virgin Mobile check my service around my house where I usually use my phone, and I should have full bars, but instead I get two, if any. It just randomly started calling people. My screen just randomly started getting white spots in the screen as of right now it has three of these little white spots. You cant delete pictures off the phone permanently, it will disappear at first like it deleted, but than when you take a new picture all the old pictures you thought were deleted pop back onto your phone. This phone runs apps terribly, I got like 4 apps and the phone is so slow. When using Facebook or something you can barely stay in the app long enough to do anything cause its always kicking you out of it. Lets just say I've had too many replacement phones trying to see if it would resolve the problems I've been having, but instead the same problems are there if something new doesn't go wrong with it on top of anything else. Just a terrible phone.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyocera Event

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
mommaonthego
From: Boston, MA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I have owned it for a little under year and have had to have it replaced 3 times and it's looking like I'm going to have to have it replaced yet again. I am very cautious and careful with it (as there is no case in the world that fits it) but it doesn't matter. It gets stuck on the load screen, randomly restarts itself, and recently has been getting the error "system processor not responding and has no service at all while this error is present. After 4 factory resets it may be okay, but only time will tell. Even when this phone is working, it doesn't work well. The battery life is a joke. It lasts only a few hours off the charger (and it's the phone not the battery because I have changed the battery out many times). It freezes up in the middle of games and force closes apps all the time. Text messages that say sent on my phone do not get to the other person for an hour after I send them. I guess if you want a phone to make phone calls and nothing else then this might be an okay phone for you. If you want to do anything else, get a different phone.
Cons: battery life, freezes, texts dont send right away, force closes, error messages
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyocera Event

unsatisfactory

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
dcc9437
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it freezes constantly, opens programs on its own, exits programs on its own. It is the slowest phone I've ever had.
Cons: poor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyocera Event

Do not purchase this phone.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
MariiatheGreat
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for about a year, it is awful. It freezes everytime I use it, and I constantly have to take the battery out & turn it back on. When I text I have to speak whatever I want to say into the microphone because the keyboard ALWAYS freezes. It will randomly shut off and turn back on. This phone is incredibly unreliable and I am very unhappy with it.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyocera Event

Not bad if you like a frozen phone

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
hatethisphone2itshorrible
From: Belleville, il
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Got this phone about 3 months ago. It worked good for about a week then started freezing up and also shutting off for no reason. a couple of times, my speaker decided to quit working so I couldn't tell when someone would call. All in all a horrible phone!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyocera Event

Phone worked for a month!!!!!

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
From: Lancaster, PA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst piece of technology ever put on the market. CONSTANT crashing, freezing, shutting off and just terrible to deal with. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: picturing myself destroying it.
Cons: everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyocera Event

Problems with calls.

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
OrcaBear
From: Northwest
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't really use the internet on my phone so I bought one of the cheaper phones. Big mistake! This one continuously digitizes people's voices when making a call, making it hard to understand the other person. The phone on 4 out of 5 calls is always trying to add another line to the call by itself, causing it to mute you and the other person now thinks you have hung up. I have held it far from my face to see if that fixed the problem but it continues. I would think it was just my phone but my mother has the same phone and the same add-a-line problem. I will never buy Kyocera again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...36next>